Derek Dress

$40 rental
$370 value

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Want a dress that can easily go from day to night? Then this dress by Slate & Willow is the answer! With a super cool print and sexy open back this dress screams fun!

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Printed crepe (100% Polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
1272 reviews
Fit
Large42
True to Size707
Small351
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
July 21, 2016
The back of this dress makes it different! I received many compliments!
I ordered the 2 and 0. Went with the 0 because the 2 gaped open some in the back because I am an A cup with a small waist. It fit snug on the hips and butt and rode up a little but I felt comfortable in it . I did not need any tape or wear a bra.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119lbs
July 21, 2016
Fun dress for hot outdoor wedding!
Fit well, true to size. The cap sleeves are cute but the size 2 sleeves were cut so far in that it looked weird, so I wore the 4--also it is very short, so going up a size felt better. The hems were both a little out of shape, probably from being tugged down often. I really loved the dress and got lots of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
July 19, 2016
Sexy Back! Love the splash of colors
This dress completely stood out - the colors are fun and the back is amazing! Only problem I had was the shoulders were a little loose and I was scared that they would fall off if I danced too hard! :) I would say for my torso the dress ran slightly large
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
July 18, 2016
Great party dress
I wore this for my 32nd birthday night out in Chicago, which was a crazy night, and this was the perfect dress. It was stretchy fabric with a unique pattern and open back. I ordered the 4 and 6 and was able to wear either, but I thought the 4 was better for my chest size, the 6 was a little baggy up top. It was very short, but I decided to wear black tights since I knew I would getting tipsy and did not want to worry about putting on a show for everyone. I would recommend this sexy and fun dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 17, 2016
Fun dress
Great fit. I am glad I ordered the 00... Any bigger and the sleeves would have slipped off my shoulders. Gave it 4 stars because the bottom hem lays a little weird/puffy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
July 16, 2016
Perfect for summer wedding
Fit true to size. Super light and comfortable fabric! Many compliments
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
July 13, 2016
Baby Shower guest
Wore this for a summer baby shower. I loved the vibrant colors. The dress was lightweight and thin but not see-thru. Perfect for the heat of summer. I bought a white tube top style bra from amazon to wear under it as the back is open and there is no going bra-less in my world. Looked great. Got complimented on how pretty the dress was. I really went back and forth between wearing the 0 and the 2. Both fit but just slightly different. I ended up choosing the 2 as it looked better on my larger chest.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
July 12, 2016
Perfect for a Wedding at an Art Museum!
The dress fit great. It was conservative in the front but sexy in the back. The hem on the 0 was a little weird at the bottom, but not a big problem. The biggest problem I had was the dress came up when I was trying to dance and my boyfriend was spinning me around. Lots of compliments though :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 6, 2016
Was a fan favorite for my 30th birthday party!
I wore this one for my 30th birthday and the print really is beautiful. It's shorter than I thought it would be, which says a lot since I'm only 5'3" and wore heels. The open back is very pretty but the shoulders sit a little awkward. I wish I had used fabric tape to secure. Overall though, I really liked this one for a daytime summer party.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
July 4, 2016
Perfect Bachelorette Dress!
Great fit, low cut in back is beautiful! Great for petites-- may be too short for tall girls. Beautiful colors!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
June 29, 2016
Great dress for summer wedding!
Loved it. Got so many compliments. Had to pull it down a couple times.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
June 29, 2016
Really, really short, but cute
The reviews state this dress is short, but it's really, really short. Too short for my liking and I returned. It is a really neat dress, just be prepared to show a lot of skin,
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
June 29, 2016
Artistic and appealing
This was the most unique dress I have ever worn! I wore it to a summer wedding and received many compliments throughout the night. The low dip in the back as well as the wild pattern and colors are eye catching! It reminded me of an abstract painting! The fabric is soft and comfortable. My main complaints are the length, as it was extremely short (I'm only 5/2) and tight fit below the bust (curvy girls, get your Spanx ready). I'm curious if I would have been more comfortable with the fit if the 8 had been available on the date I requested.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
June 28, 2016
awesome, fun dress. very comfortable
it is a little stretchy which makes it super comfortable. i'm 5'7 and didn't find it to be too short. the back is also very cute
SarahJune 29, 2016
Just wondering if this dress had any stretch/give? I would like to wear it for our baby gender reveal party. I'm 5ft and petite with the beginnings of a "bump." Thanks for the help!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
June 27, 2016
The dress!
I loved this dress! The colors were vibrant and perfect for a summer wedding. My only concern was with the 2 the sleeves were a little big so they kept sliding down. I didn't have to wear a bra with it though which was awesome! My fiance kept asking if I could buy this dress. I will definitely rent it again!
SarahJune 29, 2016
Just wondering if this dress had any stretch/give? I would like to wear it for our baby gender reveal party. I'm 5ft and petite with the beginnings of a "bump." Thanks for the help!
LindseyJuly 13, 2016
Hi Sarah, it was stretchy and a lot lighter material than I expected. It would be cute with a baby bump!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
June 27, 2016
Pretty but very short
Really pretty dress but very very very short!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 142lbs
June 26, 2016
Great dress. Perfect for a wedding in Hawaii!
PRO: Fun, vibrant colors. Loved the open back. CON: Short, tight dresses tend to ride up on me so I had to periodically shimmy it back down. Since the back is open I added double stick tape and that worked like a charm.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 26, 2016
Pretty but worn
Dress was worn and a little large. White is more off-white, not as pretty in person. Cool back.
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
June 26, 2016
Show stopper
This dress caught my eye on RTR and I had doubts about wearing it to a wedding due to the shorter length. I sized up to a 10 for length, but it ran true to size for a 10. The 8 fit perfect but the zipper was pulling away from the seam and I didn't want to risk it. Got SO SO many compliments on the dress. Felt gorgeous in it. My boyfriend wanted me to keep it by the end of the night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Body type: Athletic
June 25, 2016
Such a fun dress!
This dress was fabulous, I did not need to wear a bra, it was comfortable, conservative in the front and sexy in the back. The only con with this dress was that it was riding up all night. I was constantly pulling it down. The dress is already short to begin with and the riding up didn't help.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 24
June 23, 2016
great colors , got tons of compliments
the material isn't what it seems. Stretchy, but very form fitting. Was alittle too body hugging for a wedding
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
June 21, 2016
Hot hot hot!
So so short, which I anticipated based on previous reviews, but so hot. I wore it to Budakkan for my husband's birthday dinner and it was perfect. Completely open back and rides up (even more!) when you walk, so be cautious of keeping it down!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
June 20, 2016
Perfect Party Dress
Rented this for an engagement party! Perfect, fun, bright and a tad sexy! I chose to wear the 2 because the sleeves were a little tighter and fell a bit when I tried the 4. It is tight but stretchy. I got many compliments especially on the back! I didn't wear a bra or nubra, but you certainly could. The colored pattern allows you to not wear a bra. I would rent this again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
June 19, 2016
Love the dress!! Super easy shipping and returning! I got the dress when they said!
The fit was perfect, as you walk it tends to run up but not a huge deal it's just like any other short dress you wear. The fabric is stretchy which is perfect. I wore a size 8, and the zipper was already messed up so it took awhile for me to get it on and off. It's almost like they tried to fix it but they didn't all the way. Other than that I loved it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
June 19, 2016
Something different and so fun!!
I wore this for my bachelorette party and I got so many compliments! The dress is so flattering and the back is the best part. Love the stretchy material.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 19, 2016
Backless and beautiful
I rented this dress for my friend's rehearsal dinner! Such a fun pattern and fit! Definitely quite short, so would not be good for an event where a lot of sitting is involved. (Luckily the tables had tablecloths!) The straps for hanging the dress kept coming out, but an easy fix was to just safety pin them together in the front!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
June 16, 2016
Graduation dress = A+
For my previous graduations, I wore white dresses, but I really wanted to stand out for this graduation, so I got this dress based on the exciting and Jackson Pollack-vibe to it. I had many compliments on it! However, I wore a size 6 and had to pin the shoulders and the waist. I should have gone down to a size 4. I emailed the representative and tried to rush order a size 4. She responded promptly, but unfortunately, she couldn't send it out in time for my event. Overall, I was very happy with the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 132lbs
June 15, 2016
Sexy date night dress
I loved this dress. The open back was sexy without being over the top. I wore a NuBra for extra support since I'm a D cup. The only thing that bummed me out is that I guess Target is carrying dresses in a similar pattern this season (different cut) and I prefer when my RTR stuff is "one of a kind".
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
June 15, 2016
So fun!
This dress is fun, sexy, and different. I received many compliments. Overall, it was true to fit, but as others did say, it does ride up.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
June 13, 2016
Super fun dress!
I really liked this dress! It was perfect for the outdoor wedding I was at. Definitely short though, I was tugging at it all night while dancing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 11, 2016
Beautiful dress that will make you stand out.
I rented this for a wedding and based on other reviews I sized up for my backup size. The 4 was pretty baggy on me and I almost felt like I was wearing a potato sack. I immediately called customer service seeing if they could rush me a size 2 which they unfortunately out of so they sent me a 0. Based on previous reviews I was worried about length in a 0 especially because I certainly am not a size 0. It somehow ended up fitting and the length wasn't too too short, only had to be very careful sitting and going up steps and I did have to be mindful on the dance floor. I think the 2 would have been perfect but the 0 ended up working fine. I'd definitely recommend this dress the back is gorgeous and I received tons of compliments. You will definitely stand out !
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 22
June 10, 2016
Perfect for short people. I am 5'2
The dress looked a little worn
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
June 8, 2016
Cute birthday dress, runs large for petite's
Loved the colors of this dress however it was large in the shoulders since it was open back. Also the hem on the 0 seemed off.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 7, 2016
TONS of compliments on this dress! Felt like a million bucks!
A little on the short and tight side -- I typically wear a 6 in dress and even as a 8 I felt a little exposed. Because it is shorter, it does ride up as you walk or dance so I did feel like I was tugging at it a bit for the evening. But overall it was a great rental!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 132lbs
June 6, 2016
Great friends and a great outfit!
This dress was great and I received so many compliments on it. It is very short and at 5'9" I did have to keep pulling it down but otherwise it fit great!
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
June 5, 2016
So classy!!!
I could have worn the 0, but I wanted a little extra room to dance. My chest is so small (lol) that I didn't need a bra at all and it was thick enough and the colors covered the nipple area that you couldn't see through. It was perfect! So many compliments! Def recommend to anyone!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 2, 2016
Great looking dress. Great fit. Cheap material
I wore this to my friends bridal shower. It was a huge hit! Everyone loved it and asked where I got it. I loved it and felt great it in. The only problem I had with it is the material felt very cheap. I would 100% recommend this for rental but not for purchase.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 2, 2016
Fun and unique!
Dress was super short but that is why I rented it! Got a lot of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
June 1, 2016
Lurved it!!
This dress is fantastic! I run as an 8 or 6 (depending on the designer and overall stretch). The six was great, it fit great in all the right places. I definitely want to get it again!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
May 31, 2016
This dress was perfect for a Kentucky Derby party I attended. I received a ton of compliments.
The dress was a littl tight around the legs which rode up a little when I walked. However, I quickly forgot about it through the event. It was a very comfortable material to wear as well as somewhat thick. I didn't have to wear a bra with this which was great given the open back. Would definitely rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 32

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×