Slate & Willow

Derek Dress

$30 – $40 rental
$370 value
Stylist Notes

Want a dress that can easily go from day to night? Then this dress by Slate & Willow is the answer! With a super cool print and sexy open back this dress screams fun!

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Printed crepe (100% Polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
1404 reviews
Fit
Large
(44)
True to Size
(753)
Small
(369)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
September 16, 2015
Birthday Bash Outfit
Wore this for my birthday to a day party. It was a nice dress to party in.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 157lbs
October 27, 2015
So many compliments!
Tended to ride up but once I put short spandex on underneath, the problem was so fixed.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 34
November 12, 2015
Loved the dress! Got so many compliments!
Typically i wear a size 4, but the 6 fit a bit better. Was very short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 18, 2013
Stand out in any crowd!!!
I had been dying to rent this dress and finally got the opportunity. I wore it to an evening wedding on the water and it was perfect. Like all the other reviews say, the dress is short and definitely rides up if you're doing a lot of walking or dancing. I chose to wear the 0 for a tighter fit. In doing so, i didnt need to put any tape or anything on the back of the dress. It stayed completely flat the entire night. I have a small chest so i chose to go bra-less. I wore the dress with hot pink wedges and it looked great. The colors in this dress are so vibrant and beautiful! It also looked amazing in pictures. It was very comfortable and different than any other dress I've worn. This one is a winner!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
December 8, 2015
Pretty
Colors are spot on and so pretty, but the dress runs small and is a tight, stretchy fabric.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
January 26, 2016
Vibrant colors!
Dinner & event
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
February 3, 2016
Very different from most dresses
Runs short
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Everyday
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 17, 2016
Beautiful!
I did not end up wearing this dress out, unfortunately, though it was due to the weather and not the dress itself. The fabric was extremely light and the dress was VERY flattering, I had no odd gaps in the bad of the dress. Though I did notice that when I walked, the dress would ride up in the skirt area. Other than that, the dress fit perfectly!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Weight: 128lbs
March 19, 2016
Great dress! Definitely an attention-getter and tons of compliments!
I wore it with pink pumps (as pictured) & it was gorgeous! Fit was pretty true-to-size and my only real complaint is that it is short and you have to pull it down all the time (I'm 5'7" so fairly tall and leggy, so this is why it was tougher). But all in all, I would rent it again because it is so well-made and beautiful!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 34
April 13, 2016
LOVED it!
The print on this dress was awesome. It's the best dress I've ever rented.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 18, 2016
Very fun dress!
Fits on the smaller side, but the 00 was perfect for my 5'3 110 lb frame. It is short and tight, so just be prepared for that!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
May 2, 2016
Fun and flirty!
This dress fit perfectly! The material was thinner than I expected but that turned out to be great for a hot, summer night! It went perfectly with my new blue shoes and I received tons of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 2, 2016
Perfect dress for a spring/summer event!
Beautiful dress, but very short- I sized up to try and add length, but still felt like I was constantly pulling the dress down! Also while wearing the larger size, the shoulders would sometimes slip off. Otherwise it was a beautiful dress, and I loved wearing it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Weight: 113lbs
May 2, 2016
I received so many compliments!
I wore it to a wedding that went late into the evening and was so comfortable the entire evening. I wasn't pulling or tugging on it like you do with shorter dresses sometimes and I received so many compliments. Would absolutely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 3, 2016
A crowd favorite!
I don't think I've ever gotten more compliments than the night I wore this dress... Fun, loud, and really unique, this dress was a head turner at the summer wedding. The open back added nicely to the dress as well! And yes... it's short. I did tug at it several times throughout the night, but I was so pleased with the dress that it didn't end up bothering me all that much. I wear between a 4 and a 6, but because of a shortage of dresses, I was only able to rent the 6. Luckily, it worked out great, but I can understand why people sized up for length.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
May 10, 2016
Fun dress for a Derby Party!
As always, thanks to the prior reviewers who gave tips on size. My backup wasn't available, so I crossed my fingers that the size 2 would fit, and it did. It's a snug fit with a lot of leg and a lot of back...and did I mention short? It's short. As with all my RTR rentals, I got a lot of compliments. A backless bra is definitely required. The dress did tend to ride up a little and had a weird pucker on the side near the bottom of the zipper. Also, as prior reviewers noted, the hem is not flat, which is just a little strange. But, overall, great dress and the color made it really fun - a standout among solid colored dresses at a party.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 104lbs
May 10, 2016
Perfect Kentucky Oaks dress
I wore this dress to the Kentucky Oaks. Press stopped me all day to take pictures and compliments galore. The dress fit like a glove.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Age: 30
May 11, 2016
Wore this dress for the Kentucky Derby. It was so comfortable and I got compliments on it all day!
I ordered a 4, and my normal dress size is a 2/4, but wore the 6 because it runs short for sure. Luckily the 6 was a little longer but not so large it hung or was baggy. It's got some stretch to it, so it was really comfortable all day. Absolutely loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
May 11, 2016
Super Sexy Dress, Beautiful Colors!!!
I read the reviews on this dress and was aware that it is short, but yikes!! It IS short!! It's super sexy, the colors are amazing, and if you are confident and can rock it, its worth it. I got a great reaction from my Husband! The back is completely open, so I wore a sticky bra, which worked 'fine.' The fabric is pretty thin and the hem would not lay flat, it was a little pillow-y on the bottom, and the dress kept riding up. I typically wear a 4-6, but went with the 6, (the 4 was not available-it would in, no-way have fit!!) I could have possibly worn the 8, just to add a little length! I wore it with a navy school boy blazer, and nude strappy heels, a great combo of sophisticated with the blazer on, and flirty-sexy with it off!! Overall a really pretty, eye-catching dress, with LOTS of compliments all night!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 11, 2016
I wish I could buy this dress- amazing pop of color and cut! Wore it for a Derby party.
I usually wear I a size 6, but it was unavailable so I had to size up and get the 8. I decided to get the 8 because I knew the dress was on the short side (and although I'm only 5'3", I was wearing 4" heels) and I wanted to feel comfortable throughout the day. The top was pretty roomy on me as I'm already small chested, but it felt comfortable and I know the 6 would've fit perfectly. I LOVED this dress and would definitely buy it if I could find it for sale. Great color and still getting compliments. My husband loved it and was even looking online for where I can buy it. Would rent it again. Easy transaction with delivery and return.
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
May 14, 2016
So colorful and eye catching!
I'm normally a 0 and I feel this dress was true to size. I got so many compliments the entire day/night and wish I owned this dress. Being a 34DDD, I am always for a dress I can wear without a bra!! The only downside is it will ride up!! I had to keep pulling it down anytime I was moving around. All in all, loved the dress and would definitely recommend to anyone as long as they don't mind pulling it down all the time!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
May 15, 2016
Love It!!
Dress is very comfortable, fitted, a little be on the short side. My favorite was the open back.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
May 15, 2016
It made me feel like my old self..
Made my feel like my original bday self. I always do something and look amazing for my birthday and this dress got in line with the rest. So it definitely goes down in birthday history for me..
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
May 15, 2016
Fun, unique, standout dress!
The 0 was very tight on my belly and legs, but fit perfectly up top. The 2 was loose on top, but fit much better on the bottom half. I opted for the 2 because I felt much more comfortable in it. The open back is so fun! I wore a sticky bra and it worked out perfectly. Wish I owned this cute little dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
May 16, 2016
heaps of compliments ... I matched the painting behind me!
I wore a 0 since it fit my upper body better and didn't fall off my shoulders as easily, however, I have wider thighs and hips so a 2 would have fit better down there. the only issue with this dress is that you have to keep pulling it down in order to keep the shoulders up, since it has an open back. very beautiful and bright though.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 39
May 16, 2016
LOVED IT
I thought it fit great! It wasn't stark white- kind almost dingy white but it was still fabulous
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Weight: 140lbs
May 18, 2016
Fun, flirty, different
Dress was easy to get on, a little loose up top (I could slide the dress forward off of my shoulders while it was zipped) but I think that is just the style of the dress. I got compliments all night, the colors really made me stand out. It is a very short dress so it may not be appropriate for a wedding or fancy event. I wore mine to a very casual rehearsal dinner by the pool and it worked out perfectly. The fabric is very light and thin but since there are two layers you can't see through it. Was not form fitting on me which I think made it ride up easier when I walked. I recommend for anyone looking for a (very) short, fun, pop of color, stand-out dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 35
Weight: 109lbs
May 25, 2016
Perfect for a day at the races!
I actually wore the size 00. Just like all the other reviews say, the dress is short! Even for me and I'm pretty short myself! It rode up a little when I walked around, but I also have a bigger bottom than the average bear so that might have been a contributing factor! The fabric was lightweight and comfortable. The dress was very flattering and I didn't have to wear a bra (I'm a 32DD). I received SO many compliments. I loved this dress and wish I owned it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 25, 2016
Great little dress for a date!
I got so many compliments on this dress! It was a little bit short but not too bad - it hiked up a bit when I would sit down but otherwise I felt comfortable in it. Because of the low back I went with a stick-on bra but it wasn't too low and bra strap extenders would've worked as well. Overall it was an awesome dress and I wish I owned it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
May 23, 2016
Cute!
I say "runs large" because I think in terms of dress #'s this is more of a 2 or 4 (my wedding dress size), and not a 0. Having said that, I wear a 0 street size for the most part, and this fit well. I wound up not wearing this dress, as I was looking for something a little more risque for Vegas, but this was pretty great - backless and VERY short, I didn't find the shoulders to be too big or the skirt super tight. Overall seemed very comfortable, but did imagine that some tape might be necessary to keep the shoulders up in place if really moving around. The skirt did seem to ride up a bit as I tried it on, but not a price I wasn't unwilling to pay for a fun dress. :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
May 23, 2016
Perfect birthday celebration dress!
I wore this dress out on the town to celebrate my birthday. It ran true to size (I wore the 2 over the 4). It's definitely body-snug, and it is on the short size, but then again so am I, so it didn't bother me that much. The open back is the best part!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 28, 2016
Favorite rental yet!
The 2 was a little bit short on me, so I wore the 4. Loved this dress and got so many compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 33
May 29, 2016
This dress though...
This dress was amazing - I got compliments ALL night and felt so great about myself! I ordered a 4 and 6, and while they both fit, they fit very differently - I went with the 4 because it hugged my curves a lot more. If you were going the more conservative route, then the 6 would be perfect - a little longer and less clingy. I would HIGHLY recommend this dress, it's a stunner!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
May 31, 2016
This dress was perfect for a Kentucky Derby party I attended. I received a ton of compliments.
The dress was a littl tight around the legs which rode up a little when I walked. However, I quickly forgot about it through the event. It was a very comfortable material to wear as well as somewhat thick. I didn't have to wear a bra with this which was great given the open back. Would definitely rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
June 1, 2016
Lurved it!!
This dress is fantastic! I run as an 8 or 6 (depending on the designer and overall stretch). The six was great, it fit great in all the right places. I definitely want to get it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 2, 2016
Fun and unique!
Dress was super short but that is why I rented it! Got a lot of compliments.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 2, 2016
Great looking dress. Great fit. Cheap material
I wore this to my friends bridal shower. It was a huge hit! Everyone loved it and asked where I got it. I loved it and felt great it in. The only problem I had with it is the material felt very cheap. I would 100% recommend this for rental but not for purchase.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
June 5, 2016
So classy!!!
I could have worn the 0, but I wanted a little extra room to dance. My chest is so small (lol) that I didn't need a bra at all and it was thick enough and the colors covered the nipple area that you couldn't see through. It was perfect! So many compliments! Def recommend to anyone!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 132lbs
June 6, 2016
Great friends and a great outfit!
This dress was great and I received so many compliments on it. It is very short and at 5'9" I did have to keep pulling it down but otherwise it fit great!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 7, 2016
TONS of compliments on this dress! Felt like a million bucks!
A little on the short and tight side -- I typically wear a 6 in dress and even as a 8 I felt a little exposed. Because it is shorter, it does ride up as you walk or dance so I did feel like I was tugging at it a bit for the evening. But overall it was a great rental!
See more reviews:
1 / 36

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×