Rent the Runway

Slate & Willow

Derek Dress

$50 rental
$370 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Want a dress that can easily go from day to night? Then this dress by Slate & Willow is the answer! With a super cool print and sexy open back this dress screams fun! Pair with equally colorful accessories like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Play Dress Up Cocktail Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Printed crepe (100% polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

998 reviews

Fit
Small 305
True to Size 578
Large 32
Photos 699
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 21, 2014

NOT a fave :-(

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I was really excited about this dress, but once I tried it on, I became very let down. It looks beautiful, and I love the colors and the cut looks amazing on the model, but it just didn't feel right and it wasn't comfortable at all. It's huge on the top and extremely tight on the bottom. I spent the entire day pulling it down and adjusting the back to keep it from falling off my shoulders. I wasn't comfortable in this dress at all and couldn't wait to get home to take it off. It's a shame because if it just fit better on top and wasn't so tight and didn't ride up all the time, I could have easily loved this dress.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Jul 22, 2014

This dress was fun! Received lots if compliments and even more looks.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
From reading the reviews, I ordered a 4 and 6. I wore the 4, but I could have worn a 2. The 4 fit true to size. Was not tight on me. I'm 5'6 and athletic. The only issue I had was that the dress bunched on the zipper side. Overall was a fun, bright dress.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 22, 2014

This gorgeous dress will give you plenty of compliments and fit like a glove!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this dress for a soiree and was nervous that my back-up size (2) was unavailable for the date. I rented another dress just in case, but absolutely did not need it. I fell in love with this dress the moment I saw it online and all over again when I put it on. The fit is perfectly true to size and the colors are as vibrant and fun as pictured. I wore a sticky bra since the back is open and would highly recommend investing in some fashion tape to keep down the hanger straps and keep the sleeves/back in place (I bought fashion tape from RTR and it worked fabulously). To play down all of the colors, I paired the dress with a black clutch and black heels. I can't say enough how much I loved this dress and wish I could have kept it. You'll definitely receive a lot of compliments in it (from guys and girls alike).
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Jul 22, 2014

COMPLIMENTS ALL NIGHT LONG!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The back of the dress is amazing. You need a sticky bra. Dress was perfect for a summer wedding. The only con- it rises up often, but not regrets. My favorite RTR rental.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 23, 2014

Didn't wear it

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It was a really cool dress, wish I could've made it work. Just too short and right for my taste- and it rides up A LOT.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Jul 23, 2014

I felt SO confident!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first RTR experience and it was AWESOME. I think every woman has one of those moments where she puts on a piece of clothing and instantly feels an attitude change. That was this dress for me. I am generally comfortable with my body, but often have a hard time finding things at the mall that actually fit my slim frame. Especially up top where I'm pretty narrow. But when I put on this dress I knew I would feel great all night. I even went for the larger size! The OO was a little too tight in the hips for me. The dress I wore fit perfectly. I had to use some double sided tape in the shoulders, and had a teensy issue keeping it pulled down, but it was worth it. I wore a nu-bra with it. I ordered a super padded one, and I'm so glad I got it! Unfortunately the wedding took place on an EXTREMELY humid day so I could feel the bra slipping at time. Luckily, this dress was so easy to quick slip down in the bathroom so I was able to reposition the bra between the ceremony and the reception. I felt a little sassy wearing it to a wedding but I got so many compliments. My only regret...I didn't get a picture of the back! Maybe someday I'll rent again. ;)
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95 lbs
Jul 23, 2014

Eye-catching color that received compliments from all!

Size worn: OO
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I typically wear (or have to get tailored) a 00. The 00 in this dress was fantastic, except for my normal "issue area"- the waist (I'm around 22-23"). It was slightly baggy where the low back and skirt fabric met for me, so I took a chance and threw on a skinny belt. I actually loved the dress even more so afterwards! I thought the break between colors really accentuated my figure. Worn with a bun, colorful long earrings, crystal bracelet, and bright blue Aldo pumps.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34A
Jul 24, 2014

Flawless dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The backless dress gives the dress enough appeal without being revealing
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 24, 2014

Sexy, Fun, bright colors, open back!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Loved the open back! Was worried about a bra, but I have size C and I didn't need a bra! Very well made dress. Loved the colors and it was a unique dress. Wore it for my birthday dinner and got lots of compliments! Would definitely rent this dress again!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 176 lbs
Jul 24, 2014

As usual, customer service was a gem!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I've been DYING to find an excuse to wear this bad boy! I wore it on a boat cruise and received a ton of compliments. This dress is definitely tight and short but totally worth the lack of food intake leading up to wearing! ;)
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Jul 24, 2014

My friends said this dress was made for me!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my birthday party and it did not disappoint! I got the 8 and the 10, and while the 8 fit, the 10 was more comfortable. The dress is SHORT and it rides up a bit, but the print and the open back are gorgeous. I didn't want to send it back!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Jul 24, 2014

The dress was fabulous, and the customer service was the best I have ever encountered!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Short, but comfortable, had to pull it down when walking. Material is great! Has a lot of stretch ! Back was beautiful
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117 lbs
Jul 24, 2014

I loved this dress. It was so fun! Wore to a friends rehearsal dinner. Got tons of compliments!! :)

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
The cap sleeves were a little big but it was not that bad. I loved wearing it anyways!!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 26, 2014

The amazing artistic colors and open back are unforgettable.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Perfect summer night dress. Eye catching and really hugs your curves. Very short, highly recommend to wear shorts underneath.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Jul 28, 2014

So much fun!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Such a fun and colorful dress. I loved the open back and the material of the dress was unexpected (spandex-y, not cotton-y). It was a tad short, nothing I couldn't adjust occasionally. The bottom is quite tight, so you have to try different underwear to get your shape right. Very different and very fun, I would definately recommend this dress and RTR!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Jul 28, 2014

The back of this dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I've worn this dress twice because it is so cute. I love the look and the open back.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Jul 28, 2014

Great dress, many compliments!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Looks great on, but tight around the hips. Felt like I had to pull it down all night as it would ride up.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 144 lbs
Jul 29, 2014

I wore this dress downtown for my 21st and I absolutely loved how colorful it was!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I tried on the 6 and it was snug around the hips and felt more like a body-con dress, but it fit my shoulders perfectly. The 8 was a little less tight around my lower half and was longer, but the sleeves felt puffy and it kept feeling like the they were about to slide off my shoulders. I went with the 8 because I wanted to move around freely, but I wished there was a size in between for girls like me who have short torsos, long legs, and wider hips! It also made my back and bum look great, so no problems there.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Jul 31, 2014

Wore this for my birthday. Fun and colorful! Definitely a stand out dress.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Runs small - definitely size up. Short, but not as short as expected!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Jul 31, 2014

I wore this for my birthday and I absolutely fell in love!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The shoulders felt kind of loose and the dress was a little short. The print is amazing and very flattering. #wearingart #birthdaydress
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 2, 2014

Great print!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Comfy material, crisp white, fun print, and darling back ! Loved it
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 4, 2014

This dress was perfect for a garden wedding. Loved it!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The shoulders fell off a few times but other then that it was perfect!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 4, 2014

This dress was a hit!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for my 10 year reunion and loved it! It is a little shorter than I normally wear but it didn't bother me too much. It was definitely a fun "party" dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Age: 27
Aug 4, 2014

Tons of compliments!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the open back and overall design of the dress.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Aug 4, 2014

Cute original piece

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Super cute dress. Wore it to a wedding and got tons of compliments. Dress is very short though! I have a curvy figure so I had to be mindful and keep pulling the dress down when it rode up. Shoulders for loosely but it was no big deal. Runs small. I recommend getting a size up than usual.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Aug 4, 2014

Gorgeous, well-made dress for any occasion!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first rental from Rent the Runway and I couldn't have had a better experience! I am usually between a size 0 and 2 and the 0 fit perfectly. The colors are absolutely gorgeous and the fit was almost perfect - I agree with other reviews that said the hanger straps needed to be taped, but you just need a couple small pieces of fashion tape and they stayed put all night. I wore this to a wedding and made it more formal with black heels and a black clutch. Any color accessories would work - wish I could have kept this dress!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 5, 2014

This dress was perfect for a formal in New Orleans!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress pretty much fits true to size, but it was pretty tight. The material is stretchy so it fits like a glove. I also ordered a 4 but that one was a little baggy in some places so I ended up with the 2. It is pretty short and I have long legs so I had to keep pulling it down throughout the night because it kept riding up but overall a very comfortable dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 5, 2014

Bright, Colorful, Fun

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I LOVED the colors of this dress! The dress was a little short for the church wedding I attended but was great for the reception! I received many complaints & would definitely recommend!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 5, 2014

The dress is gorgeous. It is very unique and I love the back. People complemented me often! Loved it

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is very comfortable. I did not wear a bra and nobody could tell (on the front). I put my hair up so that all the details of the dress would be easily visible and I think I recommend everyone to take that route.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113 lbs
Aug 5, 2014

Super Fun Dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to a high school reunion. I received so many compliments on the uniqueness of the dress. I have on 2 different types of heels in the pictures and both worked great.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 6, 2014

I got so many compliments on this dress. It was comfortable, cute, and the back is so hot!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was a little short, so I decided to go with the slightly looser size 4 so that it wouldn't be so hip-hugging. The 2 fit like a glove but rode up when I walked so I went up a size and it was so comfortable all night!
RTR Customer
Aug 10, 2014

This dress was great for a Katy Perry concert! I received lots of compliments.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Right fit, and very short..great for a night out.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137 lbs
Aug 11, 2014

Wore this on a date with my husband. A weekend away in Portsmouth NH. He LOVED it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I read a lot of reviews saying it was short, it definitely was. If you aren't walking a lot its totally doable. We walked around a lot and i was pulling it down constantly. That was the only minor flaw. Other than that it was super comfortable, very very flattering. I didn't want to give this back.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 12, 2014

Gorgeous dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I got so many compliments and I didn't want to send it back. The top was a little too wide and I had to secure it with fashion tape, but it was totally manageable. I will definitely rent this again for another summer wedding. It might run a little short on taller ladies, but it was perfect for me. The fabric has a little give and is lined so I didn't find it sheer at all.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Aug 12, 2014

Liked it, but glad to only wear it once

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit well, when I was standing still. Because of the stretchy material any movement, walking, or dancing the dress kept riding up.. which made it difficult to relax and have fun. Because the dress is attached by the same hem as the liner, the bottom of the dress didn't stay flat, something you wouldn't expect from a dress that is $370. So glad that I also got the backless strapless bra. Being small chested, the bra helped to take up/fill out the chest area, and make the open back area fit better. If you don't have good posture, this dress is not for you. All in all I did receive a lot of compliments, but I just didn't feel comfortable in it, and wouldn't rent this dress again or suggest it to a friend.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 12, 2014

Loved the dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
I wore it the night of my engaement. I wore a 6 which was a little big around the waste but it was very short. I could have worn a 4 but it would have been so short. The dress was very easy to move around it. Wouldn't recommend for a formal event if you are tall because it is very short.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 13, 2014

My boyfriend loved this dress for our anniversary dinner date!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The size 2 was a little tight around the bottom, but the fabric does have some stretch. The 4 seemed to fit better at first, but the open back caused the top to slip when I started moving around, so I went with the 2. The skirt rides up when you walk, but overall I loved the colors and the style of the dress. I would wear this again!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Aug 13, 2014

I LOVE this dress! Fun, classy, & sexy! I wore it to my engagement party & got tons of compliments!

Size worn: OO
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I am very petite, so I was concerned a lot of the RTR dresses I liked would be too big based on the reviews, but this dress fit like a glove! The fabric is really light, soft and stretchy... hugs all the right places, but is super forgiving and easy to move around in! And it goes with almost any color shoes and clutch! I will definitely rent it again, I wish I could buy it!!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 14, 2014

Loved the back! Super fun party dress, ideal for my 30th birthday dinner! Was a little short.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Was a little short-- had to keep pulling it down. But very cute if you can find the right backless bra. I'm a fan--- the colors were brilliant!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Aug 14, 2014

I got a lot of compliments and it was perfect for a summer wedding

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Tends to ride up a little when walking
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×