Slate & Willow

Derek Dress

$40 – $55 rental?
$370 value
Stylist Notes

Want a dress that can easily go from day to night? Then this dress by Slate & Willow is the answer! With a super cool print and sexy open back this dress screams fun!

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Printed crepe (100% Polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
1373 reviews
Fit
Large
(43)
True to Size
(742)
Small
(366)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 96lbs
May 26, 2017
Perfect fit for graduation
I loved this dress! I wore it for my graduation & got tons of compliments. Business in the front & party in the back - literally just beautiful! My boyfriend loved this dress, but it's still too expensive for the price. In addition, there was a weird wrinkle in the bottom instead of it being straight no matter the amount of times I ironed it. It's my only grip. I wore it was a sticky bra & it worked well. I'd probably rent this again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
May 25, 2017
Lively
Didn't hug my waist, so it was a bit roomy. Torso is pretty short. I ended up wearing a short high-waisted red skirt to make a perfect work party outfit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 23, 2017
Not for the faint of heart!
I absolutely loved this dress. The open back was super sexy and the material was stretchy enough that I could actually move - I got compliments all night! If you've got curves, this may not be the dress for you - it was a bit tight around my hips but my new bar method obsession made it not an issue. Going a size up was better in the hips but was too big on top so I opted to stay with the 4. As other people have mentioned, it is SHORT and does ride up a bit but since I'm short it wasn't an issue.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Other
Age: 30
May 18, 2017
Perfect Coachella dress!
Fun colors and for beautifully!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 18, 2017
Stunner!
I wore this to an art gallery opening and performance. The dress was shorter but I'm petite so it worked fine for me, falling a few inches above the knee. I LOVED the color punch and the low-back on this dress; a sticky bra was a must. Several people commented on it and our hotel doorman even said it was the top dress he'd seen that weekend. The only con I would give is that the fabric is on the thicker side (this was a summer event, partially outdoors) so it didn't allow for too much airflow. I'd rent this again without a second thought though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
May 18, 2017
Show stopper
I'm tall so the dress was short on me, but so fun and perfect for vacation in Hawaii! I received so many compliments!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 17, 2017
Did not ear the dress.
Dress color was nice but material was too flimsy and cheap looking. It looked like a dress from a discount store (Marshalls, Ross) :( did not wear. Also the hem on the skirt was very weird, looked like someone hemmed it and did a very poor job.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 26
May 17, 2017
I loved this lightweight dress! Perfect for hot outside event!
This dress was far more lightweight than I thought, which made it perfect for a hot day spent outside at a Steeplechase event. It is short enough that it looked OK with flats (which was good because of mud at the event) but it would look beautiful with heels as well. The hem at the bottom is a little bubble-y, but nothing show-stopping. For reference, I'm 5ft 2in and about 115lb. I really loved this dress and wished I could keep it- one of my favorites!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
May 16, 2017
Wore for a nice birthday brunch, looked great in the day light!
Definitely short, so could be risky out dancing and probably not great for a wedding or a family party.. but worked great for my birthday brunch! Awesome colors for pictures!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 9, 2017
Love this dress! Lots of compliments!
I would highly recommend this dress, but definitely size up for your backup. I wore this dress for a Kentucky Derby party and it was perfect! I received a ton of compliments and probably would have bought the dress if it was an option. The overall fit of the dress was small. I typically wear a size 4 and ended up wearing my backup size 6. The top was a little loose on the size 6 and the sleeves slid down a little bit a few times, but it wasn't a big deal and overall it was a better fit. Other reviews said that the dress was really short, I didn't think it was overly short, but I'm only 5'2".
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
May 9, 2017
Colorful and Fun!
I rented this dress for a trip to Vegas and wore it to a show and out dancing. I had people complimenting me all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
May 7, 2017
Stunning dress! Made heads turn!
The dress material was very comfortable and easy to wear. It was short and I had to keep pulling down but overall great dress. I would rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 136lbs
May 3, 2017
Great dress! Very short but so fun. Get it.
Great dress! Very short but so fun. Get it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
April 29, 2017
Wore this dress for the after wedding brunch. I got a bunch of compliments.
Definitely make sure you have pasties or a half bra. You'll also want double sided tape so it doesn't keep falling off your shoulders. And you will want to make sure you get your true size because it is true to size. I loved wearing this dress. It was so unique and the back was amazing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 28, 2017
Great dress, lots of compliments!
I rented this dress for a girls night out at my bachelorette weekend. The 6 was unavailable to rent, but the 4 was fine. It was a bit tight so I recommend ordering a size up for the back-up. You definitely need a backless bra and spanx for this dress as the material definitely clings to your body. Overall, the dress was a great rent and worth the price. All the girls loved the dress and it was definitely a hit!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
April 27, 2017
Love this dress!! Super fun..a little short but I liked it
Fit true to size, I wore it to a laid back rehearsal dinner. Colors are fun for spring/summer. Very sexy dress, be prepared to show some leg!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108lbs
April 26, 2017
I wore this dress for a summer wedding. Had never worn an open back dress before but I loved it.
Fits perfect. I wore stick on cups and a little magic tape to have it stay in place. However, I don't think those were needed. Dress is very comfortable and I even though I had never worn a dress that's completely open on the back, I felt great.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
April 26, 2017
Perfect dress
I've actually rented this twice now. It's a great dress for a wide spectrum of occasions. It is a little on the short side so keep that in mind if trying to use for work-related event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 24, 2017
Spring wedding hit!
Favorite rtr dress rental ever. Fit perfectly. I used some tape to hold the shoulders in place. I felt super comfortable and looked great all night!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 24, 2017
So beautiful & comfy - I got a ton of compliments!
The fit was true to size. It is definitely short & i did have to yank it down a few times while dancing but I loved the fit and it was very comfortable. I got a ton of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Age: 39
April 24, 2017
Night at the museum
The reviews said short and u keep having to pull it down but everyone wrote that at the end of their reviews so I'm putting it out there first. This is a VERY short dress AND it rides up! Also the hem is not straight as u can see in the picture. Having said that, I wore this to a fundraiser at a museum so the colors were perfect. I got a lot of compliments and in the photo it's hard to tell that's it felt way too tight!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
April 20, 2017
This dress is super fun. It was a hit all night, and I definitely felt great in it.
The fit was definitely a little strange. The parts that go over your shoulders, at least on my dress (maybe it was stretched out), don't stay up very well. And the dress rides up when you walk. So while I loved it, and will definitely rent from RTR again, just know that this particular dress has some weird fit features. I normally wear a 0/2 and the 2 was a tad snug but still comfortable and fit well overall – except for the riding up and the shoulders :) I was adjusting all night long.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
April 15, 2017
This dress is so fun and colorful! I wore this for my bday and got lots of compliments.
Super flattering and cute. Definitely recommend!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
April 11, 2017
Great colors, bit of an odd fit
I rented this for a birthday dinner at a fancy steakhouse. The pros: The back is AMAZING! Such a sexy dress. And the colors are wonderful and bright. I paired the dress with teal flats but you could really pick any color and it would match this dress! I felt festive, unique, and wonderful in the bright dress. The cons: I've got wide hips so I had to size up to the 8 (typically a 6). Unfortunately, in both the 6 and the 8, it was still so large in the bust. Without a back to pull the dress together, it was too big and falling off my shoulders. I had to tape the sleeves, neckline, and back to me just to keep it on. The dress also does ride up quite a bit when you walk. Overall, I would still suggest for a fun, sexy dress, but maybe avoid if you'll be doing a lot of walking around.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
April 11, 2017
Narrow on bottom, nice colors
I was not in love with this dress. I am a little wider in the hip/bottom area than on top and it fit too small and quite short. I think this dress could work on a woman who was more narrow in the hip/butt area. The fabric was just ok though the colors and the open back were really pretty. Thankfully I ordered a backup style that I loved and rocked that dress!
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 11, 2017
Great dress for vacation
The dress is very comfortable, I am usually a size 4 but the 2 fit me better. It did ride up a bit but not enough to make it a big deal. The size 4 that arrived had a ripped sleeve so I would have worn that regardless. Overall a great dress I would recommend to a friend!
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 5, 2017
Showstopper!!
Very unique dress with Vibrant colors. Fit is true to size and works well with petite physiques. However the dress rides up constantly. Received tons of compliments. Would rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
March 26, 2017
Fun and festive for a Key West wedding
This dress is a knockout. So many compliments. It was not too tight as I feared also had concerns about the length but I'm 5'4 and it was perfect. Two cons- the hem is funky- I noticed in others' pictures too. It seems the shell and the slip material separated and makes the hem look weird. Also while walking it rides up very easily. The back is outstanding to look at- but as the night went on the dress slipped off my shoulders a few times. Still glad I rented it!!! The colors are so bright!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
March 23, 2017
Super cute and unique
Adoable dress which caught the eye all night. I wore it braless but it looked fine. I also was very self conscious about my very pale legs (in Miami) and wore it with hose and black shoes...looked awesome. Super comfortable and was confident and flirty all night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
March 23, 2017
Cute dress
I ordered a 0 and 2 and ended up wearing the 0. The 2 fit but looked more like a work dress and was a bit looser. The 0 fit tighter but it looked like someone had hemmed the bottom on it. It was rippling at the edges. Overall cute other than the bottom hem.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
March 19, 2017
The best back on a dress
Loved this dress, good fit. Colors make it so that anything can go with it, turned out amazing in every picture.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
March 17, 2017
Fun and Flattering Dress!
I loved this dress! I rented this dress through Unlimited membership for my honeymoon to Nicaragua. It was the perfect choice for an upscale, romantic dinner. My husband loved the open back. It runs a bit small and the skirt is definitely on the shorter side, so if you are tall you might want to size up. I'm 5'0, so the size was perfect for my petite frame. I paired this with black flats, but you can easily dress it up with heels or down with sandals. Added bonus: it travels very well and managed to make the trip while staying wrinkle-free. I can't wait to rent this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
March 13, 2017
Backless Success!
I never thought I could handle a backless dress, but this one proved me wrong. It was tight enough that it worked for me with the help of a backless bra. It is very short, but great for a fun night out.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
March 12, 2017
I WANT THIS DRESS
I rented this for a dinner party that got cancelled last minute. I decided to wear it out for a fun night with friends and received soooo many compliments. The picture does not do it due it justice. Loved it so much wish it was mine. If it helps I'm 5'3 and weigh 136. The 6 fit perfectly.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Age: 32
March 12, 2017
Great party dress for bachelorette in Miami!
Wore this for a night in Miami. Loved the dress, only complaint is that it rides up a lot when you walk. I got a 0 and 2 and ended up wearing the 0 (didn't even try on the 2). I used a nubra but would have been fine with no bra at all (very small bust- 34A). I was worried this dress would be too short but I didn't find that at all, although I'm short myself at 5'0. Loved this dress and would rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Weight: 120lbs
March 9, 2017
Beautiful dress, but way too short
I think this dress is beautiful, particularly the cutout back and the vibrant splash of colors across the front, but this dress is obscenely short. I'm comfortable showing my legs and wearing short dresses, but there's a difference between classy short and inappropriate short, and this dress did not hit the mark. Didn't wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
February 27, 2017
Color and details are amazing!
The material is a bit thinner than I was expecting for this dress, and it does run very short (I am 5'4 and it was above mid-thigh for me). But this is a very fun colorful dress, the low back is also an extra plus!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 22, 2017
Such a fun dress!
Love the color and back! only con- a little short, had to tug it down at times. Would rent again!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 21, 2017
Fun, sexy but still comfortable!
This was a fun, colorful cocktail dress that I wore to a rehearsal dinner. It runs true to size but is on the short side. The material is comfortable and very stretchy. I just wore pasties but did not need a bra. Great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 29, 2017
Love the Print!!
Really short but love the cut out back and the beautiful colors! Wore it to my 25th birthday and it was a success! No bra needed, material is thick enough to cover but one can opt for petals if needed.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 35

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×