Slate & Willow

Derek Dress

$30 – $55 rental?
$370 value
Delivery + Return Dates
Stylist Notes

Want a dress that can easily go from day to night? Then this dress by Slate & Willow is the answer! With a super cool print and sexy open back this dress screams fun!

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Printed crepe (100% Polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
1353 reviews
Fit
Large
(43)
True to Size
(735)
Small
(362)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 24, 2017
Spring wedding hit!
Favorite rtr dress rental ever. Fit perfectly. I used some tape to hold the shoulders in place. I felt super comfortable and looked great all night!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
April 20, 2017
This dress is super fun. It was a hit all night, and I definitely felt great in it.
The fit was definitely a little strange. The parts that go over your shoulders, at least on my dress (maybe it was stretched out), don't stay up very well. And the dress rides up when you walk. So while I loved it, and will definitely rent from RTR again, just know that this particular dress has some weird fit features. I normally wear a 0/2 and the 2 was a tad snug but still comfortable and fit well overall – except for the riding up and the shoulders :) I was adjusting all night long.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
April 15, 2017
This dress is so fun and colorful! I wore this for my bday and got lots of compliments.
Super flattering and cute. Definitely recommend!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
April 11, 2017
Great colors, bit of an odd fit
I rented this for a birthday dinner at a fancy steakhouse. The pros: The back is AMAZING! Such a sexy dress. And the colors are wonderful and bright. I paired the dress with teal flats but you could really pick any color and it would match this dress! I felt festive, unique, and wonderful in the bright dress. The cons: I've got wide hips so I had to size up to the 8 (typically a 6). Unfortunately, in both the 6 and the 8, it was still so large in the bust. Without a back to pull the dress together, it was too big and falling off my shoulders. I had to tape the sleeves, neckline, and back to me just to keep it on. The dress also does ride up quite a bit when you walk. Overall, I would still suggest for a fun, sexy dress, but maybe avoid if you'll be doing a lot of walking around.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
April 11, 2017
Narrow on bottom, nice colors
I was not in love with this dress. I am a little wider in the hip/bottom area than on top and it fit too small and quite short. I think this dress could work on a woman who was more narrow in the hip/butt area. The fabric was just ok though the colors and the open back were really pretty. Thankfully I ordered a backup style that I loved and rocked that dress!
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 11, 2017
Great dress for vacation
The dress is very comfortable, I am usually a size 4 but the 2 fit me better. It did ride up a bit but not enough to make it a big deal. The size 4 that arrived had a ripped sleeve so I would have worn that regardless. Overall a great dress I would recommend to a friend!
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 5, 2017
Showstopper!!
Very unique dress with Vibrant colors. Fit is true to size and works well with petite physiques. However the dress rides up constantly. Received tons of compliments. Would rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
March 26, 2017
Fun and festive for a Key West wedding
This dress is a knockout. So many compliments. It was not too tight as I feared also had concerns about the length but I'm 5'4 and it was perfect. Two cons- the hem is funky- I noticed in others' pictures too. It seems the shell and the slip material separated and makes the hem look weird. Also while walking it rides up very easily. The back is outstanding to look at- but as the night went on the dress slipped off my shoulders a few times. Still glad I rented it!!! The colors are so bright!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
March 23, 2017
Super cute and unique
Adoable dress which caught the eye all night. I wore it braless but it looked fine. I also was very self conscious about my very pale legs (in Miami) and wore it with hose and black shoes...looked awesome. Super comfortable and was confident and flirty all night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
March 23, 2017
Cute dress
I ordered a 0 and 2 and ended up wearing the 0. The 2 fit but looked more like a work dress and was a bit looser. The 0 fit tighter but it looked like someone had hemmed the bottom on it. It was rippling at the edges. Overall cute other than the bottom hem.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
March 19, 2017
The best back on a dress
Loved this dress, good fit. Colors make it so that anything can go with it, turned out amazing in every picture.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
March 17, 2017
Fun and Flattering Dress!
I loved this dress! I rented this dress through Unlimited membership for my honeymoon to Nicaragua. It was the perfect choice for an upscale, romantic dinner. My husband loved the open back. It runs a bit small and the skirt is definitely on the shorter side, so if you are tall you might want to size up. I'm 5'0, so the size was perfect for my petite frame. I paired this with black flats, but you can easily dress it up with heels or down with sandals. Added bonus: it travels very well and managed to make the trip while staying wrinkle-free. I can't wait to rent this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
March 13, 2017
Backless Success!
I never thought I could handle a backless dress, but this one proved me wrong. It was tight enough that it worked for me with the help of a backless bra. It is very short, but great for a fun night out.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
March 12, 2017
I WANT THIS DRESS
I rented this for a dinner party that got cancelled last minute. I decided to wear it out for a fun night with friends and received soooo many compliments. The picture does not do it due it justice. Loved it so much wish it was mine. If it helps I'm 5'3 and weigh 136. The 6 fit perfectly.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Age: 32
March 12, 2017
Great party dress for bachelorette in Miami!
Wore this for a night in Miami. Loved the dress, only complaint is that it rides up a lot when you walk. I got a 0 and 2 and ended up wearing the 0 (didn't even try on the 2). I used a nubra but would have been fine with no bra at all (very small bust- 34A). I was worried this dress would be too short but I didn't find that at all, although I'm short myself at 5'0. Loved this dress and would rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Weight: 120lbs
March 9, 2017
Beautiful dress, but way too short
I think this dress is beautiful, particularly the cutout back and the vibrant splash of colors across the front, but this dress is obscenely short. I'm comfortable showing my legs and wearing short dresses, but there's a difference between classy short and inappropriate short, and this dress did not hit the mark. Didn't wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
February 27, 2017
Color and details are amazing!
The material is a bit thinner than I was expecting for this dress, and it does run very short (I am 5'4 and it was above mid-thigh for me). But this is a very fun colorful dress, the low back is also an extra plus!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 22, 2017
Such a fun dress!
Love the color and back! only con- a little short, had to tug it down at times. Would rent again!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 21, 2017
Fun, sexy but still comfortable!
This was a fun, colorful cocktail dress that I wore to a rehearsal dinner. It runs true to size but is on the short side. The material is comfortable and very stretchy. I just wore pasties but did not need a bra. Great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 29, 2017
Love the Print!!
Really short but love the cut out back and the beautiful colors! Wore it to my 25th birthday and it was a success! No bra needed, material is thick enough to cover but one can opt for petals if needed.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 27, 2017
Wore the dress to my engagement party and it was a hit!
The dress was a perfect fit and the splash heading towards the side really accentuates the waistline. I'm petite but curvy and this dress was tight in the right places- but not too tight either. It was the right length for me, but it is short and would likely be short on taller people
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
January 26, 2017
Cool pattern, open back
This dress is cute and the print is different. I wore it to an art gallery and drinks on Vacation and it was perfect. I got a lot of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Everyday
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
January 20, 2017
Fun pops of color
I've rented this dress twice. The bottom is a little odd. It scrunches up, but it is otherwise a fun dress to wear.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 16, 2017
Love this dress, but was a little big.
This dress is super cute, but it was a little too loose on me. I got a 0 because that is my usual size, but I probably should've gotten the 00. If the fit had been better, it would've been perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
January 4, 2017
Great fun dress
This dress was great for my friend's wedding at an art museum. The print is really interesting and the open back is a great detail. I have bigger hips, and the bottom of the dress definitely fits snuggly, so I wore the size 8 instead of the size 6. The dress is a little short and rides up a little when dancing, but it wasn't a big deal. Loved wearing this!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 108lbs
December 28, 2016
LOVE.
I loved this dress. Be prepared for the low back.
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
December 26, 2016
Firework Dress for the 4th
Fun dress for a July 4th wedding. Fit was tight but the thick fabric smooths everything out. I wore a nubra with it and had no problems. It was comfortable all evening!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
December 19, 2016
Wow!
This dress fit perfectly! It had such high quality material, I felt so comfortable in it all night! Definitely did not want to send it back! I actually looked all over to try and buy! Absolute favorite.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 19, 2016
Loved this dress!
I wore this dress for my sorority semi formal. It fit great and was very comfortable and flattering! The only bad this is that it is a tad short, so I wouldn't suggest this dress for anyone taller than 5'5". Overall a great rent though!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
December 19, 2016
Fun and flirty!
I wore this to my fiance's graduation party in the southern heat in June. It was a standout dress for sure. Fun pattern on the front and flirty backless cut. Was tighter than I expected and rode up a bit when I walked. Definitely worth it though! Was tight enough on top to wear without a bra. Would rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 101lbs
December 17, 2016
Mexico vacation
This is my favorite dress I have ever rented from rent the runway. It fits perfectly and I got hundreds of complements. I will definitely rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
November 23, 2016
Wore in Hawaii for my birthday!
Loved this dress! So many compliments! I am 5'8 and this dress was very short. Looks great but definitely wouldn't suggest if you will be moving around a lot!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
November 17, 2016
Perfect dress for a night out
This dress fit perfectly and was so comfortable!!! Went on a little getaway with my husband and this dress was gorgeous for a night out. It was short but I did not have any issues where the dress would fall as in other reviews. I would definitely rent this dress again!
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Party
Age: 30
November 17, 2016
Great dress for a birthday party!
The back is very low but looks great! Might help to have fashion tape. Fun to dance in! It's a bit short but perfect for what i needed.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
November 7, 2016
Favorite dress I have rented!
I LOVE LOVE LOVED this dress! Probably my favorite dress I have rented! The colors are beautiful! This dress is very very sexy! And short, and the back is very open. If you are worried about it being too tight or too short size up! The material was great, very stretchy. It did ride up a little, but I didn't have any trouble dancing the night away! I would buy this dress or rent it again in an instant!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Everyday
Age: 31
October 31, 2016
Very short
While I love the style and color of this dress, it was VERY short and if you have any sort of a booty... you can forget about wearing this and feeling comfortable. I tried to wear it with booty shorts to help feel less exposed. When sitting down I felt as if there was no coverage what so ever and I was quite self conscious of that. I think it it were longer, it would have been perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
October 30, 2016
"Work in Progress" for Halloween!
Thank you Rent the Runway for the rental and inspiration for one of my favorite Halloween costumes ever! I saw this idea on your site a few years ago and had wanted to recreate it ever since. Such a success. I felt pretty and uniquely costumed all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
October 29, 2016
Wore this dress to a fashion show. It's perfect for a summertime party!
Love the dress, received several complaints, true to size!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
October 29, 2016
Great color and cut!
Loved the colors and cut of this dress! Perfect to feel unique at a wedding and not upstage the bride. It complimented my curves, but taller-proportioned ladies watch out. It is very short; I wore a long cardigan to protect my backside o_O
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
October 24, 2016
I'd buy this dress if it was possible
It fit just how I expected and I loved the pattern.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 34

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×