Slate & Willow

Derek Dress

$30 – $50 rental ?
$370 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Want a dress that can easily go from day to night? Then this dress by Slate & Willow is the answer! With a super cool print and sexy open back this dress screams fun! Pair with equally colorful accessories like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Play Dress Up Cocktail Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Printed crepe (100% polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

829 reviews

Fit
Small 282
True to Size 497
Large 25
Photos 573
Kelly
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
May 29, 2014

It made my 30th birthday super fun! Tons of compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit was perfect and true to size. I ordered the 4, which is my regular size, and a 6 for just incase purposes. The 4 fit perfectly. The dress was extremely comfortable although I did have to keep pulling it down, but that was no biggie. I did use fashion tape for the back which helped out a lot. Overall, this dress was awesome and made my 30th birthday everything that I wanted it to be. I did not want to send it back!!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 108 lbs
Jun 13, 2014

SO many compliments!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress fit great, definitely on the short side, but that was expected. Ordered a matching NuBra to go with and did not even need to wear. The material seemed to bunch a little in the back on the bottom but no one seemed to notice. Received compliments all night!
Kim
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 16, 2014

Lots of Compliments

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to my brother's wedding and got so many compliments on it throughout the evening. The dress was comfortable and easy to move in. I love the classic silhouette from the front how the open back adds some sex appeal while still keeping it classy. The dress is form fitting and has a stretchy fabric to ensure a nice fit through the hips. The dress is on the shorter side and I noticed the hemline slowly creeped up when I was walking or dancing. I didn't find this to be too big of a deal as it's easy notice to quickly pull down the hemline.
Madi
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 16, 2014

Perfect Dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I absolutely loved this dress! Got it in a size 0 and 2 and either would have worked ok - the 2 was too loose in the shoulders and the 0 was tighter in the bottom, but the 0 fit me better overall. I got compliments all night. Great first rental experience!
casey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jun 16, 2014

Bright and fun for a spring wedding!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect for a spring wedding, the colors were so much fun and I loved the open back detail! The length was perfect for me; however, I'm only 5' and I could see this being way too short on the taller ladies. I did need to use a little double stick tape to keep the shoulders from slipping but it wasn't a big deal.
Beth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jun 16, 2014

I loved this dress! Super comfortable and great bright colors! Received compliments all night.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I chose to wear gold dangly earrings, a gold & colored bracelet and cream heeled sandals. I wasn't sure about what color shoes to wear, but I think the cream worked well even though the dress was white. Perfect dress for a wedding or party. This is my second RTR experience and I am hooked! So easy from beginning to end and fabulous dresses!!! Could not say enough positive things! Love RTR!!!
Ellen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 17, 2014

LOVED IT

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress is so fun and flattering. The colors hide and make you seem more hour-glassed than you may otherwise be. The back is great but a bit tricky to get the shoulders to stay up as the night wore on. My husband LOVED this one though. It is definitely short and tighter on the bottom than it is on the top, but it's great fun while you're wearing it!
Alexis
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jun 17, 2014

So many great dress complements!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to an awards ceremony where lots of pictures were taken. I wanted something not too revealing for the photos, but still fun. This dress was great.
Caitlin
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 19, 2014

Everyone kept asking me where I got my dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Amazing print and low cut back but so incredibly short that I was tugging at it the whole night
Annie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 19, 2014

The perfect dress for my company's 30th Anniversary Party!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress! I fell in love with the print, and the fit, while a little small, was perfect! I rented the 4 and 6, and I ended up wearing the 6. It fits snug around the hips, so if you're curvier, I'd size up, but on top it was perfection! Word of advice to tall girls: this dress is SHORT! I'm only 5'3" and I had to be careful how I moved around all night. I got tons of compliments all night, I felt amazing in the dress, and I was kind of sad to pack it up to return it!
megan
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 19, 2014

This dress was perfect! It stands out, and feels great on .

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress did ride up a little when I walked around, but not bad.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143 lbs
Jun 21, 2014

Everyone obsessed over this dress--myself included! So beautiful and FUN!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
It was a little shorter than if prefer, but I'm pretty tall! Great to dance in, go party in, and even worked for a nice dinner before all of that. Strangers kept coming up to me asking about it.
Nancy
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Jun 22, 2014

I wish I owned this dress!

Size worn: OO
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am extremely petite and the 00 fit perfectly! The shoulders did slip slightly, but I used fashion tape and it worked out just fine. I received tons of compliments!
kate
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 23, 2014

A fun & unique dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved wearing this dress! The colors were gorgeous and the fit was great. I received tons of compliments. My only critique was the general fit and having to tug at a bit in order to keep the dress long enough and maintain the fit of the back. If it got too short, the back would puff out a bit and cause the sleeves to fall down. It was a great reception dress but I felt a little bit revealing in the back for the actual church ceremony. All in all I'm very glad I rented it and wore it but just some things to think about!
Kristina
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jun 25, 2014

Wore this to my wedding rehearsal dinner and received lots of compliments!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fabric is really soft and comfortable. Ordered a 2 & 0 and went with the 0, I am 5'2/105lbs. Really pretty dress!
BRITTANEY
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Jun 25, 2014

Love it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was beautiful! My only complaint is the top is bigger than the bottom. Other than that it photographed beautifully and I received a ton of compliments!!!
RTR Customer
Jun 25, 2014

Lots of compliments! Dress was very comfortable!!!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The top was very loose in both size 6 and size 8, size 6 fit but was very short! The size 8 had perfect length but the top kept falling off of my shoulders.
Laura
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 25, 2014

So many complements!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
When I read the reviews it seemed like I needed to get a larger size, but really I should have gotten a smaller. The top part was just a little too big so the sleeves kept falling down. Yes it comes up a little when you walk, but it wasn't that bad. When I first got out of my car, I hadn't even walked 10 feet before I had 2 people complement me on the dress. It's so cute. Casual but dressy so it was perfect for meeting up with friends and then going out after. I'll definitely be renting this one again.
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 27, 2014

SO many compliments on this dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress was BEAUTIFUL and I got so many compliments! I wore it to a play and then my boyfriend and I did a fancy Shake Shack date :P The material was much thinner than I expected - I thought it would be more structured - but it was lovely and fit really well. I usually don't like dresses with such a low back, but this one was so flattering and felt super comfortable! One of the few dresses I've been able to wear braless and not be self-conscious in :) Highly recommended!
susan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122 lbs
Jun 28, 2014

LOVED this dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was an amazing dress. It was comfortable (I was nervous about a backless dress) and I got a lot of compliments. I gave it one less "star" because the hem at the bottom was strange. On the hanger it looked fine but it did this bunching thing in the back that I wish it hadn't. BUT even with that, I would rent again bc I liked it so much. Also, I bought a sticky bra from RTR that worked perfectly.
Margreth
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 29, 2014

I wore this dress for my 30th birthday and loved it! I got so many compliments and the back was sexy

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It was perfect for my 30th birthday. I wore the Nuva bra with it and didn't have any issues with it.
Nadia
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 29, 2014

This was my first dress with RTR and I can't wait for my next! Looks like the start to an addiction

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented size 2 and 4, but opted for the 4 because the 2 was pretty short. If I was wearing the dress to Vegas, no problem, but this was a wedding. I had no problem with the open back. The skirt road up a little but wasn't a hassle. Loved how colorful this dress was! Definitely not your dept store style dress! I felt for very fashion forward :)
Pamela
Top Contributor
Age: 27
Jun 29, 2014

Loved this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved everything about this dress: print, colors, style, cut! Both sizes fit well, and while the smaller size was short and would ride up when walking, I found that, because I'm short, the sleeves would fall down with the larger one. If you're taller and have a longer torso, I'd recommend the larger size.
Rina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 1, 2014

White & colorful for bachelorette party

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I'm usually a 4 and the 4 fit fine. I was fitted and super short. I went a size up so the skirt wasn't so short, but even with a bigger size, the skirt still rode up. Still a fun dress, wore it for my Bach party. =)
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 2, 2014

Such an original dress with a sexy back! I felt like a million bucks!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Like others has said it was tight around the thighs and would ride up when I walked but I was sitting for most of my event so that didn't bother me very much. I loved the fun print and low back. It ran small and I usually wear a 4 but I went with the 6 because it was tight around the thighs. The fabric was stretchy and cool because my venue was hot. I would rent this dress again!
April
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 172 lbs
Jul 6, 2014

Fun little number!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Wore this dress to the Essence music festival in New Orleans. Lots of compliments, particularly on the cut of the back. The other comments above the skirt riding up when walking around are true - I kept tugging mine down. I think that was an issue of the size probably being one too small for me - I got the 8 (which I couldn't zip up) and the 10, and probably should have really worn a 12. Still it was run and comfortable in the top, and perfect for a summer night out on the town. Would rent again in a bigger size. Due to the deep back you will definitely need an adhesive bra or something like that.
RTR Customer
Jul 6, 2014

Beautiful for an outdoor occasion!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Pros- gorgeous colors for an outdoor event. Photographs beautifully. Got lots of compliments Cons- runs small and tight around the bottom. If you are going for a more conservative look and fit, go a size up than you would normally wear. Be sure to tape the shoulders so sleeves don't fall. Loved this look! Really fun and different!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 6, 2014

Too short

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I typically look for shorter dresses...because I'm short and don't want the dress to fall at an awkward length. This one is the perfect length when you first put it on but as you wear it the hemline slowly creeps upward. Was something I was conscious of the entire evening and was distracting. It's also of a much flimsier fabric...more spandex-ey than I had imagined which combined with the short length made it feel less classy. Overall I love the colors and the open back, but I wouldn't rent it again. Not the quality of dress I'm used to from RTR.
Army
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 6, 2014

GORGEOUS DRESS!!!!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I LOVE THIS DRESS. I wish I could just outright own it. It actually fits true-to-size (I'm a 4 and 4 fit perfectly) and I didn't have any issues w/the sleeves falling off my shoulders as I have fairly athletic and broad shoulders. I also didn't have to wear a bra with it (but I'm only a 34B). I paired this with my raspberry suede pumps for a date. It would look cute with flats as well for the daytime. I wouldn't recommend it if you aren't confident about how your back looks though (lol) because all eyes will be on you when you're wearing this dress!!
Courtney
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Jul 8, 2014

LOVED THIS DRESS. Was so perfect for a Vegas girls trip.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Runs a bit smaller so def order a size up as a back up size. Its super comfortable and great to dance in!
Audra
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 9, 2014

Tons of compliments on this fun dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit true to size. The dress is a little short, especially when sitting, but still felt appropriate for a late summer wedding. Loved this rental!
Kris
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jul 9, 2014

Sexy and fun party dress that held everything in place!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my friend's birthday party where three of us rented dresses from RTR! We went to dinner at a nice downtown restaurant and then to a hot dance club. This dress fit both venues perfectly! It was classy with the high neck in the front and super sexy with the open back! I wore the 8 only because it would let me move better when dancing. Also, the dress is quite short so the 8 had a little longer length. The only con is that because of the short length and the stretch to the dress, it rode up when I was dancing (although I don't always tend to dance lady like). I received tons of compliments all night and everyone said that my RTR dress was the best!!
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 9, 2014

Such a fun dress! Perfect for my anniversary dinner

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Loved the bright Colors in this dress and the back was super sexy. The 4 fit perfectly although as others have mentioned it does ride up when you walk around which was a little annoying. Overall a really stunning flattering dress
courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jul 10, 2014

Such a fun dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
The colors in this dress are outstanding! The hips fit just a slight bit tight but other than that it was perfect! The length was great on me also! Will definitely be renting again.
kim
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 10, 2014

Loved the dress! Run's small, and short.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Loved the dress! Run's small, and short.
cdagorn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102 lbs
Jul 12, 2014

Gorgeous dress for summer cocktail party!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress. I got compliments even walking down the street. Lightweight material. Sleeves were a little big and the hanger straps were a nuisance but I used garment tape and taped them inside the dress. Wish I owned it I would wear it again and again!
Alyssa
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 13, 2014

An amazing dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding (catholic ceremony, outdoor reception in July). I read other reviews and saw how it ran small. I received both the 2 & 4 and decided to go with the 4. I used cups that stick on the side (I'm a 34a) just to give me a little extra definition ;) and that worked perfectly with this being a backless dress. The only reason why I did not give this dress 5 stars is because sometimes the sleeves felt as though they would slide off and that was bothersome. I honestly could not see a size difference between the 2 or 4 (and either could my roomie) so I just went with the bigger size. As the night went on the fabric did give a little so that's something to consider if your size is up for debate! You'll receive so many compliments and will definitely want to keep this in your closet! I loved wearing it :)
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 13, 2014

Fun dress for a fun wedding!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Fit a bit small, had to keep tugging it down, but they couldn't send my backup size. So many compliments though, and the RTR customer service was incredible!!
Jesse
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124 lbs
Jul 14, 2014

Beautiful colors for a fun bachelorette night on the town!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for a bachelorette party. The colors were beautiful and bold and fit the mood of the night perfectly. The length was perfect and made my legs feel sexy. The back of this dress really flaunts the back and gives you an extra sexy feel. The material was comfortable and very easy to move in and it fit my shape well. It was slightly loose in the shoulders, but caused no problem at all. I felt very high fashioned in this dress when paired with a black stiletto and red lipstick. It's tough to find a bra for this dress, I recommend the plastic cutlets found at Victoria's Secret, or if you can.. Go bra-less! I did and the girls were held in place perfectly!
Lauren
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 14, 2014

Crazy fun

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Fun dress to wear. Tons of compliments. The size 2 was pretty perfect but, I probably could have fit into the size 4 and been a little bit more comfy.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×