Derek Dress

$40 rental
$370 value

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Want a dress that can easily go from day to night? Then this dress by Slate & Willow is the answer! With a super cool print and sexy open back this dress screams fun!

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Printed crepe (100% Polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
1214 reviews
Fit
Large39
True to Size687
Small344
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 123lbs
November 12, 2015
very cute, but super short
couldn't do much moving around without having to hold it down. its pretty with the back out but not comfortable for dancing
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
November 12, 2015
Loved the dress! Got so many compliments!
Typically i wear a size 4, but the 6 fit a bit better. Was very short.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
November 9, 2015
Perfect dress for my Bridal Luncheon. Loved all the colors.
The fit was perfect for me. I ordered the 6 and 8 as backup and stuck with the 6. It was a little short but not bad. The stretchy material was great and the back of the dress was ahhhmazing!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
November 7, 2015
Such fun colors!
Received so many compliments on the colors and style of this dress! Everyone said it looked amazing on and fit like a glove. As you can see, it was very short. I wore it with a backless bra and that was just fine. The shoulders did fall down a little bit through out the night because i didn't fashion tape them, so i would recommend finding a way to secure the sleeves if that will bother you. Other that that, the dress was so much fun to wear and was perfect for a sorority formal.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
November 4, 2015
Good concept- very impractical.
Great dress. As long as you are standing. Still. And probably not breathing either. You can't walk or sit in this dress without the skirt bunching way up or the shoulders falling totally off. Looks pretty (it's very tight), but one of my least favorite rentals ever.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
November 2, 2015
Great fit. Super comfortable. Wore all day/night to a wedding.
On the shorter side but fine for wedding/cocktail. Stretchy material was very comfortable. Could have gone a smaller size but the 2 was great.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 1, 2015
Dress for engagement pictures - everyone loved it!
I wore this dress for our engagement pictures in Grand Central and received a ton of compliments on it. I wore the 2, which was my backup, as the 4 was a bit too big in the bust area and I wasn't wearing a bra with it. Two issues: we did have to keep pushing in the white straps for the hanger over and over again, and I had to keep pulling it down because it was so short, both of which was annoying. The fabric is really light so was perfect for the hot summer day. Overall, it is such a unique and cute dress I would definitely rent it again
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 21
October 30, 2015
This dress was perfect cocktail attire for my school's homecoming parade! So many compliments! :)
I made sure to check out all of the reviews before renting this so this is mine to help someone! This dress is STUNNING! I ordered both 4 and 6, but the 4 fit more comfortably, hugging my curves. It is short but can be pulled down. The open back is perfect. The colors really stand out and someone said I looked like a work of picasso on the parade float! The dress itself is stunning and I wore it to the fullest. I added silver jewelry and paired it with coral heels. The shipping arrived on time and the return instructions were easy to follow. I couldn't have had a more perfect dress for the occasion and I'm so glad to have had a great first renting experience! Thank you. Wish I could own this!!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
October 28, 2015
Beautiful fun flirty dress! Got lots of compliments!
It fit very well, however it did ride up a bit. Especially when sitting, I had to make sure it was pulled down pretty good. When standing though, it was fabulous! Very comfortable material. A lot of girls said they wore without a bra. I did the same, and it was ok. If I did it over again, probably would have worn a sticky-bra.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 157lbs
October 27, 2015
So many compliments!
Tended to ride up but once I put short spandex on underneath, the problem was so fixed.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 134lbs
October 27, 2015
The dress was great and just what I needed for my cousin's bat mitzvah!
Dress is really cute BUT, the top is larger than the bottom (it was a bit loose with the open back) AND the slip and dress are all connected so the hem line easily got distorted if it wasn't flattened completely.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 26, 2015
So many compliments
Wore it with magenta heels. Was fantastic!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 114lbs
October 25, 2015
Loved this dress!! I received a lot of compliments.
The dress is short, but looks and fits great.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 32
October 22, 2015
The dress fit true to size. Fabric is not a structured as it looks, more stretchy. 6.5 or 7 /10
The portion that appears white in the photos is a bit more grey and I was thinking this would be a thick structure cotton fabric with a little stretch so when a more synthetic lined dress arrived that wasn't pressed - it didn't quite lay how I envisioned particularly in the chest. I wear stickies often with open back tops that you can't wear a bra and I love it - but in this dress it was not the most flattering. I am a 32DD with a very perky chest that doesn't require much, if any, support. I felt kind of flat and mushy in the top - but it wasn't terribly just not as flattering as I had hoped. I was really happy that it wasn't too long, since I am short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
October 21, 2015
Huge hit for semi-formal wedding!
Fit was great, I wore high-waisted shorty spanx underneath. They were fine on bottom, but had to fold them down on top so as not to show in the cut-out back. (Not a problem, though!) Dress was great and comfortable. I went without a bra and had no problem (not a common option for me). It was a little short when sitting/dancing, so not good for an overly formal occasion.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
October 21, 2015
COMPLIMENTS!
Received so many compliments on this dress. But it does run small. I typically wear a 0 and might have even been comfortable with the 4... only because it was a little short for a wedding (when shout came on, I did not raise my hands...) Anyway, it was a great dress, comfortable fabric etc. Really loved it and would get it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 120lbs
October 17, 2015
Looks great in pictures!
I was worried that this dress would gape in the back because I have a short torso, but it fit great! The length is short, but not too short. And the colors really photograph well. Lots of compliments - would rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
October 16, 2015
It was very fun and flattering for a friends wedding rehearsal dinner in San Diego.
The size 4 fit best minus the length for going to a wedding rehearsal so I went for a size 6 alternate just to have extra length. With the 4 I could get away with not wearing a bra. With a 6 I needed support so I wore a backless bra. Without having the abs I would love, I was sucking in the stomach a lot to not have my food baby show. Overall I liked it and felt sexy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 15, 2015
Cute dress, material is starting to feel warn out.
The dress was really cute, but unfortunately some of these dresses shouldn't be in circulation anymore due to overuse. Make sure you have tape for the dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
October 13, 2015
This dress was a ton of fun and super cute for my fiancé's 5 year college reunion!
I'm 5'5" and 147lbs and the size 8 fit perfectly!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Weight: 128lbs
October 13, 2015
Family
Perfect fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
October 11, 2015
Amazing dress, fit was great! It's a little short, FYI. Great experience overall!
Soft material, comfortable to wear, beautiful. No cons but keep in mind it is very short.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 9, 2015
Awesome standout dress! Thinner material than I expected though...
I loved this dress. Colors are vibrant and amazing, but one complaint is that I thought that this was going to be a little thicker/stiffer structured material. Its really soft and a lot thinner than I thought... Not a bad thing necessarily, just not what I expected. It is short (but with the high neckline its fine). Definitely recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 8, 2015
The dress was super comfy, very eye catching, and colorful.
The dress was great; it was super easy to wear (I opted for the stick on cups for a bra so the back would be no problem) and definitely made the statement I was looking for at my graduation. I wish the dress didn't ride up as much when I walked, but that may be more my shape than the dress. I would rent this again for the right occasion for sure, but maybe order a size up to avoid pulling it down all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 8, 2015
Love the design and back of this dress!
This dress was great! I could have gotten away with the 4 (my usual size) but it felt a little tight in the hips and was also a little short for a wedding so I decided to size up to my backup dress which was a 6. Unfortunately the 6 came with a rip in the side seam. It seemed like RTR knew about this and sent it anyway because the dress had a piece of blue tape on it and a red piece of paper stapled around the arm. I removed those and did a quick fix in order to wear it that night. The dress itself does run a little small and the bottom is kind of weird - it's like a modified bubble hem and it looks a little uneven/sloppy. Other than that, the dress is great and was the perfect mix of fun, sexy, and easy going for an upscale backyard wedding.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 8, 2015
Beautiful wedding in New Orleans
While the dress looked great and fit ok (better with fashion tape), the zipper was very difficult and was about three zips away from being broken. I got a lot of compliments on it and am happy I rented it. Side note: Not all of the dresses look the same. Mine had almost no white on the top.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 150lbs
October 8, 2015
LOVED IT, RISKY MOVE BUT COULDN"T HAVE BEEN HAPPIER
fit perfectly, flattering in all areas and super comfortable, my dress was the talk of the night and looks awesome both in person and in pictures! I was hesitant to rent this given the bold colors but strongly recommend it! Way to go Rent the Runway
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
October 7, 2015
Perfect colorful party dress!
Fit great--very flattering.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
October 6, 2015
Cute
Very cute simple backless dress! It's very stretchy so I can imagine it fitting all kinds of body types. Its pretty short, even for a short person like me.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
October 5, 2015
Great for a FL wedding! I wore it again to work on Monday with a cardigan and black skirt.
I loved this dress!! I wore it to a late summer Florida wedding and it was perfect! I paired it with teal pumps and a teal purse, but I think any bright color shoe would look great. I received many complements! It stayed on my shoulders well, even when dancing- I didn't need to tape the dress like some of the other posters. I wore my backup size to work the following Monday with a black skirt, cardigan, and pumps.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 24
October 5, 2015
Loved this dress, was perfect for a wedding. I received compliments all night long!
It's fitted to the body and exposes the back beautifully. The only reason I'm not giving it a 5 star rating is because it's a little short so I had to keep pulling it down throughout the night. I would recommend wearing shorts or something underneath the dress. Nonetheless, I would recommend this dress to anyone 10/10 times!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 102lbs
October 4, 2015
Overall, it was really cute and I did receive a lot of a compliments,
I am petite, so the back had to be fashion taped completely down and on the shoulders. I'm 5'1" and the dress came to about 2 inches above the knee, so I had to roll it up just a bit. It was a little bigger than I anticipated for a size 00, and there were some lose spots.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 52
October 3, 2015
Perfect for a Birthday Party.
The dress is stylish and the back really makes this dress a bit sexy. The dress looks great in pictures too. The shoulders were a bit big on my small top. The material is stretchy and pulled up when I would move around... so I was a bit self conscious. Overall, a very fun dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
September 30, 2015
Really pretty. Really short. Really loved it.
This dress was just as pretty in person as it was online. I wore it to a wedding in July 2015 and got tons of compliments. I'm usually a size 4 or 6, but since this style was a little more form fitting, I went with the 6. People who like to boogie, beware! It fit well, but I did spend the evening pulling the dress down so I wouldn't expose myself to the rest of the guests.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
September 30, 2015
Something different.
I really liked this dress--the colorful, fun pattern is different from what I would normally wear. It is shorter than I normally wear but not TOO short. It was just what I was looking for to wear for my birthday dinner with my husband. I wore a backless bra (ordered from RTR), and that worked well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 29, 2015
Super colorful and the backless makes it super cute!!!
I am 5'1 and the 0 was even short of me. But I didnt wear the 2 because the shoulders would of been a tad big. Over all it was awesome. Such a fun dress and you dont need to wear a bra!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Age: 44
September 29, 2015
Brace yourself for loads of compliments!
Fits like a glove. I normally where a 6 and was concerned about going up a size but since it is stretch it fit loose but perfectly. I got lots of compliments on the design and fit. My "girls" are never without cover but I was so busy all week that I did not have time to buy a special bra to go with the very low back. So, I opted to go bra-less!! And thankfully no one was the wiser. The material is thick enough to conceal and the seams are perfectly placed for support. I was concerned about the review comments that the dress rides up but did not have that issue at all. Yes, the dress is very short on someone 5' 7 but not so short that you are uncomfortable. My only complaint is the lower hem is a bit wavy. I would have preferred it more "pressed."
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
September 29, 2015
I got endless compliments on the dress- so fun for a wedding.
Fits true to size
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
September 29, 2015
Pop of Color at My 10 Year Reunion!
I usually don't fit in anything less than a 4 since my high school days, but the stretchy material of the dress made the 2 fit like a glove. I wore this to my 10 year reunion and it was a hit, even for a smaller town affair! It was a little shorter than I normally wear- I had to take special care when sitting down... but the open back made it super fun and the high neckline in front added a touch of class. It was the perfect dress to put me in the mood for a fun time. :) If you're on the fence about getting this dress, just say yes- you'll love it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
September 28, 2015
Very cute, unique dress that stood out among a sea of black, maroon, and navy.
This dress was adorable and very easy to wear with a sticky bra. However, it was challenging for my pear shape. The 6 top was too big and although the length was better, there was a strange pucker at the bottom. The 4 fit great on top, but was really short and I had to pull it down every time I walked. It looked great though and was fun to wear. I took the recommendation to wear the back with dress tape, which really helped most the night, until the very end with dancing, the shoulders kept sliding off. Overall, I thought the style was worth the trouble.
See more reviews:
3 / 31

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×