Derek Dress

$40 rental
$370 value

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Want a dress that can easily go from day to night? Then this dress by Slate & Willow is the answer! With a super cool print and sexy open back this dress screams fun!

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Printed crepe (100% Polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
1272 reviews
Fit
Large42
True to Size707
Small351
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 131lbs
April 5, 2016
Very fun dress
The dress I originally ordered was too large and there were no smaller sizes left so I ended up with this dress. I was much more pleased with it then I thought! I got a ton of complements and it was very flattering on. My only complaint is that it was VERY short (which is rare for me!) for the wedding party I was at. If the six would have been available, I think it would have been more appropriate in length but this one still looked good-just had to pull it down a lot!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
April 4, 2016
Waaaay too short
This dress is beautiful and got tons of compliments for the colors and the open back. Unfortunately it was SOOO short that I spent the entire party tugging it down and worrying. I'm 5'9" and while the size 6 fit well, I ended up wearing the backup size 8 to try and get a tiny bit more length. I made it through my bridal shower alive, but I seriously cannot imagine dancing at a wedding in this...
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
April 3, 2016
loved the print and open back
The dress was nice enough. I was kind of uncomfortable though because it kept rising up and the sleeves were loose and would slide off. A little too short for the wedding.
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
March 27, 2016
Perfect funfetti for a birthday!
This was such a great dress to rent for a birthday date! It's not something I would usually choose for myself, but I couldn't resist its funfetti vibe. It was tight enough that I still had plenty of support with a backless sticky bra. The plunging back is super sexy, and it's short enough to reveal a little leg, but the neckline and cap sleeves make it a little more modest and classy. I wore it with druzy drop earrings and black pumps, but I think you could really pair it with a number of things!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
March 26, 2016
Did not wear. Too small and too short (and in only 5').
The color and style of the dress is great. Only problem I had was it was too small and too short. So I did not wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 24, 2016
Bright fun and unique
The color on this dress really pops. The back is show stopping. It is short but not too bad. Wore this on a yacht vacation and for my birthday.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 23, 2016
Fun and Flirty!
This dress fit like a glove, without being clingy. Loved the sexy open back! I wore this for my bachelorette party, and felt awesome!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 22, 2016
Too short to wear & this is coming from a girl who loves wear short garmets
Wasn't able to wear. I'm 5'6.5 exactly and it was way to short. Plus it rides up bad every time I took a step & my bottom would show. The pattern is beautiful & the back of the dress is beautiful. Materiel is very thin & unforgiving. I'm 125, 32D, long legs, 5'6.5"
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Weight: 128lbs
March 19, 2016
Great dress! Definitely an attention-getter and tons of compliments!
I wore it with pink pumps (as pictured) & it was gorgeous! Fit was pretty true-to-size and my only real complaint is that it is short and you have to pull it down all the time (I'm 5'7" so fairly tall and leggy, so this is why it was tougher). But all in all, I would rent it again because it is so well-made and beautiful!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 16, 2016
It was a beautiful wedding in Puerto Rico.
The dress had awkward fitting around the hips, and was a little short. Other than that, it was perfect for my event.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 37
March 8, 2016
I wore this dress for an outside wedding in Florida.
I love the colors in this dress; and I felt like it stood out among other dresses at the wedding I attended. It was however, kind of tight on the stomach and the butt. I don't think I would have wanted a bigger size though because then it might of lost of the sex appeal. Overall, I loved wearing the dress and it was a great first experience using RTW. I would recommend this dress to other women, too! Just do a few crunches the week before. :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
March 5, 2016
Perfect birthday dress!!
This dress is very short but modest up top. Perfect for someone who likes to show off legs and not cleavage. The back is also stunning and shows just enough of your back to be sexy. I wish I owned this dress because so many of my girlfriends asked to borrow it later. Almost every female I saw gave me compliments and even many guys. It was the perfect birthday dress. It runs true to size. The material is good quality and didn't run or itch. I danced all night in it and wasn't worried about it riding up too much.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 1, 2016
Sassynes!
Great choice, even tough the back fits was biger wich is weird cause the rest of the dress it's for petite bodies , anyway I felt like million of bucks on that one, i love the fabric and style.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 29, 2016
The dress fit perfectly and I loved the colors!
I ordered this dress in a 6 & 8. It's tight, but it has stretch to it, so I ended up wearing the 6 because it fit more snuggly and I wasn't worried about the sleeves slipping off. I think you could wear a bra with this, if it was one of those bras for low backs, but I went braless. I have a bigger chest and zero hips (39, 29, 36), so I wasn't sure if the dress would fit. But it fit perfectly! The colors on the dress were just as bright and fun as they look on the website. If it were an option to buy it, I would do it in a heartbeat.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
February 25, 2016
Too big!
If you're nervous about this being too big, I'd opt for something else! I loved the design but not enough tape in the world would have made that back stick down to not show everyone everything. Ended up buying a new dress since I was short on time. I am fairly short though and the length was perfect.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 18, 2016
A really fun and pretty dress with a lot of personality!
I wore this dress on my boyfriend and I's Valentine's Day dinner at the aquarium! The fit overall is very flattering, and really accentuated my figure! The colors are gorgeous and it's just very unique in general! My only complaint is that the dress is very short, especially on my rather tall body. I was pulling it down quite a bit throughout the evening! I still really loved it though! Would definitely rent again! :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
February 17, 2016
Adorable!
Fabulous print!! Lots of compliments. It's lined so you don't need a bra.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 35
February 17, 2016
Striking dress, but fit was somewhat odd.
Really loved the colors in this dress and the opened back. I received a ton of compliments on the dress. I wore my hair up to show off the back and I paired it with bright pink pumps. I'm normally a 6 and the 6 was a little tight around my hips and butt (but I have hips and a butt). For a slimmer build I think this would definitely be a true to size fit. I saw complaints about the hem and that's the only real complaint I had, too. The hem doesn't lay perfectly flat. I ironed it, but it didn't really help. In evening light no one would ever notice. It does ride up a bit, too. You do not need a bra or pasties, because the fabric is thick enough.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Everyday
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 17, 2016
Beautiful!
I did not end up wearing this dress out, unfortunately, though it was due to the weather and not the dress itself. The fabric was extremely light and the dress was VERY flattering, I had no odd gaps in the bad of the dress. Though I did notice that when I walked, the dress would ride up in the skirt area. Other than that, the dress fit perfectly!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Date
February 13, 2016
Cute dress. Really terrible hem
The bottom hem is dreadful. Puckers and doesn't lie flat. Very word on an otherwise site dress
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 108lbs
February 11, 2016
This dress really stands out with its unique design and back cut out.
I loved the fit of this dress. I am usually between a 0 and a 2 and the 2 was a better length. I am a 32B and didn't need to wear a bra. The open back was really pretty and made this dress stand out.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 8, 2016
I usually wear a 4 but I went with a 6. Glad I did. Its short, but fit well in the bust.
I usually wear a 4 but I went with a 6. Glad I did. Its short, but fit well in the bust.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
February 6, 2016
I loved this dress!! I'm now addicted to RTR.
The dress came right on time and fit perfect. My only complaint- which is minimal and nothing really- was the hemline. It was meant to not be crisp, which seemed slightly odd. I loved it regardless and will be renting it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
February 3, 2016
Fun, flirty party dress!
I was a little hesitant about this dress at first but it actually worked out way better than I expected! The fit is great and true to size but it is rather short. You can't wear a bra with it which so you if you want extra support you will have to wear a backless, strapless bra. Overall, it was a very fun, flirty and young dress and I liked it much better than I thought I would!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
February 3, 2016
Very different from most dresses
Runs short
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
February 2, 2016
Very comfortable dress. I got a lot of compliments on it. Forms well to the body.
I go back and forth between a 2 and a 4. I wore the 4 as the 2 was too tight in the hip area. The 4 fit perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
January 29, 2016
Fun dress for a Carnival themed wedding
This dress has a some stretch to it. I paired it with black strappy sandals. I didn't want to send it back
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
January 26, 2016
Vibrant colors!
Dinner & event
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
January 25, 2016
California wine country wedding.
Amazing fit and super comfortable. Tons of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 29
January 22, 2016
A fun outfit that was easy to accessorize with
Loved this dress but boy did it run short!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
January 18, 2016
Amazing super-fun dress!
Rented this as my b-day dress, and it totally made the night!!! I wore it with the RTR Kate Spade "Mr and Mrs" purse, and turquoise Kendra Scott earrings. The dress doesn't really need to be accessorized, but I thought the earrings were a nice touch. Wearing it put me in such a festive mood, and the back is super fun!! You don't need a bra with it because the material is thick enough, and I didn't feel I needed any fashion tape for the open part in the back, although I'd recommend it if you want to ensure the fabric is laying flat the entire time. The dress fit perfectly, and the material was stretchy and super comfortable. I couldn't recommend this one highly enough.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
January 13, 2016
Unique but strange fit
Like many other reviewers mentioned, this dress has sort of a strange fit. It is not very structured and falls off the shoulders. However, the pattern is beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
January 12, 2016
The back of the dress was beautiful and I loved the colors!
The bottom is stretchy but snug. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because of the hem - it didn't lay flat. It was fun to wear, comfortable and I got a lot of compliments on it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 11, 2016
Such a fun and flirty dress with a real modernist design. I got a lot of compliments.
The open back was fantastic. I'm petite up top, so I had to make sure the shoulders weren't slipping, but I didn't have much trouble with that, and I didn't even use fashion tape. Very comfortable. I wore the zero because it hugged like a glove whereas the 2 seemed a bit loose. I really liked the dress. The only thing that caught me off guard is that it's not really white; it seemed a subtle soft gray. Not sure if that's from improper laundering, but it certainly didn't appear dirty in any way.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
January 6, 2016
Great dress; fits like a petite
I had so much fun in this dress! The colors are so vibrant and, except for the length, it fit perfectly. While the fabric is soft, it was thick enough that I didn't need to wear pasties or anything. I felt well supported and was able to dance all night with just the support from the dress. The length was the biggest shocker, I had seen the pictures and read the reviews of it riding up when walking, but it was still WAY shorter than I had imagined. I had to go out and buy a nice pair of leggings in order to feel comfortable wearing the dress in public.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Age: 32
January 4, 2016
I rented this dress for a weekend in Miami. I don't have many dresses like this, so decided to rent!
LOVED this dress! It was a nice, light and stretchy material. I have small boobs, so I didn't wear a bra, and felt secure all night even though the back was open. I received so many compliments - even the next day on how I looked the night before.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 28
January 3, 2016
This dress is a showstopper! Great dress to flaunt your legs!
Fits good and is short as described. Pros: vibrant colors and flattering fit. Cons. Dress has to be pulled down often.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 1, 2016
So fun to wear!
This dress is on the shorter side. Best for something that's not too formal.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Weight: 130lbs
December 20, 2015
A great dress for a fun night in Vegas!
This was my second RTR dress from Slate & Willow. I loved the fit. Ordered a size 4 and 6, and went with the 4. My favorite part was the open back - sexy & cute! The color and style of the dress was perfect for a night out in Las Vegas!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
December 17, 2015
Easy and comes as it says... Makes me feel safe to rent from them..
I'm smaller on top and thicker on bottom... I still probably could have gone down a size. But it was fine I didn't mind too much especially since it was for my engagement photos... But I absolutely loved this dress!!!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 32

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×