Slate & Willow

Derek Dress

$40 rental
$370 value
Stylist Notes

Want a dress that can easily go from day to night? Then this dress by Slate & Willow is the answer! With a super cool print and sexy open back this dress screams fun!

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Printed crepe (100% Polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
1462 reviews
Fit
Large
(47)
True to Size
(769)
Small
(377)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 4, 2015
I popped in the crowd of nothing but GOLD, BLACK, And SILVER :)

I LOVE COLOR! I saw this dress and the fact that it had the back out was also what sold me (I love showing off my back). I border a 4/6 because of my sporty bum ;) but the 4 hugged better and rode up less. It was a tad loose in the waist for me but that's my body type (12in difference to hips). Fabric is soft and some reviews state it's looser in the top... OBVIOUSLY bc there is NO BACK for support and the lower half is more fitted to show the curves. Braless was my personal preference because the dress was snug enough that it made no difference to me. Thanks for another great dress, I definitely felt like I was on a runway all night!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
January 19, 2015
Amazingly unique, show stopper!

Obsessed with this dress, if it was for sale I would buy in a second. I wore this dress for a Welcome Cocktail Party during my wedding weekend, and then rented and wore it again to a friend's wedding two weeks later. Endless comments and incredibly comfortable!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 24, 2015
Perfect island fun dress

I received so many compliments with this dress. It was comfortable and not restrictive at all. The dress is short but in a way that makes your leg look long and sexy, not in a way you feel uncomfortable wearing it.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
February 2, 2015
Super fun birthday dress!

I chose this dress for my 30th birthday dinner + afterparties. I loved the vibrant colors and sexy (backless) yet sophisticated (high neckline) factors. The size 4 was loose on my back and falling open quite a bit, so I opted for the size 2, which was still a little loose on top but used the complementary fashion tape to keep the back from shifting too much. A little tight in the caboose but not very noticeably, even though I have an ample bottom. Would definitely rent again...prob for a summer event next time!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 14, 2015
Fun dress

The first was perfect and the material was light weight. Wonderful print.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 19, 2015
I received so many compliments on this dress! One of my favorite rent the runway dresses by far!!!

The dress fit great! The 0 was perfect and one of my favorite rent the runway dresses by far. The hanging loops came out a couple of times but other than that the dress was amazing. I would definitely rent it again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
March 15, 2015
This dress is another headturner from RTR!!!!

I wore this dress to an NFL player party at the St. Regis Monarch Beach. This dress is amazing! The back is absolutely awesome (it's backless without being all the way backless). It's super colorful so it's great for a spring/summer party. Just like another dress I rented from RTR a couple weeks ago, this dress is a #headturner and stood out in a sea of black dresses.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 17, 2015
Bright colors and really sexy

Runs true to size, I wore the size 8, the size 10 was a little loose, it is pretty short, ok for parties, clubbing, I saw reviews saying it would fall from the shoulders, I did not have that issue, it fit prefect, I liked it a lot

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
March 26, 2015
Size up ladies

Rented this for my boyfriends basic training graduation. He loved the dress and I think was disappointed it wasn't mine for keeps. I did not have the problem with the back falling that most people did, but I think it's because I wore the smaller size. Note on this, the stomach area looked fine from the front so I wore the smaller size. The print of the dress camouflaged the fact that it was too tight.. So when I saw pictures of me from the side, it was literally the biggest my tummy has looked. So make sure you check all angles. Also, the hem hung a little weird. As others have said, it's a different type of material than you'd expect... Like a pillowcase. Overall, it was a good choice. Photographs very well. You'll love the back.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
April 4, 2015
Perfect birthday dress!

Already wrote a GLOWING review with a frontal picture but had to post a pic of the back. Again, LOVE this dress. Fit me beautifully and I got compliments all night long. Wish I could keep it forever. Highly recommend! Worn with a Nubra.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 5, 2015
Cute spring wedding dress

Very flattering cut, photographs very well and received tons of compliments on the dress all night. Like many renters have states, the dress is short and tends to ride up so had to be very conscious of it while dancing. I also had to use fabric tape on the back to hold the shoulders up. Overall, very cute dress - just needed a few slight adjustments to make it work.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
April 9, 2015
Wore this for my rehearsal dinner

Loved this dress! It was a little short, and did run a little small per the stylist notes. Loved it anyways!!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 11, 2015
Got SO many compliments - such a unique dress!

I LOVED this dress. I wore it for my boyfriend's fraternity formal. Not only was it unique (no one at the event had anything like it) but it was super comfortable. It does ride up a bit but not enough to be an issue, and the midsection was a bit loose on me but I pinned it and it was fine. Most of the reviews of people my size and weight said to go with a 4 or 6, but I ended up wearing the 4 and actually wished I had ordered the 2. Overall, I would definitely recommend it. I got so many compliments, it really made the event special.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 12, 2015
Received endless amounts of compliments and everyone wanted this dress!

This dress was a showstopper. I Received so many compliments all night... I am a true size 4 but wore the 6 for the length. I have a muscular build and the dress fit as tight as a body con dress would. The back was stunning.... Highly recommend this to anyone!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
April 16, 2015
Complimeennnnts!

Loved it! Super bright, form fitting, surprising back. My only complaint is that it was shorter than expected-- would be better for a party or night out than a wedding. Would rent again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
April 18, 2015
Love this dress!

This dress was so comfortable

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 19, 2015
Dress was such a hit. I sold rent the runway to at least 3 couples.

Does need some fashion tape in the back. And the hanging straps kept falling out. But overall., I loved this dress!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 34
April 20, 2015
Couldn't wear the dress!

Not a great fit for me--didn't even wear the dress. It bubbled up in places it shouldn't have. I wish it would have fit better because I loved the dress!

Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
April 21, 2015
Great little dress for a fun night out. Got so many compliments!

I hated to buy a new dress for a party we were attending so I decided to rent this one. Perfect fit and the print was so much fun. Having something backless made it a little more sexy.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Age: 30
April 24, 2015
This is a show-stopping dress for sure.. Wore it to our bridal shower and got non-stop compliments!

My only complaints about this dress are about the sizing (which could just be my body type) and the hemline (which seems cheaply made). You can see in the picture that the hem does not lay flat.. I was disappointed because the rest of the dress is so stunning and "designer quality", but if you looked closely, the hem made it seem cheap. (Someone without hips might not experience the same problem!) I ended up wearing the 2, which is my normal dress size. However, my hips are much wider than my waist, and I felt like the dress was almost too small and stretched tight in the skirt (I had to keep pulling it down), while it was a little loose for me in the bust. It's almost impossible to wear a bra with this dress because of the back, and I am quite small chested.. Didn't quite fill it up! Last note is that the dress is really short for somebody with long legs! Since it was a bridal shower, I had to do a lot of creative sitting to not have a Britney Spears moment. This is a better dress for partying on the dance floor all night! ;) Overall, I was stoked that I chose the dress. I'm not sure if I would rent it again because of the aforementioned, but I am pleased with how it worked out for our special event!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Other
April 24, 2015
Lots of complements

True to size. Ran a bit tight on the hips and loose at the natural waist. Lots of compliments, though I do wish this were made of a more sturdy fabric. Fabric is thin and would be cheap looking if not for the pretty print. I am wearing sandals in the pic, but this went best earlier in the day with colored closed-toe pumps-- anything but black.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
April 27, 2015
Gorgeous stand-out dress!

Fit was great. I have slightly wide shoulders so the sleeves didn't fall off and I didn't need to use any fashion tape. But I didn't like the look of the cap sleeves, they're a little awkward. And from some of the other comments, I tried to iron the bottom of the dress, but it still didn't make it straight. Colors are vibrant. Perfect from afternoon to evening. I did also have to pull my dress down quite a bit, but the length is perfect. Wore a Nubra with it.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 28, 2015
LOVE!

Absolutely loved it. Yes, it was short and snug but so much fun. The conservative front and bright colors compensate for the revealing cut. I wanted to keep it so bad! If it was any shorter I don't think I could have worn it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
May 2, 2015
Fit perfectly and so comfortable!

Perfect for classy, yet sexy

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 2, 2015
Nice and comfortable dress

Wore this dress to the Kentucky Derby event and received many compliments. It was very comfortable to wear, however it does run a little small.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
May 7, 2015
This dress made Miami unforgettable

The color is amazing and the fabric stretches to fit curves very well.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 10, 2015
This dress is super unique- choose this if you want to stand out!

The dress was tight but flattering, and although having a butt can make tight dresses ride up, this dress did a nice job of staying where it needed to be. I got so many compliments throughout the night and I felt beautiful!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 171lbs
May 11, 2015
Beautiful colors

Pros: The colors were amazing!!!! The low cut back is gorgeous! Cons: Super short! I'm 5'8 and I had to keep pulling it down.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
May 16, 2015
Compliments all day!

I loved this dress! I said that it runs true to size because I'm assuming that on anyone with a tad more weight would fill in the dress the appropriate way. I'm 5'7 and 108 lbs so it makes sense that the dress was a bit big. Didn't wear a bra but I wish I had worn a nubra only because it would've helped fill in the top. The colors are gorgeous and this dress can be dressed up or down. I wore it for my graduation during the day with sandals and then at night (pictured) with heels. Such a pretty number and people complimented me all day!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 18, 2015
Sorry for the goofy pic!

I loved this dress! It was so classy and unique, the compliments never stopped. It runs a little small, but not that noticeable. Would definitely recommend this to anyone!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
May 18, 2015
Beautiful design

The dress was a little on the small size which I knew so I sized up for my back up and ended up going with the 8. Rides up and is short on tall girls

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
May 18, 2015
Wowza!

Love love love the dress! Super forgiving fabric and print for a curvier girl! I wore this for my college graduation and it was perfect for the warm and humid weather. Definitely short, I spent a lot of time pulling it down despite my efforts of using boob tape to keep it down. Thank goodness I had my graduation gown to cover how high it rode up during the ceremony.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 106lbs
May 27, 2015
Looked great but not perfect

The dress fit nicely on my frame and, as other reviewers have pointed out, really accentuates the back. My only gripes were that the white strings (used to hang the dress) were constantly peeking out and required constant attention and the shoulders were pretty ugly and a bit limiting in terms of movement. As others pointed out, it is also VERY short and does have a tendency to ride up when walking. It does, however, travel well and accentuates a curvy figure. I think that overall it worked for what I had in mind, but I doubt I will rent it again.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Date
Age: 31
May 30, 2015
Great dress!! I felt like a million bucks. Lots of head turns and compliments.

The dress was definitely tighter than I expected, pretty short too, but I'm only 5'2" so the length was fine for me. I still have a little post baby stomach pooch and almost thought it was too tight, but it's really comfortable, so glad I wore it! Just size up!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 10"
May 31, 2015
Dress was perfect for a summer wedding.

Length was great for a petite girl but it will ride up. I am extremely athletic with a muscular build so if you have smaller shoulders or back it might require fashion tape as stated in other reviews. Fit is flattering and open back is incredible. Fabric is thick enough as to not require a bra.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Age: 31
June 8, 2015
Perfect dress to watch a triple crown win in :)

I loved this dress I got a thousand compliments on it from complete strangers both girls and guys. It was so comfortable and easy to wear. I could've done the four or two but I'm small up top so went with the two.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
June 8, 2015
Amazing, fun dress for a night out with the girls!!!

A little tight fit for what I'm use to but the size 6 fit awesome! Loved this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 10, 2015
Thin fabric

Not as much white as I thought and the fabric was very thin. The shoulders also stood up no matter which size I tried on 4 or 6. Top seems to be large and the bottom a small.

Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
June 11, 2015
This dress definitely stands out!

This dress was perfect for graduation. More conservative in the front but with the low back it was great to wear out afterward. The splash of colors definitely gets attention and I received a lot of compliments. The length was perfect for me but might be short on taller girls. I did use fashion tape to keep the shoulders in place and that worked well. The 4 stars is because the hem on the 00 laid a bit odd. Not sure if that's how it is supposed to be but I felt like it did not go well with the rest of the dress and it's excellent tailoring.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 11, 2015
Amazing, comfortable, colorful party dress!

This was a last minute replacement dress and I'm more happy with this one! The colors REALLY stand out and I got so many compliments on this dress-I didn't want to send this back. It looks like a work of art! Wore to a wine tasting and it was VERY hot that day, the fact that it was white, short, and backless all came in handy. I wouldn't rent this if you're busty or tall-it's definitely a MINI and you can get away with a Nubra AT MOST. I went bra less and was fine due to the high neck which balances it so it's sexy and not trashy. Love this one-a great summer in Fort Lauderdale dress!

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 37

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×