Slate & Willow

Chanty Dress

$30 rental
$370 value
Stylist Notes

Party in the back! Get noticed in this ultra flattering open back style by Slate & Willow. For that extra pop add an accessory with personality like Whiting and Davis’ Silver Lattice Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black Chiffon (100% Polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Full skirt. Open back with crisscrossing straps and lace panels. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. 33” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
152 reviews
Fit
Large
(11)
True to Size
(94)
Small
(6)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
February 14, 2018
Soft and sexy

I rented this for valentines day and i felt beautiful and comfortable. Theback is really open so its sexy but the front makes it classy. I would highly reccomend this dress. You will want to go braless or get a sticky bra!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Age: 24
January 12, 2016
It was a cute black dress. Simple but the back looks good!

The fit was kind of awkward on me because I am busty. If you aren't very busty I'd recommend going down a size since the dress fit fine otherwise except for my chest area. Also you will have to buy a backless bra which is pretty easy to find. I don't recommend going braless because this material isn't very thick. All in all I liked the dress; it was very comfortable, had great movement and I got a lot of complaints from my friends.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
May 15, 2016
Ended up not wearing the dress.

For me, the fit was awkward. I usually wear an 8-10 and ordered both sizes for this dress. Unfortunately, neither size fit well- both were baggy in the torso region and the back cut outs hit at an odd place. I have a slightly short torso and the dress was just not flattering on me. I was really disappointed because I love the style and was so excited for its arrival. It's a cute, versatile, flirty dress that would probably look awesome on someone else.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 30, 2014
Runs large!

This dress I thought ran large- also though I wouldn't call this a full skirt, it's much fuller in person than it looks on the model. I also ordered a 2 and a 0 but they were unable to send the 0 as it was damaged beyond repair. The two which is the size I normally wear was a little big although I think I could've gotten away with wearing it. The zero I bet would've looked better. Didn't end up wearing the dress

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 20, 2014
So Pretty!!

I love this dress and everything about it with the detailing! I was hoping that I would be able to wear this dress without a bra but I was not able to because it was a little bigger around there and you could just tell I did not have one but because of the open back I paired it with one of my own bralettes which just added to and it was perfect! The dress is gorgeous but I recommend it for people with a smaller bust. It is really the perfect LBD.

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
August 20, 2014
Simple sexy black dress- if you are confident about exposing your back- go for it!

You need to be confident about showing your back off and get a sticky bra. The fabric is not good quality and bunches in the front..if you are not well equipped as far as cup size or not confident about exposing basically your entire back I wouldn't recommend it. Also I have a feeling you could buy a dress this quality for as much as it is to rent.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 20, 2015
Fun dress! Can be dressed up or down. Love the back.

I loved that this dress was sort of on the side of conservative from the front, but has flowy short skirt and a fun back. Perfect for the occasions when you can't decide if you should dress up or down, because it works as both!

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
May 12, 2015
The back of the dress

I loved the back of this dress; however, the front of the dress was not as good as I imagined. The bust area had extra fabric, and even though I went a size down it still did not fit the way I would've liked.

Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
July 7, 2014
LOVED THIS DRESS

I know the pic sucks it was taken with my 9 yr olds 3DS lol....but the dress is amazing and I felt beautiful. I added a metal studded belt from charming charles...and a chain metal necklace from there also....amazing.....very fun and flirty went out for cocktails and a beautiful dinner and fit in and even the hostess asked about the dress and who the designer was she wanted the same dress I am a 36DDD and I wear a size 10-12 but ladies remember street sizes and formal or designer dresses typically run a size sometimes 2 ..smaller han your street size....dress your measurements dont obsess about clothing size that never matters anyway...the look and the fit are all that really matter and how beautiful you look in it. Have fun hope this helps my beautiful ladies out there that arent bone thin

JennaJuly 7, 2014
What bra did you wear this? It is hard to find bras that work with DDD - I am in the same boat!
SuzanneJuly 7, 2014
same!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 3, 2014
The back of this dress was incredible- the fit was comfortable

I could have had a 0 but the 2 worked. It fit comfortably- it was gorgeous and brand new!

RicoleJanuary 3, 2014
How was the length for you?
MarieJanuary 3, 2014
did you wear a necklace with this dress? I ordered it and am trying to figure out if that will glitz up the front a little or look weird with the neckline?
SaraJanuary 3, 2014
You could def wear a necklace however I did not. The length was perfect- not too short, not too long.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 19, 2014
I wore this to my sorority formal

The back of this dress is absolutely beautiful! It came on time and in great condition. I would definitely recommend this dress. Its super flattering

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 26, 2014
Great customer service!

The original dress that I ordered did not fit so I contacted RTR and they shipped me this dress. I loved the open back but I wished I would've gotten the size down from my normal size and worn that. It was a little long and big around the chest. Overall it was a cute dress that could be dressed up or down. Thanks to stylist Valerie G my 17th birthday was great!

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
June 8, 2016
Event was cancelled, but I'd totally wear this for another event! Great mix of sexy and modest!

After reading lots of reviews, I decided to order smaller sizes (0, 4) than I normally would because of renters stating that the bust area was a bit larger. I am pretty small chested (34A). The 4 fit perfectly! It was not tight on my chest, but could be worn with a sticky bra. It also was not too short - it hit right above my knee. This dress is the perfect balance between sexy and modest. The back really is the best part of the dress, but you can jazz it up with a chunky or long necklace in the front. I was planning to wear this for a bachelorette party and was so sad when I couldn't attend. I would definitely consider renting this again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 31, 2017
It was flowy and I didn't feel self conscious eating and drinking in this dress

I wore this on New Years Eve. I have a bigger chest and I wish I had gone up a size, especially because I wasn't able to wear a bra with it. My boyfriend loved the dress but I didn't really feel cute in it, I think it was because it was so simple.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 210lbs
August 29, 2014
Love the back. Tight around the waist.

Cute simple dress with a killer back. Great for dinner and drinks out in the city!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 17, 2014
Even better in person!

I loved this dress! I wore it to a date party for my sorority and it was such a hit. The back is even cuter and person and I got so many compliments. I definitely sized down for this dress, the dress fit better in the bust with the smaller size. Overall, really flattering and a great dress! I would rent it again in a heartbeat!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
October 20, 2015
The turnout was larger than we've had in years prior.

I was super excited to wear this dress and was so disappointed that it didn't fit. I'm always a size 4 - sometimes a size 2 - and this dress was way too small for my frame. I ended up wearing another dress that I had, but kept thinking about the dress I rented that was just sitting on my bed unworn.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 15, 2016
This dress!

It fit great; was somewhat tight in the top, but worked. Thin material, but not see-thru. Length was perfect and overall the dress was very flattering. Loved the dress and didn't want to give it back!

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
May 4, 2016
Great LBD for the summer!

I wore this to a bachelorette party when we were bar-hopping. The back is so unique and kept it breezy for all the dancing we were doing. For me, it was a little on the short side so I ended up wearing flat sandals instead.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
May 20, 2016
Great Dress for a Vegas night!

I'm over on the left in the photo. I loved this dress. I was concerned it would be a little tight, as the last Slate and Willow I rented was. But it was perfect. I wore a nubra, but could have easily gone without. The length was great for me and I'm 5'8". I got plenty of compliments for the back! It looked great.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
July 5, 2016
Super fun, sexy dress!

I wore it to a wedding but would definitely recommend it more for a fun/fancy night out. I fell in love with the back and kind of tossed all other logic out the window when I ordered it. The Pros: - Fun! - The back is great! - the fit is good and forgiving and flattering - especially if you're smaller on top than bottom - I ordered a 4 and a 6 and it was actually a very subtle difference. The 6 was just a little more comfortable so I opted for that one. The Cons: - the front is so plain I felt it really needed dressing up with some sparkles - especially for a wedding - I ended up spending too much on accessories! - I have a very small chest so was able to get away with a stick on backless bra which worked out way better than anticipated. I have NO idea how larger chested women would wear this dress......

View photos (3)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
July 21, 2016
Cute but not the look for me.

I got this as a backup dress due to a shipping snafu. I didnt end up wearing it because my original dress made it to my destination in time. It fit nicely but i felt like it looked a little "young" on me when I was going for sexy.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
July 28, 2016
Cute and comfortable

Loved the dress and perfect to wear to Las Vegas. Fit great and received lots of compliments. You just need to dress it up with some accessories since the front of the dress is really plain.

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Weight: 170lbs
August 1, 2016
Great dress!

Absolutely loved this dress. Fit perfectly, true to size. Very comfortable. Loved the open back, very sexy!

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
August 6, 2016
Very beautiful dress

True to Size, fit my larger chest size, great for day or evening look

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
August 15, 2016
Great - but a little too short.

I wore this dress for my birthday party. I have tattoos on my shoulder blades that I like to show off, and the open back of this dress was perfect for that. The dress was a little too short for me, but all in all, it was great and comfortable.

Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
August 16, 2016
The dress was so comfortable, especially for a hot outdoor June wedding.

I love the backless feature, and the peaking lace on the sides. I got tons of compliments! It fit great, very forgiving and flattering. I wish I could buy this dress! I am 5'6" and 175 lbs.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
August 24, 2016
Perfect in every way!

I LOVED this dress. I usually wear a 12, but decided to wear the 14 to the event. It was definitely a little loose around, but I liked the way it draped on me better that way and, being tall like I am, just the little extra length with the size up was nice. You definitely need a stick on bra to wear with it. The top isn't structured enough that I would have felt comfortable braless. I was so comfortable in this dress all night! I also got a lot of compliments on it. The back is obviously very open, but other than that it's not really showy, so even a lot of the older wedding guests were commenting on how much they liked it. I wish I owned it! I'm going to keep an eye on the RTR sales to see if it goes up for sale and try to snag it. The shoes I wore with it I got on Amazon Prime for $35 and they're called Milesline Spring Summer Womens Peep Toe Wedge. Got lots of compliments on those, too.

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 185lbs
August 31, 2016
Bachelorette Party

I chose this one as a back up dress and ended up wearing it. It was very comfortable even though it was true to size. I'm on the taller side so I felt a little self conscious about it being short but it was perfect for the occasion! I received many compliments. I would probably rent it again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
September 6, 2016
great material, gorgeous back! fit is pretty on-point!

I wore this dress to a low-key gala event and got a billion compliments. I wore it with subtle jewelry, but it's an understated-enough piece that you could definitely go crazy with bigger statement jewels as well. It's straightforward and fits pretty much as you'd expect, with that lovely back detail acting as a nice surprise!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 24, 2016
Perfect fit.

Perfect fit.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 9, 2016
Comfortable Dress to Party in

This was comfortable dress, and the back really was pretty. Very plain in the front, but nice to wear for a fun night out.

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Weight: 200lbs
January 5, 2017
Dress got lots of compliments

LOVED THIS DRESS!! It was perfect for my New Year's Eve party. even though my back was completely bare I still felt covered enough and I could have easily gone without a sticky bra if it hadn't been very cold. the dress was a little short but not so much so that I wouldn't wear it again. I will definitely being renting this again for another event.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Age: 27
April 12, 2017
I wore this to a bachelorette party. I liked it but wish I had ordered something more adventurous.

The dress is very simple in the front, and the back is where all the action is (which often times doesn't show up in photos). I wish I had a dress with a little more pop for the occasion. Except for the back, it felt very similar to the classic little black dresses already in my closet. While that is not a bad thing, it is not something that I would rent again because I own similar options. Also you definitely cannot wear anything besides a sticky bra/tape! Which wasn't a big deal for me, but could be for someone else who needs more support!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 6, 2014
Loved the back!

This dress was stunning - I got so many compliments! DEFINITELY need a nubra as the material is a little thin.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 2, 2014
Fun Dress

I wore this for NYE and loved every second I spent wearing it. The fit was perfect; however, finding a bra to work was a pain with the open back. I would 100% rent again, just need to invest in some tape.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
February 4, 2014
Great dress for a winter dance.

The open back was flirty but not too revealing. the lace really adds a nice touch and the length was perfect.

View photos (3)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 195lbs
February 23, 2014
Great 2014 New Years Eve party!

You have to be Comfortable with your back being out and the possibility of not wearing a bra because the straps in the back of the dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
February 24, 2014
Loved it! Rented it from the store at the Cosmo in Vegas for a night out.

Loved the dress! Rented it for a night out in Vegas. They have a store at the Cosmo where we were staying and I was able to try it on which was awesome! It was true to size and I got compliments all night on the dress! Definitely didn't want to give it back. Wore it with a black necklace.

CiarraFebruary 24, 2014
How was the length on you? I'm 5'2 and I'd like the dress to fall about mid thigh.
MirnaFebruary 24, 2014
It fell a little above my knee, maybe about 3 inches or so. Definitely not mid-thigh. But I'm sure that's because I where a size 10. The smaller sizes I'm sure would fit shorter if you can pull them off. Hope that helped.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 33
March 3, 2014
Felt amazing easy to wear

Easy and comfortable with great details to feel beautiful

See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×