Chanty Dress

$30 rental
$370 value

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Party in the back! Get noticed in this ultra flattering open back style by Slate & Willow. For that extra pop add an accessory with personality like Whiting and Davis’ Silver Lattice Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black Chiffon (100% Polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Full skirt. Open back with crisscrossing straps and lace panels. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. 33” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
119 reviews
Fit
Large11
True to Size77
Small4
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 3, 2015
Perfect birthday dress!
I felt so good in this dress! The back is hot!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
April 29, 2015
Beautiful Back
I love the back of this dress - hence why I rented it in the first place. The skirt was also flattering, and nice for a party where I was drinking and eating a lot. However, I hated the front. The bust area was just awkward. There is a vertical seam that looks out of place and pointless, and there isn't any sort of padding or lining to really shield the girls. Since this dress cannot be worn with a regular bra, I was hoping for a little more support in the chest. I'm a C cup, and the size 6 chest was loose on me. I tried on the 4, and the back was too small, but the chest was STILL too loose. What gives? Keep this in mind if you are small chested. This is a pretty dress overall, but if you rent it, definitely practice your "back to the camera" or over the shoulder pose. Clearly I didn't quite get it down that night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 18
Body type: Athletic
April 28, 2015
Perfect fit!
Wear strapless/backless bra
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 21
April 27, 2015
This dress was just beautiful
This dress was absolutely fantastic! It fit true to size and I was receiving compliments from my boyfriends fraternity brothers all night. I typically cannot get away with anything backless because the fabric is too thin or stick on bras show through, but this one worked out perfectly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
April 26, 2015
Such a fun night in a great dress
Fit really well, dress was a little long but overall true. highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 23, 2015
Wore it to first a ball, then a formal right after!
(I'm on the right) Fits great! The waistband was a little tight/uncomfortable, but super comfortable and low maintenance otherwise. I carry my weight around my midsection so I was worried about it looking a bit like a maternity dress. Maybe if I was a few pounds heavier it would've, or if it wasn't black. Worked out great for a fraternity formal. Definitely need a stick on bra. Loved it, can go for so many different events depending on how you dress it up!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 120lbs
April 20, 2015
Fun dress! Can be dressed up or down. Love the back.
I loved that this dress was sort of on the side of conservative from the front, but has flowy short skirt and a fun back. Perfect for the occasions when you can't decide if you should dress up or down, because it works as both!
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 23
April 14, 2015
I felt beautiful in this dress! The perfect balance of classy and sexy.
-fit is true to size -beautiful lace details on side -I have a small waist and bigger upper thighs. This dress perfectly balanced my body type because it conches the waist and flares out to skim over the legs -halter top was very flattering for shoulders -you will need a sticky bra as it is backless -very comfortable -didn't have to adjust at all during the night
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 21, 2015
Loved the back, has a party-girl vibe
The fit of this dress is nice for girls like me who have slightly bigger hips and butts than their waist might suggest. The waist line has elastic and so there's a little give, then it's completely flowy below that. I didn't end up liking it as much as the tighter-fitting dress I wore earlier in the week because I didn't feel like it showed off my body (except for the back, of course, which was awesome). I don't know what the right undergarments are to wear with a backless dress (because I didn't wear a bra) but I would certainly recommend wearing something. There are darts in the front and, uh, sometimes things don't perfectly align.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
February 17, 2015
Nice material, cute back
I didn't wear the dress for my event as it wasn't flattering for my chest area and I didn't have my backless bra available as this dress was sent to me as a replacement. It was a cute dress, just not for me. Would recommend for C cup or larger.
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 16
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 2, 2015
So many compliments!
The dress fit me perfectly! the front is very conservative which I liked (so did my parents) yet the back and side was very fun & flirty. I had to wear a nubra & I never had problems with it the whole night. so don't let that bra fear Ruin your night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 10, 2015
Second time I've rented from RTR and continue to love their service and customer care.
I wore it for a NYE party while pairing it with tights and red booties. The 8 was a little big in the back, where the lace detailing was, so I ended up going with the 6. It bunched up a little if I didn't pull the dress down every once in a while but no other complaints. It was a beautiful dress and fit the occasion perfectly!
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
January 5, 2015
RTR sent gum and lotion with the package which was a nice extra touch. Made my night feel important!
You need a jelly bra for the dress. It was beautiful, I was complimented all night and asked where I got it. It was a bit short for a tall girl like me but overall- spectacular!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113lbs
December 29, 2014
Hit or miss depending on your body type!
I ordered this dress as a backup and ended up wearing my first choice. If you have a hourglass shape this dress wouldn't do justice to your thin waist and might make your hips look wider because it sits right under the chest and a few inches above the waistline. You might also run into sideboob problems if you decide to go braless. The height is ideal for shorter girls like me and the back is very cute though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 148lbs
December 2, 2014
A birthday I'll never forget!
For women with full bust, don't be scared to try it! I'm a 36 DD and was able to pull it off with a nubra and some intense taping! I had a wonderful time and loved it for my birthday!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
November 25, 2014
I love love loved this dress.
The back is not to revealing and the fit is great. Just make sure you have a backless bra, the front was no way thick enough to go without.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 17, 2014
Even better in person!
I loved this dress! I wore it to a date party for my sorority and it was such a hit. The back is even cuter and person and I got so many compliments. I definitely sized down for this dress, the dress fit better in the bust with the smaller size. Overall, really flattering and a great dress! I would rent it again in a heartbeat!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 6, 2014
Loved the back!
This dress was stunning - I got so many compliments! DEFINITELY need a nubra as the material is a little thin.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
October 27, 2014
#hoco2k14
We rented this for my daughter's senior homecoming dance. This was our first rental and were nervous about fit so we had it come a day early just in case we had to run out somewhere and buy a dress. It was a perfect fit on her and she looked beautiful! The only tip I can give anyone is make sure that you buy the 'stick 'em' bra well in advance. By the time we went to buy one, her size wasn't left and unless you are small chested, you need something to keep yourself in place. Will be regularly browsing in search of a prom dress! Oh, and they "surprise" necklace they sent was great too!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32B
October 12, 2014
This dress made me feel GREAT!
This dress fit perfectly. It sat on the waist very well and comfortably. The dress itself exhumed the feeling of class and sophistication but with a little bit of sexyness because of the open back. I would definitely give this dress a try if you want to keep it simple but unique at the same time.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 8, 2014
Great Party Dress
I wore this dress to a charity event/party in June. The dress fit and looked great and was perfect for an event in which you wanted to look trendy but still formal & classy (not black tie though). It was easy to move & dance in and the length was perfect. My only issue with the dress is the front is kind of boring and the waist is gathered and elastic which makes it look a little....not so designer. I added a gold plated belt to cover the elastic and it was fine though. Because of the waistline I recommend if you are between 2 sizes sizing down. Also due to the cut if its too lose it could gap and hang weird in the back.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 190lbs
September 23, 2014
The back was perfect.
Sadly you do have to wear a sticky bra with this one. And it is a little short for those who are tall. I thought I would wear the 14 but the 12 ended up fitting better in the back. Overall it's nice and would look good on many girls. A necklace would look very good with it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
September 23, 2014
Tons of compliments all night!
Fit well, I definitely loved the Braza petals. I wore fun shoes and a statement necklace to spruce up the front. The waist was a tiny bit big but it worked out fine. Also, the back is the statement so I suggest wearing your hair up or to the side.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
September 21, 2014
Super fun dress!
Can't think of any cons with this dress!! Loved the fit and the length was perfect. The back is amazing and the detailing on the sides is really fun.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
September 14, 2014
Fun birthday dress
Great fit and perfect to wear with heels or flats. I wore sandals and dressed it down for a beach bar. You can't wear a bra but the front is tight enough that you don't have to worry too much. The back is absolutely the best part of the dress. Very fun little LBD.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
September 3, 2014
Loved this dress! Open back was beautiful. But, definitely made my hips look a bit large.
Loved the back of this dress! Loved the lace detailing and length. If you have a shorter torso and/or carry your weight around your middle, it can be a big unflattering on the waist. If empire waisted things look good on you though, you're solid! I played it up with pearls and red heels.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148lbs
August 31, 2014
Wore this tailgating and to a UGA football game. The back way cool and made me feel sexy.
The skirt is a little poofy for my taste. Definitely get some tape did your boobs. But the back was awesome. Got a ton of compliments. :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
August 29, 2014
Love the back. Tight around the waist.
Cute simple dress with a killer back. Great for dinner and drinks out in the city!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123lbs
August 27, 2014
Such a fun dress!!
Loved everything about it but know that if it's a lil windy out be prepared for your bum to be shown!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
August 25, 2014
Classy and fun!
I wore this dress for my birthday event. It fit perfectly and the open back added some extra fun to the dress. The front was a little plain so I added a belt but it worked perfectly!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 25, 2014
Simple pretty
This dress fits very comfortably with elastic around the waist. I love the open back. It's very simple however and isn't something I'd normally spend money to rent, but was my free birthday dress. I was just going out to dinner so it was perfect for that. The front is very simple, plain full coverage.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
August 20, 2014
Simple sexy black dress- if you are confident about exposing your back- go for it!
You need to be confident about showing your back off and get a sticky bra. The fabric is not good quality and bunches in the front..if you are not well equipped as far as cup size or not confident about exposing basically your entire back I wouldn't recommend it. Also I have a feeling you could buy a dress this quality for as much as it is to rent.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
August 20, 2014
Loved that this dress was simple with a fun twist!
I contemplated renting this dress for a long time. Every time I logged on I was immediately drawn to the fun details on an otherwise simple dress. I finally rented and I'm happy I did. Although I was unable to wear a regular bra, a backless bra did the trick. I loved it and got tons of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
August 19, 2014
Comfortable and the back is awesome.
Loved this dress! The only downside is you can't wear a bra with it, but I wore the NuBra and it worked well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 10, 2014
The back is amazing!
I wore a backless/strapless bra (the sticky cups)- I didn't feel like the dress had enough support to go braless
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
August 5, 2014
Drop Dead Gorgeous
This dress is perfect. I have a larger bust, but that was no problem with the back. Wish I could own it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 18
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 26, 2014
Great customer service!
The original dress that I ordered did not fit so I contacted RTR and they shipped me this dress. I loved the open back but I wished I would've gotten the size down from my normal size and worn that. It was a little long and big around the chest. Overall it was a cute dress that could be dressed up or down. Thanks to stylist Valerie G my 17th birthday was great!
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
July 7, 2014
LOVED THIS DRESS
I know the pic sucks it was taken with my 9 yr olds 3DS lol....but the dress is amazing and I felt beautiful. I added a metal studded belt from charming charles...and a chain metal necklace from there also....amazing.....very fun and flirty went out for cocktails and a beautiful dinner and fit in and even the hostess asked about the dress and who the designer was she wanted the same dress I am a 36DDD and I wear a size 10-12 but ladies remember street sizes and formal or designer dresses typically run a size sometimes 2 ..smaller han your street size....dress your measurements dont obsess about clothing size that never matters anyway...the look and the fit are all that really matter and how beautiful you look in it. Have fun hope this helps my beautiful ladies out there that arent bone thin
JennaJuly 18, 2014
What bra did you wear this? It is hard to find bras that work with DDD - I am in the same boat!
SuzanneAugust 13, 2015
same!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
June 30, 2014
Great back!
Wore this for a little black dress bachelorette party. The length was great, it's a little longer in the back than in the front. The front is really simple, but the lace panels on the side and the open back are a great touch. Did not wear a bra and it was fine, even dancing all night.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
June 27, 2014
It was a great dress for a great night!
Loved the back! Got multiple compliments on it! Does have some side boob.
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×