Slate & Willow

Chanty Dress

$30 rental
$370 value
Stylist Notes

Party in the back! Get noticed in this ultra flattering open back style by Slate & Willow. For that extra pop add an accessory with personality like Whiting and Davis’ Silver Lattice Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black Chiffon (100% Polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Full skirt. Open back with crisscrossing straps and lace panels. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. 33” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
153 reviews
Fit
Large
(11)
True to Size
(95)
Small
(6)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
February 14, 2018
Soft and sexy

I rented this for valentines day and i felt beautiful and comfortable. Theback is really open so its sexy but the front makes it classy. I would highly reccomend this dress. You will want to go braless or get a sticky bra!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 30, 2014
Runs large!

This dress I thought ran large- also though I wouldn't call this a full skirt, it's much fuller in person than it looks on the model. I also ordered a 2 and a 0 but they were unable to send the 0 as it was damaged beyond repair. The two which is the size I normally wear was a little big although I think I could've gotten away with wearing it. The zero I bet would've looked better. Didn't end up wearing the dress

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 20, 2014
So Pretty!!

I love this dress and everything about it with the detailing! I was hoping that I would be able to wear this dress without a bra but I was not able to because it was a little bigger around there and you could just tell I did not have one but because of the open back I paired it with one of my own bralettes which just added to and it was perfect! The dress is gorgeous but I recommend it for people with a smaller bust. It is really the perfect LBD.

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
August 20, 2014
Simple sexy black dress- if you are confident about exposing your back- go for it!

You need to be confident about showing your back off and get a sticky bra. The fabric is not good quality and bunches in the front..if you are not well equipped as far as cup size or not confident about exposing basically your entire back I wouldn't recommend it. Also I have a feeling you could buy a dress this quality for as much as it is to rent.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 20, 2015
Fun dress! Can be dressed up or down. Love the back.

I loved that this dress was sort of on the side of conservative from the front, but has flowy short skirt and a fun back. Perfect for the occasions when you can't decide if you should dress up or down, because it works as both!

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
May 12, 2015
The back of the dress

I loved the back of this dress; however, the front of the dress was not as good as I imagined. The bust area had extra fabric, and even though I went a size down it still did not fit the way I would've liked.

Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
July 7, 2014
LOVED THIS DRESS

I know the pic sucks it was taken with my 9 yr olds 3DS lol....but the dress is amazing and I felt beautiful. I added a metal studded belt from charming charles...and a chain metal necklace from there also....amazing.....very fun and flirty went out for cocktails and a beautiful dinner and fit in and even the hostess asked about the dress and who the designer was she wanted the same dress I am a 36DDD and I wear a size 10-12 but ladies remember street sizes and formal or designer dresses typically run a size sometimes 2 ..smaller han your street size....dress your measurements dont obsess about clothing size that never matters anyway...the look and the fit are all that really matter and how beautiful you look in it. Have fun hope this helps my beautiful ladies out there that arent bone thin

JennaJuly 7, 2014
What bra did you wear this? It is hard to find bras that work with DDD - I am in the same boat!
SuzanneJuly 7, 2014
same!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 3, 2014
The back of this dress was incredible- the fit was comfortable

I could have had a 0 but the 2 worked. It fit comfortably- it was gorgeous and brand new!

RicoleJanuary 3, 2014
How was the length for you?
MarieJanuary 3, 2014
did you wear a necklace with this dress? I ordered it and am trying to figure out if that will glitz up the front a little or look weird with the neckline?
SaraJanuary 3, 2014
You could def wear a necklace however I did not. The length was perfect- not too short, not too long.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 19, 2014
I wore this to my sorority formal

The back of this dress is absolutely beautiful! It came on time and in great condition. I would definitely recommend this dress. Its super flattering

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 26, 2014
Great customer service!

The original dress that I ordered did not fit so I contacted RTR and they shipped me this dress. I loved the open back but I wished I would've gotten the size down from my normal size and worn that. It was a little long and big around the chest. Overall it was a cute dress that could be dressed up or down. Thanks to stylist Valerie G my 17th birthday was great!

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Age: 25
January 12, 2016
It was a cute black dress. Simple but the back looks good!

The fit was kind of awkward on me because I am busty. If you aren't very busty I'd recommend going down a size since the dress fit fine otherwise except for my chest area. Also you will have to buy a backless bra which is pretty easy to find. I don't recommend going braless because this material isn't very thick. All in all I liked the dress; it was very comfortable, had great movement and I got a lot of complaints from my friends.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
May 15, 2016
Ended up not wearing the dress.

For me, the fit was awkward. I usually wear an 8-10 and ordered both sizes for this dress. Unfortunately, neither size fit well- both were baggy in the torso region and the back cut outs hit at an odd place. I have a slightly short torso and the dress was just not flattering on me. I was really disappointed because I love the style and was so excited for its arrival. It's a cute, versatile, flirty dress that would probably look awesome on someone else.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 210lbs
August 29, 2014
Love the back. Tight around the waist.

Cute simple dress with a killer back. Great for dinner and drinks out in the city!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 17, 2014
Even better in person!

I loved this dress! I wore it to a date party for my sorority and it was such a hit. The back is even cuter and person and I got so many compliments. I definitely sized down for this dress, the dress fit better in the bust with the smaller size. Overall, really flattering and a great dress! I would rent it again in a heartbeat!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
October 20, 2015
The turnout was larger than we've had in years prior.

I was super excited to wear this dress and was so disappointed that it didn't fit. I'm always a size 4 - sometimes a size 2 - and this dress was way too small for my frame. I ended up wearing another dress that I had, but kept thinking about the dress I rented that was just sitting on my bed unworn.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 15, 2016
This dress!

It fit great; was somewhat tight in the top, but worked. Thin material, but not see-thru. Length was perfect and overall the dress was very flattering. Loved the dress and didn't want to give it back!

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
June 8, 2016
Event was cancelled, but I'd totally wear this for another event! Great mix of sexy and modest!

After reading lots of reviews, I decided to order smaller sizes (0, 4) than I normally would because of renters stating that the bust area was a bit larger. I am pretty small chested (34A). The 4 fit perfectly! It was not tight on my chest, but could be worn with a sticky bra. It also was not too short - it hit right above my knee. This dress is the perfect balance between sexy and modest. The back really is the best part of the dress, but you can jazz it up with a chunky or long necklace in the front. I was planning to wear this for a bachelorette party and was so sad when I couldn't attend. I would definitely consider renting this again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 31, 2017
It was flowy and I didn't feel self conscious eating and drinking in this dress

I wore this on New Years Eve. I have a bigger chest and I wish I had gone up a size, especially because I wasn't able to wear a bra with it. My boyfriend loved the dress but I didn't really feel cute in it, I think it was because it was so simple.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 6, 2014
Loved the back!

This dress was stunning - I got so many compliments! DEFINITELY need a nubra as the material is a little thin.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 2, 2014
Fun Dress

I wore this for NYE and loved every second I spent wearing it. The fit was perfect; however, finding a bra to work was a pain with the open back. I would 100% rent again, just need to invest in some tape.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
February 4, 2014
Great dress for a winter dance.

The open back was flirty but not too revealing. the lace really adds a nice touch and the length was perfect.

View photos (3)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 195lbs
February 23, 2014
Great 2014 New Years Eve party!

You have to be Comfortable with your back being out and the possibility of not wearing a bra because the straps in the back of the dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
February 24, 2014
Loved it! Rented it from the store at the Cosmo in Vegas for a night out.

Loved the dress! Rented it for a night out in Vegas. They have a store at the Cosmo where we were staying and I was able to try it on which was awesome! It was true to size and I got compliments all night on the dress! Definitely didn't want to give it back. Wore it with a black necklace.

CiarraFebruary 24, 2014
How was the length on you? I'm 5'2 and I'd like the dress to fall about mid thigh.
MirnaFebruary 24, 2014
It fell a little above my knee, maybe about 3 inches or so. Definitely not mid-thigh. But I'm sure that's because I where a size 10. The smaller sizes I'm sure would fit shorter if you can pull them off. Hope that helped.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 33
March 3, 2014
Felt amazing easy to wear

Easy and comfortable with great details to feel beautiful

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 4, 2014
Perfect for a fun night out!

Great fit and details

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 16, 2014
Fun for a night out on the town

Not super formal but fun for a night out in Charleston

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
April 17, 2014
The back of the dress added the right amount of sexy flair without being too revealing.

Fit was close to size, but a tad small. I got the 2 and 4 (I am usually a 2) and wore the two but by the end of the night after eating it was a bit tight. My boyfriend loved the fact that it was a little revealing without overly so. I was originally worried about the length but it fell perfectly right above the knee, however I am short so that probably helped.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 30, 2014
I really loved the dress, I wore it to my sorority's spring formal, and got a lot of complements!

It's formal while being extremely flirty at the same time which I liked a lot. Wore it to my sorority's formal, got a lot of complements. I got the necklace and earrings from RTR as well (: i recommend the whole outfit!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 4, 2014
I got compliment on the back of this dress all night. Dress arrived early and was beautiful!

Fit was beautiful- cinched at the waist, just low enough in the back, perfect length No cons to this dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
May 4, 2014
Awesome dress! Worked so well with my theme!!

This dress wasn't my first choice, BUT with the other dress not working out, this was definitely a great backup. The length was perfect, and the back was so cute. This was for my day of the dead themed bridal shower, and it was so comfy, AND I didn't have to wear a bra which makes my life a lot easier!! I would definitely rent this dress again.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
May 10, 2014
I got SO many compliments on the dress and saying that I looked incredible!

The dress fits incredibly well and it really flattering. I felt so good in it

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
May 21, 2014
Fun dress, the open back adds just enough sexiness

I wish this dress came in other colors as well, but it fit well, was easy to go without a bra (I'm a 34C) and was very flattering.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
May 23, 2014
Birthday Dress!

This dress was a cross between sexy and flirty and cute! It was adorable and the back was HOT...however; I'm almost 5'7" so it was a bit short. Second RTR rental and it was a homerun!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
May 24, 2014
Perfect Party Dress!

If you are currently considering using RTR, the answer is YES! I have been using RTR the past two years for all my occasions. I picked this dress for a New Year's Eve party and it was wonderful. The lace and how the dress falls makes your look very classy. For this dress you will need the sticky bra, but it is worth looking and feeling perfect all night long.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 9, 2014
The dress was perfect for a hot, summer day wedding! Classy in the front & fun in the back

Fit true to size, didn't even try on size 2. Definitely need nubra (backless) or no bra. Nubra stayed on for 12 hours through the hot day and night of dancing!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 62
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
June 9, 2014
Perfect for Vegas!

My daughter rented this for a bachelorette party in Vegas. She said it fit true to size, was very comfortable and fun to wear!

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
June 10, 2014
Great fit, perfect back

I wore this to a spring sports banquet, the back was perfect but the front wasn't my favorite. Add colorful jewelry and shoes helped to spice it up. I got a 6 and an 8 and the 8 just slightly fit me better. Overall a great dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
June 15, 2014
so cute dress!

--

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 23, 2014
Flattering!

I wore this for my birthday party. It's short, but not too short, and I got a lot of compliments! The back is really different and sexy, but not too revealing. Very comfortable and fun, I definitely recommend the dress!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
June 27, 2014
It was a great dress for a great night!

Loved the back! Got multiple compliments on it! Does have some side boob.

See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×