Slate & Willow

Chanty Dress

$30 rental
$370 value
Stylist Notes

Party in the back! Get noticed in this ultra flattering open back style by Slate & Willow. For that extra pop add an accessory with personality like Whiting and Davis’ Silver Lattice Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black Chiffon (100% Polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Full skirt. Open back with crisscrossing straps and lace panels. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. 33” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
149 reviews
Fit
Large
(11)
True to Size
(94)
Small
(6)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 30, 2014
I really loved the dress, I wore it to my sorority's spring formal, and got a lot of complements!
It's formal while being extremely flirty at the same time which I liked a lot. Wore it to my sorority's formal, got a lot of complements. I got the necklace and earrings from RTR as well (: i recommend the whole outfit!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 30, 2014
Runs large!
This dress I thought ran large- also though I wouldn't call this a full skirt, it's much fuller in person than it looks on the model. I also ordered a 2 and a 0 but they were unable to send the 0 as it was damaged beyond repair. The two which is the size I normally wear was a little big although I think I could've gotten away with wearing it. The zero I bet would've looked better. Didn't end up wearing the dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 4, 2014
I got compliment on the back of this dress all night. Dress arrived early and was beautiful!
Fit was beautiful- cinched at the waist, just low enough in the back, perfect length No cons to this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
May 4, 2014
Awesome dress! Worked so well with my theme!!
This dress wasn't my first choice, BUT with the other dress not working out, this was definitely a great backup. The length was perfect, and the back was so cute. This was for my day of the dead themed bridal shower, and it was so comfy, AND I didn't have to wear a bra which makes my life a lot easier!! I would definitely rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
May 10, 2014
I got SO many compliments on the dress and saying that I looked incredible!
The dress fits incredibly well and it really flattering. I felt so good in it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 20, 2014
So Pretty!!
I love this dress and everything about it with the detailing! I was hoping that I would be able to wear this dress without a bra but I was not able to because it was a little bigger around there and you could just tell I did not have one but because of the open back I paired it with one of my own bralettes which just added to and it was perfect! The dress is gorgeous but I recommend it for people with a smaller bust. It is really the perfect LBD.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
May 21, 2014
Fun dress, the open back adds just enough sexiness
I wish this dress came in other colors as well, but it fit well, was easy to go without a bra (I'm a 34C) and was very flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
May 23, 2014
Birthday Dress!
This dress was a cross between sexy and flirty and cute! It was adorable and the back was HOT...however; I'm almost 5'7" so it was a bit short. Second RTR rental and it was a homerun!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 24, 2014
Perfect Party Dress!
If you are currently considering using RTR, the answer is YES! I have been using RTR the past two years for all my occasions. I picked this dress for a New Year's Eve party and it was wonderful. The lace and how the dress falls makes your look very classy. For this dress you will need the sticky bra, but it is worth looking and feeling perfect all night long.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 9, 2014
The dress was perfect for a hot, summer day wedding! Classy in the front & fun in the back
Fit true to size, didn't even try on size 2. Definitely need nubra (backless) or no bra. Nubra stayed on for 12 hours through the hot day and night of dancing!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 62
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
June 9, 2014
Perfect for Vegas!
My daughter rented this for a bachelorette party in Vegas. She said it fit true to size, was very comfortable and fun to wear!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Age: 20
June 10, 2014
Great fit, perfect back
I wore this to a spring sports banquet, the back was perfect but the front wasn't my favorite. Add colorful jewelry and shoes helped to spice it up. I got a 6 and an 8 and the 8 just slightly fit me better. Overall a great dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
June 15, 2014
so cute dress!
--
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 23, 2014
Flattering!
I wore this for my birthday party. It's short, but not too short, and I got a lot of compliments! The back is really different and sexy, but not too revealing. Very comfortable and fun, I definitely recommend the dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
June 27, 2014
It was a great dress for a great night!
Loved the back! Got multiple compliments on it! Does have some side boob.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
June 30, 2014
Great back!
Wore this for a little black dress bachelorette party. The length was great, it's a little longer in the back than in the front. The front is really simple, but the lace panels on the side and the open back are a great touch. Did not wear a bra and it was fine, even dancing all night.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 21, 2015
Loved the back, has a party-girl vibe
The fit of this dress is nice for girls like me who have slightly bigger hips and butts than their waist might suggest. The waist line has elastic and so there's a little give, then it's completely flowy below that. I didn't end up liking it as much as the tighter-fitting dress I wore earlier in the week because I didn't feel like it showed off my body (except for the back, of course, which was awesome). I don't know what the right undergarments are to wear with a backless dress (because I didn't wear a bra) but I would certainly recommend wearing something. There are darts in the front and, uh, sometimes things don't perfectly align.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 14, 2014
The back!
Loved the back of this dress. I didn't wear a bra with it and felt comfortable all night. I want to own this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 10, 2014
The back is amazing!
I wore a backless/strapless bra (the sticky cups)- I didn't feel like the dress had enough support to go braless
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
August 19, 2014
Comfortable and the back is awesome.
Loved this dress! The only downside is you can't wear a bra with it, but I wore the NuBra and it worked well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
August 20, 2014
Loved that this dress was simple with a fun twist!
I contemplated renting this dress for a long time. Every time I logged on I was immediately drawn to the fun details on an otherwise simple dress. I finally rented and I'm happy I did. Although I was unable to wear a regular bra, a backless bra did the trick. I loved it and got tons of compliments!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
August 20, 2014
Simple sexy black dress- if you are confident about exposing your back- go for it!
You need to be confident about showing your back off and get a sticky bra. The fabric is not good quality and bunches in the front..if you are not well equipped as far as cup size or not confident about exposing basically your entire back I wouldn't recommend it. Also I have a feeling you could buy a dress this quality for as much as it is to rent.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
August 25, 2014
Classy and fun!
I wore this dress for my birthday event. It fit perfectly and the open back added some extra fun to the dress. The front was a little plain so I added a belt but it worked perfectly!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
August 29, 2014
Love the back. Tight around the waist.
Cute simple dress with a killer back. Great for dinner and drinks out in the city!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148lbs
August 31, 2014
Wore this tailgating and to a UGA football game. The back way cool and made me feel sexy.
The skirt is a little poofy for my taste. Definitely get some tape did your boobs. But the back was awesome. Got a ton of compliments. :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
September 3, 2014
Loved this dress! Open back was beautiful. But, definitely made my hips look a bit large.
Loved the back of this dress! Loved the lace detailing and length. If you have a shorter torso and/or carry your weight around your middle, it can be a big unflattering on the waist. If empire waisted things look good on you though, you're solid! I played it up with pearls and red heels.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
September 14, 2014
Fun birthday dress
Great fit and perfect to wear with heels or flats. I wore sandals and dressed it down for a beach bar. You can't wear a bra but the front is tight enough that you don't have to worry too much. The back is absolutely the best part of the dress. Very fun little LBD.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
September 21, 2014
Super fun dress!
Can't think of any cons with this dress!! Loved the fit and the length was perfect. The back is amazing and the detailing on the sides is really fun.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
September 23, 2014
Tons of compliments all night!
Fit well, I definitely loved the Braza petals. I wore fun shoes and a statement necklace to spruce up the front. The waist was a tiny bit big but it worked out fine. Also, the back is the statement so I suggest wearing your hair up or to the side.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 190lbs
September 23, 2014
The back was perfect.
Sadly you do have to wear a sticky bra with this one. And it is a little short for those who are tall. I thought I would wear the 14 but the 12 ended up fitting better in the back. Overall it's nice and would look good on many girls. A necklace would look very good with it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 8, 2014
Great Party Dress
I wore this dress to a charity event/party in June. The dress fit and looked great and was perfect for an event in which you wanted to look trendy but still formal & classy (not black tie though). It was easy to move & dance in and the length was perfect. My only issue with the dress is the front is kind of boring and the waist is gathered and elastic which makes it look a little....not so designer. I added a gold plated belt to cover the elastic and it was fine though. Because of the waistline I recommend if you are between 2 sizes sizing down. Also due to the cut if its too lose it could gap and hang weird in the back.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
October 12, 2014
This dress made me feel GREAT!
This dress fit perfectly. It sat on the waist very well and comfortably. The dress itself exhumed the feeling of class and sophistication but with a little bit of sexyness because of the open back. I would definitely give this dress a try if you want to keep it simple but unique at the same time.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123lbs
August 27, 2014
Such a fun dress!!
Loved everything about it but know that if it's a lil windy out be prepared for your bum to be shown!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 4, 2014
Perfect dress for a bachelorette party
I rented this dress for a friends 'little black dress' bachelorette party and it was perfect. it was just the right amount of sassy to be fun without being too over-the-top that it took away from the bride. A couple warnings though - don't expect to be able to wear any sort of bra, and I would suggest bike/yoga shorts underneath, because it blows up easily
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 50
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
October 27, 2014
#hoco2k14
We rented this for my daughter's senior homecoming dance. This was our first rental and were nervous about fit so we had it come a day early just in case we had to run out somewhere and buy a dress. It was a perfect fit on her and she looked beautiful! The only tip I can give anyone is make sure that you buy the 'stick 'em' bra well in advance. By the time we went to buy one, her size wasn't left and unless you are small chested, you need something to keep yourself in place. Will be regularly browsing in search of a prom dress! Oh, and they "surprise" necklace they sent was great too!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 17, 2014
Even better in person!
I loved this dress! I wore it to a date party for my sorority and it was such a hit. The back is even cuter and person and I got so many compliments. I definitely sized down for this dress, the dress fit better in the bust with the smaller size. Overall, really flattering and a great dress! I would rent it again in a heartbeat!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
November 25, 2014
I love love loved this dress.
The back is not to revealing and the fit is great. Just make sure you have a backless bra, the front was no way thick enough to go without.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 148lbs
December 2, 2014
A birthday I'll never forget!
For women with full bust, don't be scared to try it! I'm a 36 DD and was able to pull it off with a nubra and some intense taping! I had a wonderful time and loved it for my birthday!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113lbs
December 29, 2014
Hit or miss depending on your body type!
I ordered this dress as a backup and ended up wearing my first choice. If you have a hourglass shape this dress wouldn't do justice to your thin waist and might make your hips look wider because it sits right under the chest and a few inches above the waistline. You might also run into sideboob problems if you decide to go braless. The height is ideal for shorter girls like me and the back is very cute though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 10, 2015
Second time I've rented from RTR and continue to love their service and customer care.
I wore it for a NYE party while pairing it with tights and red booties. The 8 was a little big in the back, where the lace detailing was, so I ended up going with the 6. It bunched up a little if I didn't pull the dress down every once in a while but no other complaints. It was a beautiful dress and fit the occasion perfectly!
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×