Slate & Willow

Chanty Dress

$40 rental
$370 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Party in the back! Get noticed in this ultra flattering open back style by Slate & Willow. For that extra pop add an accessory with personality like Whiting and Davis’ Silver Lattice Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black Chiffon (100% Polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Full skirt. Open back with crisscrossing straps and lace panels. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. 33” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

90 reviews

Fit
Small 2
True to Size 65
Large 9
Photos 54
Brittany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 2, 2014

Fun Dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this for NYE and loved every second I spent wearing it. The fit was perfect; however, finding a bra to work was a pain with the open back. I would 100% rent again, just need to invest in some tape.
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 18, 2015

Comfortable and beautiful

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Super cute and flattering, got tons of compliments. Back was gorgeous and I jazzed up the front with a statement necklace
Caitlyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170 lbs
Jun 11, 2015

loved the open back. Made it easy to show off my flash tattoos for the night!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit like a glove, but nice and flowy on the bottom
Melissa
Age: 27
Jun 9, 2015

Love the Lacey sudes

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Other
I thought this dress ran very true to size. I am typically a size 2-4. I wore the size 2 and had extra room in the waist. Although the material was thick enough to wear without a bra i would have preferred a stick on bra cup for the shape.
Sherina
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
May 12, 2015

The back of the dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the back of this dress; however, the front of the dress was not as good as I imagined. The bust area had extra fabric, and even though I went a size down it still did not fit the way I would've liked.
Irene
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 17
Body type: Athletic
Apr 28, 2015

Perfect fit!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wear strapless/backless bra
Michaela
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 20, 2015

Fun dress! Can be dressed up or down. Love the back.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Vacation
I loved that this dress was sort of on the side of conservative from the front, but has flowy short skirt and a fun back. Perfect for the occasions when you can't decide if you should dress up or down, because it works as both!
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 17, 2015

Nice material, cute back

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I didn't wear the dress for my event as it wasn't flattering for my chest area and I didn't have my backless bra available as this dress was sent to me as a replacement. It was a cute dress, just not for me. Would recommend for C cup or larger.
Jordan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 10, 2015

Second time I've rented from RTR and continue to love their service and customer care.

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Party
I wore it for a NYE party while pairing it with tights and red booties. The 8 was a little big in the back, where the lace detailing was, so I ended up going with the 6. It bunched up a little if I didn't pull the dress down every once in a while but no other complaints. It was a beautiful dress and fit the occasion perfectly!
Lumi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113 lbs
Dec 29, 2014

Hit or miss depending on your body type!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered this dress as a backup and ended up wearing my first choice. If you have a hourglass shape this dress wouldn't do justice to your thin waist and might make your hips look wider because it sits right under the chest and a few inches above the waistline. You might also run into sideboob problems if you decide to go braless. The height is ideal for shorter girls like me and the back is very cute though!
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 6, 2014

Loved the back!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was stunning - I got so many compliments! DEFINITELY need a nubra as the material is a little thin.
Ruslyne
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32B
Oct 12, 2014

This dress made me feel GREAT!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit perfectly. It sat on the waist very well and comfortably. The dress itself exhumed the feeling of class and sophistication but with a little bit of sexyness because of the open back. I would definitely give this dress a try if you want to keep it simple but unique at the same time.
EM
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 8, 2014

Great Party Dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a charity event/party in June. The dress fit and looked great and was perfect for an event in which you wanted to look trendy but still formal & classy (not black tie though). It was easy to move & dance in and the length was perfect. My only issue with the dress is the front is kind of boring and the waist is gathered and elastic which makes it look a little....not so designer. I added a gold plated belt to cover the elastic and it was fine though. Because of the waistline I recommend if you are between 2 sizes sizing down. Also due to the cut if its too lose it could gap and hang weird in the back.
Caroline
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 190 lbs
Sep 23, 2014

The back was perfect.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Sadly you do have to wear a sticky bra with this one. And it is a little short for those who are tall. I thought I would wear the 14 but the 12 ended up fitting better in the back. Overall it's nice and would look good on many girls. A necklace would look very good with it.
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Sep 21, 2014

Super fun dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Can't think of any cons with this dress!! Loved the fit and the length was perfect. The back is amazing and the detailing on the sides is really fun.
jessie
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155 lbs
Aug 20, 2014

Simple sexy black dress- if you are confident about exposing your back- go for it!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
You need to be confident about showing your back off and get a sticky bra. The fabric is not good quality and bunches in the front..if you are not well equipped as far as cup size or not confident about exposing basically your entire back I wouldn't recommend it. Also I have a feeling you could buy a dress this quality for as much as it is to rent.
Lexie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 20, 2014

Loved that this dress was simple with a fun twist!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I contemplated renting this dress for a long time. Every time I logged on I was immediately drawn to the fun details on an otherwise simple dress. I finally rented and I'm happy I did. Although I was unable to wear a regular bra, a backless bra did the trick. I loved it and got tons of compliments!
Brittania
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 10, 2014

The back is amazing!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore a backless/strapless bra (the sticky cups)- I didn't feel like the dress had enough support to go braless
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200 lbs
Aug 5, 2014

Drop Dead Gorgeous

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is perfect. I have a larger bust, but that was no problem with the back. Wish I could own it!
carley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 18
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 26, 2014

Great customer service!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
The original dress that I ordered did not fit so I contacted RTR and they shipped me this dress. I loved the open back but I wished I would've gotten the size down from my normal size and worn that. It was a little long and big around the chest. Overall it was a cute dress that could be dressed up or down. Thanks to stylist Valerie G my 17th birthday was great!
Kase
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Jun 27, 2014

It was a great dress for a great night!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved the back! Got multiple compliments on it! Does have some side boob.
BR
Age: 29
Jun 19, 2014

The back of this dress is fabulous!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
True to size. Fun and flirty. Great for my bachelorette party!
Yas
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 17, 2014

Did not end up wearing dress, looks a lot different in person

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
If you have a full bust do not rent this dress.
jin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98 lbs
Jun 15, 2014

so cute dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
--
Sue
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 60
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 9, 2014

Perfect for Vegas!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
My daughter rented this for a bachelorette party in Vegas. She said it fit true to size, was very comfortable and fun to wear!
Natalie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
May 21, 2014

Fun dress, the open back adds just enough sexiness

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wish this dress came in other colors as well, but it fit well, was easy to go without a bra (I'm a 34C) and was very flattering.
Mollie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 18
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
May 20, 2014

So Pretty!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
I love this dress and everything about it with the detailing! I was hoping that I would be able to wear this dress without a bra but I was not able to because it was a little bigger around there and you could just tell I did not have one but because of the open back I paired it with one of my own bralettes which just added to and it was perfect! The dress is gorgeous but I recommend it for people with a smaller bust. It is really the perfect LBD.
Sarah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
May 10, 2014

I got SO many compliments on the dress and saying that I looked incredible!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fits incredibly well and it really flattering. I felt so good in it
Haley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
May 4, 2014

I got compliment on the back of this dress all night. Dress arrived early and was beautiful!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit was beautiful- cinched at the waist, just low enough in the back, perfect length No cons to this dress!
Coll
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 30, 2014

Runs large!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress I thought ran large- also though I wouldn't call this a full skirt, it's much fuller in person than it looks on the model. I also ordered a 2 and a 0 but they were unable to send the 0 as it was damaged beyond repair. The two which is the size I normally wear was a little big although I think I could've gotten away with wearing it. The zero I bet would've looked better. Didn't end up wearing the dress
Anne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 16, 2014

Fun for a night out on the town

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Not super formal but fun for a night out in Charleston
Sam
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 9, 2014

Loved the back of this dress, the front not so much.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I can't say I was a huge fan of this dress, I loved the back but the front not so much. The area in which the skirt is stitched has a lot of volume which i thought was very unflattering and the chest piece has a stitching in the chest area which is also unflattering in my opinion because it crates the illusion that you are not wearing a bra even if you are, it makes the chest look very pointy. I still wore it but I had to use a lot fashion tape and a belt.
zoe
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 2, 2014

it was a beautiful dress with so many complements!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
it was such a nice fit. perfect. loved it
Chris
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 131 lbs
Mar 25, 2014

Flirty and fun

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Perfect for clubbing in Vegas! I wore the 8 but the 6 fit as well. Wear with a nu-bra or no bra at all.
Serina
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 23, 2014

I love this dress so much! It was the perfect length, and the back was to die for.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Pros: Perfect length, fitted/tight top
Kendra
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 19, 2014

I wore this to my sorority formal

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The back of this dress is absolutely beautiful! It came on time and in great condition. I would definitely recommend this dress. Its super flattering
Kathleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 14, 2014

The back!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved the back of this dress. I didn't wear a bra with it and felt comfortable all night. I want to own this dress!
Lucinda
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Body type: Pear
Mar 8, 2014

I rented this for NYE

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It fit true to size and was super comfy
Nina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 7, 2014

Cute and comfortable!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Cute the only thing is the front is awkwardly baggy and there is a seam that goes right up the center of it that I think made it look a little cheap. I can not believe how expensive this dress retails for it is kinda cheaply made. That being said, it was cute and fun to wear for that night! I don't think I would rent it again though nothing special about it.
Caroline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 4, 2014

Perfect for a fun night out!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great fit and details
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×