Chanty Dress

$30 rental
$370 value

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Party in the back! Get noticed in this ultra flattering open back style by Slate & Willow. For that extra pop add an accessory with personality like Whiting and Davis’ Silver Lattice Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black Chiffon (100% Polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Full skirt. Open back with crisscrossing straps and lace panels. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. 33” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
133 reviews
Fit
Large11
True to Size85
Small5
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Age: 23
September 2, 2015
Perfect fitting CUTE dress!!
This dress was amazing!! It fit perfectly, both the 10 and the 8. I wore the 8 because it was a little more flattering in the front. The front looks boring in the photos but it is actually extremely flattering!! I'm 5'11 and this dress wasn't too short or awkwardly long! I paired it with a hat and fun flash tattoos to try and bohemian it up a bit! The back was gorgeous, it was awkward to take photos of the back to show you, but the sides of the dress were my favorite part of the entire dress! I wore those stick on boobs, just because I felt more comfortable with them on, I'm sure it can be worn without a bra no problem! Got tons of compliments and never wanted to take the dress off!! I'm crossing my fingers it goes on sale down the road so I can get it back! Love love LOVE the dress. RTR also did a great job, this was my first time renting to my house in Hawaii and I was extremely nervous about the shipping days. Everything went perfectly. Great company! Can't wait for my next rental to get here :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 31, 2015
Overall good dress, but not as unique as I was hoping for.
I wore this for my birthday. I really wanted a dress that was unique and would stand out. I was hoping the back detailing would do that for me, but this was still just a little too plain. I dressed it up with fun shoes and a bracelet, but the front was just so plain. Overall a good dress, but if you want something that stands out, look elsewhere.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
August 13, 2015
I wore it for a bachelorette party. It fit perfectly, true to size
It will definitely need sticky blobs of some sort. The top doesn't have any support and of course the back is open. I'm 5'6" and the length was perfect for a bachelorette party - a little shorter in front and a smidge longer in back (I have a big butt so length can be an issue). I liked that I was able to respect the bride's wishes and all the girls wore black while she wore white, yet I still stood out. Loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137lbs
August 6, 2015
The back is great!
Ordinary LBD in the front, really special from the back. I think others have noted, but the waist has some give and falls at a nice spot, so the back is really flattering. I usually wear a 6 but went with the 4, and even that was a bit big on top (I'm a pear) without a bra. I think it would be better with a sticky bra, but I couldn't find mine, so I went without. Beware the Marilyn effect if there's a breeze. I wore it with flat sandals to dinner and a concert. You could dress it up quite a bit with the right shoes and accessories.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Age: 17
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 23, 2015
Favorite dress I've ever worn
I bought this for a Sadie's dance. I wanted something classic but modern so I added pearls and it worked beautiful! Any kind of accent necklace works very well. I would suggest an updo to show off the back especially if you have long hair. I did two French fishtail braids going into a bun and it really accentuated the classic look. I wore a stick on bra because the dress is very thin up top and I wouldn't advise not wearing a bra unless you have a smaller bust. Overall this is my favorite dress I ever wore!! Everything was perfect about it and it made my back look amazing
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 23, 2015
Unflattering
This was the main dress I'd ordered for my 10 year high school reunion, and while it wasn't hideous it certainly wasn't flattering. I'd say this is the kind of dress that would work wonders for someone with a slim upper body. I have more of the type of hourglass that means a wider ribcage, and that translated into this dress looking weirdly sloppy on my frame. Would probably add hips to a straight body type, but help disguise hips for a pear shape. If you have wide ribs or broad shoulders, I might advise you to look elsewhere.
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Other
July 11, 2015
Great dress for my high school graduation!
Got both the size 2 and 0, runs a little big and was a little longer then in the picture but I LOVE the open back with the lace, great dress for graduation!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
July 6, 2015
This dress was so awkward. The back looked pretty, but the waist fell at my rib cage.
The fit was terrible. The straps weren't adjustable at all. The waistband fell at my ribs. It was unflattering and I had to send it back. I don't recommend this dress
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
June 18, 2015
Comfortable and beautiful
Super cute and flattering, got tons of compliments. Back was gorgeous and I jazzed up the front with a statement necklace
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
June 14, 2015
LOVED this dress!
Very comfortable even without a bra and received a ton of compliments! I would love to own this dress. I wouldn't recommend wearing this dress if you are going to do a lot of dancing as you could have some slip ups with the lace side.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
June 11, 2015
loved the open back. Made it easy to show off my flash tattoos for the night!
Fit like a glove, but nice and flowy on the bottom
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Other
Age: 28
June 9, 2015
Love the Lacey sudes
I thought this dress ran very true to size. I am typically a size 2-4. I wore the size 2 and had extra room in the waist. Although the material was thick enough to wear without a bra i would have preferred a stick on bra cup for the shape.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
May 12, 2015
The back of the dress
I loved the back of this dress; however, the front of the dress was not as good as I imagined. The bust area had extra fabric, and even though I went a size down it still did not fit the way I would've liked.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
May 10, 2015
Cute for a bachelorette party!
This dress came in and I didn't love it when I tried it on but all dressed up I liked it much better. It's a little poofy in the front but it did still look flattering I thought. Everyone shows pics of the back so I thought I would show one of the front and how I accessorized. Overall a good rental!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 3, 2015
Perfect birthday dress!
I felt so good in this dress! The back is hot!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
April 29, 2015
Beautiful Back
I love the back of this dress - hence why I rented it in the first place. The skirt was also flattering, and nice for a party where I was drinking and eating a lot. However, I hated the front. The bust area was just awkward. There is a vertical seam that looks out of place and pointless, and there isn't any sort of padding or lining to really shield the girls. Since this dress cannot be worn with a regular bra, I was hoping for a little more support in the chest. I'm a C cup, and the size 6 chest was loose on me. I tried on the 4, and the back was too small, but the chest was STILL too loose. What gives? Keep this in mind if you are small chested. This is a pretty dress overall, but if you rent it, definitely practice your "back to the camera" or over the shoulder pose. Clearly I didn't quite get it down that night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 18
Body type: Athletic
April 28, 2015
Perfect fit!
Wear strapless/backless bra
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 22
April 27, 2015
This dress was just beautiful
This dress was absolutely fantastic! It fit true to size and I was receiving compliments from my boyfriends fraternity brothers all night. I typically cannot get away with anything backless because the fabric is too thin or stick on bras show through, but this one worked out perfectly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
April 26, 2015
Such a fun night in a great dress
Fit really well, dress was a little long but overall true. highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 23, 2015
Wore it to first a ball, then a formal right after!
(I'm on the right) Fits great! The waistband was a little tight/uncomfortable, but super comfortable and low maintenance otherwise. I carry my weight around my midsection so I was worried about it looking a bit like a maternity dress. Maybe if I was a few pounds heavier it would've, or if it wasn't black. Worked out great for a fraternity formal. Definitely need a stick on bra. Loved it, can go for so many different events depending on how you dress it up!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 120lbs
April 20, 2015
Fun dress! Can be dressed up or down. Love the back.
I loved that this dress was sort of on the side of conservative from the front, but has flowy short skirt and a fun back. Perfect for the occasions when you can't decide if you should dress up or down, because it works as both!
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 23
April 14, 2015
I felt beautiful in this dress! The perfect balance of classy and sexy.
-fit is true to size -beautiful lace details on side -I have a small waist and bigger upper thighs. This dress perfectly balanced my body type because it conches the waist and flares out to skim over the legs -halter top was very flattering for shoulders -you will need a sticky bra as it is backless -very comfortable -didn't have to adjust at all during the night
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 21, 2015
Loved the back, has a party-girl vibe
The fit of this dress is nice for girls like me who have slightly bigger hips and butts than their waist might suggest. The waist line has elastic and so there's a little give, then it's completely flowy below that. I didn't end up liking it as much as the tighter-fitting dress I wore earlier in the week because I didn't feel like it showed off my body (except for the back, of course, which was awesome). I don't know what the right undergarments are to wear with a backless dress (because I didn't wear a bra) but I would certainly recommend wearing something. There are darts in the front and, uh, sometimes things don't perfectly align.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
February 17, 2015
Nice material, cute back
I didn't wear the dress for my event as it wasn't flattering for my chest area and I didn't have my backless bra available as this dress was sent to me as a replacement. It was a cute dress, just not for me. Would recommend for C cup or larger.
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 2, 2015
So many compliments!
The dress fit me perfectly! the front is very conservative which I liked (so did my parents) yet the back and side was very fun & flirty. I had to wear a nubra & I never had problems with it the whole night. so don't let that bra fear Ruin your night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 10, 2015
Second time I've rented from RTR and continue to love their service and customer care.
I wore it for a NYE party while pairing it with tights and red booties. The 8 was a little big in the back, where the lace detailing was, so I ended up going with the 6. It bunched up a little if I didn't pull the dress down every once in a while but no other complaints. It was a beautiful dress and fit the occasion perfectly!
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
January 5, 2015
RTR sent gum and lotion with the package which was a nice extra touch. Made my night feel important!
You need a jelly bra for the dress. It was beautiful, I was complimented all night and asked where I got it. It was a bit short for a tall girl like me but overall- spectacular!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113lbs
December 29, 2014
Hit or miss depending on your body type!
I ordered this dress as a backup and ended up wearing my first choice. If you have a hourglass shape this dress wouldn't do justice to your thin waist and might make your hips look wider because it sits right under the chest and a few inches above the waistline. You might also run into sideboob problems if you decide to go braless. The height is ideal for shorter girls like me and the back is very cute though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 148lbs
December 2, 2014
A birthday I'll never forget!
For women with full bust, don't be scared to try it! I'm a 36 DD and was able to pull it off with a nubra and some intense taping! I had a wonderful time and loved it for my birthday!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
November 25, 2014
I love love loved this dress.
The back is not to revealing and the fit is great. Just make sure you have a backless bra, the front was no way thick enough to go without.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 17, 2014
Even better in person!
I loved this dress! I wore it to a date party for my sorority and it was such a hit. The back is even cuter and person and I got so many compliments. I definitely sized down for this dress, the dress fit better in the bust with the smaller size. Overall, really flattering and a great dress! I would rent it again in a heartbeat!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 6, 2014
Loved the back!
This dress was stunning - I got so many compliments! DEFINITELY need a nubra as the material is a little thin.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 49
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
October 27, 2014
#hoco2k14
We rented this for my daughter's senior homecoming dance. This was our first rental and were nervous about fit so we had it come a day early just in case we had to run out somewhere and buy a dress. It was a perfect fit on her and she looked beautiful! The only tip I can give anyone is make sure that you buy the 'stick 'em' bra well in advance. By the time we went to buy one, her size wasn't left and unless you are small chested, you need something to keep yourself in place. Will be regularly browsing in search of a prom dress! Oh, and they "surprise" necklace they sent was great too!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32B
October 12, 2014
This dress made me feel GREAT!
This dress fit perfectly. It sat on the waist very well and comfortably. The dress itself exhumed the feeling of class and sophistication but with a little bit of sexyness because of the open back. I would definitely give this dress a try if you want to keep it simple but unique at the same time.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 8, 2014
Great Party Dress
I wore this dress to a charity event/party in June. The dress fit and looked great and was perfect for an event in which you wanted to look trendy but still formal & classy (not black tie though). It was easy to move & dance in and the length was perfect. My only issue with the dress is the front is kind of boring and the waist is gathered and elastic which makes it look a little....not so designer. I added a gold plated belt to cover the elastic and it was fine though. Because of the waistline I recommend if you are between 2 sizes sizing down. Also due to the cut if its too lose it could gap and hang weird in the back.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 190lbs
September 23, 2014
The back was perfect.
Sadly you do have to wear a sticky bra with this one. And it is a little short for those who are tall. I thought I would wear the 14 but the 12 ended up fitting better in the back. Overall it's nice and would look good on many girls. A necklace would look very good with it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
September 23, 2014
Tons of compliments all night!
Fit well, I definitely loved the Braza petals. I wore fun shoes and a statement necklace to spruce up the front. The waist was a tiny bit big but it worked out fine. Also, the back is the statement so I suggest wearing your hair up or to the side.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
September 21, 2014
Super fun dress!
Can't think of any cons with this dress!! Loved the fit and the length was perfect. The back is amazing and the detailing on the sides is really fun.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
September 14, 2014
Fun birthday dress
Great fit and perfect to wear with heels or flats. I wore sandals and dressed it down for a beach bar. You can't wear a bra but the front is tight enough that you don't have to worry too much. The back is absolutely the best part of the dress. Very fun little LBD.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
September 3, 2014
Loved this dress! Open back was beautiful. But, definitely made my hips look a bit large.
Loved the back of this dress! Loved the lace detailing and length. If you have a shorter torso and/or carry your weight around your middle, it can be a big unflattering on the waist. If empire waisted things look good on you though, you're solid! I played it up with pearls and red heels.
View photos (3)
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×