Slate & Willow

Alissa Dress

$30 rental
$370 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Go for chic simplicity in this draped mini by Slate & Willow. Eye catching and super flattering, this dress will get you noticed everywhere you go! Pair with kate spade new york accessories’ On the Town Earrings for easy going out glam.

Also available in blue.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS-L.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection with little to no give
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra. We recommend fashion tape to close deep V.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS-L.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection with little to no give
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra. We recommend fashion tape to close deep V.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black matte jersey (100% rayon). ¾ length sleeves. V-neckline. Faux wrap with ruched pencil skirt. Lined. 37.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

188 reviews

Fit
Small 70
True to Size 100
Large 3
Photos 67
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 11, 2014

I did not end up wearing this dress- it fit too snugly.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This runs extremely small.
A. Kat
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Jan 19, 2014

Nice.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Nice fit overall... But a bit short for my taste. Actually ended up not wearing it, as it was for an office gathering.
CHRIS
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Jan 24, 2014

it is very tight skirt bottom…sexy!!!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
it runs SMALL & big. i usually wear a small or medium but based on other reviews I'm glad i order large. thats what i ended up wearing. the top though runs i think too big yet it is a larger!
lauren
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Apple
Jan 27, 2014

Great dress for any occasion

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Wore this for a trip at which there were coworkers and it was flattering, sexy, and appropriate all at once. Definitely short, but with the top being so covered (3-quarter sleeves and loose top), it worked. Rouching on stomach is great (with spanx underneath) for anyone with problem-abs area! Use fashion tape on top for sure (can buy along when you rent the dress). Would rent again for another trip for sure!
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136 lbs
Jan 27, 2014

RTR is the real deal. Loved the garment bag, the goodies and the ease of returning the dress.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
I ordered the small and the medium to wear to a nice dinner in Vegas. I tend to wear a small but this dress does run a bit on the small side. The top portion is super cute, super flattering. The bottom portion of the dress is very short and tight. Glad I got the medium, it was perfect. Super sexy but not trashy. I received a ton of compliments.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Jan 28, 2014

Hot dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was amazing! It hugged my curves, but was still modest with the sleeves, I wore it to my Christmas party and got SO many compliments! Like the other reviews said, it is VERY low cut, but i just used some fashion tape and it stayed closed all night long. It is also pretty short, but so flattering as well. Would definitely recommend!
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128 lbs
Jan 31, 2014

Super sexy

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress is great. I ordered the S and the M and the small fit. It really cinched in my waist. My only complaint is that it had a lot of extra fabric in the top at the back and also under the arms. I know that's the style so there really isn't anything wrong with the fit. However, I am a little more broad in the shoulders and back and I feel like this might have accentuated it.
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 5, 2014

Runs large up top

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress was really flattering but be sure to size down if you don't have a big chest. This could easily be dressed up or dressed down. It was really fun and flattering. I would definitely rent it again.
Jenell
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 6, 2014

Great dress! I needed to wear a tank top underneath because it was a little too revealing but it st

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Classy and sexy! Not too short or tight!
Cambrey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 7, 2014

Use fashion tape

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Cute dress. I liked it a lot, but it requires fashion tape... and I am big on the top end. It was short, but I wore with tights and boots as it was mid december.
Debi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 108 lbs
Feb 10, 2014

HOT!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this out in Vegas to a club…it was PERFECT! I had several girls come up to me (many years younger might I add) that told me how amazing my dress was. I live in LA so I'm used to more fitted clothing for nighttime, but the other reviews are absolutely correct…you MUST use fashion tape with it. If not, the top would be open to your belly button!!! The photos on the model don't do it enough justice- it's MUCH sexier in person.
Beatrice
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 10, 2014

Cute LBD

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Received this dress because my original dress was unavailable. It's very cute and you can dress it up with a cute belt. The arms are very tight though.
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Feb 13, 2014

I wore this for an in-store mid-week after work event. Was fantastic and really comfortable.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
it's a bit difficult to get into this dress but definitely try so you can get the one true to size. It's also very short and you will need fashion tape if you have a large chest, like I do, or a bra that works with the low scoop neck. I have an athletic frame and a butt. I'm only 5'3" and this was still very short on me. That said, I would rent it again.
Hailey
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 18, 2014

Great Valentine's Day dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The fit was perfect! It does run true to size. The only downside was that it was short and kept riding up so I had to pull it down. Other than that, loved it!
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 18, 2014

This was the perfect date dress!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I loved this dress! The fit is so flattering- it was just short and sexy enough! The bottom is tight, but flattering. It is essential to have fashion tape to close the top, but I loved how I was able to choose how revealing/conservative I wanted the top to be. The fabric is thick and hides anything without needing Spanx. I would definitely rent this dress again!
Gem
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Feb 24, 2014

Just the right amount of sexy!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Rented this for a Valentine's Day dinner at a nice restaurant. This dress goes down quite low, but it wasn't too scandalous since I'm relatively small chested. I would recommend fashion tape or a safety pin, though. My boyfriend loved it!
ALJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Feb 26, 2014

Great simple but sexy dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I liked this dress. You definitely need to fashion tape the front. I am a c cup and I was pretty much Jlo green Versace without fastening the front of this dress. Fitted in the bum and the arms, took a little adjusting but it worked great. Wore with booties and jack up jewelry ;)
Natalija
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Mar 1, 2014

Sexy, but classy LBD

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Really liked this dress for a Valentine's dinner date with my bf, and he loved it. Warning... it is pretty short, but I wore black tights so I wouldn't feel uncomfortable bending over all night. The bottom part fits tight, but the ruching makes it super flattering. After reading the reviews on how short it was, I got a large as a backup, thinking it would help with the length. The large did not make a difference as far as length, and the top was way too huge, so I ended up sticking with the medium. Also, I am large busted, so I had to wear fashion tape and a small pin to keep the girls contained. I would definitely rent this dress again, but think I will try the blue (Anushka dress) next time. As always, the service from RTR was awesome, and I received my same day rental (in Manhattan) by 2pm.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 4, 2014

VERY SEXY

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The neckline and overall fit of this dress make it very sexy, but I didn't think the top was as low cut as many made it out to be. It is VERY short though, I ended up wearing tights just to keep it moderately classy.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160 lbs
Mar 5, 2014

Had to return it

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I am a classic medium , never more than a large. I ordered both thinking surely one would fit. Sadly neither did. If you have even a little hips and booty and expect this fabric to stretch sadly it doesn't really.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Mar 11, 2014

Great Dress, fashion tape definitely helped!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Was exactly as low cut as I was expecting, definitely sexy, but thank goodness for fashion tape. I was a little overly-ambitious, and might not recommend to a busty girl who doesn't want to have to pay attention to the neckline's coverage throughout the night. Super cute otherwise!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 17, 2014

Very classy but was shorted than I anticipated. Looked great, I was just a little self conscious.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
May be a better rental for girls not so hippy.
alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Mar 25, 2014

Perfect sexy LBD

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this for a bachelorette party, we were all required to wear a little black dress. This dress was perfect! Everyone complimented that it was adorable, and it didn't wrinkle during travel so I didn't have to do anything except throw it on. The only problem is that it is extremely low cut, so consider using double sided tape or pinning it closed. I thought the dress was pretty accurate in size too, I'm short but my butt wasn't hanging out at all. Overall, loved it
JordanAshleigh
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 30, 2014

Nice, but nothing exceptional.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Wore this for my bachelorette party. You definitely need fashion tape for this dress, but I liked being able to determine how much skin to show. Nice material. Tight fitting on the bottom but looser up top, which is nice if you are looking for something a bit more flattering around the midsection. It was rather short as well, which worked for my party but might not be best for another event. I could have worn the small but went with the medium for a little more length. A nice, basic dress but nothing exceptional.
Emily
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 30, 2014

Too big.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Ordered Medium after reading the reviews. Unfortunately, it was way too big. Very cute dress. I'm excited to order in a S.
Raina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 185 lbs
Apr 2, 2014

You'll certainly look hot

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The lower arms fit kind of tight, which was unexpected, but the length is good, even for someone with an rear like me! But fashion tape is a MUST - you'll gap a lot.
Ryan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 2, 2014

Wanted to wear this for my sister's bridal shower

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
The dress was way too tight everywhere.
Mashia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 3, 2014

The dress is a perfect easy/chic fit.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Totally runs small. No give whatsoever in the waist and super low plunge, but i loved it!
Hannah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 6, 2014

RTR staff was so helpful when my original dress couldn't make it in time! Love this dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is SO flattering! It was really comfortable to wear during a long event and was so cute! The top could be worn as pretty low but if you move the dress around a little bit it sits on your chest as a more conservative V. The bottom of the dress is tight with another layer over it which makes the dress a little more bump friendly. It rides up a little after walking around so if you are looking for a conservative dress, this may not be the one for you.
Anneliese
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 105 lbs
Apr 7, 2014

Sexy dress in a tasteful way!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to my sorority's 25th Anniversary Gala and it was a hit! I received so many compliments about how the dress was sexy, yet tasteful. Since it is a classic LBD, I wore my hair in Kim Kardashian curls with strappy black valentino stud heels. I also wore a gold bracelet to give it a little flare. While the dress top is open, I strategically placed fashion tape so it would be a little low cut, but not too much. Fashion tape is necessary for this dress. By far my favorite.
C
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 16, 2014

fantastic dress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
wore this dress for a date night out, and loved it. was very comfortable, though I had to tape the front so it wasn't as low cut.
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Apr 16, 2014

Going to Vegas? The Cosmopolitan Hotel has a RTR store!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The best part about this rental was experiencing the RTR store in the Cosmopolitan Hotel in Vegas. I was staying at the hotel, ordered my dress online, and picked it up at the store. The staff was super helpful allowing me to try the dress on before leaving. The worst part about this dress was figuring out the fashion tape (which as most other reviews mention is an absolute necessity). It wasn't as easy as I had hoped and had I had enough time getting ready, I would have run down to the store for help from the experts. Like everyone else says, it runs small. I typically wear a size 6 and wore a large.
Ruby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 21, 2014

Cute, but was a little too short for me.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fit was ok, I worer tape around the cleavage.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
May 1, 2014

Very easy to wear and flattering

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I received lots of compliments. I started wearing the M but it was so short that when I walked it really rode up. Ended up wearing the L which was much looser on top but I was able to walk without having to tug the dress down.
tarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
May 2, 2014

.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
It was too tight in the arms, and I wasn't able to wear it. It's cute though
Kimberly
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
May 2, 2014

..

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Unfortunately this dress is too small for me. I usually wear anything from a size 8 to a size 12 depending on fit and length. The shoulders actually fit well so that I wouldn't have to bother with taping the chest area but the hip and thigh part was just too tight and too short for me. Bummer because I would have loved to have worn it! Kind of the perfect sexy, yet comfortable black dress.
Tanya
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
May 10, 2014

Great dress! Super comfortable and classy.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The xs was a little short - but the small was a little big. I went with the xs. I found myself pulling it down a bit throughout the night, but felt great, and got tons of compliments!!
Daniele
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127 lbs
May 11, 2014

Love the cut

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Unfortunately I didn't end up wearing this dress. It was slimming on my lower half.
Kat
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
May 13, 2014

Very flattering!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for a bachelorette party in NOLA. It was the perfect LBD for the occasion. The only thing that I would be aware of is that it does ride up considerably when you are walking.
Debra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145 lbs
May 14, 2014

Not a good look on me

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a work party. I'm normally a size 8 but the large was even too small in the butt. It was VERY short to the point where I worried my private bits would be exposed with a slight bend. The material has NO stretch and the bottom hem kind of rolls under so it gives a slight bubble appearance. The top was also WAY too big...even fashion tape couldn't hold it in place. The shoulders were far out so it would have been impossible to keep the girls in. I had to return this dress because there's no way it would have worked. Also, the material is an odd fabric so any dust or skin that rubs on it will show.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×