Slate & Willow

Alissa Dress

$73 to buy
$370 value
Stylist Notes

Go for chic simplicity in this draped mini by Slate & Willow. Eye catching and super flattering, this dress will get you noticed everywhere you go!

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS-L.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection with little to no give
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra. We recommend fashion tape to close deep V.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black matte jersey (100% rayon). ¾ length sleeves. V-neckline. Faux wrap with ruched pencil skirt. Lined. 37.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
271 reviews
Fit
Large
(5)
True to Size
(136)
Small
(86)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 11, 2016
Very comfortable.

Wore it for a bachelorette night out. This dress hides all of your imperfections. Little too baggy up top though.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
November 13, 2016
Awesome dress for a night out

I wore this with a pair and of sheer tights and over the knee boots. I absolutely loved this. The only thing I would note is that the snap closure in the front didn't really hold, so I had to use safety pins which wasn't a problem. Loved this dress and felt sexy without being over the top

Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Party
December 26, 2016
Lots of complements!

The top part of the dress felt a little big. TAPE TAPE TAPE is your best friend.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
December 14, 2014
Convenient and app was very easy to use!! Will definitely be renting again

Dress was perfect for the occasion! Got a lot of compliments! The dress fit a little tight in the arms and didn't have a lot of give. I would wear it again though!

Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 18, 2014
Wore for holiday party

Makes your legs look very sexy. Was slightly bloated when I wore this so tummy was sticking out a little - this dress covered that up. I did need to pin the v on the front of the dress so my girls weren't popping out. My body type is petite, slight apple / slight narrow, short torso, long legs so this is a great lil black dress if you have the same body type.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
December 19, 2014
Wasn't the dress for me

Based on the reviews I ordered a large even though I'm usually a 6-8/Medium, but it was still snug in the bottom. Also the split top is all the way to the belly button, just as another reviewer said so you have to pin or tape it. I just wasn't happy with the way it draped after trying to pin a couple of times. Fabric is nice, sleeves were snug. The length was a tad too short- just under my bum. Too bad - I love a dress with sleeves!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90lbs
December 22, 2014
Flawlessly sexy on a moments notice

Rented this as a backup and after loving and wearing my first choice dress on a Friday night, didn't expect to need this one even thought it was very cute. Saturday I found out I needed to be ready to go to a nice bar for a birthday with about 15 seconds to get ready. I tossed on this dress, pinned the top closed and even though my hair was dirty and I had no time to touch up makeup I applied in the am, I looked and felt amazing in this dress. So sexy with zero effort. Absolutely made the night for me!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 28, 2014
Open neckline but very flattering and comfy!

It was perfect for the occasion and fun to dress up a bit with gold necklaces in the plunging neckline. You will need tape to keep it in place!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 30, 2014
Sexy dress

Great fit and very forgiving. I pinned the front a little and still looked very sexy and flattering.

Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 7, 2015
Effortless! Accessories will make it your own! The perfect LBD!

The dress came just in time! I overnighted it for a New Years Eve Party. I put the dress on and it fit wonderfully, with the exception of the fully open top! Like I mean, COMPLETELY open. Fashion tapes or pins are 100% necessary when wearing this dress, regardless of your size. However, you just get the freedom to pin the dress, wherever you like and make it your own....whatever is comfortable for you. Also, I did love that it was simple, so I was able to use accessories much more than I normally would, with a huge statement necklace, earrings and silver heels. I may not have had the sequin dress I wanted, but I surely created the sparkle!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Date
Age: 37
February 14, 2015
Cute on the butt :)

Loved the dress, very flattering from all angles. Fit well, comfortable, except for somewhat tight sleeves, but that wouldn't keep me from wearing it. I actually didn't end up wearing the dress for my event because it was ridiculously cold that evening, so I chose something with long selves and more warmth. However, had the weather been warmer, and the event been conducive to a short, sexy LBD, I would have worn it. Felt very cute/sexy in it.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 25, 2015
Beautiful, sexy dress - perfect for night in Vegas!

I rented this dress for a night out in Vegas. I got tons of compliments and my husband said it was one of the sexiest dresses I'd ever worn. It was very flattering and comfortable to wear as well. Wish I owned it! Other reviewers were right in that it is very low cut and somewhat large on top. I used A LOT of fashion tape and wore a very low-cut bra. If you wanted to make it more modest, you could always wear a tank underneath; oh ever, fashion tape may still be necessary to keep the top where you want it. One thing to note is that this dress is VERY short. (I'm 5'7").

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
March 1, 2015
Sexy but fashion is a must

I rented this dress to wear for my birthday dinner with my husband. The dress is very short and the front is completely open. You must wear fashion tape with this dress. This picture may not show how short the dress is, but it's very short. The dress is pretty but I wouldn't rent it again. I had to adjust the front all night to ensure that it wasn't too revealing. The necklace is also rented. It's stunning in person but it kept folding in and wouldn't lay flat on my chest. However, the overall RTR experience was amazing as always.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
March 12, 2015
Perfect date night dress!

I rented this dress for a date night to celebrate my birthday. We went to a new trendy restaurant and I felt amazing. I rented the small and medium and the small fit perfectly. It was sexy enough where I felt good, but I didn't feel overexposed. I used fashion tape to adjust the front to where j felt most comfortable and I was good to go. The dress was comfortable to wear and I would definitely recommend. On a side note...I have to give a shout out to RTR customer service. My original rental was delayed by UPS and would not have made it in time. I called customer service and they were willing to overnight me any dress available. Luckily, my original choice was still available, so I was good to go. Thanks RTR for being amazing like always!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
March 22, 2015
Loved the dress but it runs small, and with a larger chest it difficult to position the top right

It runs small, I wish it fit better, I would have worn it out, but my cleavage would have been really out there, not to mention it's shorter then I thought

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
April 27, 2015
Great dress, very sexy.

Although I did not end up wear this dress because it was my backup, I thought it was very sexy. The material is a thicker material. The v is very deep but can be played with with either a pin or fashion tape. The only thing is that the skirt of the dress is a bit tight but it still looked extremely flattering because it could be scrunched. Classic LBD. Would definitely order it again. Maybe in a large though.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
May 20, 2015
Great night out

Very comfortable but I did need to pin it in the front

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
May 28, 2015
Great for a night of dancing!

The fit was beautiful, but as others have mentioned, you definitely need to tape the front closed to avoid too much exposure. The material was lovely, and it was just the right blend of classy and sexy.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Apple
August 12, 2015
Perfect!!!!!

I felt so hot!! Prefect dress

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 20, 2015
Great dress for a cocktail party Definitely need double sided tape because it is low

Pretty short but I am 5'4" so it worked The material is great and very comfortable

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
October 25, 2015
Great LBD!

Flattering LBD... You definitely need fashion tape or you will show a lot, the dress dips low. It's also a bit short. But if you like to accentuate your legs and chest, this is a winner! No stretch to the dress, so I went with the medium ( for comfortable in the arms and waist). Great rental for the price! Got lots of positive feedback :)

View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
November 21, 2015
Flattering dress, but runs small

Loved this dress, super easy to wear and very comfortable. It does run a little small, I'm usually a medium and the large barely fit me. Super flattering and thick material for a cold night. Had to pull it down a little bit throughout the night while we were dancing, but fashion tape was definitely needed for the top, like everyone else has said. Overall, a great dress and looks great on any body type!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 30, 2015
Great but not for my occasion

Sorry, not a great picture! Will rent again for the right occasion. Fashion tape works great. Simple but love this lbd. This is a size S when I was a few pounds heavier than my usual and still fit well.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
December 7, 2015
Sexy. Very low cut.

Rented this dress for weekend date night. I rented large and medium was my back up but the large was damaged. I wore the medium. The skirt part was tight and short but manageable. The top is lose and flowy and LOW. I wore a black tank top under. It was definitely a fun and sexy dress!

Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Party
January 1, 2016
The process was so easy! A perfect dress delivered to my door, and a return label for afterwards.

I felt like a hawwwwtie in this dress. I received a million compliments. Made my legs look great; skirt was short and tight, and top was designed to be loose (must use fashion tape or you'll flash the world). I may rent this again. Would love to own it.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 22, 2016
Versatile black dress

Looking for an easy NYE dress and this was easy to dress up or down with the front slit. Definitely needs fashion tape (didn't come in package but I had my own).

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 144lbs
February 13, 2016
Service was amazing as usual

Super big in the front, you'll need a safety pin for sure.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
February 24, 2016
Turned some heads!

It's a hot dress! Got a lot of compliments and didn't need a bra but had to use some fashion tape for the top so the 'ladies' didn't pop out. Runs a little big; good for hourglass women as the slightly thicker material on bottom hugs every curve.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 19, 2016
So fun!

The dress is pretty low cut so you'll need some tape, but it was a great fit. Tight on the bottom and looser up top. I rented for a bachelorette party... It was perfect!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 21, 2016
Nice LBD! Can be dressed up or down to taste.

I liked this dress overall! Very basic, with a really nice, classic shape. It is definitely a body-conscious dress, and I should maybe have sized up for comfort's sake, but the fit was fine. This dress is a good canvas to dress up or down to your particular needs/taste. My complaints (which led to a three-star rating): 1) As other reviews state, fashion tape is a must, unless you want your belly button exposed (no judgement). Not a huge inconvenience up front, but just another thing to have to keep an eye on all night to avoid wardrobe malfunctions. 2) For a body-con dress that fits like a second skin, I'd have hoped for a more comfortable fabric. It's nice and light, but not very soft, and I definitely felt some chafing on the inside bend of my elbows. I wore tights, but I have a feeling maybe it would chafe bare legs as well.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 1, 2016
Perfect New Years Eve Dress

Fashion Tape is a must!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
April 16, 2016
Night out with the girls in Vegas

Fit great. Perfect for Vegas. It is short so you have to be comfortable with that and the top is very low cut so you need tape or a tank if you want to cover up. Nice for a long night bc the top isn't a typical super tight dress except around the hips and legs but it's got some stretch to it. Would definitely recommend for a night out.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 4, 2014
Not for me

Very tight in the arms and very large in the bust. I could have made it work with fashion tape, but ultimately decided to return the dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 17, 2015
Just enough sexy!

I wore this in Vegas for a Valentine's dinner with my husband. This dress was perfect! It fit beautifully, and you can select how much cleavage you want to show by pinning up the front. I am on the shorter side so I didn't need to worry about the length, it stopped a few inches above my knee, and it didn't ride up the whole night.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 26, 2015
Great dress to those colder nights.

The dress fit perfectly minus how open the top is. The pictures are slightly deceiving, you need a pin if you want it to look like their picture. I ended up wearing a lace bralette under it and it looked great! Without it my friends would have been wondering what was going on. Just be prepared for a very revealing top portion but otherwise everyone loved how I wore it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 23, 2015
RTR even included fashion tape, which was perfect!

Beautiful dress! I had to use the fashion tape to make the V in front more appropriate for the occasion, but it worked perfectly. I would definitely rent this dress again, it's classic and so flattering. The shoulders and arms were a bit tight at first, but I got used to it.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
December 18, 2015
Effortless dress! Super fun to customize with accessories!

Dress was very heavy and well-made. The small is a little tight in the arms so I went with the medium. The front is very loose so you will need to wear a camisole or use fashion tape. The length of the dress has alot of room to adjust-this dress would look good on anybody.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 2, 2016
Loved everything about this!

This dress was a show stopper, as you can see it is a little on the short side and the neckline was very showy, but with fashion tape I was able to make it a little more conservative. Very forgiving in the hips and tummy area, flattering for my figure for sure. I had so many compliments on this dress, and if I have the chance I will definitely rent it again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 24, 2016
Sexy winter dress!

I loved this dress! The neckline is super deep so I decided to pin it in place. The skirt was very short.. even on me (I'm 5'1!). But it was sexy, comfortable and warm for the winter. Overall it fit well. My only issue was with the ruching on the shoulders. The weight of the fabric made the shoulders fall forward and twist the arms a bit throughout the night. I'm sure no one else would have noticed, it was just a small annoyance. I would still rent this again regardless because it looked great!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34DDD/E
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
February 5, 2016
Bring a pin or tape

It's super cute but you need a pin or tape to keep it down in the front. You'll be flashing everyone if you don't.

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×