Rent the Runway

Slate & Willow

Alissa Dress

$30 rental
$370 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Go for chic simplicity in this draped mini by Slate & Willow. Eye catching and super flattering, this dress will get you noticed everywhere you go!

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS-L.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection with little to no give
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra. We recommend fashion tape to close deep V.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS-L.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection with little to no give
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra. We recommend fashion tape to close deep V.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black matte jersey (100% rayon). ¾ length sleeves. V-neckline. Faux wrap with ruched pencil skirt. Lined. 37.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

210 reviews

Fit
Small 75
True to Size 109
Large 5
Photos 76
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 10, 2013

Sexy, fun dress for a night out!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved the idea of this dress but the top part (neckline) is not sewn together so it's completely open! Fashion tape or safety pins are a must! Other than that, I loved it. It's sexy but not too short and I'm very picky about the length of dresses. I wore this to Rent the Runway's Capstone Weekend Girl's Night Out event and it was perfect! Great going out dress.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147 lbs
Apr 27, 2013

Very Sexy.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Had to wear fashion tape and spanks (thong version b/c of length). It was fun for a night out with the girls!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
May 15, 2013

This was my first time using RTR and I thought it was a great idea and extremely easy.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to my best friend's engagement party and got a lot of compliments. However, it is VERY short! I'm usually a medium but tried the large on first and when I saw how short it was I didn't even try the medium. I've never needed to use fashion tape because I have big boobs that fill out any dress but this neckline is very open. Tape is a must! Top is baggy and bottom is tight, but it rouches on the side of the hip so is very flattering through the waist. I wore it with black wedges and a statement necklace and it worked, but I would not wear it again just because of the length.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 23, 2013

Perfect LBD! Comfortable and fit like a glove!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was perfect. I recommend getting the double sided tape because the top of the dress is not connected but the tape held my dress in place the entire night. I wore this dress to a wedding and even with all the dancing I never had to worry about the dress.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 15, 2013

Sexy, but not as stretchy as I would have liked. Tough to get in to.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
The dress is nice looking, but it's very tight. I made quite the scene trying to get into the small, but since there is absolutely no stretch (and no zipper), I couldn't get it over my hips. Luckily the medium fit, but not comfortably (surprisingly tight in the arms). And double-sided tape is a must.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 8, 2013

Pretty and simple dress. Lots of compliments!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I received a lot of compliments on this dress. It is very simple and easy to make it your own with jewelry. It was a little snug to get on at first but once over my hips, it fit like a glove. The S would have been way too big. The neck line is very low and you do need fashion tape to keep it in place but depending on your occasion, you can choose how low you want it to be! Overall a good dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 19, 2013

Sexy and comfortable!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a birthday party in Atlantic City. I am OBSESSED with this dress, I want to own it! The fit was great, very tight but flattering on the bottom and loose enough on the top. All the reviews I read said fashion tape would be needed however I am a size 34 D and wore a slightly padded push up bra and did not need fashion tape for the top. I wore tights so it was not an issue for me but the dress is on the shorter side so I can see where some people might be a little uncomfortable. Over this dress was a huge success!!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 21, 2013

Great change of pace from what I usually wear

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
PROS: The quality of this dress is really great. It's a heavy fabric with little stretch. It was different from what I typically wear to weddings, so I felt really sexy and fun. People complimented me all night on the dress and my boyfriend loved it. I actually really liked how low this dress is cut in the front. It's much lower than on the model. You could get a away with wearing any kind of bra, if you have fashion tape. I didn't, so I just went without. CONS: RTR didn't include fashion tape, which I was expecting because of what I read on other reviews, so I had to constantly check to make sure I wasn't falling out. That was kind of a bummer. It's also VERY short. I'm only 5'3 (on a tall day) and found it hard to sit and bend over. I probably wouldn't have worn this dress without tights. In the end though, the pros outweighed the cons and I still loved wearing this dress. I would recommend it, but be prepared for it to be quite short AND how off your chest. (would be really fun in Las Vegas!)
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 143 lbs
Nov 28, 2013

Gorgeous dress

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress and was complimented all night on it. I loved the dress. I have a really interesting shape- I'm a 36d, size 4-6 on bottom and have extremely wide hips. Some dresses look awful, but this was perfect. It is a little short and the top had a tendency to open up a bit but that was quickly fixed with an adjustment to the top. Overall loved the dress. You won't be disappointed.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Dec 12, 2013

All eyes on me!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for a night out on the town with my friends. This is a very "look at me" dress. Pros: slinky, stretchy material, beautiful cut. Cons: Skirt is pretty short and not big enough for someone with a bigger rear. To sum it up: the top was a little big, but the bottom was a snug. I still looked great, though! :)
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Body type: Straight & narrow
Dec 21, 2013

Loved this dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was comfortable and very flattering. I would definitely rent it again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 25, 2013

Great dress.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I didn't find the top too low cut, but it is quite short. If I ever rent this again I will go a size up for some extra length.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136 lbs
Dec 28, 2013

Great dress - super flattering and comfortable.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Body hugging from the waist down, hangs nicely on top. MUST have double sided tape to keep the deep V closed. I used the tape fabric to fabric and it held tight throughout the night and dancing.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jan 2, 2014

Super sexy!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress as a backup for New Year's Eve and didn't get the chance to wear it. But I did love the design and fit and will definitely keep it in mind for future occasions. My only hesitation with this dress is that it's very revealing in the bust area so I would not recommend it for large chested women who are planning on attending a dance party.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 3, 2014

New Year's Eve was a blast!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I was a little disappointed because RTR didn't include double sided tape or anything -- and the neckline for this dress really needs it! I ended up buying some of my own. It's a little short, but thats the way I wanted it for NYE. Its a cute dress, overall, but taller girls should be aware that this is not appropriate for any sort of formal affair. :)
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 6, 2014

Sexy look for NYE!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I could have easily worn the medium since the dress has plenty of stretch, but the large was slightly more comfortable. Since it was new years' eve I opted to let it be very low cut and went with pasties. I'm not overly busty so it worked fine for me. I'll agree with other ladies that have worn the dress: Plan to have fashion tape for sure!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 9, 2014

Love this dress. Felt comfortable and confident. Versatile and fits with any dress code.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The reviews were right; it runs small. With the fitted waist and no zipper, I would recommend sizing up. The small fit, but it was difficult to get on and off. Also, make sure you have a safety pin to tame the billowy top.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Jan 22, 2014

Great dress for NYE

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I was very close to returning this dress because the top part of the dress was just open. But I scrounged up some double sided tape and with a few carefully placed pieces I was good to go. I'm usually a medium but the bottom of the dress was pretty tight, but once on it didn't give me any issues. I have no idea how it would hold up on the dance floor but I could tell you it was warm enough for a very cold Wisconsin New Year's Eve! It's a simple black dress that you can have fun with on the accessories part. Yes, I would recommend renting but beware of the open top!!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Feb 21, 2014

Perfect dress to celebrate a night out for my Birthday!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Fit like a glove and wish I could have kept it! Probably would have been fine without fashion tape but RTR provided some so I used it just to be safe. I felt like it was really flattering and so comfortable to wear! I would definitely recommend this for a night out on the town!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Mar 9, 2014

Worn for my birthday; it was the perfect amount of sexy.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit is tighter than I was expecting. I am a climber, so my forearms, arms, and shoulders are pretty sculpted. But never the less, it was really comfortable. I tried to wear a stick on bra from VS with it, but it didn't look nearly as sexy, so I just wore fashion tape instead. I would strongly recommend getting a pin and pinning the insides from revealing everything though, because this dress could easily be worn very Jersey Shore-like. I love the way that it hugs your hips and sits on your shoulders though. I was very comfortable, received compliments from all of my friends, and my man couldn't keep his hands off of me throughout the night. Five stars for sure.
RTR Customer
Mar 17, 2014

Awesome experience. First time using and it was perfect!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The v in the front is very deep and fell open I did need to use double sided tape. Other than that...great!!!!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 112 lbs
Mar 17, 2014

Very cute, but you WILL need fashion tape! (And a lot of patience.)

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I initially ordered an XS and no back up, thinking I for sure didn't need one. I'm such a dope!!! This dress runs quite small, and is not nearly as stretchy as I expected. Luckily RTRs amazing customer service saved the day, and sent me a S in time for the wedding! Pros: The three quarter sleeve keep me warm, which was great. With enough fashion tape it was actually a very nice, relatively conservative dress. Cons: I constantly felt one wrong move away from a massive wardrobe malfunction. Anything active (such as dancing) would have been out of the question! Made me feel rather on edge and distracted, which took away from the evening. Also, makeup and deodorant (and what must have been dead skin cells) rubbed off on the material like nobodies business. To sum it up, I probably would have enjoyed this dress more had I been wearing it to a different event. But since I wore it to a wedding that involved much of my boyfriends rather conservative extended family it wasn't my favorite.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 3, 2014

This is my second experience and I just love how easy it is.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore the small but would have liked to have worn the med for the length and more comfort but the small fit best on top. I used fashion tape to hold the top in place and it stayed all night. Great going out dress.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Apr 12, 2014

This was my first dress rental and though the dress ran small, I loved it, sexy without being trashy

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
On top the dress fits fine, it low cut but that can be fixed with some fashion tape. It's cinched around the waste which makes it a bit tight, but it's very forgiving and comfy. Very fun!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 15, 2014

We had so much fun with Rocky at the Las Vegas showroom picking dresses out for Hakkasan!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress fit beautifully and hugged all my curves. It looked much better on than on the hanger. The only downfall was that it needed major boob tape to not fall out.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133 lbs
Apr 18, 2014

Classy, yet sexy - want to buy this!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress is by far my favorite, not only on RTR, but of all dresses I've worn to parties, weddings, cocktail hours and events. Is classic in its design and simplicity, but will get you noticed all night. It appears short, but it does not slide up. I got out of a towncar, slid into booths, sat on stools and it never slid. And, I have hips! I did not find the top to gape, but I did use double sided tape because 'my girls' tend to slip. This is the first dress I wrote and begged RTR to buy because I did not want to give it back. I want to wear it every day!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
May 18, 2014

Clean dress arrived early in the day. Great communication/tracking via email

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It is short. I'm 5'4" and we called it middle-aged mini. I went conservative and used a few safety pins to keep the dress closed in the front and wore a regular bra. Loved the loose top to help hide my slight pooch.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
May 19, 2014

Great, comfortable dress for a night out.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore a lace cami underneath but definitely still need double stick tape or a safety pin to keep the top closed.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 21, 2014

First time renting from RTR, and loved it!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was great! Perfect amount of coverage and some sexiness too. I did use a safety pin ofcourse to hold the front closed. I ordered a M and L because of previous reviews about it running small and being short, and I am pretty tall. However, the L would have been way too big! Also, it did run up a bit, but that would happen with any dress that form fits on the bottom. In all, I am glad I rented it, and it made me feel great :)
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153 lbs
Aug 18, 2014

Sexy yet conservative

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a birthday party. I wanted something a little sexy but not so much that I looked out of place. I rented the Medium (which is my normal size) and the Small. The top of this dress is almost like a wrap dress so it's very gaping. The bottom is gathered a little so it hides a lot. Everything on this dress has give except the waist so the small was a little hard to get over my head. Here's the breakdown. Small: fit really well on top. No fashion tape needed, no safety pins. I had planned to not wear a bra and the small would have been perfect because the top covered everything. However, when I walked the skirt rode up a lot. Medium: bottom didn't ride up as much when I walked (still did a bit) but the top was showing everything! I ended up safety pinning the top a bit so there was still cleavage but not a ton. And did end up wearing a bra. I figured I'd rather someone see my bra than an accidental nipple slip out! This wasn't my favorite dress I've rented but it was very comfortable and fitting for the occasion.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 7, 2014

Loved loved loved this dress - sexy and classy!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was awesome to celebrate my 21st birthday! It's easy to wear (no zippers or buttons) and you can pin it differently to close up the v neck as much or as little as you want. It's really versatile and the fabric is great. You will definitely need fashion tape though!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Apr 23, 2015

Perfect for a night out.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I loved the way the dress fit. It was a great length; not too short not too long. The front of the dress is completely wide open however. I had to use some pins to keep it closed.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Apr 27, 2015

Great dress, very sexy.

Size worn: M
Rented for: Party
Although I did not end up wear this dress because it was my backup, I thought it was very sexy. The material is a thicker material. The v is very deep but can be played with with either a pin or fashion tape. The only thing is that the skirt of the dress is a bit tight but it still looked extremely flattering because it could be scrunched. Classic LBD. Would definitely order it again. Maybe in a large though.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
May 7, 2015

Rented this dress for a bachelorette party and it was a hit. It was very comfy.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Dress was cute and comfy, except it was very low cut. I had to pin it together so my bra wouldn't' show.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110 lbs
May 10, 2015

I rented the dress for my husband's work Christmas party.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was very sexy, but the top gapped open a lot. I had to use a safety pin and double sided tape to keep it together. I think it would have worked better for a different event!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
May 11, 2015

A little snug in hips, good dress but could not wear.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The dress was great and I am a 2 normally which would have worn the small. I'm a little disappointed because whoever rented it last must have worn very strong deodorant and streaks of it were still on the front and side of the dress (although obviously faded like it had been cleaned). My fashion sponge would not remove it and no time to dry clean the dress, so had to wear something out of my closet.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 132 lbs
May 12, 2015

Okay . . . .

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Was ok. Very tight as other reviews said. I had to keep pulling the skirt down. Fabric felt a little cheap too.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
May 28, 2015

Great for a night of dancing!

Size worn: M
Rented for: Party
The fit was beautiful, but as others have mentioned, you definitely need to tape the front closed to avoid too much exposure. The material was lovely, and it was just the right blend of classy and sexy.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Jun 3, 2015

Great dress for a night out on the town with my girls.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Definitely helpful to have a safety pin to keep the bust from being too low if you plan to wear a bra. Sleeves were a little tight initially, but loosened up over the night.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 7, 2015

I wore this dress for my Bachelorette party and it was a hit! It was just sexy enough!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress is fitted in the hips and arms but not uncomfortably. The opening in the front is very open, so I used a safety pin to keep it a bit closer together. It's relatively shorty and if I had worn the medium, I think I may have worried a little less about flashing people. Overall, a really great dress to wear anywhere, parties, weddings, fancy date night. It flatters without being to revealing.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×