Rent the Runway

Slate & Willow

Alissa Dress

$30 rental
$370 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Go for chic simplicity in this draped mini by Slate & Willow. Eye catching and super flattering, this dress will get you noticed everywhere you go!

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS-L.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection with little to no give
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra. We recommend fashion tape to close deep V.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS-L.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection with little to no give
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra. We recommend fashion tape to close deep V.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black matte jersey (100% rayon). ¾ length sleeves. V-neckline. Faux wrap with ruched pencil skirt. Lined. 37.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

210 reviews

Fit
Small 75
True to Size 109
Large 5
Photos 76
Colleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 3, 2014

LBD for our Anniversary!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress was very slimming and comfortable! It was the perfect dress to wear with a pair of heels on a date to a wine tasting and dinner. My only complaint is that when I took it out of the bag that the fabric looked like it had deodorant stains and that happened if I rubbed up against anything throughout the night. It was nothing that you could not get rid of though by rubbing fabric over it.
Danielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 15, 2014

How terribly it fit!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress looks very little like the photo. The crisscross in front is not fitted as it appears. It flaps wide open and can't be worn appropriately without a layer underneath or something pinning it closed. I had to have another dress overnighted to me. Fortunately that one was perfect. RTR comes through again!
lmb
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 1, 2014

Didn't wear

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Being my second time renting, I was excited for another wonderful experience, but unfortunately it didn't turn out that way. I immediately noticed the top half of the dress was a bit sheer and was relieved to see the skirt portion was lined and not at all see through. I tried on the small first. Once the dress was on, the sheerness of the top wasn't a problem. The bottom fit nicely, but the top was a struggle. The arms were a bit tight and the opening was too loose for my taste even after trying tape. I tried on the extra Small and the bottom was waaay too short but the top fit perfectly! I knew I would be taking a risk renting this dress after reading many of the reviews because I read it worked for some and not at all for others. Im part of the second group, but will rent again.
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 1, 2014

Didn't wear it it was way too small

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I was pretty disappointed by this dress. I have a pretty small frame and usually wear an extra small. This dress runs extremely small. It was way too tight on my arms and I could barely get it over my hips. I didn't order the backup size lesson learned.
MO
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Oct 8, 2014

Great find for a sexy date night!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I didn't receive tape like the other girls mentioned so the bosom exposure was an issue. It was still a nice dress though. Not too dressy.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 20, 2014

Too Small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Normally always wear a medium but in this case I could hardly get it on.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 26, 2014

Love this dress!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
This dress fit perfectly. It was very Flattering!! It fit in all the right places. I worn it in Vegas for a bachelorette party. I felt very sexy. You will need to pin it. The neck line plunges almost to your belly button. Sorry I didn't get any pictures! I can't believe it.
Mia
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Oct 27, 2014

Wore this out in the city for a friends birthday! Fit like a glove!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The fabric has no stretch, but once the dress is on it looked and felt great! The top was way more open than I thought it would be, but nothing a little fashion tape couldn't fix!
Adrianna
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127 lbs
Oct 27, 2014

dress was very cute!, but not for me.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very short!.. You need safety pins to keep this beauty closed
XX
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 29, 2014

sassy & comfortable

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
i rented this dress as a back up for my birthday dinner. i don't typically wear anything tight, but i really loved this dress. i felt comfortable in it all night (even after indulging in a 3 course meal)! the other reviews are right - the fabric is tight & the neckline is PLUNGING (they must have done some great tape work on the model)! i spent far too much time trying to safety pin the fabric together and the result was still a lot of cleavage & the inability to wear a bra. i highly recommend this dress if you're looking for something comfortable and sexy!
Christin
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 4, 2014

Perfect dress to accentuate legs and still show class.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Awesome dress! Tight around hips and loose around chest/stomach. It will need fashion tape around chest area as it has no closure and completely exposed.
Carly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Nov 10, 2014

Definitely use fashion tap!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my friend's birthday party at a trendy restaurant. I dressed it up with a bold necklace and gold shoes. The Medium was a bit tight on the bottom (I ended up wearing it with tights since I am tall) but the Large was too big for me on the top, so I wore the Medium. I am usually wear a Medium (or small) but ordered the large as a back up since other reviews said the sleeves were tight. Fortunately I had fashion tape on hand from a previous rental, because I definitely needed it to close up the top. I was happy with the dress for this occasion, but was not in love with it.
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128 lbs
Nov 17, 2014

Fashion tape a must!!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I didn't end up wearing this dress. Tried it on - it was cute, but not appropriate for my event. The front is completely open. Make sure you have fashion tape if you rent this one!
sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 19, 2014

Sexy dress

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was great cause it was easily dressed up with a nice pair of heels and necklace but wasn't over the top. I loved the contrast of the tight bottom and loose top but i did need fashion tape for the top! Other than that it was super comfortable and I felt great in it!
Ali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Nov 27, 2014

Felt very skinny in this LBD!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Like most other reviews, a little big on top but managable with a pin.
AHM
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95 lbs
Dec 4, 2014

Not for someone 4'11"!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I'm 4'11" and this dress looked very odd on me. The skirt portion of the dress was very snug and fit well (minus the weird ruching that isn't visible in the model photo). The top was insanely huge and not proportionate in fit at ALL to the bottom... I think I am too short for the dolman style the torso had. The front is WAY open (the model picture is very untrue to this part of the dress) - it was so open that you could see down to my abdomen - major need for pins or double sided tape! The dress was made of a good, thick, forgiving fabric, which was nice. Even on me though, with my short stature, the dress was pretty short - it came right below the middle of my thigh.
Tracey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D+
Dec 7, 2014

A lot of work to keep it together

Size worn: L
Rented for: Party
I felt like it was tight in the arms. The dress was snug in the skirt but my major issue was keeping the wrap from exposing my chest all night. I had two pieces of fashion tape on each boob and still felt like I needed two safety pins to keep it all together. I got a lot of compliments yet I was in the ladies room checking and readjusting more than I wanted to.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 9, 2014

Didn't work for me

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
The dress is very flattering, but for some reason the 2 was too large in the skirt and the 0 was too small in the sleeves.
Cassie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 12, 2014

Short Short Short

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I am 5'2, and wore the small. The fabric is thick, but the top seems like it was made for somebody with a long torso, but the skirt is suuuper short. I thought I was going to have a wardrobe malfunction, and I'm on the shorter side. I also wore a black cami, per previous reviews, and that worked out well. All in all, great material, just a bit short.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 13, 2014

Good for a night out

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I didn't end up wearing this dress. I ordered a small and medium, but only received the small due to an issue with the medium dress. RTR was great in this situation and sent me a back-up overnight! The small was cute and it fit, but it just fit. I could have worn it, but I wasn't entirely comfortable in it. The dress was short with a tendency to ride up and a little tighter in the booty department than I would prefer. It was also a little tight in the shoulders, but I attribute that to my broad shoulders... I'm sure the medium would've been perfect! Cute dress for a night out. Fashion tape is a must.
RTR Customer
Dec 14, 2014

Convenient and app was very easy to use!! Will definitely be renting again

Size worn: L
Rented for: Party
Dress was perfect for the occasion! Got a lot of compliments! The dress fit a little tight in the arms and didn't have a lot of give. I would wear it again though!
Alex
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Dec 17, 2014

Couldn't even wear

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress gapes open in the front to the point that it is unwearable without some sort of tank top. Not even fashion tape can fix this. Also, it's low quality material so it is 100% not appropriate for a cocktail party or anything approaching a more formal event. The stitching in the shoulders is incredibly uncomfortable- it is scratchy and has a thick, irritating seam.
Renee
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Dec 17, 2014

Loved the fit and style. Fun dress to wear

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Rented a medium but was not available do to the return being damaged. I wore the back up (size large). It was a little big on the top but was able to work with it with fashion tape. Medium would have fit perfect. Would went again.
Christine
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 18, 2014

Wore for holiday party

Size worn: S
Rented for: Party
Makes your legs look very sexy. Was slightly bloated when I wore this so tummy was sticking out a little - this dress covered that up. I did need to pin the v on the front of the dress so my girls weren't popping out. My body type is petite, slight apple / slight narrow, short torso, long legs so this is a great lil black dress if you have the same body type.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Dec 21, 2014

Runs small which made it a big unforgiving on the stomach and waistline. Tight on the arms.

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Runs small which made it a big unforgiving on the stomach and waistline. Tight on the arms. Didn't wear this dress and wouldn't rent again. Front hung extremely low so my bra was showing.
RTR Customer
Dec 28, 2014

Open neckline but very flattering and comfy!

Size worn: M
Rented for: Wedding
It was perfect for the occasion and fun to dress up a bit with gold necklaces in the plunging neckline. You will need tape to keep it in place!
BD
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 30, 2014

Sexy dress

Size worn: S
Rented for: Date
Great fit and very forgiving. I pinned the front a little and still looked very sexy and flattering.
Nicky
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 31, 2014

Runs Extremely Small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I usually wear a 10-12 for dresses and I could barely pull it over my body. Once it was on, it was extremely short to the point it didn't even cover my back end. It was extremely too small.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 31, 2014

A little too "Sexy" for a night out

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I rented this dress to wear for girls night out in Boston, but when I put it on I realized it was just a little too sexy for a night out. This dress would be great for a bachelorette party or a weekend in Las Vegas. I will keep it on my list of dresses to order for such occasions in the future. I exchanged the dress for a different one and customer service made it so easy. I had the other dress in time to wear it out the following evening!
KB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 6, 2015

Cute dress for a night out on the town, but I had to be creative.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress fit pretty tight on the hips. The front of the top is also completely open with no closure. I couldn't wear it without pinning it. Instead, I wore it backwards with a chunky necklace and it actually turned out pretty cute.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 15, 2015

This dress is a knock out, but unfortunately it runs super small and short.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I am only 5'6", run anywhere from 127- 130 lbs, and typically wear a size 4. Right now I am probably about 132 lbs since I let Christmas get the better of me, which to be fair, may very well bump me up to a size 6. I'm also an apple shape so that never helps. LOL. That being said, even the medium (which I believe is supposed to be a size 6-8?) did not fit me. It just felt tight everywhere, and it was pretty short as well. Too bad because I really dug this dress and would have loved to wear it. Wish I would have gotten a large but I did not think it would be necessary.
Morgan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 21, 2015

New Years Eve

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
Dress fit great! It does open at the bust very easily though so if you need to be conservative, make sure you have some tape!
Kimberly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 22, 2015

It was my birthday! Had an amazing time and this dress looked amazing

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Perfect fit, true to size and super slimming and flattering
michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 158 lbs
Feb 24, 2015

Sexy dress

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I have a full bust and the top didn't open at all for me. It just sat there. Based on the other reviews, I was worried it would gape open. Didn't even need the double sided tape. I was glad it wasn't too revealing on top for me, because it was short...definitely shows a lot of leg. If you want the top baggier and have a full bust, I'd recommend you go up a size.
Mairin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 25, 2015

Perfect for NYE

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress. It was perfectly sexy without being over the top. I did have to use a safety pin to keep the front together, but that was no big deal. Would definitely recommend.
brittany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 2, 2015

Nice dress, not what I was looking for

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Party
The for of this dress was a bit too "clubby" for me. I'm bigger on the bottom and it was very tight which wasn't really the look I was going for, even after sizing up.
mary rose
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158 lbs
Mar 18, 2015

N/A

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
It was so so short. I'm only 5'3" and I couldn't wear it. I have a very large chest (32H- no size option for that on RtR) and the top was ok- but definitely in need of a safety pin or fashion tape. It was too short to wear out of the house (I couldn't even bend over) so I returned it without wearing it out. Would work for more athletic figures, for us girls with even the slightest of a curvy bottom, it will be too short.
Sam
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Mar 22, 2015

Loved the dress but it runs small, and with a larger chest it difficult to position the top right

Size worn: L
Rented for: Other
It runs small, I wish it fit better, I would have worn it out, but my cleavage would have been really out there, not to mention it's shorter then I thought
Megan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 7, 2015

great for event like birthday party, but flashy so need fashion tape

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great dress that I felt awesome wearing for my birthday party but it was a little too open without fashion tape/safety pins.
Tiffany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 127 lbs
Apr 7, 2015

Didn't fit

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I rented sizes M and L in this dress, and did not wear either. I was between a sizes 6 and 8 (maybe closer to a size 8) when I rented it, but the L was way too big, and the M did not fit right on my hips. I am kind of an apple, so dresses that come in at the hips like this one often don't fit me right. The arms on the M were a good fit, but I think I would need to be taller and smaller in the tummy area to properly fit this dress.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×