Slate & Willow

Alissa Dress

$73 to buy
$370 value
Stylist Notes

Go for chic simplicity in this draped mini by Slate & Willow. Eye catching and super flattering, this dress will get you noticed everywhere you go!

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS-L.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection with little to no give
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra. We recommend fashion tape to close deep V.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black matte jersey (100% rayon). ¾ length sleeves. V-neckline. Faux wrap with ruched pencil skirt. Lined. 37.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
271 reviews
Fit
Large
(5)
True to Size
(136)
Small
(86)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
May 2, 2014
..
Unfortunately this dress is too small for me. I usually wear anything from a size 8 to a size 12 depending on fit and length. The shoulders actually fit well so that I wouldn't have to bother with taping the chest area but the hip and thigh part was just too tight and too short for me. Bummer because I would have loved to have worn it! Kind of the perfect sexy, yet comfortable black dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
May 10, 2014
Great dress! Super comfortable and classy.
The xs was a little short - but the small was a little big. I went with the xs. I found myself pulling it down a bit throughout the night, but felt great, and got tons of compliments!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
May 11, 2014
Love the cut
Unfortunately I didn't end up wearing this dress. It was slimming on my lower half.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
May 13, 2014
Very flattering!
I wore this dress for a bachelorette party in NOLA. It was the perfect LBD for the occasion. The only thing that I would be aware of is that it does ride up considerably when you are walking.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
May 18, 2014
Clean dress arrived early in the day. Great communication/tracking via email
It is short. I'm 5'4" and we called it middle-aged mini. I went conservative and used a few safety pins to keep the dress closed in the front and wore a regular bra. Loved the loose top to help hide my slight pooch.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 19, 2014
Great, comfortable dress for a night out.
I wore a lace cami underneath but definitely still need double stick tape or a safety pin to keep the top closed.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
June 1, 2014
Very uncomfortable! Did not wear
I ordered this dress for my best friends bachelorette party and ended up not wearing it because it was extremely short and very stiff and uncomfortable. There is no way I could worn this dress to dinner and dancing, I could barely sit down or walk in it at all. I have a very athletic build so it make work better for girls who have shorter, smaller legs and skinny arms. I would not recommend this dress but RTR was very helpful in letting me return the dress for credit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
June 3, 2014
Runs small in the arms
The small fit awesome on my lower body, but as for the top the arms were so tight they didn't go over my elbows. The Medium was big on my lower body and on my bust and shoulders, but again the arms were super tight. I was unable to wear either and had a to scramble last minute for my bf's 30th birthday dinner.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
June 4, 2014
very comfortable and easy to wear
The dress was very comfortable, nice stretch to the fabric. The top was very deep but with some fashion tape there were no issues. The bottom was form fitting and did have a tendency to ride up a little, but not indecently so. overall a great dress to rent!!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
June 6, 2014
Chic, simple and flattering in all the right places!
Overall the dress was true to size, however, the arms were a little on the tight side and same in the hips of the dress, if you have a more athletic figure it could be a tad scandalous on your lower half. I tried sizing up but ended swimming in the medium . The fabric was a title heavy for warmer weather but wasn't too bad.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 11, 2014
Sexy
The bottom is true to size and fits tighty - which makes it sexy. The top runs larger and I wasn't a fan of how the sleeves hung (big on the under arms but tight along the arm). I recommend this dress if you are confident going braless - that's when it looks best. It plunges lower than on the model but on a small bust it was okay. I wore this out to dinner with the ladies and worked really well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 16, 2014
Loved this dress!
I loved the length! I wore it for a Valentine's Day and it was perfect. It may be too short for a formal occasion. I had to tape the top because of the way it fell, but I used the tape RTR provided and it was great!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119lbs
June 20, 2014
Cute dress but fashion tape is needed
This dress was not too short and not too long it was perfect. Needless to say what ruined it for me was the need for fashion tape. I couldn't find my fashion tape from my last RTR rental so I had to use a pin which did not work on this fabric because it kept folding out. Other than this malfunction, the dress was true to size. I didn't even bother to try the size small since the xs was my first choice and it fit like a glove.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
June 24, 2014
Sexy but was too tight!
I loved the dress but I just felt a little uncomfortable in it. It was too tight around my hips/upper leg area and the arms were really tight. Definitely need a bobby pin or fashion tape. I probably would've worn it and just suffered if I hadn't rented a BCBG romper as a back up :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 17, 2014
Expensive material, but didn't quite fit right
I was excited to wear this out for a graduation dinner with my family. However, even with fashion tape, the bust kept coming undone, and it dips LOW. I eventually had to duct tape it, but that didn't look good, so I wore my coat all through dinner. Not exactly the fun experience I was hoping for. It was really tight in the tummy/hips but loose up top. I'm short and this just looked not right on me. I feel like this type of design is better for taller girls. Disappointed, but I'd still try other dresses from this designer.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
July 21, 2014
First time renting from RTR, and loved it!
This dress was great! Perfect amount of coverage and some sexiness too. I did use a safety pin ofcourse to hold the front closed. I ordered a M and L because of previous reviews about it running small and being short, and I am pretty tall. However, the L would have been way too big! Also, it did run up a bit, but that would happen with any dress that form fits on the bottom. In all, I am glad I rented it, and it made me feel great :)
View photos (2)
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Age: 31
July 23, 2014
Sexy but tough to wear.
The dress has potential, but the small's skirt is a little stretched out. My belief was that it was supposed to be a snug fit in the skirt. With all the work that would need to be done taping the top to prevent exposure, the poor fit wasn't worth it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
July 25, 2014
Didn't get to wear it .. Too small
I'm not tiny by any means but I'm a size 12 and the large was wayyy too small.. Tight in the arms and all over.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
July 31, 2014
Cute, casual style. It was just unfortunately too small especially in the arms!
Runs small!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
July 31, 2014
Received lots of compliments!
Runs a little small but the stretch material made is comfortable! Needed to use double sided tape to close the v-neck some as it was a little too low for my liking. Overall, loved the dress!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 15, 2014
How terribly it fit!
This dress looks very little like the photo. The crisscross in front is not fitted as it appears. It flaps wide open and can't be worn appropriately without a layer underneath or something pinning it closed. I had to have another dress overnighted to me. Fortunately that one was perfect. RTR comes through again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 22, 2014
I got so many compliments on this dress!
The dress runs small. Order a size up, the front drapes low will need stick tape which I used and it worked very well!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 25, 2013
Great dress.
I didn't find the top too low cut, but it is quite short. If I ever rent this again I will go a size up for some extra length.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 62
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
June 2, 2014
Too short!
This dress barely covered my butt and I could not wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153lbs
August 18, 2014
Sexy yet conservative
I rented this dress for a birthday party. I wanted something a little sexy but not so much that I looked out of place. I rented the Medium (which is my normal size) and the Small. The top of this dress is almost like a wrap dress so it's very gaping. The bottom is gathered a little so it hides a lot. Everything on this dress has give except the waist so the small was a little hard to get over my head. Here's the breakdown. Small: fit really well on top. No fashion tape needed, no safety pins. I had planned to not wear a bra and the small would have been perfect because the top covered everything. However, when I walked the skirt rode up a lot. Medium: bottom didn't ride up as much when I walked (still did a bit) but the top was showing everything! I ended up safety pinning the top a bit so there was still cleavage but not a ton. And did end up wearing a bra. I figured I'd rather someone see my bra than an accidental nipple slip out! This wasn't my favorite dress I've rented but it was very comfortable and fitting for the occasion.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
August 29, 2014
I rented this dress for a friend's birthday party. Loved it!
The fit is a little small. I'm usually a medium, or size 8 (130 pounds, slim hips) and I wore the large. The top definitely needs a pin or fabric tape. Drapes way too low in front. Sexy, short. I'll rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 3, 2014
LBD for our Anniversary!
This dress was very slimming and comfortable! It was the perfect dress to wear with a pair of heels on a date to a wine tasting and dinner. My only complaint is that when I took it out of the bag that the fabric looked like it had deodorant stains and that happened if I rubbed up against anything throughout the night. It was nothing that you could not get rid of though by rubbing fabric over it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 16, 2014
I didn't love this dress, but it was fun to wear for a night. Not great for my body type.
This dress was ok. Definitely not my favorite rental. It looked fine with some fashion tape to close the open top (definitely necessary!), but I was pulling down the skirt part all night and it was a little too short for my comfort. The top was enormous on both sizes, which is why I didn't wear the size Medium instead of the Small. Probably not the best dress for someone like me with more of a pear shape.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 14, 2013
I didn't wear this dress.
This dress is figure hugging on the bottom and I felt it was too tight for the evening work event I rented it for. It would be ok for a night out or a date night but not a work event. It isn't as stretchy as you would think.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 23, 2014
Perfect dress for a bachelorette party!
This dress was the perfect choice for one of my good friend's bachelorette party! I ordered the dress in an xs and s, but ultimately decided on the xs because I am more petite on top and the s felt like it was hanging off of my shoulders with too much fabric under the arms. I would have given this dress 5 stars, but as many other ladies point out, it is completely open in the front unless you pin or fashion tape the dress. (I ended up using a safety pin to close it). However, it was nice to be able to control how low I wanted the dress, so some might see this open front as a perk. I felt completely comfortable through a night out dancing and did not have any problems with the skirt riding up. Got lots of compliments on the dress and the girls were so surprised to hear about RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 1, 2014
Didn't wear
Being my second time renting, I was excited for another wonderful experience, but unfortunately it didn't turn out that way. I immediately noticed the top half of the dress was a bit sheer and was relieved to see the skirt portion was lined and not at all see through. I tried on the small first. Once the dress was on, the sheerness of the top wasn't a problem. The bottom fit nicely, but the top was a struggle. The arms were a bit tight and the opening was too loose for my taste even after trying tape. I tried on the extra Small and the bottom was waaay too short but the top fit perfectly! I knew I would be taking a risk renting this dress after reading many of the reviews because I read it worked for some and not at all for others. Im part of the second group, but will rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 1, 2014
Didn't wear it it was way too small
I was pretty disappointed by this dress. I have a pretty small frame and usually wear an extra small. This dress runs extremely small. It was way too tight on my arms and I could barely get it over my hips. I didn't order the backup size lesson learned.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
October 16, 2014
I felt fun and sexy for a burlesque birthday!!
This is the dress to wear if you want to show off your legs! Super snug and comfy. If you are large busted I recommend you wear a tank top underneath or pin the front in someway otherwise it will be open for all the world to see. I used a bobby pin to keep it closed. I'm def renting this again!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
October 26, 2014
Love this dress!
This dress fit perfectly. It was very Flattering!! It fit in all the right places. I worn it in Vegas for a bachelorette party. I felt very sexy. You will need to pin it. The neck line plunges almost to your belly button. Sorry I didn't get any pictures! I can't believe it.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 27, 2014
Wore this out in the city for a friends birthday! Fit like a glove!
The fabric has no stretch, but once the dress is on it looked and felt great! The top was way more open than I thought it would be, but nothing a little fashion tape couldn't fix!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
October 27, 2014
dress was very cute!, but not for me.
Very short!.. You need safety pins to keep this beauty closed
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 29, 2014
sassy & comfortable
i rented this dress as a back up for my birthday dinner. i don't typically wear anything tight, but i really loved this dress. i felt comfortable in it all night (even after indulging in a 3 course meal)! the other reviews are right - the fabric is tight & the neckline is PLUNGING (they must have done some great tape work on the model)! i spent far too much time trying to safety pin the fabric together and the result was still a lot of cleavage & the inability to wear a bra. i highly recommend this dress if you're looking for something comfortable and sexy!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
November 4, 2014
Perfect dress to accentuate legs and still show class.
Awesome dress! Tight around hips and loose around chest/stomach. It will need fashion tape around chest area as it has no closure and completely exposed.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 6, 2014
Absolutely loved this dress!
The perfect little black dress. I wore it paired with stockings, thigh highs, and a tank underneath to make it appropriate for a family party but this dress could easily be a sexy date night or Vegas outfit. Fit was perfect and I only wish I could where it everyday!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 10, 2014
Perfect for a wedding!
Dress seemed to fit a little snug especially for those with a little bit of a booty. Sleeve are quite snug in the armpit region and make for an awkward fit. The front of this dress is completely open so unless that is the type of dress you are looking for be prepared to use either fashion tape or safety pins. Otherwise I found this dress to be quite comfortable and received a lot of compliments on it!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×