Slate & Willow

Alissa Dress

$30 rental
$370 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Go for chic simplicity in this draped mini by Slate & Willow. Eye catching and super flattering, this dress will get you noticed everywhere you go! Pair with kate spade new york accessories’ On the Town Earrings for easy going out glam.

Also available in blue.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS-L.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection with little to no give
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra. We recommend fashion tape to close deep V.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS-L.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection with little to no give
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra. We recommend fashion tape to close deep V.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black matte jersey (100% rayon). ¾ length sleeves. V-neckline. Faux wrap with ruched pencil skirt. Lined. 37.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

194 reviews

Fit
Small 71
True to Size 102
Large 4
Photos 69
Rachel
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Jun 6, 2014

Chic, simple and flattering in all the right places!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Overall the dress was true to size, however, the arms were a little on the tight side and same in the hips of the dress, if you have a more athletic figure it could be a tad scandalous on your lower half. I tried sizing up but ended swimming in the medium . The fabric was a title heavy for warmer weather but wasn't too bad.
ASG
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 7, 2014

Great LBD... Covering but sexy. Size up.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was great for a New Year's Eve house party. I needed fashion tap to keep the wrap top closed, but it allowed me to customize the "deepness" of the V-neck to make sure all was covered! The bottom half is very fitted so I went up to a medium since the small felt a bit too tight and short. I would definitely order again and wish I owned!
Ivett
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 11, 2014

Sexy

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The bottom is true to size and fits tighty - which makes it sexy. The top runs larger and I wasn't a fan of how the sleeves hung (big on the under arms but tight along the arm). I recommend this dress if you are confident going braless - that's when it looks best. It plunges lower than on the model but on a small bust it was okay. I wore this out to dinner with the ladies and worked really well.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 16, 2014

Loved this dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I loved the length! I wore it for a Valentine's Day and it was perfect. It may be too short for a formal occasion. I had to tape the top because of the way it fell, but I used the tape RTR provided and it was great!
Dolly3
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116 lbs
Jun 20, 2014

Cute dress but fashion tape is needed

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was not too short and not too long it was perfect. Needless to say what ruined it for me was the need for fashion tape. I couldn't find my fashion tape from my last RTR rental so I had to use a pin which did not work on this fabric because it kept folding out. Other than this malfunction, the dress was true to size. I didn't even bother to try the size small since the xs was my first choice and it fit like a glove.
Ryan
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 24, 2014

Sexy but was too tight!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I loved the dress but I just felt a little uncomfortable in it. It was too tight around my hips/upper leg area and the arms were really tight. Definitely need a bobby pin or fashion tape. I probably would've worn it and just suffered if I hadn't rented a BCBG romper as a back up :)
RTR Customer
Jun 28, 2014

I felt great in the dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress! I had to pin the top a little so that I didn't flash everyone my bra, but it fit well every where else. I paired it with nude heels, and a silver Kate spade necklace. I would rent this dress again for a special event!
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 12, 2014

The comfort and design

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Highlights the bust and rear while hiding a tummy. Very comfortable dress.
Jackie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jul 17, 2014

Expensive material, but didn't quite fit right

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was excited to wear this out for a graduation dinner with my family. However, even with fashion tape, the bust kept coming undone, and it dips LOW. I eventually had to duct tape it, but that didn't look good, so I wore my coat all through dinner. Not exactly the fun experience I was hoping for. It was really tight in the tummy/hips but loose up top. I'm short and this just looked not right on me. I feel like this type of design is better for taller girls. Disappointed, but I'd still try other dresses from this designer.
Dimay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 21, 2014

I wore this for a bachelorette party! Fit like pictured.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Wish there was a little more stretch in the material. Also I had to use a safety pin to keep the front from opening up.
Hannah
Age: 28
Jul 23, 2014

Sexy but tough to wear.

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress has potential, but the small's skirt is a little stretched out. My belief was that it was supposed to be a snug fit in the skirt. With all the work that would need to be done taping the top to prevent exposure, the poor fit wasn't worth it.
am
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Jul 25, 2014

Didn't get to wear it .. Too small

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I'm not tiny by any means but I'm a size 12 and the large was wayyy too small.. Tight in the arms and all over.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 31, 2014

Cute, casual style. It was just unfortunately too small especially in the arms!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Runs small!
Devin
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 31, 2014

Received lots of compliments!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Runs a little small but the stretch material made is comfortable! Needed to use double sided tape to close the v-neck some as it was a little too low for my liking. Overall, loved the dress!!
Paige
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 26, 2014

Perfect dress. So cute, sexy, and sophisticated.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It has a wide open v in the front, so you may need to pin or tape. But it such a cute dress. I wish I owned it! I wore to a bachelorette party in new york and it was perfect. Got tons of compliments. Perfect mix of sexy and classy. I would definitely wear again.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 29, 2014

I rented this dress for a friend's birthday party. Loved it!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The fit is a little small. I'm usually a medium, or size 8 (130 pounds, slim hips) and I wore the large. The top definitely needs a pin or fabric tape. Drapes way too low in front. Sexy, short. I'll rent again.
Colleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 3, 2014

LBD for our Anniversary!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress was very slimming and comfortable! It was the perfect dress to wear with a pair of heels on a date to a wine tasting and dinner. My only complaint is that when I took it out of the bag that the fabric looked like it had deodorant stains and that happened if I rubbed up against anything throughout the night. It was nothing that you could not get rid of though by rubbing fabric over it.
Danielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 15, 2014

How terribly it fit!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress looks very little like the photo. The crisscross in front is not fitted as it appears. It flaps wide open and can't be worn appropriately without a layer underneath or something pinning it closed. I had to have another dress overnighted to me. Fortunately that one was perfect. RTR comes through again!
lmb
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 1, 2014

Didn't wear

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Being my second time renting, I was excited for another wonderful experience, but unfortunately it didn't turn out that way. I immediately noticed the top half of the dress was a bit sheer and was relieved to see the skirt portion was lined and not at all see through. I tried on the small first. Once the dress was on, the sheerness of the top wasn't a problem. The bottom fit nicely, but the top was a struggle. The arms were a bit tight and the opening was too loose for my taste even after trying tape. I tried on the extra Small and the bottom was waaay too short but the top fit perfectly! I knew I would be taking a risk renting this dress after reading many of the reviews because I read it worked for some and not at all for others. Im part of the second group, but will rent again.
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 1, 2014

Didn't wear it it was way too small

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I was pretty disappointed by this dress. I have a pretty small frame and usually wear an extra small. This dress runs extremely small. It was way too tight on my arms and I could barely get it over my hips. I didn't order the backup size lesson learned.
MO
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Oct 8, 2014

Great find for a sexy date night!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I didn't receive tape like the other girls mentioned so the bosom exposure was an issue. It was still a nice dress though. Not too dressy.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 20, 2014

Too Small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Normally always wear a medium but in this case I could hardly get it on.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147 lbs
Oct 26, 2014

Love this dress!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
This dress fit perfectly. It was very Flattering!! It fit in all the right places. I worn it in Vegas for a bachelorette party. I felt very sexy. You will need to pin it. The neck line plunges almost to your belly button. Sorry I didn't get any pictures! I can't believe it.
Mia
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Oct 27, 2014

Wore this out in the city for a friends birthday! Fit like a glove!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The fabric has no stretch, but once the dress is on it looked and felt great! The top was way more open than I thought it would be, but nothing a little fashion tape couldn't fix!
Adrianna
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127 lbs
Oct 27, 2014

dress was very cute!, but not for me.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very short!.. You need safety pins to keep this beauty closed
XX
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 29, 2014

sassy & comfortable

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
i rented this dress as a back up for my birthday dinner. i don't typically wear anything tight, but i really loved this dress. i felt comfortable in it all night (even after indulging in a 3 course meal)! the other reviews are right - the fabric is tight & the neckline is PLUNGING (they must have done some great tape work on the model)! i spent far too much time trying to safety pin the fabric together and the result was still a lot of cleavage & the inability to wear a bra. i highly recommend this dress if you're looking for something comfortable and sexy!
Christin
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 4, 2014

Perfect dress to accentuate legs and still show class.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Awesome dress! Tight around hips and loose around chest/stomach. It will need fashion tape around chest area as it has no closure and completely exposed.
Carly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Nov 10, 2014

Definitely use fashion tap!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my friend's birthday party at a trendy restaurant. I dressed it up with a bold necklace and gold shoes. The Medium was a bit tight on the bottom (I ended up wearing it with tights since I am tall) but the Large was too big for me on the top, so I wore the Medium. I am usually wear a Medium (or small) but ordered the large as a back up since other reviews said the sleeves were tight. Fortunately I had fashion tape on hand from a previous rental, because I definitely needed it to close up the top. I was happy with the dress for this occasion, but was not in love with it.
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128 lbs
Nov 17, 2014

Fashion tape a must!!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I didn't end up wearing this dress. Tried it on - it was cute, but not appropriate for my event. The front is completely open. Make sure you have fashion tape if you rent this one!
sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 19, 2014

Sexy dress

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was great cause it was easily dressed up with a nice pair of heels and necklace but wasn't over the top. I loved the contrast of the tight bottom and loose top but i did need fashion tape for the top! Other than that it was super comfortable and I felt great in it!
Ali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Nov 27, 2014

Felt very skinny in this LBD!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Like most other reviews, a little big on top but managable with a pin.
AHM
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95 lbs
Dec 4, 2014

Not for someone 4'11"!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I'm 4'11" and this dress looked very odd on me. The skirt portion of the dress was very snug and fit well (minus the weird ruching that isn't visible in the model photo). The top was insanely huge and not proportionate in fit at ALL to the bottom... I think I am too short for the dolman style the torso had. The front is WAY open (the model picture is very untrue to this part of the dress) - it was so open that you could see down to my abdomen - major need for pins or double sided tape! The dress was made of a good, thick, forgiving fabric, which was nice. Even on me though, with my short stature, the dress was pretty short - it came right below the middle of my thigh.
Tracey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D+
Dec 7, 2014

A lot of work to keep it together

Size worn: L
Rented for: Party
I felt like it was tight in the arms. The dress was snug in the skirt but my major issue was keeping the wrap from exposing my chest all night. I had two pieces of fashion tape on each boob and still felt like I needed two safety pins to keep it all together. I got a lot of compliments yet I was in the ladies room checking and readjusting more than I wanted to.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 9, 2014

Didn't work for me

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
The dress is very flattering, but for some reason the 2 was too large in the skirt and the 0 was too small in the sleeves.
Cassie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 12, 2014

Short Short Short

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I am 5'2, and wore the small. The fabric is thick, but the top seems like it was made for somebody with a long torso, but the skirt is suuuper short. I thought I was going to have a wardrobe malfunction, and I'm on the shorter side. I also wore a black cami, per previous reviews, and that worked out well. All in all, great material, just a bit short.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 13, 2014

Good for a night out

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I didn't end up wearing this dress. I ordered a small and medium, but only received the small due to an issue with the medium dress. RTR was great in this situation and sent me a back-up overnight! The small was cute and it fit, but it just fit. I could have worn it, but I wasn't entirely comfortable in it. The dress was short with a tendency to ride up and a little tighter in the booty department than I would prefer. It was also a little tight in the shoulders, but I attribute that to my broad shoulders... I'm sure the medium would've been perfect! Cute dress for a night out. Fashion tape is a must.
RTR Customer
Dec 14, 2014

Convenient and app was very easy to use!! Will definitely be renting again

Size worn: L
Rented for: Party
Dress was perfect for the occasion! Got a lot of compliments! The dress fit a little tight in the arms and didn't have a lot of give. I would wear it again though!
Alex
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Dec 17, 2014

Couldn't even wear

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress gapes open in the front to the point that it is unwearable without some sort of tank top. Not even fashion tape can fix this. Also, it's low quality material so it is 100% not appropriate for a cocktail party or anything approaching a more formal event. The stitching in the shoulders is incredibly uncomfortable- it is scratchy and has a thick, irritating seam.
Renee
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Dec 17, 2014

Loved the fit and style. Fun dress to wear

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Rented a medium but was not available do to the return being damaged. I wore the back up (size large). It was a little big on the top but was able to work with it with fashion tape. Medium would have fit perfect. Would went again.
Christine
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 18, 2014

Wore for holiday party

Size worn: S
Rented for: Party
Makes your legs look very sexy. Was slightly bloated when I wore this so tummy was sticking out a little - this dress covered that up. I did need to pin the v on the front of the dress so my girls weren't popping out. My body type is petite, slight apple / slight narrow, short torso, long legs so this is a great lil black dress if you have the same body type.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×