Alissa Dress

$73 to buy
$370 value
Stylist Notes

Go for chic simplicity in this draped mini by Slate & Willow. Eye catching and super flattering, this dress will get you noticed everywhere you go!

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS-L.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection with little to no give
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra. We recommend fashion tape to close deep V.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS-L.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection with little to no give
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra. We recommend fashion tape to close deep V.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black matte jersey (100% rayon). ¾ length sleeves. V-neckline. Faux wrap with ruched pencil skirt. Lined. 37.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
268 reviews
Fit
Large
(5)
True to Size
(135)
Small
(86)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 12, 2015
This dress made me feel comfortable and put together.
I was a bit surprised how the dress fit on the small side. It was the perfect choice for a small and intimate Valentine's Day wedding and the transition to a casual dinner after. I taped the bust so my girls stayed put without having to adjust all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 12, 2015
Perfect date night dress!
I rented this dress for a date night to celebrate my birthday. We went to a new trendy restaurant and I felt amazing. I rented the small and medium and the small fit perfectly. It was sexy enough where I felt good, but I didn't feel overexposed. I used fashion tape to adjust the front to where j felt most comfortable and I was good to go. The dress was comfortable to wear and I would definitely recommend. On a side note...I have to give a shout out to RTR customer service. My original rental was delayed by UPS and would not have made it in time. I called customer service and they were willing to overnight me any dress available. Luckily, my original choice was still available, so I was good to go. Thanks RTR for being amazing like always!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 2, 2015
Nice dress, not what I was looking for
The for of this dress was a bit too "clubby" for me. I'm bigger on the bottom and it was very tight which wasn't really the look I was going for, even after sizing up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
March 1, 2015
Sexy but fashion is a must
I rented this dress to wear for my birthday dinner with my husband. The dress is very short and the front is completely open. You must wear fashion tape with this dress. This picture may not show how short the dress is, but it's very short. The dress is pretty but I wouldn't rent it again. I had to adjust the front all night to ensure that it wasn't too revealing. The necklace is also rented. It's stunning in person but it kept folding in and wouldn't lay flat on my chest. However, the overall RTR experience was amazing as always.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 25, 2015
Perfect for NYE
I loved this dress. It was perfectly sexy without being over the top. I did have to use a safety pin to keep the front together, but that was no big deal. Would definitely recommend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 25, 2015
Beautiful, sexy dress - perfect for night in Vegas!
I rented this dress for a night out in Vegas. I got tons of compliments and my husband said it was one of the sexiest dresses I'd ever worn. It was very flattering and comfortable to wear as well. Wish I owned it! Other reviewers were right in that it is very low cut and somewhat large on top. I used A LOT of fashion tape and wore a very low-cut bra. If you wanted to make it more modest, you could always wear a tank underneath; oh ever, fashion tape may still be necessary to keep the top where you want it. One thing to note is that this dress is VERY short. (I'm 5'7").
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 158lbs
February 24, 2015
Sexy dress
I have a full bust and the top didn't open at all for me. It just sat there. Based on the other reviews, I was worried it would gape open. Didn't even need the double sided tape. I was glad it wasn't too revealing on top for me, because it was short...definitely shows a lot of leg. If you want the top baggier and have a full bust, I'd recommend you go up a size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 22, 2015
It was my birthday! Had an amazing time and this dress looked amazing
Perfect fit, true to size and super slimming and flattering
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 21, 2015
New Years Eve
Dress fit great! It does open at the bust very easily though so if you need to be conservative, make sure you have some tape!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 17, 2015
Just enough sexy!
I wore this in Vegas for a Valentine's dinner with my husband. This dress was perfect! It fit beautifully, and you can select how much cleavage you want to show by pinning up the front. I am on the shorter side so I didn't need to worry about the length, it stopped a few inches above my knee, and it didn't ride up the whole night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
February 15, 2015
This dress is a knock out, but unfortunately it runs super small and short.
I am only 5'6", run anywhere from 127- 130 lbs, and typically wear a size 4. Right now I am probably about 132 lbs since I let Christmas get the better of me, which to be fair, may very well bump me up to a size 6. I'm also an apple shape so that never helps. LOL. That being said, even the medium (which I believe is supposed to be a size 6-8?) did not fit me. It just felt tight everywhere, and it was pretty short as well. Too bad because I really dug this dress and would have loved to wear it. Wish I would have gotten a large but I did not think it would be necessary.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Date
February 14, 2015
Cute on the butt :)
Loved the dress, very flattering from all angles. Fit well, comfortable, except for somewhat tight sleeves, but that wouldn't keep me from wearing it. I actually didn't end up wearing the dress for my event because it was ridiculously cold that evening, so I chose something with long selves and more warmth. However, had the weather been warmer, and the event been conducive to a short, sexy LBD, I would have worn it. Felt very cute/sexy in it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
February 14, 2015
Very easy and excellent customer service
Runs short
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 7, 2015
Fun and sexy - easy to dance in.
I wore this dress for a night out dancing in San Francisco in January. It was nice to have the long sleeves in the cold! I ordered a size small with a medium for back up. I found that the skirt on the small was a little shorter than I would have preferred, but the top on the medium was way too open, so I went with the small. RTR was kind enough to include some fashion tape, which is an absolute must with this dress! The thing I liked most about this dress is that, with the help of the tape, I could choose how low cut the top was, and I never felt in danger of a malfunction. The sleeves were a little tight at the shoulder/armpit, as other reviewers mentioned, but I didn't find it to be uncomfortable. In fact, this dress was very easy to dance in and lots of fun to wear!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
January 25, 2015
sexy and fun dress, but fashion tape a must
Definitely snug in the lower arms and hips. No give in the arms, but fabric around hips does stretch. Super plunging and loose neckline. You will need fashion tape unless you are okay with the world viewing the entirety of your boob and stomach area. I taped it low to show a little cleavage but not feel naked. Wore tights and boots as it is January and I was walking outside a good bit, but dress would look great with a colored heel.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 15, 2015
Perfect
Fashion tape is a must, but got lots of compliments on simplicity and cut of dress. Arm sleeves are a little tight if you have an athletic body, but still works. Order size you think would fit as well as size up because it may be tight. Overall, great dress and would love to own it
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 7, 2015
Effortless! Accessories will make it your own! The perfect LBD!
The dress came just in time! I overnighted it for a New Years Eve Party. I put the dress on and it fit wonderfully, with the exception of the fully open top! Like I mean, COMPLETELY open. Fashion tapes or pins are 100% necessary when wearing this dress, regardless of your size. However, you just get the freedom to pin the dress, wherever you like and make it your own....whatever is comfortable for you. Also, I did love that it was simple, so I was able to use accessories much more than I normally would, with a huge statement necklace, earrings and silver heels. I may not have had the sequin dress I wanted, but I surely created the sparkle!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 6, 2015
Cute dress for a night out on the town, but I had to be creative.
This dress fit pretty tight on the hips. The front of the top is also completely open with no closure. I couldn't wear it without pinning it. Instead, I wore it backwards with a chunky necklace and it actually turned out pretty cute.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 162lbs
January 4, 2015
very flattering, va va voom dress
Sleeves and skirt part are very tight, top is loose fitting. I used the reveal bra and it worked great with this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 2, 2015
Great NYE dress
I think this dress looks better without tights, but it was so cold out, I had no choice. You definitely need tape to keep dress in place, the dress is super low cut! Wore to a NYE event at my parent's country club and it was comfortable to dance and move around it. Random tip, don't wear self-tanners with this dress! It seeps through the fabric and I was constantly checking/cleaning it, which has never happened to me before. Overall, I was very happy with the fit/style of this rental!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 31, 2014
A little too "Sexy" for a night out
I rented this dress to wear for girls night out in Boston, but when I put it on I realized it was just a little too sexy for a night out. This dress would be great for a bachelorette party or a weekend in Las Vegas. I will keep it on my list of dresses to order for such occasions in the future. I exchanged the dress for a different one and customer service made it so easy. I had the other dress in time to wear it out the following evening!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
December 31, 2014
Runs Extremely Small
I usually wear a 10-12 for dresses and I could barely pull it over my body. Once it was on, it was extremely short to the point it didn't even cover my back end. It was extremely too small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 30, 2014
Sexy dress
Great fit and very forgiving. I pinned the front a little and still looked very sexy and flattering.
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 28, 2014
Open neckline but very flattering and comfy!
It was perfect for the occasion and fun to dress up a bit with gold necklaces in the plunging neckline. You will need tape to keep it in place!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90lbs
December 22, 2014
Flawlessly sexy on a moments notice
Rented this as a backup and after loving and wearing my first choice dress on a Friday night, didn't expect to need this one even thought it was very cute. Saturday I found out I needed to be ready to go to a nice bar for a birthday with about 15 seconds to get ready. I tossed on this dress, pinned the top closed and even though my hair was dirty and I had no time to touch up makeup I applied in the am, I looked and felt amazing in this dress. So sexy with zero effort. Absolutely made the night for me!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
December 21, 2014
Runs small which made it a big unforgiving on the stomach and waistline. Tight on the arms.
Runs small which made it a big unforgiving on the stomach and waistline. Tight on the arms. Didn't wear this dress and wouldn't rent again. Front hung extremely low so my bra was showing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
December 19, 2014
Wasn't the dress for me
Based on the reviews I ordered a large even though I'm usually a 6-8/Medium, but it was still snug in the bottom. Also the split top is all the way to the belly button, just as another reviewer said so you have to pin or tape it. I just wasn't happy with the way it draped after trying to pin a couple of times. Fabric is nice, sleeves were snug. The length was a tad too short- just under my bum. Too bad - I love a dress with sleeves!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 18, 2014
Wore for holiday party
Makes your legs look very sexy. Was slightly bloated when I wore this so tummy was sticking out a little - this dress covered that up. I did need to pin the v on the front of the dress so my girls weren't popping out. My body type is petite, slight apple / slight narrow, short torso, long legs so this is a great lil black dress if you have the same body type.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
December 17, 2014
Loved the fit and style. Fun dress to wear
Rented a medium but was not available do to the return being damaged. I wore the back up (size large). It was a little big on the top but was able to work with it with fashion tape. Medium would have fit perfect. Would went again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
December 17, 2014
Couldn't even wear
The dress gapes open in the front to the point that it is unwearable without some sort of tank top. Not even fashion tape can fix this. Also, it's low quality material so it is 100% not appropriate for a cocktail party or anything approaching a more formal event. The stitching in the shoulders is incredibly uncomfortable- it is scratchy and has a thick, irritating seam.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
December 16, 2014
Flattering, comfortable & sexy
This was the perfect dress for my birthday party. It was warm enough for a cold evening but not too warm for dancing after dinner. The ruching on the bottom made it form fitting and flattering. The material was just the right weight, which added a slight structured feel. I pinned it on the higher side (the natural neckline goes to just above your belly button!), and paired it with a fun necklace (also rented). I wore black tights and pumps. I've rented this dress twice. It's definitely a go to for many occasions.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
December 14, 2014
Convenient and app was very easy to use!! Will definitely be renting again
Dress was perfect for the occasion! Got a lot of compliments! The dress fit a little tight in the arms and didn't have a lot of give. I would wear it again though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 13, 2014
Good for a night out
I didn't end up wearing this dress. I ordered a small and medium, but only received the small due to an issue with the medium dress. RTR was great in this situation and sent me a back-up overnight! The small was cute and it fit, but it just fit. I could have worn it, but I wasn't entirely comfortable in it. The dress was short with a tendency to ride up and a little tighter in the booty department than I would prefer. It was also a little tight in the shoulders, but I attribute that to my broad shoulders... I'm sure the medium would've been perfect! Cute dress for a night out. Fashion tape is a must.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 12, 2014
Short Short Short
I am 5'2, and wore the small. The fabric is thick, but the top seems like it was made for somebody with a long torso, but the skirt is suuuper short. I thought I was going to have a wardrobe malfunction, and I'm on the shorter side. I also wore a black cami, per previous reviews, and that worked out well. All in all, great material, just a bit short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 9, 2014
Didn't work for me
The dress is very flattering, but for some reason the 2 was too large in the skirt and the 0 was too small in the sleeves.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D+
December 7, 2014
A lot of work to keep it together
I felt like it was tight in the arms. The dress was snug in the skirt but my major issue was keeping the wrap from exposing my chest all night. I had two pieces of fashion tape on each boob and still felt like I needed two safety pins to keep it all together. I got a lot of compliments yet I was in the ladies room checking and readjusting more than I wanted to.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 4, 2014
Not for me
Very tight in the arms and very large in the bust. I could have made it work with fashion tape, but ultimately decided to return the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90lbs
December 4, 2014
Not for someone 4'11"!
I'm 4'11" and this dress looked very odd on me. The skirt portion of the dress was very snug and fit well (minus the weird ruching that isn't visible in the model photo). The top was insanely huge and not proportionate in fit at ALL to the bottom... I think I am too short for the dolman style the torso had. The front is WAY open (the model picture is very untrue to this part of the dress) - it was so open that you could see down to my abdomen - major need for pins or double sided tape! The dress was made of a good, thick, forgiving fabric, which was nice. Even on me though, with my short stature, the dress was pretty short - it came right below the middle of my thigh.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
November 27, 2014
Felt very skinny in this LBD!
Like most other reviews, a little big on top but managable with a pin.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
November 19, 2014
Sexy dress
This dress was great cause it was easily dressed up with a nice pair of heels and necklace but wasn't over the top. I loved the contrast of the tight bottom and loose top but i did need fashion tape for the top! Other than that it was super comfortable and I felt great in it!
See more reviews:
3 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×