Slate & Willow

Alissa Dress

$30 rental
$370 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Go for chic simplicity in this draped mini by Slate & Willow. Eye catching and super flattering, this dress will get you noticed everywhere you go! Pair with kate spade new york accessories’ On the Town Earrings for easy going out glam.

Also available in blue.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS-L.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection with little to no give
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra. We recommend fashion tape to close deep V.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS-L.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection with little to no give
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra. We recommend fashion tape to close deep V.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black matte jersey (100% rayon). ¾ length sleeves. V-neckline. Faux wrap with ruched pencil skirt. Lined. 37.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

195 reviews

Fit
Small 72
True to Size 102
Large 4
Photos 70
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 10, 2013

Sexy, fun dress for a night out!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved the idea of this dress but the top part (neckline) is not sewn together so it's completely open! Fashion tape or safety pins are a must! Other than that, I loved it. It's sexy but not too short and I'm very picky about the length of dresses. I wore this to Rent the Runway's Capstone Weekend Girl's Night Out event and it was perfect! Great going out dress.
Donna
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147 lbs
Apr 27, 2013

Very Sexy.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Had to wear fashion tape and spanks (thong version b/c of length). It was fun for a night out with the girls!
chloe
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
May 15, 2013

This was my first time using RTR and I thought it was a great idea and extremely easy.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to my best friend's engagement party and got a lot of compliments. However, it is VERY short! I'm usually a medium but tried the large on first and when I saw how short it was I didn't even try the medium. I've never needed to use fashion tape because I have big boobs that fill out any dress but this neckline is very open. Tape is a must! Top is baggy and bottom is tight, but it rouches on the side of the hip so is very flattering through the waist. I wore it with black wedges and a statement necklace and it worked, but I would not wear it again just because of the length.
Sam
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 23, 2013

Perfect LBD! Comfortable and fit like a glove!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was perfect. I recommend getting the double sided tape because the top of the dress is not connected but the tape held my dress in place the entire night. I wore this dress to a wedding and even with all the dancing I never had to worry about the dress.
Lindsay
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 15, 2013

Sexy, but not as stretchy as I would have liked. Tough to get in to.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
The dress is nice looking, but it's very tight. I made quite the scene trying to get into the small, but since there is absolutely no stretch (and no zipper), I couldn't get it over my hips. Luckily the medium fit, but not comfortably (surprisingly tight in the arms). And double-sided tape is a must.
sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 8, 2013

Pretty and simple dress. Lots of compliments!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I received a lot of compliments on this dress. It is very simple and easy to make it your own with jewelry. It was a little snug to get on at first but once over my hips, it fit like a glove. The S would have been way too big. The neck line is very low and you do need fashion tape to keep it in place but depending on your occasion, you can choose how low you want it to be! Overall a good dress.
Julianna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 19, 2013

Sexy and comfortable!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a birthday party in Atlantic City. I am OBSESSED with this dress, I want to own it! The fit was great, very tight but flattering on the bottom and loose enough on the top. All the reviews I read said fashion tape would be needed however I am a size 34 D and wore a slightly padded push up bra and did not need fashion tape for the top. I wore tights so it was not an issue for me but the dress is on the shorter side so I can see where some people might be a little uncomfortable. Over this dress was a huge success!!
Ally
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 21, 2013

Great change of pace from what I usually wear

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
PROS: The quality of this dress is really great. It's a heavy fabric with little stretch. It was different from what I typically wear to weddings, so I felt really sexy and fun. People complimented me all night on the dress and my boyfriend loved it. I actually really liked how low this dress is cut in the front. It's much lower than on the model. You could get a away with wearing any kind of bra, if you have fashion tape. I didn't, so I just went without. CONS: RTR didn't include fashion tape, which I was expecting because of what I read on other reviews, so I had to constantly check to make sure I wasn't falling out. That was kind of a bummer. It's also VERY short. I'm only 5'3 (on a tall day) and found it hard to sit and bend over. I probably wouldn't have worn this dress without tights. In the end though, the pros outweighed the cons and I still loved wearing this dress. I would recommend it, but be prepared for it to be quite short AND how off your chest. (would be really fun in Las Vegas!)
Kelly B.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 143 lbs
Nov 28, 2013

Gorgeous dress

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress and was complimented all night on it. I loved the dress. I have a really interesting shape- I'm a 36d, size 4-6 on bottom and have extremely wide hips. Some dresses look awful, but this was perfect. It is a little short and the top had a tendency to open up a bit but that was quickly fixed with an adjustment to the top. Overall loved the dress. You won't be disappointed.
Zara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Dec 12, 2013

All eyes on me!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for a night out on the town with my friends. This is a very "look at me" dress. Pros: slinky, stretchy material, beautiful cut. Cons: Skirt is pretty short and not big enough for someone with a bigger rear. To sum it up: the top was a little big, but the bottom was a snug. I still looked great, though! :)
Christie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Body type: Straight & narrow
Dec 21, 2013

Loved this dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was comfortable and very flattering. I would definitely rent it again.
Nina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 25, 2013

Great dress.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I didn't find the top too low cut, but it is quite short. If I ever rent this again I will go a size up for some extra length.
Jaclyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136 lbs
Dec 28, 2013

Great dress - super flattering and comfortable.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Body hugging from the waist down, hangs nicely on top. MUST have double sided tape to keep the deep V closed. I used the tape fabric to fabric and it held tight throughout the night and dancing.
Miriam
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jan 2, 2014

Super sexy!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress as a backup for New Year's Eve and didn't get the chance to wear it. But I did love the design and fit and will definitely keep it in mind for future occasions. My only hesitation with this dress is that it's very revealing in the bust area so I would not recommend it for large chested women who are planning on attending a dance party.
Alison
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 3, 2014

New Year's Eve was a blast!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I was a little disappointed because RTR didn't include double sided tape or anything -- and the neckline for this dress really needs it! I ended up buying some of my own. It's a little short, but thats the way I wanted it for NYE. Its a cute dress, overall, but taller girls should be aware that this is not appropriate for any sort of formal affair. :)
Meghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 6, 2014

Sexy look for NYE!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I could have easily worn the medium since the dress has plenty of stretch, but the large was slightly more comfortable. Since it was new years' eve I opted to let it be very low cut and went with pasties. I'm not overly busty so it worked fine for me. I'll agree with other ladies that have worn the dress: Plan to have fashion tape for sure!
Melinda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 9, 2014

Love this dress. Felt comfortable and confident. Versatile and fits with any dress code.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The reviews were right; it runs small. With the fitted waist and no zipper, I would recommend sizing up. The small fit, but it was difficult to get on and off. Also, make sure you have a safety pin to tame the billowy top.
Marian
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Jan 22, 2014

Great dress for NYE

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I was very close to returning this dress because the top part of the dress was just open. But I scrounged up some double sided tape and with a few carefully placed pieces I was good to go. I'm usually a medium but the bottom of the dress was pretty tight, but once on it didn't give me any issues. I have no idea how it would hold up on the dance floor but I could tell you it was warm enough for a very cold Wisconsin New Year's Eve! It's a simple black dress that you can have fun with on the accessories part. Yes, I would recommend renting but beware of the open top!!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Feb 21, 2014

Perfect dress to celebrate a night out for my Birthday!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Fit like a glove and wish I could have kept it! Probably would have been fine without fashion tape but RTR provided some so I used it just to be safe. I felt like it was really flattering and so comfortable to wear! I would definitely recommend this for a night out on the town!
Anthea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Mar 9, 2014

Worn for my birthday; it was the perfect amount of sexy.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit is tighter than I was expecting. I am a climber, so my forearms, arms, and shoulders are pretty sculpted. But never the less, it was really comfortable. I tried to wear a stick on bra from VS with it, but it didn't look nearly as sexy, so I just wore fashion tape instead. I would strongly recommend getting a pin and pinning the insides from revealing everything though, because this dress could easily be worn very Jersey Shore-like. I love the way that it hugs your hips and sits on your shoulders though. I was very comfortable, received compliments from all of my friends, and my man couldn't keep his hands off of me throughout the night. Five stars for sure.
RTR Customer
Mar 17, 2014

Awesome experience. First time using and it was perfect!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The v in the front is very deep and fell open I did need to use double sided tape. Other than that...great!!!!
Ruby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 112 lbs
Mar 17, 2014

Very cute, but you WILL need fashion tape! (And a lot of patience.)

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I initially ordered an XS and no back up, thinking I for sure didn't need one. I'm such a dope!!! This dress runs quite small, and is not nearly as stretchy as I expected. Luckily RTRs amazing customer service saved the day, and sent me a S in time for the wedding! Pros: The three quarter sleeve keep me warm, which was great. With enough fashion tape it was actually a very nice, relatively conservative dress. Cons: I constantly felt one wrong move away from a massive wardrobe malfunction. Anything active (such as dancing) would have been out of the question! Made me feel rather on edge and distracted, which took away from the evening. Also, makeup and deodorant (and what must have been dead skin cells) rubbed off on the material like nobodies business. To sum it up, I probably would have enjoyed this dress more had I been wearing it to a different event. But since I wore it to a wedding that involved much of my boyfriends rather conservative extended family it wasn't my favorite.
Tb
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 3, 2014

This is my second experience and I just love how easy it is.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore the small but would have liked to have worn the med for the length and more comfort but the small fit best on top. I used fashion tape to hold the top in place and it stayed all night. Great going out dress.
Mariangel
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Apr 12, 2014

This was my first dress rental and though the dress ran small, I loved it, sexy without being trashy

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
On top the dress fits fine, it low cut but that can be fixed with some fashion tape. It's cinched around the waste which makes it a bit tight, but it's very forgiving and comfy. Very fun!
Nikki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 15, 2014

We had so much fun with Rocky at the Las Vegas showroom picking dresses out for Hakkasan!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress fit beautifully and hugged all my curves. It looked much better on than on the hanger. The only downfall was that it needed major boob tape to not fall out.
RTR Customer
Dec 28, 2014

Open neckline but very flattering and comfy!

Size worn: M
Rented for: Wedding
It was perfect for the occasion and fun to dress up a bit with gold necklaces in the plunging neckline. You will need tape to keep it in place!
BD
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 30, 2014

Sexy dress

Size worn: S
Rented for: Date
Great fit and very forgiving. I pinned the front a little and still looked very sexy and flattering.
Nicky
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 31, 2014

Runs Extremely Small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I usually wear a 10-12 for dresses and I could barely pull it over my body. Once it was on, it was extremely short to the point it didn't even cover my back end. It was extremely too small.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 31, 2014

A little too "Sexy" for a night out

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I rented this dress to wear for girls night out in Boston, but when I put it on I realized it was just a little too sexy for a night out. This dress would be great for a bachelorette party or a weekend in Las Vegas. I will keep it on my list of dresses to order for such occasions in the future. I exchanged the dress for a different one and customer service made it so easy. I had the other dress in time to wear it out the following evening!
KB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 6, 2015

Cute dress for a night out on the town, but I had to be creative.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress fit pretty tight on the hips. The front of the top is also completely open with no closure. I couldn't wear it without pinning it. Instead, I wore it backwards with a chunky necklace and it actually turned out pretty cute.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 15, 2015

This dress is a knock out, but unfortunately it runs super small and short.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I am only 5'6", run anywhere from 127- 130 lbs, and typically wear a size 4. Right now I am probably about 132 lbs since I let Christmas get the better of me, which to be fair, may very well bump me up to a size 6. I'm also an apple shape so that never helps. LOL. That being said, even the medium (which I believe is supposed to be a size 6-8?) did not fit me. It just felt tight everywhere, and it was pretty short as well. Too bad because I really dug this dress and would have loved to wear it. Wish I would have gotten a large but I did not think it would be necessary.
Morgan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129 lbs
Feb 21, 2015

New Years Eve

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
Dress fit great! It does open at the bust very easily though so if you need to be conservative, make sure you have some tape!
Kimberly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 22, 2015

It was my birthday! Had an amazing time and this dress looked amazing

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Perfect fit, true to size and super slimming and flattering
michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 158 lbs
Feb 24, 2015

Sexy dress

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I have a full bust and the top didn't open at all for me. It just sat there. Based on the other reviews, I was worried it would gape open. Didn't even need the double sided tape. I was glad it wasn't too revealing on top for me, because it was short...definitely shows a lot of leg. If you want the top baggier and have a full bust, I'd recommend you go up a size.
Mairin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 25, 2015

Perfect for NYE

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress. It was perfectly sexy without being over the top. I did have to use a safety pin to keep the front together, but that was no big deal. Would definitely recommend.
brittany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 2, 2015

Nice dress, not what I was looking for

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Party
The for of this dress was a bit too "clubby" for me. I'm bigger on the bottom and it was very tight which wasn't really the look I was going for, even after sizing up.
mary rose
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158 lbs
Mar 18, 2015

N/A

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
It was so so short. I'm only 5'3" and I couldn't wear it. I have a very large chest (32H- no size option for that on RtR) and the top was ok- but definitely in need of a safety pin or fashion tape. It was too short to wear out of the house (I couldn't even bend over) so I returned it without wearing it out. Would work for more athletic figures, for us girls with even the slightest of a curvy bottom, it will be too short.
Sam
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Mar 22, 2015

Loved the dress but it runs small, and with a larger chest it difficult to position the top right

Size worn: L
Rented for: Other
It runs small, I wish it fit better, I would have worn it out, but my cleavage would have been really out there, not to mention it's shorter then I thought
Megan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 7, 2015

great for event like birthday party, but flashy so need fashion tape

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great dress that I felt awesome wearing for my birthday party but it was a little too open without fashion tape/safety pins.
Tiffany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 127 lbs
Apr 7, 2015

Didn't fit

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I rented sizes M and L in this dress, and did not wear either. I was between a sizes 6 and 8 (maybe closer to a size 8) when I rented it, but the L was way too big, and the M did not fit right on my hips. I am kind of an apple, so dresses that come in at the hips like this one often don't fit me right. The arms on the M were a good fit, but I think I would need to be taller and smaller in the tummy area to properly fit this dress.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×