Slate & Willow

Alissa Dress

$73 to buy
$370 value
Stylist Notes

Go for chic simplicity in this draped mini by Slate & Willow. Eye catching and super flattering, this dress will get you noticed everywhere you go!

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS-L.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection with little to no give
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra. We recommend fashion tape to close deep V.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black matte jersey (100% rayon). ¾ length sleeves. V-neckline. Faux wrap with ruched pencil skirt. Lined. 37.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
271 reviews
Fit
Large
(5)
True to Size
(136)
Small
(86)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
December 7, 2014
A lot of work to keep it together

I felt like it was tight in the arms. The dress was snug in the skirt but my major issue was keeping the wrap from exposing my chest all night. I had two pieces of fashion tape on each boob and still felt like I needed two safety pins to keep it all together. I got a lot of compliments yet I was in the ladies room checking and readjusting more than I wanted to.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 2, 2015
Nice dress, not what I was looking for

The for of this dress was a bit too "clubby" for me. I'm bigger on the bottom and it was very tight which wasn't really the look I was going for, even after sizing up.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
May 11, 2017
Flattering and simple

I wore this to a winter sorority formal. It was very comfortable and forgiving but still cute.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
August 1, 2017
Great dress for colder weather

The sleeves were great for colder weather.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 5, 2014
Runs large up top

This dress was really flattering but be sure to size down if you don't have a big chest. This could easily be dressed up or dressed down. It was really fun and flattering. I would definitely rent it again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 9, 2014
Didn't work for me

The dress is very flattering, but for some reason the 2 was too large in the skirt and the 0 was too small in the sleeves.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 21, 2015
New Years Eve

Dress fit great! It does open at the bust very easily though so if you need to be conservative, make sure you have some tape!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
April 23, 2015
Perfect for a night out.

I loved the way the dress fit. It was a great length; not too short not too long. The front of the dress is completely wide open however. I had to use some pins to keep it closed.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 127lbs
April 7, 2015
Didn't fit

I rented sizes M and L in this dress, and did not wear either. I was between a sizes 6 and 8 (maybe closer to a size 8) when I rented it, but the L was way too big, and the M did not fit right on my hips. I am kind of an apple, so dresses that come in at the hips like this one often don't fit me right. The arms on the M were a good fit, but I think I would need to be taller and smaller in the tummy area to properly fit this dress.

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 25, 2016
Lovely bachelorette party in DC.

Must have/buy body tape to wear this dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
May 20, 2016
So, I rented this for an evening work event. THANK GOODNESS I got a bigger size!

This dress was great, very comfortable, but I absolutely freaked out for a minute. I had ordered both a small and a medium, and was extremely lucky/grateful that I ordered a size larger as my extra! The small was SUPER small! I had to wear control top panty hose to make this work, but since it was a work event and I wanted to look appropriate, I had planned to wear black tights anyway. The top was a little bit tricky, but the fashion tape worked really well. Just make sure you order a size (or two even! ) up from what your normally wear!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 30, 2016
Great dress for a fancy date

As did most other reviewers, I had to safety-pin the top together, and the arms were a little snug, but I still loved this dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 24, 2013
So bummed

This was a my back up dress, seemed safe but still cute for the party I was attending. When my first pick didn't fit I figured this would be the one. Unfortunately no such luck. It runs super small through the arms and waist. The waist line has NO stretch so it was awkward to get on and off. The section of fabric on your upper back is wide & bulky. It was just a complete miss for my shape.

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 30, 2013
Would definitely rent again. Great for girls night out.

This dress was just what I was looking for--a sexy, but not strappy going-out/party dress. I didn't end up wearing it (my event got cancelled), but I would definitely rent it again. Like other reviewers have said, it has very little give in the waist and the need to order a size up is mostly due to that. BUT, once you get it on, it makes your waist look really tiny! The rest of the dress is quite stretchy and will definitely fit over larger hips and butts. The arms are snug and fitted, but still stretchy. I have fairly broad shoulders, hips, and butt, but a small waist. Once I struggled a bit to get it over my shoulders, it fit fine. Usually I would be in between a small and medium in this type of dress and I was DEFINITELY a medium in this. The top area is completely open, but easily secured with fashion tape or a black safety pin. Overall, I would highly recommend this dress, but advise ordering a size up in back-up size.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
May 10, 2013
ran way too small. I am curvy and it was just too short. Kind of wasted money on this

Fits way too tight. The descriptions made is seem that it would be able to stretch but it really didnt. This was my first dress I ordered from the site and I am so disappointed.

Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 15, 2013
This was my first time using RTR and I thought it was a great idea and extremely easy.

I wore this dress to my best friend's engagement party and got a lot of compliments. However, it is VERY short! I'm usually a medium but tried the large on first and when I saw how short it was I didn't even try the medium. I've never needed to use fashion tape because I have big boobs that fill out any dress but this neckline is very open. Tape is a must! Top is baggy and bottom is tight, but it rouches on the side of the hip so is very flattering through the waist. I wore it with black wedges and a statement necklace and it worked, but I would not wear it again just because of the length.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 29, 2013
Ended up not wearing this dress.

I'm typically a 0 in dresses and even the S was too small for me. TIGHT on the rear and LOW in the front. If you want a s-e-x-y dress this is for you. Unfortunately, I was in the market for something less so.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 29, 2013
A great rental. Perfect for dinner and a show in NYC

I wore this out for my birthday dinner and a show in NYC. I paired it with pink Kate Spade earrings and bag. Very flattering. I taped the front together so I didn't flash all night. Would rent again!

Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 15, 2013
We stopped by the showroom to try on dresses--I would never have picked this dress otherwise!

This dress looked great with black tights and high heeled booties, although I wore it with combat boots and a long cardigan the next day and it looked even better. Beware--it has very little stretch, even though it's a knit. Once it bunches up nicely around your hips, it's shorter than you think it's going to be. (The upper arms were a bit tight, but I have flappy heybabies, so no real surprise there. I don't wear sleeveless for just that reason!) I had no issues with the deep v, even without fashion tape. Getting it on was a bit of a squirm, but once it was on, everything stayed put and looked terrific. It definitely runs small, though. I'm generally a 26 or a 27 in jeans, and the large fit comfortably across my hips but didn't fit a friend of mine who is more of the traditional hourglass shape. My husband thought I looked gorgeous, and I got lots of compliments from men and women at the party.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 19, 2013
Sexy and comfortable!

I rented this dress for a birthday party in Atlantic City. I am OBSESSED with this dress, I want to own it! The fit was great, very tight but flattering on the bottom and loose enough on the top. All the reviews I read said fashion tape would be needed however I am a size 34 D and wore a slightly padded push up bra and did not need fashion tape for the top. I wore tights so it was not an issue for me but the dress is on the shorter side so I can see where some people might be a little uncomfortable. Over this dress was a huge success!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 31, 2013
Must. Have. Fabric. Tape!

Taping this dress is not an option, it's a must. You could maybe also use a small safety pin to keep the top together. I totally should have known that, but was caught off guard.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
January 3, 2014
New Year's Eve was a blast!

I was a little disappointed because RTR didn't include double sided tape or anything -- and the neckline for this dress really needs it! I ended up buying some of my own. It's a little short, but thats the way I wanted it for NYE. Its a cute dress, overall, but taller girls should be aware that this is not appropriate for any sort of formal affair. :)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
January 9, 2014
Love this dress. Felt comfortable and confident. Versatile and fits with any dress code.

The reviews were right; it runs small. With the fitted waist and no zipper, I would recommend sizing up. The small fit, but it was difficult to get on and off. Also, make sure you have a safety pin to tame the billowy top.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
January 11, 2014
I did not end up wearing this dress- it fit too snugly.

This runs extremely small.

Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
January 24, 2014
it is very tight skirt bottom…sexy!!!

it runs SMALL & big. i usually wear a small or medium but based on other reviews I'm glad i order large. thats what i ended up wearing. the top though runs i think too big yet it is a larger!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
January 27, 2014
RTR is the real deal. Loved the garment bag, the goodies and the ease of returning the dress.

I ordered the small and the medium to wear to a nice dinner in Vegas. I tend to wear a small but this dress does run a bit on the small side. The top portion is super cute, super flattering. The bottom portion of the dress is very short and tight. Glad I got the medium, it was perfect. Super sexy but not trashy. I received a ton of compliments.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 7, 2014
Use fashion tape

Cute dress. I liked it a lot, but it requires fashion tape... and I am big on the top end. It was short, but I wore with tights and boots as it was mid december.

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 1, 2014
Sexy, but classy LBD

Really liked this dress for a Valentine's dinner date with my bf, and he loved it. Warning... it is pretty short, but I wore black tights so I wouldn't feel uncomfortable bending over all night. The bottom part fits tight, but the ruching makes it super flattering. After reading the reviews on how short it was, I got a large as a backup, thinking it would help with the length. The large did not make a difference as far as length, and the top was way too huge, so I ended up sticking with the medium. Also, I am large busted, so I had to wear fashion tape and a small pin to keep the girls contained. I would definitely rent this dress again, but think I will try the blue (Anushka dress) next time. As always, the service from RTR was awesome, and I received my same day rental (in Manhattan) by 2pm.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 4, 2014
VERY SEXY

The neckline and overall fit of this dress make it very sexy, but I didn't think the top was as low cut as many made it out to be. It is VERY short though, I ended up wearing tights just to keep it moderately classy.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
March 5, 2014
Had to return it

I am a classic medium , never more than a large. I ordered both thinking surely one would fit. Sadly neither did. If you have even a little hips and booty and expect this fabric to stretch sadly it doesn't really.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
March 9, 2014
Worn for my birthday; it was the perfect amount of sexy.

The fit is tighter than I was expecting. I am a climber, so my forearms, arms, and shoulders are pretty sculpted. But never the less, it was really comfortable. I tried to wear a stick on bra from VS with it, but it didn't look nearly as sexy, so I just wore fashion tape instead. I would strongly recommend getting a pin and pinning the insides from revealing everything though, because this dress could easily be worn very Jersey Shore-like. I love the way that it hugs your hips and sits on your shoulders though. I was very comfortable, received compliments from all of my friends, and my man couldn't keep his hands off of me throughout the night. Five stars for sure.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
March 17, 2014
Very classy but was shorted than I anticipated. Looked great, I was just a little self conscious.

May be a better rental for girls not so hippy.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 17, 2014
Very cute, but you WILL need fashion tape! (And a lot of patience.)

I initially ordered an XS and no back up, thinking I for sure didn't need one. I'm such a dope!!! This dress runs quite small, and is not nearly as stretchy as I expected. Luckily RTRs amazing customer service saved the day, and sent me a S in time for the wedding! Pros: The three quarter sleeve keep me warm, which was great. With enough fashion tape it was actually a very nice, relatively conservative dress. Cons: I constantly felt one wrong move away from a massive wardrobe malfunction. Anything active (such as dancing) would have been out of the question! Made me feel rather on edge and distracted, which took away from the evening. Also, makeup and deodorant (and what must have been dead skin cells) rubbed off on the material like nobodies business. To sum it up, I probably would have enjoyed this dress more had I been wearing it to a different event. But since I wore it to a wedding that involved much of my boyfriends rather conservative extended family it wasn't my favorite.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
April 2, 2014
Wanted to wear this for my sister's bridal shower

The dress was way too tight everywhere.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 3, 2014
The dress is a perfect easy/chic fit.

Totally runs small. No give whatsoever in the waist and super low plunge, but i loved it!

Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
April 12, 2014
This was my first dress rental and though the dress ran small, I loved it, sexy without being trashy

On top the dress fits fine, it low cut but that can be fixed with some fashion tape. It's cinched around the waste which makes it a bit tight, but it's very forgiving and comfy. Very fun!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 16, 2014
fantastic dress

wore this dress for a date night out, and loved it. was very comfortable, though I had to tape the front so it wasn't as low cut.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32DDD/E
Body type: Athletic
April 16, 2014
Going to Vegas? The Cosmopolitan Hotel has a RTR store!

The best part about this rental was experiencing the RTR store in the Cosmopolitan Hotel in Vegas. I was staying at the hotel, ordered my dress online, and picked it up at the store. The staff was super helpful allowing me to try the dress on before leaving. The worst part about this dress was figuring out the fashion tape (which as most other reviews mention is an absolute necessity). It wasn't as easy as I had hoped and had I had enough time getting ready, I would have run down to the store for help from the experts. Like everyone else says, it runs small. I typically wear a size 6 and wore a large.

Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
May 2, 2014
..

Unfortunately this dress is too small for me. I usually wear anything from a size 8 to a size 12 depending on fit and length. The shoulders actually fit well so that I wouldn't have to bother with taping the chest area but the hip and thigh part was just too tight and too short for me. Bummer because I would have loved to have worn it! Kind of the perfect sexy, yet comfortable black dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
June 1, 2014
Very uncomfortable! Did not wear

I ordered this dress for my best friends bachelorette party and ended up not wearing it because it was extremely short and very stiff and uncomfortable. There is no way I could worn this dress to dinner and dancing, I could barely sit down or walk in it at all. I have a very athletic build so it make work better for girls who have shorter, smaller legs and skinny arms. I would not recommend this dress but RTR was very helpful in letting me return the dress for credit!

See more reviews:
2 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×