Alissa Dress

$73 to buy
$370 value
Stylist Notes

Go for chic simplicity in this draped mini by Slate & Willow. Eye catching and super flattering, this dress will get you noticed everywhere you go!

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS-L.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection with little to no give
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra. We recommend fashion tape to close deep V.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS-L.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection with little to no give
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra. We recommend fashion tape to close deep V.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black matte jersey (100% rayon). ¾ length sleeves. V-neckline. Faux wrap with ruched pencil skirt. Lined. 37.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
270 reviews
Fit
Large
(5)
True to Size
(136)
Small
(86)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 53
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122lbs
February 10, 2014
Cute LBD
Received this dress because my original dress was unavailable. It's very cute and you can dress it up with a cute belt. The arms are very tight though.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
February 18, 2014
Great Valentine's Day dress!
The fit was perfect! It does run true to size. The only downside was that it was short and kept riding up so I had to pull it down. Other than that, loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
February 18, 2014
This was the perfect date dress!
I loved this dress! The fit is so flattering- it was just short and sexy enough! The bottom is tight, but flattering. It is essential to have fashion tape to close the top, but I loved how I was able to choose how revealing/conservative I wanted the top to be. The fabric is thick and hides anything without needing Spanx. I would definitely rent this dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
February 21, 2014
Perfect dress to celebrate a night out for my Birthday!
Fit like a glove and wish I could have kept it! Probably would have been fine without fashion tape but RTR provided some so I used it just to be safe. I felt like it was really flattering and so comfortable to wear! I would definitely recommend this for a night out on the town!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 24, 2014
Just the right amount of sexy!
Rented this for a Valentine's Day dinner at a nice restaurant. This dress goes down quite low, but it wasn't too scandalous since I'm relatively small chested. I would recommend fashion tape or a safety pin, though. My boyfriend loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
February 26, 2014
Great simple but sexy dress!
I liked this dress. You definitely need to fashion tape the front. I am a c cup and I was pretty much Jlo green Versace without fastening the front of this dress. Fitted in the bum and the arms, took a little adjusting but it worked great. Wore with booties and jack up jewelry ;)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 1, 2014
Sexy, but classy LBD
Really liked this dress for a Valentine's dinner date with my bf, and he loved it. Warning... it is pretty short, but I wore black tights so I wouldn't feel uncomfortable bending over all night. The bottom part fits tight, but the ruching makes it super flattering. After reading the reviews on how short it was, I got a large as a backup, thinking it would help with the length. The large did not make a difference as far as length, and the top was way too huge, so I ended up sticking with the medium. Also, I am large busted, so I had to wear fashion tape and a small pin to keep the girls contained. I would definitely rent this dress again, but think I will try the blue (Anushka dress) next time. As always, the service from RTR was awesome, and I received my same day rental (in Manhattan) by 2pm.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 4, 2014
VERY SEXY
The neckline and overall fit of this dress make it very sexy, but I didn't think the top was as low cut as many made it out to be. It is VERY short though, I ended up wearing tights just to keep it moderately classy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
March 5, 2014
Had to return it
I am a classic medium , never more than a large. I ordered both thinking surely one would fit. Sadly neither did. If you have even a little hips and booty and expect this fabric to stretch sadly it doesn't really.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
March 9, 2014
Worn for my birthday; it was the perfect amount of sexy.
The fit is tighter than I was expecting. I am a climber, so my forearms, arms, and shoulders are pretty sculpted. But never the less, it was really comfortable. I tried to wear a stick on bra from VS with it, but it didn't look nearly as sexy, so I just wore fashion tape instead. I would strongly recommend getting a pin and pinning the insides from revealing everything though, because this dress could easily be worn very Jersey Shore-like. I love the way that it hugs your hips and sits on your shoulders though. I was very comfortable, received compliments from all of my friends, and my man couldn't keep his hands off of me throughout the night. Five stars for sure.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
March 17, 2014
Very classy but was shorted than I anticipated. Looked great, I was just a little self conscious.
May be a better rental for girls not so hippy.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
March 17, 2014
Awesome experience. First time using and it was perfect!
The v in the front is very deep and fell open I did need to use double sided tape. Other than that...great!!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 17, 2014
Very cute, but you WILL need fashion tape! (And a lot of patience.)
I initially ordered an XS and no back up, thinking I for sure didn't need one. I'm such a dope!!! This dress runs quite small, and is not nearly as stretchy as I expected. Luckily RTRs amazing customer service saved the day, and sent me a S in time for the wedding! Pros: The three quarter sleeve keep me warm, which was great. With enough fashion tape it was actually a very nice, relatively conservative dress. Cons: I constantly felt one wrong move away from a massive wardrobe malfunction. Anything active (such as dancing) would have been out of the question! Made me feel rather on edge and distracted, which took away from the evening. Also, makeup and deodorant (and what must have been dead skin cells) rubbed off on the material like nobodies business. To sum it up, I probably would have enjoyed this dress more had I been wearing it to a different event. But since I wore it to a wedding that involved much of my boyfriends rather conservative extended family it wasn't my favorite.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
March 25, 2014
Perfect sexy LBD
I rented this for a bachelorette party, we were all required to wear a little black dress. This dress was perfect! Everyone complimented that it was adorable, and it didn't wrinkle during travel so I didn't have to do anything except throw it on. The only problem is that it is extremely low cut, so consider using double sided tape or pinning it closed. I thought the dress was pretty accurate in size too, I'm short but my butt wasn't hanging out at all. Overall, loved it
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
March 30, 2014
Too big.
Ordered Medium after reading the reviews. Unfortunately, it was way too big. Very cute dress. I'm excited to order in a S.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
April 2, 2014
Wanted to wear this for my sister's bridal shower
The dress was way too tight everywhere.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 3, 2014
The dress is a perfect easy/chic fit.
Totally runs small. No give whatsoever in the waist and super low plunge, but i loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
April 6, 2014
RTR staff was so helpful when my original dress couldn't make it in time! Love this dress!
This dress is SO flattering! It was really comfortable to wear during a long event and was so cute! The top could be worn as pretty low but if you move the dress around a little bit it sits on your chest as a more conservative V. The bottom of the dress is tight with another layer over it which makes the dress a little more bump friendly. It rides up a little after walking around so if you are looking for a conservative dress, this may not be the one for you.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 105lbs
April 7, 2014
Sexy dress in a tasteful way!
I wore this dress to my sorority's 25th Anniversary Gala and it was a hit! I received so many compliments about how the dress was sexy, yet tasteful. Since it is a classic LBD, I wore my hair in Kim Kardashian curls with strappy black valentino stud heels. I also wore a gold bracelet to give it a little flare. While the dress top is open, I strategically placed fashion tape so it would be a little low cut, but not too much. Fashion tape is necessary for this dress. By far my favorite.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
April 12, 2014
This was my first dress rental and though the dress ran small, I loved it, sexy without being trashy
On top the dress fits fine, it low cut but that can be fixed with some fashion tape. It's cinched around the waste which makes it a bit tight, but it's very forgiving and comfy. Very fun!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 16, 2014
fantastic dress
wore this dress for a date night out, and loved it. was very comfortable, though I had to tape the front so it wasn't as low cut.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
April 16, 2014
Going to Vegas? The Cosmopolitan Hotel has a RTR store!
The best part about this rental was experiencing the RTR store in the Cosmopolitan Hotel in Vegas. I was staying at the hotel, ordered my dress online, and picked it up at the store. The staff was super helpful allowing me to try the dress on before leaving. The worst part about this dress was figuring out the fashion tape (which as most other reviews mention is an absolute necessity). It wasn't as easy as I had hoped and had I had enough time getting ready, I would have run down to the store for help from the experts. Like everyone else says, it runs small. I typically wear a size 6 and wore a large.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
April 21, 2014
Cute, but was a little too short for me.
Fit was ok, I worer tape around the cleavage.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
May 2, 2014
..
Unfortunately this dress is too small for me. I usually wear anything from a size 8 to a size 12 depending on fit and length. The shoulders actually fit well so that I wouldn't have to bother with taping the chest area but the hip and thigh part was just too tight and too short for me. Bummer because I would have loved to have worn it! Kind of the perfect sexy, yet comfortable black dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
May 10, 2014
Great dress! Super comfortable and classy.
The xs was a little short - but the small was a little big. I went with the xs. I found myself pulling it down a bit throughout the night, but felt great, and got tons of compliments!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
May 11, 2014
Love the cut
Unfortunately I didn't end up wearing this dress. It was slimming on my lower half.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
May 13, 2014
Very flattering!
I wore this dress for a bachelorette party in NOLA. It was the perfect LBD for the occasion. The only thing that I would be aware of is that it does ride up considerably when you are walking.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
May 18, 2014
Clean dress arrived early in the day. Great communication/tracking via email
It is short. I'm 5'4" and we called it middle-aged mini. I went conservative and used a few safety pins to keep the dress closed in the front and wore a regular bra. Loved the loose top to help hide my slight pooch.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 19, 2014
Great, comfortable dress for a night out.
I wore a lace cami underneath but definitely still need double stick tape or a safety pin to keep the top closed.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
June 1, 2014
Very uncomfortable! Did not wear
I ordered this dress for my best friends bachelorette party and ended up not wearing it because it was extremely short and very stiff and uncomfortable. There is no way I could worn this dress to dinner and dancing, I could barely sit down or walk in it at all. I have a very athletic build so it make work better for girls who have shorter, smaller legs and skinny arms. I would not recommend this dress but RTR was very helpful in letting me return the dress for credit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
June 3, 2014
Runs small in the arms
The small fit awesome on my lower body, but as for the top the arms were so tight they didn't go over my elbows. The Medium was big on my lower body and on my bust and shoulders, but again the arms were super tight. I was unable to wear either and had a to scramble last minute for my bf's 30th birthday dinner.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
June 4, 2014
very comfortable and easy to wear
The dress was very comfortable, nice stretch to the fabric. The top was very deep but with some fashion tape there were no issues. The bottom was form fitting and did have a tendency to ride up a little, but not indecently so. overall a great dress to rent!!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
June 6, 2014
Chic, simple and flattering in all the right places!
Overall the dress was true to size, however, the arms were a little on the tight side and same in the hips of the dress, if you have a more athletic figure it could be a tad scandalous on your lower half. I tried sizing up but ended swimming in the medium . The fabric was a title heavy for warmer weather but wasn't too bad.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 11, 2014
Sexy
The bottom is true to size and fits tighty - which makes it sexy. The top runs larger and I wasn't a fan of how the sleeves hung (big on the under arms but tight along the arm). I recommend this dress if you are confident going braless - that's when it looks best. It plunges lower than on the model but on a small bust it was okay. I wore this out to dinner with the ladies and worked really well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 16, 2014
Loved this dress!
I loved the length! I wore it for a Valentine's Day and it was perfect. It may be too short for a formal occasion. I had to tape the top because of the way it fell, but I used the tape RTR provided and it was great!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119lbs
June 20, 2014
Cute dress but fashion tape is needed
This dress was not too short and not too long it was perfect. Needless to say what ruined it for me was the need for fashion tape. I couldn't find my fashion tape from my last RTR rental so I had to use a pin which did not work on this fabric because it kept folding out. Other than this malfunction, the dress was true to size. I didn't even bother to try the size small since the xs was my first choice and it fit like a glove.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
June 24, 2014
Sexy but was too tight!
I loved the dress but I just felt a little uncomfortable in it. It was too tight around my hips/upper leg area and the arms were really tight. Definitely need a bobby pin or fashion tape. I probably would've worn it and just suffered if I hadn't rented a BCBG romper as a back up :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 17, 2014
Expensive material, but didn't quite fit right
I was excited to wear this out for a graduation dinner with my family. However, even with fashion tape, the bust kept coming undone, and it dips LOW. I eventually had to duct tape it, but that didn't look good, so I wore my coat all through dinner. Not exactly the fun experience I was hoping for. It was really tight in the tummy/hips but loose up top. I'm short and this just looked not right on me. I feel like this type of design is better for taller girls. Disappointed, but I'd still try other dresses from this designer.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
July 21, 2014
First time renting from RTR, and loved it!
This dress was great! Perfect amount of coverage and some sexiness too. I did use a safety pin ofcourse to hold the front closed. I ordered a M and L because of previous reviews about it running small and being short, and I am pretty tall. However, the L would have been way too big! Also, it did run up a bit, but that would happen with any dress that form fits on the bottom. In all, I am glad I rented it, and it made me feel great :)
View photos (2)
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 30
July 23, 2014
Sexy but tough to wear.
The dress has potential, but the small's skirt is a little stretched out. My belief was that it was supposed to be a snug fit in the skirt. With all the work that would need to be done taping the top to prevent exposure, the poor fit wasn't worth it.
See more reviews:
2 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×