Slate & Willow

Alissa Dress

$73 to buy
$370 value
Stylist Notes

Go for chic simplicity in this draped mini by Slate & Willow. Eye catching and super flattering, this dress will get you noticed everywhere you go!

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS-L.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection with little to no give
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra. We recommend fashion tape to close deep V.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black matte jersey (100% rayon). ¾ length sleeves. V-neckline. Faux wrap with ruched pencil skirt. Lined. 37.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
271 reviews
Fit
Large
(5)
True to Size
(136)
Small
(86)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 21, 2013
Loved this dress!
This dress was comfortable and very flattering. I would definitely rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 132lbs
December 26, 2013
Hugged all the right curves!
I wore this for a Christmas party, it was perfect! I wear a 2-4 dress and the small was a good size - snug but fit well. I could have worn the medium but it was a little too bunchy in the skirt area, it didn't fit as well. It also definitely needed some fashion tape - safety pin wasn't working. I wore this with black tight and booties, I received compliments all night long!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
December 28, 2013
Great dress - super flattering and comfortable.
Body hugging from the waist down, hangs nicely on top. MUST have double sided tape to keep the deep V closed. I used the tape fabric to fabric and it held tight throughout the night and dancing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 31, 2013
Must. Have. Fabric. Tape!
Taping this dress is not an option, it's a must. You could maybe also use a small safety pin to keep the top together. I totally should have known that, but was caught off guard.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
January 1, 2014
Very sexy dress. Top defiantly requires double sided fashion tape.
Top defiantly requires double sided fashion tape. I am short and the dress was perfect length. felt fabric was plenty stretchy and dress was comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 2, 2014
Super sexy!
I rented this dress as a backup for New Year's Eve and didn't get the chance to wear it. But I did love the design and fit and will definitely keep it in mind for future occasions. My only hesitation with this dress is that it's very revealing in the bust area so I would not recommend it for large chested women who are planning on attending a dance party.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
January 3, 2014
New Year's Eve was a blast!
I was a little disappointed because RTR didn't include double sided tape or anything -- and the neckline for this dress really needs it! I ended up buying some of my own. It's a little short, but thats the way I wanted it for NYE. Its a cute dress, overall, but taller girls should be aware that this is not appropriate for any sort of formal affair. :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
January 6, 2014
Sexy look for NYE!
I could have easily worn the medium since the dress has plenty of stretch, but the large was slightly more comfortable. Since it was new years' eve I opted to let it be very low cut and went with pasties. I'm not overly busty so it worked fine for me. I'll agree with other ladies that have worn the dress: Plan to have fashion tape for sure!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
January 9, 2014
Love this dress. Felt comfortable and confident. Versatile and fits with any dress code.
The reviews were right; it runs small. With the fitted waist and no zipper, I would recommend sizing up. The small fit, but it was difficult to get on and off. Also, make sure you have a safety pin to tame the billowy top.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
January 11, 2014
I did not end up wearing this dress- it fit too snugly.
This runs extremely small.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
January 24, 2014
it is very tight skirt bottom…sexy!!!
it runs SMALL & big. i usually wear a small or medium but based on other reviews I'm glad i order large. thats what i ended up wearing. the top though runs i think too big yet it is a larger!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
January 27, 2014
RTR is the real deal. Loved the garment bag, the goodies and the ease of returning the dress.
I ordered the small and the medium to wear to a nice dinner in Vegas. I tend to wear a small but this dress does run a bit on the small side. The top portion is super cute, super flattering. The bottom portion of the dress is very short and tight. Glad I got the medium, it was perfect. Super sexy but not trashy. I received a ton of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
January 28, 2014
Hot dress!
This dress was amazing! It hugged my curves, but was still modest with the sleeves, I wore it to my Christmas party and got SO many compliments! Like the other reviews said, it is VERY low cut, but i just used some fashion tape and it stayed closed all night long. It is also pretty short, but so flattering as well. Would definitely recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
January 31, 2014
Super sexy
This dress is great. I ordered the S and the M and the small fit. It really cinched in my waist. My only complaint is that it had a lot of extra fabric in the top at the back and also under the arms. I know that's the style so there really isn't anything wrong with the fit. However, I am a little more broad in the shoulders and back and I feel like this might have accentuated it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 5, 2014
Runs large up top
This dress was really flattering but be sure to size down if you don't have a big chest. This could easily be dressed up or dressed down. It was really fun and flattering. I would definitely rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
February 6, 2014
Great dress! I needed to wear a tank top underneath because it was a little too revealing but it st
Classy and sexy! Not too short or tight!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 7, 2014
Use fashion tape
Cute dress. I liked it a lot, but it requires fashion tape... and I am big on the top end. It was short, but I wore with tights and boots as it was mid december.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
February 10, 2014
Cute LBD
Received this dress because my original dress was unavailable. It's very cute and you can dress it up with a cute belt. The arms are very tight though.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
February 18, 2014
Great Valentine's Day dress!
The fit was perfect! It does run true to size. The only downside was that it was short and kept riding up so I had to pull it down. Other than that, loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
February 18, 2014
This was the perfect date dress!
I loved this dress! The fit is so flattering- it was just short and sexy enough! The bottom is tight, but flattering. It is essential to have fashion tape to close the top, but I loved how I was able to choose how revealing/conservative I wanted the top to be. The fabric is thick and hides anything without needing Spanx. I would definitely rent this dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
February 21, 2014
Perfect dress to celebrate a night out for my Birthday!
Fit like a glove and wish I could have kept it! Probably would have been fine without fashion tape but RTR provided some so I used it just to be safe. I felt like it was really flattering and so comfortable to wear! I would definitely recommend this for a night out on the town!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 24, 2014
Just the right amount of sexy!
Rented this for a Valentine's Day dinner at a nice restaurant. This dress goes down quite low, but it wasn't too scandalous since I'm relatively small chested. I would recommend fashion tape or a safety pin, though. My boyfriend loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
February 26, 2014
Great simple but sexy dress!
I liked this dress. You definitely need to fashion tape the front. I am a c cup and I was pretty much Jlo green Versace without fastening the front of this dress. Fitted in the bum and the arms, took a little adjusting but it worked great. Wore with booties and jack up jewelry ;)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 1, 2014
Sexy, but classy LBD
Really liked this dress for a Valentine's dinner date with my bf, and he loved it. Warning... it is pretty short, but I wore black tights so I wouldn't feel uncomfortable bending over all night. The bottom part fits tight, but the ruching makes it super flattering. After reading the reviews on how short it was, I got a large as a backup, thinking it would help with the length. The large did not make a difference as far as length, and the top was way too huge, so I ended up sticking with the medium. Also, I am large busted, so I had to wear fashion tape and a small pin to keep the girls contained. I would definitely rent this dress again, but think I will try the blue (Anushka dress) next time. As always, the service from RTR was awesome, and I received my same day rental (in Manhattan) by 2pm.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 4, 2014
VERY SEXY
The neckline and overall fit of this dress make it very sexy, but I didn't think the top was as low cut as many made it out to be. It is VERY short though, I ended up wearing tights just to keep it moderately classy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
March 5, 2014
Had to return it
I am a classic medium , never more than a large. I ordered both thinking surely one would fit. Sadly neither did. If you have even a little hips and booty and expect this fabric to stretch sadly it doesn't really.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
March 9, 2014
Worn for my birthday; it was the perfect amount of sexy.
The fit is tighter than I was expecting. I am a climber, so my forearms, arms, and shoulders are pretty sculpted. But never the less, it was really comfortable. I tried to wear a stick on bra from VS with it, but it didn't look nearly as sexy, so I just wore fashion tape instead. I would strongly recommend getting a pin and pinning the insides from revealing everything though, because this dress could easily be worn very Jersey Shore-like. I love the way that it hugs your hips and sits on your shoulders though. I was very comfortable, received compliments from all of my friends, and my man couldn't keep his hands off of me throughout the night. Five stars for sure.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
March 17, 2014
Very classy but was shorted than I anticipated. Looked great, I was just a little self conscious.
May be a better rental for girls not so hippy.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
March 17, 2014
Awesome experience. First time using and it was perfect!
The v in the front is very deep and fell open I did need to use double sided tape. Other than that...great!!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 17, 2014
Very cute, but you WILL need fashion tape! (And a lot of patience.)
I initially ordered an XS and no back up, thinking I for sure didn't need one. I'm such a dope!!! This dress runs quite small, and is not nearly as stretchy as I expected. Luckily RTRs amazing customer service saved the day, and sent me a S in time for the wedding! Pros: The three quarter sleeve keep me warm, which was great. With enough fashion tape it was actually a very nice, relatively conservative dress. Cons: I constantly felt one wrong move away from a massive wardrobe malfunction. Anything active (such as dancing) would have been out of the question! Made me feel rather on edge and distracted, which took away from the evening. Also, makeup and deodorant (and what must have been dead skin cells) rubbed off on the material like nobodies business. To sum it up, I probably would have enjoyed this dress more had I been wearing it to a different event. But since I wore it to a wedding that involved much of my boyfriends rather conservative extended family it wasn't my favorite.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
March 25, 2014
Perfect sexy LBD
I rented this for a bachelorette party, we were all required to wear a little black dress. This dress was perfect! Everyone complimented that it was adorable, and it didn't wrinkle during travel so I didn't have to do anything except throw it on. The only problem is that it is extremely low cut, so consider using double sided tape or pinning it closed. I thought the dress was pretty accurate in size too, I'm short but my butt wasn't hanging out at all. Overall, loved it
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
March 30, 2014
Too big.
Ordered Medium after reading the reviews. Unfortunately, it was way too big. Very cute dress. I'm excited to order in a S.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
April 2, 2014
Wanted to wear this for my sister's bridal shower
The dress was way too tight everywhere.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 3, 2014
The dress is a perfect easy/chic fit.
Totally runs small. No give whatsoever in the waist and super low plunge, but i loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
April 6, 2014
RTR staff was so helpful when my original dress couldn't make it in time! Love this dress!
This dress is SO flattering! It was really comfortable to wear during a long event and was so cute! The top could be worn as pretty low but if you move the dress around a little bit it sits on your chest as a more conservative V. The bottom of the dress is tight with another layer over it which makes the dress a little more bump friendly. It rides up a little after walking around so if you are looking for a conservative dress, this may not be the one for you.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 105lbs
April 7, 2014
Sexy dress in a tasteful way!
I wore this dress to my sorority's 25th Anniversary Gala and it was a hit! I received so many compliments about how the dress was sexy, yet tasteful. Since it is a classic LBD, I wore my hair in Kim Kardashian curls with strappy black valentino stud heels. I also wore a gold bracelet to give it a little flare. While the dress top is open, I strategically placed fashion tape so it would be a little low cut, but not too much. Fashion tape is necessary for this dress. By far my favorite.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
April 12, 2014
This was my first dress rental and though the dress ran small, I loved it, sexy without being trashy
On top the dress fits fine, it low cut but that can be fixed with some fashion tape. It's cinched around the waste which makes it a bit tight, but it's very forgiving and comfy. Very fun!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 16, 2014
fantastic dress
wore this dress for a date night out, and loved it. was very comfortable, though I had to tape the front so it wasn't as low cut.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
April 16, 2014
Going to Vegas? The Cosmopolitan Hotel has a RTR store!
The best part about this rental was experiencing the RTR store in the Cosmopolitan Hotel in Vegas. I was staying at the hotel, ordered my dress online, and picked it up at the store. The staff was super helpful allowing me to try the dress on before leaving. The worst part about this dress was figuring out the fashion tape (which as most other reviews mention is an absolute necessity). It wasn't as easy as I had hoped and had I had enough time getting ready, I would have run down to the store for help from the experts. Like everyone else says, it runs small. I typically wear a size 6 and wore a large.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
April 21, 2014
Cute, but was a little too short for me.
Fit was ok, I worer tape around the cleavage.
See more reviews:
2 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×