Slate & Willow

Watercolor Stroke Gown

$156 to buy
$495 value
Stylist Notes

Colorful brushstrokes give this Slate & Willow dress a romantic feel. Try styling the strapless look with dangling earrings like the Alhambra Earrings by Miguel Ases.

Size & Fit

Sized: 0-14, two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

Product Details

Printed yellow abstract chiffon (100% Silk). Sweetheart neckline. Strapless. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Fully lined. Boned bodice. See size and fit tab for length. Imported.

Share
82 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(47)
Small
(6)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
August 10, 2016
Gorgeous Dress for Outdoor Wedding
I loved this dress! It was perfect for an outdoor summer wedding. I kept getting compliments all day and evening! It definitely runs small in the bust and runs a bit long. I'm a 34DD, 5'5", and usually a size 10. I NEVER go bra-less, but this was so tight that I had no choice. (Eep!) That being said, this was the first dress I've ever worn that you couldn't tell there was no bra (thanks to the boning, fabric, and cut) and I really didn't find myself worried about it slipping down (a chronic issue for me in anything strapless). The dress I received also had two hooks at the top of the zipper which was less than helpful in zipping up the tight top - but once I was in it seemed to be okay that there was no hook and eye to use as a backup closure. It would have been a nice piece of mind for the slippage factor though! The 10R fit okay in the waist but was a bit long - although I did opt for flats. I was fine moving around comfortably without tripping and enjoyed the flowing feel of the longer dress! The fabric is light enough for a hot day in the sun, but it's also not too sheer or flimsy - it feels very luxurious and substantial while remaining light and flowy. Overall, I hated having to return this dress. Even though I panicked at first about how tight the top was, it ended up working out. It'll be hard to rent a different dress after this one!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
August 9, 2016
It's a gorgeous dress but size down!!
I rented this dress as a backup for another for a wedding. Thank goodness my first option ended up looking amazing, because I wouldn't have been able to wear this dress as it was WAY too large. I'm 5'11", about 160lbs, 36D and usually a 10...the other dress I ordered fit perfectly and this one was falling off, which isn't usually the case w/36D...otherwise, it is a really well-made gorgeous flowing dress and the colors are great! Size down and I'm sure it will look awesome!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
August 8, 2016
Beautiful colors!
The dress and fabric were beautiful. I ordered a 4 as a backup, and I could of wore either size; however there are serious issues with the zipper of both dresses. They were near impossible to zip up/down. The fit was not as flattering as I'd hoped either. After looking at pictures, it really makes me have a large pear shape. I did receive numerous compliments--the colors and fabric really were beautiful..And the dress floated when walking--I wore 3" heels. Unfortunately, I would not rent again. Customer service was wonderful when I called to alert of the zipper concerns.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 8, 2016
Beautiful colors and fabric!
The fit was true to size, though as a small-busted size 6, I chose to go with the size 4 for a snugger fit. I'm 5'7" and needed to wear 4 in heels in this dress so that I wouldn't step on it all night (ended up stepping on it anyways while walking in grass, up stairs, and dancing). Pros are colors and fit - got compliments on this dress all night! Cons were that the wire boning in my dress was coming out a bit and was poking me in the chest all night. Unlikely to happen with every dress, though! Overall, I loved it and would recommend to women of all shapes and sizes!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
August 8, 2016
I received so many compliments on this dress. It was beautiful for the summer wedding occasion.
The size I wore was 2R, true fit size. I am 5'1", so even with 4 inch heels the size was perfect! I couldn't have been more satisfied with this dress for the occasion!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Age: 38
August 4, 2016
Beautiful dress for wedding in Ibiza!
The dress was even more beautiful in person, but the wires in the bodice are coming loose and makes for some uncomfortable spots. Overall, I would wear it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
August 4, 2016
Wore this for a wedding and had tons of compliments.
LOVED this dress. The long was SUPER long even with heels on and I'm 5'9 so the length is difficult.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 185lbs
August 1, 2016
Beautiful color and so comfortable!
I'm a ten and wore a ten. It fit great! Zipper is tricking but my jiggled it and it was totally fine. Very Comfortable and I got a ton of complements all night. I am very tall and it was the perfect length. I wore flats but could have worn heels! One of my favorite rentals.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
July 31, 2016
Perfect lightweight, beautiful, flowy dress
I received so many compliments on this dress I wish I could keep it! It looks like you're floating when you move. Beautiful colors, the top fit nicely, and just the perfect style for a warm wedding!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
July 27, 2016
This is a gorgeous dress, but I didn't end up wearing it. Beautiful fabric and flow!!!
I did not end up wearing this dress because the lining of the top kept peeking out. It also felt like it would fall down on me. It fit well, but perhaps would be better for someone a little less flat chested.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
July 25, 2016
Gorgeous!!
This dress is so comfortable. I wore it for my engagement shoot. Did not want to take it off. I am 5'7" and wore 3 inch heals and this dress still dragged.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
July 25, 2016
Colorful Stunner
Beautiful dress, the picture does not do the colors justice. The length was a little long (6R) even for this 5'6"er in three inch heels--fit perfect otherwise. Would rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 20, 2016
Black Tie Wedding
I wore this to a black-tie wedding and it was absolutely perfect. I am 5'3 and I wore 4in heels and the dress was still extremely long, but it was worth it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
July 20, 2016
LOVED this dress, got so many compliments!
Dress runs a little small, but the "Ladies" stayed put. It is a long dress but I was happy with the length (Im 5'7"), but the regular length with heels was just fine.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
July 20, 2016
Gorgeous Flowing Gown for a Formal Event
I wore this dress to a friend's Napa Wedding. The top portion of the dress runs a little small/tight but the rest of the dress fits perfectly except for the length. At 5'4'' even the regular length dress is quite long so be prepared to wear high heels (at least 3 inches) or lift up the dress when you walk around. I received a lot of compliments on this dress and is has great movement when you walk. The colors are very pretty- there is no true white in this dress- it is more of a light yellow/off white as the base color. I paired with blue wedges and gold and blue earrings.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
July 19, 2016
I was trying this on for a future event.
This dress is so beautiful and perfect, I almost cried when I mailed it back. It's even more beautiful in person because of its sheer layers and bright colors. It fit like it was made for me. My younger sister is also a 6 but with a chest much bigger than a C (so hard to find appropriate dresses) and it also looked amazing on her and not too revealing. The length was perfect, too, with or without heels.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
July 18, 2016
Beautiful dress! Compliments all night!
I have an athletic build with a wide rib cage so I wore a 6 instead of a 4. The dress was light and had a beautiful flow to it. I wore the regular length with heels and it was perfect. (I'm 5'5") I loved this dress and would wear it again. I received multiple compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
July 13, 2016
Would have been perfect
I rented this dress for an outdoor wedding and it would have been absolutely perfect. It was light weight and flowy and the colors are even better in person. Unfortunately they only had one size available when I rented. I took a chance but it didn't work out. I would definitely rent it again in a different size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152lbs
July 12, 2016
The dress was beautiful! The top was tight so that my DD's wont not fall out!
#Karl&Angelawedding Beautiful outdoor wedding and I felt beautiful in this dress. I only wear dresses once so ill look forward to my next rental. Pros length was perfect (14R) im 6'1". The cons the bodice was tight so your secure up top but after a few hours the boning in the bodice becomes uncomfortable and starts to poke you! Im a 36DD and my girlfriend had to zip me up and hook me first. This was too dainty for my husband's big hands lolol Very nice rental!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
July 10, 2016
Amazin.
beautiful dress, everyone commented on it. Very flowy and fun.
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 34
July 8, 2016
Beautiful dress. Very very long, even with heels.
Beautiful dress. Very very long, even with heels.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Weight: 136lbs
July 1, 2016
Gorgeous dress - pictures don't do it justice!
I wore this to gala and it was absolutely perfect. The pictures really don't do the colors in the dress justice - I had so many compliments on it. I ordered the size 2R and the 4L as my backup (the 2L was not available). I'm tall and usually have a very hard time finding long dresses that aren't too short. However, I was able to wear the regular length with 2 inch heels and it was perfect! Unless you're taller than 5'10 I would suggest ordering the regular length in this dress. The 4 was a little too large in the bust/waist area. The 2 was tight, but that was great for me because I never felt like I was having to constantly pull the dress up. It is well-made and supportive, no need for a bra. Would definitely rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
June 27, 2016
I received tons of compliments all night. It's a stunning dress and I was so excited to wear it!
The overlay on the dress is about 3 inches longer than the slip. I was wearing 4 inch heals and the dress was still dragging on the ground. I spent most of the night terrified that I was going to trip and rip it as the fabric is very delicate. Huge pro was that I was able to go bra-less and had no issues with it slipping or falling down. A con was I wear a 12 in almost everything and that was significantly too small.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
June 27, 2016
This dress is magic! It is so light and flowy but very formal at the same time. Loved wearing it!
I ordered a size 6R and 8R. I wore the 6 so it is true to size. I wish I had ordered a long but all the reviews said the regular ran long. I was planning on wearing heals but ended up wearing flats because it was too short for heals. I am 5'7.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
June 23, 2016
Wore this for vacation and a photography event for "Learning to Lead a Retreat", and more!
True to Size, Beautiful Dress, and so many compliments! I felt like a queen!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
June 20, 2016
Beautiful Watercolors in a Dress :)
This dress is beautiful! I wish I could keep it :) The Good:I received tons of compliments. You will definitely stand out in the crowd. You don't have to wear a bra! The Bad: Runs Small and you have to wear super high heals even if you order regular length.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 20, 2016
I felt beautiful!
I absolutely loved this dress! I ended up wearing the larger size bc the 6 was just a little too snug on my chest area. Unfortunately the 8 chest area was a little big but not enough where I was constantly pulling up my dress. Overall, I would totally rent again! Oh & you must wear heels! Even with mine it was still long but I didn't mind it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
June 17, 2016
I loved the colors in this dress!
comfortable and felt beautiful!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
June 16, 2016
Stunning dress with vibrant colors
This dress was worth every penny. The material is high quality and it flows beautifully. Pictures online don't do the color justice, especially the pink. This dress is extremely long. I'm 5'10" and wore 1" heels and the regular still touched the ground! I received compliments the entire night at the wedding I attended. One of a kind dress, you won't be disappointed!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 14, 2016
Unique dress but runs large
I thought this was lovely, though I normally wear an 8 and the size 6 regular was still one size too big. I'm 5'7" and the regular size length with 3.5" heels was perfect. It looked great in photos, but in person, it really highlights the shoulders (like all strapless dresses,) so just make sure you're cool with that. Generally, it was fun to wear and flowey, though mine was a bit ripped on the bottom (so don't get a size long unless you are really tall!) I'd probably rent it again in a pinch.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 9, 2016
Three strangers told me I had the prettiest gown at the event!
This dress was beautiful and fit flawlessly. I hated to send it back! It is so soft, light and breezy—perfect for the (hot!) outdoor wedding I went to in Palm Springs. I was worried that the colors would be too bold in person, but they were understated and elegant. I am 145 lbs and a 34DD, and the size 8 bodice fit me like a glove. I didn't even need to wear a bra! I'm 5'7", and the length was perfect with my 3.5" heels. Honestly, the best-fitting dress I have ever worn. I paired it with a gold-and-pearl necklace by Lulu Frost, and I thought it was a perfect match.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
June 2, 2016
The most incredible dress to grace this earth.
The compliments I got on this dress at the wedding (at a castle in Spain...) were too many to count. I got "you look like a painting", "you're a vision", and "no way!". My facebook feed blew up when I posted pictures. I would have bought it, but alas, I do not have that kind of cash. Maybe one day. I did need to readjust throughout the night because it tended to slip slightly and get a little off center (as you can see in the second picture). No bra needed!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 2, 2016
Pretty print
It was flowey and if I was very skinny, I coulda pulled it off. It just made me look bulkier in all the wrong places. The bodice fit beautifully, so maybe if you're trying to hide your belly, this could do the trick
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
June 1, 2016
Super Long Dress
I rented a long length because there was any reviews yet and there were no short lengths, so I assumed the designer ran shorter. I wore my tallest heels and the dress was still hard to walk in. I got sooo many compliments though. People said it looked like I was floating the way the dress moved. I wore it to a gala/fundraiser and the photographer seemed to be following me around (100% because of the dress). Would be perfect to wear to a gallery event or art museum gala... but definitely get the regular length!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
June 1, 2016
Loved the colors and flow of the dress, simply stunning.
Fit: Fits to size. Pro: Absolutely gorgeous dress, got tons of compliments Con: Dress is way too long. I am 5'5 and wore 4inch heels and still had to ensure I wasn't stepping on it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
June 1, 2016
Stunning wedding on a perfect day. Beautiful atmosphere and a great dress helped!
The fit is an entire size too small. I normally wear a 10 but couldn't zip that one at all. I wore very high wedges so the long was perfect, so I recommend that if you wear heels, that you get a long, however I am 5'8" on my own so that may just be me. The dress is VERY well constructed and sturdy, and held up very well, it has the silicone edges to help hold it up, and has a very sturdy and boned bodice with molded cups. Overall I loved it, and wish I could buy it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
May 30, 2016
Summer wedding
LOVED this dress! It was very comfortable and I received compliments on the dress all night long. Perfect for a summer evening wedding. I'm 5'5 and I wore 2 inch heels, the dress was still a little long.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 17, 2016
Beautiful dress, not for my body.
The dress is gorgeous, however didn't fit over my broad "swimmer" shoulders. I had to return it. :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 137lbs
May 7, 2016
So soft. So so soft.
This dress was made for me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 134lbs
May 7, 2016
One of a kind dress
This is a super comfortable dress but runs a little large in the torso (though I don't have much in the way of cup size!). The fabric is beautiful and soft. I have never been able to wear a strapless dress that would stay up and still be comfortable! Only down side was that I tripped over it all night even in 4" heels, so maybe not a great choice if you are 5'4 or under. Maybe platform heels? Tall girls, rent this beauty!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×