Vicious Venom Dress

$55 to buy
$370 retail
Stylist Notes

This Shoshanna dress is an elegant and classic silhouette done in a stand-out snake skin jacquard. Pair it with some stunning pumps for a sophisticated evening look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruched band - waist is flattering on all body types
HIPS: Not fitted - full tulip skirt
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8'')

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruched band - waist is flattering on all body types
HIPS: Not fitted - full tulip skirt
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8'')

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy metallic jacquard. Asymmetric neckline with ruching detail at shoulder. Ruched waistband. Gathered skirt. Hidden back zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
201 reviews
Fit
Large
(13)
True to Size
(163)
Small
(23)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 20, 2010
This dress is amazing! If you have a larger bust, then order a size up. (Other than the chest, the dress fits true to size). I wore this to a premiere film screening and received a lot of compliments. A classy, sexy, versatile little number!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
September 24, 2010
I loved this dress! I received lots of compliments and it was very comfortable.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
September 27, 2010
I wore this dress to a wedding. It was a pretty cold day so I paired it with black tights. I got a ton of compliments. It runs true to size and is super comfortable. The pockets were a nice bonus. Overall loved it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
October 1, 2010
This was one of my favorite rentals yet. The dress was made of a beautiful, thick fabric and fit perfectly. It was amazingly comfortable, and I got a ton of compliments when I wore it to my engagement party.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Body type: Petite
October 5, 2010
I loved this dress - it is super comfortable and easy to wear. It has adorable pockets and is a beautiful dark navy color. The fabric is very high quality. I wore it to a black tie optional event and I think it worked well. I did not give it five stars because I didn't think the strap was the most flattering on me. I have very muscular arms and I think I looked a little bit boxy up top, but I don't think everyone would have this problem.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 9, 2010
I LOVED this dress! It is definitely meant for girls with curves. It complemented my bust and hips while giving me a waist. But I wouldn't recommend it for thin types with a small bust. You definitely need something to fill this dress out adequately. But I am now totally in love with Shoshanna dresses!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 12, 2010
This dress is great! I wore this to a wedding this past weekend and got a ton of compliments!It was very chic and I loved the pockets! It was also incredibly comfortable! I love this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 24, 2010
Birthday Dress!
i love love love this dress. wore it for my birthday and got a lot of compliments, it is really flattering. runs true to size
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
November 8, 2010
This dress is beautiful ! I read some of the reviews before renting and they were right about it fitting a little tight across the bust.. I rented an 8 and 10 for back-up for that reason.. The body of the 8 fit me perfect but I could not get it to zip all the way to the top. the 10 fit me perfect across the bust but the body was to big =( I was bummed out, but my sister who is a smaller on top was able to wear it and she looked GREAT !
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
November 15, 2010
I loved this dress! There is just enough flare on the dress (metallic sheen and the one-shoulder design) without being flashy. It's a bit understated, but still a gorgeous dress to wear--especially for full-figured women. (I am 32DD, 25", 38". 5'6". I fit the size 6 perfectly) The dress was not too short, either. I wore this to a wedding in the boyfriend's immediate family. Perfect for the occasion. It's not inappropriate, but it still showed my man he had a lot to appreciate about his woman. (His words, not mine.) My one complaint is that the zipper sticks right around the waistline. I think the fabric there might be too thick. I had to get help to zip it up. A small warning: if you're wearing a bustier---be careful not to have the cups ride too high--they will show through the top of the dress. (I was wearing a Carnival bustier.)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
November 22, 2010
I wore this dress for a semi-formal awards ceremony. It's a super simple dress so I added sparkly, vintage earrings and bracelet to make it shine more. I really liked the corset boning in the bodice and the pockets in the skirt. All-in-all, a good rental. And, always a great customer-service experience with RTR.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
November 26, 2010
loved this dress! wore it to a wedding with black tights and heels. easy and comfortable but looks super chic.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
December 3, 2010
I generally wear navy, but adding in the brocade and one shoulder made it more memorable. I loved my dress!
I loved this dress- simple and elegant- it runs true to size and is flattering on an hourglass figure. The one-shoulder looks great and I paired it with silver closed toed heels. It was a hit and I got tons of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
December 14, 2010
I got so many compliments and I really felt great in this dress!
I loved this dress! It is perfect for a petite frame. I ordered my normal size 4, and the size 2 as a back up, since one shoulder dresses tend to be big on me in the chest, the size 2 ended up fitting perfectly! If you are small chested/petite shoulders I would recommend ordering a smaller size as your back up. The bottom of the dress is very flattering regardless of your shape, so you can get away with going a size smaller, which is my case was the scenario. I wore it to a holiday party, the dress was super comfortable and I got a ton of compliments. Highly recommended!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 16, 2010
I absolutely loved this dress. The fabric was very heavy, and textured. It was a cold night so I paired it with black tights and black heels. I wore it to my company's holiday party and got a lot of compliments on it. Very slimming, very comfortable, and the pockets were such a great casual touch. Would definately wear it again.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Body type: Pear
December 17, 2010
The dress is super cute and comfy but runs a bit large in the skirt. Consider that when ordering because the pockets make the hip area fuller. I would order a size or two down to compensate for the pockets and full skirt.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 50lbs
December 20, 2010
This dress was a DREAM!So well made, and it made me feel outstanding.I also got tons of compliments at the wedding I wore it to.The fit was perfect!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 26, 2010
Very comfortable. Great for an hourglass figure.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
January 3, 2011
Loved this dress! I wore this dress out for New Years Eve and got tons of compliments. I have a larger chest, and the 4 fit snug, but comfortable. I was also happy with the length, seeing as I'm on the taller side.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
January 9, 2011
Great dress - quality fabric with boning. I am a size 6 and the 6 was snug, but the 8 would have been too big on top and I'm a full C cup. It's great because it has a full skirt so no worries about sucking it in ;-) And the band gives you a waist. I wore this to a wedding with dark navy tights and cranberry patent leather pumps - gold jewelry. I would rent this again.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
January 10, 2011
Awesome dress! Very flattering on any size. Would even fit someone who normally wears a 14.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
March 7, 2011
Very true to size and that was what I was nervous about. This was my first RTR experience and I am officially obsessed. I felt so great in this dress and received tons of compliments!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
March 16, 2011
I loved this dress! I received a lot of compliments. If you have a full bust you do need to order up a size. Very comfortable and great for dancing!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
March 21, 2011
I never review clothes I buy but this one I had to! I loved this dress! It was modern and chic all in one. I ordered the 2 and had the 4 as a backup. The 2 fit perfectly w/o a bra. I do have broader shoulders but the dress fit great. One thing to note was because the fabric was a bit thick the zipper wasn't the easiest to zip up. Needless to say I loved the dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
March 27, 2011
Loved this dress! Fit my body type perfectly (5'2", 120 lbs, 30F) and had good support in the chest. My fiance loved it too! And the length was perfect - I was concerned because I am short and often need to have dresses hemmed but this hit right above the knee. I danced for several hours and found it very comfortable. Looking forward to renting more Shoshanna dresses in the future.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
March 31, 2011
Perfect dress for my black tie optional event. Easy to wear and I didn't have to think too hard about eating too much because the dress fits around the waist effortlessly. Great dress.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
April 21, 2011
It was my inital order with RTR, and it arrived as promised in excellent condition. Sending it back was just as easy. I have no concerns about using RTR in the future, or recommending RTR to others!
I was very sad to send this dress back! The material was gorgeous, as was the cut and overall fit. The material was heavier than I expected, and had some great texture to it. Several people commented on how great the dress. I'm typically a size 4, but found the bust to be a little loose on me. Nothing major, but if ordering again, I would go with the size 2. Wore it with black strappy heels and silver jewelry for an awards dinner during early spring. Would pair just as well with nude heels.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138lbs
April 25, 2011
Dress was promptly delivered on the expected date, free garment bag was helpful in toting the dress to the wedding, and it was already dry cleaned & pressed when it arrived!
Classic color, beautiful modern shape! For those who are on the taller side like me, this dress was a tad bit short(shows off a lot of leg!)I wore this dress to a formal wedding and jazzed up the simple color and shape with a sexy pair of rhinestone peep toes, earrings and bracelets. Felt like a million bucks!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Body type: Hourglass
April 28, 2011
I love this dress! I wore this to a rehearsal dinner and got so many complements. The dress is so versatile and comfortable. I am going to rent it again!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
May 11, 2011
This dress is SUPER COMFORTABLE. There are other reviews that say this as well, and they are true. I wore this to a wedding and it was a huge hit. The length was perfect - I am tall and wore heels and did not feel inappropriate at all. I totally recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
June 3, 2011
Beautiful dress...perfect for a wedding shower (especially if it is yours) wore the cutest citron DVF suede heels- 4 is my size and it fit perfect
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Body type: Pear
June 6, 2011
I love this dress! I only received one size, a 10, and it fit perfectly. The zipper was a little finicky so I had to use some wax one the zipper to help it, but other than that, I have no complaints. The fabric of the dress was thicker than I expected, and it wasn't reflective at all. It seemed cotton-like and the textured pattern on the dress wasn't snakeskin-like at all, it was just textured. Just my opinion. Overall, I loved it, got compliments. Wore my highest stacked black pumps and Kenneth Jay Lanes' Jet Drop Earrings (and a ring of my own). Fabulous! I'm hooked on Shoshanna, and renting a one-shoulder again soon!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
June 12, 2011
Loved this dress! I wore it to a rehearsal dinner and got a lot of compliments. It was super comfortable dress and the pockets were fantastic!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 16, 2011
When I walked out in this dress for my engagement photo shoot, my fiancee, photographer, and friend all gave "WOWS". Can't ask for a better response!
This super is incredibly sophisticated and trendy. I wore it with gray leather heels and pearls. I usually wear a 0-2 and the 0 fit perfectly. My bust is a 34B and I wore a strapless bra without any problems. The pockets are huge though, exaggerating the size of the booty. Rent this dress to look chic and stylish. It's not terribly sexy, but it makes a bold statement.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 61
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
July 8, 2011
Great dress. So comfortable. Loved the pockets.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Body type: Hourglass
July 29, 2011
This dress was OK, and I ended up not wearing it because the shoulder material was unruly and wouldn't lie down to create a nice line from underarm to shoulder the way it looks on the model. It sort of lay over onto the chest area and no amount of steaming would fix it ... maybe it was the particular dress I received?? The size up looked a bit bulky ... I wouldn't rent this one again...it's a classy style, but not as beautiful as expected from all the glowing reviews. Best on athletic, slim builds, probably. It runs a little large, so if you're between a size, go with the smaller size.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
August 4, 2011
LOVE this dress! Runs true to size and looks great on! I thought it was going to be a little longer based on reviews but is a great length (middle of my thigh) which I love! You can dress it up or down. Great dress. Wish I owned this one!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
May 30, 2011
Choosing the dress!
This was such an amazing dress to rent. I had both the size 4 and size 6. The 4 was a touch too small, so I wore the 6 and used some fashion tape on the top. I wore this to a wedding this past weekend I received tons of compliments on it. I felt like a million bucks without having to spend a lot! Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
February 28, 2011
Fabulous!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Body type: Pear
September 3, 2011
I rented this dress for a wedding. I received so many compliments! The fit and length were both great. I normally wear between a size 8 and 10 and the 10 fit me better. Best part - POCKETS!!!!
See more reviews:
1 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×