Shoshanna

Vicious Venom Dress

$55 to buy
$370 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This Shoshanna dress is an elegant and classic silhouette done in a stand-out snake skin jacquard. Pair it with some stunning pumps for a sophisticated evening look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruched band - waist is flattering on all body types
HIPS: Not fitted - full tulip skirt
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8'')

Product Details

Navy metallic jacquard. Asymmetric neckline with ruching detail at shoulder. Ruched waistband. Gathered skirt. Hidden back zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
201 reviews
Fit
Large
(13)
True to Size
(162)
Small
(24)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
December 30, 2015
Perfect summer wedding guest dress

I wore this to an outdoor wedding in the summer and it was loose and airy enough to not get too hot! It also had pockets which were perfect to hold my camera in. I got a lot of compliments on it and would wear it again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
August 2, 2015
I loved wearing this dress!

This dress was perfect. It was fun to dance in and I loved the one shoulder look!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Body type: Pear
December 17, 2010

The dress is super cute and comfy but runs a bit large in the skirt. Consider that when ordering because the pockets make the hip area fuller. I would order a size or two down to compensate for the pockets and full skirt.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
April 21, 2011
It was my inital order with RTR, and it arrived as promised in excellent condition. Sending it back was just as easy. I have no concerns about using RTR in the future, or recommending RTR to others!

I was very sad to send this dress back! The material was gorgeous, as was the cut and overall fit. The material was heavier than I expected, and had some great texture to it. Several people commented on how great the dress. I'm typically a size 4, but found the bust to be a little loose on me. Nothing major, but if ordering again, I would go with the size 2. Wore it with black strappy heels and silver jewelry for an awards dinner during early spring. Would pair just as well with nude heels.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Body type: Hourglass
July 29, 2011

This dress was OK, and I ended up not wearing it because the shoulder material was unruly and wouldn't lie down to create a nice line from underarm to shoulder the way it looks on the model. It sort of lay over onto the chest area and no amount of steaming would fix it ... maybe it was the particular dress I received?? The size up looked a bit bulky ... I wouldn't rent this one again...it's a classy style, but not as beautiful as expected from all the glowing reviews. Best on athletic, slim builds, probably. It runs a little large, so if you're between a size, go with the smaller size.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
March 2, 2012
Better for more casual events

I ended up not wearing this dress because it wasn't formal enough. I didn't think it did much for my figure - it just kind of hung there. Also, it seemed very short on me - much shorter than in the picture. However, I loved the fabric and the pockets!

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
June 22, 2012
The detail in the packaging made the experience feel exclusive. Also, I had some questions about returning the dress, which were answered quickly and efficiently by customer service.

I wore this dress to a Saturday night wedding, and paired it with silver jewelry and pumps to dress it up. The texture of the material was unique, and had I been wearing it to a less formal affair, it would be fun to pair with colorful accessories. I ordered two sizes. I am usually a 2, but reviews said to order a size down as well, so I ordered a 0 as a back up. In our rush to get out the door to the wedding, I wore the size 2, assuming the 0 would be too tight. However afterwards realized that the 0 fit MUCH better. Oh well. The whole experience was easy and service was outstanding. My one and only complaint was that some of the piping had ripped through the inside of the dress making it uncomfortable. That's it though. Can't wait to RTR again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 31, 2012
Outstanding customer service : )

This was my first experience with Rent the Runway and I’m beyond pleased! Firstly, the dress does run a tad bit bigger, so I ordered down a size as a backup dress (size 2). RTR attempted to get in touch with me via email stating my backup size was unavailable; however, I did not reach them in time and they choose to send me a dress that was similar to the Vicious Venom Dress (Which I wasn’t ‘feeling,’ a little too ‘Housewives of New Jersey for me- if that’s what you’re going for, that’s cool, but it’s not me.). They allowed me to choose another dress FREE of charge for my event, which was a lovely Lilly Pulitzer (Bummer, this one ran too small!). I decided to wear the Vicious Venom and received loads of compliments on it. I shared my experience with my girlfriends who all thought I was ‘crazy’ for fessing up that I rented a dress, but I’m not one to NOT share a great deal!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 126lbs
August 24, 2012
Too wide

I rented this dress in a 4 and 6 and both were too big. When I tried this dress on the hips were super wide as if I was wearing riding pants. I was so bummed because this dress is very cute.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 18, 2012
Night out

I wore this dress for my bachelorette party and it was perfect. Every little detail was great, from the lining to the pockets. The dress is really comfortable and could be dressed up or down. It was a bit roomy in the bust and I would have likely fit better in one size down (a size 4). Normally I wear a size 6-8 dress. I would recommend ordering your size and one size smaller. I wore it with a beautiful bangle that I rented as well and it was a hit! Made me feel beautiful and I got tons of compliments and likely won over some more new customers for RTR. Highly recommend this rental!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 11, 2013
I felt comfortable in this dress and I knew no one else would have it.

I ordered a 2 and 4 both were pretty large on me. Next time I would order a 2 and a 0.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
December 14, 2014
Cute Dress, But Not For Me

This dress was a bit daring for me, as I usually don't like to wear strapless/one shoulder type dresses. I was excited to try it on when it arrived, but found problems with it from the start. The zipper on my dress would not zip or unzip smoothly when I took it off the hanger to try on, and it didn't get any easier when I put the dress on. This dress fit nicely everywhere but the bust for me. There was so much extra room on top, there was no way I could have made it work for my body.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
July 28, 2011

The S was falling off my 127 lbs frame, and the wide cut hips did nothing to flatter. Disappointed I had to return without wearing, despite two consults with the fit specialists.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
April 28, 2013
I love this dress so much that I have already worn it to 2 weddings! Need I say more?

The top was a little big under my arm but overall I love this dress. It's awesome that it has pockets too. I got lots of compliments on the dress and you can dress it up or throw on some flipflops as I did for an outdoor grassy wedding. Definitely recommend and know I will be renting this again (oops I already did). It's navy not black!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 5, 2012
nice dress

the dress is pretty basic but pretty fabric and flattering for most figures.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 19, 2011

I wore this dress to a black tie optional fall wedding. I received a ton of compliments on it. It was extremely comfortable and classy, but I was thankful I ordered a size up as a backup because it was hard to zip over the banded waist.

SarahOctober 19, 2011
What size did you rent and end up wearing?
G MillerOctober 19, 2011
Size 8
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 16, 2012

I really enjoyed this dress, especially because my last RTR dress didn't fit me very well. The fit is tight in the bust if you actually have something there, which is why I wore the 6 instead of the 4. It was comfortable to wear all night long and looked great, plus it's nice to have pockets!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
July 23, 2012
tight around the bust

Hi, This one did not work. It was way to tight around my 34 D's. Sadly, I could not zip it up around them.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
August 17, 2012
Classic updated

This dress is a fabulous color and very comfortable. It ran small in the chest area so I went with the two. Great for formal weddings as well as weddings you are not too sure how to dress. It can be decked up or worn casually.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
August 26, 2012
Runs small

Runs very small. Very cute dress. Loved the fabric and the look! Order one or two sizes up. I was not able to wear the dress unfortunately.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
August 20, 2012
Wedding Dress

I did not wear the dress because it did not fit me in the chest area.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
October 8, 2012
Cute dress, but did not fit in the bust

Cute dress, but did not fit in the bust

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 147lbs
October 21, 2012
Back up :( didn't end up wearing

It was a bit tighter in the chest area. I had another dress by same designer and had a hard time zipping up even though they were the same size. I ordered this as my extra dress just in case. Didn't end up wearing.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 31, 2012
Fun party dress

I normally wear a size 2 but in this I wore a 4. The skirt was a little fuller than I anticipated, but it was a very cute dress and I got many compliments.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 15, 2012
This was a good basic dress--- sort of wish a picked something riskier for a rental!

Nice dress, nice fabric. The pattern in the fabric isn't visible unless you're really up close, needs to be dressed up with accessories. Love the pockets.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 6, 2013
Little snug in hips

Im an hourglass shape and I thought this was a little snug in the hips. This designer seems to fit differently based on the top of the dress (at least for me), The one shoulder dresses seems to run a little small, where as the tubetop style dresses seem to fit true to size. Glad I ordered a 2 and a 4 but I probably could have even used a 6. I still wore it and looked great.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 14, 2013
Great dress for a variety of occasions.

I'm not a tall girl by any stretch and I think this dress was a little shorter on me than pictured, but not too short by any means. The dress fit awesome through the waist, hips and legs, but the top runs really small in my opinion. I'm a 34C, so by no means very large chested, and it was a struggle to zip it up around when the zipper reached that point. I also couldn't fit a strapless bra underneath and there was some tightness through the armpit area. Great dress, but think about sizing up if you are my bra size or bigger.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
May 16, 2013
loved this dress. it fit great, was comfortable and the pockets were a nice plus!

it fit well. i'm normally between a 2 and a 4 but definitiely needed the 4 for length/comfort in the bust area. i'd recommend going a size up

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
May 20, 2013
Great dress for a wedding!

This one shoulder dress can be dressed up nicely with great jewelry, it did run small on the rib cage and I had to go up a size but the length was great and the pockets were a nice touch! I danced all night in this and it needed no pulling up or tugging, it stayed in place all night and was super comfy! The snakeskin look gave it some sexy!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 132lbs
November 12, 2013
Love this service but wish I picked different dresses

I wanted to wear the size 4 in this (2 was too small) but the zipper did not zip. I wore my back up which was cute anyway. Bummed about this one though.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 28, 2014
Strange Fit

I really wanted this dress to work but it just wasn't right and I didnt end up wearing it. I gained a few pounds and went up a size to be on the safe side but it still didn't fit. It is tight in the bust and just didnt sit right around my chest when it was zipped up. My husband thought it was a cute dress until I sat down while trying it on. The lining in the dress is fairly tight and makes it very diffucult to sit and poofs up around the hips and midsection when doing so. I ended up wearing my backup dress, Lace and Love Dress which I rented several times before. If you are looking for a classy one shoulder dress than go with that one.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 15, 2014
Loved the style, but it ran a bit small and was shorter than I expected.

I should have ordered the size up, but it was unavailable for the date I needed it so I decided to chance it. The dress still worked--I just needed to wear flats and had to be very careful when sitting down!

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
September 21, 2014
I really loved this dress!

I usually wear a 4, and it was just a little small in the bust. I loved the pockets and the texture of the fabric. Easy to dress up or down with accessories.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
October 7, 2014
Rental and return process could not have been easier. Highly recommend!

Dress fit the bill 100%! It was a little snug in the rib cage and the butt, but overall was very comfortable. Having pockets in the dress meant I didn't have to carry a purse or wallet. I wore it with nude pumps and pearl chandelier earrings. My boyfriend gave the entire look two big thumbs up. The overall experience could not have been easier or more pleasant. The hardest part was finding a UPS drop box in the hills of Pennsylvania. Also, I now I have two extra dress hangers and a garment bag, which are always nice to have. I would definitely rent again; it was worth every penny!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
January 8, 2015
Small in the chest

Sadly, I didn't have an opportunity to wear this. I'm usually a size 8/10 in dresses, but this was too small on the top in the size 10. The dress itself is very pretty, and the fabric looks really good on.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
September 30, 2013
Beautiful, but awkward fit

I rented this for a wedding, but ended up wearing something else. It's a beautiful dress, but the fit was a little odd. what you can't see in the photo is that it is super puffy on the skirt, but then the hem comes close to your body. Hard to explain, but it just didn't make the cut this time around.

Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
April 14, 2014
Beautiful dress, but busty girls should size up!!!!

I wanted this dress to work so bad, but it wasn't even close to fitting. The bodice has zero stretch, so busty girls beware! I am a 36D and usually between a size 10 & 12. I ordered only the 10 because a 12 wasn't available, and it was the smallest size 10 I have ever tried on in my life. It almost seemed mis-labeled. So sad! I think I would have loved this dress had I been able to zip it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
June 23, 2014
Cute, simple dress

I typically wear a 4 in Shoshanna but for some reason this was INCREDIBLY snug on me so I didn't end up wearing it. Maybe I was having a hefty day but I would size up for your backup size. This is a cute dress for a casual event, not suitable for a more formal affair which I didn't realize upon renting.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
September 28, 2012
Great dress! Ran a little small.

The dress was cute! I wore it to a masquerade themed event (mask not pictured). I loved the side cut out's to add a different twist to a basic black dress. It did run small, I usually wear a 2 and had to wear the 4. It fit perfectly enough. I was happily able to wear a bra and it didn't show on the sides. The V is a little low but not an issue where my bra showed and I was comfortable showing off my "assets." Ha! My only complaint is the dress fit so perfectly, I almost got worried I wouldn't be comfortable sitting to eat in it but in the end, it was fine. It definitely showed off my cleavage more then I was expecting, but overall, I was happy.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 20, 2010

This dress is amazing! If you have a larger bust, then order a size up. (Other than the chest, the dress fits true to size). I wore this to a premiere film screening and received a lot of compliments. A classy, sexy, versatile little number!

See more reviews:
1 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×