Shoshanna

Vicious Venom Dress

$55 to buy
$370 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This Shoshanna dress is an elegant and classic silhouette done in a stand-out snake skin jacquard. Pair it with some stunning pumps for a sophisticated evening look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruched band - waist is flattering on all body types
HIPS: Not fitted - full tulip skirt
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8'')

Product Details

Navy metallic jacquard. Asymmetric neckline with ruching detail at shoulder. Ruched waistband. Gathered skirt. Hidden back zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
201 reviews
Fit
Large
(13)
True to Size
(162)
Small
(24)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 131lbs
December 8, 2012
Loved this dress!! very flattering and comfortable!!
I usually and between and 4 and 6 in Shoshanna and I wore the 4. Very comfortable. I loved the pockets. You won't regret renting this dress. I will definately re-rent or maybe even buy this one!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 11, 2012
It was so comfortable and looked amazing Loved the pockets
I'm slightly between sizes so the 8 was a little tight to wear with a bra, but the 10 was a bit large in the chest area. With a strapless bra it made it a bit more snug and I used some of the fashion tape they send to make sure it didn't slip too low and show my bra when I was dancing! Overall it was amazing and I will definitely use again!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
December 17, 2012
super cute!
This dress was adorable and fit well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
December 28, 2012
Fun, classy dress that fit well
I wore this dress for my boyfriend's work holiday party. It was fun yet still looked classic. It fit wonderfully and I felt comfortable in it all night, even while dancing. I received many compliments.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110lbs
December 28, 2012
Having two sizes to chose from is brilliant!
I ordered this for a friend's wedding last summer and it was perfect. The fabric is substantial enough that it doesn't cling and the subtle print is really pretty. I ordered a 2 and a 0, tried them both on and was going to wear the 2 until I switched at the last minute. There isn't much give in the waist/chest area but since I'm tiny up top the 0 just looked a lot better.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 28, 2012
Very comfortable and well fitting dress!
How can you not love a dress with pockets?!?! I loved this dress. It was a little shorter than I'm used to wearing (and I'm relatively short at 5'3"). But I loved the one shoulder top - it is very flattering. Got a ton of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 8, 2013
Gorgeous!
This dress is so much better in person. The snake skin like pattern has a slight sheen to it making it special. The weight of the fabric is a little heavier so great to wear for fall and winter. The A-symetric cut of the top is beautiful, and the body has boning in it to still give it structure. Unfortuntley, I'm a little worried about my lack of arm tone, and just didn't feel this was flattering on me. But it is gorgeous! Maybe if I tone my arms up a bit, I'll rent again :)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 16, 2013
amazingg
It fit amazing. Everybody complimented the dress. It looked and fit and felt amazing. Would recommend to anybody
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
January 31, 2013
I got a lot of compliments on the dress!
Fits really well and is super comfortable. I had to go a size up but I am in between a 6 and 8, so that might just be how this designer fits. The navy is so dark, it can really pass for black. You can hardly tell it is blue. The fabric is so nice, it really hugs your body well and is well made. Pockets are always nice too!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
February 5, 2013
One shoulder dress rocked!
I am 5.4" and 115lbs. I ordered a size 2 and it fit perfect! I also ordered the 0 b/c of the reviews I read, and the 0 was too small and too short. The dress is a gorgeous excellent quality fabric and very well made. It was perfect!
KateFebruary 5, 2013
Do you have a closer image of the jewelry you paired with this dress?? thanks; you look gorgeous!
LisaFebruary 5, 2013
I wore a very simple & elegant Tiffany "diamonds by the yard" 30" necklace. And paired it with diamond drop earrings. Lastly, I wore a chunky silver bangle on each wrist. I hope that helps. It was a great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
January 11, 2013
New Years Eve at the Kennedy Center
The dress fit great, and was a good length for someone my height, not too long, not too short. There isn't much stretch, so be aware of that.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
October 10, 2012
Great Dress!
This dress is really beautiful and a great color. It could be worn in the summer or in the winter with tights. It was great for the wedding I went to and I would recommend it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 23, 2013
Feeling pretty all night
The dress fit true to size like the other Shoshana dress I rented. The only con I had was that the skirt was a little fuller than what is shown in the pic with the model.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
February 28, 2013
Good for wedding.
The color is a bit more blue than I had expected, but overall the dress was flattering and perfect for a semi-formal wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 5, 2013
This worked great for a black tie event that we had to attend. Its a great dress, love the pattern!
The top is a little large so I wore a 2 instead of my normal 4, but the skirt leaves room and has a cute little bubble to it
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
March 5, 2013
Loved this dress, and it has pockets!
Fit well, I work the size 8 which is typical for me. A little short but I am 5'9". Somewhat plain, i thought more of the blue color would come out but you can easily dress it up with accessories.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 123lbs
March 6, 2013
Basic, but cute
I wore this to a wedding in October. It was basic and fit well. Its a good length that makes it easy to dance in. If you've rented shoshanna before, it fits the same as the rest of their dresses.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
March 8, 2013
I loved this dress, but unfortunately, it didn't fit
The pattern on this dress is gorgeous and the dress is super cute. I reallly wanted to wear it - and it would have been perfect for the wedding I attended. However, the bust was just too small. I'm sure a 4 would have been perfect, but it wasn't available at the time, so I gambled with the 2. RTR, being great with customer service, gave me a credit for the dress. I may rent it again in the future in a 4, as I know it would be comfortable and look great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
March 11, 2013
Fit really well - the dress looked even better than i thought!
the bust area fit well
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 9, 2013
Used this dress for a birthday party!
The fit was great, I usually wear a size four but got the six as well just in case and ended up wearing the four. Loved it and my date loved it! It is hard to zip up so just make sure the dress is centered on your body, that makes it easier.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 16, 2013
Great dress for a formal occasion!
slimming and true to size. lower part of the dress isn't tight so it allows for great movement. really enjoyed wearing this one!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
May 1, 2013
This dress was a great rental.
Pros: The material was beautiful and the dress was not too dressy or too casual. I wore it out to dinner so I didn't dress it up too much. This is a classic little black dress, but the one shoulder gives it a modern look. I would buy this dress. The top was tight as other reviewers mentioned. Also, the zipper was very difficult to open and close. Once the dress was on it was fairly comfortable. I was concerned the dress might be too short, however, the only time that was an issue was when sitting down.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 13, 2013
Love this dress! First time renting and would totally do it again!
The dress was perfect for the wedding i went to. I got a ton of compliments and even though it was very simple up close it had a great design. It was very comfortable and would totally rent it again. I went a size up (10) since i have larger hips and butt, and the smaller one (8) was just a little bit tighter than i liked which also made it shorter on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
June 5, 2013
Comfortable and great fit!
I wore this for a work gala event and received multiple compliments throughout the night. It fit perfectly and was comfortable so I could enjoy the entire evening.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
June 17, 2013
Perfect dress for a perfect wedding at the National Cathedral.
This dress was incredible and I felt more gorgeous than I have in a long time! I chose it because I thought it would flatter my chest and shoulders and cover my stomach. I was totally right. It was a nice change from a little black dress - it's a very dark navy with a textured fabric. It was stunning with gray accessories, the perfect length (read: not too short) and most importantly, it had pockets! I wear between a 10 and a 12, got both sizes and thought the 12 was a bit too roomy. I couldn't recommend this highly enough!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
June 20, 2013
Cute dress
I wore this for a wedding. It was perfect. It's simple but pretty modern design. I just bling myself with big jewelry.The dress has pockets. It was a nice plus.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
September 5, 2013
Tough zipper but nice dress
I ordered this as my backup dress and did not end up wearing it, but it was a really close call as it looked lovely on while still being comfortable and forgiving. I have worn a 6 in Shoshanna in the past though I find her 6's to sometimes be too big on the bottom and too tight on the top--this fit just right. Would rent again. Agree with comments, however, about the zipper, it is very difficult to zip where the swaths of fabric meet.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
September 9, 2013
Great dress for a fall wedding!
Great length--not too short or long. The jacquard fabric and blue color stood out much more in person. Very classy dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
September 10, 2013
Pretty dress, tough zipper!
Rented for wedding, I'm tall so the dress was a little shorter than I had wanted but not inappropriately so. Didn't realize the dress had pockets initially, but definitely makes it handy at a wedding when you don't want to carry a purse! The zipper was insanely hard to zip, and the one shoulder strap kinda dug into my shoulder a little bit which made it slightly uncomfortable but for the most part it was a nice, standard dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 30, 2013
This dress fit so well, I felt amazing.
The fit was perfect at the waste and bust. The fabric and the print are really fun. I actually wore it to a halloween party with a mask and got a ton of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 17, 2013
Great dress!
This dress got a lot of compliments and was perfect for the wedding I attended. Needed little accessorizing other than nice earrings. Fit was true to size but it was a little tight around the bust. I have a larger chest and i felt that the side without the sleeve came down a little lower than I would have liked but nothing a little fashion tape could not solve. I would definitely rent this again :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 31, 2013
The dress fit great and I loved that the skirt wasn't skin tight.
Tight fit up top but always you to wear any strapless bra. Full skirt so if you have some hips, you can still fit perfectly in this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
November 5, 2013
Easy Dress
This is the most comfortable, flattering, and easy dress. Easy to accessorize, and the color is perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
December 3, 2013
Adorable little dress!
I am 5'10...this was a teensy bit short! But, all in all, it was perfect. Loved it and got so many compliments. Loved the pockets!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
December 6, 2013
good fall/winter party dress
I love Shoshanna dresses - they're cute, well-made, and are a great fit for petites. The Vicious Venom dress is no exception. I loved the subtle navy on black snakeskin pattern, and the thicker fabric was perfect for a winter party (I'm *always* cold, and was warm enough with tights under the dress). The only downside was that the skirt poofs out from the waist and then curves back in a bit, which can make your lower half look larger than it is. Other than that, I loved wearing it and felt very occasion-appropriate at a company party.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 26, 2011
I loved this dress. Was perfect for an evening wedding, the 4 fit like a glove and didnt require any fancy underthings. love!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
December 27, 2013
Perfect fit and comfort!
Subtle pattern is great. Only problem was that there was a rip on the interior of one of the pockets and along the zipper but was still able to wear the dress without any problems.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
January 11, 2014
Beautiful dress, appropriate for a wedding but still sexy!!
I got so many compliments on this dress, I felt like I was stylish while staying appropriate for a wedding with my boyfriend's family. The color is a dark navy, almost black, making it great for a formal affair as well! I had the 10 and 12 shipped to me, both fit but I went with the 10.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
February 3, 2014
Loved it!
I wore for a retirement party at the Country Club. It was perfect for the event and really made me confident. I would wear it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
February 19, 2014
Great Fit and Color!
I wore this dress to the wedding of one of my boyfriend's friends. The wedding was in August, in Austin, TX, which means it is going to be hot out! The dress was luckily really lightweight for the ceremony, so I wasn't stressed out about sweating through my dress. I ordered a 4 and a 6 and ended up wearing the 4 (which is my usual size). The dress fit perfectly. It was really comfortable for dancing the night away and I loved the subtle print on the dress, as well as the navy color. I'll definitely rent this again for another occasion.
See more reviews:
4 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×