Shoshanna

Vicious Venom Dress

$55 to buy
$370 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This Shoshanna dress is an elegant and classic silhouette done in a stand-out snake skin jacquard. Pair it with some stunning pumps for a sophisticated evening look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruched band - waist is flattering on all body types
HIPS: Not fitted - full tulip skirt
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8'')

Product Details

Navy metallic jacquard. Asymmetric neckline with ruching detail at shoulder. Ruched waistband. Gathered skirt. Hidden back zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
201 reviews
Fit
Large
(13)
True to Size
(163)
Small
(23)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 11, 2013
I felt comfortable in this dress and I knew no one else would have it.
I ordered a 2 and 4 both were pretty large on me. Next time I would order a 2 and a 0.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 14, 2013
Great dress for a variety of occasions.
I'm not a tall girl by any stretch and I think this dress was a little shorter on me than pictured, but not too short by any means. The dress fit awesome through the waist, hips and legs, but the top runs really small in my opinion. I'm a 34C, so by no means very large chested, and it was a struggle to zip it up around when the zipper reached that point. I also couldn't fit a strapless bra underneath and there was some tightness through the armpit area. Great dress, but think about sizing up if you are my bra size or bigger.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 9, 2013
Used this dress for a birthday party!
The fit was great, I usually wear a size four but got the six as well just in case and ended up wearing the four. Loved it and my date loved it! It is hard to zip up so just make sure the dress is centered on your body, that makes it easier.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 16, 2013
Great dress for a formal occasion!
slimming and true to size. lower part of the dress isn't tight so it allows for great movement. really enjoyed wearing this one!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
May 1, 2013
This dress was a great rental.
Pros: The material was beautiful and the dress was not too dressy or too casual. I wore it out to dinner so I didn't dress it up too much. This is a classic little black dress, but the one shoulder gives it a modern look. I would buy this dress. The top was tight as other reviewers mentioned. Also, the zipper was very difficult to open and close. Once the dress was on it was fairly comfortable. I was concerned the dress might be too short, however, the only time that was an issue was when sitting down.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 13, 2013
Love this dress! First time renting and would totally do it again!
The dress was perfect for the wedding i went to. I got a ton of compliments and even though it was very simple up close it had a great design. It was very comfortable and would totally rent it again. I went a size up (10) since i have larger hips and butt, and the smaller one (8) was just a little bit tighter than i liked which also made it shorter on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
May 16, 2013
loved this dress. it fit great, was comfortable and the pockets were a nice plus!
it fit well. i'm normally between a 2 and a 4 but definitiely needed the 4 for length/comfort in the bust area. i'd recommend going a size up
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
May 20, 2013
Great dress for a wedding!
This one shoulder dress can be dressed up nicely with great jewelry, it did run small on the rib cage and I had to go up a size but the length was great and the pockets were a nice touch! I danced all night in this and it needed no pulling up or tugging, it stayed in place all night and was super comfy! The snakeskin look gave it some sexy!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
June 5, 2013
Comfortable and great fit!
I wore this for a work gala event and received multiple compliments throughout the night. It fit perfectly and was comfortable so I could enjoy the entire evening.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
June 17, 2013
Perfect dress for a perfect wedding at the National Cathedral.
This dress was incredible and I felt more gorgeous than I have in a long time! I chose it because I thought it would flatter my chest and shoulders and cover my stomach. I was totally right. It was a nice change from a little black dress - it's a very dark navy with a textured fabric. It was stunning with gray accessories, the perfect length (read: not too short) and most importantly, it had pockets! I wear between a 10 and a 12, got both sizes and thought the 12 was a bit too roomy. I couldn't recommend this highly enough!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
June 20, 2013
Cute dress
I wore this for a wedding. It was perfect. It's simple but pretty modern design. I just bling myself with big jewelry.The dress has pockets. It was a nice plus.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
September 5, 2013
Tough zipper but nice dress
I ordered this as my backup dress and did not end up wearing it, but it was a really close call as it looked lovely on while still being comfortable and forgiving. I have worn a 6 in Shoshanna in the past though I find her 6's to sometimes be too big on the bottom and too tight on the top--this fit just right. Would rent again. Agree with comments, however, about the zipper, it is very difficult to zip where the swaths of fabric meet.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
September 9, 2013
Great dress for a fall wedding!
Great length--not too short or long. The jacquard fabric and blue color stood out much more in person. Very classy dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
September 10, 2013
Pretty dress, tough zipper!
Rented for wedding, I'm tall so the dress was a little shorter than I had wanted but not inappropriately so. Didn't realize the dress had pockets initially, but definitely makes it handy at a wedding when you don't want to carry a purse! The zipper was insanely hard to zip, and the one shoulder strap kinda dug into my shoulder a little bit which made it slightly uncomfortable but for the most part it was a nice, standard dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 30, 2013
This dress fit so well, I felt amazing.
The fit was perfect at the waste and bust. The fabric and the print are really fun. I actually wore it to a halloween party with a mask and got a ton of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
October 17, 2013
Great dress!
This dress got a lot of compliments and was perfect for the wedding I attended. Needed little accessorizing other than nice earrings. Fit was true to size but it was a little tight around the bust. I have a larger chest and i felt that the side without the sleeve came down a little lower than I would have liked but nothing a little fashion tape could not solve. I would definitely rent this again :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 31, 2013
The dress fit great and I loved that the skirt wasn't skin tight.
Tight fit up top but always you to wear any strapless bra. Full skirt so if you have some hips, you can still fit perfectly in this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
November 5, 2013
Easy Dress
This is the most comfortable, flattering, and easy dress. Easy to accessorize, and the color is perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 132lbs
November 12, 2013
Love this service but wish I picked different dresses
I wanted to wear the size 4 in this (2 was too small) but the zipper did not zip. I wore my back up which was cute anyway. Bummed about this one though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
December 3, 2013
Adorable little dress!
I am 5'10...this was a teensy bit short! But, all in all, it was perfect. Loved it and got so many compliments. Loved the pockets!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
December 6, 2013
good fall/winter party dress
I love Shoshanna dresses - they're cute, well-made, and are a great fit for petites. The Vicious Venom dress is no exception. I loved the subtle navy on black snakeskin pattern, and the thicker fabric was perfect for a winter party (I'm *always* cold, and was warm enough with tights under the dress). The only downside was that the skirt poofs out from the waist and then curves back in a bit, which can make your lower half look larger than it is. Other than that, I loved wearing it and felt very occasion-appropriate at a company party.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 26, 2011
I loved this dress. Was perfect for an evening wedding, the 4 fit like a glove and didnt require any fancy underthings. love!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
December 27, 2013
Perfect fit and comfort!
Subtle pattern is great. Only problem was that there was a rip on the interior of one of the pockets and along the zipper but was still able to wear the dress without any problems.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
January 11, 2014
Beautiful dress, appropriate for a wedding but still sexy!!
I got so many compliments on this dress, I felt like I was stylish while staying appropriate for a wedding with my boyfriend's family. The color is a dark navy, almost black, making it great for a formal affair as well! I had the 10 and 12 shipped to me, both fit but I went with the 10.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
February 3, 2014
Loved it!
I wore for a retirement party at the Country Club. It was perfect for the event and really made me confident. I would wear it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
February 19, 2014
Great Fit and Color!
I wore this dress to the wedding of one of my boyfriend's friends. The wedding was in August, in Austin, TX, which means it is going to be hot out! The dress was luckily really lightweight for the ceremony, so I wasn't stressed out about sweating through my dress. I ordered a 4 and a 6 and ended up wearing the 4 (which is my usual size). The dress fit perfectly. It was really comfortable for dancing the night away and I loved the subtle print on the dress, as well as the navy color. I'll definitely rent this again for another occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
May 9, 2014
Gorgeous... Pics don't do it justice
I had a zipper issue with my original choice plus the additional challenge of being pregnant. This dress was so comfortable fun and made me feel like a million bucks when inside I was exhausted!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 28, 2014
Strange Fit
I really wanted this dress to work but it just wasn't right and I didnt end up wearing it. I gained a few pounds and went up a size to be on the safe side but it still didn't fit. It is tight in the bust and just didnt sit right around my chest when it was zipped up. My husband thought it was a cute dress until I sat down while trying it on. The lining in the dress is fairly tight and makes it very diffucult to sit and poofs up around the hips and midsection when doing so. I ended up wearing my backup dress, Lace and Love Dress which I rented several times before. If you are looking for a classy one shoulder dress than go with that one.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 15, 2014
Loved the style, but it ran a bit small and was shorter than I expected.
I should have ordered the size up, but it was unavailable for the date I needed it so I decided to chance it. The dress still worked--I just needed to wear flats and had to be very careful when sitting down!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 24, 2014
Gorgeous for a summer wedding!
Got so many compliments! Really easy to move in and comfortable. I was worried the 4 top might be a little loose but the 2 was tight on my hips. It was perfect for hitting the dance floor and for looking elegant at the ceremony.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
July 31, 2014
This dress was so comfy and it fit perfectly.
I am 5' 10" and usually wear a size 8 or 10 so it is difficult to find dresses that are long enough. This dress was perfect! I love it and I would totally rent it again!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
October 6, 2011
Very easy fit, true to size. Comfortable room in bust, fitted at the waist and not too tight in the hips. Hit a little lower than mid-thigh
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155lbs
September 9, 2014
This dress was perfect for a beach wedding!
This dress was very comfortable to wear for an entire wedding, dancing and all. My only con would be, that it was snug around the rib cage. And if you have boobs larger than my A, I would size up, for sure.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129lbs
September 13, 2014
Fun, flattering and comfortable!
The dress fit well, and was comfortable. The one strap made it fun, and the cinched waist makes it flattering.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
September 21, 2014
I really loved this dress!
I usually wear a 4, and it was just a little small in the bust. I loved the pockets and the texture of the fabric. Easy to dress up or down with accessories.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
October 7, 2014
Rental and return process could not have been easier. Highly recommend!
Dress fit the bill 100%! It was a little snug in the rib cage and the butt, but overall was very comfortable. Having pockets in the dress meant I didn't have to carry a purse or wallet. I wore it with nude pumps and pearl chandelier earrings. My boyfriend gave the entire look two big thumbs up. The overall experience could not have been easier or more pleasant. The hardest part was finding a UPS drop box in the hills of Pennsylvania. Also, I now I have two extra dress hangers and a garment bag, which are always nice to have. I would definitely rent again; it was worth every penny!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 107lbs
November 4, 2014
quality of construction
doesn't wrinkle
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
December 9, 2014
Great for a fall wedding. Received compliments all night!
Fabric did show some visible signs of wear and tear and was a bit tight around the waist. Overall pretty comfortable to dance in all night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
December 14, 2014
Cute Dress, But Not For Me
This dress was a bit daring for me, as I usually don't like to wear strapless/one shoulder type dresses. I was excited to try it on when it arrived, but found problems with it from the start. The zipper on my dress would not zip or unzip smoothly when I took it off the hanger to try on, and it didn't get any easier when I put the dress on. This dress fit nicely everywhere but the bust for me. There was so much extra room on top, there was no way I could have made it work for my body.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
January 8, 2015
Small in the chest
Sadly, I didn't have an opportunity to wear this. I'm usually a size 8/10 in dresses, but this was too small on the top in the size 10. The dress itself is very pretty, and the fabric looks really good on.
See more reviews:
4 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×