Vicious Venom Dress

$55 to buy
$370 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This Shoshanna dress is an elegant and classic silhouette done in a stand-out snake skin jacquard. Pair it with some stunning pumps for a sophisticated evening look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruched band - waist is flattering on all body types
HIPS: Not fitted - full tulip skirt
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8'')

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruched band - waist is flattering on all body types
HIPS: Not fitted - full tulip skirt
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8'')

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy metallic jacquard. Asymmetric neckline with ruching detail at shoulder. Ruched waistband. Gathered skirt. Hidden back zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
201 reviews
Fit
Large
(13)
True to Size
(163)
Small
(23)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
August 20, 2012
Wedding Dress
I did not wear the dress because it did not fit me in the chest area.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
August 20, 2012
"You rented that dress? It fits you so well!"
I ordered this dress in a size 4 as a complete back up and it ended up fitting much better than the other Shoshanna dress I ordered. I got lots of complaints on the dress, which fit perfectly. It was comfortable and a great length. I would recommend this dress, especially if you have some hips like I do!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
August 17, 2012
Classic updated
This dress is a fabulous color and very comfortable. It ran small in the chest area so I went with the two. Great for formal weddings as well as weddings you are not too sure how to dress. It can be decked up or worn casually.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
August 12, 2012
Great Dress to Wear to Wedding
I wore this dress to a winter wedding. It fit great and I had a lot of compliments on it! I typically wear a 4 in dresses, so it was true to size. Didn't have any problems with the zipper or fit of the dress. Highly recommended.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
August 10, 2012
Bachelorette Party
I wore this for my bachelorette party and it fit like a glove! Arrived in time and in perfect condition couldnt have been more pleased!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 31, 2012
Outstanding customer service : )
This was my first experience with Rent the Runway and I’m beyond pleased! Firstly, the dress does run a tad bit bigger, so I ordered down a size as a backup dress (size 2). RTR attempted to get in touch with me via email stating my backup size was unavailable; however, I did not reach them in time and they choose to send me a dress that was similar to the Vicious Venom Dress (Which I wasn’t ‘feeling,’ a little too ‘Housewives of New Jersey for me- if that’s what you’re going for, that’s cool, but it’s not me.). They allowed me to choose another dress FREE of charge for my event, which was a lovely Lilly Pulitzer (Bummer, this one ran too small!). I decided to wear the Vicious Venom and received loads of compliments on it. I shared my experience with my girlfriends who all thought I was ‘crazy’ for fessing up that I rented a dress, but I’m not one to NOT share a great deal!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
July 23, 2012
tight around the bust
Hi, This one did not work. It was way to tight around my 34 D's. Sadly, I could not zip it up around them.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
July 16, 2012
Loved it!
Fits true to size, I'm curvy and the size 10 fit perfect without gapping or pulling. Material was heavier than expected, nicely lined.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
July 2, 2012
Love, love, love!
I loved this dress! I wore this dress for a wedding reception and absolutely loved it. I got so many compliments on it and felt amazing. There was nothing that I didn't love about it.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
June 22, 2012
The detail in the packaging made the experience feel exclusive. Also, I had some questions about returning the dress, which were answered quickly and efficiently by customer service.
I wore this dress to a Saturday night wedding, and paired it with silver jewelry and pumps to dress it up. The texture of the material was unique, and had I been wearing it to a less formal affair, it would be fun to pair with colorful accessories. I ordered two sizes. I am usually a 2, but reviews said to order a size down as well, so I ordered a 0 as a back up. In our rush to get out the door to the wedding, I wore the size 2, assuming the 0 would be too tight. However afterwards realized that the 0 fit MUCH better. Oh well. The whole experience was easy and service was outstanding. My one and only complaint was that some of the piping had ripped through the inside of the dress making it uncomfortable. That's it though. Can't wait to RTR again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 16, 2012
Felt so pretty!
Loved this dress!! I don't usually wear one shoulder because I always think I have arm pit fat. This dress didn't dip too low beneath my arm pit and didn't make any excess skin pop out like some do (does that make any sense?) Was so flattering and got compliments all night! LOVED THIS DRESS! I wore it to a January wedding
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 16, 2012
I really enjoyed this dress, especially because my last RTR dress didn't fit me very well. The fit is tight in the bust if you actually have something there, which is why I wore the 6 instead of the 4. It was comfortable to wear all night long and looked great, plus it's nice to have pockets!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 136lbs
March 26, 2012
fun n fab
great dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
March 2, 2012
Better for more casual events
I ended up not wearing this dress because it wasn't formal enough. I didn't think it did much for my figure - it just kind of hung there. Also, it seemed very short on me - much shorter than in the picture. However, I loved the fabric and the pockets!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 27, 2012
Not for me
The dress is beautiful and the material is pretty thick. The top fit perfectly, however, there seemed to be extra material at the hips. Maybe it's because I really don't have hips and there is Evers material there due to the pockets. The dress is nice but this didn't flatter my body at all.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
February 23, 2012
Wish I owned this dress
I LOVED this dress. I wore it to a wedding of a family friend and it was long enough to not be inappropriate, but still a few inches above my knee so it was cute. Even my mom said she wished I owned this dress. I always wear a 6 and the 6 fit perfectly. I didn't even try on the backup size 8. I'm a little bigger around the ribcage so it was snug, but not uncomfortable. I chose to not wear a bra with it and the material was fitted and thick enough not to matter. The fabric was really interesting without being an overpowering snakeskin material. I wore with bright orange pumps and orange jewel earrings and got tons of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
February 23, 2012
The dress made me feel like a million dollars as I would probably never spend over $100 on a dress for any occasion (except my upcoming wedding). RTR gives women the opportunity to feel great about themselves without spending a fortune on something they may never wear more than once!
I rented this dress for my fiance and I's belated valentine's night. I was overly pleased with the promptness that the dress was shipped as I was slightly worried because I live in a remote part of the country. The dress fit like a glove. I rented the 4 and the 6 because I am really between sizes these days but the 4 was perfect (and made me feel really good about myself)!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
February 6, 2012
Not perfect but still great
The RTR process is fantastic. No fuss, no hassle and so easy! This dress fits true to size but had a slight 'poof' off of the cinched waist. For a pear shape, it added width where it wasn't needed (the pockets probably contributed to that). Otherwise it's a great dress.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
January 28, 2012
Better than I expected!
The fabric looks stiff, but is actually has just the right amount of flexibility. very comfortable and classy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
January 20, 2012
I received compliments all night! And knowing my new addiction, everyone asked if it was RTR!
This was actually my backup dress, but I loved it so much I wore it instead! The fabric is luxurious in person, and the dress is super comfortable. It runs very true to size. I definitely recommend it to anyone! I also loved the pockets. :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
December 14, 2011
Stunning Dress
I recieved so many compliments when I wore this dress to my company's holiday party. The dress looks even better in person. The material has a great texture to it that makes it very chic. I will probably rent this exact dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 14, 2011
Perfect Fit!
Great Dress to Rent! The dress fits true to size (as most reviews stated) and was able to carry me from a work holiday party (cocktail attire) to a black tie gala (formal attire) all within the same night! I dressed it up with jewelry & shoes but it was perfect for the two occasions that I had to attend on the same night. The rental process was very easy, the dress came on the date it was expected and the return/instructions were simple. I got many compliments on the dress!! Wish I could have kept it in my closet to have on hand, it truly is a gem! I have told many friends about RTR and will definitely return to rent a dress for my next event.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
November 23, 2011
SO perfect with just 1 problem
I LOVED this dress. The material, the cut, the fit, everything was ultra flattering to my pear-shaped body. It made me look glamorous. I received many compliments. The deep color makes it perfect for all seasons, which is great. The ONLY issue with this dress is that while it is very figure flattering, it has an underlayer. While you couldn't notice it from the outside, the lining was quite tight on my larger thighs. It still LOOKED perfect, but it made it harder to move around in. Just a thought for those pear-shaped girls! Great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 12, 2011
nicer than I thought it would be!
Way prettier than the picture looks on the RTR website. subtle sheen and snakeskin pattern - but not inappropriate for formal event. black and navy really, could wear black shoes. pocket! better for small chest because the top is very fitted. loved the fit. thought it would be plain and more cotton or flowy - it is a constructed fit, which i love, and more cocktail elegant than expected. i would buy this. timeless.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 26, 2011
I loved this dress. Was perfect for an evening wedding, the 4 fit like a glove and didnt require any fancy underthings. love!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 24, 2011
This dress was a smash hit! I felt like a princess, and it showed--I was beaming all night. So sad to send it back! Word of caution: I rented both size four and six, hoping that one would work. Luckily, the size four dress fit me like a glove, but if it hadn't I wouldn't have been able to wear the size six because the zipper was broken. I got really lucky in this situation, but I know I won't be able to count on luck when I rent again (which I'll definitely be doing!)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 19, 2011
I wore this dress to a black tie optional fall wedding. I received a ton of compliments on it. It was extremely comfortable and classy, but I was thankful I ordered a size up as a backup because it was hard to zip over the banded waist.
SarahNovember 17, 2013
What size did you rent and end up wearing?
G MillerDecember 4, 2013
Size 8
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 124lbs
October 7, 2011
Very Versatile
I wore this dress to a Wedding Rehearsal and Rehearsal Dinner. I got a size 6 but probably could have wore a 4 but it was still great; not too tight and just the right length since it was a little big. (at the time I weighed 130lbs, 5'11") Gorgeous on and in person, the fabric has a great texture and pattern. I wore it with a pair of the nude leather studded and jewled back/heel Sam Edelman's and an awesome brass knuckle style python clutch with straight hair. I made it very dressy/edgy to fit my personality and style but you can make it very dressy/classy too. I would love to own this dress. I'm sure I'll rent it again.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
October 6, 2011
Very easy fit, true to size. Comfortable room in bust, fitted at the waist and not too tight in the hips. Hit a little lower than mid-thigh
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
September 14, 2011
I wanted to buy this dress it was so cute and perfect for the wedding cocktail hour I wore it too. I would say though its a bit longer than I would have liked, it fell right at my knee and it would have been better 2 inches shorter (above the knee) like on the model. I rented a size 6 and would have been better off with the 4. Over all it was amazing!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 13, 2011
I absolutely loved this dress on me! Fit was awesome, length was great. I'm definitely a typical hourglass figure, so I went with the smaller size to accentuate my waist and fit up top. I wore this to a dress rehearsal and got tons of compliments. It was definitely one of those dresses that you want to keep at the end of the night!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 9, 2011
This dress was perfect! I got it as a backup dress for a wedding in Napa, and ended up wearing to the rehearsal dinner. The navy is really pretty, and the dress fits really well. I plan to rent this again, and also rent other Shoshanna dresses after this success!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Body type: Pear
September 3, 2011
I rented this dress for a wedding. I received so many compliments! The fit and length were both great. I normally wear between a size 8 and 10 and the 10 fit me better. Best part - POCKETS!!!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
August 4, 2011
LOVE this dress! Runs true to size and looks great on! I thought it was going to be a little longer based on reviews but is a great length (middle of my thigh) which I love! You can dress it up or down. Great dress. Wish I owned this one!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Body type: Hourglass
July 29, 2011
This dress was OK, and I ended up not wearing it because the shoulder material was unruly and wouldn't lie down to create a nice line from underarm to shoulder the way it looks on the model. It sort of lay over onto the chest area and no amount of steaming would fix it ... maybe it was the particular dress I received?? The size up looked a bit bulky ... I wouldn't rent this one again...it's a classy style, but not as beautiful as expected from all the glowing reviews. Best on athletic, slim builds, probably. It runs a little large, so if you're between a size, go with the smaller size.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
July 28, 2011
The S was falling off my 127 lbs frame, and the wide cut hips did nothing to flatter. Disappointed I had to return without wearing, despite two consults with the fit specialists.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
July 8, 2011
Great dress. So comfortable. Loved the pockets.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
July 5, 2011
I love this classic, easy-to-wear dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 16, 2011
When I walked out in this dress for my engagement photo shoot, my fiancee, photographer, and friend all gave "WOWS". Can't ask for a better response!
This super is incredibly sophisticated and trendy. I wore it with gray leather heels and pearls. I usually wear a 0-2 and the 0 fit perfectly. My bust is a 34B and I wore a strapless bra without any problems. The pockets are huge though, exaggerating the size of the booty. Rent this dress to look chic and stylish. It's not terribly sexy, but it makes a bold statement.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
June 12, 2011
Loved this dress! I wore it to a rehearsal dinner and got a lot of compliments. It was super comfortable dress and the pockets were fantastic!
See more reviews:
4 / 6
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×