Vicious Venom Dress

$55 to buy
$370 retail
Stylist Notes

This Shoshanna dress is an elegant and classic silhouette done in a stand-out snake skin jacquard. Pair it with some stunning pumps for a sophisticated evening look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruched band - waist is flattering on all body types
HIPS: Not fitted - full tulip skirt
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8'')

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruched band - waist is flattering on all body types
HIPS: Not fitted - full tulip skirt
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8'')

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy metallic jacquard. Asymmetric neckline with ruching detail at shoulder. Ruched waistband. Gathered skirt. Hidden back zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
201 reviews
Fit
Large
(13)
True to Size
(163)
Small
(23)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
September 28, 2012
Cute dress but wasn't what I was looking for in the end
The dress was cute, but ran a little big for me, and it was a bit too casual for the evening black tie optional wedding I was going to wear it, too. Wore a different dress instead but maybe a day wedding it would have been more appropriate for.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 1, 2012
Simple, elegant, great LBD
I rented this dress for a wedding and it was elegant, comfortable and really perfect for the occasion!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 1, 2012
Great dress for weddings and any formal occassion!
I liked this dress so much that I've rented it twice...once for a New Year's Eve party and for a winter formal wedding. Fits great and is perfect for any evening occassion. I've worn it with and without pantyhose...either looks fine depending on the event and weather.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
October 8, 2012
Cute dress, but did not fit in the bust
Cute dress, but did not fit in the bust
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
October 15, 2012
a good back up dress, but didn't end up wearing
cute dress, a friend of mine has rented /worn it before. i got it as a back up but didn't end up waring
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 18, 2012
Everything went better than expected! Shipped very quickly and was very easy to return.
This dress fit great. I was worried it would be small so I got my back up size a size up but I didn't need it. Received many compliments all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
October 21, 2012
This dress was comfortable, flattering, classic, and fun.
I have worn other Shoshanna dresses, and her cuts really work for me. The bust can run a little big, but overall, this dress is true to size. I could have done the 10, but the 12 hung a little better.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
October 21, 2012
Back up :( didn't end up wearing
It was a bit tighter in the chest area. I had another dress by same designer and had a hard time zipping up even though they were the same size. I ordered this as my extra dress just in case. Didn't end up wearing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 31, 2012
Fun party dress
I normally wear a size 2 but in this I wore a 4. The skirt was a little fuller than I anticipated, but it was a very cute dress and I got many compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
November 2, 2012
cute, did the job
the armpit space on the zipper side was a bit tight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
November 2, 2012
Easy to wear; perfect dress for my gala
Like other reviews mentioned, the fabric on this dress is very rich. It's heavier than your typical fabric with a beautiful brocade design in it. The fabric, the pockets, the way the shoulder draped, and the perfect fit at the waise were my favorite parts of the dress. The thickness of the fabric gives the dress some structure and makes it a wonderful dress to wear in the autumn or winter. I didn't have to pull at the dress or worry about the fabric pooling awkwardly. It fit well and was super easy to wear. My dress did have a small rip in the lining where the zipper ended, but it was on the inside of the dress and not a big deal. I typically wear between a size 2 and 4. The size 4 in this dress wasn't available so I went with just a 2. Thankfully it fit just fine. Had the 4 been available, I have may chosen it just to give the dress a bit more length, but as it was, the 2 worked. I did feel it was a little short but mostly just noticed/felt this when I sat down. But really, that may have just been me. I'm not used to wearing things above my knee.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
November 2, 2012
Great dress
I wore this dress to an outdoor October wedding and received several compliments. The material is a bit thick so I would not recommend renting this dress for warm weather. I'm between a 2 and 4 but the 2 fit perfectly. Would definately recommend this dress.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
November 6, 2012
My first Rent the Runway experience was amazing, I can't wait to rent again!
This was my first rental experience and will definitely not be my last! First of all, I would like to point out that in the wake of Hurricane Sandy RTR was still able to get me my dress on time, with their amazing customer service. The Dress: I normally wear a 10 or a 12 and the 10 fit me perfectly. I absolutely love this dress. It is a richer, thicker fabric than it appears. I loved the one shoulder and flattering waist detail, perfect if you have hips or a curvier figure and not fussy at all, the one shoulder stays in the right place! My favorite part of the dress was definitely the pockets--perfect for holding my camera while I danced the night away and was able to snap lots of pictures without running back to my table to put my camera down. I paired this dress with small earrings, a wrist full of bracelets, black tights, and black platform heels. Would definitely recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 7, 2012
a step up from a lbd
I rented this dress for a friends wedding and I really liked it. The color, texture and cut made it more interesting than just a standard lbd and I really enjoyed it. I didn't give it 5 stars because I found it to be just a bit shorter than I would have liked on my 5'10 frame and it was definitely tight on my bust. So for leggy, chesty gals this might not be your first pick. Otherwise, great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 7, 2012
Flattering one-shoulder cocktail dress
For taller girls, this dress may be a bit short. I had to wear black tights with it, luckily it was in the winter. It is more navy than it appears online and is NOT black as I had originally thought. It was a pretty pattern when you see it up close.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
November 8, 2012
RTR delivered this dress to NYC just days after Hurricane Sandy - this is one happy customer!
I'm 5'2", 130 lbs and busty. I typically wear a size 4, and found this dress to run true to size. Was so excited that it fit well in the chest and there wasn't any side boob action going on. LOVED the color and the subtle texture - it was perfectly formal for the wedding I attended this weekend. Everyone was shocked it was a rental and couldn't believe how well it fit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
November 13, 2012
Glamourpuss
Does this dress really need another glowing review??? Okay...I'll do it! Dress runs very true to size, but much like what has been said, it is small through the bust. I am a 332D and my girls were nicely placed...don't think anything much bigger could squeeze in there though! If you have narrow hips, size down. I have big pear hips (32D/26/40) and this fit me perfectly. I had room to breath and sit, and didn't feel like my hips were suffocating. The waist band is also narrow. In other words, if you are a pear shape this dress is your new best friend. If you build is narrow/atheletic, I would say size down. For you cury hour glass girls, I would say size up to fit the ta-tas. If you are small busted though, go w/ your normal size. This dress is classy and elegant and I received tons of compliments! My bf LOVED it -- and even had some other guys tell him his date was the hottie of the night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 14, 2012
Pockets! Hooray!
I rented this as my backup dress for a wedding and ended up liking it much more than my "first choice." It fits true to size and is very flattering. The pockets are fantastic and didn't billow out despite my having my iPhone and chapstick in there. The only reason for 4 stars instead of 5 is because the boning on the sides was a bit stiff and became a little uncomfortable at the end of the night. However, I would definitely rent this again!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
November 25, 2012
Perfect rehearsal dinner dress
It is a fun and flirty dress and it fit perfectly! Love the texture
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 131lbs
December 8, 2012
Loved this dress!! very flattering and comfortable!!
I usually and between and 4 and 6 in Shoshanna and I wore the 4. Very comfortable. I loved the pockets. You won't regret renting this dress. I will definately re-rent or maybe even buy this one!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 11, 2012
It was so comfortable and looked amazing Loved the pockets
I'm slightly between sizes so the 8 was a little tight to wear with a bra, but the 10 was a bit large in the chest area. With a strapless bra it made it a bit more snug and I used some of the fashion tape they send to make sure it didn't slip too low and show my bra when I was dancing! Overall it was amazing and I will definitely use again!!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 15, 2012
This was a good basic dress--- sort of wish a picked something riskier for a rental!
Nice dress, nice fabric. The pattern in the fabric isn't visible unless you're really up close, needs to be dressed up with accessories. Love the pockets.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
December 17, 2012
super cute!
This dress was adorable and fit well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
December 28, 2012
Fun, classy dress that fit well
I wore this dress for my boyfriend's work holiday party. It was fun yet still looked classic. It fit wonderfully and I felt comfortable in it all night, even while dancing. I received many compliments.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110lbs
December 28, 2012
Having two sizes to chose from is brilliant!
I ordered this for a friend's wedding last summer and it was perfect. The fabric is substantial enough that it doesn't cling and the subtle print is really pretty. I ordered a 2 and a 0, tried them both on and was going to wear the 2 until I switched at the last minute. There isn't much give in the waist/chest area but since I'm tiny up top the 0 just looked a lot better.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 28, 2012
Very comfortable and well fitting dress!
How can you not love a dress with pockets?!?! I loved this dress. It was a little shorter than I'm used to wearing (and I'm relatively short at 5'3"). But I loved the one shoulder top - it is very flattering. Got a ton of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 6, 2013
Little snug in hips
Im an hourglass shape and I thought this was a little snug in the hips. This designer seems to fit differently based on the top of the dress (at least for me), The one shoulder dresses seems to run a little small, where as the tubetop style dresses seem to fit true to size. Glad I ordered a 2 and a 4 but I probably could have even used a 6. I still wore it and looked great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 8, 2013
Gorgeous!
This dress is so much better in person. The snake skin like pattern has a slight sheen to it making it special. The weight of the fabric is a little heavier so great to wear for fall and winter. The A-symetric cut of the top is beautiful, and the body has boning in it to still give it structure. Unfortuntley, I'm a little worried about my lack of arm tone, and just didn't feel this was flattering on me. But it is gorgeous! Maybe if I tone my arms up a bit, I'll rent again :)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 16, 2013
amazingg
It fit amazing. Everybody complimented the dress. It looked and fit and felt amazing. Would recommend to anybody
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
January 31, 2013
I got a lot of compliments on the dress!
Fits really well and is super comfortable. I had to go a size up but I am in between a 6 and 8, so that might just be how this designer fits. The navy is so dark, it can really pass for black. You can hardly tell it is blue. The fabric is so nice, it really hugs your body well and is well made. Pockets are always nice too!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
February 5, 2013
One shoulder dress rocked!
I am 5.4" and 115lbs. I ordered a size 2 and it fit perfect! I also ordered the 0 b/c of the reviews I read, and the 0 was too small and too short. The dress is a gorgeous excellent quality fabric and very well made. It was perfect!
KateSeptember 4, 2013
Do you have a closer image of the jewelry you paired with this dress?? thanks; you look gorgeous!
LisaSeptember 6, 2013
I wore a very simple & elegant Tiffany "diamonds by the yard" 30" necklace. And paired it with diamond drop earrings. Lastly, I wore a chunky silver bangle on each wrist. I hope that helps. It was a great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
January 11, 2013
New Years Eve at the Kennedy Center
The dress fit great, and was a good length for someone my height, not too long, not too short. There isn't much stretch, so be aware of that.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
October 10, 2012
Great Dress!
This dress is really beautiful and a great color. It could be worn in the summer or in the winter with tights. It was great for the wedding I went to and I would recommend it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 23, 2013
Feeling pretty all night
The dress fit true to size like the other Shoshana dress I rented. The only con I had was that the skirt was a little fuller than what is shown in the pic with the model.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
February 28, 2013
Good for wedding.
The color is a bit more blue than I had expected, but overall the dress was flattering and perfect for a semi-formal wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 5, 2013
This worked great for a black tie event that we had to attend. Its a great dress, love the pattern!
The top is a little large so I wore a 2 instead of my normal 4, but the skirt leaves room and has a cute little bubble to it
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
March 5, 2013
Loved this dress, and it has pockets!
Fit well, I work the size 8 which is typical for me. A little short but I am 5'9". Somewhat plain, i thought more of the blue color would come out but you can easily dress it up with accessories.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 123lbs
March 6, 2013
Basic, but cute
I wore this to a wedding in October. It was basic and fit well. Its a good length that makes it easy to dance in. If you've rented shoshanna before, it fits the same as the rest of their dresses.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
March 8, 2013
I loved this dress, but unfortunately, it didn't fit
The pattern on this dress is gorgeous and the dress is super cute. I reallly wanted to wear it - and it would have been perfect for the wedding I attended. However, the bust was just too small. I'm sure a 4 would have been perfect, but it wasn't available at the time, so I gambled with the 2. RTR, being great with customer service, gave me a credit for the dress. I may rent it again in the future in a 4, as I know it would be comfortable and look great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
March 11, 2013
Fit really well - the dress looked even better than i thought!
the bust area fit well
See more reviews:
3 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×