Vicious Venom Dress

$55 to buy
$370 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This Shoshanna dress is an elegant and classic silhouette done in a stand-out snake skin jacquard. Pair it with some stunning pumps for a sophisticated evening look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruched band - waist is flattering on all body types
HIPS: Not fitted - full tulip skirt
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8'')

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruched band - waist is flattering on all body types
HIPS: Not fitted - full tulip skirt
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8'')

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy metallic jacquard. Asymmetric neckline with ruching detail at shoulder. Ruched waistband. Gathered skirt. Hidden back zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
201 reviews
Fit
Large
(13)
True to Size
(163)
Small
(23)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
November 13, 2012
Glamourpuss
Does this dress really need another glowing review??? Okay...I'll do it! Dress runs very true to size, but much like what has been said, it is small through the bust. I am a 332D and my girls were nicely placed...don't think anything much bigger could squeeze in there though! If you have narrow hips, size down. I have big pear hips (32D/26/40) and this fit me perfectly. I had room to breath and sit, and didn't feel like my hips were suffocating. The waist band is also narrow. In other words, if you are a pear shape this dress is your new best friend. If you build is narrow/atheletic, I would say size down. For you cury hour glass girls, I would say size up to fit the ta-tas. If you are small busted though, go w/ your normal size. This dress is classy and elegant and I received tons of compliments! My bf LOVED it -- and even had some other guys tell him his date was the hottie of the night!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
November 8, 2012
RTR delivered this dress to NYC just days after Hurricane Sandy - this is one happy customer!
I'm 5'2", 130 lbs and busty. I typically wear a size 4, and found this dress to run true to size. Was so excited that it fit well in the chest and there wasn't any side boob action going on. LOVED the color and the subtle texture - it was perfectly formal for the wedding I attended this weekend. Everyone was shocked it was a rental and couldn't believe how well it fit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 7, 2012
Flattering one-shoulder cocktail dress
For taller girls, this dress may be a bit short. I had to wear black tights with it, luckily it was in the winter. It is more navy than it appears online and is NOT black as I had originally thought. It was a pretty pattern when you see it up close.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 7, 2012
a step up from a lbd
I rented this dress for a friends wedding and I really liked it. The color, texture and cut made it more interesting than just a standard lbd and I really enjoyed it. I didn't give it 5 stars because I found it to be just a bit shorter than I would have liked on my 5'10 frame and it was definitely tight on my bust. So for leggy, chesty gals this might not be your first pick. Otherwise, great dress!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
November 6, 2012
My first Rent the Runway experience was amazing, I can't wait to rent again!
This was my first rental experience and will definitely not be my last! First of all, I would like to point out that in the wake of Hurricane Sandy RTR was still able to get me my dress on time, with their amazing customer service. The Dress: I normally wear a 10 or a 12 and the 10 fit me perfectly. I absolutely love this dress. It is a richer, thicker fabric than it appears. I loved the one shoulder and flattering waist detail, perfect if you have hips or a curvier figure and not fussy at all, the one shoulder stays in the right place! My favorite part of the dress was definitely the pockets--perfect for holding my camera while I danced the night away and was able to snap lots of pictures without running back to my table to put my camera down. I paired this dress with small earrings, a wrist full of bracelets, black tights, and black platform heels. Would definitely recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
November 2, 2012
Great dress
I wore this dress to an outdoor October wedding and received several compliments. The material is a bit thick so I would not recommend renting this dress for warm weather. I'm between a 2 and 4 but the 2 fit perfectly. Would definately recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
November 2, 2012
Easy to wear; perfect dress for my gala
Like other reviews mentioned, the fabric on this dress is very rich. It's heavier than your typical fabric with a beautiful brocade design in it. The fabric, the pockets, the way the shoulder draped, and the perfect fit at the waise were my favorite parts of the dress. The thickness of the fabric gives the dress some structure and makes it a wonderful dress to wear in the autumn or winter. I didn't have to pull at the dress or worry about the fabric pooling awkwardly. It fit well and was super easy to wear. My dress did have a small rip in the lining where the zipper ended, but it was on the inside of the dress and not a big deal. I typically wear between a size 2 and 4. The size 4 in this dress wasn't available so I went with just a 2. Thankfully it fit just fine. Had the 4 been available, I have may chosen it just to give the dress a bit more length, but as it was, the 2 worked. I did feel it was a little short but mostly just noticed/felt this when I sat down. But really, that may have just been me. I'm not used to wearing things above my knee.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
November 2, 2012
cute, did the job
the armpit space on the zipper side was a bit tight.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
November 1, 2012
Loved it!
This was my first RTR experience and I couldn't have been happier with it. I loved this dress! It was very flattering and I got many compliments on it. I loved the texture of the material, and unlike many dresses, it wasn't super light-weight, so it was perfect for the October wedding I rented it for. I wore the 2 and it fit like a glove. When I tried on the 4, it was too loose in the waist and chest area, so that the one-shoulder cut looked way too awkward. I accented it with cobalt blue pumps and earrings and it looked very cute! I definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 31, 2012
Fun party dress
I normally wear a size 2 but in this I wore a 4. The skirt was a little fuller than I anticipated, but it was a very cute dress and I got many compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
October 21, 2012
Back up :( didn't end up wearing
It was a bit tighter in the chest area. I had another dress by same designer and had a hard time zipping up even though they were the same size. I ordered this as my extra dress just in case. Didn't end up wearing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
October 21, 2012
This dress was comfortable, flattering, classic, and fun.
I have worn other Shoshanna dresses, and her cuts really work for me. The bust can run a little big, but overall, this dress is true to size. I could have done the 10, but the 12 hung a little better.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 18, 2012
Everything went better than expected! Shipped very quickly and was very easy to return.
This dress fit great. I was worried it would be small so I got my back up size a size up but I didn't need it. Received many compliments all night.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
October 15, 2012
a good back up dress, but didn't end up wearing
cute dress, a friend of mine has rented /worn it before. i got it as a back up but didn't end up waring
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
October 10, 2012
Great Dress!
This dress is really beautiful and a great color. It could be worn in the summer or in the winter with tights. It was great for the wedding I went to and I would recommend it!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
October 8, 2012
Cute dress, but did not fit in the bust
Cute dress, but did not fit in the bust
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 1, 2012
Great dress for weddings and any formal occassion!
I liked this dress so much that I've rented it twice...once for a New Year's Eve party and for a winter formal wedding. Fits great and is perfect for any evening occassion. I've worn it with and without pantyhose...either looks fine depending on the event and weather.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 1, 2012
Simple, elegant, great LBD
I rented this dress for a wedding and it was elegant, comfortable and really perfect for the occasion!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
September 28, 2012
Cute dress but wasn't what I was looking for in the end
The dress was cute, but ran a little big for me, and it was a bit too casual for the evening black tie optional wedding I was going to wear it, too. Wore a different dress instead but maybe a day wedding it would have been more appropriate for.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 26, 2012
Lots of compliments
Dress was great, fit very well. Looked classy without being over the top.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
September 25, 2012
Can't wait to order this soon
I ordered this as my second dress. I didn't end up wearing it but will definitely rent it again! I got an 8 and a 10 and the 8 was slightly large so I may try a 6 next time.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 24, 2012
Easy to wear, classic look
Wore the smaller size but the larger size would have worked too. Timeless look for a wedding. Total crowd pleaser!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
September 24, 2012
Fantastic dress.
Great, navy color. Extremely comfortable and I received tons of compliments.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
September 19, 2012
Freak dress. Very comfortable.
Loose around bust area. Great if you have a fuller bust
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
September 19, 2012
Nice dress, but didn't work
I rented this dress for a wedding. The material is pretty thick, like others mentioned. Unfortunately, I returned it because the sizing was a little off on me. Also, the pockets are nice but seem to make your hip area seem wider than you are. Love the idea of RTR though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
September 19, 2012
Fantastic dress that can be dressed up or down, depending on the occasion.
Shoshanna generally makes very well-fitted dresses, but this one takes the cake. It hits all of your lady-lumps in the right places and is in a form-flattering color. While it might be a little snug in the chest (definitely no need for a bra), it gives more breathing room in the waist and hips for a comfortable fit. Wear it with heels and bling, or flats and a cute jacket/sweater...definitely a great item to have!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
September 19, 2012
Another successful rental from RTR. Dress fit great and received loads of compliments.
I am 5'4", 130 lbs with a small chest. The size 4 fit perfectly with some extra space in the chest. I really liked the pockets and high front to prevent an arm "skin" hanging over. Fabric is very subtle but fun!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 18, 2012
Night out
I wore this dress for my bachelorette party and it was perfect. Every little detail was great, from the lining to the pockets. The dress is really comfortable and could be dressed up or down. It was a bit roomy in the bust and I would have likely fit better in one size down (a size 4). Normally I wear a size 6-8 dress. I would recommend ordering your size and one size smaller. I wore it with a beautiful bangle that I rented as well and it was a hit! Made me feel beautiful and I got tons of compliments and likely won over some more new customers for RTR. Highly recommend this rental!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 9, 2012
Great fit & look
Wore this for a bachelorette party and it was just right. The fit was very true to size and the cut was really flattering and comfortable. Sad to send it back!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 5, 2012
nice dress
the dress is pretty basic but pretty fabric and flattering for most figures.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
September 3, 2012
Cute dress!
Very cute, flattering, and (best of all!) comfortable. I felt it was very true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
September 1, 2012
Party dress
Great fit! I rented this dress in the summer but due to the fabric of the dress I would have chosen to wear it in the fall. The fabric is a little heavy although it wasnt uncomfortable. Very happy with my choice.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
August 31, 2012
Love!!!!
I loved the dress! It was a perfect fit. I have a full bust and The top fit just right. It also covers your mid section. The only thing I would say is that I did have a hard time zipping it up the zipper kept getting jammed. But other then that it was fine. 
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
August 26, 2012
Runs small
Runs very small. Very cute dress. Loved the fabric and the look! Order one or two sizes up. I was not able to wear the dress unfortunately.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
August 25, 2012
Perfect Wedding dress
This was the perfect dress for a wedding-- the fit was awesome-- I get nervous with strapless/one shoulder dresses about the dreaded "chicken fat" look but this dress didn't have that at all! It was also a great length. I'm pretty short and it hit about mid thigh, so if you're super tall might be verging on inappropriate.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 24, 2012
Classic party dress w/ a twist
This definitely fit true to size, even though I was able to squeeze into the 0 I ordered as a backup too (but I wanted to be able to eat a lot at the wedding and not worry about the dress being too to tight). I got tons of compliments - the pattern on the dress is really subtle, so unless you're up close it just looks like a LBD.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 126lbs
August 24, 2012
Too wide
I rented this dress in a 4 and 6 and both were too big. When I tried this dress on the hips were super wide as if I was wearing riding pants. I was so bummed because this dress is very cute.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 21, 2012
Good winter material
Hard to see the great pattern and can bag out a little due to the material, but the dress fit to a tee and really comfortable to dance in.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 21, 2012
New spin on a classic dress
This was my first RTR experience and it was wonderful. I took a gamble on the size and ordered only a 4 - they were out of my back-up size of 6 but it ended up fitting perfectly. The color is a very dark blue, almost black with an elegant textured pattern. The pockets are a fun addition. I had many compliments on it and felt comfortable all night, even dancing!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
August 20, 2012
great dress!
Perfect dress for a wedding - cute and comfortable with enough give for dancing. I wear between a 6 and 8 and the 8 fit perfectly.
See more reviews:
3 / 6
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×