Vicious Venom Dress

$55 to buy
$370 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This Shoshanna dress is an elegant and classic silhouette done in a stand-out snake skin jacquard. Pair it with some stunning pumps for a sophisticated evening look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruched band - waist is flattering on all body types
HIPS: Not fitted - full tulip skirt
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8'')

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruched band - waist is flattering on all body types
HIPS: Not fitted - full tulip skirt
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8'')

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy metallic jacquard. Asymmetric neckline with ruching detail at shoulder. Ruched waistband. Gathered skirt. Hidden back zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
201 reviews
Fit
Large13
True to Size163
Small23
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
June 17, 2013
Perfect dress for a perfect wedding at the National Cathedral.
This dress was incredible and I felt more gorgeous than I have in a long time! I chose it because I thought it would flatter my chest and shoulders and cover my stomach. I was totally right. It was a nice change from a little black dress - it's a very dark navy with a textured fabric. It was stunning with gray accessories, the perfect length (read: not too short) and most importantly, it had pockets! I wear between a 10 and a 12, got both sizes and thought the 12 was a bit too roomy. I couldn't recommend this highly enough!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
June 5, 2013
Comfortable and great fit!
I wore this for a work gala event and received multiple compliments throughout the night. It fit perfectly and was comfortable so I could enjoy the entire evening.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 24, 2013
comfortable and fun!
Fits true to size, I'm 5'2, 120 lbs and normally wear a size 2.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
May 20, 2013
Great dress for a wedding!
This one shoulder dress can be dressed up nicely with great jewelry, it did run small on the rib cage and I had to go up a size but the length was great and the pockets were a nice touch! I danced all night in this and it needed no pulling up or tugging, it stayed in place all night and was super comfy! The snakeskin look gave it some sexy!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
May 16, 2013
loved this dress. it fit great, was comfortable and the pockets were a nice plus!
it fit well. i'm normally between a 2 and a 4 but definitiely needed the 4 for length/comfort in the bust area. i'd recommend going a size up
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 13, 2013
Love this dress! First time renting and would totally do it again!
The dress was perfect for the wedding i went to. I got a ton of compliments and even though it was very simple up close it had a great design. It was very comfortable and would totally rent it again. I went a size up (10) since i have larger hips and butt, and the smaller one (8) was just a little bit tighter than i liked which also made it shorter on me.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
May 1, 2013
This dress was a great rental.
Pros: The material was beautiful and the dress was not too dressy or too casual. I wore it out to dinner so I didn't dress it up too much. This is a classic little black dress, but the one shoulder gives it a modern look. I would buy this dress. The top was tight as other reviewers mentioned. Also, the zipper was very difficult to open and close. Once the dress was on it was fairly comfortable. I was concerned the dress might be too short, however, the only time that was an issue was when sitting down.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
April 28, 2013
I love this dress so much that I have already worn it to 2 weddings! Need I say more?
The top was a little big under my arm but overall I love this dress. It's awesome that it has pockets too. I got lots of compliments on the dress and you can dress it up or throw on some flipflops as I did for an outdoor grassy wedding. Definitely recommend and know I will be renting this again (oops I already did). It's navy not black!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 16, 2013
Great dress for a formal occasion!
slimming and true to size. lower part of the dress isn't tight so it allows for great movement. really enjoyed wearing this one!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 9, 2013
Used this dress for a birthday party!
The fit was great, I usually wear a size four but got the six as well just in case and ended up wearing the four. Loved it and my date loved it! It is hard to zip up so just make sure the dress is centered on your body, that makes it easier.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 30, 2013
The dress came promptly and it fit PERFECTLY!
I have a small bust size and usually one shouldered dresses are hard to guess with fit, but this one ran very true to size. SO worth the rental!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 14, 2013
Great dress for a variety of occasions.
I'm not a tall girl by any stretch and I think this dress was a little shorter on me than pictured, but not too short by any means. The dress fit awesome through the waist, hips and legs, but the top runs really small in my opinion. I'm a 34C, so by no means very large chested, and it was a struggle to zip it up around when the zipper reached that point. I also couldn't fit a strapless bra underneath and there was some tightness through the armpit area. Great dress, but think about sizing up if you are my bra size or bigger.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 11, 2013
I felt comfortable in this dress and I knew no one else would have it.
I ordered a 2 and 4 both were pretty large on me. Next time I would order a 2 and a 0.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
March 11, 2013
Fit really well - the dress looked even better than i thought!
the bust area fit well
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
March 8, 2013
I loved this dress, but unfortunately, it didn't fit
The pattern on this dress is gorgeous and the dress is super cute. I reallly wanted to wear it - and it would have been perfect for the wedding I attended. However, the bust was just too small. I'm sure a 4 would have been perfect, but it wasn't available at the time, so I gambled with the 2. RTR, being great with customer service, gave me a credit for the dress. I may rent it again in the future in a 4, as I know it would be comfortable and look great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 123lbs
March 6, 2013
Basic, but cute
I wore this to a wedding in October. It was basic and fit well. Its a good length that makes it easy to dance in. If you've rented shoshanna before, it fits the same as the rest of their dresses.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
March 5, 2013
Loved this dress, and it has pockets!
Fit well, I work the size 8 which is typical for me. A little short but I am 5'9". Somewhat plain, i thought more of the blue color would come out but you can easily dress it up with accessories.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 5, 2013
This worked great for a black tie event that we had to attend. Its a great dress, love the pattern!
The top is a little large so I wore a 2 instead of my normal 4, but the skirt leaves room and has a cute little bubble to it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
February 28, 2013
Good for wedding.
The color is a bit more blue than I had expected, but overall the dress was flattering and perfect for a semi-formal wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 23, 2013
Feeling pretty all night
The dress fit true to size like the other Shoshana dress I rented. The only con I had was that the skirt was a little fuller than what is shown in the pic with the model.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Body type: Pear
Weight: 146lbs
February 17, 2013
The rental process was extremely easy; will definitely use RTR in the future!
I really liked this dress-the material was heavier weight and it was well structured. The waistband sat higher on my waist, and the skirt is slightly full so it hid any tummy pooch. The zipper was a little tricky to get up, but other than that I had no issues. I wore this to my husband's company party and felt very comfortable; would definitely recommend it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
February 5, 2013
One shoulder dress rocked!
I am 5.4" and 115lbs. I ordered a size 2 and it fit perfect! I also ordered the 0 b/c of the reviews I read, and the 0 was too small and too short. The dress is a gorgeous excellent quality fabric and very well made. It was perfect!
KateSeptember 4, 2013
Do you have a closer image of the jewelry you paired with this dress?? thanks; you look gorgeous!
LisaSeptember 6, 2013
I wore a very simple & elegant Tiffany "diamonds by the yard" 30" necklace. And paired it with diamond drop earrings. Lastly, I wore a chunky silver bangle on each wrist. I hope that helps. It was a great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
January 31, 2013
I got a lot of compliments on the dress!
Fits really well and is super comfortable. I had to go a size up but I am in between a 6 and 8, so that might just be how this designer fits. The navy is so dark, it can really pass for black. You can hardly tell it is blue. The fabric is so nice, it really hugs your body well and is well made. Pockets are always nice too!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
January 20, 2013
Fun dress for dancing!
Meant for girls who are a bit shorter (size 4 was a bit too short for me through the body - I'm 5'8".
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 16, 2013
amazingg
It fit amazing. Everybody complimented the dress. It looked and fit and felt amazing. Would recommend to anybody
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
January 11, 2013
New Years Eve at the Kennedy Center
The dress fit great, and was a good length for someone my height, not too long, not too short. There isn't much stretch, so be aware of that.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
January 11, 2013
It was great
It was great to not have to worry about anything. And I just had the dress ready to wear! The two sizes helped.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 8, 2013
Gorgeous!
This dress is so much better in person. The snake skin like pattern has a slight sheen to it making it special. The weight of the fabric is a little heavier so great to wear for fall and winter. The A-symetric cut of the top is beautiful, and the body has boning in it to still give it structure. Unfortuntley, I'm a little worried about my lack of arm tone, and just didn't feel this was flattering on me. But it is gorgeous! Maybe if I tone my arms up a bit, I'll rent again :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 6, 2013
Little snug in hips
Im an hourglass shape and I thought this was a little snug in the hips. This designer seems to fit differently based on the top of the dress (at least for me), The one shoulder dresses seems to run a little small, where as the tubetop style dresses seem to fit true to size. Glad I ordered a 2 and a 4 but I probably could have even used a 6. I still wore it and looked great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 28, 2012
Very comfortable and well fitting dress!
How can you not love a dress with pockets?!?! I loved this dress. It was a little shorter than I'm used to wearing (and I'm relatively short at 5'3"). But I loved the one shoulder top - it is very flattering. Got a ton of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110lbs
December 28, 2012
Having two sizes to chose from is brilliant!
I ordered this for a friend's wedding last summer and it was perfect. The fabric is substantial enough that it doesn't cling and the subtle print is really pretty. I ordered a 2 and a 0, tried them both on and was going to wear the 2 until I switched at the last minute. There isn't much give in the waist/chest area but since I'm tiny up top the 0 just looked a lot better.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
December 28, 2012
Fun, classy dress that fit well
I wore this dress for my boyfriend's work holiday party. It was fun yet still looked classic. It fit wonderfully and I felt comfortable in it all night, even while dancing. I received many compliments.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 21, 2012
Beautiful color and wonderful quality!
The dress was great for my company's holiday party - super cute without being too tight or suggestive. However, I'm a 34D and it was a *tight* squeeze to get into the size 6, although I appreciated that it was so tight I could (and had to) go braless for the evening.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
December 17, 2012
super cute!
This dress was adorable and fit well.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 15, 2012
This was a good basic dress--- sort of wish a picked something riskier for a rental!
Nice dress, nice fabric. The pattern in the fabric isn't visible unless you're really up close, needs to be dressed up with accessories. Love the pockets.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 11, 2012
It was so comfortable and looked amazing Loved the pockets
I'm slightly between sizes so the 8 was a little tight to wear with a bra, but the 10 was a bit large in the chest area. With a strapless bra it made it a bit more snug and I used some of the fashion tape they send to make sure it didn't slip too low and show my bra when I was dancing! Overall it was amazing and I will definitely use again!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
December 10, 2012
LOVE this dress!
Wore it for a friend's wedding and picked it at the last minute. It was a GREAT choice and I would definitely get it again! The fit is true to size and the texture on the dress makes it unique without being too gaudy or showy. I got tons of compliments and I would wear it again in a heartbeat!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 131lbs
December 8, 2012
Loved this dress!! very flattering and comfortable!!
I usually and between and 4 and 6 in Shoshanna and I wore the 4. Very comfortable. I loved the pockets. You won't regret renting this dress. I will definately re-rent or maybe even buy this one!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
November 25, 2012
Perfect rehearsal dinner dress
It is a fun and flirty dress and it fit perfectly! Love the texture
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 14, 2012
Pockets! Hooray!
I rented this as my backup dress for a wedding and ended up liking it much more than my "first choice." It fits true to size and is very flattering. The pockets are fantastic and didn't billow out despite my having my iPhone and chapstick in there. The only reason for 4 stars instead of 5 is because the boning on the sides was a bit stiff and became a little uncomfortable at the end of the night. However, I would definitely rent this again!
See more reviews:
2 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×