Vicious Venom Dress

$55 to buy
$370 retail
Stylist Notes

This Shoshanna dress is an elegant and classic silhouette done in a stand-out snake skin jacquard. Pair it with some stunning pumps for a sophisticated evening look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruched band - waist is flattering on all body types
HIPS: Not fitted - full tulip skirt
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8'')

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruched band - waist is flattering on all body types
HIPS: Not fitted - full tulip skirt
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8'')

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy metallic jacquard. Asymmetric neckline with ruching detail at shoulder. Ruched waistband. Gathered skirt. Hidden back zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
201 reviews
Fit
Large
(13)
True to Size
(163)
Small
(23)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 9, 2011
This dress was perfect! I got it as a backup dress for a wedding in Napa, and ended up wearing to the rehearsal dinner. The navy is really pretty, and the dress fits really well. I plan to rent this again, and also rent other Shoshanna dresses after this success!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 13, 2011
I absolutely loved this dress on me! Fit was awesome, length was great. I'm definitely a typical hourglass figure, so I went with the smaller size to accentuate my waist and fit up top. I wore this to a dress rehearsal and got tons of compliments. It was definitely one of those dresses that you want to keep at the end of the night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 124lbs
October 7, 2011
Very Versatile
I wore this dress to a Wedding Rehearsal and Rehearsal Dinner. I got a size 6 but probably could have wore a 4 but it was still great; not too tight and just the right length since it was a little big. (at the time I weighed 130lbs, 5'11") Gorgeous on and in person, the fabric has a great texture and pattern. I wore it with a pair of the nude leather studded and jewled back/heel Sam Edelman's and an awesome brass knuckle style python clutch with straight hair. I made it very dressy/edgy to fit my personality and style but you can make it very dressy/classy too. I would love to own this dress. I'm sure I'll rent it again.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 19, 2011
I wore this dress to a black tie optional fall wedding. I received a ton of compliments on it. It was extremely comfortable and classy, but I was thankful I ordered a size up as a backup because it was hard to zip over the banded waist.
SarahNovember 17, 2013
What size did you rent and end up wearing?
G MillerDecember 4, 2013
Size 8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 24, 2011
This dress was a smash hit! I felt like a princess, and it showed--I was beaming all night. So sad to send it back! Word of caution: I rented both size four and six, hoping that one would work. Luckily, the size four dress fit me like a glove, but if it hadn't I wouldn't have been able to wear the size six because the zipper was broken. I got really lucky in this situation, but I know I won't be able to count on luck when I rent again (which I'll definitely be doing!)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 12, 2011
nicer than I thought it would be!
Way prettier than the picture looks on the RTR website. subtle sheen and snakeskin pattern - but not inappropriate for formal event. black and navy really, could wear black shoes. pocket! better for small chest because the top is very fitted. loved the fit. thought it would be plain and more cotton or flowy - it is a constructed fit, which i love, and more cocktail elegant than expected. i would buy this. timeless.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
November 23, 2011
SO perfect with just 1 problem
I LOVED this dress. The material, the cut, the fit, everything was ultra flattering to my pear-shaped body. It made me look glamorous. I received many compliments. The deep color makes it perfect for all seasons, which is great. The ONLY issue with this dress is that while it is very figure flattering, it has an underlayer. While you couldn't notice it from the outside, the lining was quite tight on my larger thighs. It still LOOKED perfect, but it made it harder to move around in. Just a thought for those pear-shaped girls! Great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 14, 2011
Perfect Fit!
Great Dress to Rent! The dress fits true to size (as most reviews stated) and was able to carry me from a work holiday party (cocktail attire) to a black tie gala (formal attire) all within the same night! I dressed it up with jewelry & shoes but it was perfect for the two occasions that I had to attend on the same night. The rental process was very easy, the dress came on the date it was expected and the return/instructions were simple. I got many compliments on the dress!! Wish I could have kept it in my closet to have on hand, it truly is a gem! I have told many friends about RTR and will definitely return to rent a dress for my next event.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
December 14, 2011
Stunning Dress
I recieved so many compliments when I wore this dress to my company's holiday party. The dress looks even better in person. The material has a great texture to it that makes it very chic. I will probably rent this exact dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
January 20, 2012
I received compliments all night! And knowing my new addiction, everyone asked if it was RTR!
This was actually my backup dress, but I loved it so much I wore it instead! The fabric is luxurious in person, and the dress is super comfortable. It runs very true to size. I definitely recommend it to anyone! I also loved the pockets. :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
January 28, 2012
Better than I expected!
The fabric looks stiff, but is actually has just the right amount of flexibility. very comfortable and classy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
February 23, 2012
The dress made me feel like a million dollars as I would probably never spend over $100 on a dress for any occasion (except my upcoming wedding). RTR gives women the opportunity to feel great about themselves without spending a fortune on something they may never wear more than once!
I rented this dress for my fiance and I's belated valentine's night. I was overly pleased with the promptness that the dress was shipped as I was slightly worried because I live in a remote part of the country. The dress fit like a glove. I rented the 4 and the 6 because I am really between sizes these days but the 4 was perfect (and made me feel really good about myself)!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
February 23, 2012
Wish I owned this dress
I LOVED this dress. I wore it to a wedding of a family friend and it was long enough to not be inappropriate, but still a few inches above my knee so it was cute. Even my mom said she wished I owned this dress. I always wear a 6 and the 6 fit perfectly. I didn't even try on the backup size 8. I'm a little bigger around the ribcage so it was snug, but not uncomfortable. I chose to not wear a bra with it and the material was fitted and thick enough not to matter. The fabric was really interesting without being an overpowering snakeskin material. I wore with bright orange pumps and orange jewel earrings and got tons of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
March 2, 2012
Better for more casual events
I ended up not wearing this dress because it wasn't formal enough. I didn't think it did much for my figure - it just kind of hung there. Also, it seemed very short on me - much shorter than in the picture. However, I loved the fabric and the pockets!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 136lbs
March 26, 2012
fun n fab
great dress
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 16, 2012
I really enjoyed this dress, especially because my last RTR dress didn't fit me very well. The fit is tight in the bust if you actually have something there, which is why I wore the 6 instead of the 4. It was comfortable to wear all night long and looked great, plus it's nice to have pockets!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 16, 2012
Felt so pretty!
Loved this dress!! I don't usually wear one shoulder because I always think I have arm pit fat. This dress didn't dip too low beneath my arm pit and didn't make any excess skin pop out like some do (does that make any sense?) Was so flattering and got compliments all night! LOVED THIS DRESS! I wore it to a January wedding
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
June 22, 2012
The detail in the packaging made the experience feel exclusive. Also, I had some questions about returning the dress, which were answered quickly and efficiently by customer service.
I wore this dress to a Saturday night wedding, and paired it with silver jewelry and pumps to dress it up. The texture of the material was unique, and had I been wearing it to a less formal affair, it would be fun to pair with colorful accessories. I ordered two sizes. I am usually a 2, but reviews said to order a size down as well, so I ordered a 0 as a back up. In our rush to get out the door to the wedding, I wore the size 2, assuming the 0 would be too tight. However afterwards realized that the 0 fit MUCH better. Oh well. The whole experience was easy and service was outstanding. My one and only complaint was that some of the piping had ripped through the inside of the dress making it uncomfortable. That's it though. Can't wait to RTR again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
July 2, 2012
Love, love, love!
I loved this dress! I wore this dress for a wedding reception and absolutely loved it. I got so many compliments on it and felt amazing. There was nothing that I didn't love about it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
July 16, 2012
Loved it!
Fits true to size, I'm curvy and the size 10 fit perfect without gapping or pulling. Material was heavier than expected, nicely lined.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
July 23, 2012
tight around the bust
Hi, This one did not work. It was way to tight around my 34 D's. Sadly, I could not zip it up around them.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 31, 2012
Outstanding customer service : )
This was my first experience with Rent the Runway and I’m beyond pleased! Firstly, the dress does run a tad bit bigger, so I ordered down a size as a backup dress (size 2). RTR attempted to get in touch with me via email stating my backup size was unavailable; however, I did not reach them in time and they choose to send me a dress that was similar to the Vicious Venom Dress (Which I wasn’t ‘feeling,’ a little too ‘Housewives of New Jersey for me- if that’s what you’re going for, that’s cool, but it’s not me.). They allowed me to choose another dress FREE of charge for my event, which was a lovely Lilly Pulitzer (Bummer, this one ran too small!). I decided to wear the Vicious Venom and received loads of compliments on it. I shared my experience with my girlfriends who all thought I was ‘crazy’ for fessing up that I rented a dress, but I’m not one to NOT share a great deal!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 10, 2012
Bachelorette Party
I wore this for my bachelorette party and it fit like a glove! Arrived in time and in perfect condition couldnt have been more pleased!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
August 12, 2012
Great Dress to Wear to Wedding
I wore this dress to a winter wedding. It fit great and I had a lot of compliments on it! I typically wear a 4 in dresses, so it was true to size. Didn't have any problems with the zipper or fit of the dress. Highly recommended.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
August 17, 2012
Classic updated
This dress is a fabulous color and very comfortable. It ran small in the chest area so I went with the two. Great for formal weddings as well as weddings you are not too sure how to dress. It can be decked up or worn casually.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
August 20, 2012
great dress!
Perfect dress for a wedding - cute and comfortable with enough give for dancing. I wear between a 6 and 8 and the 8 fit perfectly.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 21, 2012
New spin on a classic dress
This was my first RTR experience and it was wonderful. I took a gamble on the size and ordered only a 4 - they were out of my back-up size of 6 but it ended up fitting perfectly. The color is a very dark blue, almost black with an elegant textured pattern. The pockets are a fun addition. I had many compliments on it and felt comfortable all night, even dancing!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 21, 2012
Good winter material
Hard to see the great pattern and can bag out a little due to the material, but the dress fit to a tee and really comfortable to dance in.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 126lbs
August 24, 2012
Too wide
I rented this dress in a 4 and 6 and both were too big. When I tried this dress on the hips were super wide as if I was wearing riding pants. I was so bummed because this dress is very cute.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
August 25, 2012
Perfect Wedding dress
This was the perfect dress for a wedding-- the fit was awesome-- I get nervous with strapless/one shoulder dresses about the dreaded "chicken fat" look but this dress didn't have that at all! It was also a great length. I'm pretty short and it hit about mid thigh, so if you're super tall might be verging on inappropriate.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
August 26, 2012
Runs small
Runs very small. Very cute dress. Loved the fabric and the look! Order one or two sizes up. I was not able to wear the dress unfortunately.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
August 31, 2012
Love!!!!
I loved the dress! It was a perfect fit. I have a full bust and The top fit just right. It also covers your mid section. The only thing I would say is that I did have a hard time zipping it up the zipper kept getting jammed. But other then that it was fine. 
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
September 1, 2012
Party dress
Great fit! I rented this dress in the summer but due to the fabric of the dress I would have chosen to wear it in the fall. The fabric is a little heavy although it wasnt uncomfortable. Very happy with my choice.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
September 3, 2012
Cute dress!
Very cute, flattering, and (best of all!) comfortable. I felt it was very true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
August 20, 2012
Wedding Dress
I did not wear the dress because it did not fit me in the chest area.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 18, 2012
Night out
I wore this dress for my bachelorette party and it was perfect. Every little detail was great, from the lining to the pockets. The dress is really comfortable and could be dressed up or down. It was a bit roomy in the bust and I would have likely fit better in one size down (a size 4). Normally I wear a size 6-8 dress. I would recommend ordering your size and one size smaller. I wore it with a beautiful bangle that I rented as well and it was a hit! Made me feel beautiful and I got tons of compliments and likely won over some more new customers for RTR. Highly recommend this rental!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
September 19, 2012
Another successful rental from RTR. Dress fit great and received loads of compliments.
I am 5'4", 130 lbs with a small chest. The size 4 fit perfectly with some extra space in the chest. I really liked the pockets and high front to prevent an arm "skin" hanging over. Fabric is very subtle but fun!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
September 19, 2012
Nice dress, but didn't work
I rented this dress for a wedding. The material is pretty thick, like others mentioned. Unfortunately, I returned it because the sizing was a little off on me. Also, the pockets are nice but seem to make your hip area seem wider than you are. Love the idea of RTR though.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
September 19, 2012
Freak dress. Very comfortable.
Loose around bust area. Great if you have a fuller bust
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
September 24, 2012
Fantastic dress.
Great, navy color. Extremely comfortable and I received tons of compliments.
See more reviews:
2 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×