Shoshanna

Vicious Venom Dress

$55 rental
$370 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This Shoshanna dress is an elegant and classic silhouette done in a stand-out snake skin jacquard. Pair it with some stunning pumps for a sophisticated evening look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruched band - waist is flattering on all body types
HIPS: Not fitted - full tulip skirt
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8'')

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruched band - waist is flattering on all body types
HIPS: Not fitted - full tulip skirt
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8'')

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy metallic jacquard. Asymmetric neckline with ruching detail at shoulder. Ruched waistband. Gathered skirt. Hidden back zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

199 reviews

Fit
Small 23
True to Size 163
Large 13
Photos 45
Jenna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 9, 2012

Great fit & look

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Wore this for a bachelorette party and it was just right. The fit was very true to size and the cut was really flattering and comfortable. Sad to send it back!
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Another successful rental from RTR. Dress fit great and received loads of compliments.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am 5'4", 130 lbs with a small chest. The size 4 fit perfectly with some extra space in the chest. I really liked the pockets and high front to prevent an arm "skin" hanging over. Fabric is very subtle but fun!
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Fantastic dress that can be dressed up or down, depending on the occasion.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Shoshanna generally makes very well-fitted dresses, but this one takes the cake. It hits all of your lady-lumps in the right places and is in a form-flattering color. While it might be a little snug in the chest (definitely no need for a bra), it gives more breathing room in the waist and hips for a comfortable fit. Wear it with heels and bling, or flats and a cute jacket/sweater...definitely a great item to have!
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 19, 2012

Nice dress, but didn't work

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding. The material is pretty thick, like others mentioned. Unfortunately, I returned it because the sizing was a little off on me. Also, the pockets are nice but seem to make your hip area seem wider than you are. Love the idea of RTR though.
Peteil
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Freak dress. Very comfortable.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loose around bust area. Great if you have a fuller bust
jennie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

Fantastic dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great, navy color. Extremely comfortable and I received tons of compliments.
Ally
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

Easy to wear, classic look

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore the smaller size but the larger size would have worked too. Timeless look for a wedding. Total crowd pleaser!
Brooke
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Sep 25, 2012

Can't wait to order this soon

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this as my second dress. I didn't end up wearing it but will definitely rent it again! I got an 8 and a 10 and the 8 was slightly large so I may try a 6 next time.
Andreea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 26, 2012

Lots of compliments

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress was great, fit very well. Looked classy without being over the top.
Renee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Sep 28, 2012

Cute dress but wasn't what I was looking for in the end

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was cute, but ran a little big for me, and it was a bit too casual for the evening black tie optional wedding I was going to wear it, too. Wore a different dress instead but maybe a day wedding it would have been more appropriate for.
Kat
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 1, 2012

Simple, elegant, great LBD

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding and it was elegant, comfortable and really perfect for the occasion!
Garrett
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 1, 2012

Great dress for weddings and any formal occassion!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I liked this dress so much that I've rented it twice...once for a New Year's Eve party and for a winter formal wedding. Fits great and is perfect for any evening occassion. I've worn it with and without pantyhose...either looks fine depending on the event and weather.
Kim
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 8, 2012

Cute dress, but did not fit in the bust

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Cute dress, but did not fit in the bust
MKR2085
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Oct 10, 2012

Great Dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is really beautiful and a great color. It could be worn in the summer or in the winter with tights. It was great for the wedding I went to and I would recommend it!
Brooke
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 15, 2012

a good back up dress, but didn't end up wearing

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
cute dress, a friend of mine has rented /worn it before. i got it as a back up but didn't end up waring
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 18, 2012

Everything went better than expected! Shipped very quickly and was very easy to return.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit great. I was worried it would be small so I got my back up size a size up but I didn't need it. Received many compliments all night.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 21, 2012

Back up :( didn't end up wearing

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
It was a bit tighter in the chest area. I had another dress by same designer and had a hard time zipping up even though they were the same size. I ordered this as my extra dress just in case. Didn't end up wearing.
Kayla
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 31, 2012

Fun party dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I normally wear a size 2 but in this I wore a 4. The skirt was a little fuller than I anticipated, but it was a very cute dress and I got many compliments.
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Nov 2, 2012

cute, did the job

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
the armpit space on the zipper side was a bit tight.
afoste
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 2, 2012

Great dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to an outdoor October wedding and received several compliments. The material is a bit thick so I would not recommend renting this dress for warm weather. I'm between a 2 and 4 but the 2 fit perfectly. Would definately recommend this dress.
Maya
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Nov 6, 2012

My first Rent the Runway experience was amazing, I can't wait to rent again!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first rental experience and will definitely not be my last! First of all, I would like to point out that in the wake of Hurricane Sandy RTR was still able to get me my dress on time, with their amazing customer service. The Dress: I normally wear a 10 or a 12 and the 10 fit me perfectly. I absolutely love this dress. It is a richer, thicker fabric than it appears. I loved the one shoulder and flattering waist detail, perfect if you have hips or a curvier figure and not fussy at all, the one shoulder stays in the right place! My favorite part of the dress was definitely the pockets--perfect for holding my camera while I danced the night away and was able to snap lots of pictures without running back to my table to put my camera down. I paired this dress with small earrings, a wrist full of bracelets, black tights, and black platform heels. Would definitely recommend this dress!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 7, 2012

a step up from a lbd

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a friends wedding and I really liked it. The color, texture and cut made it more interesting than just a standard lbd and I really enjoyed it. I didn't give it 5 stars because I found it to be just a bit shorter than I would have liked on my 5'10 frame and it was definitely tight on my bust. So for leggy, chesty gals this might not be your first pick. Otherwise, great dress!
EMW
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 7, 2012

Flattering one-shoulder cocktail dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
For taller girls, this dress may be a bit short. I had to wear black tights with it, luckily it was in the winter. It is more navy than it appears online and is NOT black as I had originally thought. It was a pretty pattern when you see it up close.
Olivia
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 8, 2012

RTR delivered this dress to NYC just days after Hurricane Sandy - this is one happy customer!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm 5'2", 130 lbs and busty. I typically wear a size 4, and found this dress to run true to size. Was so excited that it fit well in the chest and there wasn't any side boob action going on. LOVED the color and the subtle texture - it was perfectly formal for the wedding I attended this weekend. Everyone was shocked it was a rental and couldn't believe how well it fit!
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 13, 2012

Glamourpuss

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Does this dress really need another glowing review??? Okay...I'll do it! Dress runs very true to size, but much like what has been said, it is small through the bust. I am a 332D and my girls were nicely placed...don't think anything much bigger could squeeze in there though! If you have narrow hips, size down. I have big pear hips (32D/26/40) and this fit me perfectly. I had room to breath and sit, and didn't feel like my hips were suffocating. The waist band is also narrow. In other words, if you are a pear shape this dress is your new best friend. If you build is narrow/atheletic, I would say size down. For you cury hour glass girls, I would say size up to fit the ta-tas. If you are small busted though, go w/ your normal size. This dress is classy and elegant and I received tons of compliments! My bf LOVED it -- and even had some other guys tell him his date was the hottie of the night!
AJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 14, 2012

Pockets! Hooray!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this as my backup dress for a wedding and ended up liking it much more than my "first choice." It fits true to size and is very flattering. The pockets are fantastic and didn't billow out despite my having my iPhone and chapstick in there. The only reason for 4 stars instead of 5 is because the boning on the sides was a bit stiff and became a little uncomfortable at the end of the night. However, I would definitely rent this again!
Reddy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 10, 2012

LOVE this dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore it for a friend's wedding and picked it at the last minute. It was a GREAT choice and I would definitely get it again! The fit is true to size and the texture on the dress makes it unique without being too gaudy or showy. I got tons of compliments and I would wear it again in a heartbeat!
KJ
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 11, 2012

It was so comfortable and looked amazing Loved the pockets

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I'm slightly between sizes so the 8 was a little tight to wear with a bra, but the 10 was a bit large in the chest area. With a strapless bra it made it a bit more snug and I used some of the fashion tape they send to make sure it didn't slip too low and show my bra when I was dancing! Overall it was amazing and I will definitely use again!!
Brandi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 17, 2012

super cute!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was adorable and fit well.
Sarah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 21, 2012

Beautiful color and wonderful quality!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was great for my company's holiday party - super cute without being too tight or suggestive. However, I'm a 34D and it was a *tight* squeeze to get into the size 6, although I appreciated that it was so tight I could (and had to) go braless for the evening.
Suzie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133 lbs
Dec 28, 2012

Fun, classy dress that fit well

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for my boyfriend's work holiday party. It was fun yet still looked classic. It fit wonderfully and I felt comfortable in it all night, even while dancing. I received many compliments.
A
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 28, 2012

Having two sizes to chose from is brilliant!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this for a friend's wedding last summer and it was perfect. The fabric is substantial enough that it doesn't cling and the subtle print is really pretty. I ordered a 2 and a 0, tried them both on and was going to wear the 2 until I switched at the last minute. There isn't much give in the waist/chest area but since I'm tiny up top the 0 just looked a lot better.
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 6, 2013

Little snug in hips

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Im an hourglass shape and I thought this was a little snug in the hips. This designer seems to fit differently based on the top of the dress (at least for me), The one shoulder dresses seems to run a little small, where as the tubetop style dresses seem to fit true to size. Glad I ordered a 2 and a 4 but I probably could have even used a 6. I still wore it and looked great.
Angela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 8, 2013

Gorgeous!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is so much better in person. The snake skin like pattern has a slight sheen to it making it special. The weight of the fabric is a little heavier so great to wear for fall and winter. The A-symetric cut of the top is beautiful, and the body has boning in it to still give it structure. Unfortuntley, I'm a little worried about my lack of arm tone, and just didn't feel this was flattering on me. But it is gorgeous! Maybe if I tone my arms up a bit, I'll rent again :)
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Jan 11, 2013

It was great

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was great to not have to worry about anything. And I just had the dress ready to wear! The two sizes helped.
Anne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 20, 2013

Fun dress for dancing!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Meant for girls who are a bit shorter (size 4 was a bit too short for me through the body - I'm 5'8".
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 31, 2013

I got a lot of compliments on the dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fits really well and is super comfortable. I had to go a size up but I am in between a 6 and 8, so that might just be how this designer fits. The navy is so dark, it can really pass for black. You can hardly tell it is blue. The fabric is so nice, it really hugs your body well and is well made. Pockets are always nice too!
Kathy
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Body type: Pear
Weight: 146 lbs
Feb 17, 2013

The rental process was extremely easy; will definitely use RTR in the future!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I really liked this dress-the material was heavier weight and it was well structured. The waistband sat higher on my waist, and the skirt is slightly full so it hid any tummy pooch. The zipper was a little tricky to get up, but other than that I had no issues. I wore this to my husband's company party and felt very comfortable; would definitely recommend it!
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 23, 2013

Feeling pretty all night

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit true to size like the other Shoshana dress I rented. The only con I had was that the skirt was a little fuller than what is shown in the pic with the model.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 28, 2013

Good for wedding.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The color is a bit more blue than I had expected, but overall the dress was flattering and perfect for a semi-formal wedding.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×