Shoshanna

Trapped in Love Dress

$47 to buy
$375 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Feel beautiful and look radiant wearing this flirty Shoshanna sweetheart dress. Need a little extra flare to your look? Go with the Kate Spade's Emerald Anastasia Clutch to jazz up this style!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Coral crepe. Strapless sweetheart neckline. Pleated bodice and skirt. Front pockets. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
135 reviews
Fit
Large
(14)
True to Size
(103)
Small
(18)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
February 7, 2012
Not what it looks like
This dress looks completely different on, than it does in the photo. For me, the cut of the pockets was very unflattering and created a terrible "love handle" look on me, which is not usually a problem area. The pockets cut all the way around the back too which made it just generally unflattering. I thought this empire waist dress would look great on me since I'm large chested with a narrower waist, but it was not a good look. I think this dress would work well on someone who is very narrow through the waist and hips, almost a boyish figure (which isn't usually the case for dresses of this cut).
rJuly 4, 2012
I actually own this dress, and totally agree that it is a tricky cut due to how far back the pockets go. I bought it for a wedding, but now I'm second guessing myself if I should wear it or not. It is a great color though.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 29, 2012
loved it!
Very flattering and true to the size. I have a heavy chest and the neckline was beautiful while still keeping everything in check, if ya know what I mean. Got lots of compliments!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
June 19, 2012
wore this to my best friends wedding and i got so many compliments. the color and fit are absolutely perfect!
this dress is so beautiful and very flattering. it fit me like a glove and i felt great and comfortable in this all day!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
June 22, 2012
RTR customer service is the best - when I was hesitant on the sizing, they overnighted another size with out question. What a great company!
Wore this to an outdoor wedding. So comfortable, beautiful fabric and couldn't have been a better color for summer! I debated between the 0 and 2, went with the 2 because I felt it was more flowy and that was the look I was going for. Definitely recommend!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
July 8, 2012
The red is such a great color and fit is amazing.
I've rented this dress twice. Once for a friends wedding and again for my bachlorette party at the beach. The red is such a great color and fit is amazing. I was between the 6 and the 8 but wore the 8 since I have a larger chest. I want to buy this dress now after 2 rentals
EmilyAugust 4, 2012
Where did you get your necklace? It's fab!
RTRAugust 7, 2012
Hi Emily, this necklace is very similar to the CHAN LUU Twisted Jade Necklace - check it out under accessories!
psychchick86August 10, 2012
I just ordered this dress for a wedding next weekend and am wondering if the coloring is more towards red or orange?
Elizabeth August 10, 2012
It comes up under "Coral Dresses" but I'm seeing and reading it's more red. Any feedback on that? I'm looking for a Coral dress...
RTRAugust 29, 2012
Hi Elizabeth! This dress is definitely more red than coral!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 131lbs
July 26, 2012
Using RTR has been a great experience for me and I'm excited to use them again for my next event!
I loved this dress. I wore it to a wedding and felt like it was perfect for the occasion. I'm posting a pic from when I first tried it on after receiving the dress, so it may be a bit wrinkly in the pic.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 6, 2012
chest runs small
I ordered this dress in 2 sizes..4 & 6. Most of the reviews say it runs true to size or large so I was actually expecting the 4 to fit. The 4 was too small and the 6 would have fit fine except for the chest. I would saymy chest is small (b36) and with the wiring and the pointed sweetheart top it was very unflattering. it pushed my chest in and in turn made it spill over the top. I ended up returning both of them.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
August 9, 2012
Perfect idea for a wedding!
Beautiful vivid color, great for a summer wedding!
LBAugust 26, 2012
you look beautiful! is that a necklace from RTR? If so, which one?! I love it!
RTRSeptember 10, 2012
Hi Laura! We suggest wearing the Antique Cascading Crystal Necklace by Ciner with this dress, it would look great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 11, 2012
Best dressed!!
I rented this dress for my high school reunion and absolutely loved it! It was perfect - fun, bright and perfect fit. I receieved compliments throughout the night and couldn't have been happier. I also dressed it up with some gold costume jewelry.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
August 15, 2012
My bridesmaids couldn't stop talking about my dress!
I wore this for my bachelorette party and it was the perfect choice. The red isn't blaring and loud, but goes perfectly with the just hint-of-tan that I had going on. The fabric is lightweight and the dress features a built in strap so that you don't have to worry about keeping the dress up. Would totally buy this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
August 16, 2012
Rent this dress!
I got so many compliments on this dress. It was appropriately short on my 5'6'' frame. It fit perfectly, although it was a little loose in the waist (26"). I would highly recommend it because it is beautiful, classy, and incredibly flattering
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 20, 2012
Loved it!
This dress fit great, and looked amazing. Beautiful color. Very comfortable and flattering silhouette. There are pockets that, looked very bunchy around the hips when I first tried it on but after I ironed the pockets they laid flat and were no longer noticeable. I would definitely rent this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
August 20, 2012
cute dress
This dress was cute. Not quite as red as I thought it would be, and the pockets can look a bit weird as they wrap around and could make you look a little bigger in the hips. The dress felt a little big in the bust, but with the internal ribs, and set waist, didn't feel like I had to pull it up all night to avoid a wadrobe malfunction.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
August 20, 2012
Beautiful Event Dress!
Wore this dress to a friends wedding. I got compliments all night and the dress was comfortable the entire evening. Loved the color and the fit. If you are busty, consider going a size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
August 22, 2012
Great little dress
I wore this to a rehearsal dinner and it was great! Very comfortable, very cute. The pockets are kind of weird because they go all the way around the back, but when you carry things in your pocket you can't really tell. I would rent this again
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
August 24, 2012
Everyone loved the unique bright color
This dress was perfect to wear at my brothers wedding! The bright color with the simple and flattering silhouette was perfect for the summer wedding. With my full chest I usually stay away from strapless dresses, but the top had so much structure I didn't even need to wear a clunky strapless bra. I'd definitely rent this one again. I'm usually between a 2 and 4, and I definitely needed the 4 with the fitted top on this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 31, 2012
Runs WAY too small
I rented another Shoshanna dress for my graduation and it fit great! So i figured renting another of the same brand would be fool proof.. WRONG. The dress was super long and super tight in the chest. I'm on the 4/6 line and I could not even get the 6 fastened. My friend who is a size 2 tried on the 4 and it barely fastened on her, and she said she could barely breath. Horrible experience I had nothing to wear to the party I was attending. Only nice thing about the dress was the material. If you have boobs.. find another dress don't waste your money on this one because I guarantee it will not fit around your chest.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
August 31, 2012
Good day to night dress
I wore this to a day time birthday party. I chose flats and a jean jacket to funk it up a bit. It ran a tad big (maybe this designer) overall. I would suggest adding a belt.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
September 3, 2012
Beautiful dress!
I'm very busty, so I was wary about this dress. When it came, I thought it wouldn't zip, but with a friend's help and the lack of a strapless dress, it went on perfectly! The color was absolutely gorgeous!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
September 4, 2012
Super cute for day or night!
This was my back up dress, but I would have LOVED to have worn it! Wish I had another event to go to!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
September 5, 2012
So much cuter in person!
The color is stunning and the fabric has a lot more weight than it appears in the photos. The fit was very flattering. Perfect for any occasion!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119lbs
August 24, 2012
amazing dress
LOVE LOVE LOEV
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 6, 2012
Loved!!
I ordered this dress for a wedding, and I absolutely loved it! The neckline was extremely flattering for someone with a small chest, and the length was perfect. It had alot of built in support as well so I didn't have to pull it up all night. I wore it with a gold necklace and nude pumps. Would definitely rent again for another occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
September 7, 2012
Second dress for just $25? Love it!
I ordered this dress as a back up dress for a wedding and ended up wearing it to the rehearsal dinner because I liked it so much! I also wore the Kendra Scott Nyla Emerald earrings and the two rentals looked great together. The dress was a little big, I think the 0 might have fit me better, but it certainly didn't look bad. Loved the pockets
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
September 7, 2012
I had so many compliments on my dress and necklace thanks to Rent the Runway. In fact, it was such a big hit and we had such a great time that I was invited to another wedding in October!
I wore this dress along with the Ciner - Antique Cascading Crystal Necklace and the Carlos Falchi - Bronze Bombshell Clutch to a friend's wedding in early August. Normally I wear between sizes 0-2 in dresses and the size 0 in this dress fit perfectly. It was dressy enough to fit right in at the wedding while still being light and comfortable - perfect summer wedding dress. I had such a great time; in fact, at this wedding I got invited to another wedding in October!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
September 10, 2012
Returning the dress was super easy and I loved the little gifts that come with the dress! Nice touch!
This was my first experience renting a dress from RTR. I will definitely do it again. When looking for a dress, I new I wanted a red dress, and this one definitely fit the bill. It was very comfortable; no bra was necessary (although you can wear one of course), and I loved the pockets. The material and cut of the dress was very flattering. I got several compliments, and turned people on to RTR!
AKMApril 6, 2013
Erica you look so good girl!!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
September 10, 2012
Great everyhwere but bust!
The color of this dress and the skirt are absolutely adorable. I am usually a true size 12, but have a larger bust and this dress just flattened me out and pinched in the wrong areas at the top. Disappointing for me, but if you don't have this issue, I would definitely recommend renting!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 17, 2012
Really Cute!
I rented this as the add-on back-up dress and ended up loving my first pic. I really did not like the fit of this one however, I'm fairly busty and the cups rolled over. I was a little disappointed in this dress because it looks SO CUTE in the pictures and on the hanger. I'm confident someone a little less busty will have no trouble and look fantastic
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175lbs
September 19, 2012
Great to be in Red on a Girl Trip to Vegas!
I am busty so I am glad I went up to the size 12 because I am normally a true 10... and it was still tight in the bust - but I was in Vegas so it was ok!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
September 19, 2012
Great dress! Super easy to wear, pockets are great!
The top was a little bigger than the bottom but over all it was a great fit. Color is awesome! Love the pockets.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
September 19, 2012
Beautiful dress although it runs small so get a larger size.
Fit was tight as the dress runs a little small but overall a great dress.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
September 19, 2012
Great color!
I'm 5'3 115lbs and the size 2 fit great! The color was great for a summer outdoor wedding...got lots of compliments! I would definitely order a size up just in case though!
AllyMarch 29, 2013
I'm 5'4, 115 and have an athletic/petite body type. I'm 32B also. I normally get a 0 but do you think I should get a 2 and 4 or a 0 and 2? Thanks!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 19, 2012
Dress was super cute and easy to dance in!
The bodice part is fitted and stays up with no problems. My only complaint is that the pockets extend past the hips and into the back so it's not quite seamless in the back of the dress. The color is more red than orange but it definitely worked in my favor! I also rented the bangles pictured. Great dress, wish I owned it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
October 1, 2012
Great color, loved the pockets!
I loved wearing this dress. I'm glad I got the backup size because the 4 was way too big. It is a perfect simple style that can be dressed up with accessories. I bust fit in sort of a strange way but that might just have been because I didn't fill it out enough.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
October 29, 2012
Great color for a fall wedding!
Pros: I love the color of this dress and the feel of the material. It was thicker, so it's perfect for fall. The color is more red-orange in person, but it definitely photographs well. I also love the boning/corset idea. Con: The boning was bent/drooping so, if you notice on the picture, the folds/creases seems uneven. I had to keep adjusting it to no avail. I think the boning was damaged and it's probably not like that for all the dresses. Overall, I really liked this dress. I got tons of compliments on the color and it made me try something apart from my standard black/navy blue dresses. I would definitely rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
October 30, 2012
classy dress
Got a lot of compliments on the dress, but warning- if you have a big butt you might want to size up because you could see the outlines of the pockets around my butt with the size 4. Nobody else seemed to notice though and everyone kept asking if they could borrow the dress from me
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
October 30, 2012
I loved the way it fit!
It hugs nice and tight by the chest. I am a 36C. Otherwise it was flowy so you didn't feel like it was tight on your waist or any of that. Perfect for a date, wedding, party or anything really!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 3, 2012
Fun & flirty red dress!
I loved that I didn't have to wear a bra with this dress because of the built in corset kind of thing--a lot of Shoshanna dresses have it. I always look for a dress not fitted in the hips because my hips are just a tid bigger than most--I wear a 29/30 in pants--so this dress was perfect. The only downside is there is a seem down the middle of the back of the dress. So if you have bigger hips, it's not the most flattering, but honestly the dress was so comfy and flattering in every other sense that I still loved it.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
November 24, 2012
I ordered this as my backup and overall it fit well and was flattering but puckered a bit in back.
It was a bit tight in the chest and puckered in the back, which was a sign it was too small but overall the length was great and people liked it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 26, 2012
Super flattering cut & color!
I rented size 6 and 8 and wore the 8. I'm 5'5", 34b, 140 lbs. the 6 fit also but was a bit small on the hips. I got tons of compliments on this dress and would definitely rent it again. I wore it with a big gold necklace also from RTR.
KatieNovember 27, 2012
Hi! I have a quick question for you. I saw that you just reviewed this dress recently and I was wondering about the color. I just ordered it and then realized it said coral. Go figure! I have a Christmas party and wanted to know if the color would look ridiculous! Thank you!
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×