Shoshanna

Trapped in Love Dress

$47 to buy
$375 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Feel beautiful and look radiant wearing this flirty Shoshanna sweetheart dress. Need a little extra flare to your look? Go with the Kate Spade's Emerald Anastasia Clutch to jazz up this style!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Coral crepe. Strapless sweetheart neckline. Pleated bodice and skirt. Front pockets. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
135 reviews
Fit
Large
(14)
True to Size
(103)
Small
(18)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
August 15, 2012
My bridesmaids couldn't stop talking about my dress!

I wore this for my bachelorette party and it was the perfect choice. The red isn't blaring and loud, but goes perfectly with the just hint-of-tan that I had going on. The fabric is lightweight and the dress features a built in strap so that you don't have to worry about keeping the dress up. Would totally buy this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
August 16, 2012
Rent this dress!

I got so many compliments on this dress. It was appropriately short on my 5'6'' frame. It fit perfectly, although it was a little loose in the waist (26"). I would highly recommend it because it is beautiful, classy, and incredibly flattering

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 20, 2012
Loved it!

This dress fit great, and looked amazing. Beautiful color. Very comfortable and flattering silhouette. There are pockets that, looked very bunchy around the hips when I first tried it on but after I ironed the pockets they laid flat and were no longer noticeable. I would definitely rent this dress again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Hourglass
August 20, 2012
Beautiful Event Dress!

Wore this dress to a friends wedding. I got compliments all night and the dress was comfortable the entire evening. Loved the color and the fit. If you are busty, consider going a size up.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
August 22, 2012
Great little dress

I wore this to a rehearsal dinner and it was great! Very comfortable, very cute. The pockets are kind of weird because they go all the way around the back, but when you carry things in your pocket you can't really tell. I would rent this again

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
August 24, 2012
Everyone loved the unique bright color

This dress was perfect to wear at my brothers wedding! The bright color with the simple and flattering silhouette was perfect for the summer wedding. With my full chest I usually stay away from strapless dresses, but the top had so much structure I didn't even need to wear a clunky strapless bra. I'd definitely rent this one again. I'm usually between a 2 and 4, and I definitely needed the 4 with the fitted top on this dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
September 3, 2012
Beautiful dress!

I'm very busty, so I was wary about this dress. When it came, I thought it wouldn't zip, but with a friend's help and the lack of a strapless dress, it went on perfectly! The color was absolutely gorgeous!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
September 4, 2012
Super cute for day or night!

This was my back up dress, but I would have LOVED to have worn it! Wish I had another event to go to!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
September 5, 2012
So much cuter in person!

The color is stunning and the fabric has a lot more weight than it appears in the photos. The fit was very flattering. Perfect for any occasion!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119lbs
August 24, 2012
amazing dress

LOVE LOVE LOEV

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 6, 2012
Loved!!

I ordered this dress for a wedding, and I absolutely loved it! The neckline was extremely flattering for someone with a small chest, and the length was perfect. It had alot of built in support as well so I didn't have to pull it up all night. I wore it with a gold necklace and nude pumps. Would definitely rent again for another occasion.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
September 7, 2012
I had so many compliments on my dress and necklace thanks to Rent the Runway. In fact, it was such a big hit and we had such a great time that I was invited to another wedding in October!

I wore this dress along with the Ciner - Antique Cascading Crystal Necklace and the Carlos Falchi - Bronze Bombshell Clutch to a friend's wedding in early August. Normally I wear between sizes 0-2 in dresses and the size 0 in this dress fit perfectly. It was dressy enough to fit right in at the wedding while still being light and comfortable - perfect summer wedding dress. I had such a great time; in fact, at this wedding I got invited to another wedding in October!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
September 10, 2012
Returning the dress was super easy and I loved the little gifts that come with the dress! Nice touch!

This was my first experience renting a dress from RTR. I will definitely do it again. When looking for a dress, I new I wanted a red dress, and this one definitely fit the bill. It was very comfortable; no bra was necessary (although you can wear one of course), and I loved the pockets. The material and cut of the dress was very flattering. I got several compliments, and turned people on to RTR!

AKMSeptember 10, 2012
Erica you look so good girl!!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
September 10, 2012
Great everyhwere but bust!

The color of this dress and the skirt are absolutely adorable. I am usually a true size 12, but have a larger bust and this dress just flattened me out and pinched in the wrong areas at the top. Disappointing for me, but if you don't have this issue, I would definitely recommend renting!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 17, 2012
Really Cute!

I rented this as the add-on back-up dress and ended up loving my first pic. I really did not like the fit of this one however, I'm fairly busty and the cups rolled over. I was a little disappointed in this dress because it looks SO CUTE in the pictures and on the hanger. I'm confident someone a little less busty will have no trouble and look fantastic

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
September 19, 2012
Great dress! Super easy to wear, pockets are great!

The top was a little bigger than the bottom but over all it was a great fit. Color is awesome! Love the pockets.

View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
September 19, 2012
Great color!

I'm 5'3 115lbs and the size 2 fit great! The color was great for a summer outdoor wedding...got lots of compliments! I would definitely order a size up just in case though!

AllySeptember 19, 2012
I'm 5'4, 115 and have an athletic/petite body type. I'm 32B also. I normally get a 0 but do you think I should get a 2 and 4 or a 0 and 2? Thanks!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 19, 2012
Dress was super cute and easy to dance in!

The bodice part is fitted and stays up with no problems. My only complaint is that the pockets extend past the hips and into the back so it's not quite seamless in the back of the dress. The color is more red than orange but it definitely worked in my favor! I also rented the bangles pictured. Great dress, wish I owned it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
October 29, 2012
Great color for a fall wedding!

Pros: I love the color of this dress and the feel of the material. It was thicker, so it's perfect for fall. The color is more red-orange in person, but it definitely photographs well. I also love the boning/corset idea. Con: The boning was bent/drooping so, if you notice on the picture, the folds/creases seems uneven. I had to keep adjusting it to no avail. I think the boning was damaged and it's probably not like that for all the dresses. Overall, I really liked this dress. I got tons of compliments on the color and it made me try something apart from my standard black/navy blue dresses. I would definitely rent again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
October 30, 2012
I loved the way it fit!

It hugs nice and tight by the chest. I am a 36C. Otherwise it was flowy so you didn't feel like it was tight on your waist or any of that. Perfect for a date, wedding, party or anything really!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 3, 2012
Fun & flirty red dress!

I loved that I didn't have to wear a bra with this dress because of the built in corset kind of thing--a lot of Shoshanna dresses have it. I always look for a dress not fitted in the hips because my hips are just a tid bigger than most--I wear a 29/30 in pants--so this dress was perfect. The only downside is there is a seem down the middle of the back of the dress. So if you have bigger hips, it's not the most flattering, but honestly the dress was so comfy and flattering in every other sense that I still loved it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 26, 2012
Super flattering cut & color!

I rented size 6 and 8 and wore the 8. I'm 5'5", 34b, 140 lbs. the 6 fit also but was a bit small on the hips. I got tons of compliments on this dress and would definitely rent it again. I wore it with a big gold necklace also from RTR.

KatieNovember 26, 2012
Hi! I have a quick question for you. I saw that you just reviewed this dress recently and I was wondering about the color. I just ordered it and then realized it said coral. Go figure! I have a Christmas party and wanted to know if the color would look ridiculous! Thank you!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 7, 2012
Unfortunately the dress did not arrive in time; an error on UPS's fault.

Stylist Lindsay A was amazingly helpful and found me another available dress that is being overnighted form my event tomorrow. Great customer service!!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
December 9, 2012
It was an easy process.

The dress is very versatile. Dressy or casual party.

KateDecember 9, 2012
Hey question! I have a similar body type and am ordering this dress. Do you think you could have fit into the 2? Size 2 is all they have available. 4 has already been rented
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
December 14, 2012
Comfortable and figure flattering

The color is great and it was perfect for my husband's semi formal office party!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 15, 2012
Wore this for my 21'st birthday in downtown Manhattan. Perfect combination of sexy and classic!

The built in bra for this dress is a godsend- you don't have to mess up the clean lines of the dress with added bulk from a strapless bra! The color is gorgeous on every skin tone (myself, blonde & Irish, and my roommate, olive skin and brunette) both tried it on and were in love. I had to steal it back from her!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
December 18, 2012
Shoshanna corsets run very small in the top. Great for small chest.

The drape around the hips wasn't very flattering from the side. Corset made me go up a size.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 3, 2013
The color is amazing!

I rented this as a backup and didn't end up wearing it, but I would definitely recommend it and might end up renting it for my next event!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 9, 2013
My 30th Birthday!

This was my favorite dress I've rented from RTR. I wore it with turquoise jewelry for my 30th birthday party and it looked spectacular--love the fit, love the pockets, love the color, love the fact that I didn't have to wear a bra. Would totally rent this again.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 28, 2013
Great choice

Nothing to complain about! Great fit, beautiful colour. I'm blonde with fair skin and the red was a lovely touch of colour to a winter party.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
February 11, 2013
Perfect for pair shapes

I am a swimmer so my shoulders are more developed than i would like so the 10 fit perfect and despite the wait hitting at an unflattering point the fabric and its drape were very flattering. I loved it and fept beautiful, elegant and sexy all at once.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
March 1, 2013
First RTR experience- didn't disappoint!

The pockets on this dress were the best thing! It was such a perfect dress to wear to a fun wedding. Since it was my first RTR experience, I ordered a 2 and a 4, since I normally am one of those sizes. The 4 fell off me, and the 2 was slightly too big, but still managable. My own fault for not ordering properly.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 12, 2013
I love the dress!

I really enjoyed this dress and thought that it fit perfectly. It was so easy to return and was delivered on time so I will definitely order again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
March 24, 2013
Love that RTR gives you a second size and a second dress for only $25!

Cons: the dress is a lot more red than coral, the zipper on the size 8 was broken when I received it. Pros: the but is fitted with extra support and the fit is flattering. Overall I loved the dress!

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 30, 2013
RTR was so easy! Prompt delivery and easy returns!

Perfect fit and perfect for the occasion! It was comfortable and easy to wear for dancing! So many compliments on the dress, it was beautiful! Thank you!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 12, 2013
So many compliments!

Perfect, classic dress. Sweetheart neckline is amazing, and the fit is flawless. SO flattering!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 17, 2013
Great color, flattering shape!

I rented this dress as a second option for a wedding and I ended up not wearing it only because I absolutely loved the other dress I rented. However, the color of this dress is beautiful and bright and the shape of the dress is really flattering. I loved how comfortable it was and the pockets were awesome! It looked fantastic with a chunky turquoise necklace! Very cute dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148lbs
April 20, 2013
Great dress for being 5 months pregnant

So I was 5 months pregnant at a bachelorette party and did not want to look pregnant at the club. This dress was perfect for that. I ordered 1 size up from my pre pregnancy size and it fit. Put a belt with it and it was great. Would highly recommend.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 165lbs
April 23, 2013
perfect for fraternity semi-formal!

a little short, but I am super tall so it should be normal on other girls

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
April 25, 2013
Great dress for my bridal shower!

I wore this dress for a brunch Bridal Shower and really did love it. You can really tell when you're wearing a high quality dress vs a cheap dress! I think it fit well. I ordered the 4 and the 6 but i opted for the 6 because I didn't want it to squeeze anywhere, plus I knew I'd be eating and drinking a lot :). I loved the color!! I had just spray tanned and it complimented my skin very well. It's mostly red but a little orangey. I got lots of compliments and was very comfortable in it all day. I wore a side hair style, long earrings, nude wedges, and a bracelet. I thought it was great! I love RTR!

View photos (2)
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×