Teal Pearl of Wisdom Dress

$54 to buy
$305 retail
Stylist Notes

Step out in style in this Shoshanna for the bridal shower and have all your girlfriends compliment your femininity! Shown here with the kate spade accessories' Solarium Bib Necklace and earrings like the Kenneth Jay Lane's Emerald Drop Earrings.

Also available in black, red.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted throughout bust, so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist; full skirt and pleating flattering on any body type
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt is not fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10'')

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted throughout bust, so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist; full skirt and pleating flattering on any body type
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt is not fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10'')

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Teal bengaline. Scoop neckline. Seaming on bodice. Pleated skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
349 reviews
Fit
Large
(32)
True to Size
(276)
Small
(38)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
November 14, 2012
Complemented throughout the evening
dress runs short
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 15, 2012
This dress did not fit at all
I rented this dress for a wedding and loved the color, however, it gaped in the bust area and was REALLY short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
November 22, 2012
Best dress and necklace I've ever rented
I wore this to a Texas wedding. I received so many compliments. The pictured necklace is a MUST rent. It makes the dress!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
November 25, 2012
Simply adorable!
Not a rental for myself, I rented this for my 17 year old daughter to wear for a wedding. It fits true to size and the fabric and color were perfect for her age... She accessorized with the Kate Spade necklace and it made her a show stopper. She is and was ....beautiful!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 116lbs
November 25, 2012
Beautiful dress and color!
I rented this dress for a wedding and chose sizes 6 and 8. I wore the size 6 because it was a better fit than the size 8. The size 8 was bigger in the bust area, while the size 6 was snug around the mid-section (I do have a belly though) and it was a little loose around the bust area, but wearable. The color of the dress is true to its name, teal and it has pockets. I wore black stockings with my black booties to complete the look. The only thing I would change is I would have rented a bib necklace to go with the dress. Other than that, the dress was gorgeous and I was completely satisfied with my rental and Rent the Runway. Thanks!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 26, 2012
I felt like a celebrity in this dress!
I ordered a 4 and a 6 and wore the 6 to a wedding ceremony and reception. I'm 5'0" and this dress hit very slightly above the knee. Tried the 4 first, but didn't have someone to help zip me up and couldn't do it myself. I panicked, but when I tried on the 6, I was able to zip up and the dress fit fabulously! Not sure if I would have fit into the 4, but I have a feeling the girls would have either been too smashed down or too much on display! If you're carrying around extra pregnancy weight (like me), want to conceal your belly, or are just curvy, this dress is a great choice! I'm wearing Spanx pantyhose underneath, so that helped cinch me in a bit. In the picture, it looks like my belly is sticking out a bit, but that was actually the dress pocket popping up when I struck that pose. I paired this dress with nude pumps and sparkly jewelry. This dress is sexy and figure-flattering, but still demure and tasteful. Definitely give this one a try!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 26, 2012
Loved it!
It fit perfectly. Wore it with dark purple heels and a purple sash around the waist and it looked fab.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 1, 2012
Comfortable dress!
The 6 is very short, the 8 was about 2 inches longer.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 122lbs
December 3, 2012
This fit perfectly and I loved the color -- it was not too green. I received many compliments.
I have a larger bust and still fit in the size 4 very well. This was perfect for the bridal brunch, but would have been great for the reception too! Beautiful! Enjoy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129lbs
December 11, 2012
Cheery color, flirty fit, classic look
I'm not sure what's going on with this model here, but my dress was short! I'm 5'4" and the hem hit mid-thigh. I was perfectly happy with the length, and the color was charming.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 12, 2012
Great fit, great color, easy to wear!
This was so easy to wear. I felt great in it! This dress was so versatile; I could have done a million different things with it. I chose to wear a bright bib necklace, also rented from RTR, but it would have been great with a funky shoe or statement earrings as well. Only problem with it is that I liked it so much, I wish I didn't have to return it!:)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
December 14, 2012
Comfortable
I liked that i could wear a normal bra. I ordered a 6 and an 8. The 6 fit better. It was knee-length on me, but I'm very short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
December 17, 2012
Great fit
I wore this dress for Engagement photos. It was true to size and added a great pop of color for the pictures.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 101lbs
December 19, 2012
I wore the dress for graduation, and the color looked great in pictures and fit well!
I ordered a 2 and a 0. Though I'm normally a 2, I found that it was a little too big in the shoulders. Just swapped it out for the smaller dress, and it worked great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
October 19, 2012
Loved it
I wore it to my sons school play loved the dress
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
July 18, 2012
Good choice for a wedding
Great dress, nice fabric.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 2, 2013
Perfect for a wedding!
Wore this to a wedding this last summer. It fit true to size so I wore the 6. The pockets we're awesome and the color really stood out. This dress has a simple silhouette that is very flattering. I loved it and was very glad I picked it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
January 3, 2013
Lovely color - but weird sizing
This dress is a lovely color and a potentially flattering cut. Unfortunately I was in between a size 8 and 10. The 8 was extremely tight in the bust and couldn't be worn comfortably - which was too bad because it was adorable! My back-up size 10 had an extra pleat around the waist, was too loose, and about 3 inches longer in length, which threw off the proportions on me. I was so sad I couldn't wear either of the dresses.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 24, 2013
Wonderful dress, didn't want to take it off!!
The color of the dress was great. The fit was good as well, the only problem that I had was that the bust was a little big. I read some of the other reviews and invested in a good padded bra. I'm a little pear shaped so this dress hid all my flaws. Take it from me this dress is great
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
February 13, 2013
Felt Beautiful!
Ordered 8 and 10. Thought I was gonna wear the 10 but then ended up wearing the 8 last minute. Have a second person to help zip up! Snug at the waist. It was my first rental and a great experience but I did have a giggled when another girl at the wedding was wearing the same dress. Oh well!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 27, 2013
This is the first formal date my husband and I have had time to take since our son was born.
I'm usually between an 8 and a 10, but after having my son and because of my larger assets, I've had to wear more 10's lately. Since the stylist suggestion for the tip said to order up if you have a large bust, I got the 10 and my backup size was the 12. I wore the 10, which actually had a bit of extra fabric I didn't need, so I could have worn an 8. It still fit well enough to wear for my date, however, and I had a great time! Sidenote: This dress is really comfortable and has pockets, so it's great for occasions that will last a little while. (My picture was too big to upload, sorry.)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
March 1, 2013
I've rented this dress before in Royal, so why not go with what works! This silhouette is awesome!
It's perfect for a curvier girl like me, who just had a baby too! It accentuated what it needed to, and I'm a fan of the A-line skirt, fitted bust. It was the perfect choice to support a fellow co-worker who just overcame Ovarian Cancer, so we wore teal in her honor. Bottom line- I love Shoshanna, and every dress I've rented from her, has been PERFECT!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
March 14, 2013
Cute dress
Loved this dress, it was comfortable to wear and the color was really nice. The only issue was that it was on the short side -- it felt fine when I was standing up, but sitting down exposed a lot of leg!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 20, 2013
Loved the Color for a Summer Wedding, but Wouldn't Rent Again
I really liked the color of this dress, and thought the fit was okay but not super flattering on me. While I was getting ready I must have leaned up against the sink in the bathroom and it left a wet spot on the dress that didn't dry all night, and was even noticeable in pictures. Would't rent this one again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
March 21, 2013
great color & fabric
The fit was true to size - big, a bit low cut on top, fitted waist and open bottom. Great structure, color, fabric. Color is a bit darker than in image
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
March 28, 2013
Great dress
Love this dress. Rented it as a backup dress, so I didn't end up wearing it, but it fit me perfectly. Would definitely rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 3, 2013
Cute, Classy, Fun!
Amazing dress, perfect for the Spring wedding I went to. Sturdy, almost iridescent fabric gives it a formal flair. Runs slightly small. I usually wear a 4, but I ended up wearing a 2 in this dress. It was also a half an inch shorter than I expected it to be (creeping up past mid-thigh). I'm 5'6, so any shorter and it would have been inappropriate. All in all, it's one of my favorites!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
April 7, 2013
Very pretty dress and easy RTR experience.
It was a little large in the chest and waist area but I wore it for pictures so it was fine.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 9, 2013
Perfect for spring
Wore it to brunch at Galatoire's- lovely color and a flattering, easygoing cut. It runs a little narrow through the bust and ribcage, so I'd size up if you're on the line in that area!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
April 10, 2013
Had a great time with my friends, and apparently, this color is in- everyone was wearing it!
Pros: Fit well, runs true to size, nice color. Cons: A little short (several inches above the knee, and I'm 5'4") and low (my breasts looked smaller than they do in most dresses- granted, they're really small, but I don't like to accentuate that feature) for my liking.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
April 29, 2013
Perfect 1st RTR dress
Loved the dress. The actual color of the dress is darker than the picture, but still pretty. I also felt the dress was a bit short...
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 117lbs
May 3, 2013
Very pleased with my first RTR purchase!
I ordered the 4 and 6 after hearing other reviews, but the 4 worked fine for my larger bust. LOVED the pockets. It was perfect for my cousin's wedding!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
May 6, 2013
I wore this for a cocktail party, and I got so many compliments!
This was my first Rent the Runway experience, and I'm now completely hooked. I am petite and sometimes have problems finding dresses that are the right length, but this was perfect, and it fit me like a glove. I didn't even need any of the doublestick tape that RTR includes! The color of the dress is lovely, and it has a great subtle shine to it. The pockets were fabulous, and the whole dress I felt tasteful yet fun (which was ideal since my boyfriend's family was throwing the party). My only regret is not getting the necklace the model is wearing in the photo-- would have been the perfect addition!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
May 8, 2013
Not bad!!! Wish I had bought it.
This dress was great. It's a little lower than I'm used to wearing--and was expecting, but it clung in the right places, and I wasn't fidgetting the whole ceremony. I wore a regular everyday bra under it and was fine because it had snaps to hold the straps. Only bad thing is it shows everything, water stain, sweat mark, I mean everything. The actual color is a little darker, bluer. Loved that it had pockets. Really wish I had gotten to buy it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
May 10, 2013
amazing color and fit
I've rented this dress in two different colors and I have to say it is one of my favorite dresses I've ever worn-- especially for anyone who has a smallish waist and big bust, it's extremely figure-flattering (cinches you in the waist and has just enough cleavage to look sexy but not at all inappropriate for more formal cocktail occasions, and the bubble-ish shape of the bottom of the dress completely hides any imperfections!). I also love that the dress looks and feels structured; the fabric is not flimsy nor is it stiff, and it feels like its holding you in where it's supposed to. Overall LOVE, but a statement necklace is definitely necessary as the dress can look a bit plain on its own.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
May 13, 2013
Loved the color of this dress!! The material is gorgeous and the fit was super flattering.
I'm normally a size 6, and the 6 fit great for me. This dress is also perfect if you're tall, as it hits just a few inches above the knee. Definitely recommend this for anyone looking for a fun pop of color!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36AA
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
May 14, 2013
I wore this too a friend's wedding. Beautiful color.
It was a little short. I wish I had an extra inch or two for sitting in the church.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
May 15, 2013
Great Graduation Dress!
I wore this dress for my college graduation and I absolutely loved it! I was in search for something with pockets to wear so I could have a place to stash my phone under my gown and the pockets in this were great! They were large enough so that I didn't have to worry about my phone falling out when I sat down. It was breezy and airy and while I switched to gold heels for my ceremony, beforehand, I wore nude flats to a reception brunch. The only con was that it seemed to be a little low-cut and since I have a bigger bust, I was worried about being too revealing (luckily, my gown covered me up most of the time).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 15, 2013
Perfect for a spring or summer wedding!
I was excited as soon as this drive arrived - the color was darker than it appears in the photos, but it was gorgeous. The fabric is also different from what I expected! I liked the dress more in person! I was lucky in fact the one I received was also brand new - it still had a Shoshanna tag on it so it was in perfect condition. It was comfortable and flattering ... and I think the color helped the awesome sunburn I had on my arm look slightly less worse! I also love any dress that has the snaps to hold bra straps in place. Worn with the crystal Kate chandelier earrings that I added as "stylist surprise - mystery bling."
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
May 20, 2013
Beautiful Dress!
Fit is true to size, wore it to a summer wedding and I got compliments all night! The only downside of this dress, it started to sprinkle and the rain stained the fabric. Although it did dry it was a tiny bit noticeable. Other than that the dress was amazing and the necklace was beautiful as well!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
4 / 9

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×