Shoshanna

Take Notes Shift

$45 rental
$350 retail
Stylist Notes

Bring out your inner Twiggy by working this Shoshanna mod shift. An adorable style to wear during the day at work and meet your girlfriends out for dinner at night!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Teal jacquard (100% polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neckline. Shift body. Exposed center back zipper. Lined. 30 1/2” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
137 reviews
Fit
Large
(7)
True to Size
(76)
Small
(29)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 155lbs
October 17, 2012
Such a beautiful classy dress!
I really liked this dress. It is pretty structured and it fit exactly true to size. My only problem with the dress was that I had rented it to go out with some friends in Dallas. I am pretty short so the dress was pretty long on me, almost to my knees. It would have been a better length for church but not for going out. It is very covered up on top too, so it just was too formal for the occasion. I will probably rent this dress again, just for a more fitting event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
October 19, 2012
Love this dress! So comfortable and easy. You can dress it up or down
It is an easy fit. It is short and cute!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
October 22, 2012
Great Dress!
I normally wear a size 8 in Shoshanna, but because the dress is a shift and a little boxy, I had to go up one size. I'm 5'4 so it wasn't as short on me as it is on the model. Dress is really pretty in person- wore to a rehearsal dinner and got a lot of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
November 16, 2012
Really cute, easy to dress up or down. Runs short
Loved this dress wore it out to dinner with friends on night and then two days later with booties walking around town. Very versatile dress! Recommend wearing with nude pumps!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
November 27, 2012
Very cute. Wore it for thanksgiving with husbands family and it was the perfect day to evening dress
Was slightly boxy so wore it with a wide black leather belt. And black leather ankle boots. Gave it a bit of an edge. It is very short so tall girls beware. Bending down was tricky. As well as reaching up. But all an all it was darling!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
December 14, 2012
boxy, unflattering, not for tall girls
Very short on tall girls (im 5'11"), and tight in the bust although I am a small B. I loved the color, the texture, and the exposed back zipper, but it was all together unflattering on my body type.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 19, 2012
Great dress, great experience!
The dress fit well but the sleeves were a little tight. I don't really have big arms but it was a little tight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 26, 2012
Great Dress for Engagement Party
Wore this dress to my friend's engagement party. The dress is very cute and fits TTS; however, it was very hard to move in. I am 5'7" and 120lbs and wore the size 2. I wore flats and it was just a little short, but it was impossible to lift my arms up or bend down without the dress riding all the way up. I also rented the 4, but the length wasn't much difference and it was just baggy in the top and torso area. Recommend for people under 5'6".
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 7, 2013
Classic with a twist
I wore this dress for a dinner party I threw for a group of friends. It was perfect because it felt fun and classic, but the metallic aspect added a little extra something. Also, it was great for hostessing because it was easy to move around in so I could be jumping up and down to go to the kitchena nd pouring more wine without getting wrinkled. Also I am short so sometimes this style of dress looks awkwardly long on me, but this one was great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
March 27, 2013
Love this dress! It's conservative but not too buttoned up and looks fabulous!
The length was fabulous (I am 5'4) and the dress hit mid thigh. It rode up considerably, however, when seated. Luckily, I wore the dress to a cocktail party, where we stood and mingled for the majority of the evening. I felt covered up but not stuffy and effortless the whole night. The compliments rolled in! I do agree with much of the feedback provided in these reviews. The dress fits snug in the shoulder/ arm area but hopefully if you're wearing this, you aren't lifting or doing anything too active. If so, I don't suggest this dress because you run the risk of tearing it. Unlike many of the other reviews, I recommend wearing the dress with a pewter or black shoe colored shoe, instead of nude. Nude might be OK for summer but it didn't look right in March (although technically spring, this time of year in Chicago doesn't quite feel like it just yet). This is a fabulous dress and it's perfect for any family function, work, a bridal shower, or occasion in which when you want to cover up but still maintain an effortless appeal. Covered up doesn't have to look or feel like a drab in this outfit ; )
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 8, 2013
loved the dress, its a little too loose in the tummy area though. great color
loved the dress, its a little too loose in the tummy area though. great color
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 29, 2013
Great dress for work or going out!
Yes, a little short but it's over all conservative so the length works well. Love the colors and material. Great quality and tons of compliments!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108lbs
August 29, 2013
I rented this for my bachelorette party and it fit perfectly!
I was nervous that it would be too long (I'm 4'11) and it really wasn't. Also, I am petite with a large bust (30 DDD) so I was worried that it would be too tight in the chest but, it was great. I loved this dress so much!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
September 24, 2013
This material is gorgeous.
I'm 5'9 and normally wear a 10/12. I went with the 12 because it was the only one sent, but also, this dress is short and I imagine that any size smaller would have made the dress even shorter. It wasn't obscene while standing, but I was lucky in that while I was sitting, I was at a table with a napkin in my lap! I loved this dress and got lots of compliments while wearing it, but it also photographs well. I'd say that if you're a girl with great legs (but even if you don't... I def don't), this is your dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Body type: Pear
Weight: 142lbs
October 3, 2013
The whole package sent just like a present, beautiful dress & accessories, made me feel like a star.
I wore this to my best friends engagement party. The party was outside in someone backyard. I ordered a 10 and 12. I could have worn the 10 but wanted to feel comfortable and not worry about my tummy. So for a large breasted woman with a lot of junk in the trunk, this is really a flattering dress. I am 5/4 so it was the right length on me but I could see it being a bit short for someone taller. I wanted to dress it down so I wore a black Patton ballet shoe with an ankle strap. As the night got chilly, I threw on a black sweater and it looked nice. This was an awesome experience and I really felt special. Cant wait till my next event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
October 26, 2013
AMAZING dress
it's a little short but so cute on. great material and color in person
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
November 6, 2013
Great dress! Lots of compliments!
Rented this just for a fun night out. Great dress, fits true to size. Only thing is there isn't much give, so it rides up A Lot, so if you're concerned about that at all you might want to size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34G
Body type: Full Bust
November 29, 2013
great short dress with awesome jewel tone color.
arms are a little tight-- you definitely can't raise the roof in this dress. goes great with a statement necklace and the design is very flattering.
LLSFebruary 13, 2014
How short was this on you? I'm 5"5' as well
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 1, 2013
So short
Too short to wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 16, 2013
so comfortable and flattering!
The size 8 fit perfectly but I wore a size up because it was a tad short for a work function. so incredibly comfortable and great fit. I wore this for a work christmas party and everyone loved it!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 27, 2013
Such a great dress! Made me feel wonderful in rehearsing for my brother's wedding.
Fit great in all of the right places. It was the perfect length - not too short, not any longer than I would have wanted. I got compliments on it all night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 2, 2014
Not for Pear Shapes, Perfect for Petites
I read other reviews carefully so I thought this could work but bc of my round bottom half and the dress already being so short it looked more like a t-shirt. FAIL for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
January 25, 2014
This dress is so versatile!
The shine to the striped fabric of this dress makes it an option to dress up or down. I wore it with black tights and booties to a fashion show, but it would be perfect for a something a little more formal too.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 2, 2014
I wore this dress to a birthday brunch and it was very cute. For me, the fit was a little big.
The dress is very short but classy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 11, 2014
Cute, looks better on person than rack.
This was my back up size for a wedding with a conservative group of people. If the weather was warmer, this would have been the dress. I'm short, so the length didn't bother me, but definitely would have if I was taller (I also never really wore super short skirts much, so it could be a comfort level thing too). The fabric kind of looked cheap to me when I opened the box, but was reassured when I put it on. Would rent this again in the future.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
March 11, 2014
Loved this dress for a formal afternoon affair.
I usually wear a 6, but opted for the 4. For me, the fit between the 4 & 6 was similar but the 4 seemed a bit more fitted up top. I'm 5"2 and the length was great with black tights. Might be a bit short for taller folks. Lots of compliments. Wore with a long two-strand necklace.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143lbs
March 20, 2014
too big :(
I thought I was safe ordering a size 6 & 8 but to my surprise I needed a 4. I never wear a size 4 and I've recently gained weight, not lost. I was super bummed being this was my first RTR! I guess order 3 sizes to be safe.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Body type: Full Bust
March 31, 2014
Great dress!
Like other reviewers have commented, it is difficult to raise your arms as the dress fits tightly across the upper part of the chest/shoulders. I often have difficulty finding dresses that fit me well top and bottom--this was a winner.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
April 30, 2014
Perfect party dress!
Loved this dress. Fun and comfortable - got lots of compliments and danced away. Runs a bit large - I wore my usual size but could have gone down one size. Then again, I like shift dresses to be a snug.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 155lbs
May 12, 2014
Fun dress with lots of sass!
I loved this dress and it was perfect for the evening. The event was a beer and food tasting event that people dress up a bit for. I was on my feet all night, so the length wasn't an issue. But it is on the short side, so had I needed to sit, I would have had to be pretty careful. The fabric isn't heavy exactly, just thick, so maybe not the best choice for the dead of summer. But this dress was just so great and I loved wearing it. The print is fun, looks awesome with a bold necklace (I wore it with the tribal necklace from RTR) and a bright lip (I went with fuchsia/orchid). The shoulder and arms of the dress were a little tight, so I wouldn't recommend this for dancing. It skims the body nicely and leaves plenty of room in the torso area. In the picture it looks funny there, but in person it looks fab. I'd totally rent this again.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
May 18, 2014
Perfect for Spring
As others have said, it is quite short. I would not recommend this dress for an event that requires dancing. I wore it to my brother's high school outdoor graduation and it was perfect. It is heavier that some other dresses, so if it is over 75 degrees, you might be uncomfortable. I would have preferred to wear the 0 because it fit me on top better, but the length was not appropriate. The sleeves are not forgiving either so if you have muscular arms, I would size up or avoid this dress. I belted the dress to make up for the extra room for going up a size. Perfect for my event but definitely wouldn't want to wear it all day!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 108lbs
May 19, 2014
Fantastic--but short!
Fabulous. Fits just as you would want and very flattering. Buuut, it is short-- and I'm 5'2. I got the 2 and the 4 and would have worn the two-- but it was way, way too short. Fabulous dress--room for dessert!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 20, 2014
The jewel-tone blues and greens were really lovely during a sunset rooftop party!
I love shift style dresses because they look so chic and effortless! This dress was a little tight in the shoulders and arms so I went up a size, but other than that I loved it and got a lot of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 7, 2014
Fantastic dress!
LOVED this dress! I received tons of compliments on it all night. However, the dress was VERY short. I am fairly petite and on the shorter side so if it was short on me, I'm not sure how someone over 5'4" could handle it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
September 5, 2014
great shift
ggod fit
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 11, 2014
so cute, but all wrong.
this dress runs SMALL especially if you have remotely athletic arms/shoulders. the mid-section of the dress fit fine, except i could not move my arms AT ALL. the fabric has ZERO give. i doubt sizing up another size would have helped make this dress wearable. also, the other reviews are right - it runs SUPER short (even being a short person)! i love shoshanna, but definitely not their best work.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 144lbs
September 15, 2014
Endless amount of compliments!
I wore this dress to my cousin's outdoor wedding reception. I was kind of nervous about the thickness of the fabric because down here in Texas, it stays in the 90's until about October. But, thankfully it was perfect and we got a little cold front this past weekend! The compliments started as soon as I walked in, and didn't end until I walked out the back to leave! I loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 13, 2014
Too short
Ran WAY too short. I'm a mere 5'4 and couldn't wear this dress. Pretty dress though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 22, 2014
Great dress for a night out in the city!
Alittle short when you sit down, but perfect otherwise.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 1, 2014
Cute and fun dress. It was comfortable for a nice dinner and can be worn with flats.
I typically wear an 8 but decided to wear the size 10 in this dress. It is pretty darn short, so I'm glad I ordered the 10 too. Wore it to a nice birthday dinner and felt very cute in it.
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×