Shoshanna

Take Notes Shift

$45 rental
$350 retail
Stylist Notes

Bring out your inner Twiggy by working this Shoshanna mod shift. An adorable style to wear during the day at work and meet your girlfriends out for dinner at night!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Teal jacquard (100% polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neckline. Shift body. Exposed center back zipper. Lined. 30 1/2” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
135 reviews
Fit
Large
(7)
True to Size
(76)
Small
(28)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 122lbs
October 3, 2014
Beautiful fabric
Gorgeous fabric and cute fit/style but it is very short! I normally wear a size 2/4… I rented the 2 and 4 for back up. The 2 fit perfectly everywhere except it was inappropriately short (like barely covered my butt cheeks--no bending over or sitting down!) so I wore the 4 even though it was a big baggy in the stomach and hips. It was fine though and went with the shift style of the dress, but if you are on the taller side and want something fitted but not short i wouldn't recommend this dress. All in all, i got lots of compliments and it was a cute/comfy dress to wear for a dinner party!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 1, 2013
Lovely fabric. Much nicer in person.
I did not actually end up wearing this, as the wedding brunch I rented it for, ended up being more casual, but I would definitely rent it again. It was a great, cute, stylish dress. I rented the 2, since I am typically a 2 in Shoshanna, but if I rented it again, I may go with the 0. The top was a bit big, with darts that made it obvious I was not filling it out. If you're looking for a nice day-to-night dress, this is it. UPDATE: I rented the 0 for another occasion and woah was it short! The top fit perfect, though! Ugh. I tried.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
November 2, 2014
Perfect length for petites!
Beautiful dress! Well made and feels expensive. Definitely has a weight to it so perfect for a cold fall night. Would consider renting again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
November 17, 2014
I loved this dress!!
I loved this dress...wore it out for my birthday. Got SO many compliments, everyone asked if I could keep it! The 6 wasn't available when I rented so I had to order a size down and a size up. If I had the 6 I would have worn it, I wore the 4 - still looked great but the material doesn't give much give so I had trouble lifting my arms (Fashion over comfort right? haha) It also was a bit short, but since I'm short it totally worked with tights and boots. I would def rent this again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 17, 2014
Great color.
I got the 0 and the 2 and decided to go with the 2 because of the length. The dress was still pretty short, but it would look nice with black tights. Overall, great fit, and warm for fall events since it's a heavier fabric. I got tons of compliments!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 26, 2014
Easy and fun
Loved the shift shape of this dress, and the thicker fabric. The dress is definitely short but it works with the overall shape. I wore it with black flat sandals -- heels felt like too much for such a short dress -- and it was perfect for a summer date. Would rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 3, 2014
Great dress.
Somewhat short, especially when sitting
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
December 4, 2014
Too big for petites
So big and awkwardly shaped.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 5, 2014
The dress sparkles! I am a redhead and it looked great! Everyone at the party loved it! It was great
The dress is short! I am 5'7 and would suggest a size 6 or above due to length. Otherwise, the dress fit perfectly and I would strongly recommend!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 6, 2014
Very short - didn't wind up wearing
Despite the reviews, I thought I'd try to make this dress work. I rented it for a company holiday party and it was just too short. Definitely recommend sizing up in this dress!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
December 14, 2014
Everyone loved it! I want to buy it.
I wore this dress for a rehearsal dinner! It photographs so well and was comfortable through the whole night. From the photos I opted for gold jewelry but could do silver too. The lining does sneak out at times though. Friends and family members commented on how great it fit and looked. Would rent again and would love to buy it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 16, 2013
I love this dress. I got so many compliments.
This dress is great. I'm not sure how the taller girls can wear this though. I'm only 5 ft tall and it was the perfect length on me, but any shorter would have been far too short., The arms are a little snug, but nothing terrible. I wanted to keep this dress. It photographs great too. This dress is great for anyone with curves or a muscular build.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
December 30, 2014
Cute dress
Cute dress and perfect for holiday party. Bit short, looked best with tights
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 122lbs
January 2, 2015
Cute, flirty and fun!
Very well made and great fabric/material made it feel very luxurious. Can be dressed up or down. I would say it is really really short so I would not have been comfortable wearing this without stockings. So to me this is more of a winter dress. I am 5"4. I think the short length is okay since the rest of the dress is not showy. I also think if you have no boobs at all this dress may look to boxy and if you have large boobs the chest area will be too tight. All in all I loved it but think it is more body specific than most dresses. Good luck!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 12, 2015
Great dress!
High quality, comfortable, slightly short but not too bad
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
February 1, 2015
So short I couldn't wear it
Beautiful fabric and pattern. Wish I could have work! Both sizes I got were so short that I couldn't wear them. I'm 5'6, which I don't consider to be ridiculously tall, so beware!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
February 10, 2015
Everyone loved the dress!
Very short- should be worn with tights on girls that are taller
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
February 18, 2015
I wish this dress was mine.
I got the 0 & 2 as a backup, the 0 fit perfect but the bust was tight and it was short. I tried on the 2 but then it was just too shift looking, not cute. I wore the 0 and it was so comfortable, perfect for thanksgiving bc i could eat all i wanted and not have my food baby show. The only con was the shortness but it looked good when you stand normal but make sure you have someone to help you when you drop stuff bc if you bend over your whole butt will show. but i do wish i could have stolen this dress. sorry rtr.....
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 8, 2015
Loved this sassy dress for my birthday dinner!
I ordered this dress for my birthday dinner. I loved the colors and the shimmery fabric. I was worried it might be too thick for the hot Texas heat but it ended up being fine in the evening. I am 5'9'' and the dress is VERY short! The restaurant I chose had picnic tables which was interesting trying to get in. It is also fabric without stretch so I could not raise my hands otherwise the dress would lift up. Overall I was very happy with this dress but beware of how short it is.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 151lbs
March 9, 2015
Another happy rental!
I wore this dress to a wedding. This dress was very true to size. The 8 fit but was too tight in my bust so I wore the 10 and it fit great. I was a little worried about the length but I'm rather short so it wasn't a problem. The sleeves were a little restraining and the slip did show a little especially when sitting. Overall, I loved the dress and would rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 147lbs
March 18, 2015
Pretty green & blue shift dress w/necklace
I was really nervous to rent a dress that I've never tried on before. Especially not knowing if it will fit until the day you leave town! I have an athletic built with wide hips, thick thighs and a small waist- so a lot of things never fit me properly in the right spots. I almost rented a size 6 & 8, but I decided to go with the an 8 & 10. Good thing because the size 8 wouldn't even fit around my hips!!! The size 10 was way too big for my waist but fit my hips perfectly and it was a little too small in the sleeve area, a bit tight. If I lifted my arms the dress would show my underwear, Oy! The sleeves run realllly small and the dress is pretty short. But overall it was a pretty dress. I also rented that necklace with the dress which matched perfectly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Date
Age: 33
March 19, 2015
Too small.. wore it anyway. Had to suck-in during dinner!
This dress runs small and has no stretch! I needed a dress for date night with my husband while we were on vacation. Didn't have time to exchange it once I realized how snug it was, so I put on a pair of spanx and wore it anyways. Was sucking in all night! I did really like the pretty colors in it and it was a nice material. I would recommend wearing it if you can order a size up.. mine wasn't available. If you have curves like me, might be tighter on you.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
March 29, 2015
Great for day to night!
Rented for my cousin's bridal shower & family dinner in late March. Runs true to size but is short - perfect with tights! I wore during the day, but great sheen to the fabric - with the right necklace you could easily transition day to night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
April 15, 2015
Cute dress!
The dress was super cute and the short length accentuated my legs, but with that being said, I needed to be careful because it was very short. I wouldn't have dared raised the roof or even tie my hair in a ponytail in this dress unless I wanted to give a peep show. I wore it with sheer black pantyhose and black patent leather heels with a chunky silver chain necklace.
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
April 15, 2015
Great simple dress for a party! Can easily be dressed up or down depending on your event.
Received the dress a day early. I wore it at a birthday party and got tons of compliments! However, it's a bit on the short side even for my petite frame and the black lining does show up sometimes. But that won't stop me from renting again. Their service is always great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
April 16, 2015
Great colors!
This dress was great for an Easter Sunday party. The colors are vibrant and it was very flattering. I would not recommend this for a work event though as it is quite short. I would rent it again!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 17, 2015
It was a fun event!
Love the dress it was amazing
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
April 29, 2015
very unique dress
It was a funky pattern of colors and it fit great in the waist. Made me even look like I had a butt! A little short but great. tight across the shoulders. No stretch at all in the material.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
May 13, 2015
Extremely comfortable but maybe not the best for hot weather!
This dress fit great - I wore it to a rehearsal dinner and there was plenty of room in case I over indulged! It was the perfect height for me since I am only 5'1 but I could see it being short on other. Only downside was that it was an August wedding and I was pretty hot since the material was kind of heavy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
June 1, 2015
Great dress! Lots of compliments!
Fit short, which was great for my petite frame.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
June 4, 2015
easy dress to wear
wore it to a holiday party, i liked that it was still festive but not overly christmasy
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
June 15, 2015
Beautiful fabric and fun for NYE
Loved the dress but it's very very short. I didn't mind because i was wearing tights but was still self conscious about my napkin placement when I sat down at dinner because it rode up so high. Still fun for NYE!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 16, 2015
Fun Bachelorette party dress
Over all the dress was comfortable, easy to wear and cute. The only issue is that it is very short. I don't consider myself that tall but I had to wear tights to feel comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
July 22, 2015
Too short
I love the colors and material but the dress is a bit short. Actually really short. I was scared to bend over or go up stairs.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Everyday
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
August 21, 2015
too short! im 5'6
too short and tight sleeves couldnt lift my arms
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
August 23, 2015
Loved the dress, wouldn't have bought it had I tried it on first.
The dress was great for one night! I am only 5 foot and it was still extremely short. I did not feel as if I could move easily in it.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
September 8, 2015
Loved this dress and got so many compliments from other wedding guests!
Tight in the arms and chest. Anyone with a big bust would have struggled. It is short, as everyone else has said, but the neckline and cap sleeve keeps it evening wedding appropriate for this occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
October 12, 2015
Perfect party dress!
I rented this for my high school reunion. It was actually the second dress I was sent after the first one didn't work out, so I was a little nervous about it. The fit ended up being perfect, it was a little more fitted around the top and looser through the hips - I have pretty narrow hips and a 36G bra so this is standard for me. Like other reviewers I couldn't raise my arms above my head and I thought it was a little short, but nothing a pair of tights couldn't fix. I loved the fabric, the colors are really pretty and I love the subtle shine. I would definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
October 20, 2015
The dress worked perfectly for my church event!
The dress was great! Like others said it doesn't have much "give" but it fit great! I ordered the 8 and got the free extra size 6 and went with the 6! The color was so pretty! I got many compliments! I wore the dress with black tights and black booties. It was pretty short so I think the black tights helped with that. I wore it to a church event and it was great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 24, 2015
On the short side
I wore this to my new cousin-in-law's engagement party at a country club. It was a fairly casual event (like bbq and cocktails). I wore it with black pointy toed flats since it wasn't really a dressy event. I'm only 5'4 and it was pretty short on me, as in like, difficult to sit down in short! But it was super cute standing. Probably would be too short on taller ladies!!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×