Shoshanna

Take Notes Shift

$30 – $45 rental
$350 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Bring out your inner Twiggy by working this Shoshanna mod shift. An adorable style to wear during the day at work and meet your girlfriends out for dinner at night!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Teal jacquard (100% polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neckline. Shift body. Exposed center back zipper. Lined. 30 1/2” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
140 reviews
Fit
Large
(8)
True to Size
(77)
Small
(29)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 20, 2014
The jewel-tone blues and greens were really lovely during a sunset rooftop party!
I love shift style dresses because they look so chic and effortless! This dress was a little tight in the shoulders and arms so I went up a size, but other than that I loved it and got a lot of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 11, 2014
so cute, but all wrong.
this dress runs SMALL especially if you have remotely athletic arms/shoulders. the mid-section of the dress fit fine, except i could not move my arms AT ALL. the fabric has ZERO give. i doubt sizing up another size would have helped make this dress wearable. also, the other reviews are right - it runs SUPER short (even being a short person)! i love shoshanna, but definitely not their best work.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 13, 2014
Too short
Ran WAY too short. I'm a mere 5'4 and couldn't wear this dress. Pretty dress though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 1, 2014
Cute and fun dress. It was comfortable for a nice dinner and can be worn with flats.
I typically wear an 8 but decided to wear the size 10 in this dress. It is pretty darn short, so I'm glad I ordered the 10 too. Wore it to a nice birthday dinner and felt very cute in it.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 26, 2014
Easy and fun
Loved the shift shape of this dress, and the thicker fabric. The dress is definitely short but it works with the overall shape. I wore it with black flat sandals -- heels felt like too much for such a short dress -- and it was perfect for a summer date. Would rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 5, 2014
The dress sparkles! I am a redhead and it looked great! Everyone at the party loved it! It was great
The dress is short! I am 5'7 and would suggest a size 6 or above due to length. Otherwise, the dress fit perfectly and I would strongly recommend!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 6, 2014
Very short - didn't wind up wearing
Despite the reviews, I thought I'd try to make this dress work. I rented it for a company holiday party and it was just too short. Definitely recommend sizing up in this dress!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
December 14, 2014
Everyone loved it! I want to buy it.
I wore this dress for a rehearsal dinner! It photographs so well and was comfortable through the whole night. From the photos I opted for gold jewelry but could do silver too. The lining does sneak out at times though. Friends and family members commented on how great it fit and looked. Would rent again and would love to buy it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
June 1, 2015
Great dress! Lots of compliments!
Fit short, which was great for my petite frame.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Everyday
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
August 21, 2015
too short! im 5'6
too short and tight sleeves couldnt lift my arms
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
August 23, 2015
Loved the dress, wouldn't have bought it had I tried it on first.
The dress was great for one night! I am only 5 foot and it was still extremely short. I did not feel as if I could move easily in it.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
September 8, 2015
Loved this dress and got so many compliments from other wedding guests!
Tight in the arms and chest. Anyone with a big bust would have struggled. It is short, as everyone else has said, but the neckline and cap sleeve keeps it evening wedding appropriate for this occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 154lbs
December 8, 2015
This was worn to my first movie premier.
Very short, had to have a jacket covering my legs to feel comfortable. Loved the color and the way it photographed.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
January 13, 2016
I was very comfortable and felt super cute in this dress for a small, intimate winter wedding!
The dress is very short. I wore it with black opaque tights and TOMS desert wedges in black. I'm at 5'3" and it was fine when I was standing, but when I sat down the dress rode up to a length that was not all that comfortable. Aside from that, the fit was nice - I have broad shoulders, so the darts at the chest give a great shape, the neckline and sleeves make a great proportion, and the modern sheath style was flattering on my hips. Beautiful colors and fabric, and it was just dressy enough for the small wedding I was at, but could skew much more casual if I needed it to. The size 12 was comfortable for the evening, which was good because I ate a lot :) For reference, my measurements are 30-33-43 and the dress fit like a glove.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
February 11, 2016
Really cute, and good quality, however it is pretty short. Had to wear tights underneath.
Short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
May 23, 2013
Wore to a Wedding. Fun Dress!
I acutally ordered this as a backup dress and it worked out. It is a little short and im only 5'5. I wore it in October with tights. It is comfortable and looked great, but I had to be careful raising my arms. I did get lots of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
October 27, 2014
Fun party dress!
I rented this dress for an alumni homecoming mixer in the fall and it was a beautiful, thicker material, high quality dress with a little shine to it. I loved it and it photographed very well! It fits like a typical shift style dress, but is definitely on the short side. I would recommend ordering a size up for your back-up. The size 6 fit, but I wore the size 8 because I was more comfortable with the length. The size 6 was also a little tight across my chest. You could definitely dress this style up or down, mine felt a little more casual pairing it with black tights and boots.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 26, 2013
Stylish, Sexy, and Fun but also a Conservative.
This dress runs a little small and it is definitely short. I am not tall at all but I worn this with flats. Its perfect if you want to feel a little sexy but also need to be somewhat conservative. Might be good for a business party, or a family event. This dress was hard to sit down in because of the length. The fabric is not stretchy at all and that made the top feel a little small to me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
April 22, 2013
great dress for the holidays
the dress was true to size in the waist and chest, but then for some reason it was really small around my shoulders...and I do not have broad shoulders. it was also quite short--maybe it was a good thing i couldn't lift my arms.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
December 11, 2013
Girly and Fun
I rented this dress for a bridesmaids luncheon. Although it was very cute on I thought the arms were a bit constricting... If I would have gone up a size it would have looked like a tent but it was tighter in my arms. It ran very short but for me, I am 5ft, length fit perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
September 8, 2014
Cute but too tight in the biust
I rented this dress as a back up, but couldn't end up wearing it. It was super cute, but it was just too tight in the bust. I could barely move my arms with the sleeves and tightness in chest so I went with my first dress instead. That was too bad because I actually ended up liking this dress better that the other one! It was quite short but since the top is modest it balances out. If you are busty, definitely size up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
March 25, 2016
Pretty design
I rented this dress for a work function and loved the colors, but sadly could not wear it because it runs so small! I typically wear a size 4 and probably would have needed at least a size 8 to make it work at all. The colors looked great though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
June 19, 2017
CUTE! But short and odd fitting.
I got an eight which was very short, sitting was barely an option, raising my arms was not, and was tight across my shoulders and arms. I do have a relatively broad back so on a narrower frame the dress would fit better across the chest and back. Additionally the dress doesn't breath, so in the DC humidity it was a little toasty. Despite the fit/comfort issues that I felt, the dress certainly looked good on and turned heads! The way the dress looked + the compliments ultimately outweighed the above. Would recommend to slim framed / shorter girls.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 155lbs
October 17, 2012
Such a beautiful classy dress!
I really liked this dress. It is pretty structured and it fit exactly true to size. My only problem with the dress was that I had rented it to go out with some friends in Dallas. I am pretty short so the dress was pretty long on me, almost to my knees. It would have been a better length for church but not for going out. It is very covered up on top too, so it just was too formal for the occasion. I will probably rent this dress again, just for a more fitting event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
October 19, 2012
Love this dress! So comfortable and easy. You can dress it up or down
It is an easy fit. It is short and cute!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
November 16, 2012
Really cute, easy to dress up or down. Runs short
Loved this dress wore it out to dinner with friends on night and then two days later with booties walking around town. Very versatile dress! Recommend wearing with nude pumps!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
November 27, 2012
Very cute. Wore it for thanksgiving with husbands family and it was the perfect day to evening dress
Was slightly boxy so wore it with a wide black leather belt. And black leather ankle boots. Gave it a bit of an edge. It is very short so tall girls beware. Bending down was tricky. As well as reaching up. But all an all it was darling!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
December 14, 2012
boxy, unflattering, not for tall girls
Very short on tall girls (im 5'11"), and tight in the bust although I am a small B. I loved the color, the texture, and the exposed back zipper, but it was all together unflattering on my body type.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 19, 2012
Great dress, great experience!
The dress fit well but the sleeves were a little tight. I don't really have big arms but it was a little tight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 26, 2012
Great Dress for Engagement Party
Wore this dress to my friend's engagement party. The dress is very cute and fits TTS; however, it was very hard to move in. I am 5'7" and 120lbs and wore the size 2. I wore flats and it was just a little short, but it was impossible to lift my arms up or bend down without the dress riding all the way up. I also rented the 4, but the length wasn't much difference and it was just baggy in the top and torso area. Recommend for people under 5'6".
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 7, 2013
Classic with a twist
I wore this dress for a dinner party I threw for a group of friends. It was perfect because it felt fun and classic, but the metallic aspect added a little extra something. Also, it was great for hostessing because it was easy to move around in so I could be jumping up and down to go to the kitchena nd pouring more wine without getting wrinkled. Also I am short so sometimes this style of dress looks awkwardly long on me, but this one was great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
March 27, 2013
Love this dress! It's conservative but not too buttoned up and looks fabulous!
The length was fabulous (I am 5'4) and the dress hit mid thigh. It rode up considerably, however, when seated. Luckily, I wore the dress to a cocktail party, where we stood and mingled for the majority of the evening. I felt covered up but not stuffy and effortless the whole night. The compliments rolled in! I do agree with much of the feedback provided in these reviews. The dress fits snug in the shoulder/ arm area but hopefully if you're wearing this, you aren't lifting or doing anything too active. If so, I don't suggest this dress because you run the risk of tearing it. Unlike many of the other reviews, I recommend wearing the dress with a pewter or black shoe colored shoe, instead of nude. Nude might be OK for summer but it didn't look right in March (although technically spring, this time of year in Chicago doesn't quite feel like it just yet). This is a fabulous dress and it's perfect for any family function, work, a bridal shower, or occasion in which when you want to cover up but still maintain an effortless appeal. Covered up doesn't have to look or feel like a drab in this outfit ; )
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 8, 2013
loved the dress, its a little too loose in the tummy area though. great color
loved the dress, its a little too loose in the tummy area though. great color
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 29, 2013
Great dress for work or going out!
Yes, a little short but it's over all conservative so the length works well. Love the colors and material. Great quality and tons of compliments!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108lbs
August 29, 2013
I rented this for my bachelorette party and it fit perfectly!
I was nervous that it would be too long (I'm 4'11) and it really wasn't. Also, I am petite with a large bust (30 DDD) so I was worried that it would be too tight in the chest but, it was great. I loved this dress so much!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
September 24, 2013
This material is gorgeous.
I'm 5'9 and normally wear a 10/12. I went with the 12 because it was the only one sent, but also, this dress is short and I imagine that any size smaller would have made the dress even shorter. It wasn't obscene while standing, but I was lucky in that while I was sitting, I was at a table with a napkin in my lap! I loved this dress and got lots of compliments while wearing it, but it also photographs well. I'd say that if you're a girl with great legs (but even if you don't... I def don't), this is your dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Body type: Pear
Weight: 142lbs
October 3, 2013
The whole package sent just like a present, beautiful dress & accessories, made me feel like a star.
I wore this to my best friends engagement party. The party was outside in someone backyard. I ordered a 10 and 12. I could have worn the 10 but wanted to feel comfortable and not worry about my tummy. So for a large breasted woman with a lot of junk in the trunk, this is really a flattering dress. I am 5/4 so it was the right length on me but I could see it being a bit short for someone taller. I wanted to dress it down so I wore a black Patton ballet shoe with an ankle strap. As the night got chilly, I threw on a black sweater and it looked nice. This was an awesome experience and I really felt special. Cant wait till my next event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
November 6, 2013
Great dress! Lots of compliments!
Rented this just for a fun night out. Great dress, fits true to size. Only thing is there isn't much give, so it rides up A Lot, so if you're concerned about that at all you might want to size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34G
Body type: Full Bust
November 29, 2013
great short dress with awesome jewel tone color.
arms are a little tight-- you definitely can't raise the roof in this dress. goes great with a statement necklace and the design is very flattering.
LLSFebruary 13, 2014
How short was this on you? I'm 5"5' as well
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 27, 2013
Such a great dress! Made me feel wonderful in rehearsing for my brother's wedding.
Fit great in all of the right places. It was the perfect length - not too short, not any longer than I would have wanted. I got compliments on it all night!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×