Shoshanna

Primary Lace Dress

$30 rental
$385 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

It is wedding season and you're tired of wearing that boring black dress to the ceremony! Go with this Shoshanna vibrant lace party dress to kick up your style a notch!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fitted at the underarms
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fitted at the underarms
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red synthetic Lace (67.2% Cotton, 18.5% Nylon, 14.3% Rayon). Sleeveless. V neckline. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% Acetate). 37” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

183 reviews

Fit
Small 20
True to Size 145
Large 16
Photos 97
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 18, 2012

Gorgeous color, beautiful detail!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The cut and the fit of this dress were fantastic for an hourglass shape like mine. The bust was a little tight, but nothing that a minimizer bra couldn't fix. The detail of the lace is stunning and the fabric has a nice weight so the skirt stands away from the body, creating a nice shape. I got compliments all night, mostly from folks I don't know! Would definitely recommend this dress.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 19, 2012

So many compliments! Comfortable, distinctive & memorable.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was perfect for a wedding (or probably for just about anything - dress it up for a wedding, dress it down with flats for brunch). I'm typically a consistent size 10, but ordered an 8 as my backup size and ended up wearing it instead. Both fit fine, but the 8 had a more tailored look while the 10 had more volume in the skirt, which would have been fine too. There is plenty of space through the hips (for comfortable sitting through a wedding ceremony) and the top is beautifully fitted and gives you the freedom to wear a normal bra. This is a rental I would definitely like to buy.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

This dress was classy and sophisticated - yet the lace overlay made it unique and trendy!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is very cute - it has a great amount of upper coverage (which was important because this was a co-worker's wedding.) The bottom of the dress is like a tulip - it is a little tight through the hips. Since I am so tall, it did ride up when I sat down. Overall thought the dress was adorable and a huge hit! I loved it!
Anna
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Sep 24, 2012

Loved this dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got a lot of complements on it! It's perfect for fall, and the lace detail is gorgeous. It has a high neckline and it appropriate for a dressier wedding.
meryl
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117 lbs
Oct 3, 2012

Loved it!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit great, it'a short cute dress. Has pockets, I love the navy underneath the lace, really cute dress, highly recommend. Runs true to size just on the shorter end
Lindsey
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 8, 2012

This dress was a hit!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I love this dress! The colors are so fun (nice alternative to the LBD) and the lace is beautiful. I received many compliments on the dress throughout the night. It fit well and was comfortable. The dress is fairly structured and has no stretch. The pockets are great! I would highly recommend this dress to others! The process of renting and returning this dress was so easy - I am looking forward to renting the runway again in the future.
Kayjo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 11, 2012

What a Great Dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for a cocktail party and dinner. I was a little worried because the dress looked orange in the picture, and when I rented it there were not yet any reviews. No worries- it was awesome! The color is more of a coral, and the underlining is navy blue. I wore it with a pair on navy shoes and pearls. The length was right for me- I am 5'3" and it hit right at my knees, the length I perfer when sitting for a long dinner. It also had the bonus of having pockets. This dress fits very true to size and there is not any give.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Oct 15, 2012

Easy. Fun. Pretty.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I am a true size 0 and this ran a tad big. It was perfect for our friends Kim & Chris' Labor Day wedding in Rhode Island.
K.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 26, 2012

Super flirty, feminine -- and it has pockets!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented a gown for my brother's wedding, and used the $25 bonus second rental to rent this dress for the rehearsal dinner. It was perfect for the fall-theme and I felt comfortable all evening. I also received a ton of compliments!
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 26, 2012

It was so comfortable and easy to dance in. it was formal and perfect for a fall wedding at night

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a size two, but for this designer I wear a size up bc my butt is a little more curvy than a "true 2" the color was amazing! would work perfect for all skin tones did I mention it had pockets? it had pockets. I have another wedding to go to at the end of the season... and I want to rent this one again!!
Rebekah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 29, 2012

Cute, fun, and it had POCKETS!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this for my rehearsal dinner. Got tons of compliments. Shoshanna stuff always fits great - never any worries. Loved it.
Brandy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Oct 30, 2012

PERFECT dress! Fits like a glove.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to my rehersal dinner and I couldn't be happier! I felt so special before my big day and my now husband said I looked super sexy! Everyone loved it, i hated to send it back!
Libby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Nov 4, 2012

Sassy, Classy, & Comfortably Roomy

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was wonderful, but unfortunately, it was damaged when I received it. There was a tear in the bottom of the dress along the seam, but I was still able to wear it. The colors of the dress were beautiful and the cut of the dress is very conservative, especially in the upper portion. I ordered the 6 because there were no other sizes available, and I was worried about the bust being too tight (I am a 32H/FF). But this was not a problem at all and I felt as if the top was much larger than a traditional 6. But due to the fact that the bust fit me, I found the waist to be very large. There were about two inches of extra room in this part of the dress, so it wasn't the most flattering. I would recommend this to busty girls who have a waist proportionate to their bust. And if this is not the case, plan ahead and try a belt!
Darcie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 15, 2012

Elegant and comfortable!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The dress fit me very well. It's great for a full-figured woman. It covered enough chest and leg to remain comfortable in conservative settings. The cinched waist flattered my hourglass figure. The red lace overlay on top of the dark blue built-in slip really popped, and it l felt really special in this dress. Strangers gave me compliments, and my husband really loved it, too. :)
laurie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Dec 10, 2012

Awesome party dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this dress to a December wedding and loved it. The red felt festive for the holidays. Fit was great. I rented the four and the six and wore the four. I am 5'4' and the length was just right, but if you are taller, you might want to size up for a little more length. When sitting it did become a little short. Every time I rent a Shoshanna I am pleased with the fit. Loved this one.
Mercy
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 15, 2012

Perfect for a party requesting everyone to wear red.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Can be dressed up or down with accessories.
Linnie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 67
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Jan 8, 2013

FABULOUS PARTY DRESS

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for New Years Eve and felt very beautiful. The red did the trick for encompassing the holiday spirit. I ordered both an eight and a ten. I'm an eight and the eight fit perfectly. I received so many compliments and will order again and again from RTR.
Ursula
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 7, 2013

A great wedding in Miami with a great dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I can be either a 4 or a 6 but the 4 was TINY - it fit but it was really short. So I went with the 6 and it worked.
Sarah
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Mar 11, 2013

Loved the dress! So comfortable and looked great!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this dress to a wedding and received so many compliments. The fit was perfect, hit above the knee and wasn't too tight in my chest like some dresses can be. I loved the pockets, and it made it very nice to carry my phone and lip gloss with me instead of carrying my purse around all night! Paired the dress with nude heels and simple accessories.
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Apr 10, 2013

Every time I rent a dress from Rent the Runway the compliments are endless! Never fails.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The waistline hits at a flattering spot and I loved that I didn't have to wear a strapless bra.
Victoria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
May 2, 2013

Great dress for rehearsal dinner.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to my sister's wedding rehearsal and rehearsal dinner. It was very elegant and I received a lot of compliments. I wasn't thrilled with the color. I was expecting a brighter red but in person it was pretty "blah". Dress does photograph well though. You could never tell by pics what color dress actually was.
Kailey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
May 6, 2013

Beautiful dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I was really happy with this dress. It was my first rental and worked out perfectly. I wore it to a wedding and it was just the right amount of dressy. I ended up wearing the size 6 - I have a smaller upper half and the 8 was just too big all over. While the dress fit great it was SHORT. I am taller and sitting or bending in this dress had me blushing. I had to be really conscious that I was not flashing anyone, but otherwise the dress was light, comfortable and really cute.
Corrie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
May 9, 2013

Great & memorable dress - so comfortable!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress - extremely comfortable and can wear a regular bra, and the pockets are helpful! Definitely stood out among the crowd but was very on-trend with the lace. The neckline was gorgeous and would reco wearing big earrings/bracelet to compliment. Goes great w/ a navy blazer if the weather is a little chillier. Wish I owned it!
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
May 18, 2013

Getting a BRAND NEW DRESS that no one had seen me in before!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
My first RTR dress was super tight, so I was freaking a little about this one, but it fit like a glove and zipped easily. In the picture it looks like I have torpedo-boobs, but I swear it didn't look that way in real life! It was easy to move in and adorable. (Plus I loved the pockets!)
Lauren
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
May 19, 2013

Cute dress, lots of compliments

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I ordered this dress for my sister's graduation. Things I liked: The pockets, easy to wear a bra with, and I received lots of compliments. Things I didn't like: The arm holes seemed a bit small (even on the size 6, and I normally wear size 4), length was a tad short, and the fabric seemed a bit worn especially around the edges at the top. Overall, I would recommend this dress but beware of the small arm holes. It was the reason I had to wear the size 6, because the size 4 fit fine everywhere else. Thank you RTR for on-time delivery and ability to order a backup size!
Chelsea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 4, 2013

Summer Wedding Stunner

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I love love this dress!! I ordered a 2 and 4. The 2 felt less "poofy" around my hips and really accented by curves. It looked great with nude pumps. I was able to dance all night and got loads of compliments. My co-workers all love Rent the Runway and can't wait to try it themselves after seeing my finds.
Leah
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 5, 2013

I got so many compliments! It was a great conversation starter for the party.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wear a size 2/4 in dresses, and the 4 was the only size available. I had to have it though! It felt just a little too baggy, but I added a belt and it made my waist look a little more defined. I would definitely rent the dress again in a size 2 OR 4. It would be flattering on any body type. The blue underlay definitely stands out more than it does on the model.
Jen
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 16, 2013

Could not have been happier with this dress! It's a classic fit but it's colors keep it fun!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am bigger on the bottom than top and sometimes have difficulty finding a dress that fits me right on top but has enough hip room, this dress was perfect for that!
Sujata
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
Jun 17, 2013

perfect dress for a summer wedding.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
fits really well, esp for bigger bust.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143 lbs
Jun 19, 2013

Summer wedding perfection!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Rented this dress for a wedding in Texas. It was comfortable, cute, and overall fun to wear! Dress runs true to size.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Jun 30, 2013

Perfect for a summer country club wedding!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was great! Although it was a last minute selection after the first dress didn't fit it actually worked out great! It was really comfortable and I got SO many compliments!
Tara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 1, 2013

I love how classy and feminine this dress looks!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was extremely flattering and comfortable. It was the perfect length for my 5 foot 2 frame. I highly recommend it to other petite ladies out there!
sydnie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Jul 3, 2013

This was my first time using RTR, and I am so happy I rented!! Great customer service!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Being a little large on top, I was nervous about renting a dress I had not tried on. However, I thought this dress was extremely flattering, and I received lots of compliments throughout the night. I thought the length was appropriate for a wedding. I love the lace overlay. Would definitely recommend.
AK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 7, 2013

Lots of compliments...perfect RTR experience as usual!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I LOVED this dress...the detail and color is adorable, and fits really nicely. I received TONS of compliments and so many girls asked me where I got the dress. The fit is definitely true to size. RTR is always so easy, as I had a super busy month leading up to the wedding and no time to go shop for another dress. This came straight to my office and was so convenient...RTR customer service is so helpful...love them! -AK
Jamilet
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 9, 2013

Sexy and casual

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I felt so girly in this sexy lace dress! The pockets are a definite plus!!! My original size (12) wasn't available so I gave the 10 a chance and it fit perfect, probably better than the 12 would have. I love the cinched waist - it was very flattering. The cleavage was just enough too. I wish I owned this dress! I wore it wit nude colored heels to make it sexy but not too much like gold opened-toe heels might (I wore it during the day). Also, I took the stylist's advice and paired the dress with Kendra Scott Darby Mirage earrings and I was glad I did. Would definitely rent both again!
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127 lbs
Aug 19, 2013

Got many compliments on the dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was a little hard to zip into on my own....needed a little help. The lace along the neckline curled inward but with the help of some double sided fashion tape, it stayed put. I loved the darting under the waist camouflaging my tummy. I was a little worried about the length being too short but since my legs are short anyway, it was a perfect length. It was a great dress!
janet
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113 lbs
Aug 19, 2013

Beautiful!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I LOVE this dress so much! I wore a size 0 and this was very comfortable! I wore gold strap 4 inch heels, and rented the ANTON HEUNIS, Budding Blue Cluster Earrings with the dress. I love the pockets. It was nice to put my cellphone in the pocket and slip it out to take pictures easily. I received compliments all night. This was a fun dress, easy to put on and dance in. I was sad to return this dress as I wish I owned it! Rent the Runway never fails for me! Thank you!
Kirsten
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
Sep 12, 2013

Great dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
This came as part of my Rent the Runway At Home Trial. This dress was great - super cute, good fit, and comfortable! You could pair a belt with it, but I think I actually preferred it without a belt. It was a on the shorter side, but not too short.
Tatianna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Sep 24, 2013

Got lots of compliments on the dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit true to size. It was a little tight under the arms and was shorter than I expected. Still loved the dress though and got tons of compliments!
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 6, 2013

So cute!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Really loved this dress! I wore this to a rehearsal dinner where the dress code was "cocktail casual". Not sure what that means but I paired this dress with heeled boots and it seemed to fit the bill. Nice fit, sexy without being over the top. Quality lace.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×