Rent the Runway

Shoshanna

Primary Lace Dress

$30 rental
$385 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

It is wedding season and you're tired of wearing that boring black dress to the ceremony! Go with this Shoshanna vibrant lace party dress to kick up your style a notch!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fitted at the underarms
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fitted at the underarms
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red synthetic Lace (67.2% Cotton, 18.5% Nylon, 14.3% Rayon). Sleeveless. V neckline. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% Acetate). 37” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

197 reviews

Fit
Small 24
True to Size 153
Large 16
Photos 104
Erica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 4, 2012

So Feminine and Beautiful!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is really sophisticated! I wore the size 2, but the size 0 would have been a better fit. This dress does not have any stretch to it and although it has some room at the skirt I would size up for your backup size. I loved the red lace over the navy, it was a great contrast! I loved this dress because it was super easy and I could wear a standard bra!
sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 22, 2012

arrive a day early!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was so pretty. Perfect for a summer dinner/dance reception at a beach club. The blue under lay adds a unique touch. I rec'd lots of compliments. The 4 fit perfectly in the waist, bust and length! This was my first experience using Rent the Runway and it was so simply and easy! I will definitely rent again!
Cayla
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Sep 5, 2012

A perfect dress for a perfect night.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely loved the lace on this dress, the fit, and the pockets. I received so many compliments on the color and the length was perfect for a summer wedding. I would highly recommend this dress!
Cara
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 17, 2012

This dress was EXACTLY what I was looking for! I loved it!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
A little tight in the bust but that is unavoidable for me. Still was modest and flattering. I received so many compliments. Having pockets was crucial. It was perfect for the outdoor, summer wedding I attended. I didn't want to send it back!
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 18, 2012

Gorgeous color, beautiful detail!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The cut and the fit of this dress were fantastic for an hourglass shape like mine. The bust was a little tight, but nothing that a minimizer bra couldn't fix. The detail of the lace is stunning and the fabric has a nice weight so the skirt stands away from the body, creating a nice shape. I got compliments all night, mostly from folks I don't know! Would definitely recommend this dress.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 19, 2012

So many compliments! Comfortable, distinctive & memorable.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was perfect for a wedding (or probably for just about anything - dress it up for a wedding, dress it down with flats for brunch). I'm typically a consistent size 10, but ordered an 8 as my backup size and ended up wearing it instead. Both fit fine, but the 8 had a more tailored look while the 10 had more volume in the skirt, which would have been fine too. There is plenty of space through the hips (for comfortable sitting through a wedding ceremony) and the top is beautifully fitted and gives you the freedom to wear a normal bra. This is a rental I would definitely like to buy.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

This dress was classy and sophisticated - yet the lace overlay made it unique and trendy!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is very cute - it has a great amount of upper coverage (which was important because this was a co-worker's wedding.) The bottom of the dress is like a tulip - it is a little tight through the hips. Since I am so tall, it did ride up when I sat down. Overall thought the dress was adorable and a huge hit! I loved it!
Anna
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Sep 24, 2012

Loved this dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got a lot of complements on it! It's perfect for fall, and the lace detail is gorgeous. It has a high neckline and it appropriate for a dressier wedding.
meryl
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117 lbs
Oct 3, 2012

Loved it!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit great, it'a short cute dress. Has pockets, I love the navy underneath the lace, really cute dress, highly recommend. Runs true to size just on the shorter end
Kayjo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 11, 2012

What a Great Dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for a cocktail party and dinner. I was a little worried because the dress looked orange in the picture, and when I rented it there were not yet any reviews. No worries- it was awesome! The color is more of a coral, and the underlining is navy blue. I wore it with a pair on navy shoes and pearls. The length was right for me- I am 5'3" and it hit right at my knees, the length I perfer when sitting for a long dinner. It also had the bonus of having pockets. This dress fits very true to size and there is not any give.
Kelly
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 29, 2014

Loved this dress! Very comfortable and easy to move in.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The 8 was unavailable, so I ordered a 10. I really could have used the 8 for a better fit through the body, but the dress was still very comfortable and fun for a wedding at the lake.
J
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
May 4, 2014

Great fit and loved the pockets!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
True to size
AA
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
May 7, 2014

Cute dress but way too short for a wedding!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Material and fit was great except for the fact it was much too short. If you're over 5'8'' I would not recommend this dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
May 13, 2014

This dress was beautiful! I absolulty loved it and got lots of compliments

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It fit true to size. It's a little on the short side but not so much that it was uncomfortable.
Catherine
Age: 32
May 13, 2014

The fact it was easy to rent the dress for a reasonable price and no hassle of delivery or shipping.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was perfect, had lots of compliments how beautiful the dress was... Love it definitely renting a dress again.
Jillian
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 9, 2014

I was very disappointed in this dress. It is more of a burnt orange than a true red.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I did not wear it to my event. It is also REALLY SHORT.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 13, 2014

Great dress! Got a lot of compliments!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit true to size and was very flattering.
Cait
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 15, 2014

Shorter than expected but very cute!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a friend's rehearsal dinner. Sometimes lace can be too matronly; however not the case here! The lace on this dress was gorgeous; I loved the scalloped edge. The contrasting navy lining was a fresh take! I usually wear a size 2 or 4. With this dress I went with the size 4 so that it wasn't too tight on my larger hips. The 4 was still snug and short but I felt it was balanced by the non-revealing top.
Farrah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jun 20, 2014

Daytime Dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented for a formal evening, and I found it to be a bit more casual. The red is not as dark as shown in the picture and thus, did not end up wearing this. RTR was great in terms of overnighting me a back-up. The fit was great, a little short if you don't mind that, but definitely more for a daytime event.
Katy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Jun 21, 2014

Pretty but just didn't feel right

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm usually between a size 10 and 12 (more 10s lately than 12s) and the 10 fit alright. I definitely needed a good push up bra to give some lift and separate the chest area from the waist and heels to lengthen the look (it seems more made for short waisted girls- everything wanted to just hang out in the middle together). I did like that I could wear a regular bra with it and it did fit my large chest (34G) but something about the way it fit just didn't feel right. It didn't look bad, it just didn't look great. In the end I went with an option already hanging in my closet.
tmscott
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126 lbs
Jul 9, 2014

Its beautifully crafted, great vibrant colors---but it was too short, too tight on my butt!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I am typically a XS/S/0/2, and while the chest area fit great (Im a small B) --Im a pear-shape with a booty, so it was so tight, and made the dress so short, I could never wear it. A slight bend of any kind would have exposed me, and sitting down would have never happened. But beautiful dress! just not for my body.
meredith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 9, 2014

great for the 4th of july!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wanted to wear red and blue for the 4th so I rented this dress and was very happy with my choice. The 8 wasn't available so I squeezed into the 6 which was a bit snug across the chest but still zipped. The rest of the dress isn't form fitting though, so that wasn't an issue. The dress was gorgeous and although I loved wearing it my only complaint was that it did look a bit ragged from all the rentals. I know this one has been on the site for ages and I could definitely tell that the color was faded.
Jodi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 15, 2014

This dress was perfect for a rehearsal dinner.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The color was a bit more muted in real life, but I got lots of compliments on this dress. It was very flattering and fit very well.
Patti
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Jul 21, 2014

Super cute dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this as my backup dress, but I wish I had had somewhere to wear it! The fabrics and colors are beautiful, and really pop against one another. I am a pear shape, so the dress was a bit tight around my hips. There wasn't quite as much room in the hip area as I thought there would be from pictures, mostly because the blue colored lining was tight. Otherwise it was a great fit and an adorable dress!
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 12, 2014

beautiful color but weird fit- who can wear this?

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress for a wedding and was super excited to wear it. I was unable to wear it. I am 5'6 and the dress was SO short- there is no way I could have sat down. The dress poofed out so much at the stomach- it looked like it would only fit someone who was pregnant (maybe a good maternity dress!). It was not flattering and i think i would have tore it if I tried to sit down however a size or two up would have been even BIGGER at the stomach. I would not recommend this dress despite the beautiful color and fabric.
Lizzie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Aug 13, 2014

The lace was right on trend!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
It was a little worn looking up close, and the lace edges needed to be ironed, but it is very well made. I loved the pockets! The color would look wonderful against any skin tone, but especially in the summer.
Erika
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 18, 2014

I really liked the dress online, but when it arrived it did not look the same.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was way too short and the color wasn't as vibrant. It almost looked faded.
Ellie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123 lbs
Sep 12, 2014

THE COLOR WAS WONDERFUL. RECEIVED LOTS OF COMPLIMENTS.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to my Sister-in-law's wedding. The color and the lace were beautiful. I wish i could afford a dress like this. I wore the size 4 and the top was a bit tight, but the rest of the dress fit perfectly. I loved loved loved the navy blue with the red.
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Age: 37
Sep 21, 2014

Didn't wear it. Way too short for a 5'7" girl!!

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Couldn't wear. Fit well everywhere but too short!
Ivy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 22, 2014

Perfect fit!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my backup dress, but I ended up wearing it. It was true to size and very comfortable to wear. Maybe not the most exciting dress ever, but very pretty. Note -- the length was fine on me, but would probably feel a little short for taller people (I'm 5'4).
Jay
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112 lbs
Oct 3, 2014

Beautiful, class dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I normally wear between a 0 and 2. The 2 was unavailable, so I went for a 0. It fit well, except the arm hole area was a little tight, so if you're a swimmer or have bigger upper arms/shoulders, beware of that. The dress can also ride up a little when you sit down, which may make you uncomfortable if you're at a church wedding. Also, the particular dress i had was a little faded (maybe from cleaning or overuse). It was still really pretty, just not as vibrant read as the dress on the model.
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Oct 3, 2014

Cute dress but couldn't wear it.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The color of this dress is a bit more muted in person than it looks online which was a plus. It is a heavy fabric so keep that in mind for outdoor events. It was also much shorter than I expected it to be. I rented a dress earlier this year that appeared shorter online but was longer in person. I'm bummed this dress didn't fit. There was not any stretch to the fabric. Sadly I'm on west coast time so I got this dress a half hour after the NY office closed and won't have time for a replacement. Boo. :(
Jamie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 10, 2014

The color and lace detail are amazing.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress is beautiful, but it was way too short for me. I'm 5' 9" and the size 4 was inappropriately short for the event I was going to, so unfortunately I couldn't wear it. Tall ladies - take a pass on this one unless you want to show A LOT of leg.
Steph
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 148 lbs
Nov 2, 2014

Very pretty!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for an outdoor wedding. It was perfect for this setting. It was kinda bubble-y in the skirt so I don't think it was the most flattering on my tummy. I had a bit of a tummy at the time after having a baby but it was still cute. At the time of this dress rental, I was a solid size 10 at Banana Republic and I wore a size 10 in this dress. It was tight on my waist but like I said, this was where I had some extra weight at the time. I weighed 155 at the time. I'm 5'7" and it was about the same length as what is shown on the model.
Danielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 18, 2014

A great dress to hit above the knee if you are short. Love the blue lining under the redish orange.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Comfortable and conservative. Color makes a nice statement, but the blue lining relaxes it.
Ames
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123 lbs
Nov 28, 2014

Just Not Right

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Both the 4 & the 6 looked off on me. The 4 fit better, but neither were capable of being worn in public. My friend had a similar issue with a Shoshanna dress and I am officially staying away from this brand! Her dresses (including this one) poof out in a weird manner at your waist and make you look pregnant, but then slim down both in the back and front toward the bottom of the dress. It is what I call the "tulip effect" and it is not cute. Unless you are stick thin I'd stay away from this brand.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 9, 2014

Nothing special.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The color and material were nice, but the fit was a bit too large especially in the waist area. It would have looked better with a belt, but I didn't have any that would match. This style would work best with someone with curves. I'm very straight/narrow and was hoping for something more fitted.
Mollie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Apr 20, 2015

Great dress for a spring wedding!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress. It did fit small in the chest, but it was roomy in the stomach area. It is fitted again at the bottom hem, so it makes it a little difficult to move around and sit. But, overall a great dress, and I got a ton of compliments.
Alex
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133 lbs
May 19, 2015

Love wearing lace! It makes me feel like a princess.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I really liked this dress. It was super fun and the colors are great. The only downside was that it was a little short. It was fine when I was standing, but everytime I sat down or had to ben over I got a little self conscious.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
May 26, 2015

Gams for Days

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress for a wedding. It has pockets!! I'd imagine you'd want to size up if you have a chest at all. NormallyI'll wear a 2, but (had it not been ripped) I would have worn the 4 with this particular dress because this baby is SHORT. The other reviews don't lie. The "waist" on this dress is higher than a natural waist, so it looks longer in pictures than it actually is. Sitting down was uncomfortable. Other than that, good experience as always and I will be back for more.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×