Rent the Runway

Shoshanna

Primary Lace Dress

$30 rental
$385 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

It is wedding season and you're tired of wearing that boring black dress to the ceremony! Go with this Shoshanna vibrant lace party dress to kick up your style a notch!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fitted at the underarms
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fitted at the underarms
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red synthetic Lace (67.2% Cotton, 18.5% Nylon, 14.3% Rayon). Sleeveless. V neckline. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% Acetate). 37” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

193 reviews

Fit
Small 21
True to Size 152
Large 16
Photos 103
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Aug 13, 2012

Pretty AND Fuctional!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Rented this dress for my friend's summer wedding. The waist is nicely fitted, and was a bit snug...but nothing too bad. I actually liked that it kept my tummy in and posture in check. Got compliments all night. But the best part was that it had POCKETS! I didn't have to worry about finding a place to put my earrings or cell phone or lipstick while on the dance floor!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Aug 22, 2012

Maybe for taller girls

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the dress but it made my hips look bigger. I think that could be fixed by going down a size or for girls taller than 5 feet.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Sep 7, 2012

adorable but a bit big

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this as my backup dress for a wedding and was shocked to find that the smaller of the 2 sizes was a bit too big. Would have been perfect if the dress was half a size smaller. Definitely will be renting this for another occasion though, the dress is fantastic!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 17, 2012

Was perfect for the wedding! I received compliments all night!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wish I would have also received the size 0 as requested, but RTR only sent me size 2. It worked out well, and the dress fit, but was a little big. Overall, I had a great experience - LOVE this dress!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 18, 2012

Loved this dress and received so many compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was a little worried this dress would be too short and ideally it would have been the length of the size up I received (just a little bit longer), but the size up was too big. I loved the pockets, the lace, the colors, everything! Most women at the wedding were wearing their LBD, and this was such a nice change from that. The dress arrived when it was supposed to, was in great condition and was easy to return. Will definitely use RTR again.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Loved!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This is my favorite dress I've rented from RTR. I rented it for a wedding and got tons of compliments. The fit was perfect and in person the color and fabric are gorgeous. Very flattering cut. Was sad to send it back!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Beautiful dress, many compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Such unique colors. Wish I had purchased it forever!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

Great Dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a September wedding and it was perfect. I ordered both the 4 and the 6 and the 4 actually fit a little better but was at least an inch shorther so I opted for the 6 which was a little big on the top but overall fit well. I am generally a 4 in Shoshanna if the dress is A-Line and a 6 if the dress is more fitted. There is room in the skirt area on this dress. Great colors and looks exactly as pictured! Would contemplate renting this dress again!!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Sep 25, 2012

Beautiful dress, awkward fit

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The title about sums it up - this dress is gorgeous and I was so excited to rent it, but the fit was really weird. It was really loose and bunchy all around the waist and chest, and the length was very short, even for a short person like me. All in all just an awkward fit - maybe it would look better on someone with a larger bust.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 30, 2012

Didn't know it had pockets! It was perfect for dancing but a little constrictive.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Most thought it was black underneath but it was blue (still wore black shoes). Great color!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 6, 2012

Gorgeous Color, and flattering fit!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect for a summer wedding--dress was a bit short on me since it ran large and I went with the 2, but very comfortable overall. Got a ton of compliments! Has a fun but retro/mad-men look to it.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 5, 2012

The lace is very delicate and very comfortable..

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Gives a nice waist. Lovely fun dress
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 12, 2012

Classy, versatile and flattering

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner for my friend's wedding and it was absolutely perfect. True to size, elegant, and comfortable, it's a great dress for a medium-dressy event. I got tons of compliments. If I had more money I'd definitely buy it right now.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 16, 2012

Such a cute dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was super cute. I love how the colors looked together & it had pockets :) I received a lot of compliments on this dress & everyone wanted to borrow it! So you might want to rent this now, since there may be a lot of people renting this one soon!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 18, 2012

Super cute and fun!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress and RTR! The whole renting process was simple and it felt like Christmas when I got the dresses. The dress was great! The color was perfect. The navy behind the red looks beautiful. I ordered the 8 and the 10, eventually going with the smaller size. The 8 was a little snug right under my boobs but it wasn't too snug to be uncomfortable. The 10 was just too big for me on the bottom, making me look larger in the hip area. Nude heels, a navy sweater and pearls were the perfect accossories. This was a great dress for a fall wedding. I recevied so many compliments on the dress and people were also impressed with the whole RTR concept. I will definitely be using them again.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 26, 2012

Easy, affordable, and exactly what I was looking for!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm about 5'9" and often run between a 4 and 6 dress size. While the 4 fit, it was definitely on the tight side (for me) and also quite short. It ended up wearing the 6 knowing I'd be doing a lot of sitting and dancing and I preferred comfort over fit. While the dress was loose through the ribs and waist, I belted it and that addressed all my fit issues. The dress felt great, was very festive, and I received a number of compliments.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 28, 2012

So many compliments!!!! Loved the dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore to the rehearsal dinner of a black tie wedding. So many compliments. Loved the dress! So comfortable!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 3, 2012

Stands out and the lace overlay is beautiful!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress! Fit was so comfortable and got so many compliments! Wish I could have owned this one!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 2, 2013

Loved this dress!!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my company Christmas party and my boyfriend's company Christmas party and I loved it!! I got so many compliments on it, I didn't want to send it back. It fit very well and was very comfortable.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 3, 2013

Very sweet dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I really like Shoshanna dresses. I tend to wear one size down from other designers. The dress was very pretty and very comfortable. I think it's good for curvy women as well as it nips in at the waist and then bells out a bit to cover any issues with hip/stomach. This was my back-up dress which I ended up wearing for a December wedding. Ideally, I think the bright colors would be better for a spring/summer event.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116 lbs
Jan 3, 2013

Classy and Elegant

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was a great fit, my only wish being that it was 2 inches longer. I had lot of compliments. The dress worked well with nude pumps and gold accessories. As always, RTR service was perfect. They customer service guided me on my size and it was so easy to ship back the following Monday morning.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 4, 2013

Great dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Love the colors, very comfortable, got tons of complements.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 19, 2013

Cute dress but too short

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Rented this dress for an engagement shoot and it was very cute, but too baggy in the stomach area and too short (I am 5'9"). I have a small waist, and this made it look bigger (prob a great fit for shorter girls :)).
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 3, 2013

Awesome Rehearsal Dinner Dress!!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner and it was perfect! There is no stretch in the material at the top, so make sure you take that into account when you pick your size!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 21, 2013

I got so many compliments on this dress! Looked great in color and black and white photos!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit well for a petite, large busted woman like me. Was able to wear a regular bra, and the v-neck wasn't too low or high.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 28, 2013

Beautiful Dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I ordered this dress, and another one, for the Marine Core ball. My husband liked my other choice better so I wore this dress to work and HH and got many, many compliments!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180 lbs
Mar 3, 2013

It was awesome! Wore it with navy tights and brown boots to a engagement party. Love the pockets!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
it was a little snug around the ribs and chest
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Mar 15, 2013

sweet and family appropriate

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
i wore this for christmas 2012 and loved it. easy fit. super comfortable. the color is a little less red than in the photo.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Mar 17, 2013

Great fabric

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Great fabric however be aware that it is quite poofy at the bottom. I am tall and loved wearing thins dress but since I am straight and narrow the flouncy bottom of this dress was just not the most flattering on me. I loved the fabric of the dress and got lots of compliments!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 157 lbs
Apr 8, 2013

GREAT Customer Service!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This was a backup dress that RTR sent to me after another dress did not fit. The size 12 was extremely large, and I would have needed the 10 for sure. The lace detail of the dress and the colors are beautiful. I will say this dress is not going to be the most sliming. The extra fabric under the bust, gives it a little fullness in the belly, but overall a classy dress. Would rent again in a smaller size.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 16, 2013

Found My Dream Dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Ended up renting for a typical, but nicer date night, that turned into unforgettable lifetime event. As soon I as tried it on, I knew it was perfect (it has pockets!!). I felt so beautiful; its an effortless dress! Usually I'm not one to wear low v-neck dresses; I like to cover rather than accentuate, but this was perfect--not too high, not too low. Turned out, I got engaged the night I wore this dress and really, RTR, just helped make a uniquely momentous occasion even more special with this dress. Best rental ever!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs

Unfortunately couldn't wear

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I unfortunately was not able to wear this dress as it was very short on me. I am 5'7" and have found after having a baby that I normally wear a size 4. I could zip the 4 but it was tight and very short on me so I could not wear to the wedding I was attending. If I had the 6 it may have been better. Rent the runway sent a replacement though of another dress which I was very happy with. I may try to rent this in a bigger size next time.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"

I got loads of compliments - loved it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The color is a little darker than the photo, but it's still definitely red. It was really comfortable and not too revealing. The skirt tapers a bit (like a pencil skirt) at the bottom, making it tight for women with athletic thighs like me, so if that's the case, you might want a size up to give yourself room to walk in it. The top worked well for my small chest, but since it wasn't super low cut, I think it'd work for any size bust.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×