Rent the Runway

Shoshanna

Out With A Bang Dress

$40 rental
$305 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Update your look! Rent this fun and flirty Shoshanna LBD for your next special event. A great dress that works for all shapes and sizes. Simply pair with accessories like Badgley Mischka Jewelry’s Crystal Cluster Necklace.

Also available in Red.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black bengaline (52% acetate, 48% cotton). Sleeveless. Scoop neckline. Hourglass skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

140 reviews

Fit
Small 16
True to Size 106
Large 10
Photos 64
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 10, 2013

Can't wait to order again in a different color!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was the perfect black dress for a wedding or formal event. The pockets were an added bonus. I usually wear a 6/8 and ordered a size 8 although the 6 would have worked better.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 12, 2013

very comfortable and flattering!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
this is the perfect dress because it's guaranteed to work. It ran exactly to size. I ordered it as a second style because I was unsure of my first pick and I am so thankful I did. I liked the pockets too!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 29, 2013

Love it!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I had a baby 3 months ago, and needed a dress that was forgiving in the belly area. This was it! I was able to wear a regular bra, and the midsection was not form fitting - so it hid the stomach nicely! Great LBD - would work for just about any body type!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 8, 2013

A great spin on the LBD!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the pockets and the silhouette of the dress but he dress fit was very small so ladies with a D or bigger, beware, the dress is very tight in the chest area. Great length and can be dressed up nicely with a great necklace or big chandelier earrings.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 26, 2013

Good go-to LBD

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was fairly a simple black dress. It fit well, fell at the right spot above the knees and could wear a regular bra with it. Loved the pockets and the clasps to keep your bra straps in place. Adding the Baddley Mischka Crystal Cluster necklace was the perfect touch to dress the look up.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 1, 2013

The wedding was in Washington state and I had it shipped directly to the hotel. Super convenient!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit like a glove! Ordered a size 0 and 2, the 0 was just a little too tight and I could not quit zip it all the way up, but the size 2 was perfect. Have another wedding coming up next week and I am really tempted to just rent this one again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Nov 10, 2013

Perfect, fun & easy to wear LBD!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit is true to size. If you have a larger rib cage, go a size up! The best part - the pockets! The dress is easy to wear and can be dressed up or down. I wore it with tights and booties. It was great for a fall rehearsal dinner in Chicago. This can be a go-to LBD for any fun occasion! Thanks RTR!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 31, 2013

Great dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress for a winter wedding, and it worked out perfectly! I picked a size 4 and a size 2 as my back-up, and I ended up wearing the size 2. It was slightly snug, but I forgot about it once the night started. I got tons of compliments, and I would highly recommend it!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 59
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 2, 2014

New years Eve party Lots of compliments on overall look. it was cold so i wore insulated hosiery.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
classic baby doll dress snug fitting just under the bra line. size 12 if you are a 36 bust. I am average in hgt and felt the dress was appropriately short for my age. So many possible looks with this dress by accessorizing. I chose to wear thermal stockings, black semi-gloss leather pumps, and brassy gold jewelry. I was able to (with a light jacket) step outside for fireworks and still stay warm. Strange thing was, my lip color was a major hit so I will recommend wearing a red that pops with this dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105 lbs
Jan 14, 2014

I loved the fabric!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fabric was great. It was slightly large in the straps so I kept having to adjust it.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Jan 16, 2014

Not for busty gals

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I was a little underwhelmed by this dress. It was a little longer than I had wanted and the top was a little too tight for my chest. I ordered a 4 but it looked frumpy, so I ended up wearing the 2 instead. Overall, was it fine? Yeah. Would I rent it again? Probably not.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 19, 2014

Simple, comfortable, short and sexy LBD with POCKETS!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Pros: Pockets are awesome - deep and secure, I carried my phone, id and keys in them all night and they never budged (and there was a lot of dancing too), Tight at top so no bra required, baby doll style means no having to mess with spanks or worrying about underwear lines, pretty darn short makes it sexier than it would be otherwise Cons: It's a pretty basic black dress, nothing especially extravagant or noteworthy about it Also, I usually waffle between a 6 and an 8 and the 8 was too gappy at top... so likely size down
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 26, 2014

This dress paired with a gorgeous RTR Kate Spade necklace was perfect for my college "senior prom"!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Classic LBD. The dress fit tight on the top with lots of room throughout the rest, and the material was mildly shiny (in a good way) and very comfortable. Great for any occasion! It's a little too simple to wear on its own so I paired it with a green statement necklace, which got SO many compliments.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Mar 2, 2014

It was classic and paired with standout jewelry

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a size 0 but had to go a size up for this dress so that my bust would fit. I have a large rib cage. This meant that dress ended up slightly larger in the middle and bottom and just right on top but I figured that I needed to breathe. It was perfect for the rehearsal dinner.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
May 2, 2014

This LBD was a classic choice!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The material really dresses up this one. It's a classic LBD but has a great neckline and cut. I paired it with a statement necklace.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130 lbs
May 5, 2014

Super fun to wear! I would rent again!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
True to size. Loved the clasp to hold my bra strap in place! It was a little long on me (I'm 5'2) but nothing some hem tape wouldn't fix. This dress was comfortable, fun, and easy to accessorize. I loved wearing it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
May 19, 2014

Great dress, I would totally wear this again

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore stockings and a garter belt in lieu of pantyhose. Upon sitting dress rides up a little and would expose the lace but no biggie really
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Jul 26, 2014

Great material and detail Small bust area

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Great material and detail! Loved it. Was a little tight in the bust and didn't really give complete coverage.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 10, 2014

Nice LBD

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Simple black dress. Nice look. Definitely need to accessorize.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Sep 4, 2014

Perfect black dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Simple black dress, perfect for petites, true to size and loved the pockets!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 6, 2014

I felt comfortable and glamorous in this beautiful dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Comfortable and loose in the mid-section. A tiny bit loose in shoulders but got well in the chest. Looks perfect with a statement necklace.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180 lbs
Sep 15, 2014

I love this dress! Comfortable and easy to dance in.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This is the second dress that I have worn from rent the runway! I really like that you can wear the dress once and send it back. No need to go out and buy a dress you will only wear once. I loved this dress. It was true to size and easy to wear. I like the fact that it had pockets where I put my phone so I could take pictures throughout the night. I would recommend this dress to anyone. I would love to buy this dress of given the opportunity. I wore it to a wedding but I feel like with the right shoes and jewelry this could easily be dressed down for a more causal look.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 19, 2014

I loved this dress! It was the perfect little black dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This was perfect for a wedding I recently went to. I got a lot of compliments on it, and the pockets are so convenient (finally...a place for my iphone!). I am normally a size 6, but had to wear the 8 because the bust was too tight (I am 34 C/D). I also love any dress that I can wear a normal bra with, so I was happy. The clips to keep your bra straps from showing were also very convenient. The dress was starting to show some wear, but only if you looked really closely. Overall, I was very happy with it. It was very flattering - gave just a little bit of cleavage and cut in at the waste nicely. I would definitely recommend it.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 29, 2014

A really high quality dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fairly true to size. I'm generally between a 2 and 4 but I wore the 2. It fit well but not much room. The 4 didn't look bad but the 2 gave me more shape. Im 5'7 or 5'8" and didn't feel the dress was too short but also not too long.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Oct 5, 2014

First time with RTR and won't be the last! Great service, dress fit perfect and easy to return!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was very true to size but definitely didn't have any give in the material. I loved the pockets and the straps have hooks so your bra strap doesn't show! Overall loved the fit of the dress- very flattering and comfortable
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128 lbs
Oct 5, 2014

Classic and flattering

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Classic LBD. It was very tight in the chest, which I read before hand. They aren't lying. But after awhile of wearing it it felt more comfortable and I didn't really notice. I could not have gone down a size. I would order your true size and one size up. Would rent again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Oct 6, 2014

Perfect!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Absolutely gorgeous dress. Not too flashy, but still very professional. Great fit for an hourglass figure and very complimenting. Makes your waist look tiny!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 25, 2014

Amazing fabric

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Go a size up. Amazing fabric. I would love to own this!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 16
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 9, 2014

Looking fab for one of my best friend's Sweet Sixteens! Dress was easy to dance in and have fun!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit perfectly! I wore the size 0, which is my usual size. A nice highlight were clips in the straps of the dress which held your bra so that it didn't show. Also, pockets were a fabulous surprise! I wore the dress with the AV Max bracelet and other silver accessories. Perfect for a wonderful Sweet 16!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 13, 2014

The dress was very comfortable all night and the pockets were a total plus.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I had just had minor surgery and was not in a place where Spanx would work and this dress was very comfortable without Spanx as it was fitted to just under my ribcage, then came out. I am a solid 6 on the bottom but either a 6 or 8 on the top and I really needed the 8 in this dress, however the bottom was quite loose and literally any size would have worked. So I would say go for the size you need on top. The length was perfect for me. Hits about 2 or 3 inches above the knee. Felt a little breezy in the back due to the loose cut, but I am pretty sure nothing hung out! I felt like the straps were a little long for my torso, but I could wear a normal bra (YAY!) and it had those bra strap clips so it didn't feel uncomfortable once I was fully assembled. As far as style goes, it is a fairly understated and plain dress, although the fabric was really high quality. I was wearing it to an evening, semi-formal event at my daughter's school and it worked well for that, but it was not flashy at all. It would have looked cute with a blingy belt, but I didn't have one or feel like shopping for one. Or you could get away with a GIANT necklace with this dress. If you have a great figure or are good at rocking the Spanx, this dress might feel a bit "boxy" to you. I didn't think it was the hottest dress I have ever worn but it was elegant. I would rent it again, but probably as a back up dress to give something more fabulous a try. This was my first RTR rental and it was a breeze. Came on time, dresses were clean and ready to go, easy to return.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 21, 2014

I officiated my friends wedding in this gorgeous dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is SO CUTE. LOVE LOVE LOVE will rent it so many more times!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 9, 2015

Classy but casual

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress is a great length and fit well overall. It was a little tight in the ribcage area because the material has no stretch, though I was sitting for the majority of my time wearing this. It's a thicker material which made it great for a cold New Year's Eve. I loved the pockets and the snaps under the shoulder straps to keep my bra straps covered. It's a simple but classy dress that was exactly what I wanted
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 26, 2015

Great LBD for a great price!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Other
The dress is super cute! The pockets were awesome! :) The snaps for the bra straps were great and helped the dress fit a little better. Typically a size 0 would fit, but in this case I found it to be a bit big.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Feb 3, 2015

I'll be a returning customer!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I could go on and on about this dress. The fabric is a little thick, so it was perfect for this formal winter dance that I went to recently. I absolutely loved how the dress had pockets and the bra strap fasteners! The fit was amazing, it was a little big in the bust but it wasn't bad. I wore the size zero and I usually wear a 00/0. It was the best first experience with RTR!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Feb 16, 2015

Perfect for Valentine's Day!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Date
Perfect little black dress for Valentine's Day! The silky material elevates it from a boring LBD. I was sure I was going to have to go with the 8, but the 6 ended up fitting perfectly. I paired it with a silky blazer, red tights, and black booties. I highly recommend this dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Mar 2, 2015

Cute LBD for any occassion

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this a few weeks ago for my friend's bachelorette party in Charleston. It was really comfortable and super cute for a night out dancing. It runs true to size and is perfect if you're looking for a simple black dress.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 31, 2015

Great formal dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit true to size, great shape, not too low cut - great for any formal affair.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Apr 28, 2015

The dress came on time, looked beautiful, and the necklace was perfect!

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Party
I was worried about the length of the dress since I'm 5'9 but I definitely felt like it was long enough. The dress is very plain so I would suggested wearing some kind of statement jewelry. It's a little right in the rib area too so I did have to wear a size up. I loved this dress, it's so flattering and comfortable! What a great first RTR experience!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
May 2, 2015

Loved this dress!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Formal Affair
Comfortable and flirty. Tons of compliments! Will buy if it goes on sale in a few months.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
May 18, 2015

Perfect dress to wear to a wedding!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress! I normally wear a size 2 or 4 but other reviews said it ran a bit small so I decided to order the 4 and the 6 as a backup size. I almost wish I ordered the 2 instead. The 4 fit but was slightly big on top. I am very small chested so I'm just thinking the 2 would have fit better. Overall it was the perfect dress to wear to the wedding I had to go to. It was super cute on and the length was perfect too. Not too short or too long and it has pockets (which I'm kind of obsessed with on dresses!) Definitely would recommend this one!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×