Shoshanna

Out With A Bang Dress

$55 to buy
$305 retail
Stylist Notes

Update your look! Rent this fun and flirty Shoshanna LBD for your next special event. A great dress that works for all shapes and sizes.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black bengaline (52% acetate, 48% cotton). Sleeveless. Scoop neckline. Hourglass skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
160 reviews
Fit
Large
(10)
True to Size
(118)
Small
(19)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 24, 2014
Perfect dress to look great without looking too flashy.
I would normally wear a 2 in dresses, but the 4 was more comfortable with this one. Like others said, if you're a little chesty, it's kind of tight up there. Love the dress though! Pockets were the BEST!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
March 13, 2014
Just what I was looking for!
I'm generally a 10 - the 10 was a tiny bit snug but the 12 was definitely too big, so I ended up wearing the 10. I loved it! It was so flattering. I almost considered trying to buy it! Highly recommended. I wore this to a charity event where many of my coworkers were - so I wanted a dress that was fun but a little conservative. It was perfect.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
November 14, 2012
Great go-to black dress!
I ordered this as a backup since I was unsure on the fit of the dress I had hoped to wear. That dress was way too small. This worked out well as a perfect back up dress! I got the 8 & 10 and wore the 8. I think it would be flattering on all body types. I am pear shaped and this is an obvious go-to as it hides unwanted areas and still makes you look thinner on top. I paired it with emerald green jewelry and it looked great! It isn't a stand out dress, but it is a definite safe, go-to black dress for any occasion!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
January 2, 2013
Great Dress! Arrived Early!
The straps fall down, but I fashion taped them to my bra and they stayed in place rest of the night! Loved the dress, and the whole process of renting it!
Mary HelenJanuary 30, 2013
I'm tall, too, so I was wondering if the waist on the dress hit you at your waist or above it?
SamanthaJanuary 31, 2013
It hit right around the natural waist!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 8, 2013
A perfect fun, young, and little black dress
Loved the dress! Easy, comfortable, and cute! I wore it for NYE in New York City and it was great for the occasion. It fits true to size around the chest, so I would base the size off of that. The length was just right and it was a lot of fun to accessorize. I recommend the dress to anybody.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 57
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
January 8, 2013
Excellent Service by RTR! Unfortunately, severe storms and hurricane caused all events to cancel.
The dress arrived ON TIME, as promised. The dilemma was it happened the exact day the storm hit. RTR advised me what to do, and according to their policy made every adjustment in timely fashion! I was very impressed - !!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
January 14, 2013
Great dress.
Perfect for an hour glass figure.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 193lbs
January 15, 2013
Modest, comfortable, simple.
The dress was modest. I fancified it with some blingy jewelry. The outfit overall was perfect for my date, which was to an off-broadway musical.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 18, 2013
Classic LBD
True-to-size, Definitely rent it based on your bust size, I could have gone a size down in all aspects except for bust, if you are a smaller chest you could probably wear a size smaller.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
February 17, 2013
Classic LBD
I wore this dress to a cocktail attire fundraiser. It's very flattering on an hourglass figure. The detail stitching on the chest and gathering below the waistband give this little black dress a little something special. I would highly recommend this dress, especially for the price.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 1, 2013
Simple and elegant
It was simple and elegant, but it needed a little extra something extra to make it wow
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
March 15, 2013
Simple and classic
I am a huge fan of Shoshanna dresses, and have rented only her designs from RTR because I know they fit me. While I loved this dress and it was comfortable, it was probably my least favorite of the dresses I've rented. This wasn't a fault of the dress, the designer, etc. just my personal opinion and how I felt in it. I did receive MULTIPLE compliments and LOVED the pockets, so no compliants about the actual dress itself. Just wish I had gone with something a little more out there. Either way, still planning to use RTR and Shoshanna dresses in the future.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 8, 2013
It was a super cute fun dress. I'd wear it again!
The fit was true to size for my body type. It was the perfect dress for a fun, black-tie optional event. I was comfortable all night. Just wish there would have been more dancing. Plus it has pockets! Who doesn't love pocket!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
May 24, 2013
Loved the pockets!
I had originally rented a different dress however the day before my rental was to be shipped, I got a call from RTR saying that the dress had been damaged by the previous renter and that I could rent any in its place. The dress fits pretty true to size; I had extra room in the bodice (which is typical of my body) but was able to wear it anyways. I have a long torso so it definitely fit like a short(er) dress. The pockets were awesome for my camera phone on the dance floor. Easy to wear, classic dress- good for any occasion you want to look polished but not be the center of attention.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 18, 2013
Shoshanna has nailed it!
This was actually my back up dress. I was able to make an appointment at the NY showroom and have the amazing Whitney dress me head to toe! This is the perfect simple LBD that every women should own. I wore the Shoshanna dress to my boyfriends summer company gala on chelsea piers, it was PERFECT. If you are looking for a LBD that will give you the "wow she is smoking hot" looks but also have wives not feel threatened, then this is the one for you! It was true to size, bonus it has POCKETS, the dress straps also have a small hidden snap to attach to a bra strap that way it never slips. I paired with black fendi heels, and a gorg kendra scott necklace, with a bright green clutch. * full discloser, ive order this same shosanna dress for an upcoming wedding in teal*
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
June 19, 2013
Great LBD, classy and sexy at the same time
This dress is so comfortable and flattering that I have rented it twice (which is normally against my RTR rules). The top is a bit tight in the chest area which creates a tad more cleavage than I would usually wear, but the rest of the dress is sweet enough to balance it out. This is a perfect dress for a party or a night out on the town.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
June 21, 2013
Adorable dress, loved by all!
The fit was perfect! Everyone I met at the wedding loved the dress and gave lots of compliments. Loved it!!
ChristineDecember 8, 2013
Very cute Shannon!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
June 24, 2013
Great, comfortable dress!
Wore this dress for a wedding. It was really cute and super comfortable and the straps allowed me to dance without having to worry about it falling down. It's a pretty simple black dress but the sheen and structure of the fabric made it dressy enough and the length made it not too conservative. I wish I owned this dress, and will likely rent again in the future!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
July 2, 2013
Fun and comfortable
This dress was sent to me as a replacement for another I had ordered. Although at first I was disappointed for not getting what I had ordered, it was a fun little dress. Was very comfortable and a great fit. Liked the length as well. A great black dress for a variety of occasions. Would rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
July 28, 2013
Great dress! LOVE THE POCKETS!
I ordered this dress as my "back up" dress (which is a GREAT option for $25!) It really was a great dress but I ended up going with my 1st choice. The only problem I found with the dress was it gapped in the chest area for me, even with a good push up bra. But the overall fit was really true to size & the pockets are a total added bonus.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 8, 2013
The dress fit great! I received a ton of compliments! especially with the necklace :)
I was hesitant on what designer what size etc. I finally after hours of sitting at the computer went with this dress, i ordered a size 0 and 2 when i received it in the mail i loved the added gift as well as the garment bag. I only tried on the 0 and it fit perfectly! I loved the added pockets, it kept my phone handy for pictures all night long. The only con would be im a little bustier so it was just a tad tight around my chest but overall it was comfortable. All 3 of these girls shown used RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 12, 2013
Great dress
Wore this to a friend's rehearsal dinner, it was great for the occasion. The 4 & 6 actually both fit, just a bit differently. I ended up going with the 6 so that I had room to move around, a bit more length, and room to enjoy a big dinner. The shape is forgiving and the fabric nice heavy weight so I skipped the usual spanx. A great LBD, would rent again.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 30, 2013
Classic little black dress
Fit great. I was anticipating wearing a regular bra, but the straps showed, so I went braless. It made it too roomy at the top and eliminated any cleavage. But overall a flattering dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
September 2, 2013
Back up dress - does the job!
This is the perfect, easy LBD for a pear girl. Not too poufy of a skirt, but enough swing that it flatters the lower half. It is slightly bigger on top I think, so maybe consider sizing down for back up size if you're smaller in the bust. I didn't end up wearing is as it was my back up, but will probably rent again when I need a functional, simple but very cute LBD. A great classic basic.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
September 4, 2013
I wore this for a black tie event in November. Compliments galore!
Loved this dress. Great fit and true to size!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 10, 2013
Can't wait to order again in a different color!!
This was the perfect black dress for a wedding or formal event. The pockets were an added bonus. I usually wear a 6/8 and ordered a size 8 although the 6 would have worked better.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
September 12, 2013
very comfortable and flattering!
this is the perfect dress because it's guaranteed to work. It ran exactly to size. I ordered it as a second style because I was unsure of my first pick and I am so thankful I did. I liked the pockets too!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
September 20, 2013
All the compliments I got.
The fit was perfect. Dress was so very comfortable
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
September 29, 2013
Love it!
I had a baby 3 months ago, and needed a dress that was forgiving in the belly area. This was it! I was able to wear a regular bra, and the midsection was not form fitting - so it hid the stomach nicely! Great LBD - would work for just about any body type!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 26, 2013
Good go-to LBD
This dress was fairly a simple black dress. It fit well, fell at the right spot above the knees and could wear a regular bra with it. Loved the pockets and the clasps to keep your bra straps in place. Adding the Baddley Mischka Crystal Cluster necklace was the perfect touch to dress the look up.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
October 26, 2013
Simple & Elegant
Very pretty and flattering! I have this dress in all the other colors favorited and am tempted to rent again for another event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
November 15, 2013
Stunning. This is wonderful quality. Very flattering.
If you are a petite girl - this could be the dress for you. Taller women might want to think twice.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
November 30, 2013
I love this dress....I will probably order in every color for different occasions.
I have a hard time with dresses and usually have to get them altered because I have wider hips and smaller waist. I was concerned about wearing a strapless bra, but because the waist fit perfect it gave added support!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
December 6, 2013
beautiful dress, not great for apples.
This was a great dress! I rented it for my brother's rehearsal dinner. The fabric was thicker and textured, but it was very pretty on. I will say that while it runs pretty much to size, it was slightly small. I am an apple and it was a little snug on my waist all night, its not quite an empire and not quite a standard waist. The 10 was far to big though. I am also pretty typically an 8 in jeans and dresses.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
May 4, 2013
NYE dress!
I loved the fit! Great LBD
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
December 18, 2013
Great fun dress
I am short and always worried dresses will be too long and this was perfect! It was a little large in the chest area but I am petite and you really couldn't tell so it didn't sway me from wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 31, 2013
Great dress!
I ordered this dress for a winter wedding, and it worked out perfectly! I picked a size 4 and a size 2 as my back-up, and I ended up wearing the size 2. It was slightly snug, but I forgot about it once the night started. I got tons of compliments, and I would highly recommend it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 61
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
January 2, 2014
New years Eve party Lots of compliments on overall look. it was cold so i wore insulated hosiery.
classic baby doll dress snug fitting just under the bra line. size 12 if you are a 36 bust. I am average in hgt and felt the dress was appropriately short for my age. So many possible looks with this dress by accessorizing. I chose to wear thermal stockings, black semi-gloss leather pumps, and brassy gold jewelry. I was able to (with a light jacket) step outside for fireworks and still stay warm. Strange thing was, my lip color was a major hit so I will recommend wearing a red that pops with this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 14, 2014
Didn't get it in time :(
Unfortunately UPS didn't make the delivery but RTR made up for it by giving me a promo code for my next rental. They were very helpful! Can't wait for an event to wear this dress to though; it's adorable.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 19, 2014
Simple, comfortable, short and sexy LBD with POCKETS!
Pros: Pockets are awesome - deep and secure, I carried my phone, id and keys in them all night and they never budged (and there was a lot of dancing too), Tight at top so no bra required, baby doll style means no having to mess with spanks or worrying about underwear lines, pretty darn short makes it sexier than it would be otherwise Cons: It's a pretty basic black dress, nothing especially extravagant or noteworthy about it Also, I usually waffle between a 6 and an 8 and the 8 was too gappy at top... so likely size down
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×