Shoshanna

Noir Cream Puff Dress

$45 to buy
$295 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Wear this adorable Shoshanna Noir Cream Puff Dress for a fall wedding or cocktail party. Its simple scoop neckline and full skirt are perfect for a casual but elegant event!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at high waist and conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - tulip skirt has comfortable room in hips and backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''. )

Product Details

Black ottoman. Scoop neckline. Seamed bodice. Pleated full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
98 reviews
Fit
Large
(19)
True to Size
(68)
Small
(11)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
February 16, 2012
sexy and pretty all in one

I wore this dress during a swanky trip to NYC and went out to a dinner and looked amazing in it. I've have a large bust and any dress that helps to define my waist makes me happy. The skirt looks even more amazing in person and it the right size to be sexy but not too short. The scoop neck is a bit on the low side so if showing too much skin is an issue you might want to add a pretty cardigan or pick another style.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
March 26, 2012
I received so many compliments on my dress this evening. It was super comfortable and really worked well from the event to going out after.

I wore this dress to an awards event that I was working. I had to wear black to blend in but still look appropriate for a black tie affair. This dress was great. the fit is very true to size and I felt comfortable in it. I'm 5'9" so it would have been a little short if I hadn't worn tights with it. The pockets were a nice addition!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 19, 2012
Evening classy wedding!

I got a bunch of compliments on this dress and my most favorite part was that I got to wear a regular bra!! I absolutely despise strapless bras so this was a big plus for me! So pretty and classy!

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
May 6, 2012
Great fit!

I am 5'4", ~128 lbs, and a 34B -- a size 2 was perfect for me. If I had a bigger bust, though, I think that a 2 would've been uncomfortable because the top is very fitted until about midway between the bust and waist. With the slightly fuller skirt and the lines of the top, it's an incredibly flattering dress for anyone with hips. The only point of caution is that, for me, the length was at the threshold of being too short at mid-thigh. I wore this to work at a formal fundraiser, and I had to remain very aware of the dress when I stood up or I had to stoop a bit when talking with guests. The fullness of the skirt helps, though, as you don't need to worry about it riding up. Overall, a great dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122lbs
August 10, 2012
Loved it!

This was the first dress i've rented and it was great. Arrived on time wrinkle free and it was everything the description said.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
August 14, 2012
Great Fit

I rented this as my back-up dress and ended up wearing it to the wedding. Great fit and very comfortable! It exceeded my expectations.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
August 22, 2012
Short and Sassy

I wore this dress to a wedding with some black sheer stockings with a design on them...SUPER cute. The dress is a little short but fun. I loved it.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
August 22, 2012
Great LBD

Simple yet fun! Great for all kinds of occasions. Added bonus: it has pockets :D

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 3, 2012
Awesome

Very cute, and really flattering

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 5, 2012
Everyone was saying how beautiful the dress and I looked

I loved this dress! It made me feel so girly. Everyone else loved it too saying how beautiful it was. It definitely was a high point of the evening!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Full Bust
September 24, 2012
I wore this dress to my senior preference ceremony for my sorority. I got so many complements.

The dress fits true to size. If you have a bigger chest, you may want to go up one size. Everyone loved the dress and I got a lot of complements. I would recommend this dress to anyone, especially curvy women like me!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
September 27, 2012
Loved this dress! Very classic and flattering.

It was a little tight in the bust, but worked out fine. I wore this dress to a fancy dinner with girlfriends. Will rent this in other colors!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 1, 2012
Loved the fit! Fun and flirty dress - perfect for family wedding and very comfortable!

Loved the fabric, fit true to size

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147lbs
November 12, 2012
Fabulous!

I am 5'7" and was 160 lbs when I rented this dress. The size 8 worked, though I got the 10 as backup. I dont recommend wearing a bra if you can go without. I am a 36D, so I wore one, and my breasts were practically in my face (the dress is tighter up top than I would have wanted). But I think if I had went without the bra it would have worked better. The dress keeps that nice puff shape even after sitting through a 45 minute ride to the party and a 4 course dinner. The fabric is silky and luxurious without being too shiny (or disco-ball like). Highly recommended dress for those with hourglass figures and a bit of a tummy pooch to hide =)

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Petite
December 4, 2012
My best friend helped me pick out the dress to wear at her wedding.

I loved the fit! Created a perfect hourglass shape - cinched in at the waist and enough room in the hips to feel comfortable sitting, dancing, eating, walking, etc. The pockets were perfect for holding my keys, tissues, lip gloss, and my reading for my best friend's wedding.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 26, 2012
My sister's first rent the runway purchase was a success :)

This was my present to my sister. She had never worn a designer dress before, so she was really excited to wear this to our family Christmas party. The dress does run short (my sister is about 5' 7"), but the rest of the fit was pretty true to size. It looks great with black tights but I'm sure gold would be great for a NYE bash!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
January 15, 2013
Classic black dress. Easily dressed up with a great necklace! Highly recommend.

I wouldn't recommend for bigger busted girls. Pretty snug on top. Great for a pear shape!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
February 4, 2013
Pretty dress... but left me wanting more

I'm not quite sure what it was about this dress - but I just didn't love it. The shape was cute, though I think I would have liked it a bit more if the skirt puffed out a little bit lower than it does. The pockets are awesome, as are the bra strap clips (sooo much better than wearing a strapless bra)... so it wasn't all bad. All in all, I wouldn't rent this dress again - nor would I recommend it. If I hadn't waited until the last minute to try it on, I would have returned it and looked for something else to wear.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
February 22, 2013
Perfect LBD!

I ended up wearing another Shoshanna dress that I rented, but this one was a solid contender! Like all Shoshanna dresses, this really emphasizes a little waist & hides the tummy & hips in a flattering way. This dress has a great fit; a perfect LBD for almost any occasion.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
October 1, 2012
Perfect Little Black Dress

I wore this to a wedding and got a ton of compliments. It was a little thicker material so it was good for a fall-rustic wedding. Will get this again soon!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
April 1, 2013
Pretty dress, perfect for a slightly more formal rehearsal dinner.

Smaller on top, good for those who are small on top and wider on the bottom.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
April 12, 2013
I wore this for my engagement party. It was shorter than expected, luckily it was a cocktail party!

Honestly, very happy I didn't need to sit down in this dress - anybody in the 5'10'' range expect it to be on the more scandalous side.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 13, 2013
This dress is adorable! Great for petites.

I wore this dress as a bridesmaid's dress in a friend's summer wedding last year. It was perfect and got a lot of compliments. The scoop neckline is great for a statement necklace and it has POCKETS! I am 5'2'' and it fit perfectly at the waist - no safety pins or hemming needed. The detail around the waist where it flares out got a lot of compliments as wel.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
May 12, 2013
YOU can never go wrong with a LBD. I loved this dress!

This dress was a second choice and something that was able to get last minute after another designers dress didn't fit. This dress was simple just like me. It was easy to move around in all night and was light enough to move on the dance floor. I got so many compliments on this dress - I would definitely rent it again.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
June 1, 2013
Perfect bridesmaids dress. The fit and flare style was great for my body type, plus it had pockets!

I ordered an 8 and a 10, sized down to an 8 (my normal size). Fit well, good length.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
July 9, 2013
I felt like a cute little cupcake!

Not the best picture, but I wore this to dinner for my husband and I's first anniversary. Was really cute, a little but puffier in the hips than the picture shows. Has pockets which is always a plus in my book! Was tight in the best, but fit nicely everywhere else. Would be perfect for a wedding!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 15, 2013
Great dress, super comfy!

This dress fits true to size and can be dressed up or dressed down.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 29, 2013
This was my backup dress. I didn't wear it for this occassion, but I would rent it again!

It fit well and was very chic. Loved the pockets!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
August 23, 2013
Flattering and simple LBD!

I selected this dress as my back-up and when the color of the first dress let me down, this one saved the day! I have a small chest and this dress was very flattering for me. I'm also very tall and the dress wasn't too short for the work event I wore it to. The fabric is heavy and doesn't wrinkle, and had some shine to dress it up.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
November 6, 2013
It was okay at best.

Everyone said this would be flattering for a large chest. I didn't think it was that flattering. It was okay. I have long legs and a short torso and it wasn't cut right for my body.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 7, 2013
Fun, slightly sexy and flattering!

This was a wonderful choice for my husband’s office holiday party which took place at a downtown club here in Austin, Texas. The dress was very flattering to my shape (i.e., 5’2”, 115 lbs, 32B bust) and true to size (i.e., size 2). The dress was sexy, but not overly so (i.e., the neckline comes just low enough). The bubble shape of the full skirt was adorable and adds a lot of character to this little black dress. There is not a lot of stretch to this fabric and it is going to fit you snugly. I danced in this dress and felt comfortable moving about. I would rent this again if the occasion called for it.

RTR CustomerDecember 7, 2013
you look so cute! I'm about the same size... you may have made me rent this one!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
March 5, 2014
I got so many compliments through the night!

RTR shipped me this dress overnight because the original dress I ordered didn't fit. But I loved this one EVEN MORE! I loved that this dress had pockets & it was the perfect length at mid-thigh! The zipper is a bit hard to get up near the middle so get some help if you can. Also, I'm a tad busty so the top was SUPER fitted while the rest of the dress fit with some room. But once everything was in place, I looked & felt great! I had no problems moving around, eating, and dancing through the night! Overall I would recommend this dress to a friend :) try it!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 9, 2014
It's a bubble dress...

Remember the dresses that were in like 5 years ago that bubbled out slightly and then had a more tailored fit at the knee? This is it. Didn't really pick up on that from the reviews but when I put on the dress I instantly looked about 10 lbs heavier. Didn't end up wearing either size although they both fit well, measurement-wise.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 108lbs
May 15, 2014
Very flattering silhouette!

Great Dress--very flattering; classic. Received many compliments, but do note-- shows a bit of boob at the top. Makes waist look small. Appropriate for formal setting (even formal work setting) or more fun event. Can't go wrong. Will likely rent again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
May 29, 2014
I rented this dress as an option, it fit great, definitely pair it with a statement necklace.

I didn't wear it because I chose a different one that I rented, but this dress was a perfect fit, it has pockets, it made me look elegant.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
June 5, 2014
Classic yet young and modern

This dress made me feel very upscale/chic for my sisters bridal shower where all the bridesmaids wore black dresses to match our actual bridesmaids dresses. I matched my dress with pearls and fancier wedges. A get ranger said I looked very Jackie O. I felt very special after that :)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
October 30, 2014
loved it!

loved the pockets

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 24, 2014
Cute Puff

I received this dress, because one of the sizes of the dress I rented was returned damage, and a stylist picked this out for me as a replacement. The dress that I originally rented fit, so I wore that for my event, but I tried this dress on the next night for fun. The 4 fit fine, but I didn't think the dress was anything special. I told everyone that it made me look like a "black cream puff." Sure enough, that's the name of the dress! So, if that's the look you're going for, this is your dress! It's a little "cutesy" for my taste, but I wouldn't have rented this dress in the first place. I personally think the style and fabric make it look like a bridesmaid dress. So, if you're looking for a less pricey rental and a cute LBD, I would recommend this dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 26, 2014
I ordered this dress as a backup, but ended up wearing it to the wedding.

Great fit and flare shape for curves. Came in petite so the straps fit as well.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
April 13, 2015
Great for Sorority Preference Night!

This dress had such a classy fit without being too matronly. As my sorority's recruitment chair, it also was comfortable enough for all the running around and setting up I had to do. I really enjoyed it.

View photos (2)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×