Noir Cream Puff Dress

$45 to buy
$295 retail
Stylist Notes

Wear this adorable Shoshanna Noir Cream Puff Dress for a fall wedding or cocktail party. Its simple scoop neckline and full skirt are perfect for a casual but elegant event!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at high waist and conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - tulip skirt has comfortable room in hips and backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''. )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at high waist and conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - tulip skirt has comfortable room in hips and backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''. )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black ottoman. Scoop neckline. Seamed bodice. Pleated full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
98 reviews
Fit
Large
(19)
True to Size
(68)
Small
(11)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
January 15, 2013
Classic black dress. Easily dressed up with a great necklace! Highly recommend.
I wouldn't recommend for bigger busted girls. Pretty snug on top. Great for a pear shape!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
February 4, 2013
Pretty dress... but left me wanting more
I'm not quite sure what it was about this dress - but I just didn't love it. The shape was cute, though I think I would have liked it a bit more if the skirt puffed out a little bit lower than it does. The pockets are awesome, as are the bra strap clips (sooo much better than wearing a strapless bra)... so it wasn't all bad. All in all, I wouldn't rent this dress again - nor would I recommend it. If I hadn't waited until the last minute to try it on, I would have returned it and looked for something else to wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
February 22, 2013
Perfect LBD!
I ended up wearing another Shoshanna dress that I rented, but this one was a solid contender! Like all Shoshanna dresses, this really emphasizes a little waist & hides the tummy & hips in a flattering way. This dress has a great fit; a perfect LBD for almost any occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
February 22, 2013
Tight Fit for Curves
This is a beautifully made dress. The problem is that the top is VERY (and deceptively) unforgiving for larger busted ladies. I rented an 8, my typical size. I am a 36D and 135lbs, and my chest was terribly smashed in, so much so that it looked and felt totally uncomfortable (to the point that I couldn't wear it out). Had to return to RtR within 24 hours (customer service was, as usual, amazing). So in sum, I advise sizing up if you have an ample chest!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
October 1, 2012
Perfect Little Black Dress
I wore this to a wedding and got a ton of compliments. It was a little thicker material so it was good for a fall-rustic wedding. Will get this again soon!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
April 1, 2013
Pretty dress, perfect for a slightly more formal rehearsal dinner.
Smaller on top, good for those who are small on top and wider on the bottom.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
April 12, 2013
I wore this for my engagement party. It was shorter than expected, luckily it was a cocktail party!
Honestly, very happy I didn't need to sit down in this dress - anybody in the 5'10'' range expect it to be on the more scandalous side.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 13, 2013
This dress is adorable! Great for petites.
I wore this dress as a bridesmaid's dress in a friend's summer wedding last year. It was perfect and got a lot of compliments. The scoop neckline is great for a statement necklace and it has POCKETS! I am 5'2'' and it fit perfectly at the waist - no safety pins or hemming needed. The detail around the waist where it flares out got a lot of compliments as wel.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
May 8, 2013
I always love coming home and my dress for the evening is waiting for me!
Pros- The bra strap strappys are wonderful. I don't have to worry about messing with my bra all night. It made me feel confident and comfortable. I got a lot of compliments. Cons- It had no give in the fabric and I had to size up to be able to get in. There isn't much "flash" to the garment but a nice LBD for a semi-conservative banquet event. THANKS RTR!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
May 12, 2013
YOU can never go wrong with a LBD. I loved this dress!
This dress was a second choice and something that was able to get last minute after another designers dress didn't fit. This dress was simple just like me. It was easy to move around in all night and was light enough to move on the dance floor. I got so many compliments on this dress - I would definitely rent it again.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
June 1, 2013
Perfect bridesmaids dress. The fit and flare style was great for my body type, plus it had pockets!
I ordered an 8 and a 10, sized down to an 8 (my normal size). Fit well, good length.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
July 9, 2013
I felt like a cute little cupcake!
Not the best picture, but I wore this to dinner for my husband and I's first anniversary. Was really cute, a little but puffier in the hips than the picture shows. Has pockets which is always a plus in my book! Was tight in the best, but fit nicely everywhere else. Would be perfect for a wedding!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 15, 2013
Great dress, super comfy!
This dress fits true to size and can be dressed up or dressed down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 29, 2013
This was my backup dress. I didn't wear it for this occassion, but I would rent it again!
It fit well and was very chic. Loved the pockets!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
August 23, 2013
Flattering and simple LBD!
I selected this dress as my back-up and when the color of the first dress let me down, this one saved the day! I have a small chest and this dress was very flattering for me. I'm also very tall and the dress wasn't too short for the work event I wore it to. The fabric is heavy and doesn't wrinkle, and had some shine to dress it up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 168lbs
September 23, 2013
Way to small bust/ribcage
This is dress did not work for me. I ordered the 10 and the 12 and they were both too small on my bust/ribcage, even without a bra. I have a pretty large bust but it isn't often that neither a 10 or 12 will work. It was disappointing, though, because the dress is cute!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
November 6, 2013
It was okay at best.
Everyone said this would be flattering for a large chest. I didn't think it was that flattering. It was okay. I have long legs and a short torso and it wasn't cut right for my body.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 7, 2013
Fun, slightly sexy and flattering!
This was a wonderful choice for my husband’s office holiday party which took place at a downtown club here in Austin, Texas. The dress was very flattering to my shape (i.e., 5’2”, 115 lbs, 32B bust) and true to size (i.e., size 2). The dress was sexy, but not overly so (i.e., the neckline comes just low enough). The bubble shape of the full skirt was adorable and adds a lot of character to this little black dress. There is not a lot of stretch to this fabric and it is going to fit you snugly. I danced in this dress and felt comfortable moving about. I would rent this again if the occasion called for it.
RTR CustomerJanuary 12, 2014
you look so cute! I'm about the same size... you may have made me rent this one!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 2, 2014
Nice dress! Just a little too snug for me in my normal size.
I ordered this as a back up dress for a New Year's Eve party, but went with the other dress I had ordered at the same time. The size 4 was definitely tight across my chest and not very flattering. The arm holes also seemed too small - but maybe that was just because it was tight across my chest. Otherwise I really liked the dress! I might actually rent it again in a size 6. I'm guessing the larger size might fit perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 9, 2014
Adorable LBD!
This dress is the quintessential little black dress! And the best part is that it had pockets! Such a pleasant surprise, especially for a wedding when I was happy to be able to carry my phone for quick access to pictures. The skirt was the perfect length for dancing without being too short. The straps were a little loose and it needed a colorful necklace to jazz it up, but overall, I was very pleased with the rental!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
March 5, 2014
I got so many compliments through the night!
RTR shipped me this dress overnight because the original dress I ordered didn't fit. But I loved this one EVEN MORE! I loved that this dress had pockets & it was the perfect length at mid-thigh! The zipper is a bit hard to get up near the middle so get some help if you can. Also, I'm a tad busty so the top was SUPER fitted while the rest of the dress fit with some room. But once everything was in place, I looked & felt great! I had no problems moving around, eating, and dancing through the night! Overall I would recommend this dress to a friend :) try it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
April 14, 2014
Lots of compliment
Great dress. Run a little big...I would rent size 2 instead of 4 next time.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
May 3, 2014
All eyes was looking at me
#jrprom
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 9, 2014
It's a bubble dress...
Remember the dresses that were in like 5 years ago that bubbled out slightly and then had a more tailored fit at the knee? This is it. Didn't really pick up on that from the reviews but when I put on the dress I instantly looked about 10 lbs heavier. Didn't end up wearing either size although they both fit well, measurement-wise.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 108lbs
May 15, 2014
Very flattering silhouette!
Great Dress--very flattering; classic. Received many compliments, but do note-- shows a bit of boob at the top. Makes waist look small. Appropriate for formal setting (even formal work setting) or more fun event. Can't go wrong. Will likely rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
May 29, 2014
I rented this dress as an option, it fit great, definitely pair it with a statement necklace.
I didn't wear it because I chose a different one that I rented, but this dress was a perfect fit, it has pockets, it made me look elegant.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
June 5, 2014
Classic yet young and modern
This dress made me feel very upscale/chic for my sisters bridal shower where all the bridesmaids wore black dresses to match our actual bridesmaids dresses. I matched my dress with pearls and fancier wedges. A get ranger said I looked very Jackie O. I felt very special after that :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 2, 2014
Great LBD
I had to order this last minute as a replacement dress but it ended up looking great! The neckline and fitted waist were super flattering. The only issue I had was the chest was a little tight and I felt constricted there but I still loved it. Perfect LBD for any event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
October 30, 2014
loved it!
loved the pockets
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138lbs
December 19, 2014
Dress would be perfect for a night out or a birthday party but not for a formal event.
Unfortunately the dress had to go right back to RTR. I am quite tall and even after thoroughly looking at the reviews, it seemed as if it would work. I have an average bust (331/2) but a small waist (26) and hips that are (38), I really thought the fit would be fine. The straps were slightly too short, I have a long torso as well as long legs. The dress was not even near mid thigh for me and I could not even bend down or over, I don't think I would have been able to sit down either. Bottom line if you're a size 0 to 4 and over 5'8" this is not the dress for you. Luckily, after I tried on the dress I was informed the attire for the event has now ended up being evening black tie so I need a long dress anyways so it was bittersweet. Dress was beautiful but not quite what I was expecting, appears nicer in the photo and far longer than it actually is.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 24, 2014
Cute Puff
I received this dress, because one of the sizes of the dress I rented was returned damage, and a stylist picked this out for me as a replacement. The dress that I originally rented fit, so I wore that for my event, but I tried this dress on the next night for fun. The 4 fit fine, but I didn't think the dress was anything special. I told everyone that it made me look like a "black cream puff." Sure enough, that's the name of the dress! So, if that's the look you're going for, this is your dress! It's a little "cutesy" for my taste, but I wouldn't have rented this dress in the first place. I personally think the style and fabric make it look like a bridesmaid dress. So, if you're looking for a less pricey rental and a cute LBD, I would recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 26, 2014
I ordered this dress as a backup, but ended up wearing it to the wedding.
Great fit and flare shape for curves. Came in petite so the straps fit as well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
January 14, 2015
I rented this dress for a friends bachelorette party. It was perfect for a night out on the town.
I rented the 0 and 2, but the 2 was too big in the chest and waist area. The zero fit well, but the bust was still a bit loose (fixable with a push-up bra or cutlets). The dress has little claps hidden under the straps to keep your bra in place; great detail! It also had pockets…who doesn't love pockets in a dress? I'm petite, 5'0", and I felt like this dress was the perfect length. It hit a couple inches above the knee. Overall, I would definitely recommend this and would consider renting it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
April 13, 2015
Great for Sorority Preference Night!
This dress had such a classy fit without being too matronly. As my sorority's recruitment chair, it also was comfortable enough for all the running around and setting up I had to do. I really enjoyed it.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175lbs
July 2, 2014
cute simple option for a wedding.
A bit tight for a fuller bust, but the bottom was adorable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
January 1, 2012
The best compliment I got was from a drag queen (!) who said she sews pockets into all of her dresses and loved that my dress had pockets too!
I rented this for NYE and it was perfect! The skirt has a fun, flirty shape and the top is very flattering. The top allows you to wear a regular bra and has bra strap stays in the dress straps - a frequently overlooked but important detail!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
January 19, 2012
This dress was perfect, made me look thinner and was versatile and comfortable, loved the pockets!
This dress did exactly what I rented it to do: emphasize my waist, contain my chest and totally disguise my hips. Success! Pros: -can wear with bra -great for hourglass shapes -perfect for hiding hip area -length is great for petite women (note-if you're tall this dress will be very short on you) The only con was that it fit very snugly in the chest, I wear a 34DD and though the girls made it in, I couldn't take a deep breath all night... The size 10 probably would have fit better on top, but would have been too big in the waist.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 12, 2012
Getting compliments on my dress when I wasn't in the wedding party!
The fit was perfect: flattering and comfortable! I would definitely rent this again if need be.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
April 6, 2013
I loved this dress.
The dress fit me very well. If you have a thicker rib cage, it may be too tight, but it's a perfect dress for a petite woman.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
July 18, 2013
Loved this rental! Comfortable and chic.
I wore this for a black tie work event and it was perfect! Classy, not too revealing, but still a little bit fun. I added a big necklace to dress it up, which I'd recommend. Oh, and it has POCKETS.
CamilaSeptember 22, 2013
LOVE THE DRESS!! Is the neckline too low though?
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×