Shoshanna

Make It Rain Dress

$56 to buy
$580 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Grab that midnight kiss and start the countdown wearing this sequin sensation by Shoshanna. An emerald beauty to wear for a night of dancing and fun with friends.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Green sequin. Three quarter sleeve. Crew neckline. Straight skirt. Invisible center back zipper. Keyhole back with button closure. Lined. 33” from shoulder to hem.

Share
261 reviews
Fit
Large
(109)
True to Size
(124)
Small
(8)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
October 7, 2012
LOVED this dress!
The dress is not as short as it appears on the model. I'm 5'7" and it hit about 3 inches above the knee.
ShelleyOctober 22, 2012
Do you have a photo of you in the dress?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
October 22, 2012
The picture is unfortunately not an accurate portrayal of what I received.
What looks to be slightly loose on the model was in fact a muu muu on me. I was very disappointed with this dress and would have appreciated a tip to wear a belt! I was forced to wear another dress from my closet.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
October 23, 2012
Loved the Green Sequins!
This is dress was super fun! I loved that the sequins were green, it made the dress really unique! This dress runs pretty large. I wore the size 0, which was slighting tight in my arms. I would recommend sizing one size down for your main size and sizing down 2 sizes for your backup. Since this dress does run large, I would not recommend it if you are petite. Otherwise, it is an easy dress for other body types!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 23, 2012
LOVE this dress and will rent it again for sure!!!
I had a baby a few months ago and I have been wearing an 8 but the reviews said this ran big so I got a 6 and it was perfect. so comfy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
November 1, 2012
Cute and classy
From the picture, I expected something short and chic, but, as other reviewers have mentioned, this dress runs large and is longer than I expected. I was hoping to wear this for my birthday, but the length makes it less youthful; still, I like it so much that I may wear it anyways. For a dressy occasion, like a holiday party, I would absolutely recommend it, especially for taller girls. The overall effect is adorably classy and reminiscent of something out of the 1920's.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 6, 2012
Loved it! Received tons of compliments!
It's much bigger in the back and around the waist. Longer than I thought but I liked the length it was about an inch and a half past my fingers when my arms were at my sides. The dress is a little delicate but really was the best dress at the wedding! It was perfect for the weather (low 60s/high 50s at night)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 55
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
November 8, 2012
Looks great on, a really pretty dark green.
Out of the box it's just a big square with sleeves, but it shapes up nicely! Short, but not too short. Add a long necklace and you're go to go. Also leave yourself a few extra minutes when dressing to smooth out the sequins.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 21, 2012
Stunning dress! I received so many compliments!
This dress runs very large I would order two sizes down. I am normally a size 8 and wore a 4. It was a little tight across the shoulders though so keep that in mind if you are more broad like me when ordering down. Save time to smooth the sequins after you put it on.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 123lbs
November 26, 2012
Stunning dress, felt amazing all night
I rented this for a late November wedding. Upon reading the "runs large" reviews, I ordered the 2 and 4 (I normally wear 4-6). I ended up wearing the 4 and it fit great. Like other reviewers stated, it is a bit longer than you would think, but it was perfect I think. I got a ton of compliments all night, and, like all the other dresses I rent, I wish I could keep this one! After we left the wedding, I wanted to go out to keep showing off this amazing dress. I felt so great in it. Definitely a showstopper.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 29, 2012
This dress was amazing and I received compliments from absolutely everyone! Bellissima!
It was super comfortable with the fit. However, I was planning on wearing no tights with it like shown on the model. However, if I raised my arms up the dress exposed EVERYTHING. I'm not sure if it's because I am tall or they way its sown. But the black tights still looked good. I absolutely loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 2, 2012
I absolutely LOVED this dress!! I received so many compliments, I would get this dress again :-)
It runs large, I ordered a size 0 and a 2. The 0 fit better, but I liked the little extra length on the size 2 as this dress is a mini. No dancing in this one, unless you want the world to see your assets!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
December 2, 2012
Could not wear the dress but it was so beautiful!
My shoulders were too broad for the dress and the arms were tight. Great dress though!!!!!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
December 4, 2012
Great experience, would order another RTR dress again in a heartbeat.
I wore this dress as part of a bridal party at a destination wedding and was nervous about the fit of the dress given the other reviews. The dress does run on the larger size- I am usually a 6-8 depending on cut and wore a 4 comfortably in this dress due to boxy shape. It is on the shorter side which was fine for me (I am 5'1 and it hit 1 1/2" above the knee) but might be a micro-mini on anyone 5'5+. Ordering and returning process was seamless although in checkout process, it was not clear that the dress would be sent via courier if within NYC which requires a signature at delivery so I had it sent to a friend's doorman apartment. I received over 5 compliments on the dress from other wedding attendees - the color of the dress (hunter green) and the quality of the sequins make it look very high end unique. I'd definitely wear again...
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 67
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
December 5, 2012
Christmas Party and ALL THREE fab girls are wearing RTR!
So festive and so easy! Can't wait to RTR again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 5, 2012
The dress was cut very big.
I'm so glad I followed the advice of other customers and sized down. It was very comfy. I wore it for an outside evening party and it kept me pretty warm. ( the temperature was in the mid 50s) Wear tights because the length will shock you. I am 5'4 and I couldn't raise my arms above my shoulders or else I would have flashed everyone. Over-all it was a nice dress but a little too boxy for my straight and narrow figure. Loved RTR, will definately rent from them again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
December 12, 2012
Perfect holiday party dress!
This dress was a lot of fun to wear and very flattering. I wore it to our office holiday party and received lots of compliments. I'm 5'7" and it was definitely short on me, but I wore it with tights.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
December 17, 2012
Super fun dress
This dress was a lot of fun to wear and I got a ton of compliments. It was also very comfortable with a soft lining. Caution: it is however really short. I'm 5-4 and while the dress hit at the tip of my finger tips, I couldn't raise my arms or bend over...at all. I recommend cute little boy shorts to pair with this...and only wear this dress if you'll be standing most of the night. I am usually a size 4 (pear shaped) and I wore the size 2.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
December 17, 2012
This dress was beautiful and arrived on time. I will absolutely rent from here again.
This dress does run large and you definitely want to go down 1 size. I went down a size due to the other reviews and I am glad I did. You need to know that this dress is short. I am 5'6" and it was short on me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 17, 2012
A classy dress in a gorgeous color- you will sparkle and shine from the sea of LBDs!
Wore this to a holiday party, ordered a 10 and backup size 8 since others advised the dress runs large. Although the 8 fit, it was sooo SUPER short, even on my 5'3 frame! I'm talking barely mid-thigh. Since I knew I would be dancing at the party, I didn't want to be self-conscious about flashing my booty if I raised my arms or bent too far. Wearing tights was not an option in 80-degree South FL weather, so I wore the 10. It was a good fit, albeit a little looser in the waist/hip area. I felt like I had the best dress at the party- very holiday appropriate in the green shade and classy but still fun to wear- the dress sparkles beautifully. I can see any woman from her 20s to her 60s rocking this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
December 23, 2012
Perfect for a Christmas cocktail party!
I loved this dress! The color is GREAT in person. Def a show stopper. I'm normally a 4 or 6 depending on the designer and I had to go with the 6 because of how tight the arms were. Also I'm 5'2" and the 4 was so short! The 6 was short, but that's what I was going for. I didn't end up wearing tights, but it might have been a good idea because you will reveal your bum if you reach up too high for a hug or some killer dance moves. Also... I guess because the material is so thick it had retained the smell of someone else wearing it in the armpits. It didnt necessarily smell bad, it was just weird to me. I didn't find that the dress runs large. It's true to size and is beautiful! Perfect for a cocktail party around the holidays with moderate hugging and toned down dance moves. Sorry pics aren't clearer.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
October 24, 2012
it was beyond pretty but no shape. i liked it.
just not very flattering.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
December 29, 2012
I wore this dress for my baby shower. I was 33 weeks at the time and this was the perfect dress!!
This dress does run large. I also tried the size 8 which was fine but I was more comfortable in the 10. When you have a bump comfort is important!
ReneMarch 17, 2014
i'm pregnant and about 5'8''. The dress wasn't too short with the bump? Thanks!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
January 7, 2013
The BEST dress I have ever worn
This dress is incredible. It was a little short, so if you're worried about that I would order a size up. I wore it with black tights because of the season, but it would look great with or without. Definitely would order again! Wish I still had it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
January 10, 2013
I Loved this Dress!! The color was amazing and it was co comfortable despite all the sequins!!!!!!!
I usually would be a size 10 and saw what everyone was saying about how the dress runs large. The 8 was perfect! The only complaint I really had was of my curly hair getting stuck to the back of the dress on the sequins, otherwise I LOVE THIS DRESS!! I had a slight issue with the dress from whoever rented it prior to me leaving a hem in, but when I contacted RTR to help and see what they could do they were SO helpful. Their customer service throughout the entire process was amazing and I will continue to use their services!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 11, 2013
Green With Envy
I rented this dress for NYE and it is amazing. It sparkles without being over the top, it covers little flaws...and, it's comfortable! I ordered the 6 and the 8 and the 6 fit great, but was too short. The 8 was a little baggy everywhere else, but the length was much more comfortable. I wore a cross body bag to cinch the waist in a little and it worked perfectly!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 148lbs
January 21, 2013
RTR was a great experience. Very easy to use, and I was sure no one would have on the same dress.
The color of this dress was so beautiful that I received a lot of compliments on it. The dress is heavy and tends to fall back which made the neck choke me a bit. I had to keep pulling it back down in the front. Other reviewers mention that it was short, but I found it to be the perfect length. It is full coverage up top, so I was glad to show some leg. Also, I found it runs true to size. I always wear a 10 and ordered a 10 and an 8 because of the reviews. The 8 was too tight in my bust and arms to ever be considered comfortable. I wore the 10 and was overall comfortable and happy all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
January 30, 2013
love the color!
runs big, and long on a shorter person even with heels. also wide
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
February 1, 2013
Fabulous dress! I felt like a million bucks. Great fit and great quality.
I wore this dress in Las Vegas for the Miss America 2013 pageant. It was my first time renting from Rent the Runway and it was a flawless experience. The dress arrived on time, it fit perfectly and I felt like a million bucks in it. I paired the dress with gold heels a gold beaded/sequin clutch, gold bangles and drop earrings. The dress runs true to size. I would definilty recommend it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
February 3, 2013
Great dress but runs big. I got compliments on it all evening.
Amazing dress, good length, but if you're not too busty be sure to order a size or two sizes down. The dress has a nice cut, it feels great on and is very well made.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
February 4, 2013
Very boxy and unflattering on me, but LOVE the color!
Boxy and runs large - I actually didn't even wear, it was that unflattering on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 6, 2013
The color is perfect!
Luckily, whoever rented the dress previously (or the geniuses at RTR) had hemmed the dress about three inches so it was the perfect length - short enough to be sassy, but just long enough for comfort while dancing. There is a keyhole opening in the back, so we did run out and get a backless bra, but if you are on the taller side with a longer torso it probably won't be an issue. This one might be my favorite RTR dress so far!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
February 14, 2013
Dress I chose for my rehearsal dinner. Was amazing!
fit true to size - im short and it was still pretty short on me but fit like a mini dress should. loose and comfortable around the waist and arms - not going to be figure flattering but that's not the style of the dress. really perfect for a big night out and standing out in a sea of black cocktail dresses. i felt great the night before my wedding!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 14, 2013
Perfect for the Oz Premiere!!
I had to find something green for the premier of Oz The Great and Powerful and this dress came through in a big way. I don't think I've ever gotten so many compliments! It fit great (like all Shoshanna dresses it was perfect for my short frame) my only issue was that it was a little big. I'd recommend getting a size smaller than you think. Also, I ended up using the "hollywood tape" to bring them hem up because it was crazy long on my.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 19, 2013
FABulous party dress!
I felt amazing in this mini dress! It was a show-stopper. We were celebrating my 40th Bday in Vegas at the Marquee nightclub. A perfect dress for the occassion. I want to own this dress.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
February 24, 2013
The color of this dress is a stand out!
This dress was stunning! I was complimented so much in a room where people were wearing evening gowns! The color is spectacular. I would have loved to have worn the 8 but it was simply too short. The 10 was also short but not lewd. I would highly recommend this dress. I don't think this dress would be good on a shorter girl. I think it definitely looks good on a girl who's a bit taller because of the boxier shape to it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
February 25, 2013
Wore to my bachelorette party in Vegas!
I ordered a 6 but they sent me an 8. This dress is so pretty. Loose fitting, but really short. I was actually glad to have the 8 for a little extra length (if I put my hands straight up in the air, my entire bum would show). I wore tights FOR SURE! It was very comfy and I felt sparkly and fab.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
March 4, 2013
I ordered the size 2 and the size 4 and the 2 was too big. Also, the sequence was a bit messed up.
I was super excited about this dress, but even the smaller size i ordered was too big. Maybe would look better on someone taller. The sequence was sort of going in all directions, which gave the illusion of there being black spots on the dress. Was hoping it was a winner, i had to then go out and buy a dress...
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
March 10, 2013
Absolutely beautiful dress! Flattering, stunning,and many compliments from men and women
The length was perfect if you have nice legs. Very flattering to a curvy body type.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
March 13, 2013
Great Dress!
Super comfortable all night and the length was great for shorter girls like me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
March 18, 2013
This dress was a hit! So perfect for our engagement party.
I wore this dress for our engagement party and even though it's pretty glamorous, it wasn't over the top for our afternoon BBQ. I wore it with simple flat sandals that definitely dressed it down and everyone loved it. I would consider buying this dress as I would wear it ALL the time!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×