Shoshanna

Magnolia Gardens Dress

$54 to buy
$395 retail
Stylist Notes

Look gorg for the garden party in this pleated floral dress by Shoshanna. Pink and purple hues blend for a prim and proper style. Add subtle shine with accessories like Cara Accessories’ The More the Merrier Bangle Set for a little extra appeal.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Multicolor floral print stretch cotton (97% Cotton 3% Spandex). Strapless. Sweetheart neckline with pleated bodice detail. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 28” from top of bodice to hem. Imported.

Share
214 reviews
Fit
Large
(54)
True to Size
(117)
Small
(11)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 15, 2014
Ordering a dress from RTR was a great experience, fast and easy! Would use it again!

I ordered this in addition to another dress. I ordered it in a size 0 and it was really pretty, but it was way too big so I couldn't wear it.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
May 1, 2014
Everything about this dress was perfect!

I wore this dress to a spring wedding and can't say enough great things about it. The dress is super flattering, especially for an hourglass figure like mine. It has pockets, a nice fitted midsection and top, and a beautiful pattern. I think Shoshanna is my new dress brand.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 5, 2014
Vibrant, colorful dress.

I wore this dress to a bachelorette party. I ended up wearing the 2 since the bust in the 4 was too big. The length was good, not too long not too short. I loved the pockets on it. The only thing was the boning in the dress kind of peaked out in the front and the back. But, I would still recommend this dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 16, 2014
Beautiful Colors, Top Runs Big

I rented this for a bridal shower and it was perfect for the occasion. I love the colors of this dress and they are even more vibrant in person. I like dresses that have boning because that normally means I don't have to worry about wearing a bra. And since I have a bigger chest for my size I normally don't need the added support. However, this dress runs BIG up top. I was planning to wear the size 2 since that is what I would normally be but ordered my back up size one down since I read the reviews and I'm glad I did. Even the 0 (which I would normally be pouring out of on top) was loose and I had to wear sticky cups to give me a bit more padding. Aside from that, I was content with the dress. It also has pockets which is pretty awesome.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
May 27, 2014
Love, love, loved this dress!

This dress is super comfortable (and even has pockets)! It is formal enough for a wedding while still being colorful and fun. It can definitely be dressed up with the right jewelry, but I opted for a more casual look for an outdoor wedding. It ran a little large, but I ordered a 0 since I had read that in the reviews and it fit perfectly. I had ordered a different dress originally and it was too big, so RTR was amazing and sent this dress to the location of the wedding so it was waiting at the front desk when I arrived. Thanks, Rent the Runway!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
May 29, 2014
Great dress for my 21st Birthday.

I loved the dress, wiring was a little different in the front and it fit large. But once I got there, I forgot all about the wiring. Tons of complements.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
June 13, 2014
This dress has beautiful colors!

I love the colors in this dress. I was worried the material would be too stiff but it wasn't. It did run large on me.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 23, 2014
Dress was such a hit at a Bridal Shower!

First off, the picture of the model on this dress, does not do it justice! The colors are way more vibrant in person; it's a stunning dress. For the most part, the dress fit well. However, It is definitely meant for girls who have an hourglass shape & are much bustier than myself. I am a 34 B & wore the size 6 & the top was pretty big on me. But, it's to be expected from this designer. Fashion tape on the top fixed the problem & kept the dress up. I received compliments from everyone at the bridal shower! I would definitely consider renting the dress again. Next time, I may rent a size 4 along with the 6, to see if that's a better fit. Overall, I really loved the dress, as did everyone else!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
July 2, 2014
Wonderful!

I ordered the 4 and 6 and wish I had ordered the 2 and 4 instead. I had to safety pin it in the back to ensure that it wouldn't slip during the night. Other than that, I really liked the dress! I received several compliments and really liked the colors. I wore it to a late June wedding held outside and it wasn't too heavy and didn't show sweat. Overall, I would recommend it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
July 11, 2014
Fun, flirty dress!

First, I have to admit that this dress is not my usual style. However, I needed a pink dress for the Kentucky Oaks race, and this one had great reviews. I was VERY happy with this rental. It was flirty and fun without being too childish. It was also very comfortable and supportive in the right spots. I am a little top-heavy, so I was worried the dress might accentuate that too much. But the fit/shape of this dress was beautiful. I would definitely rent this designer again! I did feel that it ran a little larger, but not by too much.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 19, 2014
Wore to summer wedding!

Really liked this dress - super cute and flattering shape. It was perfect for a summer wedding! My only qualm was that the boning was kind of popping out at the top of the dress, but it wasn't a big thing. I would also size down because it runs large...All in all, a great experience renting!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
July 21, 2014
Cute, but a little worn and photographs "ok"

It was a cute dress! It was worn though bc the top off the sweet heart was folded back so you could see the white lining, but I didn't care much. I got a lot of compliments but I did think it made me look wider in pics.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
July 22, 2014
Adorable for Garden Party

Overall I found the chest area of this dress runs large, particularly given that I usually have the opposite problem! I love the print, the colors, the pockets and the length. The skirt was more full in person (and therefore less figure flattering) than I anticipated but overall I loved this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
July 22, 2014
Cute dress, was too big to wear

Pattern is fun and adorable for a spring/summer daytime event. Ordered as my back-up dress in a 6 (my usual), but was too big at the top to wear. Would rent the 4 in the future, but worry that it'll be short.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 3, 2014
I wore it for my bridal shower. I felt gorgeous and got tons of compliments

The dress fit me wonderfully. I went down a size from my normal size. The only problem was the ribbing in the dress kept poking me which kind of hurt when i was sitting.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 134lbs
August 4, 2014
I wore this dress for a girls' night out in Cape Cod

I normally wear a size 4, but size 4 for this dress was too large and falling down (maybe because of my small bust size). The size 2 seemed to fit at first, but after an hour of wearing it I started to realize how uncomfortable it was. The dress was way too tight and the sides were digging into my skin. After 2 hours all I could think about was getting out of the dress. Although this dress did not fit me very well, I still love the design and style of it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 5, 2014
very cute dress!

I originally rented this dress for a rehearsal dinner but it was too big and the smaller size didn't make it in time. Luckily I had a back-up for the rehearsal and RTR allowed me to extend my rental so that I could wear the dress for my birthday dinner. I really liked this dress but the boning of the bodice would ride up when I sat down. This was a minor nuisance. I usually wear a 4 but that was way too big, the size 2 fit fine. Overall this was a fun, flirty dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
August 6, 2014
Super adorable dress in bright colors! Perfect fit!

I wore this to wine tasting for my bachelorette. I usually wear a 4, but the 2 fit me perfectly. The structure in the top of the dress hugs your chest well, and the fit and flare of the skirt is flattering, plus the dress has pockets! The only time I was uncomfortable in the dress was when I was sitting in the car for a while, then the bodice got a bit tight. But that corset wiring in there really sucks you in! Loved this dress, got so many compliments. I wish I could buy it!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
August 19, 2014
Dresses arrived on time

A bit lose for the size

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
August 27, 2014
Great dress for outdoor wedding!

This was my replacement dress, it's adorable and super comfortable. We wore a 4 and it was perfect. I loved the pockets. I'm 5'5" and it's on the shorter side. The colors are vibrant and can be dresses up or down with heels or flats. Great dress! I highly recommend.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 8, 2014
Fun!

I wore this to a Bridal Tea Party in July. I typically wear a 4, this one fit perfectly in a 2 (I am small chested). I loved the pockets! Very pretty dress!

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 7, 2014
Received lots of compliments at a summer wedding!

It ran a little large- I'm usually a 2 and I wore the 0. However, it was a little tight in the waist, but still manageable. I received lots of compliments on this dress! Wasn't the most comfortable dress I've ever worn, but I still able to dance the night away :-)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
April 25, 2015
This bright and lightweight dress was perfect for an outdoor southern wedding in May.

The dress was super comfortable and I loved the pockets. It was a great length for any type of party. Not too short! It was a super flattering dress as well. I wish I had the 2 instead of the 4 because I'm small chested and needed to wear a bra to keep this dress up while dancing. It just was slightly big in the top area which you don't want in a strapless dress. I would recommend going a size down if you have a small chest so it fits snuggly. Overall I loved wearing the dress and would wear it again! Great summer dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
May 27, 2015
Great dress!

As many people have said, this dress runs a little large. I am generally a 6 (I have a wide ribcage & do not have much of a waist) and the 4 fit perfectly (didn't even try the 6 on). I had some annoyances with it not staying up, but the built-in hook closure helps keep it from getting too low. The pockets are awesome and the dress was so fun and cute!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
June 28, 2015
The dress felt very comfortable. I loved the pockets!

The bust is made large, but the dress has a corset attachment that holds the dress up.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
July 21, 2015
Too big on top

The pattern is bright and very pretty, and the length is great. I ordered the 8 and the 10, and the 8 fit up top, but was too tight across my back. The 10 fit better, but the top was too big. Basically, it wouldn't lay flat on my chest and was sticking up a bit - you could see the top of the boning a little bit. It would have needed to be darted to really fit appropriately. I am a 34DDD, and rarely have this problem in reverse! Not a great cut for full-figured ladies if your proportions aren't right on with the size chart.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
July 29, 2015
Loved this dress!

Wore this dress to a summer barn wedding and loved it! Very comfortable and the pockets were great! Only complaint was it was VERY big in the bust- I needed a lot of safety pins to keep it from falling down. Overall would definitely rent again :-)

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34DDD/E
Weight: 115lbs
August 11, 2015
Perfect summer dress (bonus - pockets!!)

I LOVED this dress! I wore it to an August wedding, and it was so beautiful and comfortable. I rented the 0 and 2... I usually wear a 2 but found that it was too big for my bust. I wore the 0 instead; this was a tiny bit snug around the waist...but after wearing it for a half hour, I didn't notice the tightness! I didn't have to wear a bra, which rarely happens, but the fit was great and I didn't feel any potential slips all night. Also, I love dresses with pockets (even had them in my wedding dress), so I couldn't resist this dress. They are the best! I received so many compliments... I didn't want to send it back!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Age: 35
August 24, 2015
colorful, comfortable dress

My bust and waist measurements are 36 and 29 inches, respectively, and I would have expected to wear a size 8 in this dress. The 8 was too big but the 6 fit well. There was a little extra room at the bust, but it was probably imperceptible to anyone but me, and I was still able to forgo a bra. There is boning in the bodice and a waist stay for added support, so I wasn't constantly hitching it up like can happen with some strapless dresses. This also necessitated that another person hook and zip me into the dress. The hem hit higher above my knees than I usually wear, so I paired it with flats. Perfectionists take note -- my rental was showing its age and the boning at the top of the bodice was pushing up the white lining and making a sliver of lining visible above the top of the bodice. It didn't bother me but might bother some. I would rent this again and recommend it to others.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 27, 2015
So pretty, but run big in chest area!

My friend and I rented these dresses (both size 0) to wear as bridesmaids for our friend's wedding in May. So first of all these dress are stunning! They are bright and fun and a flattering shape and they have pockets!!! But there is one HUGE issue....they are gigantic in the chest area. Both of us are normally size 2, but had to go with 0 because they were falling off (we're both B cups). We ended up double bra-ing and using two sided tape to keep them up. Its a touch-and-go all night! So definitely order down a size if you're not well endowed in the chest. But beyond that we got a million compliments and people thought it was so fun and cute to have a pattered bridesmaid dress! So we were totally happy in the end! The necklaces are RTR also just so you know :)

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
September 1, 2015
I attended a beautiful wedding near the Delaware River

I really liked this dress! I am normally a size 4 ish with a bigger bust and I needed to size down to a 2. The bust part didnt feel secure so I used fashion tape to hold it up. I did not need a bra, Loved the pockets and the comfortable fabric. It was perfect for a summer wedding!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Everyday
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
September 17, 2015
Fun Not-Too-Fancy Dress!

I rented this dress for an afternoon wine festival. It was very comfy (loved the pockets!) and fit well. It was slightly chilly as I'm in northern IL, so I wore a jean jacket over the dress, but it still looked super cute! Loved the colors too. This is my 2nd Shoshanna brand dress rented, and I think either she tends to run her dresses large or else my body type really works for her dresses because in both cases, the 4 fit me perfectly and I'm usually around a size 6.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
October 18, 2015
Fun Summer Wedding

I absolutely love anything Shoshanna! And this dress did not fail to impress. I love the fit and flow of this dress…and the pockets, oh my! The only down side, was some of the boning in the bodice was poking through.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 21, 2015
Meh.

I rented this as my backup for a spring wedding. I didn't wind up wearing it--I thought something was off about it. The skirt flares out a lot so it made me look a lot hippier than I'd like. I have a shorter torso and am short in general, so maybe this will work better for other body types. Super cute pattern though!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34DDD/E
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
May 12, 2014
Love the pockets!

I wore this dress for Easter brunch while visiting New Orleans. Thank goodness I got both sizes because the 4 was so tight in the bust I couldn't breathe so the 6 was a much better option. With that being said the top of the 6 was HUGE! I have never had trouble keeping a dress on before because I'm pretty top heavy but I was constantly pulling this one up for the 2 hours I did have it on. I had planned to wear the dress the whole day but the fit caused me to make a pit stop at our hotel for a wardrobe change.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
July 14, 2014
Cute Spring Floral Print

Wore this to a Derby Party and was pleased with the overall look. It went well with a navy blazer as the day was cooler. The dress does run big, especially in the bust area. If I had it to order again, I would be sure to order the 2. I'm usually a 2 or a 4; unfortunately, this must have been a popular Derby Dress as the 2 wasn't available for that particular weekend.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
July 16, 2014
Perfect for a summer wedding

I wore this dress to a summer wedding. The fit was great, the colors were vibrant. The dress runs a little large, so I would order a size down as your alternate.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
June 8, 2014
Cute sweetheart dress with pockets. Great for outdoor events.

I rented this dress for an outdoor bridal shower. I loved the sweetheart cut and the pockets.The print is great for summer. I would recommend that you go a size smaller unless you are busty. I was constantly having to pull up the top of the dress to keep my bra from showing, even though the bodice is well structured. The dress looks short on the model, but if you are petite it will hit at about your knees. All my girlfriends at the shower loved it. If it ran a little smaller, I would buy it.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
August 17, 2015
Fun dress for a summer event

I wore this dress for the rehearsal dinner of a friend's wedding and felt great in it! I loved the pockets and it felt very well-made; there is a hook at the waistband that holds the dress up rather than the top having to hold the dress up, which meant I wasn't pulling at it all night.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 34
August 18, 2015
I felt great in this dress!

This dress runs a little bit large, but is very flattering and even has pockets. It did get a little uncomfortable by the end of the night due to the boning, but overall a great dress.

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×