Love Affair Dress

$30 rental
$375 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

It is time to party! Look like a slice of heaven at the cocktail party wearing this Shoshanna full skirt style. Pair with your favorite dance shoes and the Badgley Mischka Jewelry's Garden Party Earrings to get that ultra lady like look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted
HIPS: Not fitted – full skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee -(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted
HIPS: Not fitted – full skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee -(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace (75% Nylon 25% Metallic). Cap sleeves. Crew neckline. Full skirt. Back keyhole with button closure and hidden back zipper. 37” from shoulder to hem. Lined. Imported.

Share
101 reviews
Fit
Large
(10)
True to Size
(79)
Small
(9)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
April 28, 2014
Perfect for work and play!
I had to wear my back-up size due to some quality issues, so it was a bit tight, but it is a very forgiving cut and I was still comfortable all night. I wore this for my company's annual ball (which I help host) so it was great for running from place to place and still looking fab.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 28, 2014
Perfect dress for a formal winter wedding.
This was a great dress and I loved wearing it! The A-line skirt is very flattering, great for dancing since it swooshes a little. It's also is a very nice length (not too short, not too long) for a more conservative affair. The color is nude with a black lace overlay that's a even prettier in real life. It also has a nice sparkle to it that adds just enough glam for a nighttime event. If you want something classy and glam with a youthful twist, I definitely recommend renting this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
April 20, 2014
LBD kicked up a few notches!
I wore this dress to a semi-formal wedding. The slight sparkle to the black lace fabric really dressed it up! I received quite a few compliments. I typically wear a 6 in dresses and it was the only size available for my event date. It fit well, but it was a little roomy in the top. I wore a nude strapless bra (there's no way I could go without even though the boning is a nice feature). The lining inside the dress hung lower than my bra but I fixed it with a little fashion tape. As other reviews have said, the lining shows a little at the bottom of the dress but it isn't super noticeable and did not detract from the beauty of the dress. It could be worn with a belt or with a statement necklace, and to quite a few different occasions. I would definitely rent this dress again.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 16, 2014
I loved this dress.
I loved this dress and got tons of compliments. The staff at Rent the Runway is awesome, always helpful!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
April 4, 2014
Charity event at a private club in NYC
I loved the very feminine, ladylike and slightly vintage style. Unfortunately the dress did not quite work with my figure. While the fit around my waist was perfect, both the front AND back of the top drooped unbecomingly. I've never worn Shoshanna dresses before, but when the line first came out I remember hearing the designer was aiming to create dresses that would be flattering on full-chested ladies. The dress would have been flattering had I a larger cup (and please note that my strapless bra was a little padded). Oh well--at least I had a back up dress!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
April 4, 2014
Needed a great dress for a a semi-formal wedding - this was perfect!
Fit to the description provided. will be tighter around ribs due to the wiring on the inner layer of the dress, lace wasn't too delicate that I was worried about it snagging or ripping.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124lbs
March 30, 2014
Great fit, beautiful details
True to size, very comfortable
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 124lbs
March 27, 2014
I felt classy, comfortable, and confident in this beautiful dress!
A surprise invitation to an event left me with just five days to look for a cute, affordable dress, so naturally, I turned to RTR, which I had previously used for both high school proms and had great success with. And I found success again! I ordered the dress in my usual size, 2, and picked a 0 as my backup size because I had read in a few reviews that people had been able to go a size down. The dresses arrived promptly the morning I had requested for them to be delivered, and I was so excited to find that the 2 fit perfectly. I tried on the 0 just for size, and I was a little confused to find that it fit the same as the 2 did, and it was even a little bit longer than the 2. I stuck with the 2 and had a great time dancing and socializing in this beautiful dress, and I got many compliments on it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
March 21, 2014
Striking yet classic dress! Gorgeous fit.
This is the way to make an entrance! Fit like a glove. I loved the boning, made my waist look small. Gorgeous lace with just the right amount of shimmer. Such a high-quality garment. Comfortable despite zero stretch. Got tons compliments all night. I really loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140lbs
March 15, 2014
Did not wear :(
Very tight in the bust & waist. I'm shirt so the back was very bunchy. You need to be a tall girl to wear this. Sadly I'm not.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 12, 2014
This dress is beyond cute!
Yet another positive experience with RTR! The dress fits very well and I just love the back of the dress. It's cute in the front, a little sexy in the back. Pair it with any great pair of heels for a classy timeless look. I wore nude heels and added a chunky neckless to complete my look for the evening! #fabulous
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
March 10, 2014
I rented this dress for a black tie optional wedding. It was the perfect dress! I will rent again.
The dress fit great, and was true to size.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165lbs
February 24, 2014
formal dress, flattering fit!
Really cute dress that I wore for a retirement dinner. Very flattering fit around the hips/waist. In retrospect, I would have worn this dress without a bra, even though I am pretty busty - the dress has boning that would have provided support, and probably would have been more comfortable! Other than that, no issues. Really pleased with my RTR experience.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
February 7, 2014
I loved this dress and the rent the runway experience!
The dress ran a little big on me and it was short but Im 5'9. I loved the dress overall though, the fabric was beautiful and I felt beautiful in it! If I knew how short it was I would have worn stalkings with it for the wedding that I attended.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
February 4, 2014
Gorgeous and tres chic!
I just loved that dress so much that I found it online and bought it. Loved the materiel, the length, the cut etc… I had a lot of compliments that night from all my friends.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 21, 2014
Great dress!
Cute and comfortable. Ran a little big so I wore a smaller size than usual. Top is VERY fitted.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 20, 2014
A Stunner and super flattering!!!
This dress fit perfect given that I had just had a baby less than 4 weeks prior. Slightly snug in the chest, but again... I had just had a baby :) Would absolutely rent again!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
December 13, 2013
Simple, can be easily dressed up or down depending on the event.
I received this dress as my back-up for a wedding, but didn't end up wearing it. It fit relatively true to size, but didn't accentuate my waist very well. The seam on the dress was puckered, as though it had ripped before and was re-sewn. It was noticeable to me, so I called RTR and they quickly remedied the situation by sending me a new dress for the next morning. Wonderful customer service, truly the reason why I feel at ease when renting.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
December 11, 2013
Perfect little party dress!!!!
This dress fit like a glove and was an absolute standout! The lace is so nice and the sparkle is just enough. I was even able to wear my own strapless bra underneath. Would love to own it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
November 20, 2013
Did not end up wearing this dress.
I ordered two RTR dresses to try for a work Gala, and this dress just didn't fit right. I have narrow shoulders and the cap sleeves puckered and slumped, plus the waist was a little too high. It was a nice dress, but not for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 17, 2013
I loved this dress! I got a ton of compliments on it and it fit great.
This dress fit like I expected. I went with the 4 because it was a little short especially with my height. This was actually my backup dress, but the one I had planned to wear came with a few rips so I decided to wear this one. I was glad that I did. It was perfect for a fall country themed wedding. The nude layer underneath is strapless so it will look best with a strapless bra, but even with a regular one, the straps weren't that noticeable. The only complaint I have was with the fabric, it wasn't like regular lace it was a bit itchy (but my skin is super sensitive so take this with a grain of salt). Overall, loved my experience!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
October 30, 2013
LOVED this dress! So many compliments.
This dress is beautiful, classy and an excellent fit. I received so many compliments and am absolutely obsessed with it. Such a great twist on the usual LBD. Highly recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 7, 2013
A classic, glam, lace dress perfect for a formal wedding!
This dress was perfect for the fall wedding I attended. The cap sleeves, and illusion lace neckline gave it the vintage glam feel I was going for with a touch of sexy! I paired the dress with Oscar de la Renta's Classic Crystal Earrings which added a extra WOW! The dress runs true to size, and was a very comfortable fit for my pear shape. I wore a strapless bra, but I think it is was also possible to go bra-less because of the inner bodice. I would definitely recommend this dress to other renters!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
September 13, 2013
I was unable to wear it because it didn't fit but it's gorgeous!
This dress was gorgeous but it didn't fit me...it was perfect in the hips but too tight in the chest/shoulder area
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
September 13, 2013
Awesome detail to this dress
This dress fit me perfectly & I really liked the way the gold underliner kind of poked out at the bottom. You don't see that in the pictures online, but it definitely was the case with mine. The lace looked really good - not worn at all.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 9, 2013
Very pretty lace
This dress was very pretty. I wore it to a rehearsal dinner. The lace is a little more shiny looking in person than it is in pictures, but it's a nice, dressy look. You definitely should wear a strapless bra with it, it would show otherwise. The nude part under the lace is not attached at the top, only at the waist, so I found it necessary to use fashion tape at the top. The boning in the bodice made it so the dress didn't fit perfectly to my body, but it still looked great.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
August 28, 2013
looked great!
Great dress for winter wedding
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
August 14, 2013
Rented this for a promo photo shoot. I was going for a cute, but elegant vibe. This was perfect!
This style is perfect for my hourglass figure, though I did find this dress to be a tad too big in the waist. I think the next size down would have been a tad too tight in the bust though, and since it was for a photo shoot, we just clipped it in the back. I imagine, however, if I wore it to an event for a long period of time, I would have been grateful for the extra wiggle room (I never turn down dessert). The dress was comfortable, and I didn't notice any itchiness with the lace. Oh, and of course, the rental process was a breeze. Thanks, RTR!
SarahAugust 16, 2014
You are adorable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 120lbs
July 31, 2013
Beautiful dress
Was too large up top for me at my usual size of 4/6. I could have gone to a 2 and it would have been perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
July 29, 2013
Beautiful, but a little uncomfortable
This dress is beautiful in person - I got tons of compliments! It wasn't the most comfortable - the material is a bit scratchy and the boning digs in some, but worth it for just the one night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153lbs
June 24, 2013
Not a flattering fit.
Rented this dress for a formal affair, luckily I had a backup size. It was not what I expected. The length is a little off and the shoulder area was a bit baggy. Luckily I had a back which was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
June 23, 2013
Lovely, but didn't work for me.
I ordered this as a second look, but didn't end up wearing it. The particular dress I got had holes in the lace overlay on either side of the hip. Thankfully, I had another style to wear so it wasn't a crisis for my event. I contacted RTR right away and they addressed the issue promptly. Other than the rips in the dress, it fit true to size, more on the snug side though, so I'd recommend sizing up as a back-up, especially if you are busty. The keyhole back didn't lay flat and I'm not sure if that was a stretched fabric or fit issue. Overall, is a lovely dress but wasn't meant to be!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
June 20, 2013
Many Compliments
This dress fit very true to size. As I am a little hippy the dresses floaty bottom half meant that I could order my true size - a 6 - and not have to worry about it being too tight on the bottom. Sure enough, it fit perfectly through my waist and then flared out making a very flattering silhouette.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
June 19, 2013
Perfect dress for an evening celebration!
I wore this dress to an event where my husband was receiving an award. I was very comfortable in the dress the whole night and the style was perfect for the occasion. I would definitely rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
June 15, 2013
Classy and comfortable with a little sparkle
I wore this dress to a graduation event. It was very pretty but much more sparkly then you in the picture. I wore it with nude shoes, which was a nice contrast with the lining underneath. Overall it was a pretty dress and great for a summer formal affair.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 85
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 119lbs
May 24, 2013
Beautiful lace dress. i received many compliments.I wore it to the Disneyland Hotel Ballroom.
I wore it with a regular bra that had clear plastic straps. The length was perfect. it was appropriate for the event. i would rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 52
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
May 24, 2013
Gorgeous Dress!!!!!
I wound up returning this dress and exchanging it for another because it was too tight on top. It is a gorgeous dress though and I only wish that they had the Size 12. RTR's representative Meredith helped me with the return and the exchange for another dress without a hitch. This service ROCKS!!!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 5, 2013
Lovely dress!!
I wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner this weekend and LOVED it! The dress was comfortable, well made and fit great! This was my first time using RTR and I can say I'll definitely be coming back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
April 28, 2013
Classy, easy to wear
Snug on top but comfortable for a B/C cup, flattering skirt and fun for dancing. I was worried about a strong breeze lifting the skirt but it didn't happen to me. I would rent this again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
April 16, 2013
Super classy, but still fun!
Wore this to a work gala and I felt great! The 4 fit better in the waist, but was too short to be appropriate. The 6 was a touch big, but length was a lot longer. I loved the key hole back too!
See more reviews:
2 / 3
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×