Shoshanna

Love Affair Dress

$76 to buy
$375 retail
Stylist Notes

It is time to party! Look like a slice of heaven at the cocktail party wearing this Shoshanna full skirt style. Pair with your favorite dance shoes and the Badgley Mischka Jewelry's Garden Party Earrings to get that ultra lady like look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted
HIPS: Not fitted – full skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee -(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black lace (75% Nylon 25% Metallic). Cap sleeves. Crew neckline. Full skirt. Back keyhole with button closure and hidden back zipper. 37” from shoulder to hem. Lined. Imported.

Share
102 reviews
Fit
Large
(10)
True to Size
(79)
Small
(9)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 123lbs
March 27, 2014
I felt classy, comfortable, and confident in this beautiful dress!
A surprise invitation to an event left me with just five days to look for a cute, affordable dress, so naturally, I turned to RTR, which I had previously used for both high school proms and had great success with. And I found success again! I ordered the dress in my usual size, 2, and picked a 0 as my backup size because I had read in a few reviews that people had been able to go a size down. The dresses arrived promptly the morning I had requested for them to be delivered, and I was so excited to find that the 2 fit perfectly. I tried on the 0 just for size, and I was a little confused to find that it fit the same as the 2 did, and it was even a little bit longer than the 2. I stuck with the 2 and had a great time dancing and socializing in this beautiful dress, and I got many compliments on it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
April 4, 2014
Needed a great dress for a a semi-formal wedding - this was perfect!
Fit to the description provided. will be tighter around ribs due to the wiring on the inner layer of the dress, lace wasn't too delicate that I was worried about it snagging or ripping.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
April 4, 2014
Charity event at a private club in NYC
I loved the very feminine, ladylike and slightly vintage style. Unfortunately the dress did not quite work with my figure. While the fit around my waist was perfect, both the front AND back of the top drooped unbecomingly. I've never worn Shoshanna dresses before, but when the line first came out I remember hearing the designer was aiming to create dresses that would be flattering on full-chested ladies. The dress would have been flattering had I a larger cup (and please note that my strapless bra was a little padded). Oh well--at least I had a back up dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
April 20, 2014
LBD kicked up a few notches!
I wore this dress to a semi-formal wedding. The slight sparkle to the black lace fabric really dressed it up! I received quite a few compliments. I typically wear a 6 in dresses and it was the only size available for my event date. It fit well, but it was a little roomy in the top. I wore a nude strapless bra (there's no way I could go without even though the boning is a nice feature). The lining inside the dress hung lower than my bra but I fixed it with a little fashion tape. As other reviews have said, the lining shows a little at the bottom of the dress but it isn't super noticeable and did not detract from the beauty of the dress. It could be worn with a belt or with a statement necklace, and to quite a few different occasions. I would definitely rent this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 28, 2014
Perfect dress for a formal winter wedding.
This was a great dress and I loved wearing it! The A-line skirt is very flattering, great for dancing since it swooshes a little. It's also is a very nice length (not too short, not too long) for a more conservative affair. The color is nude with a black lace overlay that's a even prettier in real life. It also has a nice sparkle to it that adds just enough glam for a nighttime event. If you want something classy and glam with a youthful twist, I definitely recommend renting this dress!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
May 5, 2014
Great dress!
Beautiful dress. Loved the bit of shimmer to it, and it fit very well - was very flattering. Great for a formal indoor wedding. The dress came in very good condition, I worry about the dresses showing wear and tear but it looked brand new. Very easy delivery and return process!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 6, 2014
Beautiful dress!
I loved the way this dress fit! I have wide hips and it really hid them well while making my waist look small. Sorry I don't have a picture.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
May 10, 2014
The dress was very pretty, no regrets here!
The dress was very nice and great material. The top of the dress was a little roomy in the chest and sleeves. However, i don't think I could comfortable fit into a 0. If I hadn't worn a padded bra, it would have been very loose up top. I also had to push the back of my bra down so that it wouldn't show at the back. I wish the cap sleeves were more fitted around my shoulders. The bottom of the dress was fab! The lining really did add a lovely color to the dress. Many users mentioned the gold lining hanging down past the black lace, but I didn't have that issue at all! I loved how the dress' skirt swayed and swished, but it sometimes got a little bit scratchy when the lace rubbed on my thighs while walking. I'd possibly rent again, but maybe try a smaller size...not sure. Good value for the price though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
May 13, 2014
Fun and flirty!
I wore this dress for my birthday dinner. I agree with the other reviews that it was tight in the rib cage area due to boning, but overall not too bad and I was able to enjoy birthday dinner and dessert. The gold underlay was a nice touch, but the dress definitely needs a statement necklace. I rented the Kate Spade Canary Treasure Chest necklace and it was awesome. Would recommend for a date night or night out!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 28, 2014
Beautiful Dress
I rented this dress for a wedding and recieved many compliments. I was able to wear a regular nude bra with it which was great. Be careful while walking outside if it is windy, I had several moments were my husband had to shield me to hold the dress down, lol.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
June 1, 2014
Cute but not my favorite
My first dress was not available last minute. RTR sent the backup size and another dress (which I did not pick, not my style and did not fit). I chose this dress very last minute for overnight shipping. There was not a lot of choices left for last minute over Memorial Day weekend. I ended up wearing the 6. The length was a little on the shorter side. I wore it to the ceremony only because I did not feel comfortable in it. I didn't think it was dressy enough for the wedding I was attending. I also felt the dress would have been more appropriate for someone younger to wear to a wedding, I am 29. The lace was pretty and the lining is a goldish/nude.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
June 18, 2014
Lace is beautiful! Wore to a dressy wedding.
This dress is really pretty! It is short, so I paired it with black tights. I was very comfy and loved the beautiful fabric. It is true to size and lovely.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
June 26, 2014
Great dress for a cocktail attire charity dinner!
Loved the dress. I've been a but heavier lately due to a recent weight gain but the 4 still fit fine
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
October 14, 2014
Great dress!
It fits greats, the sparkle on the lace dresses it up a bit and makes it super fun to dance in.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
August 13, 2014
Stunning dress!! The perfect look for my anniversary night out.
I absolutely loved this dress!! Since I've been losing weight, buying a new dress didn't make sense. RTR to the rescue!! The dress seemed to fit true to size. I've been wearing a 14, but the 12 fit perfectly. If you're bigger busted, you may want to go up a size as the top isn't very forgiving. The top of the dress has boning in it and fits somewhat like a corset. The skirt is full and has great movement. If you're bigger in the hips, you won't have any issues. The fit of the dress really showed off my shrinking waist. I hated returning this dress. I wish I could have kept it!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
August 25, 2014
Very flattering!
I wore this dress for my birthday dinner at a nice restaurant. I could not wear a bra, but support wasn't an issue since the dress has interior boning/corseting. It was a bit snug at the end of the meal, so I wouldn't recommend this dress if you plan on eating more than three courses. It was just a touch scratchy from the metallic lace, so you may want to consider a different dress if you have super sensitive skin. As for styling, I kept the accessories pretty simple so they didn't compete with the dress. I wore a single-strand pearl necklace, a pearl cocktail ring, and a nude quilted clutch with gold chain.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 29, 2014
Flattering and classy
I felt like this dress wasn't anything special when I saw it online, but I tried it on in the showroom and really liked it. The lace is shimmery, but not over the top and the waist nips in perfectly. It also photographed well. The only issue was the hem on the slip of the size 4 stuck out beyond the bottom of the dress and looked worn. The 2 was in much better condition, so i sucked it in and wore the smaller size. I would highly recommend this dress for a wedding or evening cocktail party.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
October 1, 2014
I was able to find the perfect dress for my event and it was so easy!
I think it fit true to size. I received several compliments from people I didn't even know at the event (always a good sign) about the dress. Most importantly, the dress was comfortable! I ended up wearing the 4 instead of the 2 even though the 2 fit the best because the neckline laid differently. It seemed that the lace had been caught or reattached to the corset bodice underneath. Overall, a great experience and I can't wait for another event so I can get another dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
October 16, 2014
Great dress, but not with hips
The dress was beautiful and well-made. However, I found that it made my hips look huge. The 6 fit well but made my hips look big due to the cut, which made the dress kind of puff out in that area. The 8 fit better from the waist down, but the back fabric was sticking out because the shoulders and top were just too large. If you are even the slightest bit curvy this really adds some inches and who wants that? Great for tall slim girls. Truly a gorgeous dress, I just couldn't get past the bulge.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
October 26, 2014
Comfortable and classic
I wore the 8. The review says to wear a standard bra but you can't without a strap showing. It was ok without a bra because of the underlying bustier. The lace shines at night. Others complained about the lace being itchy but I didn't have a problem with it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
October 29, 2014
Pretty but SUPER long torso and overall large fit.
Rented this dress for a wedding and had to return it, unfortunately. Like other reviewers have said, the bodice of the dress is extremely long and the dress itself runs large. Beautiful dress, but perhaps better suited to someone a little taller.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
November 2, 2014
the dress
This dress was perfect for a fall wedding. I would definitely rent this dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 195lbs
November 15, 2014
Not great if you are tall
It's a very pretty dress but I am glad I ordered a backup just in case. If you are tall and also have a large bust, his is not the dress for you. It was tight and short and the waist started high up on my rib cage. Not a good look. Probably better for petite - average height - slim types without curves.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 19, 2014
Got lots of complements!
I was disappointed that the size 6 was damaged and couldn't be sent as the size 8 was a bit big and I definitely could have worn the 6. I got lots of complements on the dress and loved it! The nude lining did hang a bit below the black around the knees which seemed wrong.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
July 11, 2014
Pretty dress but a little conservative for me
I had rented this last minute so didn't have as many choices. Went for it because I have rented this designer before. It is a pretty dress, material has a nice metallic sheen. Other than that the dress is pretty simple. The fit was a little strange too. The waist was tight and the straps inside were very large on me. The slip shows on the bottom which was odd. This has probably been my least favorite rental to date . It was just ok.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
January 2, 2015
it was an indoor wedding and everyone loved the dress, it was perfect for the occasion.
the top was a bit loose (chest area) but everything else was good. Overall I will rent this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
February 5, 2015
Photographs so well!
The fit was true to size, and the only con for this dress was that the flowy bottom made for a little peep show when we were spinning while two-stepping. Other than that, gorgeous!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 6, 2015
i wore this to a "vintage cocktail" themed dinner party with some vintage jewelry and it worked!
fit true to size, comfortable. this was my first rental from rent the runway and i was incredibly pleased with their customer service.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 10, 2015
The built in corset was not my friend...
This would have fit perfectly had it not been for the built in corset, which, probably because of my height (I'm 5'1") cut into my lower stomach area instead of higher up on a taller person, creating an unattractive bulge / fat roll poking out from under where the corset ends. Due to this, I didn't end up wearing this, although it was very pretty in person.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 11, 2015
I felt really pretty. I wish I owned this dress!
Fit fine, but I'm busty so it was a little tight around the boobs, but I could move and dance easily. Fit great every where else. I got lots of compliments and my date really liked my dress. It's a dress I'd love to own.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
March 20, 2015
Dancing in this dress out in the harbor
This dress was adorable and very appropriate for the early fall party I attended on a boat
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
August 1, 2015
Torso is way too long!
I went up in size because I'm a 26 waist, but 32E bust. The top of the nude part of the dress ended under my bra! I was so upset by this dress, it is definitely not bust friendly.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 131lbs
May 3, 2015
Beautiful lace
I ordered this dress as a back up but I decided to use it as the dress of the night. It is perfect for wedding. The dress hit right above my knees. I have wide hips so I was afraid it will poof on the sides but the fabric flowed down beautifully and didn't flared. The only thing you should know is that there is weird boning on the chest/abdomen side; if you have a short torso this will not look good on you especially when you are sitting down. Perfect dress! I will definitely rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
July 20, 2015
Gorgeous dress for a romantic evening!
This dress was perfect! I wore it out with my husband for out anniversary dinner celebration in San Francisco. It was actually one of his choices. The length on the 10 was perfect (8 was a little short in the skirt and lining ). The cap sleeves and bodice are also lovely. The dress has a corset style top with boning underneath the lining which helped keep the dresses shape. I wound up wearing a strapless bra underneath for support reasons but could have gone without it if I had worn the 8. The transition between the skirt and bodice on this dress were very flattering for my shorter frame. The only downside was that it was pretty windy while walking in the city, so I had to hold my dress with both hands to keep from having a Marilyn Monroe moment. If I had worn a longer, slightly heavier jacket this could have been avoided but c'est la vie!! It was a wonderfully romantic evening and I felt beautiful!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 14, 2012
Great Dress. Jazzed it up with jewelry
Great fit, very flattering and fun! True to size. Fit like a glove.
ChristyDecember 17, 2012
I love that necklace! Was that a rental too?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 7, 2013
Great dress!! So many compliments and so much fun!!
was initially a little worried about the arm holes on this dress being too tight since it's made of lace. But it actually fit very well! It was tight in the body due to the bodice, which I loved. And the skirt was super flowy, so I was twirling all night on the dance floor. (In saying that if you will be somewhere windy in this dress BEWARE! I almost flashed the entire parking lot getting out of the truck) The length was great for a wedding and I love the high neckline (with the peek-a-boo tube top bodice underneath to add a bit of sexy) it was great for a Catholic wedding. The detail of the nude/gold under the lace was great to accesorize with and you can't see in the pictures but the lace is sort of shiny. Overall, I loved the dress and really sad to send it back! And my boyfriend did as well ;) I love getting to keep my garmet bag and the fact that shipping it back is a piece of cake.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
September 9, 2013
Very pretty lace
This dress was very pretty. I wore it to a rehearsal dinner. The lace is a little more shiny looking in person than it is in pictures, but it's a nice, dressy look. You definitely should wear a strapless bra with it, it would show otherwise. The nude part under the lace is not attached at the top, only at the waist, so I found it necessary to use fashion tape at the top. The boning in the bodice made it so the dress didn't fit perfectly to my body, but it still looked great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 17, 2013
I loved this dress! I got a ton of compliments on it and it fit great.
This dress fit like I expected. I went with the 4 because it was a little short especially with my height. This was actually my backup dress, but the one I had planned to wear came with a few rips so I decided to wear this one. I was glad that I did. It was perfect for a fall country themed wedding. The nude layer underneath is strapless so it will look best with a strapless bra, but even with a regular one, the straps weren't that noticeable. The only complaint I have was with the fabric, it wasn't like regular lace it was a bit itchy (but my skin is super sensitive so take this with a grain of salt). Overall, loved my experience!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
March 10, 2014
I rented this dress for a black tie optional wedding. It was the perfect dress! I will rent again.
The dress fit great, and was true to size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 1, 2014
RTR is just so easy and reliable!
I am a teacher and I wore this to chaperone senior prom and it was absolutely perfect. Very tasteful and elegant. It's fitted at the waist and bust but not too tight. I wore a strapless bra but it would be easy to get away without wearing one as there is essentially a built in bra. The lace is not itchy or bothersome at all. Another RTR success!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×