Rent the Runway

Shoshanna

Love Affair Dress

$50 rental
$375 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

It is time to party! Look like a slice of heaven at the cocktail party wearing this Shoshanna full skirt style. Pair with your favorite dance shoes and the Badgley Mischka Jewelry's Garden Party Earrings to get that ultra lady like look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted
HIPS: Not fitted – full skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee -(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted
HIPS: Not fitted – full skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee -(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace (75% Nylon 25% Metallic). Cap sleeves. Crew neckline. Full skirt. Back keyhole with button closure and hidden back zipper. 37” from shoulder to hem. Lined. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

98 reviews

Fit
Small 9
True to Size 78
Large 10
Photos 39
Lauryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 20, 2013

Many Compliments

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress fit very true to size. As I am a little hippy the dresses floaty bottom half meant that I could order my true size - a 6 - and not have to worry about it being too tight on the bottom. Sure enough, it fit perfectly through my waist and then flared out making a very flattering silhouette.
Alison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 23, 2013

Lovely, but didn't work for me.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this as a second look, but didn't end up wearing it. The particular dress I got had holes in the lace overlay on either side of the hip. Thankfully, I had another style to wear so it wasn't a crisis for my event. I contacted RTR right away and they addressed the issue promptly. Other than the rips in the dress, it fit true to size, more on the snug side though, so I'd recommend sizing up as a back-up, especially if you are busty. The keyhole back didn't lay flat and I'm not sure if that was a stretched fabric or fit issue. Overall, is a lovely dress but wasn't meant to be!
All dressed up
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jun 24, 2013

Not a flattering fit.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Rented this dress for a formal affair, luckily I had a backup size. It was not what I expected. The length is a little off and the shoulder area was a bit baggy. Luckily I had a back which was perfect.
Natalie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 29, 2013

Beautiful, but a little uncomfortable

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is beautiful in person - I got tons of compliments! It wasn't the most comfortable - the material is a bit scratchy and the boning digs in some, but worth it for just the one night!
Tanya
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 31, 2013

Beautiful dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Was too large up top for me at my usual size of 4/6. I could have gone to a 2 and it would have been perfect.
kate
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 28, 2013

looked great!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress for winter wedding
Cassandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 13, 2013

Awesome detail to this dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit me perfectly & I really liked the way the gold underliner kind of poked out at the bottom. You don't see that in the pictures online, but it definitely was the case with mine. The lace looked really good - not worn at all.
kathleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 13, 2013

I was unable to wear it because it didn't fit but it's gorgeous!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was gorgeous but it didn't fit me...it was perfect in the hips but too tight in the chest/shoulder area
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 30, 2013

LOVED this dress! So many compliments.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is beautiful, classy and an excellent fit. I received so many compliments and am absolutely obsessed with it. Such a great twist on the usual LBD. Highly recommend!
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 20, 2013

Did not end up wearing this dress.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered two RTR dresses to try for a work Gala, and this dress just didn't fit right. I have narrow shoulders and the cap sleeves puckered and slumped, plus the waist was a little too high. It was a nice dress, but not for me.
KC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 13, 2013

Simple, can be easily dressed up or down depending on the event.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I received this dress as my back-up for a wedding, but didn't end up wearing it. It fit relatively true to size, but didn't accentuate my waist very well. The seam on the dress was puckered, as though it had ripped before and was re-sewn. It was noticeable to me, so I called RTR and they quickly remedied the situation by sending me a new dress for the next morning. Wonderful customer service, truly the reason why I feel at ease when renting.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 20, 2014

A Stunner and super flattering!!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit perfect given that I had just had a baby less than 4 weeks prior. Slightly snug in the chest, but again... I had just had a baby :) Would absolutely rent again!!!
kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 21, 2014

Great dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Cute and comfortable. Ran a little big so I wore a smaller size than usual. Top is VERY fitted.
vicki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 4, 2014

Gorgeous and tres chic!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I just loved that dress so much that I found it online and bought it. Loved the materiel, the length, the cut etc… I had a lot of compliments that night from all my friends.
Catherine
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 7, 2014

I loved this dress and the rent the runway experience!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress ran a little big on me and it was short but Im 5'9. I loved the dress overall though, the fabric was beautiful and I felt beautiful in it! If I knew how short it was I would have worn stalkings with it for the wedding that I attended.
J
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Feb 24, 2014

formal dress, flattering fit!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Really cute dress that I wore for a retirement dinner. Very flattering fit around the hips/waist. In retrospect, I would have worn this dress without a bra, even though I am pretty busty - the dress has boning that would have provided support, and probably would have been more comfortable! Other than that, no issues. Really pleased with my RTR experience.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 15, 2014

Did not wear :(

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Very tight in the bust & waist. I'm shirt so the back was very bunchy. You need to be a tall girl to wear this. Sadly I'm not.
Michelle
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124 lbs
Mar 30, 2014

Great fit, beautiful details

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
True to size, very comfortable
Maria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 4, 2014

Charity event at a private club in NYC

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved the very feminine, ladylike and slightly vintage style. Unfortunately the dress did not quite work with my figure. While the fit around my waist was perfect, both the front AND back of the top drooped unbecomingly. I've never worn Shoshanna dresses before, but when the line first came out I remember hearing the designer was aiming to create dresses that would be flattering on full-chested ladies. The dress would have been flattering had I a larger cup (and please note that my strapless bra was a little padded). Oh well--at least I had a back up dress!
Nicole
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 16, 2014

I loved this dress.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress and got tons of compliments. The staff at Rent the Runway is awesome, always helpful!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 20, 2014

LBD kicked up a few notches!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a semi-formal wedding. The slight sparkle to the black lace fabric really dressed it up! I received quite a few compliments. I typically wear a 6 in dresses and it was the only size available for my event date. It fit well, but it was a little roomy in the top. I wore a nude strapless bra (there's no way I could go without even though the boning is a nice feature). The lining inside the dress hung lower than my bra but I fixed it with a little fashion tape. As other reviews have said, the lining shows a little at the bottom of the dress but it isn't super noticeable and did not detract from the beauty of the dress. It could be worn with a belt or with a statement necklace, and to quite a few different occasions. I would definitely rent this dress again.
Olivia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 28, 2014

Perfect dress for a formal winter wedding.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was a great dress and I loved wearing it! The A-line skirt is very flattering, great for dancing since it swooshes a little. It's also is a very nice length (not too short, not too long) for a more conservative affair. The color is nude with a black lace overlay that's a even prettier in real life. It also has a nice sparkle to it that adds just enough glam for a nighttime event. If you want something classy and glam with a youthful twist, I definitely recommend renting this dress!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Apr 28, 2014

Perfect for work and play!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I had to wear my back-up size due to some quality issues, so it was a bit tight, but it is a very forgiving cut and I was still comfortable all night. I wore this for my company's annual ball (which I help host) so it was great for running from place to place and still looking fab.
Eileen
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
May 5, 2014

Great dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful dress. Loved the bit of shimmer to it, and it fit very well - was very flattering. Great for a formal indoor wedding. The dress came in very good condition, I worry about the dresses showing wear and tear but it looked brand new. Very easy delivery and return process!
Mackenzie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
May 6, 2014

Beautiful dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the way this dress fit! I have wide hips and it really hid them well while making my waist look small. Sorry I don't have a picture.
CTC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
May 10, 2014

The dress was very pretty, no regrets here!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was very nice and great material. The top of the dress was a little roomy in the chest and sleeves. However, i don't think I could comfortable fit into a 0. If I hadn't worn a padded bra, it would have been very loose up top. I also had to push the back of my bra down so that it wouldn't show at the back. I wish the cap sleeves were more fitted around my shoulders. The bottom of the dress was fab! The lining really did add a lovely color to the dress. Many users mentioned the gold lining hanging down past the black lace, but I didn't have that issue at all! I loved how the dress' skirt swayed and swished, but it sometimes got a little bit scratchy when the lace rubbed on my thighs while walking. I'd possibly rent again, but maybe try a smaller size...not sure. Good value for the price though!
Kirsten
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
May 13, 2014

Fun and flirty!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I wore this dress for my birthday dinner. I agree with the other reviews that it was tight in the rib cage area due to boning, but overall not too bad and I was able to enjoy birthday dinner and dessert. The gold underlay was a nice touch, but the dress definitely needs a statement necklace. I rented the Kate Spade Canary Treasure Chest necklace and it was awesome. Would recommend for a date night or night out!
Katie
Top Contributor
Age: 33
May 18, 2014

Great dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very comfortable, would rent again
Traci
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 28, 2014

Beautiful Dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding and recieved many compliments. I was able to wear a regular nude bra with it which was great. Be careful while walking outside if it is windy, I had several moments were my husband had to shield me to hold the dress down, lol.
Nic
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 13, 2014

very pretty dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This was the smallest 10, but only because of the corset. Also, I found it to be itchy (most others have not).
Tachi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Jul 11, 2014

Pretty dress but a little conservative for me

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I had rented this last minute so didn't have as many choices. Went for it because I have rented this designer before. It is a pretty dress, material has a nice metallic sheen. Other than that the dress is pretty simple. The fit was a little strange too. The waist was tight and the straps inside were very large on me. The slip shows on the bottom which was odd. This has probably been my least favorite rental to date . It was just ok.
Alison
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 13, 2014

I was the ring bearer's mom!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit well. There was a nude part underneath that just barely didn't go high enough to cover my strapless bra - but I dont think it was that noticeable. I couldn't pull it up any higher because it was attached to the dress. I did not have any compliments on the dress specifically (I did with my last rent the runway dress). I felt good in it. I wish I owned it - I think I could wear this for many occasions. It's elegant, dressy, and simple at the same time.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 11, 2014

The dress was perfect for a black tie optional wedding

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was true to size, but I wound up going a size up as the 8 would've been really short on me (I'm 5'10"). While the dress wasn't inappropriately short, I would've loved if it were a bit longer. The dress is probably best for women up to 5'7"
Jordana
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
Oct 1, 2014

This dress was perfect for a NYC wedding. The bride is a fashion designer so it had to be great.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was doing an intense 12 week fitness program at the time so I had no idea what size I would be. I got a 6 and an 8 and honestly would have probably fit best in the 4. The dress is formal and fun all at the same size. It was in great shape and RTR had the dress waiting for me at the hotel. Highly recommend it.
Emily
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 14, 2014

Great dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It fits greats, the sparkle on the lace dresses it up a bit and makes it super fun to dance in.
Kelly
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 16, 2014

Great dress, but not with hips

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was beautiful and well-made. However, I found that it made my hips look huge. The 6 fit well but made my hips look big due to the cut, which made the dress kind of puff out in that area. The 8 fit better from the waist down, but the back fabric was sticking out because the shoulders and top were just too large. If you are even the slightest bit curvy this really adds some inches and who wants that? Great for tall slim girls. Truly a gorgeous dress, I just couldn't get past the bulge.
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134 lbs
Oct 29, 2014

Pretty but SUPER long torso and overall large fit.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Rented this dress for a wedding and had to return it, unfortunately. Like other reviewers have said, the bodice of the dress is extremely long and the dress itself runs large. Beautiful dress, but perhaps better suited to someone a little taller.
maddie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 2, 2014

the dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect for a fall wedding. I would definitely rent this dress again!
Ada
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 195 lbs
Nov 15, 2014

Not great if you are tall

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
It's a very pretty dress but I am glad I ordered a backup just in case. If you are tall and also have a large bust, his is not the dress for you. It was tight and short and the waist started high up on my rib cage. Not a good look. Probably better for petite - average height - slim types without curves.
Judy
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Jan 2, 2015

it was an indoor wedding and everyone loved the dress, it was perfect for the occasion.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
the top was a bit loose (chest area) but everything else was good. Overall I will rent this dress again.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×