Shoshanna

Lace Ceclie Dress

$107 to buy
$395 retail
Stylist Notes

Keep it short and sweet in this purple lace dress by Shoshanna. A romantic style that is just right for the bridal shower.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Purple lace (60% Cotton, 23% Rayon, 17% Nylon). Cap Sleeves. Boat neck. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
344 reviews
Fit
Large
(44)
True to Size
(280)
Small
(18)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
July 15, 2013
Great experience with RTR AGAIN!
This dress was AMAZING. The color is much more vibrant in person. Fit was perfect, very comfortable. I would definitely recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
July 15, 2013
Great dress for an afternoon formal occasion!
I wore this to my daughter's christening, as a new mom I have extra in the midsection and chest and this dress camoflagued those areas nicely. The zipper was a bit hard to work with but overall the dress was in good shape and clean.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 23, 2013
AMAZING Dress that is classy but sexy. It's a must rent
I wore this dress to a wedding a couple weeks ago. It is phenomenal, the color, the fit, the length. Very unique twist on a lace dress. I got compliments all night. I usually wear a size 6 but ended up going with the size 4 although it was alittle snug in the rib cage area. Beautiful fit, perfect for any ocassion!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 23, 2013
This dress was perfect for a hot,humid but beautiful cape cod wedding!
I loved this dress and got many compliments on it! I wore it to a Cape Cod wedding and it wasn't too hot or too tight so I was able to move around without feeling uncomfortable. The day of the wedding, the humidity felt like it was over 100 degrees! Yuck! It was completely true to size and I have wider hips so the I was actually surprised with how perfect the sizing was. I ordered a 4 and a 6, but didn't even bother trying on the 6. The pockets in the dress were an added bonus too! I paired it with silver earrings, a small necklace and bracelet and nude heels. I was originally planning on larger statement pieces, but the dress alone was enough of a statement! I cant wait to rent again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
July 27, 2013
Beautiful, comfy dress! So many compliments. Girlfriends are going to rent it for a later occasion.
Loved this dress. It was so comfy. I got tons of compliments!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
July 29, 2013
Gorgeous!
Beautiful dress, very flattering fit. I received many compliments on this dress. My one complaint is that the lace was frayed along the neckline and hemline...looked well-worn. Still lovely, though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
July 29, 2013
Perfect for a spring rehearsal dinner
I was giving a speech at my dearest friend's rehearsal dinner so I wanted to look awesome but not upstage the bride! This dress fit great--a little tight in the bust, but mine is very large so it will be fine on a less busty gal. Overall the dress was a great color, not too short, comfortable, and flattering. I felt great and would rent again, and recommend it to others!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
July 31, 2013
Gorgeous color
Shoshanna really knows how to make a flattering dress. The color pops and the fit is tight around the waist and flows out nicely. Was a bit hard to raise my arms but not too bad. Only thing I would say is that the dry cleaning kind of messes up the top lace part of the dress around the neck. You will have to adjust it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32G
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 126lbs
July 31, 2013
This was a beautiful dress for the late afternoon summer wedding I attended.
Fit well, especially since I was 18 weeks pregnant at the time so I had a baby belly and bigger breasts than normal. The armholes did show some of my bra, but I have a DD+ cup size. I am 5'6" and the dress stopped right above my knees. Great option for all-sized women.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
July 31, 2013
Tons of Complements!
I wore this dress for a wedding in July. I rented the 4 and the 6 but ended up going with the four because it fit better up top. Dress is pretty sturdy and was able to go without a bra. My one complaint was that being fairly tall, I found the dress to be a little too short. But otherwise, I thought it was a great rental. The purple color is really beautiful in person and it looks very well made.
JoyceMarch 16, 2014
no one but a ballerina would strike that pose! ;)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
August 1, 2013
Wore this for an awards dinner and absolutely loved it. Received compliments all night!
I'm 5' 10" and it was an okay length, though felt short at times. Fit was pretty true. I ordered a 2 and 4 (usually a 4) and settled for the 4 for room through the shoulders. SO comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 21
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
August 4, 2013
I felt beautiful!
This was my first rent the runway experience and I loved it! It was so easy and the dress fit beautifully. I got a 10 and a 12 because you never know about designer dresses and the 10 fit great. I got so many compliments and no one else was wearing anything like it. And it has pockets!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
August 4, 2013
Lovely Lace Dress
This is the first (and definitely not the last) dress I've gotten from Rent the Runway, and it is a wonderful dress! It's the perfect length, and the V in the back adds a little spice! I rented this dress to watch Wicked, and I felt perfectly dressed for the occasion. The dress is very flattering for hourglass figures, and the pockets add to the uniqueness of the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
August 6, 2013
Love the color, fits nicely, neckline is kind of weird
Overall I was very happy with this dress. I thought it ran true to size, and the color was really vibrant in person. The skirt looks a little looser/more swishy on the model than it does in real life, but that wasn't an issue for me--I liked the silhouette. My only complaints were that a) the neckline didn't fit me right. Admittedly I have somewhat narrow/sloped shoulders, so it could just be me, but I felt like the shoulders were loose and wouldn't sit flat the way they were supposed to. It wasn't make-or-break, just kind of annoying. b) If you have a short torso, the bodice is going to be a little too long for you. I wound up wearing a skinny gold belt with it to try and mask this, which I think pretty much did the trick.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
August 6, 2013
I got compliments ALLLLL night!!
I rented this dress for a wedding. The ceremony was at 2pm so I dressed it down with simple jewelry and shoes, but then in the evening I turned it up with green shoes and jewelry that really popped off the beautiful blue/purple color of the dress. I literally got SOOOO many compliments, it was unreal. I was worried the dress would be too short but DON'T WORRY, I'm 5'10 and it was not too short at all. And the shape was really flattering, even on my large-ish hips. I felt SO beautiful in this dress-- it is a STUNNER!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 114lbs
August 7, 2013
Perfect dress for summer wedding!
The color of the dress was really pretty. I usually wear a two, but could have gone one size down as the dress was a bit loose. Overall, super comfortable and easy to wear dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
August 7, 2013
Such a gorgeous dress!!!!
This dress is so beautiful in person! The photos really don't do justice to the lace pattern. I am a 0-2, depending on how fitted something is in the hips, so I rented both the 0 and the 2 in this dress. Honestly, I didn't even try the 2 on because the 0 fit almost flawlessly. It was a bit large through the shoulder area (slipped down a few times) and I had to wear a backless bra with it, but it was such a comfortable dress. And it has pockets! The color is kind of in between purple and blue. I accessorized it with nude pumps and mother-of-pearl drop earrings and an updo, but I think it would look equally stunning with gold accessories. I'm so in love with this dress, I'm trying to track it down so I can purchase it!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
August 8, 2013
Gorgeous Dress!
Fit on this dress is great. It's super cute and really shows off the legs. I definitely recommend this dress! I was getting compliments all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
August 9, 2013
Very Cute!
very nice dress for a summer wedding. Pockets are awesome! I would recommend wearing a strapless bra if you a smaller chested, the sleeves fall a low on the shoulder and the straps show, no biggie though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
August 10, 2013
Stunning for a summer wedding!
Dress was classy, conservative and elegant. I loved the lace edges of the dress. I wore a size 6 with a corset underneath so I would advise to size down - it ran a smudge big. I received many compliments on the color. If you are looking to stand out but not take away the spotlight, this dress is for you. I wish it could stay in my closet!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 12, 2013
This dress was definitely wedding appropriate and comfortable!
When I read the reviews it said that their true size was too big, so to select a size down, but the 4 fit perfectly! I would wear a strapless bra next time though because the sleeves slipped off the shoulder quite often. I rented the earrings that was on the model as well...they were bigger and bolder than it looks in the picture so it definitely was a different look for me. But the outfit as a whole was a show stopper!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
August 12, 2013
A very sweet dress
I rented this in a size 4 and it basically fit. If my chest was slightly larger, it would have been too tight. I would recommend this for a daytime event, but it is not as appropriate for evening. I love any dress with pockets, but the lining on these pockets showed which made it look like not as classy a look as you'd want. All being said, I think there are better options on RTR.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 12, 2013
Worked perfectly!
I fluctuate between a 4 and 2, but the 4 fit perfectly. I am 5'8" and was worried the dress may look too short for a semi-formal wedding, especially with heels. However it ran below mid-thigh and was a very appropriate length. Its super comfy and was great for dancing the night away!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
August 13, 2013
beautiful dress!
The color, fit, length, and pockets were amazing. I loved this dress and got so many compliments!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
August 13, 2013
I wore this dress for my senior pictures.
Fit really good, I didn't like how the top was a little large though. Good length and beautiful color!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
August 22, 2013
Great fit, easy to dance in and incredibly comfortable!
I rented this for a summer wedding on the cape--and absolutely loved the dress! It's definitely more of a royal purple-blue than it appears online. I'm in-between a size 0 and 2 and rented them both after reading the reviews. Although they both fit, the size 2 had a little more wiggle room in the chest so I went with that one. I will say, that at 5'2" the dress hit me right above the knee and I can imagine that this would be on the shorter side if you're taller. I would totally rent this again. In fact, I would probably BUY this because it was such a great and classic silhouette.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
August 23, 2013
Beautiful back!
The color is great, looks good with a tan. Makes your waist look tiny too. VERY fitted in the chest. I usually wear a 6, and am 34D--needed to go up to the 8.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
August 23, 2013
Stunning
This is probably my favorite dress I've EVER worn! It is super comfortable and absolutely perfect for a wedding, especially because it has pockets (that are pretty hidden!). The purple color is absolutely beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
August 26, 2013
Perfect dress for a wedding!
The color of the dress is brighter than in the model picture. Looks great with a statement necklace! Very flattering silhouette! I always tinker back and forth between a size 4 and 6 and the size 4 was a lot more comfortable. Love the dress and wish I had it in my closet!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
August 28, 2013
The color and fit are perfect for a summer wedding!
The dress runs true to size and is extremely comfortable. The cut is forgiving for your middle section, and the high neck line is very flattering. The only problem is the scoop in the back - make sure to wear the proper bra or it will show.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
August 28, 2013
Gorgeous dress!
This dress is not only gorgeous, its also very comfortable! I got alot of compliments on it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
August 30, 2013
Perfect dress for a perfect night!
This dress was so easy to wear, dance and eat in. It was very flattering for my body type and perfect for the conservative wedding I attended. The color was wonderful and I highly recommend getting bright jewelry (I wore my hair up with bright green translucent earrings). I also recommend hair up because the back of this dress was my favorite part!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
August 31, 2013
I wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner and got so many compliments. LOVED it.
I didn't really have a problem with the straps sliding, the just rested over my shoulders. It was comfortable AND had pockets, doesn't get much better than that!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 3, 2013
Stunning dress!
This dress was so beautiful, I received many compliments! So comfortable and has pockets! Perfect for a wedding and dancing. Fits true to size and the length was perfect on me, not too short!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
September 4, 2013
The dress was comfortable, and easy to dance in.
The fit was exactly what I was hoping for, it fit snug around my chest but not too tight so I couldn't breathe. I was worried that the length might be too long on me, but it fell about an 1 1/2" above my knee, it was perfect for the late summer wedding! Was a perfect first rental!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
September 8, 2013
Truly gorgeous dress (in person & in pictures)! And WITH POCKETS! Rent this dress, you'll love it.
I just LOOOOOOVED this dress. Every single thing about it. The cut, the lace, the purple color (PHENOMENAL), the length (just right on this short girl!), the ease (no wrinkling to worry about), and THE POCKETS. I'm a sucker for a dress with pockets. These pockets were large too, so I could easily keep my iPhone in one, and lipgloss and liner in the other! The lace and bright color really led it to be a "stand out" at the outdoor wedding I attended. Paired with the Kate Spade Bryce Bauble necklace, I think it is my favorite Runway look to date! At 5'1" and 130, I rented the 2 and 4, and found that the extra fabric in the skirt the 4 made me look a bit too "hip-y". So I wore the 2, and it fit like a glove! It was definitely fitted, but still had just enough give to sit down, dance, and eat lots of butternut squash ravioli! Rent this dress. you'll love it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
September 9, 2013
Gorgeous color - but order down if pear shaped!
I *really* wanted this dress to work, but it just didn't quite. They were out of an 8 so I wasn't able to try it, and the 10 was just too big to get away with. I also found it not quite as flattering on my shape, since it emphasizes hips a little bit, but I also think that might have gone away in a smaller size since the dress was hitting me too low on the torso. Luckily, I had a backup dress that worked great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 11, 2013
Gorgeous dress!
Was worried about it fitting tight in the bust, but had no problems. The dress fit really well and got tons of compliments. Wore it to a summer wedding. I'm on the shorter side, so it was the perfect length.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
September 13, 2013
Really pretty color and material
Tried this on for my "At Home Try On". Dress wouldn't zip up (I'm a size 8 but 38C chest - it zipped up until the bust). Sad beacuse the color and material are beautiful. Probably won't be renting it...
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
September 16, 2013
This dress was beautiful! super flattering and I got compliments all night. totally comfortable.
Fit well. I'm usually a size 2 I think and that's what I had. I loved this dress. so bright and vibrant and the pockets were awesome. a little loose on the bust but not enough to be a problem.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 9

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×