Rent the Runway

Shoshanna

Lace Boatneck Back Dress

$75 rental
$360 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look prim and proper in this elegant Shoshanna black lace dress. Add some bright heels to bring it up a notch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - slightly fitted at waist
HIPS: Fitted - more fitted throughout hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'8''. )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - slightly fitted at waist
HIPS: Fitted - more fitted throughout hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'8''. )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black floral lace over navy. Boat neckline. Three quarter sleeves with ruching detail. A line body. Scallop lace detail at hem. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

105 reviews

Fit
Small 20
True to Size 83
Large 1
Photos 28
Brooke
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Sep 14, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
Gave me a cute and girly silhouette despite a sacky shape. Wore it with flats for day and ski high platforms for night and LOVED every second
Jenny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Sep 22, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
My favorite dress of the moment. This is such an easy wear - hides any arm imperfections, cute yet classy. Definitely good with a longer necklace.
Abby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 26, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
Love the dress so much that I've rented it twice! Very comfortable and surprisingly flattering, despite the looser fit. Received tons of compliments both times I wore it.
Abigail
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 4, 2010

Overall fit: Small
I though it would be more A-line than it was. I am very small up top but bigger in the hips and neither of the 2 sizes fit me the way I wanted to so I didn't end up wearing the dress. It's gorgeous but just not right for my body type. Maybe if I went up 2 sizes? Not sure...
Kersten
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 1, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
Fabulous dress, very flattering and true to size. I was complimented all night long. Note that it is quite short -- I wore it with bright navy tights and heels to a cold-weather California wedding in October. I wish I owned it -- it's really quite adorable.
tiffany
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 40
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 7, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
Highly recommend! Beautiful and age appropriate for me at 36. Length was good (I'm tall) but spanx show when you sit down!
LW
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
Nov 8, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is very cute and I would definately have worn it if i was going to a dinner.. but I like to dance at weddings and if you lift up your arms in this dress you would see well EVERYTHING ... very short. I'm 5'3" so i would think this would be really short if your tall. If you are not going to be lifting up your arm.. a great choice. The size 4 and 2 fit exactly the same so i couldn't tell much difference in size.
Jenn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
Dec 8, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
If you have a chest the dress is sexier and cuter than it appears. I could have worn a size down but the loose fit is adorable.
AJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 30, 2010

Overall fit: Large
Absolutely love this dress...perfect for Christmas eve mass and a family party afterwards. I almost always wear a 4 but the 2 fit perfectly. Will definitely rent this one again! Love it.
princem
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
Jan 8, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was fabulous! I loved wearing it every second. It fit true to size and I would definitely rent it again.
Laura
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 23, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I loved this dress!! I wore it to a friend's birthday party, and I have to say, it was absolutely fabulous. It gave me a great shape and showed off my curves, despite not being a 'tight' dress-- something I loved about it! Sadly I looked to try to buy it, but couldn't find it anywhere in my size. But that goes to show how much I loved it!
J Lynn
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Body type: Petite
Jan 28, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is beautiful! And, very flattering on someone who recently had a baby! I received many compliments and my husband loved it.
Christy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 16, 2011

Rent this one over and over!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Such a great dress - very versatile! Love it so much, have already rented it twice! Can be worn with flats or heels, and even though it isn't form-fitting, it still gives you a great shape!
JB
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Mar 14, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
wore this to an afternoon affair..it was perfect. I rented the size 2 and 4 as I can be either size. The 2 fit perfectly..the 4 was a little boxy.
OKC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 7, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Super comfy and conservative while being modern. I wore it to an business awards dinner and it worked well. The length was a little iffy for a conservative event, but I wore my back up size, which was bigger. The only issue I had is that the bottom was noticeably frayed.
Eb
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
May 11, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Perfect dress for a young professional conference. This dress laid comfortably on my petite frame. I was even featured on a fashion blog wearing the dress the following morning.Felt very ladylike in this lace number.
Ashley B.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 14, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Amazing dress. It fit so well and looked really cute. I got MANY compliments wearing this around NYC.
LaProfesora
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 40
Body type: Petite
Jul 21, 2011

Overall fit: Small
If you are a curvy woman, the dress does not look as loose as it does in the picture. HOWEVER! It was a spectacular hit at the dinner party I attended and it received great reviews. I definitely recommend this dress!
NB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Aug 23, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Loved this dress. The lace details looked much more subtle than the photo, but still lovely. The arm holes were really tight, which prohibited me from wearing this dress for the evening, but it really is a gorgeous dress.
Kaitlin
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 21, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
LOVED the dress, perfect fit and it looked great!
SKellyS
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 11, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Loved this dress! Very flattering (I wore size 8). The sleeves definitely hit right above the elbow in me and the dress hit around mid thigh. Is it blue? Is it black? Still not sure. My fiance (who also love it) and I decided it was navy with a black lace overlay, so it looked fine with black shoes.
Jamie Lee
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Body type: Athletic
Oct 13, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was absolutely wonderful! I wore it to a fall wedding and received many compliments on it; it would also be great to wear to any holiday party as well. It fit perfectly, true to size, covering up any arm imperfections because of the lace and the A-line form can hide a stomach. I would rent this dress again in a heartbeat- it was beautiful!
Amanda
Age: 28
Oct 27, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Does not look as nice as in the picture. It is also much more fitted. I am not a big person at all, but yet this dress manages to make me look big.
Cee
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 29, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Fit perfectly... but be careful, it's SHORT!
Steph
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 50 lbs
Nov 9, 2011

Cute and Fun

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Career Moment
This dress was so cute and just a really basic yet chic option! So comfortable and got tons of compliments!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×