Shoshanna

Lace Boatneck Back Dress

$75 rental
$360 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look prim and proper in this elegant Shoshanna black lace dress. Add some bright heels to bring it up a notch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - slightly fitted at waist
HIPS: Fitted - more fitted throughout hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'8''. )

Product Details

Black floral lace over navy. Boat neckline. Three quarter sleeves with ruching detail. A line body. Scallop lace detail at hem. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
105 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(83)
Small
(20)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
November 3, 2011
I wore this dress for my best friend's Bridal Shower and received a ton of compliments. On Monday morning I referred about 10 of my friends that saw the dress to RTR! ***Dress is second from the right
Great dress, very comfortable and not as short as I thought it would be (which was a good thing). Classic dress, great for lots of occasions. Loved the drop neck in the back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Career Moment
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 50lbs
November 9, 2011
Cute and Fun
This dress was so cute and just a really basic yet chic option! So comfortable and got tons of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
November 27, 2011
classic dress
I wore this dress to thanksgiving with my family. It's such a classic style, and it looked great on. The sleeves were a little shorter than pictured, but they fit fine. I was mostly worried about them being tight. The dress was also a little shorter then I thought it would be, had to extra careful getting in and out of the car. I would definitely rent again, and maybe even purchase if RTR decides to sell!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
December 1, 2011
Perfect for a work event
I rented this for a Gala I attended with my company. I'm on the small size (only 5'0") but it was the perfect length. It was a little loose in the top, but appropriate for the event. Would love to have it permanently in my closet!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
December 1, 2011
Love when people tell me you look so skinny!
I rented the dress for Thanksgiving with my boyfriends family - They tend to dress up a little more so I thought it was perfect - I belted it to make it look a little more fitting but loved it in general!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
October 29, 2011
Fit perfectly... but be careful, it's SHORT!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 15, 2011
Perfect!
Rented this for myriad holiday work parties, got loads of compliments. Classy, sexy, but not too sexy. Much more fitted than it appears on the model, but not tight, runs a little short (I am 5'8").
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 3, 2012
Was perfect for ringing in the new year!
I wore this dress out to a bar for New Years Eve and it was perfect! You can dress it up or down and it is very comfortable. I thought the length was a great fit even if some people seem to think it's a bit short - it's the look. Wish I owned it because I would wear it all the time - Great LBD!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
January 5, 2012
Classy and Fun
This dress is very beautiful and looks very classy. I dressed it up with heels and jewelry to wear to a wedding. It is a great quality dress and I got a lot of compliments! Just a warning- it is pretty tight on the hips so if you are more of a "pear shape" then it will have a different look then the photo - but still cute
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 21, 2012
Classic style but a bit short
Overall, I really liked this dress; however, being barely 5'5" tall the dress was so short that the control top line on my panty hose showed when I sat down! It was perfect for a special date night.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
January 29, 2012
Absolutely fabulous dress
I wore this dress for a Holiday Party. It was a bit short, but I wore it with sheer black hose and it was perfectly appropriate. I received quite a few complements throughout the evening.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
February 23, 2012
absolutely adore this dress
I loved this dress. Got so many compliments. Its classy yet edgy at the same time. Short in length but the long lace sleeves and boatneck top make it more respectable. I'm usually a 4 and it fit perfectly. I would definitely rent it again or even consider buying it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
April 10, 2012
I felt incredible and was able to have a fabulous time knowing that I looked great!
This dress was perfect for my uncle's October wedding. Classic, but still young. VERY comfortable. I was worried it would be a little boxy, but it worked out great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
June 13, 2012
LOVED
Wore this dress to a christmas party and LOVED it - got so many compliments. I'll definitely rent this again! Fits true to size
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 9, 2012
Perfect for a wedding guest
I wore this to a winter wedding in California - it was a great choice. Conservative on the top but the short length made it young and modern. Worn with platform pumps = classy & sassy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
August 13, 2012
Very cute dress
I rented this dress for a friend's bridal party rehearsal dinner. Everyone loved it. It was the perfect mix of elegance and sass :0)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 14, 2012
Great Dress
Got a ton of compliments on this dress. It was very comfortable through a long night of dancing. Would rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
August 18, 2012
Great little date dress
Loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
August 25, 2012
The fact that I showed up and someone else told me they had rented the same dress for the actual wedding and was glad we didn't wear it on the same day because I looked so great...pretty neat.
This dress is truly a great rental. It IS blue with black lace over top of it so don't expect black on black. It fits true to size and because of the overlay it hides most flaws. I'm a bit taller and was originally concerned with length but I think it was JUST long enough. I wore it for my sister's rehearsal dinner and received multiple compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
August 26, 2012
Cute Dress
The dress was amazing---was flattering without being too tight. The only downside is that the dress was a bit shorter than I was expecting.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 29, 2012
A little short but gorgeous
I rented this dress for my cousin-in-law's wedding and absolutely loved it. I got many compliments on it and referred quite a few people to RTR in the process! My only complaint was that it was a little short. Not inappropriate when standing, but I did tug it down a bit when I sat and there was absolutely not way I could bend over in it. At one point, I dropped my escort card and had to ask my bf to pick it up because there was no way I could do it w/out flashing someone!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 21, 2013
This is my favorite dress that I've ever rented from RTR. It is timeless and elegant!
I love this dress. It is the perfect shift dress. Very flattering and not boxy. I accessorized the outfit with a long pearl necklace and sheer black tights for a holiday cocktail party. I liked the dress so much that I recently purchased one that is very similar. You won't go wrong renting this dress for a party or date. It is perfection.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
April 4, 2013
LOVE this dress.
It did come smelling like smoke, but I just aired it out over night. I guess that's a possibility when renting a dress. Beautiful dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
July 11, 2013
Loved that the sleeves covered my arms.
A little short but still loved the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
October 15, 2013
LOVED the dress! I received so many compliments!!
Should have ordered the size 8... was VERY tight in the bust and very short when I sat down, but the length was perfect when standing. Very pleased with the dress overall!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
October 15, 2013
Great look and really slimming/sexy fit
Can go with navy or black details! Also, just FYI- although it looks like on the model that the fit is loose and more of a shift dress, that is deceiving, it is a more fitted look, not loose, unless you go a size up. You will see what I mean in the real photos. Plus even though I am 5'2" it was still a little scandalously short. Fine for short girls, might be inapprop for the tall ones.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 29, 2013
Such an easy process!
Such a beautiful dress. A little snug in the bust, but otherwise it fit perfectly. I received many compliments. I also cannot say enough about the experience - it was wonderful having a great dress home waiting for me to wear. The return process was also super easy! I will definitely rent again soon!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 1, 2013
Great Dress
This dress looks super baggy on the model, which is slightly misleading. I had previously rented a very similar style Shoshanna dress in the summer (pretty much same dress, different color), so I based my sizing on how my other rental fit, which was fab. I have a hard time fitting into true women's sizes (either the length or overall fit is baggy, even with a 0) but Shoshanna dresses are great for petite women I have found. It was a great length on me, but I am short. Taller women would probably struggle a bit with the length. I love the black and navy it photographs really well - gives some variation and texture to the dress that you might not see otherwise. I didn't get a full length pic, but I styled it with black patent leather shoes to give it a little shine.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
November 4, 2013
I sent this back but if it had fit it would have been a perfect experience!
This was a beautiful dress but it fit much tighter than I thought it would. Even if it hadn't been tight it was still pretty short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
November 12, 2013
Not as pictured on model.
This dress came as a back up because the one I ordered wasn't available. I am 17 weeks pregnant and I assumed from the way the dress looks on the model, it would be a candidate. BIG MISTAKE! This dress is actually quite fitted (and cute if you're not pregnant) I think the model is a size 0 but she is wearing a 2 or a 4!!! I should have paid more attention to the reviews, I hope RTR takes a different picture.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
December 9, 2013
Really cute dress! Like others have said, it looks more black than navy, but cute anyway!
Does not fit as loosely as shown. I am a little bit bigger on the bottom so it was more fitted, but still liked it anyway.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
December 12, 2013
Classic
Beautiful dress. Flattering and comfortable!
Overall fit:
Small
Age: 30
October 27, 2011
Does not look as nice as in the picture. It is also much more fitted. I am not a big person at all, but yet this dress manages to make me look big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
March 20, 2014
Too snug
I wound up choosing my other RTR option because although the photo makes this look like a shift dress, it's actually quite snug and form-fitting
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
May 23, 2014
Beautiful lace detail
I wore this dress to a formal/black tie work event. It was perfect for this. Both the 6 and the 8 fit but I chose the 8 because it had a little more room in the bust for me to dance in. The dress fit conservatively enough but was still flirty with the lace detail. I also paired it with a necklace to give it a pop of color. Great experience and would definetly rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 23, 2014
Classy and comfy!
Runs small and short. I would recommend sizing up. Looked great with tights and heels!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
July 31, 2014
Wore this dress to a fall wedding & received many, MANY compliments!!
This dress is the perfect "go to" cocktail dress. It's great for anything from a more conservative event to a sexy party dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 21, 2011
LOVED the dress, perfect fit and it looked great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 3, 2015
The dress
It was nice
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
September 14, 2010
Gave me a cute and girly silhouette despite a sacky shape. Wore it with flats for day and ski high platforms for night and LOVED every second
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×