Shoshanna

Lace Boatneck Back Dress

$75 rental
$360 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look prim and proper in this elegant Shoshanna black lace dress. Add some bright heels to bring it up a notch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - slightly fitted at waist
HIPS: Fitted - more fitted throughout hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'8''. )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - slightly fitted at waist
HIPS: Fitted - more fitted throughout hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'8''. )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black floral lace over navy. Boat neckline. Three quarter sleeves with ruching detail. A line body. Scallop lace detail at hem. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

105 reviews

Fit
Small 20
True to Size 83
Large 1
Photos 28
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 27, 2011

classic dress

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to thanksgiving with my family. It's such a classic style, and it looked great on. The sleeves were a little shorter than pictured, but they fit fine. I was mostly worried about them being tight. The dress was also a little shorter then I thought it would be, had to extra careful getting in and out of the car. I would definitely rent again, and maybe even purchase if RTR decides to sell!
Jillian
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Dec 1, 2011

Perfect for a work event

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this for a Gala I attended with my company. I'm on the small size (only 5'0") but it was the perfect length. It was a little loose in the top, but appropriate for the event. Would love to have it permanently in my closet!
Ekb223
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 15, 2011

Perfect!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Rented this for myriad holiday work parties, got loads of compliments. Classy, sexy, but not too sexy. Much more fitted than it appears on the model, but not tight, runs a little short (I am 5'8").
MN
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Jan 5, 2012

Classy and Fun

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is very beautiful and looks very classy. I dressed it up with heels and jewelry to wear to a wedding. It is a great quality dress and I got a lot of compliments! Just a warning- it is pretty tight on the hips so if you are more of a "pear shape" then it will have a different look then the photo - but still cute
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 21, 2012

Classic style but a bit short

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Overall, I really liked this dress; however, being barely 5'5" tall the dress was so short that the control top line on my panty hose showed when I sat down! It was perfect for a special date night.
Sarah
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
Jan 29, 2012

Absolutely fabulous dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a Holiday Party. It was a bit short, but I wore it with sheer black hose and it was perfectly appropriate. I received quite a few complements throughout the evening.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Feb 23, 2012

absolutely adore this dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress. Got so many compliments. Its classy yet edgy at the same time. Short in length but the long lace sleeves and boatneck top make it more respectable. I'm usually a 4 and it fit perfectly. I would definitely rent it again or even consider buying it.
kimberly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 13, 2012

LOVED

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this dress to a christmas party and LOVED it - got so many compliments. I'll definitely rent this again! Fits true to size
Bea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 9, 2012

Great for Rehearsal Dinner

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very stylish, a little short. Liked it a lot, though.
Hannah
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 9, 2012

Perfect for a wedding guest

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a winter wedding in California - it was a great choice. Conservative on the top but the short length made it young and modern. Worn with platform pumps = classy & sassy!
Susan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 11, 2012

Gorgeous back-up dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is a very cute dress and was ordered as a back-up. At the time, I was a bit confused about sizing and was unsure about what length to expect, given my longish legs and short waist. Normally a 2-4, I ordered this in a 6 by mistake. Having said all that, I would have worn this to a less formal occasion and would have added a thin belt, as this has a rather boxy cut. If you are long waisted, with even proportions, I would say this dress as is, is a hit.
Dani
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Aug 13, 2012

Very cute dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for a friend's bridal party rehearsal dinner. Everyone loved it. It was the perfect mix of elegance and sass :0)
Kristin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
Aug 14, 2012

Great Dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Got a ton of compliments on this dress. It was very comfortable through a long night of dancing. Would rent again.
Dianne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160 lbs
Aug 18, 2012

Great little date dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Loved it!
SC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Aug 26, 2012

Cute Dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress was amazing---was flattering without being too tight. The only downside is that the dress was a bit shorter than I was expecting.
Caroline
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 29, 2012

Cute little dress

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I really liked this dress. I'm a bridesmaid in a wedding, so I wore this little number to the bridal shower. I could still move in it and run around, but it was definitely super cute and everyone complimented it.
Stephanie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 12, 2012

looked great

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
this dress fit perfect and I got so many compliments on it
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 17, 2012

Lace, lace, lace. Sexy but ladylike.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I absolutely loved this dress. It did not flare out as much as the photograph makes it appear. It was very flattering and I had several people ask me where I got it.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
Sep 17, 2012

Easy, fun and perfect for a wedding!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I would rent this dress again. It fit really nicely and was a perfect length for me.
Kalyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

I wore this for my high school graduation and I got so many compliments. I felt like a fashionista.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The fit was perfect. I always get one size smaller because dresses like to run big on me, but this was perfect. One problem I had was that is was a little hard to lift my arms.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 26, 2012

Love, love ,love!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The fit, the look, everything about this dress was perfect for me! I probably could have worn a size down because it is a little roomy but I totally would rent this dress again!
Dorothy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 30, 2012

Lovely.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner. It was perfect. It was pretty dressy. There was one spot that was picked, but it was easily hidden.
Alice
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 19, 2012

Fantastic dress for a black-tie wedding!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a friend's black-tie wedding in mid-November. I absolutely loved it! I received many compliments on it, and felt confident all night. It runs true to size, but is a bit short. I wore tights with it so the only time I was really aware of its length was when I was sitting down. Despite it being a a bit short, I would still recommend it. This is a dress that I wish I had bought when it was available in stores.
Kate
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Nov 29, 2012

Wayyyy too short for a 5'8 girl

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This was my second dress so I had a 6 which fit great but just too short. I put it on and loved it but with the lace sleeves and short bottom I felt wayyy to Pretty Woman. maybe I should have gotten an 8 for some length
NYC1
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 30, 2012

Disappointment...

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Unfortunately this was my first RTR miss - the dress is definitely not suited to more hippy hourglass / pear shaped bodies, as it's snug at the hips but doesn't emphasize the waist at all. I own several Shoshanna dresses in a Size 2 but even in a Size 4 this dress felt snug (especially on the arms), and I found it to be very short even on my 5 ft 5" frame. Also it sort of squashes your boobs in a less than flattering way. Unfortunate miss but if you do decide to rent it I would definitely recommend sizing up.
Tejwantie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105 lbs
Dec 18, 2012

Very elegant and cute!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I absolutely love all Shoshanna dresses, and if you have ever worn on of her dresses this one fits true to size. It was very cute and fitted perfectly. The combination of a mini dress with long sleeves is a great look! It was a comfortable dress to wear the entire night!
Garrett
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 28, 2012

Beautiful and comfortable dress! Great fit and got several compliments throughout the night!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered sizes 0 and 2, and wore the size 2 for length purposes. I'm 5'4 and typically wear a size 2, so this dress was perfect for my height and size. It was comfortable and beautiful-- perfect for a formal fall wedding. I would definitely wear this again!
H
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 29, 2012

I got many compliments for looking put together but it was so easy to do bc the dress is so pretty!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The fit was a little snug on top even with the size 6, but its such a flattering style and with black tights and black suede wedges you look so put together. I wore this to a bridal shower and while I was the only one in black I felt great because the lace makes you feel a little more girly and pretty.
dress lover86
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

Loved this dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Absolutely loved this dress. I usually wear an 8 or 10 and wore the 12 in this dress but only because I don't feel comfortable in tight fitting dresses. The 10 fit but was a little fit in the hips but just enough for me to wear the 12 that was a lil big but much more comfortable. Another dress I wish I could keep or buy!
Morgan
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 8, 2013

Wore this dress to a wedding and got loads of compliments on it - I'd totally rent it again.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress seems to run true to size - the arms and bust fit perfectly. I have wide hips, so the interior lining posed a little problem as it was quite fitted and didn't stretch. I had the size 4 which fit perfectly up top but too tight on the bottom and so I went with my back-up size 6. Overall loved it.
Brielle
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 1, 2013

Loved this dress.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I wore it to go see Wicked with my husband. Great dress for the winter.
Ellen
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 6, 2013

Pretty dress, runs really small and is really short.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I am usually a size 10 and ordered sizes 10 and 12 and neither one of them fit! Even if they had fit, the dress would have been really short. It wasn't right for my hourglass figure but would be great with a straighter body type. Although I wasn't able to wear this dress, I have had success with other rentals, and I sent it back within 24 hours and got an RTR credit and I will definitely rent again.
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Feb 11, 2013

Gorgeous dress - lace is lovely in person & the navy/black combo is elegant

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Runs true to size - would recommend ordering 1 size up. It is a loose fit but it is short.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 27, 2013

Lots of compliments, all night long!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It is short- but paired with black tights or dark hose it is traditional enough for a night wedding in the fall. It is very comfortable and forgiving through the midsection and perfect for a newly pregnant lady (or anyone that needs a little help hiding their midsection, for that matter)!
Kristin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 28, 2013

Be careful if you have a large bust

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was really beautiful but unfortunately the back-up size was unavailable. I usually wear an 6/8, but a 10 probably would have given me some more space in my chest. I am a 34 DDD and this dress really squished the ladies down. Other than that it was a great dress for the wedding rehersal dinner!
JAS
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 8, 2013

Great! Chic dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit true to size. Comfortable and classic!
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Mar 8, 2013

Perfect for a winter bridal shower

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I really liked this dress. I ordered it at the last minute for a bridal shower in Rhode Island in early March so only one size (one up from my normal) was available. I ended up wearing it with black tights and Tory Burch flats to make it a little more casual for a brunch. I would definitely recommend this dress, but maybe it's better for a night time event than a brunch. The only thing I felt was a little off about this dress is that it was a little on the short side. With tights it was totally fine, but I think I would have been uncomfortable if I had worn it with bare legs and pumps, and I am 5'6.
Marissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
Mar 14, 2013

The dress is pretty but way too tight. It does not hang like in the picture. Gave me pancake boob

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
very pretty
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 21, 2013

This is my favorite dress that I've ever rented from RTR. It is timeless and elegant!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I love this dress. It is the perfect shift dress. Very flattering and not boxy. I accessorized the outfit with a long pearl necklace and sheer black tights for a holiday cocktail party. I liked the dress so much that I recently purchased one that is very similar. You won't go wrong renting this dress for a party or date. It is perfection.
Kim
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Apr 4, 2013

LOVE this dress.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It did come smelling like smoke, but I just aired it out over night. I guess that's a possibility when renting a dress. Beautiful dress.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×