Lace Boatneck Back Dress

$75 rental
$360 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look prim and proper in this elegant Shoshanna black lace dress. Add some bright heels to bring it up a notch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - slightly fitted at waist
HIPS: Fitted - more fitted throughout hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'8''. )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - slightly fitted at waist
HIPS: Fitted - more fitted throughout hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'8''. )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black floral lace over navy. Boat neckline. Three quarter sleeves with ruching detail. A line body. Scallop lace detail at hem. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
105 reviews
Fit
Large1
True to Size83
Small20
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
November 29, 2012
Wayyyy too short for a 5'8 girl
This was my second dress so I had a 6 which fit great but just too short. I put it on and loved it but with the lace sleeves and short bottom I felt wayyy to Pretty Woman. maybe I should have gotten an 8 for some length
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 27, 2012
Everyone wanted to know where they could get this dress!
I LOVED this dress! I rented this dress for my sister's rehearsal dinner and got so many compliments! It was a november wedding and it was the perfect color and fit for the occasion. I am 5'6 and was a little worried it might be too short, but the length turned out to be perfect. It is a great dress to feel comfortable and sexy in, as it is not tight on the stomach, but also shows a little leg. I would definitely recommend this dress to any of my girlfriends, and will probably rent it again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 19, 2012
Fantastic dress for a black-tie wedding!
I wore this dress to a friend's black-tie wedding in mid-November. I absolutely loved it! I received many compliments on it, and felt confident all night. It runs true to size, but is a bit short. I wore tights with it so the only time I was really aware of its length was when I was sitting down. Despite it being a a bit short, I would still recommend it. This is a dress that I wish I had bought when it was available in stores.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 12, 2012
Got a lot of compliments!
This was my first RTR rental and it was an overall good experience. I ordered the 4 and 6 to try both since my body isn't back to "normal" after having a baby. I don't like fitted clothing so I liked the way the size 6 looked/felt but once I tried on the 4, it fit like a glove. I realized that the 6 made me look "frumpy" so I went with the 4. The only area that I'd say was a little snug was at the top as you can see in the close-up photo. I don't have a large bust but I do have broad shoulders so maybe that's what caused the bunching. The arms of the size 4 were also a little snugger than I would've liked but I think I have large arms. Also, I really liked the blue underneath the black lace and felt that it helped to compliment my husband's uniform. The only negative that I'd point out was that the dresses were very noticeably "worn". The size 6 had a quarter-size hole in the lace overlay on the front of the dress and both dresses were very frayed at the bottom of the scalloped edge. I think this dress would look good on any body type and would definitely recommend it (and RTR!) to a friend :)
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
October 27, 2012
I was so nervous renting for the first time, but I am thrilled! Can't wait to rent again
Fit perfect, I am pretty busty so I was nervous, but it was like it was made for me! I highly recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
October 22, 2012
the most perfect dress!
wore this to a semi-formal wedding and it was perfect. very comfortable and fit like a glove. only issue is i'm quite tall and it was a bit short but not an inappropriate length. definitely recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 11, 2012
LOVE THIS DRESS!!
I did not expect to like this dress but it was perfect. It fit like a glove. The minute I zipped it up my husband said, PERFECT! It's fun, flirty and comfortable. I'm not the skinniest person and NEVR wear fitted clothes but for some reason, this was flattering. RTR sent the purple Rebecca Minkoff clutch and it was really cute with the dress. LOVE and would rent again
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
September 30, 2012
Lovely.
I wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner. It was perfect. It was pretty dressy. There was one spot that was picked, but it was easily hidden.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Body type: Full Bust
September 26, 2012
Beautiful and flattering!
I went a size up to be comfortable but it was too big to use the bra straps and as you can see from the picture I had a wardrobe malfunction. That was my fault. The dress itself is a perfect chilly evening dress for a cocktail party. I would wear it again in a heartbeat!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
September 26, 2012
Love, love ,love!
The fit, the look, everything about this dress was perfect for me! I probably could have worn a size down because it is a little roomy but I totally would rent this dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 24, 2012
It was the perfect dress for our weekend with friends in Yountville. Very classy and chic.
I was not feeling very thin that day and it was the ideal dress for covering up, but still showing off your legs.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 19, 2012
I wore this for my high school graduation and I got so many compliments. I felt like a fashionista.
The fit was perfect. I always get one size smaller because dresses like to run big on me, but this was perfect. One problem I had was that is was a little hard to lift my arms.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
September 17, 2012
Easy, fun and perfect for a wedding!
I would rent this dress again. It fit really nicely and was a perfect length for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
September 17, 2012
Lace, lace, lace. Sexy but ladylike.
I absolutely loved this dress. It did not flare out as much as the photograph makes it appear. It was very flattering and I had several people ask me where I got it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 17, 2012
My husband said "wowza!"
This dress, I want it! I rented a 4 and a 6, the 4 would've fit except I couldn't get my arms in. I think if you have large arms this dress isn't for you. I loved how the 6 was a little fitted, so it didn't look baggy. You could still see my shape. I was surprised at how well it fit in the bust, not tight at all (the 4 probably would've been), which is great since I often find the bust to be a challenge area. It also didn't have darts in the chest area (at least that I noticed), because those often don't line up right on me. Great color and the lace is nice. This dress is short, sitting down for dinner I was glad I had a napkin. But for dancing and partying all night, it was perfect. I didn't feel like I was going to expose anyone to my ladybits. I will definitely rent it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Body type: Full Bust
September 12, 2012
looked great
this dress fit perfect and I got so many compliments on it
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
August 29, 2012
Cute little dress
I really liked this dress. I'm a bridesmaid in a wedding, so I wore this little number to the bridal shower. I could still move in it and run around, but it was definitely super cute and everyone complimented it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 29, 2012
A little short but gorgeous
I rented this dress for my cousin-in-law's wedding and absolutely loved it. I got many compliments on it and referred quite a few people to RTR in the process! My only complaint was that it was a little short. Not inappropriate when standing, but I did tug it down a bit when I sat and there was absolutely not way I could bend over in it. At one point, I dropped my escort card and had to ask my bf to pick it up because there was no way I could do it w/out flashing someone!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
August 26, 2012
Cute Dress
The dress was amazing---was flattering without being too tight. The only downside is that the dress was a bit shorter than I was expecting.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
August 25, 2012
The fact that I showed up and someone else told me they had rented the same dress for the actual wedding and was glad we didn't wear it on the same day because I looked so great...pretty neat.
This dress is truly a great rental. It IS blue with black lace over top of it so don't expect black on black. It fits true to size and because of the overlay it hides most flaws. I'm a bit taller and was originally concerned with length but I think it was JUST long enough. I wore it for my sister's rehearsal dinner and received multiple compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
August 18, 2012
Great little date dress
Loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 14, 2012
Great Dress
Got a ton of compliments on this dress. It was very comfortable through a long night of dancing. Would rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
August 13, 2012
Very cute dress
I rented this dress for a friend's bridal party rehearsal dinner. Everyone loved it. It was the perfect mix of elegance and sass :0)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
August 11, 2012
Gorgeous back-up dress
This is a very cute dress and was ordered as a back-up. At the time, I was a bit confused about sizing and was unsure about what length to expect, given my longish legs and short waist. Normally a 2-4, I ordered this in a 6 by mistake. Having said all that, I would have worn this to a less formal occasion and would have added a thin belt, as this has a rather boxy cut. If you are long waisted, with even proportions, I would say this dress as is, is a hit.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 9, 2012
Perfect for a wedding guest
I wore this to a winter wedding in California - it was a great choice. Conservative on the top but the short length made it young and modern. Worn with platform pumps = classy & sassy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
July 9, 2012
Great for Rehearsal Dinner
Very stylish, a little short. Liked it a lot, though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
June 13, 2012
LOVED
Wore this dress to a christmas party and LOVED it - got so many compliments. I'll definitely rent this again! Fits true to size
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
April 10, 2012
I felt incredible and was able to have a fabulous time knowing that I looked great!
This dress was perfect for my uncle's October wedding. Classic, but still young. VERY comfortable. I was worried it would be a little boxy, but it worked out great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
February 23, 2012
absolutely adore this dress
I loved this dress. Got so many compliments. Its classy yet edgy at the same time. Short in length but the long lace sleeves and boatneck top make it more respectable. I'm usually a 4 and it fit perfectly. I would definitely rent it again or even consider buying it.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
January 29, 2012
Absolutely fabulous dress
I wore this dress for a Holiday Party. It was a bit short, but I wore it with sheer black hose and it was perfectly appropriate. I received quite a few complements throughout the evening.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 21, 2012
Classic style but a bit short
Overall, I really liked this dress; however, being barely 5'5" tall the dress was so short that the control top line on my panty hose showed when I sat down! It was perfect for a special date night.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
January 5, 2012
Classy and Fun
This dress is very beautiful and looks very classy. I dressed it up with heels and jewelry to wear to a wedding. It is a great quality dress and I got a lot of compliments! Just a warning- it is pretty tight on the hips so if you are more of a "pear shape" then it will have a different look then the photo - but still cute
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 3, 2012
Was perfect for ringing in the new year!
I wore this dress out to a bar for New Years Eve and it was perfect! You can dress it up or down and it is very comfortable. I thought the length was a great fit even if some people seem to think it's a bit short - it's the look. Wish I owned it because I would wear it all the time - Great LBD!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
December 26, 2011
Felt classic and beautiful. And never has lace been so comfortable.
Wore this dress to my office holiday party, and it is timeless. The lace is beautiful--you can really see the detail in the sleeves. It's a comfortable dress as well. I wore it for evening with black tights, black pumps and gold necklaces, but also has great potential for a bridal shower or spring wedding with a bright-colored skinny belt or colorful jewelry. Love it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 15, 2011
Perfect!
Rented this for myriad holiday work parties, got loads of compliments. Classy, sexy, but not too sexy. Much more fitted than it appears on the model, but not tight, runs a little short (I am 5'8").
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
December 1, 2011
Love when people tell me you look so skinny!
I rented the dress for Thanksgiving with my boyfriends family - They tend to dress up a little more so I thought it was perfect - I belted it to make it look a little more fitting but loved it in general!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
December 1, 2011
Perfect for a work event
I rented this for a Gala I attended with my company. I'm on the small size (only 5'0") but it was the perfect length. It was a little loose in the top, but appropriate for the event. Would love to have it permanently in my closet!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
November 27, 2011
classic dress
I wore this dress to thanksgiving with my family. It's such a classic style, and it looked great on. The sleeves were a little shorter than pictured, but they fit fine. I was mostly worried about them being tight. The dress was also a little shorter then I thought it would be, had to extra careful getting in and out of the car. I would definitely rent again, and maybe even purchase if RTR decides to sell!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Career Moment
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 50lbs
November 9, 2011
Cute and Fun
This dress was so cute and just a really basic yet chic option! So comfortable and got tons of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
November 3, 2011
I wore this dress for my best friend's Bridal Shower and received a ton of compliments. On Monday morning I referred about 10 of my friends that saw the dress to RTR! ***Dress is second from the right
Great dress, very comfortable and not as short as I thought it would be (which was a good thing). Classic dress, great for lots of occasions. Loved the drop neck in the back!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×