Rent the Runway

Shoshanna

Lace Boatneck Back Dress

$75 rental
$360 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look prim and proper in this elegant Shoshanna black lace dress. Add some bright heels to bring it up a notch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - slightly fitted at waist
HIPS: Fitted - more fitted throughout hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'8''. )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - slightly fitted at waist
HIPS: Fitted - more fitted throughout hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'8''. )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black floral lace over navy. Boat neckline. Three quarter sleeves with ruching detail. A line body. Scallop lace detail at hem. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

105 reviews

Fit
Small 20
True to Size 83
Large 1
Photos 28
Harpstrings
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 28, 2011

The dress and accessories were shipped in great condition! I reserved it several weeks in advance and it was so nice to not have to worry about what I was going to wear! I got a ton of compliments on the dress.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Pretty dress! I was worried it wouldn't fit well since shift type dresses usually don't look so great on me but it was so pretty and in perfect condition! It was true to size and even the length was about the same on me as in the picture. I loved it!!
SEN
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Nov 3, 2011

I wore this dress for my best friend's Bridal Shower and received a ton of compliments. On Monday morning I referred about 10 of my friends that saw the dress to RTR! ***Dress is second from the right

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Great dress, very comfortable and not as short as I thought it would be (which was a good thing). Classic dress, great for lots of occasions. Loved the drop neck in the back!
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 1, 2011

Love when people tell me you look so skinny!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented the dress for Thanksgiving with my boyfriends family - They tend to dress up a little more so I thought it was perfect - I belted it to make it look a little more fitting but loved it in general!
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 26, 2011

Felt classic and beautiful. And never has lace been so comfortable.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this dress to my office holiday party, and it is timeless. The lace is beautiful--you can really see the detail in the sleeves. It's a comfortable dress as well. I wore it for evening with black tights, black pumps and gold necklaces, but also has great potential for a bridal shower or spring wedding with a bright-colored skinny belt or colorful jewelry. Love it.
Kim
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 3, 2012

Was perfect for ringing in the new year!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress out to a bar for New Years Eve and it was perfect! You can dress it up or down and it is very comfortable. I thought the length was a great fit even if some people seem to think it's a bit short - it's the look. Wish I owned it because I would wear it all the time - Great LBD!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 25
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 10, 2012

I felt incredible and was able to have a fabulous time knowing that I looked great!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect for my uncle's October wedding. Classic, but still young. VERY comfortable. I was worried it would be a little boxy, but it worked out great!
M.L.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 25, 2012

The fact that I showed up and someone else told me they had rented the same dress for the actual wedding and was glad we didn't wear it on the same day because I looked so great...pretty neat.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is truly a great rental. It IS blue with black lace over top of it so don't expect black on black. It fits true to size and because of the overlay it hides most flaws. I'm a bit taller and was originally concerned with length but I think it was JUST long enough. I wore it for my sister's rehearsal dinner and received multiple compliments.
stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 29, 2012

A little short but gorgeous

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for my cousin-in-law's wedding and absolutely loved it. I got many compliments on it and referred quite a few people to RTR in the process! My only complaint was that it was a little short. Not inappropriate when standing, but I did tug it down a bit when I sat and there was absolutely not way I could bend over in it. At one point, I dropped my escort card and had to ask my bf to pick it up because there was no way I could do it w/out flashing someone!
Gretchen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 17, 2012

My husband said "wowza!"

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress, I want it! I rented a 4 and a 6, the 4 would've fit except I couldn't get my arms in. I think if you have large arms this dress isn't for you. I loved how the 6 was a little fitted, so it didn't look baggy. You could still see my shape. I was surprised at how well it fit in the bust, not tight at all (the 4 probably would've been), which is great since I often find the bust to be a challenge area. It also didn't have darts in the chest area (at least that I noticed), because those often don't line up right on me. Great color and the lace is nice. This dress is short, sitting down for dinner I was glad I had a napkin. But for dancing and partying all night, it was perfect. I didn't feel like I was going to expose anyone to my ladybits. I will definitely rent it again.
Tabs
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
Sep 24, 2012

It was the perfect dress for our weekend with friends in Yountville. Very classy and chic.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I was not feeling very thin that day and it was the ideal dress for covering up, but still showing off your legs.
Nancy
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 26, 2012

Beautiful and flattering!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I went a size up to be comfortable but it was too big to use the bra straps and as you can see from the picture I had a wardrobe malfunction. That was my fault. The dress itself is a perfect chilly evening dress for a cocktail party. I would wear it again in a heartbeat!
JG
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 11, 2012

LOVE THIS DRESS!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I did not expect to like this dress but it was perfect. It fit like a glove. The minute I zipped it up my husband said, PERFECT! It's fun, flirty and comfortable. I'm not the skinniest person and NEVR wear fitted clothes but for some reason, this was flattering. RTR sent the purple Rebecca Minkoff clutch and it was really cute with the dress. LOVE and would rent again
KJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 22, 2012

the most perfect dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
wore this to a semi-formal wedding and it was perfect. very comfortable and fit like a glove. only issue is i'm quite tall and it was a bit short but not an inappropriate length. definitely recommend!
Alicia
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 27, 2012

I was so nervous renting for the first time, but I am thrilled! Can't wait to rent again

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fit perfect, I am pretty busty so I was nervous, but it was like it was made for me! I highly recommend this dress.
Tracey
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 12, 2012

Got a lot of compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first RTR rental and it was an overall good experience. I ordered the 4 and 6 to try both since my body isn't back to "normal" after having a baby. I don't like fitted clothing so I liked the way the size 6 looked/felt but once I tried on the 4, it fit like a glove. I realized that the 6 made me look "frumpy" so I went with the 4. The only area that I'd say was a little snug was at the top as you can see in the close-up photo. I don't have a large bust but I do have broad shoulders so maybe that's what caused the bunching. The arms of the size 4 were also a little snugger than I would've liked but I think I have large arms. Also, I really liked the blue underneath the black lace and felt that it helped to compliment my husband's uniform. The only negative that I'd point out was that the dresses were very noticeably "worn". The size 6 had a quarter-size hole in the lace overlay on the front of the dress and both dresses were very frayed at the bottom of the scalloped edge. I think this dress would look good on any body type and would definitely recommend it (and RTR!) to a friend :)
Anne
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 27, 2012

Everyone wanted to know where they could get this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I LOVED this dress! I rented this dress for my sister's rehearsal dinner and got so many compliments! It was a november wedding and it was the perfect color and fit for the occasion. I am 5'6 and was a little worried it might be too short, but the length turned out to be perfect. It is a great dress to feel comfortable and sexy in, as it is not tight on the stomach, but also shows a little leg. I would definitely recommend this dress to any of my girlfriends, and will probably rent it again!
Cassie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Dec 9, 2012

Great experience, pretty dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The ease of renting with Rent The Runway was fantastic. The dress came in two sizes and looked cute in both. I went with the 2, which was a bit short, but I am 5'8''
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105 lbs
Feb 25, 2013

It was perfect for the beach wedding. I am in this dress in my Save the Dates!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
a little shorter than I had hoped
Chelsi
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 10, 2013

Perfect combination of sexy and classy!!!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my low key 26th birthday night out! Loved the fit and was very comfortable the entire evening. I received lots of compliments on how "sexy" the dress was!!! To sum it up...no matter what the occasion you can't go wrong renting this dress!
Big Apple Mom
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
May 13, 2013

Comfortable, elegant and great for hiding 'trouble spots'.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
When you have 34DD upstairs and a little extra 'junk' around the mid-section, this is a beautiful and perfect dress to make you feel confident that you look great. Dress arrived in excellent condition, was very comfortable to wear, and perfect for an evening affair that said "cocktail attire" on the RSVP card. If you have a fuller bust be sure to order a size up. I could've worn the 8 (my usual size) but the bust was much better in the 10.
Charo
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
May 26, 2013

Overall ok

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
It was a nice alternative for a night out, however, I wasn't totally impressed with this dress. I am busty (32G) and always have trouble to find something that comfortably fits my upper body. This dress wasn't the exception because it was too tight for my upper body and too loose for my waist and hips. I didn't find it very flattering but still received compliments :).
Rachael
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Jun 17, 2013

Love this easy black lace number. Perfect for my friends rehearsal dinner.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is pretty short, but I prefer a sleeve and to show a little leg. :) I went with the larger size for length!
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133 lbs
Jul 11, 2013

Loved that the sleeves covered my arms.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
A little short but still loved the dress.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Oct 7, 2013

Lace LOVE!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this to a business semi/formal event...tons of compliments. Classic look!
Victoria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 15, 2013

LOVED the dress! I received so many compliments!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Should have ordered the size 8... was VERY tight in the bust and very short when I sat down, but the length was perfect when standing. Very pleased with the dress overall!!
Sarah
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Oct 15, 2013

Great look and really slimming/sexy fit

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Can go with navy or black details! Also, just FYI- although it looks like on the model that the fit is loose and more of a shift dress, that is deceiving, it is a more fitted look, not loose, unless you go a size up. You will see what I mean in the real photos. Plus even though I am 5'2" it was still a little scandalously short. Fine for short girls, might be inapprop for the tall ones.
Nic
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 29, 2013

Such an easy process!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Such a beautiful dress. A little snug in the bust, but otherwise it fit perfectly. I received many compliments. I also cannot say enough about the experience - it was wonderful having a great dress home waiting for me to wear. The return process was also super easy! I will definitely rent again soon!
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 1, 2013

Great Dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress looks super baggy on the model, which is slightly misleading. I had previously rented a very similar style Shoshanna dress in the summer (pretty much same dress, different color), so I based my sizing on how my other rental fit, which was fab. I have a hard time fitting into true women's sizes (either the length or overall fit is baggy, even with a 0) but Shoshanna dresses are great for petite women I have found. It was a great length on me, but I am short. Taller women would probably struggle a bit with the length. I love the black and navy it photographs really well - gives some variation and texture to the dress that you might not see otherwise. I didn't get a full length pic, but I styled it with black patent leather shoes to give it a little shine.
Sara
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Nov 4, 2013

I sent this back but if it had fit it would have been a perfect experience!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This was a beautiful dress but it fit much tighter than I thought it would. Even if it hadn't been tight it was still pretty short.
jamie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 12, 2013

Not as pictured on model.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress came as a back up because the one I ordered wasn't available. I am 17 weeks pregnant and I assumed from the way the dress looks on the model, it would be a candidate. BIG MISTAKE! This dress is actually quite fitted (and cute if you're not pregnant) I think the model is a size 0 but she is wearing a 2 or a 4!!! I should have paid more attention to the reviews, I hope RTR takes a different picture.
lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 6, 2013

pretty but....

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Pretty but it ended up being shorter & tighter than I wanted for a wedding.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128 lbs
Dec 9, 2013

Really cute dress! Like others have said, it looks more black than navy, but cute anyway!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Does not fit as loosely as shown. I am a little bit bigger on the bottom so it was more fitted, but still liked it anyway.
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 12, 2013

Classic

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Beautiful dress. Flattering and comfortable!
Karen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 25, 2014

Loved it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Based on reviews, i was between a 2 and a 4 and so glad i went with the 4--it was perfectly fitted but with just the right amount of room for a shift. And the length was great--just short enough to make my legs look great but not so short i was worried about flashing anyone. Tons of compliments all night, super comfortable, and i felt great. Would order again in a heartbeat!
cassie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 28, 2014

LOVE, would totally buy this dress in a hearbeat! Perfect dress for any occasion!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fits perfectly, I am 5'2 so it is hard to find dresses that aren't too long. This dress was perfect in length hit a few inches above the knee. so a little on the shorter side but not too short. The dress looks totally different than it does on the model. It is much more flattering and a little fitted.
Risa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 20, 2014

Too snug

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wound up choosing my other RTR option because although the photo makes this look like a shift dress, it's actually quite snug and form-fitting
D
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
May 23, 2014

Beautiful lace detail

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a formal/black tie work event. It was perfect for this. Both the 6 and the 8 fit but I chose the 8 because it had a little more room in the bust for me to dance in. The dress fit conservatively enough but was still flirty with the lace detail. I also paired it with a necklace to give it a pop of color. Great experience and would definetly rent again!
Katherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 23, 2014

Classy and comfy!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Runs small and short. I would recommend sizing up. Looked great with tights and heels!
LD
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 31, 2014

Wore this dress to a fall wedding & received many, MANY compliments!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is the perfect "go to" cocktail dress. It's great for anything from a more conservative event to a sexy party dress!
Mima
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 3, 2015

The dress

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Party
It was nice
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×