Jacquard Pleated Bodice Dress

$31 to buy
$350 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Shoshanna's Pleated Bodice Strapless Dress cuts a striking cocktail silhouette. Pair with bold accessories for a high volume look. Shown here with Chamak's Silver Glitz Bangle Set.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - for smaller busts, consider sizing down in back-up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice
HIPS: Not fitted - tulip skirt has some room in hips though curvy women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; dress has built-in boning to support bodice
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - for smaller busts, consider sizing down in back-up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice
HIPS: Not fitted - tulip skirt has some room in hips though curvy women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; dress has built-in boning to support bodice
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black silk jacquard. Sweetheart neckline. Pleating detail on bodice. Built in bustier for support. Gathered skirt. Hidden back zip. 26" from top of bodice to hem.

Share
64 reviews
Fit
Large
(17)
True to Size
(44)
Small
(3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 22, 2012
simple and flattering, looks great punched up with some statement jewelry.
This dress fit well, but I wouldn't consider the fabric "jacquard." It is a fairly thin silk with a little bit of a pattern pressed into it but definitely nothing noticeable, which I was a little disappointed about because I was hoping for a thick jacquard texture. But overall the fit was true to size, I belted it to emphasize the waist and add color.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
October 10, 2012
Tons of compliments!
I rented the 8 and the 10. The 8 would have fit, but the boning was broken and it felt like wearing a medieval tourture device. I ended up wearing the 10 and taping the dress to me and adding a sating braided belt to help keep it up. Got lots of compliments all night.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 26, 2012
Love! Cute and comfortable.
There is a built in corset that makes sure you do not have to pull up the dress. Pockets are nice and don't add bulk. Went for smaller size. It runs a bit large. Cute with ponytail and red lips!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
September 13, 2012
Dress was a great addition to my night
Runs a little large. I could almost go into a 0. It was comfortable and very flattering.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
April 21, 2012
Way too big
I usually wear a 0, so according to the size and fit overview I figured it would fit me perfectly. However, it was so big and boxy that it fell off and I couldn't wear it. Disappointing.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 11, 2012
Ehh...
The dress definitely ran larger and was not flattering at all. It is a very good idea I only ordered this as a backup dress.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 6, 2012
Overall solid black dress
I am between a 2 and 4, mostly wear 2s and this fit perfectly, not too tight at all. it's not as shiny as the picture looks, more of a muted shine, almost cottony black. overall, a very solid little black dress.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 3, 2012
Perfect for NYE
This was a perfect dress for NYE - Cute, casual and comfortable.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Age: 38
November 7, 2011
I was not a fan of this dress. Neither of the sizes I ordered fit :( In the picture it looks like it is a very structured dress not so much when I actually saw it in person.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
October 19, 2011
I usually wear an 8 or 10, but since I own another Shoshanna dress in a size 8 (and it's a little big) I decided to go with size 8 and size 6 back-up. Glad I did, because the 6 fit a lot better -- If I had a bigger bust (I'm 34 D) I think the 8 would have been perfect, it was just falling down a bit. Wore this to an outdoor October wedding and it was perfect. The only drawback was that in the particular dress I had, the boning had come out of the seams and was poking me in the ribs all night. I actually still have red marks from that. Hopefully that's an isolated issue and has been fixed.
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 13, 2011
It's a great black dress for any occasion. And the pockets are a big plus. Like other reviewers said, this dress runs large. I normally wear an 8 and the 6 was almost too big.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
September 21, 2011
I was totally surprised by how big this dress runs. I am usually an 8, read the reviews and ordered a 6 as well...and the 6 was still too big! I am a little small in the chest area so that may have been the problem, but I have never worn a size 4 and I think I would have to to wear this dress. I was bummed that I couldn't wear it because it is a gorgeous, high quality dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 19, 2011
So cute and simple. Wouldn't have any complaints except that some of the boning in the bodice was coming out. Thankfully the dress wasn't too tight so it didn't hurt but that's definitely something that should've been fixed.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
September 12, 2011
For the first time, I had to return my RTR purchase without being able to wear it. The dress is pretty, but it's relatively boxy and un-flattering on the lower half. I am usually an 8, but I ordered the 8 & 10. Both were too big and simply did not look good. It's my first RTR that I can't recommend.
NoelleSeptember 11, 2015
you look amazing!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 12, 2011
As other reviewers pointed out, this dress is silk and very flowy -- something that doesn't come across in the pictures too well. I got both the 2 and 4, but the 2 was still too big (I usually wear a 2 in dresses, 4 in pants, etc). I tried to pair it with a belt, but it didn't seem to work. That said, while I didn't wind up wearing the dress, I did really like the material and shape, it just didn't work for me so.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
August 8, 2011
Not what I expected, did not fit and had to return.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
June 16, 2011
This dress is an easy win! It's flattering to a small bust and forgiving of the hips. Also, it's slightly softer and floatier than it looks in the photo -- which I liked!
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Body type: Full Bust
November 1, 2010
The top fit nicely for a medium-sized bust. The dress definitely looked like a designer dress...great fabric, syle, and fit. I wore it to my Homecoming and got tons of compliments.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 4' 6"
Age: 41
Body type: Hourglass
October 26, 2010
This is a great dress. It's very flattering and very supportive. A low-fuss strapless.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
October 18, 2010
I was absolutly so happy with this dress. I was very nervous about renting it, but it fit amazingly and really flattered my body. It is definitely a very flattering dress and I would recomend it to those who have an hourglass figure.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
October 12, 2010
Great LBD!
This dress was great! As the other reviewer said, the photos don't do the dress justice. The silk fabric is very light and airy without looking too much like a summer dress. I ordered a 0 and a 2 and the 0 was too small in the chest area and I'm a C cup so if you're any bigger than that I would suggest the larger size. There wasn't much difference between sizes in the waist, hip and length.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
October 8, 2010
Timely arrival of dresses, fit specialists and customer service reps are ALWAYS friendly and available for questions, and the free extra size is a HUGE bonus!
LOVED this dress! It fit wonderfully and concealed any post-baby lumps I might have around my midsection! ;) I paired it with a gold leather belt and gold and black chandelier earrings. Dress was comfortable and I felt like it was very flattering.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
October 5, 2010
Absolutely fabulous! The photos don't do this dress justice. It fit like a glove and I never once had to pull it up. It stayed-put all night and I got a million compliments.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
September 14, 2010
I was very please with the dress and that it fit true to size. I was afraid because this dress came the day before an event so I was very nervous especially with the fact that I didn't have a back up. The dress worked out perfect and I am happy so say I am definitely using RTR for all of my special events.
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×