Its My Birthday Dress

$50 rental
$330 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

It's My Birthday Dress by Shoshanna is the perfect dress for any birthday party, work event, or shopping day with the girls.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- size up for more room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at high waist
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'8''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- size up for more room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at high waist
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'8''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Magenta stretch ottoman. Boat neckline. V back. Cap sleeves. Pleated skirt. Exposed back zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
96 reviews
Fit
Large8
True to Size83
Small5
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
November 6, 2012
Wore this for my sister's wedding rehearsal and everyone loved it! I didn't want to send it back.
I needed a simple dress for my sister's wedding rehearsal and this was the perfect dress for it! I could only rent one dress, the size I normally wear, and thankfully it fit wonderfully! I loved how it was nice and loose on the bottom and tight on top. Plus it was a great dress for the fall. At the end of the night, I didn't want to take it off. And I was really sad that I had to send it back. I would rent this dress again and recommend it to all my friends!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
November 2, 2012
Color is deep and beautiful
Fit it great - dress is flattering
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
October 25, 2012
great dress, nice fabric, and the color is very vibrant!
this was my first RTR experience and it was so easy and affordable. i loved the color of the dress and i got soooo many compliments. i paird it with a statement necklace and black tights and shoes, like the original photo. i would recommend this dress for birthday parties and even formal events. lots of people told me the dress is very "charlotte" from sex and the city.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
October 20, 2012
Realizing that the smaller size fit and I didn't have to use a backup dress.
I usually wear a size 6 in dresses, but ordered the size 8 as well (just in case). The 6 fit perfectly and the Derby party was great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 13, 2012
This dress was very flattering, very comfortable and a good length for a short girl.
This dress is a great choice for a party or semi-formal wedding. It was very comfortable and a lovely color. This dress manages to give you a nice shape without starving you for oxygen. In addition, I was very happy to have a dress hit above the knee for a change as I am a shorter girl. This dress ran true to size and you could wear it with any type of undergarment with this dress. This is a keeper ladies. I did not see any flaws with this dress and I would rent it again if it were appropriate for the occasion.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
October 10, 2012
Love this dress!
Love this dress! It was so comfortable and I got so many compliments on it. The color was beautiful and the fit was perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 1, 2012
The fit and color were great!
Loved how thick the material was, got so many compliments on the color!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
September 27, 2012
First RTR Experience
This was my first dress I rented from RTR and it did not disappoint! I wore this to a wedding and received compliments all night - I wore it with the Kate Spade "ritz" jewelry and it was a great combo together. The color is a little more of a dark purple than pink though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 24, 2012
Compliments the whole night on how beautiful the dress was and how perfect it fit!
I ordered a size 4 and backup size 6 but wore the 4. It fit like a glove. If anything the bust was slightly a tad too tight but I also have a larger bust. Overall though, LOVED it.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
September 23, 2012
Lovely dress
It's a lovely dress but unfortunately rent the runway ran out of my second size so I was unable to wear this. I would suggest sizing down. I am 5'4" and 117lbs and the 2 was slightly baggy, I would have done better with the 0.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
September 21, 2012
Made me feel confident and everyone loved the color.
The dress ran true to size, but was tight in the bust. I am a small C cup, so anyone with a bigger bust would definitely want to go a size up. I like to hide my tummy and hips and it was just the right fit, just full enough in the skirt to hide my problem areas.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
September 18, 2012
Perfection. Classy, sassy and ready to dance!
Being smaller chested, the top fit me perfectly. Bigger busted girls might find it a bit snug across the girls. I LOVED the deep-V in the back with the exposed zipper. It gave this otherwise sweet and classy dress a bit of a sassy edge. The color and fabric are gorgeous, and the skirt is perfect to twirl and spin on the dance floor. I received compliments all night--and well into the next week after the Facebook pictures went up, of course. I also wore the kate spade new york accessories Heavenly Cluster necklace. And finally--my bestie in the picture is wearing another RTR, (which I wore the week previously at another wedding), and she LOVED it and looked beautiful. Thanks again, RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
September 12, 2012
The perfect dress for a Fall wedding
This dress was the perfect color for a fall wedding. I received multiple compliments and it fit very well. I usually wear a 6-8 and the 6 fit perfectly!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 4, 2012
Spicy!!
Love love looove this dress! Great color and fun for dancing. Tight across the bust so heads-up to anyone over a B cup.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 46
Body type: Pear
August 25, 2012
Nice Fit
The dress arrived in a timely fashion. The color was somewhat off from what it looked like on the website, but still a nice dress. I loved the fit and could have wore the size 10 but the 12 was looser and slightly longer, which I preferred. Overall and great dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
August 19, 2012
Perfect LPD
This dress is just perfect for a formal dinner party.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
August 17, 2012
My friends all loved the dress. I thought it looked very fun but they assured me it had a "sexy" look to it too. :-) RTR was great to work with! My backup size was no longer available (recently damaged) so they allowed to select ANY other dress in the shop that was still available, regardless of price, as my back up and still had it all to me the next day! GREAT service!!
I wore this to the opening of my portrait studio and think it's a beautiful dress! Color is great! My only complaint was that I'm short waisted and the dress puckered a bit below my chest as a result. Still loved it though!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
August 17, 2012
LOVE this dress
I wore this dress to a friend's rehearsal dinner and loved it. The fit was amazingly comfortable and runs true to size. I think the dress would be flattering on most body types and would recommend renting it. I even bought the same dress in gold with green stone embellishments.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 10, 2012
Most comfortable dress ever!
This was a great dress to wear to a summer wedding. I ordered a size 6 and 8. The six fit but was a little too short for my comfort and the height of heel I was planning to wear. The dress was extremely comfortable and as a plus has pockets! The wedding was outside and the temperature was about 85-90 degrees and the material was breathable but not light enough to show perspiration. My only complaint is that the back of the dress is not as low as what is pictured on the model, so the drama that I was anticipating was not really there. I would highly recommend this for any semi formal event!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
August 10, 2012
A very happy day complimented by a great dress!
This was my first experience of RTR and I loved every second of it. The dress fit perfectly and worked well for a colorful look for my bridal shower. I am not a big shopper and loved the ease of RTR. Delivery was timely and the return was so easy. I loved it so much, I also ordered my bachelorette party and rehearsal dinner dresses from RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 9, 2012
loved this dress
I rented this dress for a my husband's work reception welcoming new employees. It was held at the Renaissance Hotel. I wore black mini chain earrings that brushed my shoulders, no necklace and a wide black belt with mini chain/braided leather inset. Stacked onyx and black enamel bracelets on one arm and black patent platform heels finished the look. The color is fantastic on brunettes with olive skin (me!). It made a fabulous impression
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
August 7, 2012
Loved wearing this! Got lots of compliments.
I rented this dress for valentine's day and it was perfect. I ordered the 6 and 8 and I went with the six. I would say it runs true to size but size up if you have a fuller bust. I loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
May 14, 2012
LOVE LOVE this dress!
I wore this dress for my birthday party and absolutely loved it! The material is great (a little darker than the photo) and the fit is awesome. It runs a little large; I wore the smaller size no problem. I recommend this dress for anyone!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
April 27, 2012
Pretty But Not for Large Bust
I rented this in two sizes. The smaller size fit best, but there wasn't enough room in the chest... at all! Sadly, the larger size had a rip on the skirt, so I didn't end up wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
March 28, 2012
Not flattering
I rented this dress based on the positive reviews and cute pics of others wearing it, but this was just not at all flattering on me..... maybe it was the wide neckline or cap sleeves, but as soon as I put it on, it looked like I had gained about 15 lbs. Sent both sizes back and received a credit from RTR. First time I have not had total succss with a rental, so I was very pleased that the return was so simple! Love RTR, just not this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
March 26, 2012
In the ladies room at the party venue a stranger came up to me and told me she absolutely loved my look.
The color and fit of this dress were absolutely amazing, though I will say it ran big. I normally wear a 2 or 4 in dresses and I ended up wearing the 0 (it just so happened RTR was out of the 4 on the day I needed to rent so I had the 0 as a back up size - thank goodness!). I wore this for a 60s theme/Mad Men-esque party and it was so fun to dance in. My only complaint is that the material of the dress wrinkles very easily. It actually came very wrinkled so I tried to wet iron it. DO NOT DO THIS. The dress got all splotchy and I had to have it dry cleaned. RTR offered to cover my dry cleaning expenses though - another example of their sparkling customer service. Overall, another great RTR experience in a dress that made me feel gorgeous.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
February 21, 2012
I loved my Birthday Dress!!
The name of this dress was perfect for my birthday celebration. It fit like a glove! In person, the color is darker than what you see in the picture but it's still an absolutely adorable dress. I received many compliments on it and even with flats I still felt like a birthday princess! I highly recommend this for any party you have coming up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
February 20, 2012
Lots of compliments!
This was such a cute dress and really comfortable and easy to move in. I paired it with black tights, black platform heels, and a black cardigan for a winter birthday party. I got a lot of compliments on the outfit. I would rent this again.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 15, 2012
Gorgeous dress!
I am 5' 2.5" so I made sure to select a dress that wouldn't hit me too low. This dress was just above the knee which made it very flattering. I wear either a 10 or a 12 and rented both. Both fit but the 10 was a bit snug just above my waist so I wore the 12. I do feel that the bust area is a tiny bit on the small side because but it could also be because of my shape. I've lost over 100 pounds and this dress made me feel awesome. It was very comfortable and easy to wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 31, 2012
Such an easy process to receive and send back the dresses!
This dress was perfect for my bridal shower. The color made me stand out and photographed beautifully. The fit was comfortable but classic and chic. Everyone asked me where I got the dress and I told them all about RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
January 15, 2012
I got a ton of compliments the whole night!
I was worried since I didn't get a back-up size 4 but it fit perfectly. I wore this for a night of dinner and drinks and the dress was super comfortable yet stylish and the pockets were great! The cut is definitely universally flattering and it's a beautiful color.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 5, 2012
Loved getting the NYE headband in my package - such a cute surprise!
I wore this dress for a "Mad Men" themed NYE party. It was perfect! I'm normally a 6 and wore the 6 with tights and pearls as shown in the photo. My back-up size was a 4 which I found to be too short (I'm 5'11) and tight in the armpits. I think this dress is universally flattering. You can wear a normal bra and it has pockets!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 27, 2011
Lots of compliments!
I wore this dress to a Christmas party and received a ton of compliments. Super cute, fun and comfortable dress. I paired it with black tights and booties like suggested. Only the 2 was available, and I was worried that it might be too big after reading the other reveiws. It ended up fitting fine any smaller and I wouldn't be able to fit in the bust. I'm a 34C and it def was tight around that area. It was a little big in the waist though so if you're small busted def size down. Overall it was a great party dress.
SamanthaDecember 31, 2011
Very Beautiful on you. Makes me want to rent the dress myself! Thank you ;)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
December 24, 2011
Cute and Comfy!
This dress was beautiful! It is a great color, modest but still sexy and flattering. I wore it to my husbands company Christmas party and had many compliments and stood out in a crowd. Loved that it had pockets, and tiny snaps to prevent bra straps from slipping. No spanx, pantyhose or nylons needed. The chest was a bit roomy, but easily fix with bra inserts. My back up dress was great too! Great rental.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 18, 2011
Awesome dress!
I rented this dress for my work Holiday Party and it was a huge hit! Everyone loved it! The fit was great. I loved the length- it was just a few inches above my knee- Long enough to be work appropriate, but short enough to be fun. I also loved the pockets! This was the first RTR dress I've gotten and was really pleased with the whole process. I was pretty nervous about wearing a dress I've never tried on before, but no need to worry. I got the 2 and the 4, and both sizes actually fit. Oh, one thing to note- in the picture online the dress looked like it was made out of satin, but the actual fabric had a little bit of texture to it, which I actually really liked.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 21, 2011
Great For "4th Trimester"
I rented this for a NYC rehearsal dinner. I just had a baby a few weeks ago, and it worked perfectly for me - hid the extra softness around the middle and was forgiving through the hips. Was easy for nursing and also kept the chest appropriately covered (mine is too big for my liking right now). I needed a size 10, but it wasn't available. I went up to a 12, which was not great but fine. Only complaint is that it went all the way to my knee. With this neckline, that length made it more matronly than the model's photo. Also, while the color is very rich and beautiful, I would recommend a statement necklace.
TrishSeptember 17, 2013
Thanks for this review! I wore this dress pre-pregnancy but was wondering if it's baby bump-friendly.
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 1, 2011
Very nice dress. Excellent fabric. Pockets are a real plus. Comfortable to wear. The length was perfect hitting me above the knee but not too short. I wore it similar to the model with black shoes, stockings, and jewelry. Only negative was that the waist hit me mid-rib cage which gave it more of an empire waist than it looks on the model. I do not look my best in empire waist style dresses so I wore a cropped black silk knit cardigan with one button buttoned over my waist which seemed to cinch in the look a bit so that I looked less pregnant. At 5'4" and 115 lbs, I don't look chubby, but alas, I fail to maintain continuous tummy control and perfect posture at all times. So the lack of a proper waist can give me a not-so flattering look. Overall, excellent dress. I won't rent it again, but that's because there are so many other great ones to try!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
October 17, 2011
Gorgeous color, fun dress. Wore with black tights and booties - a great look for a business event where I wanted to make an impression, but not show too much skin. Keep in mind that because of the fabric, you will probably need to iron it a bit before wearing. Also the side seams where the pockets (YAY pockets!!) are starting to fray a little (at least on the size 12) but nothing overtly noticeable.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
September 27, 2011
This dress fit like a glove! It was fitted on the top but flared out at the skirt, which was perfect since I have a small waist but am bottom heavy. It was incredibly comfortable and I was able to dance all night.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 12, 2011
I rented the 4 and the 6 and am typically a 6 dress size. However, both dresses did fit - I just felt more comfortable in the 6 so I wore that one for one of my bridal showers. I am on the tall side and it hit midway between my thighs and my knees - perfect! I got so many compliments on the dress and as my 1st rent the runway purchase, I was very pleased!!!
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×