Shoshanna

Hayley Lace Ruched Shift

$30 rental
$395 retail
Stylist Notes

Take center stage with this adorable Shoshanna ruched sleeve dress. With its gray lace detailing and shift style, you'll be the talk of the party. Step up your look by pairing the Crislu's A Girl's Best Friend Bracelet and Badgley Mischka's Crystal Cluster Earrings.

Also available in navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - slightly fitted at waist
HIPS: Fitted - more fitted throughout hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9''. )

Product Details

Grey floral lace. Boat neckline. Three quarter sleeves with ruching detail. A line body. Scallop lace detail at hem. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
394 reviews
Fit
Large
(56)
True to Size
(297)
Small
(24)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
August 31, 2011
This is a very cute dress. Not too fragile like lace can be sometimes. I got tons of complements when I wore it out for a girls' night. Also, the fit is pretty much as pictured on the model (though not quite as short, though thats probably because I'm 5'4). Seemed true to size, and was tight enough to be cute and flattering, but loose enough to be comfortable. I'd definately reccomend this dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
September 28, 2011
Very pretty dress, perfect for a cocktail event or wedding. It's definitely on the shorter side, and while it's not tight it's form-fitting enough that if you have a tummy you'll need some spankx!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
September 29, 2011
Unfortunately, I rented the 6 and the 8 - but only received 2 8s! They were really helpful at Rent the Runway though - and very apologetic. This was a great dress for a work event: equal amounts of stylish, but still classic, so I didn't feel overdressed. The lace at the hem was a little frayed though, but otherwise a great dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 5, 2011
LOVED my experience with RTR - I've already been back since!
The lace is absolutely gorgeous, although on the hanger, the dress looks lackluster. But I paired it with sparkly earrings and some killer heels to emcee a local event. I got compliments all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 13, 2011
I loved this dress and got lots of compliments. It fit great all over, although it was a tiny bit loose in the back at teh neckline. It was almost too short but it worked. I would definitely wear this dress again!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
October 19, 2011
This dress is GREAT. I loved it! It was super comfortable and perfect for a fall wedding. I am tall, so it was a little short without tights. I ordered the 8 and the 10- the 8 fit well but was a little short, the 10 was looser and, as a result, a bit longer so I went with that. I wore a gold, green, and grey necklace and I got SO many compliments.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 19, 2011
I love this dress. The shape is flattering, the lace is super feminine, and the color is great on any skin tone. I ordered an 8 and a 6, and chose to wear the 8 since my bust is 36D. I wore this for an engagement party with strapy flats to dress it down a bit. The length is great, and it is a perfect replacement for the little black dress. I will definitely rent this dress again!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Body type: Pear
October 19, 2011
LOVEDthis dress!! I was able to wear the size 8 but wore the 10 for a bit more length. Ihad a cocktail attire rehearsal dinner and got tons of cmpliments. Felt perfectly dress and wore with the large set on bangles rented as well. Great for a fall party when still HOt outside(TX)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 19, 2011
Dress is more purple than grey and looks much better on than in the picture. Not sure if it's the stick thin model but it fits and looks more like the Boatneck one by Shoshanna (same dress just blue). Perfect if you want to meet the parents or go to a more conservative event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
October 20, 2011
Love this dress!
Loved this dress! Loose but still form fitting enough to be super cute. Wore it to a girls night out with flats to dress it down and got a ton of compliments! The dress is almost a little short but not quite. Very beautiful! Just rented for a second time for a high school reunion - still love it!
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Body type: Pear
October 23, 2011
LOVED this dress! Fit great and very flattering. I sometimes have to go up a size to fit my hips but not with this dress. It is short but with dark tights it didn't bother me. My husband, who isn't one to go overboard with the compliments, was downright effusive about how great I looked! I might even get it again for holiday parties.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
October 24, 2011
I loved this dress so much! It ran a little big; I am quite petite and ordered a 0, and it was still not fitted, although still looked very classy. I wore this dress to a black tie event and definitely felt comfortable and dressed appropriately. The lace is a bit off-black. Length was good for my height; long enough but not awkward by any means. I would definitely rent this dress again!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
October 26, 2011
Way too short - tends to ride up in the shoulders too. Could not wear it to a semi-formal event due to lack of length...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
October 27, 2011
Such a cute, versatile dress
I ordered this in a 6 and it fit perfectly. Really cute dress, looks great with heels or boots.
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 28, 2011
This dress is really pretty in person, more of a purple than a blue. Tall ladies beware though, it was short on me and I am barely 5'3. I ended up disappointed as I was unable to wear it due to a discoloration at the neckline - it was a light pink color. It looked as though the color in that spot was lightened during an attempt at stain removal? Unfortunately, I noticed it the night before the wedding and had to run out and buy a new dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 31, 2011
When I first received this dress in the mail, I was expecting it to by more grey than purple, but it ended up fitting perfectly and looking beautiful despite the color confusion. I wore silver and pearl necklaces from Stella and Dot which complemented the entire outfit. It was a bit short, but paired with black stockings (like in the picture), it wasn't inappropriate for the wedding I attended.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 57
Body type: Apple
November 2, 2011
Loved this dress! Got lots of compliments. It fit well; hem hit me about where it hits the model in the photo. I wore it to a wedding and it was perfect for the event. also, I expected slate gray, but most people thought it was purple. I would strongly recommend this dress-- comfortable, attractive, a great choice!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
November 2, 2011
I rented this dress and another for my engagement party. Although the dress was beautiful and very flattering, it was too dressy for the occasion. I would definitely rent it again.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
November 7, 2011
I rented this dress for an event this past weekend and absolutely loved it! It was very comfortable, not at all itchy or stiff like some lace dresses can be. The material was excellent quality and there were no rips/tears/stains on the fabric. I rented my normal size and went up one size. I would definitely recommend sizing down instead of up, as even my normal size ended up being a bit loose through the middle. Overall the dress looked great on, and I got so many compliments. You should note that the fabric is more of a purpley/grey in person, not charcoal like is pictured...but I think it's even prettier in person. I can't wait to use RTR again!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
November 10, 2011
Seeing all of my friends, and feeling great!
Wore this to a friend's winter wedding welcome dinner party. The dark purple color was fantastic, and the fit was extremely flattering. Only problem was that it was SHORT. Like can't raise my arms short. I rocked it anyway, received a ton of compliments, and kept my arms down.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 132lbs
November 10, 2011
Loved how everybody turned to stare when we walked in-- in a GOOD way!
I am 5'11", 140 lbs, and I rented the 4 and 6. When I tried them on, they both seemed a little big but the 4 fit fairly well. I know it's the style of the dress, but I felt like it was very wide and lacked any sort of shape-- tried adding a belt but that didn't work. Both sizes were clearly too short for the conservative wedding I was attending, but I wore the dress the next night out to dinner with black tights and black bootie heels. When we walked into the restaurant, I swear- every single person to look (probably because I was very tall, but I also felt fabulous in the dress!). It worked fine with the black tights for a night out, but if I lifted my arms at all it barely kept my butt covered! Like others said, it did have a slight purplish sheen to it- if it were slightly longer, I'd want to own this dress.
RTR CustomerJuly 8, 2015
Looked beautiful! Im a 34d and cannot go braless so was wondering what kind of bra you were able to wear with this?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
November 21, 2011
great dress
this dress is beautiful. I am petite, and I was able to pull it off--usually a size 0 does fine on me but it was slightly big.. just a little roomy, but definitely not super fitted. I'd still say it runs true to size. it looked elegant and since it wasn't my big day it was totally fine. some say it was short but I didn't have that problem (I'd say if you're above 5'5" it might be toward the shorter side) also, it photographs really well!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
November 24, 2011
Great dress!
I rented two dresses for a black tie event - I didn't end up wearing this one but LOVED it. It fit perfectly, was comfortable and very flattering. I will definitely rent this for another occasion. Just wasn't sure if it was dressy enough.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 28, 2011
I recieved compliments on the dress and necklace throughout the evening and everyone wanted to know more about RTR!
Very comfortable! Looked cute, easy to wear! No complaints except for the edges were a little frayed from wear, but nothing too noticeable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 30, 2011
Having everyone tell me they LOVED the dress.
I'm 5'6" , 125 lbs and ordered the 4 & 6 and the 4 fit perfectly. I wore this dress to an evening wedding with black opaque tights and black pumps and received compliments all night. It's an easy and flattering silhouette that anyone can pull off! The lace detail is just beautiful!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
December 9, 2011
Cute, but short!
I thought this was a beautiful dress, however when I wore it to a work event it was a little short (and I'm not that tall...about 5"4.") I got away with it, and received many compliments on the dress. I loved it, just wished it was like an inch longer.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
December 10, 2011
Love this dress!
I rented this dress for a company Christmas party and it was a huge hit! Everyone loved it and I recieved many compliments even a few days later. I am 5"6 and I did not think it was too short, I wore some very small fishnet hose and the combination really showed off my legs. I cannot say enough positive things about RTR and am wearing another dress tonight for a wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 12, 2011
Elegant & Comfortable!
Wore this dress on a date with my husband & LOVED everything about it. It wasn't skin tight so it was perfect for a leisurely dinner! This would be a great dress for when you want be a little covered-up but still look sweet & sexy. Would rent this one again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 154lbs
December 13, 2011
Boxy for big chests
I was a bit disappointed with this dress. After reading the rave reviews, I ordered it or my work holiday party thinking it would be a sure thing. Unfortunately, the lace had fraying, and threads were hanging down from the dress upon arrival. Despite the small damages, I tried it on anyway...I looked like a lace box! The waist does not dip in at all, so for hourglass girls with large chests, I don't recommend this dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 13, 2011
Short and sweet
Loved wearing this dress. The 4 fit better in the body but was obscenely short, so I wore the 6, which hung looser as the dress is intended to fit. It was definitely short but I wore it with black opaque tights and never felt uncomfortable with it even at a coworker's Christmas party and out to dinner. Highly recommend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
December 15, 2011
lots of compliments
I ordered both the 8 and the 10..the 8 fit perfectly. I wore this dress to a work holiday party with patterned lace tights and booties and got tons of compliments. It was very comfortable and looked great all night! I wish I owned it to wear to other events!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
December 16, 2011
Loved this dress and got a million compliments!
I am obsessed with this dress! I wore it to an engagement party and paired it with black tights and a chunky RJ Graziano necklace. It is not form fitting, and fell a few inches above my knee.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 60lbs
December 18, 2011
This dress helped me celebrate my 25th birthday in style!
Such an easy fit and the lace was beautiful in person!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 21, 2011
Great dress
Wore this two nights in a row-- first for a date and then for a holiday cocktail party. It worked for both of them. Dress is short (I'm 5'2'') and I wore the 2 even though I expected to wear the 4. It was very comfortable and I could dance in it as well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
December 21, 2011
Worked great
I'm both short and a bit pear-shaped, so it can be scary to pick a dress without being able to try it on in advance. Part of why I picked this one is that it's not form-fitting, which makes it more likely that it will work. And it did! I wore this to a relatively conservative family wedding, and it was a great choice. Length isn't a problem with this dress for shorter ladies, and I got lots of compliments. Doesn't have much "wow" factor, but it's a solid choice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 59
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
December 21, 2011
Versatile & comfortable
Wore this to a busy late afternoon/evening of tree trimming party, ballet and dinner, and it worked well for all with small changes of accessories. Very comfy for running around in. Ordered the 6 -- my almost always size -- with a backup 4, and glad I did as the 6 was a sack, although the 4 was very short. (I am 5'5'' and 123 lbs.) Agree with a previous reviewer that the lace trim on sleeve had seen better days, but nothing horrendous.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
December 22, 2011
adorable!
Rented this for a friend's rehearsal dinner at an upscale restaurant in NYC. Received lots of compliments and was comfortable all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
December 28, 2011
Loved it and so did my husband
Wore to a special night out with my husband. He loved it so much, he offered to buy it for me. I think that speaks for itself!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
December 28, 2011
The moment when my fiancée had said I looked Beautiful , that was my RTR unforgettable moment
I wore this dress to an Engagement party/Holiday Party, the dress was a hit! Everyone complemented me on the dress, definitely will rent again. Beautiful color, nice lace and great fit. Thanks Rent the Runway.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 28, 2011
Cute and classy!
I loved this dress! I am usually between a 4 and a 6 and the 4 fit perfectly. A little short, but nothing a pair of black tights couldn't fix. Would be a great dress to own :)
See more reviews:
1 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×