Rent the Runway

Shoshanna

Erin Bow Sheath

$30 rental
$385 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This Shoshanna sheath is for the grown up girly girl! A classic look for semi-formal evening events where you'll dance the night away with your family and friends. Go with a fab clutch like the Whiting & Davis' Black Mesh Glam Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace and black silk satin. Crew neckline. Front bow. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

153 reviews

Fit
Small 27
True to Size 117
Large 3
Photos 80
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138 lbs
Jun 9, 2013

So classy, so comfortable -- just perfect! I received so many compliments on this dress! Love RTR!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was true to size. I am 5'2 and it was about two inches above my knee. The perfect length for me. It was very flattering around the waist. Totally worth the money.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 30, 2013

LOVED.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Shoshanna is by far my favorite designer so far from all the dresses I've rented from RTR. This dress was no exception. I rented it for an evening wedding and it was perfect for the occasion. Very modest in terms of not showing legs, chest or back area, but it still gets noticed. I got a lot of compliments from other women. The bow in the front does not poof out, it's flat against the dress. There are pockets and I was able to hold a mirror and lipgloss without it showing. The armholes are a little small so be aware of that. I rented a 10 and a 12 - I wore the 10 as it fit my body so much better in terms of defining my waist and hips, but the armholes were a little snug under my arms that I wished the size 12 would've worked better. I wore it with black satin bow heels from WHBM and simple jewelry.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 20, 2013

This was my first time using Rent the Runway and it went incredibly smooth! Dress fit like a glove!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was incredibly skeptical about using RTR. But I'm impressed and will be back to use RTR again. When the dress arrived I ordered both a size 4 & 6. I tried the 6 on and it fit perfectly. I left the size 4 in the bag. The dress was perfect for the occasion. It has the crew neck which was perfect for the church ceremony but also had enough sass for the reception. The dress is lightweight which made it great for the hot day and for dancing. This dress also has pockets which is great to put you camera in. I didnt want to send the dress back. Thank you RTR!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 11, 2013

Great cut and fun color!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this dress to a wedding. Normally wear a size 0 in Shoshanna and sized up because it was tight in the bust. Super flattering cut--really accentuated the tiny waist. Love Shoshanna dresses and how flattering they are.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 20, 2013

Great dress, I got tons of compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I love the bow at the waist and that this dress had really deep pockets. I wore it to my cousin's wedding and it was appropriate for both the church ceremony as well as dancing at the reception. I probably could have worn the 6 but I was comfortable in the 8.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Oct 6, 2013

Classic dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was great. Fitted on top, smooth, comfortable moveable bottom!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 13, 2013

Amazing dress! Got lots of compliments; perfect for a wedding!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Over all great dress; zipper is on the back so if you are broad across the back you might want a larger size
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 27, 2013

Perfect fit!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Perfect fit through the bodice. Loved the pockets!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 16, 2013

Loved getting the rtr package!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is true to size although the bow band around the rib cage is a little snug. Other than that the dress was comfortable and perfect for the ocassion!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 25, 2013

One of my RTR faves!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This is the second time I've rented this dress! It's the perfect LBD for a wedding, but the lace and bow give it some additional fun details. It does run a little small, so if you are wider in the hip region, I would recommend going up one size. I wore the 4, but probably would have been a little more comfortable in the 6 because it did ride up a bit.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 28, 2013

Great comfortable dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
It fight a little tight in the ribs. But other than that it was true to size. It was easy to dance, eat and have a good time. Really flattering fit, I would 100% rent this again!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 5, 2013

Dress fit perfectly! Emphasized all the right places, HIGHLY recommend!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Super happy I rented this dress! I don't have much of a waist, but this dress gave my waist definition, fit comfortably, and was true to size.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175 lbs
Dec 11, 2013

Very nice dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Very cute dress! The material was amazing. My only complaint was that it was really tight around the shoulders, but I usually wear a 12 and wore a 10 this time. Very cute and classy dress, and in the right size, would've been comfortable!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 156 lbs
Dec 16, 2013

Elegant for any event

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was for my fiance's holiday party which was on the same weekend as my company party so I ended up renting 2 dresses and got this one for about $30 which I cannot complain about. It was a bit snug in the chest area so make sure to keep this in mind if you are a bit busty. It also made it a bit uncomfortable to wear. Overall it was a good basic dress for the evening and it didn't call for too much attention. Which is good if you are meeting a lot of people for the first time. My company party was a different story because I knew everyone and wanted to wear something with a bang! I recommend this dress for any dressy event.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 29, 2013

this was my first designer dress/experience w RTR, loved it

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
loved that I could wear a regular bra and it felt such high quality. the lace did get caught on my purse chain briefly but someone helped me undo it
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Jan 2, 2014

Gorgeous dress and so comfortable. Tons of compliments and I would definitely rent this dress again

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit great, it's not tight so very comfortable and don't need spanx! Great length too, just above my knee. This dress came as a back up when my original order didn't arrive due to shipping issues. RTR was great about getting me another dress in the nick of time!!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 7, 2014

Fun dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Love love love this dress. Would rent again in a heartbeat.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 59
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 147 lbs
Feb 11, 2014

Perfect Dress. This was an annual Sweetheart Ball.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
LOVED the dress. The 12 was perfect. Length was great for a 50something.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105 lbs
Mar 11, 2014

Very pretty dress. I wore it to the opera. Very comfortable.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit like a glove
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Mar 18, 2014

This dress was FANTASTIC! I received compliments all evening at the "formal cocktail" reception.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit true to size. It was pleasantly very fitted on the top, but allowed for my hips in the lower half when standing. The length fell just below mid-thigh. This was a great dress to stand in with perfectly placed pockets. It was a little tight to sit in, but very doable and should not detract from renting it. So many people gave me compliments and I would definitely recommend this dress. As a backup, I ordered the 10, but while allowing more hip space, it was too loose on the top. I was very impressed with the packaging and it was very easy to return. I look forward to renting more dresses for future occasions... my husband insists upon it! You know that's a good sign of a great dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 60
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 16, 2014

The dress was stunning! I couldn't have chosen a better outfit!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear either a size 4 or size 6. Due to the size of my bust, I had to wear a size 8 because there is no "give" to the upper area of the dress. With that said, the dress fit perfectly! I loved it and I received compliments galore. There is enough room in the hip area to where you can sit, dance and get in and out of the car comfortably. I was very happy with the service that I received from Rent The Runway. I will definitely go to them again. It was a wonderful experience!!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Apr 22, 2014

Classic Dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit great! It stopped just above the knee. I would say this dress is pretty conservative so it was great for a business function. No complaints!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
May 15, 2014

Cocktail dress with a bow and pockets!? Yes Please!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was perfect for a dinner event. The dress was fitted up top to give me shape, but loose on the bottom to be extremely comfortable. The bow in the middle is the perfect final touch. When I thought this dress couldn't get better, I realized IT HAD POCKETS.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118 lbs
May 28, 2014

Classy enough for a wedding, demure enough to not attract (too much) attention away from the bride.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Nothing makes me feel prettier than being wrapped up in silk and lace, topped off with a bow. This dress not only made me feel pretty, it made me feel comfortable. The size 2 was loose enough on top to allow room for a padded bra (did not use) and plenty of food and cake (did use). The bottom flared out nicely, hiding my 36-inch hips. Perfect inaugural dress into the RTR club!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117 lbs
Jun 12, 2014

My first rental with RTR and it was so much fun! Perfect dress! And so easy to rent and return!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to my daughter's semi-formal High School Senior Banquet. It fits true to size, although it was a bit tight in the rib age. I loved the pockets, which were perfect for lipgloss . The dress was flattering and has room to spare around the tummy and hips but didn't look baggy at all. Very comfortable for standing or sitting. I tried the 2 and the 4 and went with the 4 because the 2 was too tight to zip. The RTR staff was soooo helpful too! Thanks RTR! I will never buy another dress!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145 lbs
Jul 3, 2014

I got so many compliments on this cute dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to a gala that we attended for my husband's job. It fit perfectly! I love the bow detail, and the pockets meant I didn't even need an evening bag ... so convenient! The cut of the dress is very flattering on someone (like me) who has a bit of a tummy.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 20, 2014

Loved it! Classic Dress for a Wedding

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
So this was not the first dress I had chosen. Unfortunately my first pick came back damaged, however after some great customer service with RTR they made my first experience a memorable one. They even sent extra options to arrive at my hotel for a wedding. Im glad I got two sizes in this because the 0 just seemed a tad too tight because of the arm holes. This dress made me feel so beautiful at a very fancy Jersey wedding. Thanks again RTR for making every effort for my first experience to make me want to come back!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 20, 2014

True to size, elegant and simple.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was pretty happy with this dress overall - cute, simple design. If you're smaller busted it's comfortably loose yet still fitted throughout the top and pretty forgiving on the bottom. I don't know that I loved the pockets as they did make the dress come out a bit on the sides. I would consider wearing this again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Jul 27, 2014

The quick and easy return process

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was amazing!! It fit like a glove, was comfortable, easy to dance in, and I received compliments all night. By far my favorite rental!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 6, 2014

The dress was perfect for my piano recital

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress fit perfect and looked expensive and elegant
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 22, 2014

very elegant dress...love the bow

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
you may need to go a size up its a bit snug in the bodice....very flattering and pretty!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 21, 2014

Beautiful dress received tons of compliments

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is perfect for any event that you want to feel beautiful for. I wore it to a wedding and received a lot of compliments on the dress. It has pockets which are great to put your phone in while you go dance. I felt that the dress ran a little small...cramming my ribcage/chest in to the dress was a little difficult and the zipper didn't help. Additionally the dress got pretty tight around my legs when I sat down, which wasn't ideal for the wedding or dinner. Luckily I spent most of my time dancing rather than sitting down. I am also a swimmer so I also have broad shoulders and the arm holes were pretty tight. Overall it's a great dress but I'd strongly advise ordering your typical size and a size larger to cover your bases.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 13, 2014

Very Audrey Hepburn. I got a ton of compliments

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Party
I wore it to my husband's Holiday Party. It was very classic and comfortable. It is tight in the bodice. I would recommend sizing up for backup.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 158 lbs
Dec 24, 2014

The dress I ordered wasn't able to be shipped. The RTR team offered this one and it was better!

Size worn: 10
Rented for: Party
Very fun holiday party dress. I'm smaller on top so it would be snug on larger chested women. The pockets are great and it's roomy in the bottom. Accentuates a small waist!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Dec 29, 2014

Perfect dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding, and I'm so glad I did! First of all, I live in the woods in Vermont, where shopping for anything is just about impossible. So this was an incredibly easy way to go to get a really nice dress. Second, the dress fit like a glove and I got tons of compliments! I would recommend both RentTheRunway and this particular dress in a heartbeat.
RTR Customer
Age: 40
Jan 31, 2015

Super comfortable!!!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Party
Fit true to size. Very comfortable!!!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 4, 2015

Pretty but not pricey!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this to the theater to see a show with my best friend. It was a comfy dress all evening. Because it's black & neutral, it's easy to dress up with any colors you'd like! It has pockets, which is always fun. I got tons of compliments on my outfit. For those of us with a booty, I will say that the back puckered a little when I was sitting. It wasn't much of an issue, but I did have to adjust it a little each time I sat down. The skirt doesn't give much, either, so getting into/out of the car wasn't as easy as I'd have liked, but for the price and how pretty it is ... I would totally recommend it to friends :)
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 16, 2015

Super comfortable dress that was very flattering.

Size worn: 10
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered the 10 because my shoulders are broad, and it fit great. The pockets are awesome.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 22, 2015

Rehearsal Dinner Success!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to my rehearsal dinner, and loved it. I would buy this dress!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
May 18, 2015

great dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
My main purpose of reviewing is for people who are hesitant to use this website- I could not say enough positive things about my experience. The dress arrived early, perfectly packaged, and with a return label already made. It was easy and great! Now about the dress- I loved the fit. The bow in the middle and the cut of the dress made it very flattering. I'm fairly thin but I felt this dress hid any insecurities anyway. The main thing for me was that it was incredibly comfortable all night, unlike most dresses at these events! I would definitely recommend it! In terms of size, I would usually wear a 2/4. I was going to order a 4 as my second size, but it was out of stock so I ordered a 0. I ended up wearing the 0, because I liked how snug and well it fit, but the 2 could've probably worked as well. I would still probably advise ordering true to size
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×