Rent the Runway

Shoshanna

Dear Diary Sheath

$35 rental
$395 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look floral feminine chic in this shift by Shoshanna. With wedding season around the corner, this style is a guaranteed party favorite. Pair with accessories like Badgley Mischka Jewelry’s Black Crystal Cluster Earrings and Lilly Pulitzer’s Elephant Love Note Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Purple lace (60% Cotton, 23% Rayon, 17% Nylon). Three-quarter length sleeves. Boat neck. Shift body. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 34” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

134 reviews

Fit
Small 14
True to Size 96
Large 17
Photos 71
Shortie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 16, 2013

Perfect! Purple! Lace!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was the backup dress for my company holiday party... and i am SOOOOO glad I got it! the other dress did not fit at all (either size). This dress fit me like perfection! it hit at my knees (since I am very short at 4'10") but honestly, any shorter would have ridden up quite a lot when sitting. the lace is stiff, and raising arms too high was not going to happen. make sure you have someone to zip you up too! the color is GORGEOUS! no necklace needed -- the neckline is simple and with this dress the key is to keep focus ON THE DRESS! i paired with black tights and black wedges. i love Love LOVED this dress!
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Dec 26, 2013

Loved this dress!! Slightly tight in the hips, but SO WORTH IT!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was a little tight in the hips so I wore spanx with it. If you are hippy, I wouldn't recommend this dress. The dress gives in the arms and hips, but not much. That being said, the dress was perfect for the charity auction that my boyfriend and i went to. I wore it with black tights and received so many compliments! I didn't want to send it back! Plan on using RTR again soon!
Carin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 23, 2014

Gorgeous Color!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress. Long-ish sleeves were great for a winter wedding, but be warned - as others have posted, it is SHORT! It made my legs look great, but there was certainly no lifting of my arms on the dance floor! The color was beautiful - a very unique purple color. Another great RTR experience!
Jenna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 16, 2014

Wish it was longer.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I had to be a made of honor at the last minute for a friend, so glad I rented this dress. Only problem is that I felt every like it was too big on me and too short. I put on heels and I become 5' 8", so this dress became short, but the 4 was too big. I believe if I had a bigger bust the size 4 dress would not have been a problem. I was glad that did wear a dress that could blend in with wedding at the last minute.
Kim
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 3, 2014

I did not wear this dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the color of this dress. I did not wear it because the arms were too tight. It was my backup dress and I considered wearing it, but I could not lift up my arms above shoulder height. I do have large, muscular arms, so this was not surprising.
NancyMelancy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 10, 2014

I felt like a million bucks.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was a beautiful dress. The cut and style was amazing. The color was perfect. Fit was great (a little snug on my arms.) A dream come true!
Jodie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Apr 11, 2014

Perfect dress for many occasions!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for my brother's FORMAL rehearsal dinner, this was actually my back up dress that I never thought I'd wear and it turned out to be PERFECT! I ordered the 4 as some reviews mentioned how short it was and I'm glad I did however, the neckline was a little loose. A chunky necklace and fashion tape for my bra straps worked well. Lots of compliments and one of the bridesmaids actually wore the same dress in navy. Both were beautiful and different enough in color so most didn't even realize they were the same. The color looked bright and vibrant in pictures and I will definitely rent again! My first experience with RTR was a HUGE success!
Vietsy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 12, 2014

I was looking for a classic, sophisticated look that was still youthful. This dress was exactly it!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
#datenight dress is gorgeous but a little short! I'm petite so this didn't affect me :) but I can see how the length may not be appropriate for certain occasions if you're 5'6" and above.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 14, 2014

Loved the color! Dress looked brand new and i got a ton of compliments on it!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Perfect fit, amazing color, flattering and comfortable
Tanvee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117 lbs
May 2, 2014

Love the bright color, the lace and the fit. It was a bi

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Love the bright color, the lace and the fit. It was a big hit- i received several compliments that day! Also its the perfect length for a petite girl
KPR
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
May 4, 2014

I just had twins two months ago and wanted a shift style dress to distract from my leftover bump.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It fit great, was really comfortable and received a ton of compliments. It was short but I'm short and I liked the length. I still have 20 lbs to lose. It was really flattering and shows off your legs nicely.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
May 4, 2014

The RTR process was totally seamless and easy!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I received both the 6 and the 8. The 6 fit like a glove but I decided to wear the 8, as the length was a bit more appropriate for the black tie optional wedding we attended (plus I wanted to be able to eat wedding cake)! I received lots of compliments on this dress and felt like a stone cold fox all night! My only complaint is that, due to the shift-style of the dress, I couldn't lift my arms above my head without the dress riding up a bit and bunching around the chest. However, I didn't mind because the pros TOTALLY outweighed that one con!
Lauryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
May 5, 2014

Great dress, really comfortable, received lots of compliments.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress! It was really comfortable, the color was great. It was a tad on the short side, but the sleeves and high neckline kept it classy but you definitely have to be careful when sitting down. Although the 4 fit better, I wore the 6 because the 4 was too short. I loved the color, the lace, and the fit and I received so many compliments on this dress. My only complaint was the lining was really wrinkled so it took some work to get it to sit right, but it wasn't too noticeable once it was on. Overall, great dress, I'd rent it again and recommend to anyone.
Hillary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
May 10, 2014

Love this service!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got so many compliments! Perfect for a summer wedding.
Stefanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123 lbs
May 17, 2014

Great dress for a wedding!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Rented for a late spring wedding. Great fit and comfortable the entire night. The dress was a great length on me but I am short and I definitely had to be careful getting in and out of the shuttle between the hotel & reception! Another very positive experience with RTR!
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
May 27, 2014

Dancing the entire night!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered a 6 and an 8 based on the other womens descriptions. Both sizes fit, the 6 would have been more form fitting to my body and having had a baby 6 months ago I opted for the 8 to be more at ease. The sleeves did start off a bit tighter but quickly stretched out. The dress was wicked comfortable and I received a million compliments on it. Color is amazing!! Loved it!
liliana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
May 27, 2014

Great color for spring/summer events!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Lots of compliments, and, more importantly, lots of comfort! Ordered both the 6 and the 8 and the 6 was a bit too short, so I went with the 8. the lace sleeves were a bit tight, but not too tight to keep me from dancing all night. I didn't realize how purple it was until I received the dress, but I ended up liking it all the more. Definitely a must rent for the warmer months!
Besse
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
May 28, 2014

Classy and easy to dress up or down.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a friend's wedding and was worried it would be too informal, but with some fun jewelry, it was perfect. The color is really nice and I liked having a little sleeve as my arm workouts haven't been as on point as I would wish for! I wore the 8, but probably could have used the 10. It fit fine, but the arms were a little tight and the remnants of my baby belly definitely weren't invisible (though the dress did a great job of not making my belly obvious either). The one thing I read and it's totally true, this dress is pretty short. I just had to be mindful of that on the dance floor!
Maria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
May 28, 2014

Perfect Sheath with a Pop of Color

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a friends spring wedding and it turned out to be a perfect selection! It was a great length on me, but I am 5'2" so I would be wary if you are any taller. The color was beautiful and even though it is a sheath dress the size zero was quite fitted. I would agree with other reviews that the arms are somewhat tight, so be aware of that - it may cause you to go one size up. I got many compliments on it and would definitely recommend this dress - especially if you are similar in size. Overall another great rental from RTR!
Stefanie
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 159 lbs
Jun 1, 2014

Received it 3 days before the event and couldn't wait for the day of to debut the beauty!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It fit fairly well- was a little tight but to no fault of my own and I feel the next size up would have been too big. Wore the dress to my boyfriends work related event and not only did I get so many compliments, but I was the best dressed :) One girl who I didn't know asked if she could borrow the dress - and of course I shared the RTR link! The color was lovely -a deep blue with hint of purple. Chose not to wear a necklace as it would take away from the beauty of the dress. I would give this dress a 10/10 and would definitely rent again!
Chelsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 1, 2014

Great mix of fun and conservative

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this to a rehearsal dinner. It was a little short but I felt like that was balanced by how conservative it was in the neckline. Fit perfectly- the sleeves were not tight and the dress had just enough breathing room
Karenia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 9, 2014

Beautiful in Lace!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit is true to size. I ordered the 0 and 2 because I read a few reviews that recommended sizing down. I normally wear a 2 but tried the zero on and it was waaay to short and slightly snug. I'm only 5'5 so for you taller girls just be aware. That said, I think this dress would be a really good dress for petite girls. I loved the overall fit of the dress, it had a little extra room in the mid section but still showed off my shape so I was pleased with that. The color is stunning and the lace is definitely high quality. I paired the dress with black heels and a black Kate spade clutch. I got tons of compliments on the dress and I was so sad to have to return it. I want this one to stay in my closet forever!
Helen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 27, 2014

Gorgeous dress! Fit really well and looked amazing.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was beautiful! I loved the color and the fit. I had ordered a size up because of other reviews, but it fit really well! I got lots of compliments, wish I had a better photo of me in it. It was short, but not too short. I'm 5'6" so I'm not that tall, but the dress was great on me. Would highly recommend it!
Christy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 30, 2014

Classy dress with a hint of sexy

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect for the outside wedding I attended. The lace was beautiful and I loved the color. The sleeves do run a little small but the rest of the dress runs true to size. It's not tight so you have some room to move around (and eat plenty of cake!). It's a little short, but I really enjoyed that bc it made it made it sexier since the neckline is pretty conservative. The lining of the dress was a little wrinkled at the bottom, but you couldn't tell with the lace overlay.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Jul 10, 2014

..

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very pretty in person! I ordered this for a wedding but ended up not wearing it because of how tight and restricting the arm area was. When I moved my arms the whole dress moved with them and I was afraid it might rip. The material doesn't stretch at all so when I moved my arms up the dress became even shorter than it already was. If you aren't too curvy this dress would probably be perfect!
Hannah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Jul 16, 2014

LOVED this dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was amazing. I rented a handbag, earrings, and a bracelet set to go with it and it all worked together so well. I wore it for an afternoon/evening garden party fundraiser and got so many compliments! The dress was a perfect middle ground between dressy and casual. I wore it with cognac wedges to dress it down a bit. I ordered the 2 and the 4 because I haven't actually worn a dress with a numbered size in so long that I had no idea which to get. The 2 ended up fitting great--a little tight in the shoulders but not uncomfortable at all. The way it's made, you have to be VERY careful sitting down in this dress. For some reason it just rides up unless you move in exactly the right way. Otherwise, it's perfect and just as beautiful as it looks on the model!
Dana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 22, 2014

Perfect for a southern wedding!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a wedding in Downtown Nashville and it was perfect! The lace was beautiful and was so comfortable to dance in. The length was a little longer on me, but I was happy that it didn't ride up when I sat.
Sophia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 21, 2014

Legs for days!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm pretty short so I love when I find a dress that makes my legs look longer than they are. I rented this dress for an outdoor, summer wedding and I loved it. The dress is short, but it worked for someone my height! I received a ton of compliments and was actually able to move around in it. I had to rent a backup dress because the size 4 was returned damaged. I ended up wearing the backup size 2, so I can't say for sure if the dress runs true to size. Either way, I was happy with this one!
Bailey
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 15, 2014

I got so many compliments on this dress and I loved the color! It was really comfy too!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I liked everything about this dress except it was a little bit bunchy in the stomach area. I think I would have liked it to be a bit more form fitting in the middle. Overall I loved it!
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 12, 2014

Gorgeous purple lace sheath

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was stunning!! I wore it for my boyfriend's sister's rehearsal dinner and from the moment I first put it on to the end of the night, I received compliments left and right! The dress was elegant and classy, could have easily worn for a date night or girl's night out as well. While it is on the shorter side, I never felt uncomfortable or that I was flashing anybody! The dress itself fit like a glove with one exception- the shoulders/upper arm sleeve were pretty tight. I do have a pretty broad back so I anticipated that but I think other RTR reviews mentioned this as well. Overall, I would most definitely rent this dress again!!!!
Danielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Oct 14, 2014

Rented this for my 11 year old daughter. She is tall for her age, so the zero worked and we added a

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for my daughter.. she is 11, normally wears a 12-14
Katie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 24, 2014

I wore this dress to my sister's rehearsal dinner, and it was a perfect choice!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It fit pretty true to size, and was comfortable enough to be sitting, standing, ad running around. I got so many complements on it!
Kristine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 1, 2014

Loved the color and length

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the sleeves and length of dress
Rachel
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 13, 2014

great first experience with rent the runway!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Rented a 4 with 6 as a backup. Although the 4 fit well, it was a little tight Around the bust, so I wore the 6 to be more comfortable. I'm short, so the length of the dress was perfect. Felt great and confident all night in this dress. A great success!
stefanie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 18, 2015

Pretty!!

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Party
I'm short so I didn't think the dress would be too short on me but it did ride up quite a bit. Also the sleeves were a little tight but besides that it was a great dress and I received a lot of compliments on it!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Jan 19, 2015

Loved this dress and I love RTR!!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress. Got tons of compliments. Fit was perfect. Comfortable and flattering. Wore it to an outdoor Florida wedding. Impressed with RTR and will be a routine customer!!
Adriana
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 23, 2015

Great color- great dress!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Wedding
I was worried about the length being too short but it ended up being ok but I'm only 5'1. It was a great color and a very pretty dress. My only complaint was that the arms were pretty tight. I wore the 6 because it was slightly longer but the 4 fit pretty much the same.
Ali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136 lbs
May 2, 2015

Bright colored dress

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Party
Didn't actually wear this dress to the event but will likely rent again. Fit was true to size although slightly shorter than anticipated.
Alyssa
Age: 28
May 4, 2015

Loved the dress! I wore it to the American Country Music Awards! It was perfect for the event!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
It looked great with heels and boots but I ended up wearing boots! It was a little short though. I had to be REALLY careful!
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
May 14, 2015

Beautiful fun dress with just enough sexy.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I needed a dress for a March wedding so i wanted something with sleeves. I also didn't want it to look too old. I found this and the color is gorgeous and vibrant. The length is sexy without being trashy.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×