Shoshanna

Dear Diary Sheath

$139 to buy
$395 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look floral feminine chic in this shift by Shoshanna. With wedding season around the corner, this style is a guaranteed party favorite. Pair with accessories like Badgley Mischka Jewelry’s Black Crystal Cluster Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Purple lace (60% Cotton, 23% Rayon, 17% Nylon). Three-quarter length sleeves. Boat neck. Shift body. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 34” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
141 reviews
Fit
Large
(18)
True to Size
(100)
Small
(15)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 23, 2015
Great color- great dress!
I was worried about the length being too short but it ended up being ok but I'm only 5'1. It was a great color and a very pretty dress. My only complaint was that the arms were pretty tight. I wore the 6 because it was slightly longer but the 4 fit pretty much the same.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Age: 30
May 4, 2015
Loved the dress! I wore it to the American Country Music Awards! It was perfect for the event!
It looked great with heels and boots but I ended up wearing boots! It was a little short though. I had to be REALLY careful!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 28, 2015
RTR customer service is incredible!
This was a plan "c" dress. This first dress I ordered was damaged and I customer service sent me 4 replacements right before I left to go out of town. The dresses got lost in the mail, so plan c was to overnight 4 dresses to where I was staying out of town! AMAZING. With the help of the stylists, she suggested this dress and I loved it! The event I attended was outside and the sleeves helped keep me warm! The dress may have been a tad too short, but overall it wasn't noticeable! Everyone loved the bring color and it was super comfortable to wear all night! (No digging, rubbing, sucking in, just comfortable!) I will rent again for sure!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
June 30, 2015
Really great customer service but the dress was too short to wear
I wear a size 6 typically with no issues. This was a back up size and style because there were issues with my shipping. This dress was overnighted to me at my hotel since my original dress had a mess up with UPS. This dress DID fit all over, but more like a true size 6, not an 8. however it was very, very, very, very short!!!! I could wear it no problem if all I planned to do was stand upright and not bend my knees or raise my arms in the slightest. If I moved, walked, raised my arm, bent slightly, my butt was out. Unfortunately I ended up not wearing it at all because it was way too short.
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 11, 2015
Great dress for a wedding at a winery! Love the purple, it was a perfect color that popped.
Runs a bit small. Usually I'm a 2-4, but they only had 4-6 available which worked perfectly. I ended up wearing the size 6 due to the 4 being a little tight in the bust and the 6 gave a little extra length. Overall great dress for a wedding, on the shorter side (be careful bending over). Loved the color and overall look and fit!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
May 2, 2015
Bright colored dress
Didn't actually wear this dress to the event but will likely rent again. Fit was true to size although slightly shorter than anticipated.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 18, 2015
Pretty!!
I'm short so I didn't think the dress would be too short on me but it did ride up quite a bit. Also the sleeves were a little tight but besides that it was a great dress and I received a lot of compliments on it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
January 19, 2015
Loved this dress and I love RTR!!
Loved this dress. Got tons of compliments. Fit was perfect. Comfortable and flattering. Wore it to an outdoor Florida wedding. Impressed with RTR and will be a routine customer!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 134lbs
May 6, 2013
Gorgeous dress was ideal for my Las Vegas trip
I ordered the size 6 & 8 as I am inbetween both sizes. I wore the size 6 and found it ran slightly large. The dress is very comfortable and a gorgeous colour. I wore it for a night out to see a show and party in Las Vegas.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
May 9, 2013
I never wore it.
I rented a 4 and a 6 and probably could have worn a 2. The stomach bunched up and poofed out and made me look like I had a belly, which I do not.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
May 21, 2013
Beautiful color!
The dress is a very pretty color but runs large, was very big. I tried to belt it but then it looked funny.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 23, 2013
Great color and beautiful lace!
The color and length worked out well. The neckline is pretty too. Quality was great and I ordered it last minute and it got there in time, which was awesome. The dress was just a bit baggy through the middle - wish it was a little more fitted there.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
May 30, 2013
Dress doesn't have much shape
The dress looked matronly on me. I am short (4'11) and busty (32D), and the dress made me look like I had absolutely no shape at all. The fabric, however, is beautiful.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 31, 2013
It was much darker purple than I expected
I still would have loved to wear this dress but it ran way too big and I ordered a size 4 and a size 6 and both were too big...sad I can't wear it so I need to return it.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
June 10, 2013
Great color!
Fits on the larger side for Shoshana dresses. Usually a 6 fits me well, but I can't zip it all the way up in the back due to bust size. With other Shoshana dresses I've tried on, I've had to go up to an 8 for this reason, even though I'm short and don't need the extra room anywhere else. With this dress, zipping up a 6 was easy! It was still tight feeling across the bust, but it didn't look it at all. You can wear a normal bra with it too, which is great. The color is really beautiful. The downside is that the lace sleeves are really stiff, so I avoided big hugs and dancing with my arms way up in the air... manageable! Overall, really pleased with the dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
June 16, 2013
Cute dress for a wedding
I rented this dress as a back up dress for my sister's purple wedding. Unfortunately, when it arrived, the dress was more of a blue color than purple. It's not quite the color it looks in the website picture. The dress however, arrived in impeccable condition and was ADORABLE. I'm usually a 10, but the 8 was a little big on me, so I'd say it runs large. The fit is very comfortable - there's a lot of room in the waist - and the length of the dress hit me a couple of inches above the knee. Plenty of room in the arms and shoulders. If I have another occasion where I can wear more of a blue dress, I will definitely rent this one again. It was extremely cute. Just make sure you order a size smaller than you need.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 1, 2013
Perfect dress for a wedding!
Perfect length for a wedding (mid thigh). Ran a little big in the waist/stomach area but definitely wearable. Super comfy and light weight for having a sleeve. So many compliments -- love love this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 8, 2013
Cute dress
I rented this dress as my back up for a wedding. While I loved the dress, it was a bit baggy on me. I went with my primary choice but I hope to have a reason to rent this again a size smaller than I normally wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 18, 2013
Lots of compliments!
This dress was so comfortable! Runs a full size larger than normal
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 18, 2013
The color looked great in the mountains.
The fit was true to size and the color was fantastic. I have an athletic build, with wider shoulders and the dress was not tight at all. Lots of compliments and a great dress for a wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
September 27, 2013
beautiful color
This dress was perfect for a wedding! The color is beautiful and photographs really well. I normally wear a size 4 but the 2 fit perfectly.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
November 17, 2013
First experience with RTR and it was amazing!!
The color of this dress stands out so much and compliments all skin tones! It's a straight fit so I sized down. It was a little snug around the breast area but comfortable. I am usually a size 6 and wore the 4 since all the reviews said runs large. Tons of compliments on such a unique dress. It was on the shorter side since I chose to wear the 4 but the scoop neckline and sleeves balanced it out. paired it with nude heels and clutch. So easy to put in UPS bag and ship it back. I will be renting again soon!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
February 16, 2014
Wish it was longer.
I had to be a made of honor at the last minute for a friend, so glad I rented this dress. Only problem is that I felt every like it was too big on me and too short. I put on heels and I become 5' 8", so this dress became short, but the 4 was too big. I believe if I had a bigger bust the size 4 dress would not have been a problem. I was glad that did wear a dress that could blend in with wedding at the last minute.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 146lbs
August 11, 2014
Way too short!
I originally ordered a 6 and 4. I'm usually a 4. The 4 was returned damaged so I got stuck wearing the 6. It was a bit too big and really short! When I say down I had to keep pulling it down so I wouldn't flash anybody.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 15, 2014
I got so many compliments on this dress and I loved the color! It was really comfy too!
I liked everything about this dress except it was a little bit bunchy in the stomach area. I think I would have liked it to be a bit more form fitting in the middle. Overall I loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
October 22, 2015
The dress was super comfortable and allowed me to dance all night!
It was great to get two sizes in this dress as it does run a bit large.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
November 25, 2013
A little small for pear-shaped ladies.
This was the back-up style that was sent to me because the style I wanted wasn't available in the size I requested come event-weekend. If you are pear-shaped, I recommend going a size up because the dress shape is very straight. The lace and color were very beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 23, 2014
Beautiful color in person!
I wore this to a wedding in October. The size 6 was a little short, so that is why I choose to wear the 8. Beautiful color and received many compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
March 21, 2014
Beautiful color, runs small
The dress is beautiful! But I found it very small and short for me. I could tell that even in another size up, I wouldn't have been able to lift my arms without the dress riding up. Bummer because it is a gorgeous color purple! I had to return both the 6 and the 8. RTR is awesome and offered to overnight another dress, though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
May 28, 2014
Classy and easy to dress up or down.
I wore this to a friend's wedding and was worried it would be too informal, but with some fun jewelry, it was perfect. The color is really nice and I liked having a little sleeve as my arm workouts haven't been as on point as I would wish for! I wore the 8, but probably could have used the 10. It fit fine, but the arms were a little tight and the remnants of my baby belly definitely weren't invisible (though the dress did a great job of not making my belly obvious either). The one thing I read and it's totally true, this dress is pretty short. I just had to be mindful of that on the dance floor!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
June 10, 2014
Beautiful Dress
I love this dress. I didn't end up wearing it because it was too small. My cousin ended up wearing it and she looked stunning. The color is perfect. Just wish it came in a bigger size!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
October 1, 2014
Couldn't make it work
I wanted to love this dress. I've rented Shoshanna before and LOVE the lace dresses. The lining of the dress rode up when I walked around after trying it on, and if I tried to lift my arms, the entire dress lifted up exposing way too much. I tried it on multiple times and considered pinning the lining to the lace to make it work, but ultimately went to the mall to find a replacement. (My event started at 11:30am the next day so there wasn't time to receive a replacement) Next time I will stick to a different shape dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
October 27, 2014
Soooo short.
I liked the lace of this dress and it was a different color than I tend to wear. However, it was SO short! The lining barely covered my butt. It fit everywhere else and was sort of flattering, but the length made it unwearable.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 153lbs
December 17, 2014
Unfortunatly, I ended up not wearing the dress. It was way too short!
Tight across the bust and way too short for me! I ended up returning without wearing.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
January 26, 2015
Way too short
While this dress is so gorgeous- the color is amazing in person- it was way too short on me. I could not lift my arms up without it coming up past my rear- I tried going up to the 6 to see if any added length would help- but still had to same problem. I wouldn't recommend for anyone over 5'6 or with super long legs. I also found it made me look like I had a little pooch in my stomach area as there was extra fabric gathering there.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
March 11, 2015
Super short.
I am only 5'3" and this dress was super short on me. I would not have felt covered enough to wear. It does run small too. I have a large chest (36DDD) and I struggled to zip it up all the way. This dress is not for a large bust. A cup through D cup should be no issue.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
May 19, 2015
The dress was perfect for a wedding
The dress was beautiful, however it was a pretty straight cut, not so much for curvy women. Also the dress was a little snug around the arms
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 8, 2015
The dress fit well, but it was super short!
The dress fit true to size, but it was incredibly short. I sent it back.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
September 15, 2013
beautiful and comfortable
beautiful dress - I'm usually between a six and eight and definitely went with six, so I would recommend sizing down on the extra dress you get!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
November 4, 2013
Perfect for Petite Girls
The dress fit perfectly. It hit a few inches above my knees and the sleeves were a good length. Color is beautiful. Definitely recommend for short/petite frames.
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×