Shoshanna

Dear Diary Sheath

$139 to buy
$395 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look floral feminine chic in this shift by Shoshanna. With wedding season around the corner, this style is a guaranteed party favorite. Pair with accessories like Badgley Mischka Jewelry’s Black Crystal Cluster Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Purple lace (60% Cotton, 23% Rayon, 17% Nylon). Three-quarter length sleeves. Boat neck. Shift body. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 34” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
141 reviews
Fit
Large
(18)
True to Size
(100)
Small
(15)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 11, 2013
Great color, shape and style! Perfect party dress!
The color, fit and style of this dress were perfect. I got lots of compliments on it - it was very unique and the color really stands out. IT was so comfortable to wear too, yet a little sexy with the lace and the nude underlining. I would absolutely recommend this dress, wish I could buy it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 133lbs
November 13, 2013
Comfortable and Perfect!!
I am a larger busted girl...36D and a size 4 or 6 waist, so fitted dresses are always an issue for me because of the requirement for more up top than in the middle and bottom. I chose this dress because I knew if it was too loose in the middle, I could probably put a belt with it. The size 8 fit perfectly at the chest and it fit like a traditional shift the rest of the way down. I wish it was a bit more tailored through the waist, but I knew it wouldn't be when I ordered it. I ended up not wearing a belt, but you definitely could if you wanted to. I wore this to an outdoor, country wedding with my cowgirl boots and it was adorable. I got compliments on it all night!! It was also very comfortable and I had no issues with the sleeves. I dreaded returning it, for sure!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
November 17, 2013
First experience with RTR and it was amazing!!
The color of this dress stands out so much and compliments all skin tones! It's a straight fit so I sized down. It was a little snug around the breast area but comfortable. I am usually a size 6 and wore the 4 since all the reviews said runs large. Tons of compliments on such a unique dress. It was on the shorter side since I chose to wear the 4 but the scoop neckline and sleeves balanced it out. paired it with nude heels and clutch. So easy to put in UPS bag and ship it back. I will be renting again soon!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
November 21, 2013
Wore it to a charity gala. Got a ton of compliments and everyone LOVED the lace detail and color.
It fit true to size. A little shorter than I thought, but over all PERFECT. I ordered 2 and 4, and 2 fit better. Perfect for cocktail, wedding, party.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
November 24, 2013
Perfect for my Bridal Shower!
I wore this dress for my bridal shower in November. I loved the dress and got so many compliments! I ordered the size 0 and 2 because I read that the dress ran large. The dress fit wonderfully.. it is not a tight fit but it is short, so it is still a little sexy. I'm only 5'4, so I would warn the taller girls that if the dress was short on me, it will definitely be short on you! I didn't feel that it was inappropriate, but when I sat down, the dress went up pretty high and I was a little self-conscious. Pairing it with dark tights might be a good option if you are nervous about the length. Other than that... FABULOUS dress... I wish I could have kept it in my closet. :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
November 25, 2013
Cute dress with nice details
I was a little large for this dress (My fault not the dress!) but would have been cute to wear post weight loss!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
November 25, 2013
A little small for pear-shaped ladies.
This was the back-up style that was sent to me because the style I wanted wasn't available in the size I requested come event-weekend. If you are pear-shaped, I recommend going a size up because the dress shape is very straight. The lace and color were very beautiful.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 26, 2013
Beautiful Color and Detail! Great for a fall wedding!
I was verrrry hesitant about this dress, as most of the other reviews said that it is pretty short. I pulled it out of the bag and was immediately in love with the color! I first tried on the 6 and it fit perfectly; however, it was as I expected--very short. I was so disappointed because the dress is so beautiful! Luckily, when you rent you get the second size free and I was so glad I got the 8 as a backup! It was a little bit longer but baggy in the bust area. Nothing a stylish belt couldn't fix though! Just be weary that you cannot wear Spanx with the dress and be mindful when bending over or sitting down!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
December 10, 2013
this is a beautiful dress! it is a lovely color and photographs nicely with the nude lining.
i was trying to hide a baby bump and found this dress to be very forgiving in the middle while still having a nice shape, and extremely comfortable while still looking sophisticated.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 16, 2013
Perfect! Purple! Lace!
This was the backup dress for my company holiday party... and i am SOOOOO glad I got it! the other dress did not fit at all (either size). This dress fit me like perfection! it hit at my knees (since I am very short at 4'10") but honestly, any shorter would have ridden up quite a lot when sitting. the lace is stiff, and raising arms too high was not going to happen. make sure you have someone to zip you up too! the color is GORGEOUS! no necklace needed -- the neckline is simple and with this dress the key is to keep focus ON THE DRESS! i paired with black tights and black wedges. i love Love LOVED this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 156lbs
December 17, 2013
Very pretty fabric, unfortunately not enough room in the bust for me.
Very pretty fabric. This runs fairly true to size, but I would say a little small. The material is not at all forgiving. I think for most this dress would be an easy fit, however I have an extremely difficult time finding dresses due to my bust size...this dress gave me a uniboob.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 169lbs
December 26, 2013
Loved this dress!! Slightly tight in the hips, but SO WORTH IT!
This dress was a little tight in the hips so I wore spanx with it. If you are hippy, I wouldn't recommend this dress. The dress gives in the arms and hips, but not much. That being said, the dress was perfect for the charity auction that my boyfriend and i went to. I wore it with black tights and received so many compliments! I didn't want to send it back! Plan on using RTR again soon!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
January 15, 2014
Great dress for a wedding
I got tons of compliments throughout the night. The dress was a little baggy around the midsection and the shoulders were a little tight but overall it fit well and was comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 23, 2014
Beautiful color in person!
I wore this to a wedding in October. The size 6 was a little short, so that is why I choose to wear the 8. Beautiful color and received many compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
January 23, 2014
Everyone loved it!
Great fit! Loose enough in the arms, flattering, hit mid thigh. Was perfect for a wedding!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
February 16, 2014
Wish it was longer.
I had to be a made of honor at the last minute for a friend, so glad I rented this dress. Only problem is that I felt every like it was too big on me and too short. I put on heels and I become 5' 8", so this dress became short, but the 4 was too big. I believe if I had a bigger bust the size 4 dress would not have been a problem. I was glad that did wear a dress that could blend in with wedding at the last minute.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
February 16, 2014
Loved this dress!! It was perfect for a fall wedding
I was the perfect length. I ordered a 4 and a 6 - ended up going with the 4 since the 6 was a little too loose.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 3, 2014
I did not wear this dress
I loved the color of this dress. I did not wear it because the arms were too tight. It was my backup dress and I considered wearing it, but I could not lift up my arms above shoulder height. I do have large, muscular arms, so this was not surprising.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 10, 2014
I felt like a million bucks.
This was a beautiful dress. The cut and style was amazing. The color was perfect. Fit was great (a little snug on my arms.) A dream come true!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
March 21, 2014
Beautiful color, runs small
The dress is beautiful! But I found it very small and short for me. I could tell that even in another size up, I wouldn't have been able to lift my arms without the dress riding up. Bummer because it is a gorgeous color purple! I had to return both the 6 and the 8. RTR is awesome and offered to overnight another dress, though!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
March 25, 2014
Lots of compliments on this, and the color is very striking - perfect for spring!
Dress is very comfortable - was on my feet for a 4 hour event & the dress looked great from the start to the end. I'm heavier in the arms/chest than waist so the 8 would have probably been better on my lower half but the 10 was great up top. If I had thought ahead could have paired with a skinny belt to provide more shape to it. Once I had my other jewelery on, I didn't feel that I needed a necklace as the neckline was striking. One note: as the picture shows the sleeves truly went to the top of my elbows & on someone with shorter arms they would go even longer.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 12, 2014
I was looking for a classic, sophisticated look that was still youthful. This dress was exactly it!
#datenight dress is gorgeous but a little short! I'm petite so this didn't affect me :) but I can see how the length may not be appropriate for certain occasions if you're 5'6" and above.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
April 14, 2014
Loved the color! Dress looked brand new and i got a ton of compliments on it!
Perfect fit, amazing color, flattering and comfortable
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
April 27, 2014
Beautiful!
This dress is even prettier in person. The lace detail is perfection. It fits true to size but is a little heavier than other lace dresses I have worn.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
May 4, 2014
I just had twins two months ago and wanted a shift style dress to distract from my leftover bump.
It fit great, was really comfortable and received a ton of compliments. It was short but I'm short and I liked the length. I still have 20 lbs to lose. It was really flattering and shows off your legs nicely.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
May 5, 2014
Great dress, really comfortable, received lots of compliments.
I loved this dress! It was really comfortable, the color was great. It was a tad on the short side, but the sleeves and high neckline kept it classy but you definitely have to be careful when sitting down. Although the 4 fit better, I wore the 6 because the 4 was too short. I loved the color, the lace, and the fit and I received so many compliments on this dress. My only complaint was the lining was really wrinkled so it took some work to get it to sit right, but it wasn't too noticeable once it was on. Overall, great dress, I'd rent it again and recommend to anyone.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
May 17, 2014
Great dress for a wedding!
Rented for a late spring wedding. Great fit and comfortable the entire night. The dress was a great length on me but I am short and I definitely had to be careful getting in and out of the shuttle between the hotel & reception! Another very positive experience with RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
May 27, 2014
Dancing the entire night!
I ordered a 6 and an 8 based on the other womens descriptions. Both sizes fit, the 6 would have been more form fitting to my body and having had a baby 6 months ago I opted for the 8 to be more at ease. The sleeves did start off a bit tighter but quickly stretched out. The dress was wicked comfortable and I received a million compliments on it. Color is amazing!! Loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 27, 2014
Great color for spring/summer events!
Lots of compliments, and, more importantly, lots of comfort! Ordered both the 6 and the 8 and the 6 was a bit too short, so I went with the 8. the lace sleeves were a bit tight, but not too tight to keep me from dancing all night. I didn't realize how purple it was until I received the dress, but I ended up liking it all the more. Definitely a must rent for the warmer months!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
May 28, 2014
Classy and easy to dress up or down.
I wore this to a friend's wedding and was worried it would be too informal, but with some fun jewelry, it was perfect. The color is really nice and I liked having a little sleeve as my arm workouts haven't been as on point as I would wish for! I wore the 8, but probably could have used the 10. It fit fine, but the arms were a little tight and the remnants of my baby belly definitely weren't invisible (though the dress did a great job of not making my belly obvious either). The one thing I read and it's totally true, this dress is pretty short. I just had to be mindful of that on the dance floor!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 159lbs
June 1, 2014
Received it 3 days before the event and couldn't wait for the day of to debut the beauty!
It fit fairly well- was a little tight but to no fault of my own and I feel the next size up would have been too big. Wore the dress to my boyfriends work related event and not only did I get so many compliments, but I was the best dressed :) One girl who I didn't know asked if she could borrow the dress - and of course I shared the RTR link! The color was lovely -a deep blue with hint of purple. Chose not to wear a necklace as it would take away from the beauty of the dress. I would give this dress a 10/10 and would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 1, 2014
Great mix of fun and conservative
Wore this to a rehearsal dinner. It was a little short but I felt like that was balanced by how conservative it was in the neckline. Fit perfectly- the sleeves were not tight and the dress had just enough breathing room
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 9, 2014
Beautiful in Lace!
The fit is true to size. I ordered the 0 and 2 because I read a few reviews that recommended sizing down. I normally wear a 2 but tried the zero on and it was waaay to short and slightly snug. I'm only 5'5 so for you taller girls just be aware. That said, I think this dress would be a really good dress for petite girls. I loved the overall fit of the dress, it had a little extra room in the mid section but still showed off my shape so I was pleased with that. The color is stunning and the lace is definitely high quality. I paired the dress with black heels and a black Kate spade clutch. I got tons of compliments on the dress and I was so sad to have to return it. I want this one to stay in my closet forever!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
June 10, 2014
Beautiful Dress
I love this dress. I didn't end up wearing it because it was too small. My cousin ended up wearing it and she looked stunning. The color is perfect. Just wish it came in a bigger size!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
June 23, 2014
So many compliments!
I wore this dress to a friends winter wedding. The fit was a but short but not too bad to wear. I received so many compliments throughout the night and loved wearing it! Comfortable too!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 27, 2014
Gorgeous dress! Fit really well and looked amazing.
This dress was beautiful! I loved the color and the fit. I had ordered a size up because of other reviews, but it fit really well! I got lots of compliments, wish I had a better photo of me in it. It was short, but not too short. I'm 5'6" so I'm not that tall, but the dress was great on me. Would highly recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 2, 2014
Beautiful, easy to wear dress
This dress is a stunning color, a very flattering fit, and comfy to wear. It runs a little short, but I'm pretty short so it wasn't an issue for me, but it might be for someone taller.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
July 10, 2014
..
Very pretty in person! I ordered this for a wedding but ended up not wearing it because of how tight and restricting the arm area was. When I moved my arms the whole dress moved with them and I was afraid it might rip. The material doesn't stretch at all so when I moved my arms up the dress became even shorter than it already was. If you aren't too curvy this dress would probably be perfect!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 16, 2014
LOVED this dress!
This dress was amazing. I rented a handbag, earrings, and a bracelet set to go with it and it all worked together so well. I wore it for an afternoon/evening garden party fundraiser and got so many compliments! The dress was a perfect middle ground between dressy and casual. I wore it with cognac wedges to dress it down a bit. I ordered the 2 and the 4 because I haven't actually worn a dress with a numbered size in so long that I had no idea which to get. The 2 ended up fitting great--a little tight in the shoulders but not uncomfortable at all. The way it's made, you have to be VERY careful sitting down in this dress. For some reason it just rides up unless you move in exactly the right way. Otherwise, it's perfect and just as beautiful as it looks on the model!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
July 16, 2014
Beautiful dress and great color for a summer wedding
Overall I loved the dress. The color and texture was beautiful. As other reviews mentioned the arms were tight so I had to go with the 2. The 2 however, was too loose in the stomach and the 0 would have been better in the midsection. The dress is on the short size so taller ladies beware!
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×