Shoshanna

Davina Dress

$30 – $40 rental?
$395 retail
Stylist Notes

Attending a fall wedding? This 3/4 lace dress by Shoshanna is fit to flatter! Make it an outfit worthy of envy with accessories like Ben-Amun’s Chain Reaction Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Dark Purple Synthetic Lace (51.2% Nylon, 39.5% Rayon, 9.3% Cotton.) Elbow-length sleeves. Crew neckline. Princess seamed bodice. Pencil skirt with Scalloped hem. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
314 reviews
Fit
Large
(8)
True to Size
(156)
Small
(74)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
November 9, 2014
I wore this to a Sat. eve charity auction event where I needed a cocktail dress. It was perfect.
This was my first RTR dress! This was so much fun! I felt totally comfortable in the dress. Sleeves were not tight for me. It was a tad loose in the rear but I don't have much of a butt! I might have been able to wear a two though that probably would have been too snug across the shoulders. When I ordered this dress I also ordered a dress for a black tie Thanksgiving weekend wedding and now I can't wait for it to arrive! Forgot to take the photo until I got home...so it's a bit dark. Molly the dog liked it too!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
November 10, 2014
very comfy
I have skinny arms and even the sleeves were pretty tight on me. I normally like pretty short dresses but I decided to go with something more practical for once. The length was perfect, it hit a few inches above my knees. But when I sat down because there was no stretch to the slip or dress, I kind of had to pull it up. Luckily my spanks were on the shorter side but practice sitting down to make sure your undergarments don't show! Also, because there's no stretch and the sleeves were tight, I couldn't lift my arms above my head. I was still able to dance and it was so nice wearing a dress that wasn't skin tight!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
November 10, 2014
Beautiful lace!
Beautiful lace dress! I wore it for my grandmother's 90th birthday party and it was perfectly dressy without being too much. The six was skin tight, and I couldn't breathe or sit in it. The 8 was still tight across the hips, but much better everywhere else.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 12, 2014
Perfect for an outdoor wedding in the hill country
Dress was slightly tight in the shoulders. Length was perfect. Color was beautiful
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
November 13, 2014
My first time using RTR ! It was easy to order, arrived on time, and the dress was beautiful!
This was my first time using RTR and couldn't have been more pleased! I ordered a size 8 and 10. I am usually a size 8 but went with the 10. I am a bit on the curvy side so the 10 fit better in the arms and backside and was very comfortable. It's a beautiful color too! Definitely using RTR again!! I wore this dress to the Massachusetts Hockey Hall of Fame induction and it was the perfect dress for the occasion. It would be a great dress for any occasion!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 97lbs
November 14, 2014
classic dress in a great color, good choice for petites
Classic, conservative style, nice for a fall wedding. Really loved the purple color. Could tell the dress had been worn a lot and patched up when I looked at the dress close up but when I put it on, it looked fine. Slip shows below lace when I sat down so I had to readjust. Good for shorter women (hit right above knee). Great with neutral pumps and statement necklace.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 14, 2014
Beautiful but Small sleeves
I really wish I could've worn this dress! It fit perfectly except for the sleeves :( the 2 fit the rest of my great except i couldnt get my arms through. And the 4 was a bit looser but again the sleeves had no give :( but it is a gorgeous dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
November 17, 2014
SO SMALL, no stretch!
I loved this dress online. In fact I love most of Shoshanna dresses. I was so excited for this dress with the lace and color. HOWEVER, super super tight. No stretch what so ever. I typically wear a 6 or 8 in Shoshanna dresses and I couldn't get this 10 over my butt.
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117lbs
November 17, 2014
Beautiful plum color, perfect for fall event.
Pros: the photos don't do it justice, I love the color and the lace detail was beautiful. Had an expensive feel to it. RTR was easy to work with and I love the fact you get 2 different sizes with your order. Cons: there is absolutely no stretch making it very difficult to dance. I could not raise my arms without fear of ripping. Also, when I sat down the lining would show.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
November 19, 2014
Gorgeous , flattering, comfortable to wear and dance in. I got so many compliments on the dress!
The dress was comfortable and fit well. The sleeves seemed a bit tight at first, but soon stretched out a little and were fine.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
November 20, 2014
Great for a fall wedding!
I really loved this dress-color and style were just what I was looking for for my friend's fall wedding! I would say it runs a little small, but mainly in the sleeves. I ordered a 2 and a 4 and wore the 2 because the only difference for the 4 was it was bigger in the butt and longer, didn't help the sleeve problem. Still loved it, would highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 24, 2014
Excellent first RTR experience!
My first RTR experience was amazing and I can't wait for my next rental! The dress fit like a glove and was a gorgeous deep purple. The sleeves were a bit snug so probably would not have been great for a wedding where there would be lots of dancing, but was perfect for a corporate dinner I attended with my boyfriend. I highly recommend this dress and RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 28, 2014
Nice dress for a fall wedding
Fit perfectly, good dress
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
November 30, 2014
Beautiful dress in a beautiful fall color - lots of compliments
Loved this dress! As others have mentioned, it definitely ran smaller than other shoshanna dresses I've worn. The lace sleeves were very tight and I couldn't comfortably lift my arms over my head when dancing. However, the dress seemed to stretch and fit nicely as the night went on and I received a ton of compliments. The color was perfect for a fall wedding over thanksgiving weekend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 8, 2014
Got so many compliments on this dress!
Color was beautiful and dress fit like a glove. Arms are certainly a bit tight and it's hard to lift them over your head. Not uncomfortable to wear though - dress rides up a bit when sitting. My dress' lining was beginning to fray so there were little white specs randomly on the dress which was disappointing, but you couldn't notice it from afar. Overall, I had a great experience. Would definitely rent this dress or another dress from rtr again :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
December 9, 2014
Love this idea. I just had a baby so it makes it hard to shop
I love this dress but I will say the sleeves made it difficult to lift my arms up.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 10, 2014
Sophisticated!
The first time I tried this on it fit weirdly but on the night of the wedding it was like a glove! It's a very pretty dress for girls with curves. It did seem more conservative because of the sleeves, but it was still short so that I didn't feel too conservative. Would definitely recommend for a conservative or chilly fall wedding!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
November 2, 2013
Back up option - wound up being perfect
This dress was great, super comfortable and longer than I expected - very satisfied
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
November 3, 2013
This dress is the perfect color and weight for a crisp Fall Wedding. I received so many compliments!
This was my first RTR rental and I will definitely be a repeat customer. The dress came on time and fit me like a dream, I'm normally a size 2 and that was the right size for me. I'm also very petite so the length was perfect for a conservative Fall wedding. I took off one star because the dress smelled lightly of moth balls when it came out of the box, however, I just left it hanging in my bathroom overnight and the smell went away. Also, the sleeves were a little snug when I lifted both arms above my head. Fortunately, the length of the dress on me kept me flashing everyone when I got twirled on the dance floor. The lace was thick and well-cut so the dress gave me a flattering silhouette. I was also able to drink and eat all night because the forgiving plum color. I attached a collage of different photographs from different cameras to show how beautifully the dress appears on film. So many people stopped me to compliment on the dress and asked me where I got it. The best part of all, an ex of mine was also a wedding guest and he couldn't keep his eyes off of me all night. Sometimes all you need is a gorgeous dress and killer heels to make you feel like a million bucks. Thanks, RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
November 10, 2013
Perfect fit, gorgeous color and lots of compliments!
The dress fit true to size and is very comfortable and the plum color is even better in person! This dress is perfect for a fall wedding! This dress is already totally glamourous and all it needs is a statement necklace to complete it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
November 11, 2013
Loved this dress!
True to size, sleeves are narrow so if you have larger upper arms size up! It is short when you sit down so I wore tights. It photographs lighter than it is in person. Great dress!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
November 11, 2013
The perfect dress for a fall wedding!
I ordered the 6 and 8. The 8 was definitely more comfortable as there is no give to the dress at all, but I wore the 6 because it looked better and fit a little better in the waist area. The arms of the dress were a little tight but not uncomfortable to the point I didn't want to wear it. I paired it with a black belt around the waist and black heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
November 24, 2013
Beautiful Color
This is a gorgeous dress which is well made. It is a deep blackberry purple. I think it fits true to size, I wear a 0 in all clothing and the zero was perfect. There is NO STRETCH to the fabric at all so the arms were a little stiff/limited movement. I just think that's how it has to be, if the arms were bigger it wouldn't have looked right. Loved the dress and got lots of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 26, 2013
Great dress! Fits all in the right places for perfect flattery.
This dress was great! I rented this for a book launch party for a friend of mine. Fit really well and was true to size. I am normally a size four and I ordered a 4 and 2 (wishful thinking in case it ran big) but the four was perfect. The only thing I would say, was the arms were a bit tight, but I do have broad shoulders. I received a lot of compliments on the dress the whole night and loved the way it wore and felt on me. I would definitely rent this again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
December 8, 2013
Simple, figure-flattering dress
This was a great dress! I wore it to my fiance's company Christmas party and received so many compliments on it. The fit is extremely flattering, and with the right accessories the dark purple color is cool enough to keep the lace-and-sleeves look from seeming fusty or overly mature. Would recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 15, 2013
Great party dress - runs small!
Great dress. I am normally a 4/6, but after reading the reviews, I ordered a 6 and 8 given that my upper arms are not the slimmest area on my body. Everyone was right! I ended up wearing the 8 because the circulation in my arms would have been cut off in the 6 - and while the 6 fit better everywhere else, the 8 certainly wasn't hanging off of me, which was a relief. The good news is, if you're like me and a little self-conscious about your upper arms, the non-stretching lace does a good job of making them look slimmer - even if you're wearing a bigger size than usual. Overall, the dress worked great and I got a lot of compliments at my company holiday party.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 17, 2013
I got so many compliments, everyone loved it!
Normally I wear anywhere from a 6-10, thank god I got the 8 and 10 because the 8 was very snug. I ended up wearing the 10. The arms were slightly tight and the waist was slightly too big, but I wore a small black belt and it looked great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 18, 2013
Better for work than a party
This dress is pretty, just a bit boring. The color and fabric are great but it wasn't fun enough for a wedding in my opinion. Seemed more like something to wear to a work event. I did feel it ran a bit large.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 19, 2013
Great dress! Lots of compliments!
This is a great dress! it runs true to size, i normally wear a size 4 but the arms were tight on me so i went for the 6 which was a little big, but also a little more comfortable. The dress is much more purple than the picture shows...it photographs beautifully, I got compliments all night long. Great pick!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
November 6, 2014
Beautiful dress to wear to a fall wedding!
I loved the look of this dress. However, this dress is definitely NOT for those who love to work out. The lace sleeves were so tight on my arms, I could barely lift my arms up to dance! I only wore the bigger size (2) because the sleeves were a tiny bit bigger. It would be such a perfect dress if the lace sleeves were bigger.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
January 3, 2014
I wore this dress out for New Years Eve and absolutely loved it!
This dress fit beautifully and was very slimming. I wore it with black tights and black booties, which was perfect for a cold New Years night. The only thing about this dress is that I am 5'3" so it was a bit longer than I would have liked.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
January 10, 2014
TINY, TIGHT ARMS
I ordered this dress as my main choice, and at the last second, threw in the Trina Turk Portrait of Elegance Shift as my backup, despite the fact that they appeared almost identical. Boy am I glad I did! The sleeves of the Davina dress were so tight and restricting I couldn't even lift my arms up past 90 degrees - hugging someone would have been out of the question. I recommend the Trina Turk dress over this one.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 17, 2014
Ordered as backup, looked amazing.
I was not sure on this dress, but rented as backup for my brother's wedding. I was nervous about the sizing, this dress fit like it was made special for me. This dress looked amazing on. I was speechless. I tried on my other dress and didn't even bother to zip it because it didn't compare to this one. I loved it and it was absolutely perfect for a fall wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 19, 2014
Beautiful color, fantastic lace!
Wore this to my brothers rehearsal dinner. The color is amazing and the lace is classy, I wore it end of December so I liked that it had sleeves. Great for a curvier body type, nice length for something like a wedding or a
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
February 10, 2014
Very pretty dress. Beautiful color. Flattering.
True to size. Sleeves a bit tight, but loosened as the night went on. It is a flattering fit. I would wear again.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 188lbs
February 14, 2014
Arms run small
This dress was absolutely gorgeous but I couldn't wear it because by the time I fit my bust into the dress, there was no space for my arms. I'm not terribly chesty (36C) but this just didn't work for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
February 20, 2014
Lovely dress for an office party.
Perfect cut and length for small-boned and small-chested petite. (I weighed about 105 when I rented the dress.)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
February 24, 2014
The color of this dress is beautiful. Pictures do not do it justice. Forms great to your body!
I chose the 4 and the 6. The 4 fit the best while standing. The 6 was just too baggy around my waste. The sleeve were a little tight but nothing to make me wish I had a different dress. I wore this to a wedding so I was up walking around and dancing all night. This dress was perfect for a winter wedding. Beautiful color!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 6, 2014
Perfect dress for a charity auction.
I wore this dress to a charity auction and just loved it - I got compliments all night. It's an event that's on the more casual end of cocktail for the most part (there were a couple of pairs of jeans even), and this dress was just right for looking polished without making me feel overdressed. I usually wear an 8 or 10 and the 10 ended up being a perfect fit. I did mark the dress as firing true to size but if you're in between is probably round up. I would recommend shape wear with this dress just because that's usually standard procedure with sheath dresses like this for me. I was also a little skeptical of the high neckline since I'm busty and that can be not very flattering, but there was plenty of room to accommodate my chest and the waist seam still fell in the right place. Most of all I loved that I could wear any bra I wanted!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 7, 2014
Elegant but not crazy formal
This dress was definitely fitted and more of a purple than it appears in this photo. It was a smashing success at the benefit gala I attended.
See more reviews:
2 / 8

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×