Shoshanna

Cypress Lace Shift

$99 to buy
$395 retail
Stylist Notes

Attending a bridal shower or rehearsal dinner? This Shoshanna lace shift is the perfect style to look feminine chic for the party! Shown here with Lulu Frost's Silver Drift Cuff.

Also available in grey.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for hips, curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch

The arms on this dress are tight

GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Navy synthetic Lace (60% Cotton, 23% Rayon, 17% Nylon). Three quarter length sleeves with ruching detail. Boat neckline. A-line body. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% Acetate). 36”inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
459 reviews
Fit
Large
(13)
True to Size
(296)
Small
(122)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
January 29, 2013
Little snugg for a Shift
I generally wear a size 6 or 8 depending on the cut, however, I found that even the size 8 in this dress fit a little too snug. The dress itself was lovely but I was a little disappointed with the quality and feel of the material. It looked a bit cheap. I was also extremely disappointed that I was UNABLE to wear this dress (neither the 6 nor 8) and that I was unable to get a refund since another completely different item in my order, for a completely different event, did fit. Because one item in my order fit, it ws considered a "successful" order (despite that the fact that I was left without a dress for my 2nd event, and ended up recycling an old bridesmaid dress). To overnight me a different size would have cost me the entire rental cost.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 30, 2013
Beautiful lace dress but very short!
I rented this dress as my primary dress to wear to a wedding in December. It is beautiful; however, it is extremely short. I am 5'8, and it looked distastefully short on me, so much so that even with tights, it was inappropriate. Luckily, with RTR's great backup rate, I wore my backup Nicole Miller dress and loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
January 31, 2013
Cute dress, great fit, lots of compliments!
I am 33", 27", 38" 127 pounds, 5'3" and wore the size 4 (I'm usually a 2 or 4 in Shoshanna dresses). This dress, like other posters have said runs short but it's only an issue if you have to bend down to pick something up and I did have to make sure that, when sitting, it was covering my tush b/c it's that short. Looks great on but I'm glad it was a dark restaurant that I was in b/c in daylight or any light for that matter, you can see the dress is a bit run down. There was a small hole in the ruching in the right sleeve and the bottom lace was a little worn looking/frayed. But hey, for one night, I felt pretty and loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Body type: Athletic
January 31, 2013
Fit perfectly. I felt amazing wearing it! Would buy!
Be careful about bending over, short dress.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
February 1, 2013
Not great for curvy girls.
I ordered this in a 10 and a 12, and the 12 was waaaay too tight in my chest. So glad I ordered another style. It is short, especially if you have a butt and a chest.
MartinaFebruary 10, 2014
I ordered the same 10 and 12 and there was absolutely NO give in the bust area. 36D so I guess I am busty and it was short but I like short. Wished I ordered another style ;-( It was a beautiful dress. Oh and the arms barely fit -- so true they were tight.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 2, 2013
This dress is incredible!
I was afraid that it wouldn't fit my hips (three children) but it fit like a glove! It is classy and sexy. The color is gorgeous. I got MANY MANY compliments and felt like an absolute doll in this dress. I think it is worn best with pantyhose because it keeps the material from clinging to your legs and doesn't draw up. I want to buy this dress, it really is an incredible dress that can be dressed up or down depending on occasion.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
February 4, 2013
This dress was fabulous and I received SO many compliments during the night! Loved it!
The dress itself fit great and was very flattering. It does a little to help you out if the belly is your problem area, but it's not completely forgiving there either. I wore it to a college date function, so it was okay that it was a little short. All in all it was a great dress though and I highly recommend it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 6, 2013
GREAT DRESS
Seems to run a bit big. I ended up wearing the 2. I loved the dress so much that I bought it online the next day. Very classy yet sexy with the short length
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
February 15, 2013
This dress was perfect for Valentine's Day dinner and my boyfriend loved it!
This dress is gorgeous in person and is both classic and sexy . Perfect for the occasion! I did have to be careful getting in and out of the car though because it's quite short. I normally wear a 4 and the 4 in this fit perfectly. True to size. I'm definitely going on the hunt to buy something just like this. Loved it!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
February 18, 2013
Great dress! I received tons of compliments all night.
The shoulders were a bit big. I'm not sure if that was the way it was designed, though it didn't hang well on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
February 20, 2013
Beautiful for the occasion!
I rented this for my 30th birthday party. I am 5'0" and I always lose the length effect of the dress b/c of my short stature, but this dress fit perfectly and it was just short enough. It definitely hugged me a little bit more than pictured on the model as I am athletic/curvy/post-baby. I rented a 4 and a 6 and they basically fit the same, except for the length and arms (fit tight). I wore it with black tights and black pumps as it was snowing the night of the party. Overall, and awesome dress and I would rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 23, 2013
Beautiful dress!
I ordered this dress for an cocktail engagement party and it was the perfect dress for the event! I received so many compliments on the dress and it was very flattering. I usually wear a size 6 and that is what I ended up wearing. The size 4 fit, but it wasn't as comfortable and it was bunching a little around the hips. This dress doesn't have too much give in it, so keep that in mind when ordering a size. I am 5'3 and it was a few inches above my knee which was perfect for what I was looking for, so if you are taller than 5'5, I would be careful with the length of this dress! It is a beautiful deep blue, and I paired it with nude heels and gold accessories. Will rent again for sure!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 24, 2013
Rehearsal Dinner
Beautiful dress, but it was a bit short for the occasion (our rehearsal dinner). It felt a bit small in the hips on my hourglass shape, but got many compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
February 26, 2013
Classy, yet Sexy!
This is my most favorite dress, I bought it after renting it. I'm 5'3" and the length was super flirty but because of the more conservative top, it works great. Very Kate Middleton gone wild ;)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 2, 2013
RTR is wonderful, super convenient and great customer service.
This dress was so pretty! I wore this for a housewarming party I had in January. The dress was a tad short, so I wore the 8 because the 6 as super, super short! I also had to wear black opaque tights with it, but the dress fit great and was so flattering. I got many compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 9, 2013
I wore this for my rehearsal dinner in December and it was perfect. I got so many compliments!
The fit was true to size and so comfortable. The dress is a beautiful blue and very soft for a lace dress. I loved this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
March 10, 2013
Felt great and confident in it
It came in on time. I have a hard time choosing clothing because I am petite, and full busted so I have to dress the biggest part of me often making me look a lot bigger. This dress was a perfect dress for me because it fit my bust but didnt look bad on the rest of me. I love that I had two size options to choose from. I went with the 12 so I would feel comfortable, the 10 was a little too fitted for the wedding. I got so many compliments in this dress. I was able to dance the night away and feel confident I looked great doing so.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
March 11, 2013
Cute!
This dress was cute...not a show stopper though. I wore it to a rehearsal dinner this winter and the sleeves were perfect and the lace was right on trend. Thanks RTR!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
March 13, 2013
I wore this dress as a bridesmaids dress in my cousins wedding.
This dress is not made for someone with bigger hips and butt. I ordered a 4 and a 6.... the 6 fit better in the hip and bottom area but the top was way too big for me since I have a smaller chest. I had to wear the 4, it didnt look bad but it was very short and tight on my hips so when I walked it rode up ALOT. It did photograph well, and I did get many compliments on it. Overall I was pleased with it, but would recommend it for someone with a smaller bottom.... if u look like Kim K dont order this dress! :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
March 18, 2013
Perfect color to coordinate with my friends' wedding. Felt great & had a blast wearing this dress!
The fit: I was afraid it would cling to much to my mid-section- it did not. I didn't wear body contouring undergarments. The arms were not to tight & I loved that it had the snappys for my bra straps so I didn't mess with those all night! Pros- I love the lace and the color. Then length was sexy enough but the neckline and sleeves made it conservative for this wedding. Cons- The bottom hem was a little tattered. Couldn't tell unless I pointed it out. I would love to rent this dress again!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 18, 2013
Comfortable and chic- loved it!
Loved this dress- very flattering and fun to wear. It is definitely a bit short, so I was glad I had tights on.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
March 24, 2013
First formal night out with the husband since having my first baby
I ordered sizes 0 and 2. The size 0 fit, but was a little tight through the bust and shoulders. Length was also a little too short for the type of event that we were attending. The size 2 was more comfortable and was the size I chose to wear. The color was a nice dark navy blue. Looked great with black tights and patent leather black heels. Great first experience with RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
March 27, 2013
This dress is absolutely stunning
The bottom hem is to die for. The length on me (I am 5'4") is short, but not too short. I love the lace so much and the color is splendid. I loved it so much, I am buying it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
April 7, 2013
Great dress! Wore it for Easter Mass!
It was tight fitting; I loved the sleeves of the dress. They were a shear lace and the dress had a lining. It was a bit short on me I wish I had the next size to see; but it was lovely!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 7, 2013
This dress was amazing!
This dress was beautiful and I received tons of compliments. It is sexy without being too revealing. The color is classic and looks great in photos. I normally wear a 4 and this dress fit just right. I actually chose to get the 6 as my 'extra' size and wish I had ordered a size down instead because the dress is a little loose in the stomach. I agree with the other ladies, it IS short, but I wanted that and loved it! My experience with RTR was great. My dress arrived on time and in great condition, return was no hassle. I will definitely use RTR again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 8, 2013
This dress is conservative enough for a wedding but also fun. I felt great in it!
The dress fits true to size... I would get a size bigger for the second size just because it is pretty short. Ladies - be sure to wear hose with this one (especially if you plan to be dancing)!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 8, 2013
my go-to dress!
This dress is amazing! It fits true to size and is really just stunning. Hangs beautifully and looks amazing - looks super short on the model but it's not scandalously short. I wore it to a work party, complete with dinner & dancing and it was appropriately short. I have since used it as my backup dress for a number of other events and ended up wearing it a couple of times.... now if only i could find this dress for purchase...
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110lbs
April 8, 2013
THE PERFECT SPRING LACE DRESS
I rented this dress for my Sad's Surprise 60th Birthday with over 100 of our family and friends attending. I got SO many compliments on my dress all night. I ended up wearing the size 2 because the size 4 was a little loose in my rib/ chest area. The dress was definitely slightly on the shorter side but not enough that I felt insecure and didn't want to wear. I wish I could own this dress- always the dilemma with RTR!! I would definitely recommend this dress!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 8, 2013
i loved that this dress made me feel modern and classic at the same time
i loved the way this looked. the sleeves were a bit tight, but other than that, it fit true to size. beautiful!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
April 15, 2013
Perfect dress to feel sexy and elegant!
I ordered both the 2 and 4, the 2 fit well, but it was pretty short on me (I'm only 5'2) so I went with the size 4 which fit me perfect- not too tight, not too short. I wore nude pumps and a white/gold necklace and I received compliments all night on how beautiful the dress was. I felt very elegant and sexy in this dress, so happy I chose to wear this for my aunt's wedding! RTR did it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
April 15, 2013
Too short - had to send it back.
I rented this for a trip to Vegas and unfortunately it was so short I had to send it back and get a replacement. Luckily, they sent me an alternative right to my hotel in Vegas and were very helpful throughout the process. It is a pretty dress and the material is rich looking, but it runs really small and is extremely short. If you rent this I would plan to go up at least one size.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
April 15, 2013
When my two sizes did not fit, RTR shipped (overnight) me another size free! Customer Service A+++
Fit was a bit tight throughout and rather short in length. Beautiful design and color, but the length was a major con.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 18, 2013
This was a really fun sexy dress, but since I ordered I back up I went with the other!
The bust was a little more fitted (and i don't usually consider myself really busty). It's short, but fun and flirty short. The more conservative neckline definitely balanced it out. The hips and waist fit great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 20, 2013
I loved this dress! The reviews were spot on about fit.
The dress was slightly tight in my chest - I'm a 34 D but other than that loved it!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105lbs
April 22, 2013
Perfect if You're Petite!
This was my first RTR experience and it was amazing! It's hard to find a short dress that fits me well since I'm petite and unless it's a petite size, it's almost always too long. It was great to read reviews from girls my height/weight so I knew what to expect when I got the dress. I normally wear a 0 but I ended up wearing the 2. The 0 fit better but it was just too short for the wedding I was attending. The 2 still fit well, just looser, which was probably a good thing given the 5 course meal that was served!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
April 22, 2013
Felt pretty and elegant
I wore this dress to a party where my husband was being honored; a lot of people were coming from work so I wanted to look special but not stand out too much. The color and 3/4 sleeves made me feel comfortable among the sea of suits, but the lace and cut made me feel pretty; this dress emphasizes the legs and de-emphasizes the midsection, which works for this mom of 3. I thought it ran a little small, I usually wear an 8-10 but went with the 12 so it would be looser given that it was a work function. I was very happy with the dress and would wear it again!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
April 30, 2013
Beautiful lace!
Definitely runs small. I normally wear a 2 or a 0, and the 4 fit me best. Very short, but still classy because of the quarter-length sleeves. I wore it with nude pumps and got tons of compliments. Great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 143lbs
May 13, 2013
Love this dress!
Short, but ok for me. Beautiful, easy to wear dress. Love it!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
May 22, 2013
I really liked this dress!
The color + shape were very pretty in person!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
June 1, 2013
Giving a toast for my best friend's wedding
I wore this for my best friend's rehearsal dinner, where I had to give a speech. It was a sort of casual affair, but I wanted to look nice, knowing I'd be filmed and whatnot. It fit really well, is loose enough that it didn't cling, and was just short enough to be sexy without being inappropriate. I have a little bit of a belly, but long legs in proportion to my torso and didn't feel self conscious in it at all. I really loved this dress and would totally buy it if it wasn't so expensive. It's both formal enough for a serious event, and fun enough to wear out afterwards. I did notice a tiny tear in one of the seams though, but it wasn't a problem.
See more reviews:
3 / 12

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×