Shoshanna

Cypress Lace Shift

$99 to buy
$395 retail
Stylist Notes

Attending a bridal shower or rehearsal dinner? This Shoshanna lace shift is the perfect style to look feminine chic for the party! Shown here with Lulu Frost's Silver Drift Cuff.

Also available in grey.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for hips, curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch

The arms on this dress are tight

GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Navy synthetic Lace (60% Cotton, 23% Rayon, 17% Nylon). Three quarter length sleeves with ruching detail. Boat neckline. A-line body. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% Acetate). 36”inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
459 reviews
Fit
Large
(13)
True to Size
(296)
Small
(122)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 9, 2014
Darker in person but pretty dress!

The dress was perfect for a bridal shower! I went with the 4 (instead of the 2) because as stated the dress runs a bit small, it is also on the shorter size. I am 5'4 and even with the bigger size I felt like in needed to wear flats because of the length (I could have done heels for a party/out on town, etc). Overall the dress was awesome and the whole process with Rent The Runway is amazing. Just size up for this one - I normally go with a 0 in dresses is stores like j. Crew/loft/limited so happy I rented the 2/4 with this one!!!!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 12, 2014
The compliments didnt stop!

I wore this for my bridal shower, changing it up from the conventional white. I couldn't have been happier. GORGEOUS blue dress, lace looked expensive, and the perfect, mid-thigh length. Definitely one of my fave's so far!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
March 12, 2014
Way too short for me but super cute!

Short for me 5'4" so I didn't wear it.

Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 38
March 14, 2014
RTR has amazing customer service.

This is a beautiful dress. It's shorter than it looks in pics. I'm 5'2 and could not lift my arms in the Size 2! I usually wear a 2 or 4! RTR is amazing and is overnighting me a sz 4! Hoping it fits (a bit longer!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32F
Body type: Full Bust
March 23, 2014
Having a beautiful outfit to wear to my friend's 50th bday party

I'm larger in the bust than the 32D listed in my RTR profile, and this dress, though sexy and beautiful, was actually a bit small in the bust. I had a hard time zipping it up at first and felt somewhat restricted all evening. Nevertheless, it's a great dress and I got a ton of compliments!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
March 25, 2014
Pretty Lace

I usually wear an 8 in Shoshanna (6 in regular clothes) and I had to go up to the 12 in this! It is small and short but if you order up in size it becomes a true sheath and is very cute and comfortable. I wore it to a baby shower with a colorful necklace to dress it down but it is very versatile. I received a ton of compliments!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 1, 2014
I loved this dress! Definitely super flattering and really sweet-looking.

The fit was a little small, and this dress was SUPER short, however I'm 5'8" so a lot of dresses are short on me. I also found that the bust area was a bit too small, but that was fine because this wasn't a va va voom dress if that makes any sense. Definitely get this dress for the price! I wore it with black tights and leather heeled booties.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
April 7, 2014
Cute, but too much leg for a wedding.

Loved the dress but it was hugging my curves and super short. I would have worn it if it did one or the other, but both was a little too much for me to wear to a wedding.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
April 10, 2014
Lots of compliments! Very flattering and classy.

The dress runs small, so go a size up. I'm usually a 2, but it was too short (I'm only 5'2'') and too tight. The 4 fit perfectly. It is a form fitting dress, so spanks are recommended. The lace detail is beautiful. I wore a necklace since it went up a little higher on me than the model. I loved the sleeves!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
April 12, 2014
Perfect for my engagement photos!

I love love love this dress! It helped make my engagement pictures turn out PERFECT!! I wore the 2 because the 0 was way too short. The 2 was pretty short too, but it looked great with my cowboy boots. Highly recommend renting this dress, I will most likely rent this for a second time soon!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
April 14, 2014
Loved the lace and length

Definitely fit small around the bust, but I'm large chested. I ended up going two sizes because I was uncomfortable with the length and how tight it was around my arms but the 12 fit perfectly. I got tons of compliments and I felt super comfortable all evening long. I would definitely rent this again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
April 17, 2014
Beautiful color and fit!

I rented this dress for a country concert and paired with cowboy boots. The 8 fit but was very short! I went with the 10 and got compliments all night by strangers! The color was gorgeous. It did ride up a bit but other than that,, it was perfect. I would recommend and rent again! RTR has been amazing! Can't wait for my next rental.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
April 19, 2014
Simple, Classic, Elegant

I wore this dress to Easter brunch at a country club. It was perfect: simple but elegant. I was concerned about the length because I'm 5'8", which is a height that is often in between wearing regular sizes and wearing tall sizes. As other reviewers had mentioned, this dress does run small and very short. I wore it with flats and was fine, but would definitely caution others about the length. Size wise I usually wear a 2 or 4, and the 4 did fit, but I ended up wearing the 6 for the extra length. The 6 was still fitted enough to compliment my figure, and, as there is no stretch in the fabric, I was particularly grateful for the extra room after eating large portions. The dress was also tight on the bust, so larger chested women might want to avoid this one. Overall it is a very pretty dress, is convenient to dress up or down, but runs quite small and is probably best for more petite figures.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
April 25, 2014
Great dress -- beautiful color!

After reading other reviews on this dress, I chose sizes 0 and 2. The 2 was already more fitted than I expected for a sheath-style dress, so I didn't even try the 0. I would have liked to try the 4 just for comparison's sake, but the 2 worked fine. I would suggest sizing up for your second choice. The color of the dress is beautiful and photographs well; it's brighter in person than on the model. It is short -- I had to be a little careful about raising my arms when dancing! I wore the dress with nude shoes and a coral necklace. I was very happy with this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
April 29, 2014
I wore this dress for my engagement pictures and it was perfect!

The fit was snug. I rented a 2 and a 4 but ended up having to wear the 4 so it would fit better up top. The hem is short, which worked for my 5' frame when standing but it rode up a bit when I sat down. Overall, it was a comfortable, flattering dress that I would rent again.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
April 30, 2014
The dress is beautiful but tight around the chest.

I have a small bust and wore my regular size (6). The dress smooshed my small boobs down (36B) but fit perfectly everywhere else. I used inserts to make my chest look like they weren't taped down and it did help. Besides that, everyone loved my dress, and I did too.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 138lbs
May 6, 2014
No bueno

I rented this for my daughter's baptism, 3 months post partum. I rented the size 4 and my second selection was the size 6. I could have probably got into the 8 a bit more comfortable. I thought I read some reviewes saying that the dress wasn't form fitting, however, I found it to be ivery snug. I tried the 6 with Spanx on and it barely fit. Luckily I had time to run out and buy a dress before my event.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
May 12, 2014
The dress was perfect!

I was a little wary renting a dress as I'm really short & picky but the dress actually worked out perfectly. I originally ordered another dress and got an email 2 days before my event saying that the two sizes that I ordered were damaged beyond repair ,and I have to order another dress. I was a bit upset but customer service was extremely helpful and they said that I can order any dress regardless of price to make up for it. I normally wear a 2 but they only had a size 4 so I ordered the 4 and a different dress in a size 2 and 4. I'm so glad that I got the 4 because it fit perfectly. This dress runs a bit small. I got tons of compliments all night and everyone kept asking me where I got the dress. I will definitely use RTR again.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 15, 2014
Used for engagement photos

I really loved this dress, but I felt like it made me look bigger than I was in my pictures. I'm usually a 6, but went up a size and wore the 8 because it was a little longer and easier to move in. The 6 was way too short and really tight. Easy dress to wear many occasions and I felt great in it.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
May 20, 2014
I did not end up wearing this dress.

The fabric on this dress felt cheaper than I expected. It also was much shorter/tighter than I expected. Did not fit well.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
May 22, 2014
I wore this for my cousin's fiance's wedding shower in April. Lots of compliments!

The 6 was so snug I couldn't pull it on, but the 8 was comfortable. It was definitely a bit short, but I am short so I appreciated that.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
June 21, 2014
Dress was incredibly comfortable. Great formal look without the discomfort.

Sizes run small. Dress length was great for me, but I can see how it may be short for taller women.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
July 2, 2014
Gorgeous Dress

Didn't get to wear this dress. No stretch at all. I'm very busty, rented both 8 and 10 but both came like they were just the same size. They both fit except in the chest area. Won't zip up so I had to do a last minute change and RTR came thru with my dress replacement on the day of the event.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
July 23, 2014
Gorgeous lace!

The dress is a gorgeous, rich navy blue. It definitely runs smaller than most Shoshanna dresses that I've rented, and it is short! If you'll be sitting a lot, I'd suggest going a size up or consider renting a different dress. The length was great for standing, however, and dancing as well.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
August 11, 2014
husband likes it on me

While I love the dress, it just doesn't fit right on my body. It makes me look fat. The length is perfect and this could be worn well during fall or winter...otherwise it will be very hot to wear during summertime.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
August 31, 2014
Didn't wear.

It is a beautiful dress, but the 6 and 8 were both too small around my chest and stomach. A few more crutches to burn some belly fat and it would be perfect! Length is great and super elegant. I usually wear a 6, 5"4, 34C and 135 lbs. Again, if you don't carry weight in belly or have a larger bust you should be just fine! I plan to order it again to wear once I get fitter.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
September 17, 2014
Perfect for party :)

Very short. I'm. 5'9 and it was a little too short, however was for a party and ended up working out.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
September 22, 2014
Loved the dress but neither size fit me.

Loved the dress but neither size fit me. Just had a baby and I must be off on my measurements. Neither 10 nor 12 fit. The stomach area in this dress is not forgiving but it is really pretty, very classic. Would like to rent again when I shed a few pounds.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 17, 2012
I received so many comments on this dress. Was a perfect dress to wear to my work holiday party.

It was very short but tights made it appropriate. Loved the color and the lace overlay.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
October 17, 2014
I'm usually a 6, but both the 6 and 8 were too short and tight. I had to return this.

Super pretty dress but didn't fit me. Was a major bummer, but oh well! Still love rtw!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
October 20, 2014
I wore this for a bridal shower and felt very glamorous!!!

The fit seemed a bit smaller than normal but while I usually wear a size 0 the 2 fit perfectly!!! Loved it! Very easy to dress up!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
October 22, 2014
Perfect for a fall wedding!

Although I was in love with the style of this dress and the beautiful lace detail, I found that the dress ran a bit small and was definitely on the shorter side. I am 5'8" and I had a little trouble sitting down without feeling exposed. Thankfully, I brought a pashmina scarf with me as a shall and was able to drape that over my legs, especially during the chilly outdoor ceremony, for a little extra coverage. Overall though I loved the look of the dress. I would DEFINITELY size up. I usually evenly toss between size 4 and 6 and absolutely needed the 6 this time if only for the little bit of extra length. This dress was a bit more fitted around the bust and hips as well so if you are looking for the 'shift' style I wouldn't recommend it unless you plan on sizing up.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
November 3, 2014
One of our good friends got married and this dress was perfect for a fall wedding.

I got a lot of compliments on this dress but it def ran small and it was MUCH shorter than pictured on the model. Also, because it is so fitted, the dress rides up when you sit and if you have a larger chest, it will be very tight. But the dress itself was very pretty, I just wished I ordered a size up.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
November 29, 2014
Awesome dress but not for big hips

The dress was beautiful but for girls with bigger hips or a booty, it's a snug fit! I felt like it kept riding up all night so wasn't as comfortable but I got lots of compliments otherwise!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 9, 2014
Short!

I wore this for a charity auction, and I had to wear the size 8 because the 6 was scandalously short. I am only 5'6 and I couldnt have bent over in the 6. The 8 fit fine however and it was a very pretty dress. Great color and details on the sleeves are nice

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
December 18, 2014
Classy dress, perfect for attending a fall wedding!

I got a lot of compliments on this dress. I loved the fit, the sleeves were a little tight. The dress runs slightly small, I usually wear a 4 and wore a 6 in this dress. It was comfortable, a bit on the shorter side. Overall I enjoyed wearing this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 133lbs
December 21, 2014
Unfortunately I didn't wear it :(

If you are busty, I do not recommend this dress because it is too tight in the bust area.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
December 23, 2014
pretty dress, not good for busty women

I rented this dress for my company Christmas party and had such high hopes. The dress was beautiful and fit so well except around my chest. I'm a 36 dd and a size 5 on the bottom, so this dress was major uni-boob on me. If you are large chested and smaller on the bottom avoid this dress. I should have known better than to get a high neckline so this is really my fault. Just bummed it was my first rtr experience. Hopefully for nye I get it right.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122lbs
December 27, 2014
So-So Didn't end up wearing

Felt the dress was a bit snug across the shoulders-- it is very short. Needed tights to make work appropriate. Photos make dess appear to have black lace overlay--- it is not black all blue.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
January 6, 2015
Very cute and flattering - too short

I got this dress for a NYE wedding or the dinner rehearsal. I got a size 2 and 4 and the 2 ended up fitting really well. It was very cute and flattering, but I ended up not wearing it because even though I'm 5'2, the dress was pretty short for me (I could barely bend over). With tights, it could potentially be fine.

See more reviews:
3 / 12

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×