Shoshanna

Cypress Lace Shift

$30 rental
$395 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Attending a bridal shower or rehearsal dinner? This Shoshanna lace shift is the perfect style to look feminine chic for the party! Shown here with Lulu Frost's Silver Drift Cuff.

Also available in grey.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for hips, curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch

The arms on this dress are tight

GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for hips, curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch

The arms on this dress are tight

GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy synthetic Lace (60% Cotton, 23% Rayon, 17% Nylon). Three quarter length sleeves with ruching detail. Boat neckline. A-line body. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% Acetate). 36”inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

405 reviews

Fit
Small 109
True to Size 273
Large 12
Photos 204
Hazel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 7, 2014

A simple but elegant dress for a wedding I attended in Austin!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ended up wearing a size 8 instead of my usual size 6. Both fit, but the 8 was just more comfortable. The top part of the dress runs a little tight, but I may have bigger shoulders too. Previous reviews about length were true, it does run pretty short. Overall it was pretty comfortable, I spent the whole day and into the night with that dress from walking down the aisle as part of the bridal party to dancing the night away.
Marci
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Mar 9, 2014

Darker in person but pretty dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The dress was perfect for a bridal shower! I went with the 4 (instead of the 2) because as stated the dress runs a bit small, it is also on the shorter size. I am 5'4 and even with the bigger size I felt like in needed to wear flats because of the length (I could have done heels for a party/out on town, etc). Overall the dress was awesome and the whole process with Rent The Runway is amazing. Just size up for this one - I normally go with a 0 in dresses is stores like j. Crew/loft/limited so happy I rented the 2/4 with this one!!!!!
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Mar 11, 2014

Love the fit!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Runs pretty true to size. I was a bit nervous as dresses like this tend to be too wide and long on me but the 2 was a good length. If you're tall and petite this may be a tad short. I'm 5'2, 119, fairly curvy and athletic. I could have worn the zero, however i felt it was a bit too "sexy" for the event I was attending. Great dress, very happy. :-)
BmoreSGF
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Mar 23, 2014

Having a beautiful outfit to wear to my friend's 50th bday party

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I'm larger in the bust than the 32D listed in my RTR profile, and this dress, though sexy and beautiful, was actually a bit small in the bust. I had a hard time zipping it up at first and felt somewhat restricted all evening. Nevertheless, it's a great dress and I got a ton of compliments!
Callie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 7, 2014

I got so many compliments on this dress! I loved it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It fit perfect! Definitely a mini dress and that is why I went with the size 4
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Apr 10, 2014

Lots of compliments! Very flattering and classy.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress runs small, so go a size up. I'm usually a 2, but it was too short (I'm only 5'2'') and too tight. The 4 fit perfectly. It is a form fitting dress, so spanks are recommended. The lace detail is beautiful. I wore a necklace since it went up a little higher on me than the model. I loved the sleeves!
Lindsay
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Apr 14, 2014

Loved the lace and length

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Definitely fit small around the bust, but I'm large chested. I ended up going two sizes because I was uncomfortable with the length and how tight it was around my arms but the 12 fit perfectly. I got tons of compliments and I felt super comfortable all evening long. I would definitely rent this again!
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 15, 2014

Wore it for a wedding and it was prefect.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was comfortable and great to dance the night away!
Tiffany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 17, 2014

Beautiful color and fit!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for a country concert and paired with cowboy boots. The 8 fit but was very short! I went with the 10 and got compliments all night by strangers! The color was gorgeous. It did ride up a bit but other than that,, it was perfect. I would recommend and rent again! RTR has been amazing! Can't wait for my next rental.
Lauren
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 17, 2014

Stunning dress for a college formal!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit flawlessly! I always have to stick to mini length dresses because of my height, and this dress did not disappoint. I rented it for a college formal and got plenty of compliments on it. It was even comfortable for dancing. I ordered sizes 2 and 4, but liked the more snug fit of the size 2. This dress would honestly be appropriate for any occasion, from a party to a nice dinner. Very pleased with my first Rent the Runway experience!
Ellen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Apr 19, 2014

Pretty Lace!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The lace and color are even prettier in person than the picture. Consider sizing up, especially if you are wearing heels since it is pretty short. I got tons of compliments on it throughout the night!
Kristen
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Apr 24, 2014

Perfect! I wish it was mine!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was perfect for my night. I used it for homecoming, so the weather was appropriate to the light weight fit of the dress. I was worried about the size because I feared it may be too short, but I was never uncomfortable all night long. I went to homecoming with this dress, and throughout the dancing I was never embarrassed at the amount of thigh showing or worried about the length. The fit conforms to your body very well. I'm not very curvy, and it still worked great. I look forward to renting this again!
Leigh
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118 lbs
Apr 25, 2014

Great dress -- beautiful color!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
After reading other reviews on this dress, I chose sizes 0 and 2. The 2 was already more fitted than I expected for a sheath-style dress, so I didn't even try the 0. I would have liked to try the 4 just for comparison's sake, but the 2 worked fine. I would suggest sizing up for your second choice. The color of the dress is beautiful and photographs well; it's brighter in person than on the model. It is short -- I had to be a little careful about raising my arms when dancing! I wore the dress with nude shoes and a coral necklace. I was very happy with this dress!
Julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 28, 2014

I got lots of compliments on this dress and it fit well!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It fit very well! It was a little tighter than it looked in the picture. I loved it and got lots of compliments! I will be renting this dress again :)
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Apr 29, 2014

I wore this dress for my engagement pictures and it was perfect!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The fit was snug. I rented a 2 and a 4 but ended up having to wear the 4 so it would fit better up top. The hem is short, which worked for my 5' frame when standing but it rode up a bit when I sat down. Overall, it was a comfortable, flattering dress that I would rent again.
lael
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 30, 2014

The dress is beautiful but tight around the chest.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I have a small bust and wore my regular size (6). The dress smooshed my small boobs down (36B) but fit perfectly everywhere else. I used inserts to make my chest look like they weren't taped down and it did help. Besides that, everyone loved my dress, and I did too.
Emily
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
May 4, 2014

Perfect length even for a petite girl.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the dress - easy to wear, not too tight and a great length. It was a little tight in the chest but that is sort of normal for me with dresses.
Michelle
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116 lbs
May 12, 2014

The dress was perfect!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I was a little wary renting a dress as I'm really short & picky but the dress actually worked out perfectly. I originally ordered another dress and got an email 2 days before my event saying that the two sizes that I ordered were damaged beyond repair ,and I have to order another dress. I was a bit upset but customer service was extremely helpful and they said that I can order any dress regardless of price to make up for it. I normally wear a 2 but they only had a size 4 so I ordered the 4 and a different dress in a size 2 and 4. I'm so glad that I got the 4 because it fit perfectly. This dress runs a bit small. I got tons of compliments all night and everyone kept asking me where I got the dress. I will definitely use RTR again.
MariDMD
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
May 12, 2014

So Pretty!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is really cute in person, the lace is very nice and the fit was great. I am a 34D but have a small waist so it can be very difficult to find dresses that fit. It was short like everyone else said, but because there's no cleavage it's easy to get away with it.
D
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140 lbs
May 13, 2014

I loved the dress.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The one major con I had was the dress in the size 8 was too worn to wear. The bottom was frayed and stretched through the middle. Thankfully the back up 10 fit.
Lori
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
May 15, 2014

Used for engagement photos

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I really loved this dress, but I felt like it made me look bigger than I was in my pictures. I'm usually a 6, but went up a size and wore the 8 because it was a little longer and easier to move in. The 6 was way too short and really tight. Easy dress to wear many occasions and I felt great in it.
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
May 17, 2014

Great lightweight casual dress for a wedding

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore a size 0, but I think the 2 would have worked for me also. It is a bit short especially with heels. I have small arms so it was perfect for me, but be warned- not a lot of stretch in the sleeves, and the lace in one of my sleeves had actually been ripped a bit. Didn't feel overly baggy, just a nice slightly fitted look. Probably wouldn't rent this particular dress again just for fear of the condition of the lace. However, the lightweight material was great for a summer wedding! (and it was fabulous to be able to wear a normal bra!)
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Jun 3, 2014

I wore this dress to celebrate my birthday. I felt hot and like all eyes were on me. Loved the lace!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was perfect for my birthday dinner and for drinks. It was short on the bottom, which added sex appeal, but the lace sleeves I think made me look more classy. The color was awesome. I felt really comfortable wearing the dress and liked how it didn't hug my belly. It accentuated all the right areas and I would recommend this dress again.
Camilla
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Jun 7, 2014

The dress felt great.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great fit for a summer party. Got lots of compliments!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Bust size: 36D
Jun 9, 2014

Love this dress. Fit nicely, I am short and the length was greT

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was great. There was a tiny tear in the arm, but my husband said it wasn't noticeable.
Lauren
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 11, 2014

Great for engagement photos!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I really like this dress and it worked well for engagement photos. Yes, it's a little short, but it's not tight in the waist so I didn't feel like I was over-sharing my shape. I tried on the two and it fit well- room in the waist and rear, almost snug in the chest. I don't like dresses that just hang off my chest (it makes me look chubby) and this dress cut in below my chest nicely. I gave it four stars rather than five because it stretched a bit. Also, according to the guidelines from these reviews I should've been a 4-- not so! I didn't even try it on.
Kati
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 16, 2014

LOVED this dress!!!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit me like a glove. I was worried the 6 would be too small based on reviews but it seriously fit so well! Got so many compliments and the quality and design is beautiful. I highly recommend this dress!
Sohen
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103 lbs
Jun 22, 2014

This photo doesn't do justice. The dress was so gorgeous in person. Compliments were everywhere!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm 5'1 and 105lbs and a 34C I wore a 0. Fantastic fit!
taylor
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122 lbs
Jun 30, 2014

Customer service is amazing!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The fit was perfect! Qlty was excellent! Perfect dress for my brunch birthday party. Loved it!! :)
Ashley
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 1, 2014

So adorable! Perfect for my engagement pictures!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress fit perfectly and the color blue is beautiful! Nothing I would complain about with this rental. Would rent it again!
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 23, 2014

Gorgeous lace!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is a gorgeous, rich navy blue. It definitely runs smaller than most Shoshanna dresses that I've rented, and it is short! If you'll be sitting a lot, I'd suggest going a size up or consider renting a different dress. The length was great for standing, however, and dancing as well.
Kristie
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 9, 2014

Loved this dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
When I first tried it on, I thought it was a little too tight in the waist, which is a problem area for me , and that was in the larger size (size 12). But after I walked around a bit it loosened up and I ended up feeling great in it. I definitely did need the larger of the two sizes, which is one size larger than what I normally wear, so I would suggest sizing up for your second selection. Got many compliments on the dress and would definitely rent again! This was my first RTR experience, and it could not have been any easier! Will definitely use again and again!
Molly B
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Aug 31, 2014

Best dress I've ever worn

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
At first the dress was a bit snug around the chest, but after wearing for an hour or so it loosened up. It was REALLY short for how tall I am (5' 10") so you definitely have to be careful about bending over. However, I was still able to dance/move around comfortably. Overall the dress was gorgeous! Beautiful navy color and really well made! I felt awesome in it!
Aubrey
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 1, 2014

So classy and glamorous! Felt like a million bucks :)

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Went to a 5 star restaurant with my boyfriends family. I wanted something appropriate for the venue and his family but would still make me feel sexy and this dress was a perfect balance! The 8 fit but the 10 was perfect for a little wiggle room and extra length. Sitting in the dress was a bit difficult because it is soooo short but when standing its perfect. Felt the dress was much better in person than the picture, it doesn't do the lace justice. Got so many compliments and would definitely wear it again.
AriePowers
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117 lbs
Sep 3, 2014

Exactly what I wanted! Simple yet elegant.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Perfect fit. I was nervous it would be bulky but it was fit my curves just right. It might be a bit short for some gals as I have pretty short legs. Overall, it was great!
Devon
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 6, 2014

Classy and sexy dress all in one!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a wedding where I was meeting a good portion of my boyfriend's family. This dress is both classy and sexy. Since I am quite short, the length was not an issue at all. I read the reviews and many people said it runs small so you should order a size up. I ordered a 4 and a 6 since I do have a butt, and that's what others had said. I went with the 4 because the 6 would've been huge on me. I probably could have even gone with a 2. I'd say it fits pretty true to size.
Elle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 14, 2014

Beautiful dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress so much for my best friends wedding. The only complaint I have was that it was just a titch tight on my hips so the dress kept riding up. I think if I got a size larger it would have been too roomy every where else. I did get a million compliments on the dress and love the color. Very lovely.
Alexandria
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 15, 2014

evening wedding

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fits true to size. A little short, but not too short. Just couldn't bend over without flashing everyone. I was able to wear a regular bra with it which is always nice.
Alina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Sep 17, 2014

I have recently gained some weight and this dress was forgiving in all the right places...

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Good if you have nice legs as this dress is short. It is a shift dress so it is not meant to be super tight. Unfortunately, I underestimated how much weight i have gained. I should have probably worn a size 12 instead of the 10. But I ordered wrong by picking an 8 and a 10. I still got lots of compliments and it was great for my husbands birthday party. It is a beautiful navy color, a little lighter than what the model is showing.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 17, 2014

Perfect for party :)

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Very short. I'm. 5'9 and it was a little too short, however was for a party and ended up working out.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×