Shoshanna

Cypress Lace Shift

$99 to buy
$395 retail
Stylist Notes

Attending a bridal shower or rehearsal dinner? This Shoshanna lace shift is the perfect style to look feminine chic for the party! Shown here with Lulu Frost's Silver Drift Cuff.

Also available in grey.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for hips, curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch

The arms on this dress are tight

GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Navy synthetic Lace (60% Cotton, 23% Rayon, 17% Nylon). Three quarter length sleeves with ruching detail. Boat neckline. A-line body. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% Acetate). 36”inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
459 reviews
Fit
Large
(13)
True to Size
(296)
Small
(122)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 5, 2012
Unfortunately, I didn't get to wear this dress :(
When this dress arrived, I was really excited. I was a little worried about it being a bit short for a wedding, but my plan was to wear it with black tights to offset the length. I was literally walking out the door of my hotel room, when I my fiance and our friend spotted another wedding guest standing at the elevator in the same dress! Fortunately, I had brought a second option of my own and made a quick change. When we arrived at the wedding, we saw another guest in close to the same dress again (maybe the blue lace DVF?). Needless to say, this is a very popular dress (and with good reason). Next time, I might consider something less popular.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 6, 2012
Glamorous! So many compliments!
I wore this dress to my cousin's fall wedding. It was absolutely perfect. I wore it with bare legs and nude heels. I also took a chance and chose to "complete the look" with a stylist surprise accessory. They sent me the Badgley Mischka Showstopper Earrings, which I would have never picked for myself but ended up looking awesome and totally made the outfit. I wish I owned this dress, it was that good. Overall a great experience!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 131lbs
November 6, 2012
Classy
The dress came in perfect condition and fit perfectly! I am a size 4 to 6, and the 6 fit and I was very comfortable, and I received a lot of compliments all night! I loved it, and I am patiently waiting on my next dress for this weekend! :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
November 6, 2012
Super cute dress for a wedding!
I was initially concerned that this dress would be too short, and, while it was pretty short, it was well lined and with the 3/4 sleeves it all worked out. My one complaint was that the lace top layer seemed to bunch up a little bit while the lining hung down so it didn't quite have the effect in the front with the longer lace.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
November 9, 2012
Gorgeous and sophisticated
I wore this for a religious dinner event I was hosting and felt beautiful all night. Hits at the thigh at just the right place to be pretty but not frumpy and the long sheer sleeves make it sexy with the slightest hint of skin. Felt great and appropriately modest for the occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
November 12, 2012
Got so many compliments in the dress and it looked amazing in pictures!!
The details on the sleeve and at the bottom were really pretty, length was slightly short (but that's exactly what I wanted), neckline fit really well -- overall loved it!!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
November 13, 2012
Loved this dress!
I rented this dress for a dinner out in Boston for my Birthday and it was perfect! I could also see how you could dress it up for a wedding or more formal affair. I rented both 4 and 6...the 4 fit perfect and was fitted in all the right places. The 6 fit too, but was a little more roomy and didn't seem to look as good as the 4. Highly recommend this dress!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
November 13, 2012
Loved the dress, very comfortable! Lots of compliments
Fit true to size, maybe runs a tad bit small....short, but not inappropriate, just had to be careful lifting my arms up. Very comfortable, could wear normal bra with it which I liked and since it was 35degrees out that night was nice that I had something on my arms.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
November 14, 2012
The quality and customer service is great!
The 2 was a little snug, but it worked. A lot shorter than I thought though. I rented this for a work event, so I had to wear tights under the dress. If I were to rent again, I would rent a size 4.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
November 14, 2012
Classic and fun
This dress was the perfect mix of classy and fun, and I totally loved it! The lace is really elegant and I like the blue color, and although I wasn't crazy about the way the sleeves were ruches, it was such a small detail that I still felt great in this dress and would definitely recommend it for date night, brunch, a party, or anything else.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 16, 2012
Loved it.
I have a 34B bust and it was a little snug with a padded bra.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 116lbs
November 24, 2012
My first RTR experience and I LOVED it!
Loved the navy lace!!! I wore it to a fall wedding with nude heels paired with a gold and diamond bracelet. Got several compliments! Some might feel that it is a little short for a wedding, but the conservative lace sleeves balanced it well. I tried the size 2, but it was slightly loose; the size 0 fit like a glove. The only problem I had was that the lace in the front didn't always extend below the lining as pictured on the model... but otherwise, I loved my first experience with RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 145lbs
November 28, 2012
I felt box-y in it. Decided to wear my back-up instead.
The arms were not tight at all. I gave the dress 2 stars because it was beautiful just not the right for me. I think if you're a full busted skinny gal, steer clear. Looks better on body types similar to the model's.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 1, 2012
Everyone complimented this dress. It was the perfect dress for the occasion!
I am only 5 feet tall so the length was perfect for me, I wanted it to be short. Loved the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
December 3, 2012
Pretty and Classy
This was the perfect dress for a fall wedding that I attended. I ordered a 0 and a 2 because of the reviews about the sleeves being tight and the length. I wore the 0 because it fit the best with my narrow waist. Despite the sleeves being slightly snug, the dress was comfortable and very pretty!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 65
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
December 10, 2012
Got lots of compliments on the dress! It was short, but the length is what made the dress fun.
IThe dress was very easy to wear. It was a bit short when sitting down for dinner. Thank goodnes for a large napkin! I would absolutely wear this dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 12, 2012
Love the dress! I wore it to my engagement party & got a lot positive comments!
It ran true to size, but it just a touch short!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
December 14, 2012
Unfortunately it never made it to me.
RTR ended up calling the day before my delivery date to say there was a complication and this dress wouldn't make it. Looks adorable and wish I could have tried it. They did end up sending a very similar dress by the same designer it it's place.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
December 20, 2012
lots of compliments for my friend!
This dress is super small. I couldn't even get my arms in this bad boy. My much smaller friend ended up wearing this dress and it looked great on her. Definitely size up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
December 21, 2012
I wore this to my parent's anniversay party.
I love the fit - very comfortable and flattering. I have wide hips and a think middle. Felt very beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 22, 2012
Ran small
I ordered this but did not end up wearing it. The 8 ran way too small and then the 10 fit but it was not flattering and made me look boxy. It is a very pretty dress and the blue is gorgeous but I ended up with my back up dress
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 23, 2012
Great color, with a super flattering style for my curvy hips.
This was my first RTR rental and I was so happy! I ordered the 4 (my usual dress size) and the 6, and was glad I ordered up a size - because I overindulged for a few days before wearing it and the 6 was much more forgiving of my bloated belly. :) The fit is great, and worked perfectly with my narrow upper body and bigger hips. The length was perfect too, a touch shorter than other shift dresses I've worn, so a little more fun and flirty. The color isn't accurate in these pics (it's actually a very true navy/midnight blue) but I liked that you can see the detail of the lace. I got a number of compliments and would definitely rent this dress again ... or maybe buy it if I can find it on sale.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 23, 2012
Perfect Dress!!
I wore this dress for a wedding and received SO many compliments on it. It was perfect for this winter, christmas wedding. The size 2 fit better, but was so short... I had to go with the 4 for length. Either way, I was comfortable and felt so pretty in it!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
December 27, 2012
Beautiful dress. Sexy and elegant all in one.
I wore this dress to my company's holiday party. I absolutely loved it. Only complaints are that the hem on the front was a little messed up and it's a very popular style... two other girls were wearing a very similar dress. Other than that, 5 stars! Fit wise - I am 5'5", 120 lbs, with 32 C bust. The size 2 was a little short but not inappropriately so. Great fit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
December 29, 2012
Loved everything about the dress just didn't fit how i expected it to.
I'm an athletic hour glass shape that normally doesn't have too worry too much about the chest area being the cause of an ill fitting dress. However, this time, the dress fit and looked great everywhere but the bust. I should have gone one size up. I still got a lot of compliments on it though On the plus side... the dress was amazing and Rent the Runway is for sure the way to go for me in the future.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 2, 2013
“The only ‘Tenn-I-See’ is wearing a fancy blue dress,” said the overall clad man in Nashville, TN.
While I’m sure that wasn’t the first time he used that line in a Nashville Honkey Tonk, I gave him a high-five and told him he had an eye for fashion (minus the overall situation.) This piece can be dressed up or down, and on a chilly Tennessee evening I chose to pair it with tights and ankle boots for a trip up and down Broad Street. I am 5'8, and I think without tights this dress would have been pushing it on the length spectrum, so if you are tall you might want to take that into consideration. The lace on the arms also fits snug, so as long as you aren't planning on twisting and shouting this dress will work. The lace and color is beautiful!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 2, 2013
The computer personal stylists were great to ask questions about exact dress length for perfect fit
The fit was true to size. The dress is shorter than it looks on the model.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 115
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
January 2, 2013
I was told I looked like Jackie O that night....a total stretch, but something that made my day.
It was a really flattering dress! I have two little kids, and haven't het gotten back to my usual weight. I was told about the black tie event on a Tuesday, needing a dress by Friday. I had about an hour to go through the site and pick and dress and this one totally worked! It hit my stomach, flattered my legs and was very comfortable. Once again, a total hit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 3, 2013
Versatile, warm & fun
I wore this to a formal fall horse race. It was very easy to accessorize. I felt very comfortable and I loved the fabric. I wish I owned this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 4, 2013
Beautiful dress!
I rented this for a family Christmas party. When I tried it on, I realized that it DEF needed tights because it's a bit short. Other than that, it's a great dress. Note: the material has absolutely no stretch! The cuffs on the sleeves do though so you can position them where you would like them and they'll stay. Another note: the sleeves in the pic looked black to me on the site but they're essentially the same color as the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
January 5, 2013
Classy, dressed up or down
I wore this for a winter engagement party, and it was perfect! Very comfortable yet still sexy. I usually wear a 2 in dresses, though sometimes wear a 0, and the 2 was perfect for this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 7, 2013
Beautiful navy dress for a NYE wedding!
Rented the 10 and the 12, and while both fit, I decided to wear the 12 because it was slightly longer. The dress is short, but since I'm also short, it worked out well. Plus, the sleeves balance out the look. It's a beautiful deep navy color and is so comfortable to wear. Sleeves fit great and were not too constricting. Loved being able to wear a regular bra, too. This was my first RTR experience, and I am so impressed with the process. I cannot wait to rent again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 11, 2013
Wonderful rehearsal dinner dress!
This is a great dress - very flattering. I would recommend going up a size, however. The size 0 was too short, even for my petite frame.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
January 11, 2013
short and sexy
As you've likely read in other review for this dress, yes, it is short. If you aren't the most comfortable with that, throw on some tights and you're good to go! I rented this dress for a weekend with my guy in Vegas. He LOVED IT! It works because while it shows off your legs to the max, your arms and chest are covered so it's not too much at all. I could have gotten away with the 8 but that would have been too short for me (I have a chest and a tush and they eat up a bit of length) Would absolutely rent this again!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
January 12, 2013
Length was PERFECT!
The dress runs pretty short, but not so short that it looks inappropriate! It's a little tight in the bust from the waist down but I still loved it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 17, 2013
Fit well without clinging too much in the middle.
I get self conscious in sheath style dresses because they tent to show any imperfections in the midsection, but I didn't get any clinging and the dark lace hid everything well. I have an athletic build and strong arms - the lace didn't have much give but it seemed the 2 fit my arms better than the 4 and I didn't notice much difference in sizing anywhere else between the two.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 173lbs
January 25, 2013
Didn't wear it but still love Shoshanna!
So, again, I didn't wear this dress but it was pretty in person. It was just tight with no give and way too short for me. But I love love love Shoshanna and will definitely be renting again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 27, 2013
My first RTR experience and definitely not my last!
The micro mini length on this dress was PERFECT for me since I'm so petite. I tried on the 2 first and didn't even try on the 0 because the 2 was so comfortable and looked good.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 28, 2013
VERY SHORT!!!
Girls -- this dress is SHORT. I am 5'2" and I could not wear this dress in public. I ordered the 2 and the 4...the 2 fit throughout the body, but literally did not cover my butt and the 4 fit a little looser, but barely covered the essentials and when I walked, rode up so that you could see pretty much everything in the back (sorry if that is TMI). I was surprised, because even though other reviews said it was short, I never have that problem. I ended up wearing my backup dress. It is such a cute dress, but very short!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
January 28, 2013
Perfect fit! Wish I owned this dress!
A lot of the reviews say it is very short, but since I am only 5'2" it hit me at the perfect length, about 4" above my knee. If my legs were any longer it probably would have been borderline too short. The dress fit perfect, and I got so many compliments on it while at my event!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 12

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×