Shoshanna

Black Leopard Dress

$58 to buy
$385 retail
Stylist Notes

Cocktail party coming up? Go for an exotic twist on the LBD with this one-shouldered Shoshanna! All you need is a pair of strappy black heels to finish off this fierce look that's sure to impress.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black satin leopard jacquard(64% acrylic; 36% viscose). One shoulder neckline. Draped tulip hem. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
96 reviews
Fit
Large
(11)
True to Size
(60)
Small
(20)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
May 20, 2013
Edge up the little black dress!
I wore this dress to a formal event with a red carpet. I got a lot of compliments on the asymmetrical shoulder, and although the leopard print was (perfectly) subtle, it added some fun edginess. I'm usually a 2 or 4, but rented the 4 based on other reviews, and it fit perfectly. I was nervous that it would give me an armpit wedgie, but it didn't at all. I paired it with RTR's Nyla Emerald Earrings by Kendra Scott, which looked gorgeous with the dress. I would highly recommend this one!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
May 30, 2013
Not quite the perfect fit!
This dress was a bit big, I had recently lst a little weight so I think the 8 would have been better. I had to pin it to my bra. It was almost too short with me being 5'11". Liked the overall design tho.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 1, 2013
Great dress, looks very classy & chic
Excellent dress, classy, chic, etc., very excited to wear, it runs true to size but a little snug on the bust, I am always a 6 and this one fits (as I have a small bust) but if you have larger I'd size up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
October 24, 2013
Classy but fun!
This dress was perfect for a rehearsal dinner. My only complaint was that I wish the waist was a little tighter and the dress was a little longer (but I am 5 ft 9). The print is pretty subtle but adds enough interest to make a LBD a little more fun. Great dress overall!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 26, 2013
Chic!
I have a small bust, so it was a little loose up top. For someone who normally doesn't wear lots of patterns and prints, I liked that this was very subtle.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
November 28, 2013
The dress was perfect!
This was my first rental, it was great. The dress fit a little tight across my ribs but I have this issue often. I was so relaxed when I arrived at the event because I had not been running around all over town trying to pull together the perfect ensemble. Thank you RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 18, 2013
MY FIRST RTR EXPERIENCE AND LOVED IT.
At first blush, I thought the dress looked simple. However, once I put it on, I immediately noticed how well the dress is made and how flattering it is! I ordered a back up size 10, but the 8 fit like a glove. Boning inside the dress kept everyting in place. I felt so chic and modern in the dress. I wore this to a formal event in March in Chicago, so wore it with black tights and awesome black patent platform pumps. So happy with my first (and definitely not last) RTR experience.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
December 26, 2013
Love the fabric details!
You can't tell as well from the pictures, but the material is really high quality and looks great in person. I loved this dress because it is a classic LBD with a little extra. I wore it to a wedding and it was perfect!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 13, 2014
Amazing dress!
I actually rented another dress for my event and when it arrived it did no fit, I called RTR and they overnighted me this one. Amazing customer service! I rented a size 4 and 6. The size 6 fit better but was definitely tight zipping up in the bust area. The skirt hid my mommy tummy and I really felt very comfortable the whole night. I received a ton of compliments. The picture does not do the dress justice. It was a really great experience and I will definitely rent from them again and again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
June 14, 2014
The dress was much classier in person then it seemed in the picture online.
The dress was beautiful with a slight print to change it up from a basic cocktail dress. It did have a wrap sort of skirt which you had to be careful with when you sat down.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
June 19, 2014
Perfect for a wedding or cocktail party!
Loved this dress and fabric. It does have a tulip bottom so you need to be careful how you cross your legs. Overall very happy and got lots of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 13, 2014
I wore this dress for my 20 year class reunion from High School.
This dress was so comfortable and the material was soft. I was able to the wear the size 4 with a little help from my husband zipping it up. (I had the size 6 for back-up) Once the dress was on, it fit perfectly. I received so many compliments during the night from my fellow classmates. I never once felt like I had to adjust anything! I would definitely rent this dress again, but would work on evening out my tan lines. :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
August 11, 2014
I didn't end up wearing it
This was my backup dress. I am usually a size 4 and have a 34D bust. The 4 would not zip up on the side! I recommend going a size up for this one. Luckily I had ordered another dress that was perfect
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
September 14, 2014
I attended a wedding at a castle.
It was a great dress. I have no complaints. It fit true to size (which is always nice). I had a moderately formal wedding ceremony to attend, so I went for a black dress. I think the print spices it up a bit and adds some fun. The material was nice. I definitely got some complements on the dress. I wish I had a good picture to post, but I don't. But to all future women looking to rent this dress, I say do it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117lbs
September 23, 2014
loved the subtle print and it's a fun look!
it's pretty tight in the waist and the zipper had a bit of wear to it, but overall a fun dress to wear.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 24, 2014
Luxurious style wrapped up in value & convenience!
I rented this dress for a friend's wedding & what a wonderful experience. My dress arrived exactly when it was supposed to. The dress was clean,well packaged & wrinkle-free. As I am normally a size 6, I ordered the 6 and the 8 after reading the reviews that said the dress ran small. The reviews were spot-on. The 6 fit everywhere but the bust. I would definitely recommend ordering the size above. I wore the 8 & it fit perfect. The fabric of the dress was very high quality, sturdy & buttery soft. The wrap style made it very comfortable & hid my belly pouch nicely after eating. I will definitely be renting again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 133lbs
November 13, 2014
Ok, but not great.
This dress was so beautiful on the hanger! I wanted to love it, but it just didn't fit great. When I tried on the 6 the top was too big, especially around the bust and armholes. When I tried on the 4 the top part fit but then it was a bit too tight around the bottom for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
January 3, 2015
Wore this as the ball dropped on NYE!
This fit well, it was a bit tough to zip with the wiring but I didn't find the bust to be too tight (as some other reviews mentioned). The leopard pattern was very subtle. Cute for NYE!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 9, 2015
Perfect LBD
The silhouette is classic and perfect for any occasion. Ordered as a last minute swap for another dress. A tried and true style for petite ladies. The bust was a little tight but I made it work. Otherwise very flattering and comfortable.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 144lbs
February 10, 2015
Subtle print that won lots of compliments up close!
The print was so cute, subtle from afar but up close I got so many compliments. I had to attend a Jungle Chic Gala, so the black leopard print was the perfect match! The fit was tight around the ribs, I wanted a 8 but it wasn't available. RTR had contacted me about the 8 being unavailable but I missed the emails so they sent me other size 8s but this print was so cute, I squeezed in! The only tight area was around the ribs, so it wasn't uncomfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
April 1, 2015
Great simple dress with subtle details - love!
Fit wonderfully. The bust was a bit snug, and I felt it was a little too low on the right side. But overall, wonderful dress! I was tempted to buy it :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 175lbs
May 28, 2015
Wore it to a May wedding and it was perfect!
This was my first RTR experience and I loved it! They only had 1 size available around my normal size so I ordered a 2nd dress just in case. The 2nd dress was too small in both my regular size and the backup size so thank goodness this one worked out! Now onto the fit of this one. It was a little snug around the ribcage so once I got it zipped up it was a little uncomfortable but worth it! I got tons of compliments all night and loved being able to easily dance in it and also not have to tug it up all night like a strapless dress. I paired it w/ the Ella Carter Rory necklace and it worked perfectly!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 18, 2015
Luxurious dress.
I have small shoulders, so the fit was perfect. LOVED this material. The boning in the bodice and the overall fit of the top made it so that a bra wasn't necessary. Very unique dress, almost vintage in feel. Animal print is subtle and just adds a bit of texture.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
June 21, 2015
Super comfy dress. Didn't need to adjust or pull it down or tuck anything in all night!
The tulip bottom was awesome for dancing, but be careful crossing your legs :) I could see how the top could be a little loose. I have tiny boobs and usually wouldn't need a bra in a dress like this but wore a strapless one just to fill it out.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 13, 2015
Weird fit- did not zip up due to my 34D chest- strange for Shoshanna dress
So, I loved this dress but it did not fit me at all in the chest. I picked it out for a bridesmaid dress and for most Shoshanna dresses I am a 4/6 and have never had an issue with the bust with any of her items. Read all of the reviews and thought this should be a perfect fit. Was super disappointed...
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
August 31, 2015
I felt so fancy in this dress!
The dress fit great! The 0 was a bit tight on my ribcage, so I went with the 2 to have some extra breathing room. Length was great for me as a petite woman.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
November 10, 2015
Loved the simply print on the one shoulder black dress. Simple but loved it!!!
Loved the dress. Fit true to size and was simple but elegant for a wedding!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 1, 2016
Fun party dress
Very hard to zip up, if you have a large rib cage, maybe order a size up. Loved the dress though and got lots of compliments.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
March 27, 2013
I got many compliments about the dress, I felt so comfortable in it.
the fit was perfect it was comfortable and easy to move in.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
June 23, 2014
My first RTR experience!!! Perfect LBD for a June wedding!!
Rented the 0 and 2 but went with 0 because the it fit tighter in the bust.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 31, 2014
Great process! Very scared as it was my first time, but was very easy!
Beautiful dress. Heavy material. Did have some issues w getting zippers over seam. 4 fit better, but could not get zipper over seam at rib cage. Lots of compliments all night! Would rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
November 2, 2011
I love this dress, it is perfectly scaled for a petite frame. If you are petite, the one-shouldered design will sit very well on you. I've worn other one-shoulder dresses, and this is the first one I didn't have to tape, tug or pin a little. I don't know how it would work on taller girls, though! You can probably get away without a bra in this dress, but if you like to wear a longline strapless rather than a regular strapless you might need to size up so you have room for the extra bulk at the waist (the waist is pretty fitted). The leopard print is subtle in person, it barely showed up in my pictures.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 133lbs
December 17, 2011
Great for a Winter Formal!
Wore this dress to my winter formal and loved it. The fabric is beautiful and looked really pretty in pictures! if you are bustier I would recommend sizing up for your back up dress it was a little tight on top.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
January 16, 2012
Loved it!
I was so pleased with my whole experience. I ordered the size 4 based on the size chart that was provided. It fit perfectly. The dress was high quality and I loved wearing it. It came in a garment bag pressed and I returned it in the prepaid envelope, so easy. I don't have a full length picture but it was the perfect length. It is pleated all around on top and bottom which added to it's beauty. I loved the silky fabric.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 1, 2012
Too small up top...
Unfortunately, I wasn't able to wear this dress at all... which was a bummer, it being my first rental. I ordered a 2 - which was way too small in the bust but fit perfectly at the waist - and a 4 - which was too snug to breathe up top but a too large at the waist. Thankfully, I rented a back up dress which fit like a gem and renewed my faith in RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 2, 2012
Everybody flatters this dress!
I sometimes wear 2. I'm 150cm tall with C-D cup. Even though I could "wear" the 2, still I felt tight around my stomach and decided to wear 4. Glad that we can rent 2 dresses. The waist line comes above your waist and you must look nicer! I loved both the design and the texture.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
June 7, 2012
Wish I Could Have Made it Work
I rented this dress for a fancy night out celebrating my fiance's birthday. There was only a size 10 available so I couldn't rent the size 8 (which would have fit perfectly). As much as I tried to make the 10 work, it was just too large all over. I was so upset because the dress is gorgeous in person and would be very flattering for any body type. Need to find a new event so I can rock this out again soon!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
August 11, 2012
Cute
Rented for a wedding. It ran small, so it didn't fit and I didn't wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
August 20, 2012
Great dress but did not wear.
I rented this dress in a size 4 and size 6 as well as another Shoshanna dress just in case for an indoor summer wedding. The 4 fit well except that it was a bit too short (I am 5'10). I was worried that the tulip skirt would also fly open since it is not sewn together. I would have worn it, but since I ordered a 3rd option, I went with the safer option (Shoshanna vicious venom dress). Nonetheless, this is a great dress --it is very cute with the subtle leopard print!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 28, 2012
Stylish and flattering
Great dress and EXTREMELY forgiving! I had to attend a wedding rehearsal dinner six weeks after having a baby. This dress nicely emphasizes your boobs and gives you a waist, too. I got tons of compliments. Highly recommend.
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×