Shoshanna

Black Leopard Dress

$58 to buy
$385 retail
Stylist Notes

Cocktail party coming up? Go for an exotic twist on the LBD with this one-shouldered Shoshanna! All you need is a pair of strappy black heels to finish off this fierce look that's sure to impress.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black satin leopard jacquard(64% acrylic; 36% viscose). One shoulder neckline. Draped tulip hem. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
96 reviews
Fit
Large
(11)
True to Size
(60)
Small
(20)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
February 15, 2012
Birthday
I wear this one to dinner to my birthday party!!!!!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
February 26, 2012
Gorgeous dress!
I rented this last minute for a wedding when I realized that my go-to LBD didn't fit. Oops! I couldn't get the 6 - a good size for me so I rented the 4 with a back-up of 8 and kept my fingers crossed. In the end, I went with the 8 (the 4 wouldn't zip up the bust) but, for what its worth, the 6 would have been perfect. I'm 5'3 115 34D/34DD normally size 4/6 depending on designer. The 8 was slightly big and a little room up top and in the waist but not that noticeable. The length was great, not too long and not too short for my petite size. The fabric is really nice. Worked beautifully with a NYC winter wedding! Oh, and I got lots of compliments, especially from my husband!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
February 26, 2012
SAFE
This dress was my first rental, and I wanted to play it safe. The fabric is nice, midweight, and has a bit of leopard sheen to make it more than just another black dress. I was surprised that it fit a little snug in the chest, but was loose around the hips (looser than the photo lets on). Wish I could say it had a really flattering fit, but at least it was super comfortable. I could have taken this dress to a buffet service wedding hehe.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 28, 2012
I didn't want to send this dress back, it's so flattering and glamorous :)
I absolutely adored this dress! The fit worked out great for me. I'm a C-cup and the top fit great, but I definitely didn't have any room to spare up there. Larger chested ladies should probably size-up for this dress. The fit is super flattering and completely camouflages the tummy/hip area which was perfect for me. The length was a couple inches above the knee, exactly where a cocktail dress should be. However, I will warn that this dress is a true tulip skirt so be sure and keep your legs crossed ;) Just sayin!
RTR CustomerJanuary 12, 2013
What did u do for a bra? Can u wear a strapless one?
RTR CustomerJanuary 14, 2013
Hi! Yes, you can definitely wear a strapless bra with this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
March 7, 2012
Loved!
This dress fit and looked great. A tiny bit loose on top but fixed with fashion tape. It was really flattering and I got a lot of compliments. If I could find it for sale online, I would purchase it in a heartbeat.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
March 7, 2012
Gorgeous structured dress!
Phenomenal dress with a subtle pattern and a striking shape. I was shocked to feel the 4 fit so snugly in the chest when I put it on the first time with a strapless bra. I ended up not wearing a bra, as the dress has quite a bit of boning for just that purpose! Also, the dress did "give" a bit over the course of the evening, so I'm glad I went with the 4. It was perfect everywhere else!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
May 21, 2012
Flirty and flattering!
This dress creates a terrific shape - I felt like my figure was shown off to its best effect without any pinching/squeezing. The skirt drapes nicely and the way the one-shoulder neckline is cut, it avoids that awful arm-fat effect that so many one-shoulder dresses can give. The subtle leopard print makes it a little more interesting than a regular LBD without a "MEOW" vibe. I'd rent it again!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
July 17, 2012
When UPS delayed my original shipment of dresses, I contacted RTR less than 24 hours before my event. They sent me the exact dress that I wanted as well as this backup dress that I loved... and I got everything in time for the event. I felt great in this dress, and my husband thought I looked pretty hot!
This LBD is super cute. This was my backup dress, and I liked it better than the one I had been eyeing for months. This dress is pretty short and has a wrap-type tulip skirt. It is very flattering, but you have to make sure your legs are crossed when sitting! The fabric is really pretty, the subtile leopard print was fun and flirty, but still super classy. I think this dress would work well for girls that are busty (and don't want to show everything off) or smalled cheasted (because the 1 shoulder detail is distracting and interesting). If I had this dress in my closet I would definately wear it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
August 7, 2012
Feeling fabulous in this dress!
I have a very tiny waist and big hips, so after reading the reviews about the forgiving tulip skirt, I decided to rent this for a wedding. I got the size 2 and 4 as a backup. The 2 fit very well, but I can see what everyone meant by the tight fit on the top. The skirt fit my wide hips well with plenty of room and I felt very comfortable in this dress. You do have to be a little careful when sitting as the skirt will try to open up, but not a big deal, in my opinion. Overall, I loved wearing this dress and can’t wait to try something else from RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 3, 2012
Forgiving and flattering
FIt true to size, and very comfortable. A little snug in the bust (I'm a 34C). Wore this to a late summer, black tie optional wedding, and got plenty of compliments. I love RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 4, 2012
great condition, fit perfectly
I always love the fit and look of Shoshanna dresses and this did not disappoint. Wore to a late afternoon Labor Day weekend wedding in New Hampshire and received many compliments. Traditional, classic dress but the animal print made it a little edgier. My boyfriend was sad that I had to return it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
September 8, 2012
Awesome LBD
I want this dress in my closet! The top was very structured and stayed in place perfectly. I felt very elegant in this dress.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
September 26, 2012
Such a cute LBD!
Rented as my backup dress and ended up wearing the other. This dress is really pretty, and the leopard print makes it unique. The style is very forgiving around the midsection. Would not recommend for anyone with a large ribcage, not alot of extra room. The hook and eye at the top of the zipper was broken, and the zipper was really difficult to get up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 1, 2012
The black leopard print really makes this LBD unique.
This dress fits true to size and is also very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
October 21, 2012
Great dress! Many compliments
This was a VERY comfortable dress. :) I think this is the most comfortable I've ever been in at a wedding ever!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 124lbs
October 26, 2012
Dress was comfortable and allowed me to dance carefree all night long!
I rented this dress for a night on the town in Vegas. It fit nicely and even hid my bloated PMS belly. I rented an 8 because I always need the extra coverage to the "girls"
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
November 12, 2012
A good experience
This was my first rental and I would call it a success. The dress was nice when it arrived and fit well. The bust was a little large, which surprised me, but I didn't need any special tape or anything to complete the look. It was a little longer than what I typically wear, but the pattern is cute and the one shoulder got a lot of compliments
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
November 19, 2012
This dress was great. I got a lot of compliments and wanted to keep it for myself!
The dress fit true to size and was very flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
December 13, 2012
Great Black Dress!
Great black dress option! It was comfortable, flattering and easy to move around in! Really enjoyed the dress! The material is a bit more shiny than what it appears on the site, but still was appropriate for a wedding!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
December 17, 2012
The one-shoulder design really made this dress special.
This dress fit well -- it was a great length (a shorter on me than on the model) and was so easy to wear all night! I added a flashy necklace and it was a huge hit.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
January 1, 2013
Beautiful, classy, unique, comfortable black dress!
I wore this dress to a New Year's Eve wedding and it was perfect for the ocassion. I typically wear a size 10 in dresses and this dress fit like a glove. It's short enough to show off your legs but not too short. I wear a 36 C bra and the top fit well. The material is beautiful and I loved the unique animal print that was just enough, but not too much. The off-the-shoulder style is really classy and beautiful and the dress is overall very comfortable to wear, which is nice. Also, the way the dress is made is very flattering especially for "apple" women, which I am! It drapes nicely across your stomach which is great especially after enjoying a lot of wedding food ;). I highly recommend this dress and really enjoyed wearing it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
January 13, 2013
Beautiful dress! Fun but classy
This was my first RTR experience and it was amazing! The dresses arrived in great condition and on time. I am normally a size 8 but ended up selecting the 10 to wear as the extra room made me feel more comfortable. The leopard print is subtle but gives the dress some pizazz! I received many compliments on this dress and I am planning on renting it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
April 29, 2013
Flattering
A little short
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
April 30, 2013
Rent the runway makes dressing for an event so much easier!
I picked the dress in a size 8 and 10. i usually wear 10. The 8 fit really nice but it was really tight around my rib cage chest area so I went with the 10 which was great. The only thing I would've changed about the 10 would be that the skirt part fit like the size 8 did...slightly slimmer in the hips. I loved that it could hide my problem area/belly bc it balloons a little in that area of the skirt. Overall i loved this dress and my RTR experience. This was my second option. The first dress was too short for my long legs, this on fell at just the right length for an evening wedding. Hoping to go to the showroom to try on selections for a fall wedding!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 127lbs
May 10, 2013
Great for weddings!
The fit was perfect and comfortable all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 13, 2013
I loved this dress!
The first time I tried to rent this dress UPS messed up and didn't deliver it, but RTR was really good about it and gave me a credit so I tried again. This dress was very flattering and comfortable. I rented it for a wedding and it was completely appropriate.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
May 20, 2013
Edge up the little black dress!
I wore this dress to a formal event with a red carpet. I got a lot of compliments on the asymmetrical shoulder, and although the leopard print was (perfectly) subtle, it added some fun edginess. I'm usually a 2 or 4, but rented the 4 based on other reviews, and it fit perfectly. I was nervous that it would give me an armpit wedgie, but it didn't at all. I paired it with RTR's Nyla Emerald Earrings by Kendra Scott, which looked gorgeous with the dress. I would highly recommend this one!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 1, 2013
Great dress, looks very classy & chic
Excellent dress, classy, chic, etc., very excited to wear, it runs true to size but a little snug on the bust, I am always a 6 and this one fits (as I have a small bust) but if you have larger I'd size up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
October 24, 2013
Classy but fun!
This dress was perfect for a rehearsal dinner. My only complaint was that I wish the waist was a little tighter and the dress was a little longer (but I am 5 ft 9). The print is pretty subtle but adds enough interest to make a LBD a little more fun. Great dress overall!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
November 28, 2013
The dress was perfect!
This was my first rental, it was great. The dress fit a little tight across my ribs but I have this issue often. I was so relaxed when I arrived at the event because I had not been running around all over town trying to pull together the perfect ensemble. Thank you RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 18, 2013
MY FIRST RTR EXPERIENCE AND LOVED IT.
At first blush, I thought the dress looked simple. However, once I put it on, I immediately noticed how well the dress is made and how flattering it is! I ordered a back up size 10, but the 8 fit like a glove. Boning inside the dress kept everyting in place. I felt so chic and modern in the dress. I wore this to a formal event in March in Chicago, so wore it with black tights and awesome black patent platform pumps. So happy with my first (and definitely not last) RTR experience.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
December 26, 2013
Love the fabric details!
You can't tell as well from the pictures, but the material is really high quality and looks great in person. I loved this dress because it is a classic LBD with a little extra. I wore it to a wedding and it was perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
June 14, 2014
The dress was much classier in person then it seemed in the picture online.
The dress was beautiful with a slight print to change it up from a basic cocktail dress. It did have a wrap sort of skirt which you had to be careful with when you sat down.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
June 19, 2014
Perfect for a wedding or cocktail party!
Loved this dress and fabric. It does have a tulip bottom so you need to be careful how you cross your legs. Overall very happy and got lots of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 13, 2014
I wore this dress for my 20 year class reunion from High School.
This dress was so comfortable and the material was soft. I was able to the wear the size 4 with a little help from my husband zipping it up. (I had the size 6 for back-up) Once the dress was on, it fit perfectly. I received so many compliments during the night from my fellow classmates. I never once felt like I had to adjust anything! I would definitely rent this dress again, but would work on evening out my tan lines. :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
September 14, 2014
I attended a wedding at a castle.
It was a great dress. I have no complaints. It fit true to size (which is always nice). I had a moderately formal wedding ceremony to attend, so I went for a black dress. I think the print spices it up a bit and adds some fun. The material was nice. I definitely got some complements on the dress. I wish I had a good picture to post, but I don't. But to all future women looking to rent this dress, I say do it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117lbs
September 23, 2014
loved the subtle print and it's a fun look!
it's pretty tight in the waist and the zipper had a bit of wear to it, but overall a fun dress to wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
April 1, 2015
Great simple dress with subtle details - love!
Fit wonderfully. The bust was a bit snug, and I felt it was a little too low on the right side. But overall, wonderful dress! I was tempted to buy it :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 175lbs
May 28, 2015
Wore it to a May wedding and it was perfect!
This was my first RTR experience and I loved it! They only had 1 size available around my normal size so I ordered a 2nd dress just in case. The 2nd dress was too small in both my regular size and the backup size so thank goodness this one worked out! Now onto the fit of this one. It was a little snug around the ribcage so once I got it zipped up it was a little uncomfortable but worth it! I got tons of compliments all night and loved being able to easily dance in it and also not have to tug it up all night like a strapless dress. I paired it w/ the Ella Carter Rory necklace and it worked perfectly!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 18, 2015
Luxurious dress.
I have small shoulders, so the fit was perfect. LOVED this material. The boning in the bodice and the overall fit of the top made it so that a bra wasn't necessary. Very unique dress, almost vintage in feel. Animal print is subtle and just adds a bit of texture.
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×