Shoshanna

Barbara Dress

$30 rental
$375 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Brilliant florals will make a bold splash at your event. This dress by Shoshanna adds an artsy edge to your cocktail attire!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Multicolored ikat silk twill (100% silk). Cap sleeves. Crew neckline. Hourglass skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 35.5” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
375 reviews
Fit
Large
(43)
True to Size
(287)
Small
(25)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 26, 2014
The dress speaks for itself
Loved everything about it, very comfortable and light. Thought the cap sleeves would prevent me from lifting my arms but they lifted just fine!! Very flattering, I have trouble sometimes with dresses being too tight around my bust and booty and then too big in the waist, but this dress fit well everywhere! Oh and it has POCKETS!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
September 26, 2014
Wore this dress to a friend's wedding, and it was great! I usually wear a 4-6, and the 6 fit well.
Size 6 fit well, flattering fit with the cinched waistline.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 24, 2014
Best Friends' Wedding!! :)
I got a 4 and a 6 based on the reviews. I might have been able to wear a 2 since the 4 was a little loose, but I can see how the sleeves could have been a little tight in a smaller size. Overall, I loved the dress especially the pockets!! I received a ton of compliments on it and it was super easy to return. Will more than likely be renting again for another wedding in November!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
September 20, 2014
This dress was amazing!
Fabric was light and so comfortable! I'm bigger below the waist and sometimes have to go a size up for certain dresses. But this dress for like a glove. Awesome to dance in and I got so many compliments on it. I would recommend this to anyone and will probably rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
September 17, 2014
Wore this to a rehearsal dinner that called for cocktail attire.
This dress is beautiful! I loved the colors and think it's a great dress for a fun night out. I definitely recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 15, 2014
Pretty dress but didn't fit
I had ordered a size 8 & 10 of this dress for a wedding I was attending. I received an email from RTR the day before my expected delivery saying the size 10 had been returned damaged and they unfortunately couldn't send it. I still received the size 8 but the chest & arms were tight (I have 36 DDD) so I didn't wear it. If I had received the 10, it would have fit perfectly. The colors were beautiful and I'm sorry I couldn't wear for my special occasion!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110lbs
September 15, 2014
great dress. very comfortable
good fit and very flattering.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 149lbs
September 11, 2014
Such an incredible dress for a garden wedding!
I loved, loved, loved this dress. I wish it was mine to keep! The natural waist hit in the perfect place and was very flattering. I didn't have any issues with the cap sleeves and was able to dance the night away! The pockets were a great perk and the length was perfect - just above the knee. I rented the blue KSNY chandelier earrings and they went great together. The colors are beautiful and vivid and the pattern is very water color-esque. So beautiful and would absolutely rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
September 11, 2014
I loved the print!
I loved the print but the size 6 was a little big on me. I didn't get two sizes because I rented two dresses at once and the other I wore to a wedding. The dress was very comfortable but the sleeves were a tad bit restrictive. But overall a great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113lbs
September 11, 2014
Perfect for the spring weddings!
It was a little tight under the bust but over all comfortable to wear.... The 4 was too large and the 0 was a little right but the 2 was unavailable at that date.... Glad I wore the zero and loved the dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 176lbs
September 9, 2014
Fun design
The girls are 34 DDD. The 10 was a better fit around the waist but the bust was tight for me so to be comfortable during a rehearsal dinner I opted for the 12. Loved it with a 3/4 black sweater. Sleeves make my arms look bigger (which I knew) but beautiful pattern was totally worth it. So many compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 8, 2014
Bright colors, easy to wear dress.
The cut was great, and I loved the print. Fun dress to wear for an evening!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
September 1, 2014
Great colors and nice light fabric.
I could have worn the 10, but it wasn't available. The 12 was very comfortable, but would have looked better a bit more fitted.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
August 28, 2014
Love it!
Super cute, great Shoshana dress. I wish I owned it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 26, 2014
Fun but conservative option
This dress was a great option for an early spring rehearsal dinner in Boston. The dinner was pretty formal and this was a good option. It is very comfortable and goes well with a fun statement necklace even with the print! Also, looks great with black tights!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38B
August 21, 2014
This is the most ingenious service ever! I got to wear a great dress at a great price.
I'm 5'10" and it's really hard for me to find dresses that are an appropriate length. This was perfect! I wore it to a work function of my husband's and after 5 hours in the heat the dress still look great. Thank you RTR.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 20, 2014
Perfect - great fit, made me feel good, arms weren't too tight, not too short, etc, etc! RENT IT!
This dress was great! I felt thinner than usual in this dress (always a bonus). The arms would have been a bit tight in the smaller size, so I was glad I went up a size in the fit as recommended by others who had worn it. It was an inexpensive, simple rental, and I am so glad RTR made this moment happen for me!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 20, 2014
Perfect for a summer wedding in downtown Chicago!
The dress fit exactly as described and arrived in perfect condition. I loved the pockets and the super-flattering silhouette, and it was comfy enough to dance in all night. Perfect for a giant statement necklace, which I also rented to go with it. I'll be sure to add photos if any pop up online!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
August 14, 2014
Nice Dress, Wrong Event
I didn't end up wearing this dress to a wedding I had originally rented it for. I only got a chance to try on the 4 and it was a little too big; the 2 might have been a better fit. The fabric is thicker than I thought it would be, so it would have been too heavy to wear for a summer wedding. I think I would rent this for a work event in the fall or winter.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
August 11, 2014
Overall great looking dress. The colors are vibrant and pockets are a plus,
Beautiful dress with vibrant blues and greens. The zipper was a little difficult to pull up and down and the cap sleeves were tight and caused some red marks but I got used to it after a while. I wore the 2 but the 4 may have been more comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 10, 2014
The dress was cute but I couldn't wear it to the event because it was too short in length
I have a long torso and this dress was too short for me to wear appropriately to a wedding. The dress is super cute but I couldn't wear it because of the length. There was also a strong chemical / formaldehyde smell when I took the dress out of the bag that was very obnoxious.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
August 4, 2014
Great dress!
This dress fit like a glove and the colors were gorgeous. Cap sleeves were definitely a little restricting, but not enough to keep me from dancing. Even after I dislocated my shoulder (right before the wedding started! Such a klutz.) people were giving me compliments on my outfit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
August 3, 2014
Nice fit, great colors
I got this dress as my free birthday dress because I have a pro account. I loved the colors--they are so bright. And it fit true to size--I'm currently an 8 and it fit perfectly. There isn't a ton of room to raise your arms up or a lot of extra space in the bust so it might be tight for larger chester girls or if you have very broad shoulders. There are pockets, too, which I love. I wore this out to a nice dinner and paired it with this necklace: https://www.renttherunway.com/shop/designers/short_jewelry/walkegyptiannecklace This would work for many occassions--nice dinner/date, party, or wedding. I liked it so much I'm re-ordering it for a wedding I'm going to in a few weeks.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
August 2, 2014
Loved the way it fit on me! Felt beautiful!
Everything fit great!!! Because I'm a little shorter, the 4 was a little long so I shortened it a little for the event. Other than that, loved the synching at the waist and tailored feeling!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 1, 2014
Perfect Fit, Great Print, Tons of Compliments
Wore this for a wedding in New Orleans and loved it so much I wish I owned it! I felt comfortable in it all night, which included lots of dancing!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
August 1, 2014
Lovely Dress! Excellent Service! Didn't fit :(
I loved the quality of the dress! It was even more vibrant and beautiful in person than it was on the model. Soft material. A little tight on the arms as other users have said. However, I couldn't wear it because it was smaller than I expected. Ordered a 10. The dress was short and it was tight around my hips. I am a curvier woman, particularly in the booty area. It wouldn't even zip up all the way. Make sure your back up size is a size up rather than a size down from your normal dress size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 31, 2014
Love the dress! Perfect for attending a rehearsal dinner for a friend's wedding.
I was in between the 4 and 6. The 4 was a little snug at the top so I went with the 6. The rest fit perfect!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 30, 2014
Great pattern, but uncomfortable
Everything about this dress is great -- pattern, fit -- except the extremely uncomfortable (and unflattering) cap sleeves. They are super tight and made my arms red from chafing!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 33
July 30, 2014
Great fit, Great print!
The fit was perfect snugger on top and a line on the bottom. The print was amazing and goes well with all accessories. Would definitely suggest to rent this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
July 30, 2014
Very cute, classy dress.
I was actually a couple months pregnant when renting this dress, so went up a size. Very appropriate and fun for a daytime wedding!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 29, 2014
Beautiful colors.
Didn't end up wearing it because the zero was too large. I've read this is a problem with Shoshanna :( Shame because the dress is beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
July 29, 2014
Great dress!
Very comfortable and fun. The colors were vibrant and even better in person. The sleeves were a nice touch. The dress was also a great length - not too short!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
July 28, 2014
Comfortable and a real pop of color!
I absolutely loved this dress! It fit well, really stood out (in a good way) at the garden wedding I attended, and let me get my dance moves on! Thanks, RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 24, 2014
The color and print are amazing!
This dress was so fun! I wore it to a rehearsal dinner and felt super cute! RTR didn't have the size 2 available so I ended up wearing the 4 which was a little big on me in the waist, but still looked great. I think I would have liked the fit of the 2 better though. The colors are so pretty and really made my green eyes stand out! Definite plus!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 22, 2014
Beautiful and classy dress
Great fit and classy look. The colors are beautiful and pop in a crowd. I appreciate the cap sleeve, which was a little tight. All Shoshanna dresses nip in the waist so you look trim, but consider sizing up if this is a thicker area on your body or your straight up and down. I'm 5'8" and it was short, but not too short for a wedding. The fabric of the dress is a cotton blend and it did not overly wrinkle, but did not have stretch.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
July 21, 2014
Unique & Comfy Watercolor Dress
Wore this dress to a semi-formal wedding at an Art Museum and it was the perfect, unique dress to fit the affair. The dress fit like a charm and I ended up wearing the smaller size because it was more form fitting. The only downside of the dress is that the top of the shoulders fit a little tight and make it difficult to throw your hands up on the dance floor. All it all, it was a very comfortable fabric and the material is really pretty and memorable in person.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
July 21, 2014
Adorable!
I wore this to a wedding outside of Boston in June. It was perfect for the event and the time of year. I received many compliments and felt really pretty in it--fit was perfect although I am small chested and tall.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
July 21, 2014
Super cute, wedding-appropriate dress!
The dress fit pretty true to size, I was more of a size 8, but the skirt part was a little tight, so I chose to wear the 10. It was very comfortable to wear, has nice thick fabric and is very flattering. Great colors!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
July 18, 2014
The dress fit really well, but the cap sleeves could be a bit restricting.
Great fit -- even on someone who is 5'2.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
July 17, 2014
Such great colors! Perfect for a baby shower!
Loved everything about it. Great material and great colors.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 10
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×