Shoshanna

Barbara Dress

$30 rental
$375 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Brilliant florals will make a bold splash at your event. This dress by Shoshanna adds an artsy edge to your cocktail attire! Pair with Badgley Mischka Jewelry’s Entrancing Emerald Necklace and Diane von Furstenberg’s Black Lytton Embossed Lizard Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Multicolored ikat silk twill (100% silk). Cap sleeves. Crew neckline. Hourglass skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 35.5” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

349 reviews

Fit
Small 23
True to Size 278
Large 42
Photos 188
Katy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Mar 18, 2014

It was too big but my friend wore it and loved it.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I'm usually between a 10 and a 12 and since the reviews said to size up, I went with the 12. It was a little too big in the waist for me, and I thought it made me look a little bigger there without a tight fit. I definitely could have made it work, but my other dress was a great fit so I went with that. A friend of mine wore it to the rehearsal dinner and she looked great in it (she's more of a pear shape, if that helps). The photo is of her. I love the colors and pattern. I will probably rent this again in a size down.
Megan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 22, 2014

Beautiful colors, great fit!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Wore this dress to a friend's bridal shower. It had a great tailored fit and the colors were wonderful. Definitely would recommend!
Melissa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 126 lbs
Mar 27, 2014

Bright and Pretty!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I really loved this dress. I never wear patterned dresses. I always go for a LBD. I was very happy that I decided to try something different. The bright colors are very pretty but, not in an over the top way. This dress was comfortable and fit true to size. It is the perfect choice for anyones upcoming spring or summer party.
Melinda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 29, 2014

Perfect dress for a bridal shower!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Let me first say this dress is incredibly soft and comfortable to wear. The fit is a bit strange but I am also proportioned weird. The 6 fit me perfectly through my waist and on top however through my hips it was tight so it puckers a bit making it bunch in the midsection (which no one wants). I went 8 which had a bit more room in the hips so it smoothed out the puckering I had in the 6. The top was much larger which I was able to cinch the waist w the use of a belt. This is a great dress for a pear shaped woman however if you are an "extreme pear" like me (34B, 29 waist, 41 hips) you may need to size up and use a belt to bring your waist in.
Christina
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Mar 31, 2014

Beautiful color!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this for my godson's christening. Beautiful color and looks great with a bib necklace. Would rent again for maybe a wedding.
Somer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Mar 31, 2014

Pop of color for a Christmas party!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress! Pockets were great for a night out. This dress stands out at any function without being obnoxious.
Pam
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 31, 2014

Great cocktail dress, beautiful colors, made me feel thin!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner, received lots of compliments! Paired with black/gold necklace and grey shoes, felt great in the dress! True to size, no give in this dress, pockets were great addition!
denise
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 7, 2014

Host my little sister's bridal shower! She loved it!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit is perfect. It is fitted at the waist but I still had plenty of room to move and bend and lift stuff. The length was great on me. Any shorter and I would have felt uncomfortable. I worn black sandal wedges and no jewelry. Wish I owed this dress.
Nikki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 8, 2014

Great choice for a bridal shower

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I chose this dress to wear to a bridal shower. The theme was "Mad Hatter Tea Party" and I wanted something colorful, but not too crazy. This dress worked out perfectly, and matched a hat that I bought separately. I ordered the dress in sizes 4 and 6, and ended up wearing the 4. This dress is pretty forgiving in the waist, so much so that I needed a belt to cinch it in a little bit. I am only a B cup, so there was a bit of a gap in the boob area. I am 5'3", and this hit me about 2 inches above the knee. The sleeve area was not tight like I was afraid of, however I could only lift my arms up shoulder height before the fabric stopped me. I was very pleased (as always) with the promptness of RTR's delivery service, and will be using them again very soon.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 11, 2014

Great Dress for an Event

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for an industry award cocktail party. I actually wore it all day to work with a blazer, then took the blazer off for the party, so bonus for double-duty! The overall fit was great; it gave us girls with hips some extra space. The only issue was the armholes were a little small and made wearing it a bit uncomfortable. Overall though, it was a great day to evening option!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 11, 2014

Wanted to keep it, still getting compliments on Facebook!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I love this dress so much (I wish RTR had an option to buy!) I usually wear a 2 and that zipped right up no problem. Very flattering! I wore it to a Bat Mitzvah, and it was comfortable to dance in all night. Not only did I get a lot of compliments on the day, but after I posted it to Facebook, I had many people complimenting me and asking where I got it! Would recommend to you, and I would rent again.
Littlemissnico
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 13, 2014

I wore this to my bridal shower and got so many compliments on it! It is truly a knockout dress.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Im 5'4", 125 lbs, 32B, small on top and larger on the bottom and the size 2 fit me PERFECTLY. Im usually a size 4, so thats why I said it ran a little large. It definitely has give in the hips and bottom but I would say its for someone with a smaller bust, the waist is high and does not have any give, so a smaller bust/rib cage works better for this dress. The arm holes also do not have any give, so if you have arms on the plumper side (like myself), the only thing is it hurts the arms a bit to reach forward. Also, its short, and Im only 5'4" so bending over and sitting for a while can be a little awkward. But I didnt care, I felt gorgeous in it!!
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Apr 13, 2014

Beautiful dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for my sister's bridal shower & it was perfect. The colors in the dress are gorgeous and it fits true to size. I received compliments all day. Would definitely rent this dress again.
Beth
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 13, 2014

Beautiful tailored dress to wear at an unforgettable wedding!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very comfortable, although the sleeves are a little restricting. Was happy the 6 fit comfortably. Pockets are a huge plus! Very forgiving in the midsection area, the tailoring emphasizes the smallest part of the waist and the pleats below the waist are flattering and you don't need spanx! Length is not too short but not long enough to feel dowdy. Fabric is much more beautiful and expensive looking in person - reminiscent of a Monet painting or a watercolor. Received many compliments.
Sydney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 15, 2014

A lot of fun!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The cap sleeves were a little tight so it made it difficult to dance but other than that the dress was great! Everyone really liked it and asked where I got it. It was light and comfortable. The only problem is that both dresses I received (the 0 and 2) were starting to pill around the stomach area. Wasn't noticeable to anyone but me but it was still something I was not expecting.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 16, 2014

THE DRESS WAS PERFECT! I had a lot of shipping issues and was worried but it made the night amazing!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit was comfortable, the 6 I ordered wouldn't zip, but the backup size was just right. The clasp at the top of the dress wouldn't close, but that didn't matter. Very flattering and made me feel beautiful. Easy and fun to dance in and the pockets were awesome and useful! OVERALL IT WAS AWESOME!!! I would order it again in a heartbeat.
Rilee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 16, 2014

The colors of this dress are absolutely beautiful! Got complements all night! Want to keep it!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a spring wedding and absolutely loved it in person as much as I did online. The colors of the dress are beautiful and perfect for Spring and Summer! The fabric is great quality and I found the dress to be comfortable all night long. I even danced all night in the dress, and had no problems with the cap sleeves, as other renters had mentioned before. The only somewhat downside to the style of this dress is the fabric in the stomach area poofs out slightly when you sit down, kind of giving off a pregnant look, but I think I was the only one who actually noticed because it was so minor. Absolutely love this dress! Wish it was a permanent staple in my closet and am planning to rent it again!
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 18, 2014

Perfect party dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Rented this as a back-up engagement photo/engagement party dress and fell in love. Only used it for the engagement party and it was absolutely perfect. I originally paired it with black tights, but ended up without by the end of the party. Such a comfortable dress and so versatile that it worked for the party, dinner, and drinks after. Definitely runs true to size - the 4 fit perfectly and the 2 was way too snug.
Taylor
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123 lbs
Apr 19, 2014

Received tons of compliments!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered the 0 & 2 but the 0 was a bit tight around my backside but the 2 was perfect. I rented this for a friends rehearsal dinner. It was super comfortable and I loved the design!
McLaurine
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 20, 2014

I loved the colors!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was a bit tight in the shoulders, but I couldn't wear the two because it was blatantly too big. The only downfall was the length. I'm on the shorter side and it came only a couple inches above my knee making it unflattering overall.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 126 lbs
Apr 20, 2014

Liked it but didn't love it.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The colors were much duller in person.
Alycia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Apr 23, 2014

Beautiful colors!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The only complaint is that the sleeve caps are tight. Not a great choice if you need to move or dance, I wore it to a baptism so it was perfect!
Diana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 23, 2014

Love the Cap Sleeves and Print!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for Easter. We go to church and a fancy brunch afterward. The material was casual enough, and I would highly recommend it for a outdoor wedding, baptism, rehearsal dinner, etc. I loved the print and the cap sleeves. I'm usually a size 8, but the 6 fit. I thought the length was perfect. Only it slight rode up when I sat down.
Angela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 26, 2014

Beautiful colors, felt frumpy

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
As everyone else mentioned, the colors and material of this dress are lovely. I think one problem I ran into was that I should've gotten a smaller size. That may have contributed to why I felt a bit shapeless. But also, I think perhaps I had a different idea in mind of how it was going to be cut. It was definitely comfortable. I didn't have any trouble dancing in it at the wedding.
Elisabeth
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123 lbs
Apr 27, 2014

Wore this to a rehearsal dinner.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit great overall and felt really comfortable to wear.
emilie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 28, 2014

Got so many compliments on this dress and was SO comfortable wearing it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm a weird size between a 2 and a 4 - a 2 up top and a 4 on the bottom. I ended up wearing the Size 4 I got because the hang was more flattering. The Size 2 fit better up top, but was just fitted enough around my thighs that it caused a weird gapping/pouch thing to happen around my stomach. Anyway! Loved how the 4 looked and felt. It was perfect for the spring wedding we were attending and I loved that the sleeves meant I didn't need to cover my shoulders in the 80 degree weather when we were in the church.
Becky
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 28, 2014

Perfect fit. Perfect wedding look.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Perfect fit, though arms a little tight, don't get full range of motion but not significantly limiting. Very comfy. Added bonus...it has pockets! It was so fun to wear, classy and trendy at the same time.
Danielle
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 29, 2014

I loved the free back up size!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress and I got so many compliments!! It fit slightly tighter through the hips than I expected but still looked great.
Brittany
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
May 3, 2014

The compliments !

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was my first RTR dress and it couldn't of been more perfect ! I loved everything about it. It was flattering and comfortable at the same time. The colors are much more vibrant in person. The selves were a little tight (like most of the reviews stated ) but not uncomfortably tight. I would recommend this dress !!! I love it.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
May 5, 2014

Amazing dress and the pockets were great!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I had my eye on this one for a while and was so excited to have a wedding to rent it for. I even had to leave home early for the wedding and was able to change my shipping address on Monday, which was only 3 days before my rental date. RTR's customer service really is amazing and they will work with you when last minute changes happen. When I got the dress I tried it on and the 6 fit perfectly. It wasn't tight at all and I felt so comfortable in it all night long. It was the perfect length, the colors were very vibrant, and the pockets were great for my phone and other personal belongings. The material was much lighter than I thought it would be based on the picture from the model, which was a pleasant surprise. I was worried it would be too warm for a May wedding in the South, but it was just right. All in all, great experience and I will definitely rent this one again for another event.
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
May 6, 2014

The dress was perfect

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was beautiful. I ordered it as a back up to wear for a wedding, but my primary dress worked so I wore this one to the rehearsal dinner. It worked out well because the fabric was more appropriate for a dinner party.
AnyoneButJordan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118 lbs
May 6, 2014

Great fit plus pockets!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect for the daytime wedding I attended. The length was flattering, the waist hit at the right spot and the pockets were a huge plus. I would rent again.
Stefanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123 lbs
May 8, 2014

Great fit and color!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Wore this for a charity event for work. Great fit, runs true to size and is very comfortable. Color is fun without being too loud. Thinking about renting again for a wedding!
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
May 9, 2014

It was great for an engagement party! Got tons of compliments!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
A little tight in the arms but overall a great fit!
Erin
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
May 10, 2014

Colorful, special, fun party dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very cute, great color, great pattern. Lots of compliments. Only negative was the little poof of fabric around the belly. And the shoulders aren't very flexible, which could limit the kind of "hands in the air" dance party. But overall would recommend!
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
May 11, 2014

Great Print!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The cap sleeves are a little restricting. I wish I had gotten one size smaller, but overall cute dress, stood out from the normal wedding attire.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
May 16, 2014

Perfect for a sunny outdoor wedding

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the colors and the cut. I ordered a size 2 and 0 since many reviews said it runs slightly large. But my waist doesn't nip in as much as most ladies, so I ended up wearing the 2 (I couldn't even zip up the 0) and it fit fine. The capped sleeves and narrow skirt opening was a little restricting. And I actually ripped the dress while raising my right arm in the air (I blame Beyonce). Good thing RTR has insurance! Fun dress for a California wedding, but I probably won't rent it again.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
May 16, 2014

Perfect wedding guest dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The only reason I am giving it four stars instead of five is because of comfort. I typically go for fit & flare style dresses since I have a pear-shaped body, but this is more of a sheath dress so was tight on my hips & thighs and was uncomfortable to sit in. Also, I couldn't lift my arms above my shoulders because of the sleeves. I feel these we're minor issues and overall was a great-looking dress and got multiple compliments on it :)
Melanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
May 18, 2014

Great Dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for graduation and it was lovely! The length was perfect and the fit was spot on. I added a skinny belt to cinch the waist and worn nude heels. I recommend this dress for any occasion!
Karina
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110 lbs
May 18, 2014

Great dress for a spring/summer wedding!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is slim around the waist (very flattering, but felt tight after I ate dinner!) and the length is perfect. The colors are super vivid..AND there are pockets! The only con- the sleeves are a little tight around the upper arms (and my arms are pretty wiry), and scoop into the armpit, which makes for unflattering armpit fat when I'm holding my arms down.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×