Shoshanna

Barbara Dress

$30 rental
$375 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Brilliant florals will make a bold splash at your event. This dress by Shoshanna adds an artsy edge to your cocktail attire!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Multicolored ikat silk twill (100% silk). Cap sleeves. Crew neckline. Hourglass skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 35.5” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
375 reviews
Fit
Large
(43)
True to Size
(287)
Small
(25)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
March 30, 2014
Great print and fit!
Loved the colors, pattern, and fit on this dress! Would def recommend to a friend!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
March 30, 2014
Perfect, Comfortable Fit
The dress fit perfectly - appropriately fitted without being too tight, good length, flattering cut. The watercolor pattern is even more gorgeous in person. I couldn't be happier with how the dress looked and felt.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 31, 2014
Cute!
This dress was cuter in person and the colors are very vibrant and flattering. The only issue with the dress is that if you're tall, the waist of the dress hits above the natural waist - probably not noticeable to anyone but me. It is also a tad short and fitted through the shoulders and chest. So if you are planning to dance, be careful when you lift your arms so you don't give the world a show!! Overall I would recommend this dress. It was not as fitted in the hips as I pictured, so size down for your backup dress.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
March 31, 2014
Beautiful color!
I rented this for my godson's christening. Beautiful color and looks great with a bib necklace. Would rent again for maybe a wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
March 31, 2014
Pop of color for a Christmas party!
Loved this dress! Pockets were great for a night out. This dress stands out at any function without being obnoxious.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
April 1, 2014
Received lots of compliments on this beautiful dress!
I wore this dress to the opening night of a Broadway show. The dress fit well in the bust, waist, and length (hit above the knee), in fact, I may have been able to go down to a 2, but I'd also rented a size up instead of down. If I had any qualms, it was the restriction of the shoulders, as others have mentioned, and for us shorter girls, I wish the dress had a slit in the back to make walking a bit easier.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
April 3, 2014
I loved this dress. It was very flattering and the perfect late winter (wish it was spring) pattern!
The dress was easy to wear and fit great! It also worked well with jewelry, I ended up wearing some fairly simple earrings but could have easily gone with a crystal statement necklace.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 190lbs
April 3, 2014
I wore this to work for an event
Dress was longer on than it looks int he photo which was great for work. Looked great and was not tight in the tummy.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 7, 2014
Awesome fit and totally comfortable!
Hugged in the right places. The pockets were a perfect touch. And I was able to dance, which was a plus!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
April 7, 2014
Host my little sister's bridal shower! She loved it!
The fit is perfect. It is fitted at the waist but I still had plenty of room to move and bend and lift stuff. The length was great on me. Any shorter and I would have felt uncomfortable. I worn black sandal wedges and no jewelry. Wish I owed this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
April 8, 2014
Great party dress.
I am usually a 6 in Shoshanna dresses, but had to take the 8. I felt the 6 was too tight across the thighs. The tops fit almost identically. There was a bit of "poufing" in the waist stomach area, but I think this was due to the pocket placement. It probably would have fit fine if there was a small slit in the back, but there was no give in the material. Overall, it looked great, stood out and was fun to wear. Only problem was it was hard to raise my arms while dancing!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 8, 2014
Great choice for a bridal shower
I chose this dress to wear to a bridal shower. The theme was "Mad Hatter Tea Party" and I wanted something colorful, but not too crazy. This dress worked out perfectly, and matched a hat that I bought separately. I ordered the dress in sizes 4 and 6, and ended up wearing the 4. This dress is pretty forgiving in the waist, so much so that I needed a belt to cinch it in a little bit. I am only a B cup, so there was a bit of a gap in the boob area. I am 5'3", and this hit me about 2 inches above the knee. The sleeve area was not tight like I was afraid of, however I could only lift my arms up shoulder height before the fabric stopped me. I was very pleased (as always) with the promptness of RTR's delivery service, and will be using them again very soon.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 9, 2014
Didn't work for my body type
I couldn't wear this. The 4 was too tight in hips, and the 6 was too big everywhere. Cute dress but did not work for my body.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
April 11, 2014
Great Dress for an Event
I rented this dress for an industry award cocktail party. I actually wore it all day to work with a blazer, then took the blazer off for the party, so bonus for double-duty! The overall fit was great; it gave us girls with hips some extra space. The only issue was the armholes were a little small and made wearing it a bit uncomfortable. Overall though, it was a great day to evening option!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 11, 2014
Wanted to keep it, still getting compliments on Facebook!
I love this dress so much (I wish RTR had an option to buy!) I usually wear a 2 and that zipped right up no problem. Very flattering! I wore it to a Bat Mitzvah, and it was comfortable to dance in all night. Not only did I get a lot of compliments on the day, but after I posted it to Facebook, I had many people complimenting me and asking where I got it! Would recommend to you, and I would rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 11, 2014
Great dress but tight in shoulders
At first I was unsure if I liked the place it hit on my waist, but once I accessorized and did my hair it all came together and looked great. It is shinier in person than in the picture, which I liked. It was tight around the shoulders and upper arms but was otherwise true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
April 13, 2014
I wore this to my bridal shower and got so many compliments on it! It is truly a knockout dress.
Im 5'4", 125 lbs, 32B, small on top and larger on the bottom and the size 2 fit me PERFECTLY. Im usually a size 4, so thats why I said it ran a little large. It definitely has give in the hips and bottom but I would say its for someone with a smaller bust, the waist is high and does not have any give, so a smaller bust/rib cage works better for this dress. The arm holes also do not have any give, so if you have arms on the plumper side (like myself), the only thing is it hurts the arms a bit to reach forward. Also, its short, and Im only 5'4" so bending over and sitting for a while can be a little awkward. But I didnt care, I felt gorgeous in it!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
April 13, 2014
Beautiful dress!
I wore this dress for my sister's bridal shower & it was perfect. The colors in the dress are gorgeous and it fits true to size. I received compliments all day. Would definitely rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 13, 2014
Beautiful tailored dress to wear at an unforgettable wedding!
Very comfortable, although the sleeves are a little restricting. Was happy the 6 fit comfortably. Pockets are a huge plus! Very forgiving in the midsection area, the tailoring emphasizes the smallest part of the waist and the pleats below the waist are flattering and you don't need spanx! Length is not too short but not long enough to feel dowdy. Fabric is much more beautiful and expensive looking in person - reminiscent of a Monet painting or a watercolor. Received many compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
April 14, 2014
I didn't attend the event
When the dress arrived, it was creased across the lap as though it hadn't been dry cleaned since its last wearing. I let RTR know right away, and unfortunately there wasn't enough time to get me another dress. They processed my credit right away. The size 12 dress was also a lot darker than the one shown here ... much less teal & lots more dark blue & black. Didn't quite capture the spring feeling I wanted. I ended up not going to the event. Just wasn't thrilled with the other options in my closet.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 16, 2014
THE DRESS WAS PERFECT! I had a lot of shipping issues and was worried but it made the night amazing!
The fit was comfortable, the 6 I ordered wouldn't zip, but the backup size was just right. The clasp at the top of the dress wouldn't close, but that didn't matter. Very flattering and made me feel beautiful. Easy and fun to dance in and the pockets were awesome and useful! OVERALL IT WAS AWESOME!!! I would order it again in a heartbeat.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
April 16, 2014
Beautiful dress with deep colors.
I really enjoyed wearing this dress. The material is pleasant to touch and retained shape really well. It is a lot darker in person than it looks in the pictures - I was expecting something a little lighter and springier - but it is still a beautiful dress. I'm deducting one star because the zipper was really tough to pull up and down, maybe not an issue with the design of the dress as much as the condition of the dress itself.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
April 16, 2014
The colors of this dress are absolutely beautiful! Got complements all night! Want to keep it!!
I rented this dress for a spring wedding and absolutely loved it in person as much as I did online. The colors of the dress are beautiful and perfect for Spring and Summer! The fabric is great quality and I found the dress to be comfortable all night long. I even danced all night in the dress, and had no problems with the cap sleeves, as other renters had mentioned before. The only somewhat downside to the style of this dress is the fabric in the stomach area poofs out slightly when you sit down, kind of giving off a pregnant look, but I think I was the only one who actually noticed because it was so minor. Absolutely love this dress! Wish it was a permanent staple in my closet and am planning to rent it again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
April 19, 2014
Received tons of compliments!
I ordered the 0 & 2 but the 0 was a bit tight around my backside but the 2 was perfect. I rented this for a friends rehearsal dinner. It was super comfortable and I loved the design!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 132lbs
April 20, 2014
Liked it but didn't love it.
The colors were much duller in person.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
April 22, 2014
I'm 5'10, this dress too short to be comfortable unless legs under a table. Not for a church.
Very short, and the bubble portion of dress exaggerated hips
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
April 23, 2014
Love the Cap Sleeves and Print!
I wore this dress for Easter. We go to church and a fancy brunch afterward. The material was casual enough, and I would highly recommend it for a outdoor wedding, baptism, rehearsal dinner, etc. I loved the print and the cap sleeves. I'm usually a size 8, but the 6 fit. I thought the length was perfect. Only it slight rode up when I sat down.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
April 24, 2014
Can be casual or more dressy, loved it
I wore this to a rehearsal dinner in southern California. It was perfect for an early spring wedding. The fit is very flattering. I did not find it to be too tight in the arms as other people suggested.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
April 26, 2014
Beautiful colors, felt frumpy
As everyone else mentioned, the colors and material of this dress are lovely. I think one problem I ran into was that I should've gotten a smaller size. That may have contributed to why I felt a bit shapeless. But also, I think perhaps I had a different idea in mind of how it was going to be cut. It was definitely comfortable. I didn't have any trouble dancing in it at the wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
April 27, 2014
Wore this to a rehearsal dinner.
Fit great overall and felt really comfortable to wear.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 28, 2014
The color is beautiful!
I wore this dress to a bridal luncheon. I wasn't a huge fan of the cap sleeves. They hit too high on me :( I ended up wearing a blazer over it and it still looked great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
April 28, 2014
Really pretty but didn't fit...
It only got three starts because it didn't fit! I was told this dress ran small, but the four was too big. I imagine it was supposed to be tighter on the hips and backside, but it was baggy. I wish I had ordered a size down for my backup. Otherwise, the dress was beautiful and I really liked the pattern, and I would rent again in the two. The material was not thick so it would be good for a spring wedding. I paired it with nude tights and black booties for a day wedding in April.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 28, 2014
Perfect fit. Perfect wedding look.
Perfect fit, though arms a little tight, don't get full range of motion but not significantly limiting. Very comfy. Added bonus...it has pockets! It was so fun to wear, classy and trendy at the same time.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Weight: 145lbs
April 29, 2014
I loved the free back up size!!
I loved this dress and I got so many compliments!! It fit slightly tighter through the hips than I expected but still looked great.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
May 3, 2014
The compliments !
This dress was my first RTR dress and it couldn't of been more perfect ! I loved everything about it. It was flattering and comfortable at the same time. The colors are much more vibrant in person. The selves were a little tight (like most of the reviews stated ) but not uncomfortably tight. I would recommend this dress !!! I love it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 4, 2014
I wore this for a bridal shower. It was just dressy enough but not over the top.
The cap sleeves are a little snug when you lift your arms etc... but not enough to be uncomfortable. It fit great and was flattering on my shape.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
May 4, 2014
Didn't wear it
Rented this for a wedding, but unfortunately it was too big. The fabric and print were gorgeous however!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 5, 2014
Amazing dress and the pockets were great!
I had my eye on this one for a while and was so excited to have a wedding to rent it for. I even had to leave home early for the wedding and was able to change my shipping address on Monday, which was only 3 days before my rental date. RTR's customer service really is amazing and they will work with you when last minute changes happen. When I got the dress I tried it on and the 6 fit perfectly. It wasn't tight at all and I felt so comfortable in it all night long. It was the perfect length, the colors were very vibrant, and the pockets were great for my phone and other personal belongings. The material was much lighter than I thought it would be based on the picture from the model, which was a pleasant surprise. I was worried it would be too warm for a May wedding in the South, but it was just right. All in all, great experience and I will definitely rent this one again for another event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 5, 2014
Simple yet chic dress
Loved the color of the dress and it photographed well. It was very comfortable for the party and perfect the event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 5, 2014
I rented this to wear to a wedding but ended up loving the Trina Turk too much to not wear it!
The sleeves hit at an awkward spot on my arm, and I was worried I would rip them dancing! Otherwise a super cute dress. It almost seems like a dress best suited for a work-type event.
See more reviews:
3 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×