Underneath The Stars Dress

$60 rental
$595 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Need an LBD with a bit of sparkle? This Sachin + Babi full skirt style is the perfect choice to look fabulously chic at the rehearsal dinner. Simply pair with kate spade new york accessories Night Owl Shoulder Bag and Tom Binns Cut Couture Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black Neoprene with black lace and metallic beading embellishment. (Top: 60% Nylon, 40% Metallic. Skirt: 90% Polyester, 10% Spandex). Sleeveless. Scoop neck. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook and eye closure. Unlined. 36” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
218 reviews
Fit
Large34
True to Size144
Small6
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 41
October 12, 2015
Perfect dress for my Homecoming dance. Was the right style for the event.
Overall fit nice and comfortable. Very Happy with the results.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
October 12, 2015
This dress was great! It fit really well, and was the perfect cocktail dress for the wedding.
This dress was elegant, but also very comfy. I ordered a zero and a size 2 as my back-up. I'm typically a zero, and I ended up wearing the zero because it fits true to size. I have no complaints. I loved it, and I would definitely rent it again.
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
October 11, 2015
Perfect for freshman Homecoming! Received many compliments.
Dress fit well although it ran a little large. I felt that it was made of very nice material as well. It was a little frayed on the waistline, but it was not noticeable in the pictures. I received many compliments and I had a great time at my first high school homecoming!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
October 8, 2015
Beautiful dress and fit!
I typically wear a 4 with a padded bra and the 4 in this dress seemed a bit big in the top. Had I gotten the 2 as my second size, I probably would have worn it. That being said, the dress was SO comfortable and easy to wear. It hit all the right spots to hide imperfections and show off what looks great. I also met Tony Goldwyn in this dress so that helped me feel even more great :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 7, 2015
Madonna concert!
Okay this dress is dressy. I wore it to a concert and it was soooo comfortable to wear and dance in but I felt overdressed. The top is stretchy and thin fabric and the skirt a thick and stretchy fabric. It is a super flattering dress and made me look very skinny! I'd rent again but probably for a wedding or formal event. The beading is delicate and the lace torn in some spots but wasn't noticeable. The skirt came to about knee length.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 158lbs
October 5, 2015
Classic look
Well fit, pictures do it justice!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
October 5, 2015
Sexy, cute, classy birthday dress
Great fit, especially on a petite frame such as mine - slender at the top, defined waist with a heavy satiny skirt. Gives a flattering silhouette. Love "starry" detailing on the top. Very romantic.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 15
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
September 30, 2015
Very fun but age appropriate dress!
I wore this dress to my freshman homecoming. The dress ran a little large...being a size zero and 5'4 the dress was large everywhere. It was very comfortable though. I enjoyed the sparkly bodice but used fashion tape to raise the neckline to ultimately shorten the skirt. I got so many compliments from people. Overall very nice.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
September 29, 2015
Great fit amazing detail
This dress is a step up from your LBD . It adds a little extra touch. Great fit and very flattering. Very true to size
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
September 23, 2015
I got many compliments on this dress and everyone wanted to know where it came from
I wore this to my semi formal dance. Fits true to fit and feels very smooth. A very comfortable dress that I felt relaxed in. Would definitely wear again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 17, 2015
Cute, flirty and fun!
A twist on the traditional little black dress, I loved the neckline and bodice of this dress. The material was perfect - flattering with some give but firm enough to keep lumps and bumps from showing. I am just under 5' 4" and the length was perfect. It also has just the right amount of sparkle.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
August 31, 2015
Simple black dress that can be dressed up or down.
I really liked this dress -- it was simple but had some sparkle and accents on the top to make it interesting. I wore a size 12 but needed a size 8 or 10. The top was too big on me, and wished it hit about 1.5" shorter on me -- it hit right at the knee but it flared out at so it looked longer. Overall it was cute, but it was my backup dress and they didn't have my correct size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 26
August 4, 2015
Pretty and comfortable dress!
I rented this for a bachelorette party. I felt slightly overdressed but it was so comfortable and extremely flattering; I received many compliments throughout the night. The material is slightly heavier but I didn't notice once I had the dress on.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
July 30, 2015
loved the glitter made it dressy and classy
easy to move around it, comfortable
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 15
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Athletic
June 13, 2015
Absolutely Beautiful and Unforgettable
I rented it for a middle school semi formal and it fit great! It was appropriate and comfortable. I was the only one with that dress on, something that only happened to 15 girls. It was easy to dance in, but it was a little hot after awhile, but I wore it in mid June without air conditioning , so......
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
June 10, 2015
The dress arrived on time and fit well!
This dress is great! Fits true to size and is very figure flattering. However, it did not have as much wow factor as I've felt with other dresses I've rented. It's a very good black staple dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
June 8, 2015
Fun dress for a wedding!
Dress fit great, the bottom is a heavier material than I was expecting but it was good quality and comfortable. The beading on the top wasn't scratchy at all. I would rent this again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 2, 2015
Friend's rehearsal dinner.
I ended up not wearing this dress. The skirt is a little overbearing (very full) and a little longer than I wanted. Love the top though! Beading/pearls were comfortable and the neckline and shoulder line are very flattering!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 30, 2015
This dress made the night unforgettable!
I ordered this dress for a formal wedding - I ordered a size 0 and size 2. I thought the size 2 would be the size I would wear; however I ended up wearing the 0. The 0 fit perfectly! It is not my usual style, but it was fun to wear, comfortable and I received many compliments!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 28, 2015
Perfect formal dress for a 14 year old young lady!
Amazing and age appropriate dress! Beautiful fabric with a heavy skirt and beaded top. Some stretch to the bodice. She looked and felt beautiful, and got tons of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
May 25, 2015
Fun dress for dancing and very comfortable!
I was nervous with this dress as it was not available in my back up size, but it ended up being very well-fitting on me and SO comfortable. It is a little more conservative than I am used to but without looking like a "grandma" dress- the skirt was fun and twirly on the dance floor at the wedding I went to. The only negative I would say would be that I wish there were more colors of this dress, as it was a spring wedding, and I wish I had gone more with a brighter colored dress. Although I did get multiple comments on this one!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
May 25, 2015
Beautiful dress
It is a beautiful dress, and fit true to size. It is comfortable and was nice length (but much longer than the model.) Plenty of room in the bust.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 16, 2015
First dress I tried on, I knew it was THE one
This dress fit me perfectly! I wore it for my junior prom.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
May 9, 2015
Perfect Dress!
It fits so well! Very comfortable to move around in. Not too tight & the beading does not irritate your arms.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
May 6, 2015
Gorgeous dress!
The dress is gorgeous. It was more structured and more of a neoprene material on the bottom than I was expecting so it wasn't the most flattering right above my hips, but it wasn't enough to not wear the dress. The material on the top is much thinner than the skirt, so the zipper would get stuck right where the fabric changed. Although the description says you can wear a normal bra with the dress, I don't see how since the top cuts in on the shoulders and the straps are fairly thin. I wore a strapless bra and had no issues. The only note I would make is that if you have a larger bust the dress becomes very high waisted. I wish that I could have had one more inch of the top fabric so the waist seam was at my natural waistline rather than above it. I kept trying to pull the dress down. The dress is gorgeous and was perfectly cute and stylish without being revealing to chaperone my students' prom. The dress is true to size, but a bit short if you are tall. Wore it with black pumps and it looked good. Wish I had taken a full length picture to share! This was my first RTR experience and it was incredibly simple and efficient. Thanks RTR! Will be renting again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 30, 2015
Charming shape and feel!
This dress is a simple fit, but an outstanding vibe. The top is fitted so no bra necessary (yay!), and the firm, yet flex skirt was perfect for acceptable movement on the dance floor. I kinda wish I owned this one.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 19, 2015
I recieved so many complements on this dress!
Wore a size four, which is what I usually wear, and it fit perfectly! I would highly recomened this dress. It was not too short or too tight. I wore 4 inch heals with it. There were a few beads that were loose, but it was unnoticeable unless you were looking right at them.
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 16
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 152lbs
April 1, 2015
Awesome dress!
Fit very well! It's anything a little loose but fit well! The length was good, not too short or too long! Fell right above the knee a little bit! Dress goes well with any formal occasion/ theme
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
March 31, 2015
Fantastic!
This dress was so comfortable and perfect for dancing. The top was not itchy under the arms and was stretchy. I wore a racerback bra underneath and you could not see the straps at all. Simple jewelry and plain black pumps completed the look. I wish I could keep this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 134lbs
March 30, 2015
Best compliment- you look like a star from Madmen
Wore it for a friends 40th with black shoes & red lipstick. Fit was perfect. Flair was fun for dancing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
March 18, 2015
Loved the Dress Would Rent it Again!!!
The dress was very comfortable to wear. The top is slightly stretchy which made it easy to have a great fit. The bottom of the dress flares so the hip fit was no problem. The top has some beading and pearls. I worn this for a semi-formal awards dinner. I received several sompliements on the dress. I also rented the Dress Me Up Bracelet which went well with the dress. While the RTR site indicates you can wear the dress with a regular bra, I would recommend that you wear it with a cross-back or strapless bra. I uses doubled sided tape to attached my bra straps to the dress. Without the tape, my regular bra straps showed.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
March 16, 2015
Great customer service. Not my original choice.
RTR contacted me the day before my dress was supposed to arrive to let me know that the previous renter had not returned in time, so I was unable to get my dress. This dress was my third choice of alternatives, so that was pretty disappointing. It's a beautiful dress, just not what I had planned on. I received tons of compliments all night and many people asked where I got it. The dress fit well, but was a bit large in the bust. I would recommend girls with a small bra size and narrow rib cage size down. I definitely could have worn a 0. Also, wear a black racer back bra. Bra may peek out of the large arm holes a little bit. Thanks for getting me the new dress so quickly! I ended up loving it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 25, 2015
Beautiful, classy dress!
This dress was great - very true to size and comfortable. The silver details on the bodice are so beautiful and more striking in person. Keep in mind that this dress is a little long, I'm on the tall side of 5'6" with long legs and this fell at a very modest length, which was appropriate since I was at a wedding. If I were going to a party or on a date I would've wished it were shorter. If you're looking for a classy, fun take on the LBD, this dress is perfect! This is the kind of dress mothers love, mine wanted me to buy it :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
February 25, 2015
I ordered this dress for my 13 year old daughters Formal day at school.
The dress arrived on time, perfectly pressed, and ready to wear.. Fit was perfect!! i am so happy with rent The Runway!! I will use it all the time for myself and my daughter.. Given her age she has a lot of Bar and Bat Mitzvah's to attend and of course cannot wear the same thing twice.. This is a Godsend for me!! Thank You Rent The Runway!!!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 23, 2015
I LOVE THIS DRESS
Made my boobs look great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
February 14, 2015
Amazing shape!
Wore it to my work party, which is more conservative than most. Gives you an extremely tiny waist and is more A-line than seen in the photo but in a good way. Could use more detail but nothing some accessories couldn't easily adjust. Though it was simple I received compliments all night.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
February 11, 2015
Great dress! Lots of compliments! My husband said I should purchase this one! :)
Great fit for an athletic build and helps cover up a little pooch after 2 kiddos! At first I was worried it was too young of a dress for me (41), but everyone seemed to love it! I wore a size 10, and have been somewhere in the range of an 8-10 top and 6-8 bottom... I am quite broad in the shoulders... I may have possibly been able to wear an 8, but more comfortable in the 10 I think! :) I would definitely recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 53
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
January 30, 2015
My daughter received so many compliments on the dress for her first semi-formal-great dress!
The fit was true to size; she's almost 5'8" so the length was ideal for her height in a size 6. We used a strapless bra with criss crossed clear straps. The dress was perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
January 26, 2015
Perfect Fit!
This was my backup for a dress that wasn't in stock. They also only had one size of this dress and i ended up wearing THIS dress' backup to my Formal. Luckily I had a choir concert the next day and was able to wear this dress too! it fit great, a little scratchy but over all a really comfy and flattering dress.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
January 25, 2015
I would stay away from this dress if you are short.
I'm 5'1'', and this dress was awkwardly long on me. It seems like there is just too much fabric in the skirt of the dress. The size zero was perfect on my upper body, but it accented my hips and did not flatter my lower body at all. I did not end up wearing this to the wedding.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×