Rent the Runway

Sachin & Babi

Underneath The Stars Dress

$60 rental
$595 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Need an LBD with a bit of sparkle? This Sachin + Babi full skirt style is the perfect choice to look fabulously chic at the rehearsal dinner. Simply pair with kate spade new york accessories Night Owl Shoulder Bag and Tom Binns Cut Couture Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black Neoprene with black lace and metallic beading embellishment. (Top: 60% Nylon, 40% Metallic. Skirt: 90% Polyester, 10% Spandex). Sleeveless. Scoop neck. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook and eye closure. Unlined. 36” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

164 reviews

Fit
Small 4
True to Size 117
Large 28
Photos 99
RTR Customer
Sep 28, 2014

This dress made it unforgettable

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Awesome dress!! I felt gorgeous! The top was a tad big but not bad at all! Worn for my high school homecoming!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 2, 2014

Perfect!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Rented this for my daughter's first HS Homecoming and she looked beautiful!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 103 lbs
Oct 4, 2014

Beautiful dress and perfect fit!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to emcee a formal homecoming coronation ceremony. I have a hard time finding dresses that are not too big on me, and this dress fit perfectly! This was my first rental from Rent the Runway and I loved it! The beading on the bodice is even more beautiful in real life, and the fit and flare skirt was fantastic! Would definitely recommend this to others.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 7, 2014

Someone I did not know grabbing my hand and telling me I look amazing!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for an awards banquet/casino night that is held annually. My husband loved the way the dress fit he told me I looked gorgeous. I loved that it was fitted on top but flowy on the bottom it made me feel very girly but also fit the dress of the occasion. It had just enough sparkle as well! Very beautiful dress!
RTR Customer
Oct 13, 2014

This dress was highly complimented and especially noted for how simple and classy it is.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit perfectly. I would advise ordering your usual size and a size below.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 15, 2014

Effortless Elegance

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was comfortable, easy to wear, and the skirt was never an issue on the dance floor. My dress had a few pulls (the top is embellished) but unnoticeable to anyone else and looked great in photos. I recommend this as a safe dress to anyone who wants to not think about their dress or play with it throughout the night.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 15, 2014

Perfect dress for an evening wedding!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was great. The fabric is a bit heavier than I imagined, but it was still perfect for me. I wore a strapless bra with it because the straps are not that wide and you'd need a good halter bra to make sure they don't peek out during the evening. I also went up a size because while the 8 fit, I am larger in the chest area and the size 10 was just much more comfortable in that area. Keep that in mind if you're busty. Otherwise, I highly recommend this dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 19, 2014

Rented for my daughter (homecoming)

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Beautiful dress. Fit true to size. She wore the 0. It was not the typical dress all the girls wore which made it that much more special. She is 5"5 so length was perfect for a young girl.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 21, 2014

Beautiful, high quality dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first choice dress but my normal size wasn't available so I chose a different one.... disastrous. But after a call to RTR I ordered this dress in a size bigger than normal which worked out perfectly - a tad big but still looked great. The fabric is nice and heavy and didn't wrinkle at all. The beading on the top is beautiful. I'd order this one again.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 16
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108 lbs
Oct 24, 2014

I actually got him to dance!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I feel like the dress would've looked a lot better on me if it were shorter, but that's just my fault! Being short is tough. Otherwise, I really liked the dress. I would just make sure to wear a bra with straps that are more closer together than mine were, also making sure it matched the color of your dress. Yikes. The dress fit really well, though. It wasn't too loose, nor was it too tight. I have no boobs so there was space around my mid-section, but that meant I had more room to eat! :)
RTR Customer
Age: 16
Nov 4, 2014

I received so many compliments!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It's was a great fit and for my height it came about 3 inches above my knee. I loved the material of the bottom part.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 16
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 11, 2014

Great dress for any size!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was afraid i wasn't going to fit into the 2 so i ordered a 4, but the 2 fit/felt great! It's a good length, not too long nor short, and I'm very petite. The jewels/design on the top is SO much prettier in person. The fabric is a little heavy but it didn't affect me. Iy's really a great dress.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 16, 2014

This dress did was awesome! I got tons of compliments! It looked amazing and it was super comfy!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress because I needed something conservative for this wedding, and it was the right fit. It does a really great job of defining your waist. I paired it with dangly earrings that were crystal, and nude wedges. It is a classic dress for a classy event. The only reason I didn't give it five stars was because the zipper was a pain in the butt, it kept getting stuck where the two fabrics come together.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 141 lbs
Nov 17, 2014

Wore this dress to a wedding and got so many compliments all night!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered an 8 and a 10 (as my free backup), but the 8 fit perfectly. Since I'm short, I was worried that the skirt would cut me off weirdly at the waist, but I had no problems. The detail on the top wasn't quite what I expected, but was still very pretty nonetheless (the picture makes it look like sequins, but it's more beads and lace). The skirt was a very thick material but still very light and breathable - perfect for a winter wedding. Everyone told me I looked amazing and when I said that I got the dress on RTR they were very impressed! This is my second RTR experience and I love it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 25, 2014

Such a beautiful wedding!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I felt so great in this dress! The top fit perfectly and was not too tight at all. Was a little long and used hem tape to tape it up, only complaint!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 2, 2014

So many compliments!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is awesome! The dress feels light on but it's made of material that really doesn't wrinkle, and it keeps its shape very well. A few snags on the beaded top but that's to be expected given the fact that it's previously worn. Easy to move in and a great length! Would absolutely wear it again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 8, 2014

Beautiful dress!!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit very well and looked great! The top was not itchy at all and added a beautiful touch to an elegant LBD. I would definitely rent this again!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 9, 2014

Great holiday party dress

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
It's perfect for a work holiday party because it's festive but not too revealing. It was very comfortable and easy to move around in. The skirt material was thick which I liked and made the overall look a bit more dressy. Great rental!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175 lbs
Dec 13, 2014

Perfect holiday dress!

Size worn: 10
Rented for: Party
I ordered selected both a 10 and 12, they fit almost the same...the 10 cinched my waist in more, so I went with that one! It fit like a glove. It was a little shorter than expected but I wore tights with it and it didn't look inappropriate or anything. I got tons of compliments and it fit in perfectly. It wasn't too dressy and it looked really festive. The beading on the bodice did rub my arms a little but it wasn't an issue! Great dress, great experience!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 14, 2014

Super versatile and flattering!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress! Very comfy but still really slimming and flattering. I was even able to wear a t-back sports bra with it, no strapless needed. The top half of the dress was a tiny bit frayed but really not at all noticeable. The only thing I would say is that it does run pretty big. I'm usually a 4 and even the 2 was a little roomy.
RTR Customer
Age: 29
Dec 16, 2014

Comfortable dress and very flattering.

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm kind of in between sizes right now and was thrilled to see the 6 fit! I'm petite but the shoulders fit well and weren't too roomy (always a concern for me). I did struggle with finding a bra that wouldn't show... Almost all of mine showed in the armpit area (because I'm petite!!). That said, I did find one that worked. I went with a black racer back bra and it only showed a little bit under my arms but blended well with the dress. I'm not small chested either... I'm a C. So if you're petite and an A or B in bra size you might not fill out this top portion. The length was a bit long on me but it made for a comfortable dress. The people I knew complimented me as it was very flattering, especially because it accentuated my narrow waist. That said, I didn't feel like I stood out. I went to a huge Christmas ball and most people wore black - I wish I had gone with something a bit more bold. Not the dress' fault! It was a lovely dress but not my factorize from RTR so far. Good if you have a small waist!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 8, 2015

Got so many compliments on this dress! The top half has the perfect amount of sparkle!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit and flare cut of this dress is very flattering, and the fabric was heavy enough for a winter holiday party. Would rent again!
RTR Customer
Age: 19
Jan 10, 2015

I got lots of compliments, and it was quite comfortable.

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Formal Affair
It definitely fit true to size, which means I might have done better to get a 0. But I figured better too big than too small, so I ordered the 2 and 4. I wouldn't recommend overestimating, basically. You'll do fine ordering a size that is sometimes too small in some brands, plus the next size up as your extra.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Jan 16, 2015

I rented this dress for new years. Great fit, true to size. I'm 5'5" and it was knee length on me.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I would rent again!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Jan 25, 2015

I would stay away from this dress if you are short.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I'm 5'1'', and this dress was awkwardly long on me. It seems like there is just too much fabric in the skirt of the dress. The size zero was perfect on my upper body, but it accented my hips and did not flatter my lower body at all. I did not end up wearing this to the wedding.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 30, 2015

My daughter received so many compliments on the dress for her first semi-formal-great dress!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was true to size; she's almost 5'8" so the length was ideal for her height in a size 6. We used a strapless bra with criss crossed clear straps. The dress was perfect!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148 lbs
Feb 11, 2015

Great dress! Lots of compliments! My husband said I should purchase this one! :)

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great fit for an athletic build and helps cover up a little pooch after 2 kiddos! At first I was worried it was too young of a dress for me (41), but everyone seemed to love it! I wore a size 10, and have been somewhere in the range of an 8-10 top and 6-8 bottom... I am quite broad in the shoulders... I may have possibly been able to wear an 8, but more comfortable in the 10 I think! :) I would definitely recommend!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 25, 2015

Beautiful, classy dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was great - very true to size and comfortable. The silver details on the bodice are so beautiful and more striking in person. Keep in mind that this dress is a little long, I'm on the tall side of 5'6" with long legs and this fell at a very modest length, which was appropriate since I was at a wedding. If I were going to a party or on a date I would've wished it were shorter. If you're looking for a classy, fun take on the LBD, this dress is perfect! This is the kind of dress mothers love, mine wanted me to buy it :)
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 16, 2015

Great customer service. Not my original choice.

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Wedding
RTR contacted me the day before my dress was supposed to arrive to let me know that the previous renter had not returned in time, so I was unable to get my dress. This dress was my third choice of alternatives, so that was pretty disappointing. It's a beautiful dress, just not what I had planned on. I received tons of compliments all night and many people asked where I got it. The dress fit well, but was a bit large in the bust. I would recommend girls with a small bra size and narrow rib cage size down. I definitely could have worn a 0. Also, wear a black racer back bra. Bra may peek out of the large arm holes a little bit. Thanks for getting me the new dress so quickly! I ended up loving it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 18, 2015

Loved the Dress Would Rent it Again!!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was very comfortable to wear. The top is slightly stretchy which made it easy to have a great fit. The bottom of the dress flares so the hip fit was no problem. The top has some beading and pearls. I worn this for a semi-formal awards dinner. I received several sompliements on the dress. I also rented the Dress Me Up Bracelet which went well with the dress. While the RTR site indicates you can wear the dress with a regular bra, I would recommend that you wear it with a cross-back or strapless bra. I uses doubled sided tape to attached my bra straps to the dress. Without the tape, my regular bra straps showed.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Mar 31, 2015

Fantastic!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was so comfortable and perfect for dancing. The top was not itchy under the arms and was stretchy. I wore a racerback bra underneath and you could not see the straps at all. Simple jewelry and plain black pumps completed the look. I wish I could keep this dress!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 16
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 152 lbs
Apr 1, 2015

Awesome dress!

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit very well! It's anything a little loose but fit well! The length was good, not too short or too long! Fell right above the knee a little bit! Dress goes well with any formal occasion/ theme
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 30, 2015

Charming shape and feel!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is a simple fit, but an outstanding vibe. The top is fitted so no bra necessary (yay!), and the firm, yet flex skirt was perfect for acceptable movement on the dance floor. I kinda wish I owned this one.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
May 9, 2015

Perfect Dress!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Other
It fits so well! Very comfortable to move around in. Not too tight & the beading does not irritate your arms.
RTR Customer
May 16, 2015

First dress I tried on, I knew it was THE one

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit me perfectly! I wore it for my junior prom.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117 lbs
May 25, 2015

Beautiful dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It is a beautiful dress, and fit true to size. It is comfortable and was nice length (but much longer than the model.) Plenty of room in the bust.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
May 25, 2015

Fun dress for dancing and very comfortable!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was nervous with this dress as it was not available in my back up size, but it ended up being very well-fitting on me and SO comfortable. It is a little more conservative than I am used to but without looking like a "grandma" dress- the skirt was fun and twirly on the dance floor at the wedding I went to. The only negative I would say would be that I wish there were more colors of this dress, as it was a spring wedding, and I wish I had gone more with a brighter colored dress. Although I did get multiple comments on this one!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 28, 2015

Perfect formal dress for a 14 year old young lady!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Amazing and age appropriate dress! Beautiful fabric with a heavy skirt and beaded top. Some stretch to the bodice. She looked and felt beautiful, and got tons of compliments!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
May 30, 2015

This dress made the night unforgettable!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress for a formal wedding - I ordered a size 0 and size 2. I thought the size 2 would be the size I would wear; however I ended up wearing the 0. The 0 fit perfectly! It is not my usual style, but it was fun to wear, comfortable and I received many compliments!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 8, 2015

Fun dress for a wedding!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress fit great, the bottom is a heavier material than I was expecting but it was good quality and comfortable. The beading on the top wasn't scratchy at all. I would rent this again.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×