Sachin + Babi

Shining Armour Dress

$30 – $50 rental ?
$450 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get gorg in gold sequins for the party! This blouson dress by Sachin + Babi is an easy option to glitter through the night. Simply pair with Alexis Bittar’s Serpentine Quartz Cuff for monochromatic shine.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - elastic at natural waist allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra. Attached slip.
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - elastic at natural waist allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra. Attached slip.
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Gold sequins on mesh (100% nylon). Cap sleeves. V-neckline. Keyhole back with button closure. Straight skirt with bloussant front. 39” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

168 reviews

Fit
Small 26
True to Size 115
Large 24
Photos 111
Tina
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
May 27, 2014

This dress makes you glow. Looked great.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Be careful of all the sequins! It may run a little shorter than you would expect, but otherwise with heels looks great.
ChaCha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
May 28, 2014

Perfect for a Roaring 20's Shindig!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was in a bind and forgot to think about a costume for my friend's Gatsby-themed birthday party. RTR to the rescue! This was the perfect rental for the night. Fun, sparkly, and fit over my little baby bump. I'm usually a 4 but it wasn't available, but since I'm pregnant, I sized up to a 6 and it worked just fine! I felt glamorous, comfortable and quite the doll of the party! If there's another Roaring 20's party, I know where to get a costume in a pinch!
Hannah
Usually wears: 0
Age: 17
May 29, 2014

I loved this dress so gorgeous makes you look tanner! I had so many complements!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was amazing! Just make sure you don't wear anything like a braclet that would snag it I love this dress! It was amazing!
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155 lbs
May 31, 2014

Fun dress for my commencement ceremony

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for my graduation commencement ceremony. It was a great dress for a Sunday morning event, and I really liked the sequin details. The lining was significantly shorter than the overlay part, and since I'm tall, the lining was quite short on me. However, you couldn't really tell through the sequins.
Erika
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Jun 1, 2014

Stunning dress for any party! Nonstop compliments!! LOVED!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress!!! I felt so amazing and was paid so many compliments while wearing this to a wedding!! I was a little unsure if it would be too "light" colored for a wedding but it is not. It is a very light gold/tan with bronzey gold sequins. the slip underneath can be pulled up higher under the sheer layer or lowered, as you can see in the different pictures. The lighting wasnt the greatest but I wanted to show the different ways the dress and sequins looked since i know I had a hard time figuring that out beforehand. If you are smaller chested like me, SIZE DOWN. there is plenty of room in the hip area and i was able to wear a smaller size. VERY flattering. RENT THIS DRESS!! I never wear fancy things twice but, Ive already rented it again for another even I have this summer!!!
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Jun 2, 2014

Loved the sequins!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The detailing on this dress was really beautiful. The liner kept riding up throughout the night, but other than that, I enjoyed wearing this dress.
Ryan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 2, 2014

Perfectly vintage

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this for a jazz themed charity event and it was the perfect amount of theme inspired without looking costume-y. The 4 fit but I liked that the 6 gave more of a blouson look to the top (and more room) so I ended up wearing the 6. I was worried I was too top heavy for the style but the short skirt gave it some balance. This was confirmed by the number of components I received. Not to mention that my fiancé still talks about how great "that dress" was. Absolutely recommend renting this.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 13, 2014

Didn't end up wearing!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Rented for a wedding but didn't end up wearing. Size 6 was too tight across the bust and hips and size 8 was too long in the torso. Very pretty dress but I felt like the color washed me out a bit. I you're an hourglass I would not recommend this style (drop waist). There are so many more flattering options out there!
Lea
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Jun 15, 2014

I loved this dress. It was classy and a show stopper all in the same dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit beautifully and the color was a gorgeous rose gold which made me glow all evening. I didn't have an issue with the underskirt being too short for my height.
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Jun 23, 2014

Perfect for the occasion.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The wedding I wore this to wasn't black tie but most of the women wore long dresses. The long dress I ordered didn't work so I wore this instead and it worked perfectly for the occasion. It fit like a glove and was just gorgeous, lots of compliments!
Johanna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133 lbs
Jun 29, 2014

tons of compliments

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
i wore the size 6 because i liked it loose . very pretty
kathryn
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 121 lbs
Jul 2, 2014

I put this on and my husband said "Wow". This dress is beautiful, glamorous and flattering.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a dear friend's wedding and this dress couldn't have been more perfect. The color is beautiful, the design is stunning... I felt wonderful in this dress. This dress not only looks beautiful - it's totally comfortable - no need for a special bra, spanx - nothing. If anything it runs a tiny bit big - but I didn't find it too short like some did (I'm only 5' so that gave me some more length).
Laura
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 3, 2014

Sparkled at the party for sure!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Wore this to my boyfriend's surprise party. This dress fit wonderfully! The slip underneath isn't attached, so you can raise it up or pull it down. The sequin overlay doesn't have much give, but I still was able to wear a size smaller than I usually do. Perfect for a 20's party or a Great Gatsby themed party. The elastic hits at the waist and can create the illusion of a larger midsection, but you can pull it up higher or lower depending on how you want to wear it. Awesome dress...I will use RTR again!
Alyssa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 20
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 7, 2014

I felt absolutely 20's glamorous!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This year's Honors College ball theme was Night Out with Gatsby. This dress was absolutely perfect for the affair! I got so many compliments and people kept asking me where I got it. It was my first rental and I'm usually a 4 or a 6. I went with the smaller 4. I felt so great in this dress :)
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 13, 2014

Perfect 1920s inspired dress for a Great Gatsby themed wedding!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress fit a little tight in my hips (I am curvy) but over was comfortable and exactly what I was hoping for. Great color. I would have liked it a little longer but was overall happy with the look
Colleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 180 lbs
Jul 14, 2014

Cute dress for Gatsby wedding!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a Gatsby wedding. I am 6 months pregnant and it was so comfortable! I liked that I could wear it either high or low. I liked how the high looked, but with the bump, it made it very short. I probably would have went with that way if I wouldn't be chasing my toddler around. The low waist didn't give me a very good shape, but the length was perfect, I could stuff myself full of amazing food, and it was comfortable on my baby bump.
Elyse
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143 lbs
Jul 16, 2014

Gorgeous dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress comes with a nude slip as well as the sequined outer layer. I am curvy so I found the fit to be a little off, though I would say it does run true to size. The slip was tight around my hips, where I am curviest, and yet the waistband of the dress was a little loose and would slip lower than I would have liked. So the fit wasn't perfect, but honestly I didn't care because I felt so beautiful in this dress. 100% would rent again.
Olivia
Age: 21
Jul 17, 2014

I had RTR deliver my dress to my hotel-- Arrived perfectly on time!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress was so comfortable and cool on a hot, sunny day. Thought it ran a little large but was still able to wear my usual size. #ESPYS #awardshow #california
TaylorC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Jul 28, 2014

Perfect dress for a 1920s theme party!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this for my 1920s themed birthday party and it was perfect! It photographs beautifully too! I went with a 6 instead of a 4 because it's a little tighter on the bottom half and I am more pear shaped. So I would suggest sizing up for you back up dress. Loved every minute wearing it!
Alexa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 28, 2014

Beautiful dress and so fun!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a friend's wedding in Park City (cocktail attire) and it was perfect! Very sparkly. Based on the other reviews and my body type I actually ordered a size down as my alternate. It is two separate pieces...a nude slip and then the dress. The slip for the size 6 hung down an inch below the dress, which I didn't like so I wore the size 4 slip with the size 6 dress and it worked perfectly (the only difference I could tell between the two slips was the length). Very comfortable, great dress and I got a ton of compliments. It's definitely on the short side, so wear it if you want to show off your legs, but I didn't have any trouble dancing all night. Additionally, I wore normal undergarments and it was fine.
kait
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 5, 2014

I loved this dress. Super sparkly and fancy, no need for extra jewelry or accessories.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
runs true to size, you need to be very careful when putting it on/taking it off because of the sequin get stuck together, the undergarment was a little beat up
Natalie
Age: 24
Sep 7, 2014

I needed a dress for a wedding and I looked all over RTR and when I found this 20's inspired dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It fits true to size. I wore a 2 when typically in jeans I am a 4. I am athletic built and weight 124. Each person is different. It's comfortable, easy to move in, beautiful, and 20's themed! My favorite! #Wedding
Lauren
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 10, 2014

So much sparkly fun

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was a great rental, perfect for a formal summer wedding. It was 95 degrees in DC and I was so glad I had this on instead of a long dress. I received many compliments. I would have worn the size 6 but the slip underneath was a little tight on my legs. The 8 had plenty of room so I went with it. Would rent again!
Susan
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 17, 2014

Perfect amount of glitter for a Vegas wedding!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress arrived on time as promised and I immediately packed it up for a trip to Vegas. It fit wonderfully and went well with gold heels. I had bought a glittery headband to go with it but it made the dress look too "Gatsby". It was very comfortable and got loads of compliments. Best part was that I was able to drop it off in person at the Rent the Runway store in the Cosmopolitan!
Vicky
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 21, 2014

It glows!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Amazing dress! I absolutely loved it, as did everybody else. When it comes to size it was very true to size, I'm a bit wide in the hips and so was a bit snug there but nothing prevented me from walking naturally or dancing. The length was just right. The underslip tended to ride up a bit but not much. The sequence didn't itch at all on the inside of the arm either. Overall a great dress!
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 18
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Sep 24, 2014

Can't brag in this dress enough!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress! So comfortable and loved that you can adjust the waist. I was worried about the cut of the dress due to my pear shape and drop waist normally make my hips look huge, but it was surprisingly flattering! Perfect for an event in the transition time to the fall season, very easy to dance in and eat.:)
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Sep 27, 2014

I loved this dress! Perfect for 1920's themed event.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was so happy with this dress. It runs slightly large, but the cinched waist allows you to make the fit work for you - either wearing it blousy at the top if needed. The sequins are more of a bronze than gold. The length was perfect. I got a lot of compliments on the dress and loved everything about it. I would highly recommend this dress.
Brianna
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 16
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Sep 27, 2014

So classy and glamorous for Homecoming

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Perfect fit- very classy!!! Loved it.
Rochelle
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 2, 2014

A complete stranger came up and told me how great my dress was

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is gorgeous! I loved wearing it, and my husband was disappointed I had to send it back. I wore it as a bridesmaid in my brother's 20's theme wedding. I ordered a size 8, with no backup size, as the 10 wasn't available. Unfortunately, the slip packed with my size 8 dress was actually a size 6! I don't catch the mistake in time, so I wore it anyway. It was a bit tight through the bottom (I have a booty!), but it worked out fine. I would definitely rent this dress again. It is beautiful!
Tyler
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 15
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105 lbs
Oct 6, 2014

Homecoming dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
My daughter choose this for Homecoming and wanted something different; this was perfect. She is tall and thin. the liner underneath has adjustable straps. We rented the earrings too.
Robyn
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 7, 2014

Everyone loved it! Was perfect but a little snug if you have hips and booty :)

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Amazing for out door wedding.
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 126 lbs
Oct 19, 2014

Lots of compliments

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Runs a little small through the hips ! Color was pretty!! I am petite and the length hit me at the knee
Jennifer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 5, 2014

Received compliments all night long.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm 5'7, 125 pounds and the 4 was perfect. I wore it with the waist dropped, but you could pull it up for a shorter look.
cait
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 16, 2014

Amazing fit!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
PERFECT dress for an outdoor wedding. I loved that it was not too tight but also not too loose. I would defiantly rent again!!
JB-ATL
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 56
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106 lbs
Nov 28, 2014

Love this dress - perfect for a glittery night out

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I was surprised how much I loved this dress after I put it on - it has an elastic waistband that I thought would look weird, but it's really makes the top soft & lovely. The length is great for my 5'4" height and the sequins are not scratchy to the skin. Though it's softly loose, the slip dress underneath is more fitted so stick with "true to size". The dress is basically see through. I will be renting this one again - we did not attend the function as planned, so it's on my wish list for later.
Lin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 10, 2014

Fantastic Service!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I actually rented another dress, but because there were missing sequins, I notified RTR about it. Stylist Kahlilah was so great. She told me to select another dress and overnighters this to me. Dress and overnight shipping was no cost to me! She even included a bracelet as a little surprise for me. I'm SO glad there's a great company like RTR. They definitely have MY loyalty!
tara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 129 lbs
Dec 19, 2014

Gorg

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
Fit was perfect and it was super comfortable. I got a ton of compliments!
Kaitlyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 16
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 22, 2014

I ended up not choosing this dress for my event.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I really loved the sequin detailing of this dress-it has a beautiful flapper-esque feel to it. There is a separate slip underneath the sequined top of the dress, and this part was a little tighter around my hips and thighs than the sequined top itself. The top half of the dress was close to being unflattering, as the cinched part of the dress needed to be pulled up around my natural waist to make it fit right. Wearing it as a dropped waist was not very flattering for me personally. Overall, a really gorgeous dress!
Carlie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 21, 2015

Perfect glamorous dress for Gatsby party!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
We had our wedding rehearsal dinner at a 1920's Detroit speakeasy and jazz club- it was the perfect venue and this was the perfect dress for our 20's theme. I got so many compliments. I loved the fit and the gold sequins! The fit is casual/loose but still flattering, not too long or short, and really comfortable. The sequins are not cheap looking. I wish I owned this dress!
michelle
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 156 lbs
Mar 18, 2015

Danced the night away!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was perfection! ~I ordered a size 6 and a size 8, and ended up using the size 6 dress and size 8 slip~ I have a broad upper body/thin waste/wide hips, so the fact that this dress has cap sleeves and still managed to fit my legs and arms comfortably was more than I ever expect out of a dress. The only discomforts: Sequins are uncomfortable to sit on for long periods of time, taking the dress off left me with a few scratches because of the sequins. It's such a great "in between" of fancy & casual dressy. I wore this to a catholic ceremony & country themed wedding reception and never felt over or under dressed!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×