Shining Armour Dress

$50 rental
$450 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get gorg in gold sequins for the party! This blouson dress by Sachin + Babi is an easy option to glitter through the night.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - elastic at natural waist allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra. Attached slip.
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - elastic at natural waist allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra. Attached slip.
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Gold sequins on mesh (100% nylon). Cap sleeves. V-neckline. Keyhole back with button closure. Straight skirt with bloussant front. 39” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
212 reviews
Fit
Large26
True to Size141
Small29
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Other
April 11, 2015
I liked the dress! It has a weird fit around the waist. Gorgeous dress, sequins were not itchy.
I rented this for a Gala event for my husband's bank. It has a weird fit around the waist, but it is a really gorgeous dress that was fun and easy to wear. If I had shape wear that fit, that would have helped.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
April 10, 2015
Beautiful Dress
This dress if very beautiful and flattering for hour glass shape. I attended a very conservative high school so I had to wear a slip underneath just in case it was too short, but I do not think it is too short for the ordinary woman. The cinch at the waste is very flattering. I loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 1, 2015
First time using RTR and was very impressed!
I was worried about the sizing but it worked out great. I received so many compliments!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
March 31, 2015
Dress was very comfortable; got compliments all night!
Some of the sequins were missing, but that is to be expected from normal wear - it was not noticeable to anyone but me. I ordered the 6 and the 8 after reading reviews that the dress was a bit snug in the hips. I ended up wearing the 6 as the 8 was just a bit big overall. I did not find the 6 to be too narrow in the hips, and that is a common problem for me with many dresses.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 156lbs
March 18, 2015
Danced the night away!
The fit was perfection! ~I ordered a size 6 and a size 8, and ended up using the size 6 dress and size 8 slip~ I have a broad upper body/thin waste/wide hips, so the fact that this dress has cap sleeves and still managed to fit my legs and arms comfortably was more than I ever expect out of a dress. The only discomforts: Sequins are uncomfortable to sit on for long periods of time, taking the dress off left me with a few scratches because of the sequins. It's such a great "in between" of fancy & casual dressy. I wore this to a catholic ceremony & country themed wedding reception and never felt over or under dressed!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 1, 2015
Very unique dress!! Beautiful and comfortable!
Fit was true to size. There is a shell that goes underneath which allows for some room. The top layer is very thin and delicate but it was a perfect dress for the occasion.
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 21, 2015
Perfect glamorous dress for Gatsby party!
We had our wedding rehearsal dinner at a 1920's Detroit speakeasy and jazz club- it was the perfect venue and this was the perfect dress for our 20's theme. I got so many compliments. I loved the fit and the gold sequins! The fit is casual/loose but still flattering, not too long or short, and really comfortable. The sequins are not cheap looking. I wish I owned this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
January 5, 2015
Fabulous dress!!! Just loved it.
True to size. So pretty! Quite comfortable too! Received tons of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
December 27, 2014
Intricate beading, unique, gorgeous
I absolutely loved this dress. It is so unique and different. It is a bit baggy, but has a gathered waist that you can fold over the top. I loved this dress as a change from the typical black dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 17
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
December 22, 2014
I ended up not choosing this dress for my event.
I really loved the sequin detailing of this dress-it has a beautiful flapper-esque feel to it. There is a separate slip underneath the sequined top of the dress, and this part was a little tighter around my hips and thighs than the sequined top itself. The top half of the dress was close to being unflattering, as the cinched part of the dress needed to be pulled up around my natural waist to make it fit right. Wearing it as a dropped waist was not very flattering for me personally. Overall, a really gorgeous dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 129lbs
December 19, 2014
Gorg
Fit was perfect and it was super comfortable. I got a ton of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
December 10, 2014
Fantastic Service!
I actually rented another dress, but because there were missing sequins, I notified RTR about it. Stylist Kahlilah was so great. She told me to select another dress and overnighters this to me. Dress and overnight shipping was no cost to me! She even included a bracelet as a little surprise for me. I'm SO glad there's a great company like RTR. They definitely have MY loyalty!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 57
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
November 28, 2014
Love this dress - perfect for a glittery night out
I was surprised how much I loved this dress after I put it on - it has an elastic waistband that I thought would look weird, but it's really makes the top soft & lovely. The length is great for my 5'4" height and the sequins are not scratchy to the skin. Though it's softly loose, the slip dress underneath is more fitted so stick with "true to size". The dress is basically see through. I will be renting this one again - we did not attend the function as planned, so it's on my wish list for later.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
November 25, 2014
I really wanted to love this dress - and I hated it.
The dress looked cheap and it didn't work right on my pear shaped body.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
November 23, 2014
The wedding was awesome, but I wore a dress I already had!
I'm big chested and this was too big up top, too small on the bottom, and the lining underneath way shorter than the overlay. This fit quite awkwardly.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 17, 2014
Loved it!
And so comfortable! I got compiments on it all night! So glad it was an original amongst the crowd.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 16, 2014
Amazing fit!
PERFECT dress for an outdoor wedding. I loved that it was not too tight but also not too loose. I would defiantly rent again!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136lbs
November 11, 2014
Gorgeous dress!
I wore this dress to my birthday dinner, and it was PHENOMENAL. Seriously, it's a month later and people are still talking about that dress! The only sad part was returning it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 8, 2014
Pretty
Perfect for the summer wedding I attended.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
November 5, 2014
Received compliments all night long.
I'm 5'7, 125 pounds and the 4 was perfect. I wore it with the waist dropped, but you could pull it up for a shorter look.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
November 4, 2014
Gorgeous and Unique
Loved this dress. It's not too short or too low cut but the nude color and sequins make it so sexy and unique! I ordered an 8 and it fit - and in my opinion LOOKED - GREAT! BUT if I were to do it over, I would go up a size to create a more blousy fit. The waist is elastic and I think it would look great a tad loose and flowy. Either way - loved it! Lots of compliments. One negative - the sequins caught on the tablecloth at the wedding. Very delicate.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 29, 2014
great dress!
great dress! wore it to my friends rehearsal dinner, and received countless compliments. Fun dress! great find
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
October 27, 2014
This dress was amazing! This was my first RTR dress and now I'm addicted! I want to own this dress!
It was a great dress. It ran a little large but it was my fault that I didn't order it in time and did not get to try my other additional size. The dress was extremely comfortable and easy to wear for an outdoor fall ceremony and indoor reception. The color was amazing!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 22, 2014
Tons of compliments all night about my dress
I love this dress and would like to rent it again or buy it. The biggest con to this dress is the elastic waist. The one I wore has obviously been rented several times and the elastic is pretty much shot from the dress. I found several times where I was pulling the waist back up because it kept falling and it slowly looked like a maternity dress which is not the look I am going for.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 126lbs
October 19, 2014
Lots of compliments
Runs a little small through the hips ! Color was pretty!! I am petite and the length hit me at the knee
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
October 12, 2014
It's a beautiful dress
I wore this to a rehearsal dinner and received many compliments. It is very flattering as it hugs in the right places and is loose in the right places. I recommend getting a spanx-like undergarment if you have some bumps around your hips or butt because it's fairly snug & short from the waist down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 10, 2014
Sexy, sparkly blouson dress! LOVE!
If only I could buy this dress but since I can't - thank goodness for RTR. I got compliments all night long. The dress fit and felt great and it looked even better. Truly a stunning outfit.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
October 7, 2014
Everyone loved it! Was perfect but a little snug if you have hips and booty :)
Amazing for out door wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 16
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
October 6, 2014
Homecoming dress
My daughter choose this for Homecoming and wanted something different; this was perfect. She is tall and thin. the liner underneath has adjustable straps. We rented the earrings too.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 2, 2014
A complete stranger came up and told me how great my dress was
This dress is gorgeous! I loved wearing it, and my husband was disappointed I had to send it back. I wore it as a bridesmaid in my brother's 20's theme wedding. I ordered a size 8, with no backup size, as the 10 wasn't available. Unfortunately, the slip packed with my size 8 dress was actually a size 6! I don't catch the mistake in time, so I wore it anyway. It was a bit tight through the bottom (I have a booty!), but it worked out fine. I would definitely rent this dress again. It is beautiful!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 17
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
September 27, 2014
So classy and glamorous for Homecoming
Perfect fit- very classy!!! Loved it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
September 27, 2014
I loved this dress! Perfect for 1920's themed event.
I was so happy with this dress. It runs slightly large, but the cinched waist allows you to make the fit work for you - either wearing it blousy at the top if needed. The sequins are more of a bronze than gold. The length was perfect. I got a lot of compliments on the dress and loved everything about it. I would highly recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 19
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
September 24, 2014
Can't brag in this dress enough!
Loved this dress! So comfortable and loved that you can adjust the waist. I was worried about the cut of the dress due to my pear shape and drop waist normally make my hips look huge, but it was surprisingly flattering! Perfect for an event in the transition time to the fall season, very easy to dance in and eat.:)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
September 21, 2014
It glows!
Amazing dress! I absolutely loved it, as did everybody else. When it comes to size it was very true to size, I'm a bit wide in the hips and so was a bit snug there but nothing prevented me from walking naturally or dancing. The length was just right. The underslip tended to ride up a bit but not much. The sequence didn't itch at all on the inside of the arm either. Overall a great dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
September 17, 2014
Perfect amount of glitter for a Vegas wedding!
The dress arrived on time as promised and I immediately packed it up for a trip to Vegas. It fit wonderfully and went well with gold heels. I had bought a glittery headband to go with it but it made the dress look too "Gatsby". It was very comfortable and got loads of compliments. Best part was that I was able to drop it off in person at the Rent the Runway store in the Cosmopolitan!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
September 15, 2014
Beautiful dress. Unique, and classy. Bad for hourglass figure though.
I think the dress itself is beautiful. I would recommend that for anyone with an hourglass figure to look elsewhere. It does not flatter someone with a smaller waist and larger bust/hips. It looked "good enough" but was not the most body enhancing dress I could have worn. The shape just falls flat for anyone with curves. If you are long and lean, this dress is amazing and classy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 10, 2014
So much sparkly fun
This was a great rental, perfect for a formal summer wedding. It was 95 degrees in DC and I was so glad I had this on instead of a long dress. I received many compliments. I would have worn the size 6 but the slip underneath was a little tight on my legs. The 8 had plenty of room so I went with it. Would rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 24
September 7, 2014
I needed a dress for a wedding and I looked all over RTR and when I found this 20's inspired dress!
It fits true to size. I wore a 2 when typically in jeans I am a 4. I am athletic built and weight 124. Each person is different. It's comfortable, easy to move in, beautiful, and 20's themed! My favorite! #Wedding
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 5, 2014
I loved this dress. Super sparkly and fancy, no need for extra jewelry or accessories.
runs true to size, you need to be very careful when putting it on/taking it off because of the sequin get stuck together, the undergarment was a little beat up
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
August 28, 2014
Beautiful dress and so fun!
I wore this to a friend's wedding in Park City (cocktail attire) and it was perfect! Very sparkly. Based on the other reviews and my body type I actually ordered a size down as my alternate. It is two separate pieces...a nude slip and then the dress. The slip for the size 6 hung down an inch below the dress, which I didn't like so I wore the size 4 slip with the size 6 dress and it worked perfectly (the only difference I could tell between the two slips was the length). Very comfortable, great dress and I got a ton of compliments. It's definitely on the short side, so wear it if you want to show off your legs, but I didn't have any trouble dancing all night. Additionally, I wore normal undergarments and it was fine.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×