Rent the Runway

Sachin & Babi

Shining Armour Dress

$50 rental
$450 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get gorg in gold sequins for the party! This blouson dress by Sachin + Babi is an easy option to glitter through the night.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - elastic at natural waist allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra. Attached slip.
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - elastic at natural waist allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra. Attached slip.
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Gold sequins on mesh (100% nylon). Cap sleeves. V-neckline. Keyhole back with button closure. Straight skirt with bloussant front. 39” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

187 reviews

Fit
Small 27
True to Size 126
Large 25
Photos 128
erika
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 174 lbs
Oct 22, 2013

Great Gatsby lover....and felt like i was in the 40's!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
This dress was super super comfy, but you looked like a million bucks. went out to sushi with hubby and friends and both the boys said everyone in the restaurant watched me leave. :) its so comfortable you want to wear it all night, and the sparkles are not "too much". Great to wear anywhere and look like a fashionista!
Michelle
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 1, 2014

It was a Gatsby themed NYE party! Everyone complimented me. Very flattering and comfortable.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fits true to size and very comfortable..adjustable can be shorter and Flowy on top or longer by making the empire waist lower. Great length. Great on any skintone
Taj
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 100 lbs
Jan 3, 2014

Comfortably sparkly

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress. The waistline is elastic so it will fit many shapes. It was fun to party in this dress. Not too formal, but not too casual. Overall fantastic!
Shannon
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 5, 2014

Got to wear a unique dress and felt amazing in it!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fabulous dress! Received lots of compliments. The slip did not hang lower than the hem for me, but the top of the slip kept showing at the neckline. The sequins were coming off in a couple of places on the back of the dress, but wore it anyway. Doubt anybody noticed. I did let RTR know. I found this ran very TTS. 32D-26-36. Would definitely rent again.
Bri
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 18
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 19, 2014

I got so many compliment on this dress! I loved it so much!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was big I could have gone for a 4 or even a 2 but it is so beautiful! I never wanted to take it off I loved it so much!
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 31, 2014

This was comfortable and I received compliments all night!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Definitely runs small, I am small on top so that part was fine but the bottom was just right in the 4, definitely snug though. I usually wear a 2. I think the dress looks better a little loose anyway. You need to make sure you adjust the slip to the right length first then pull the dress over it. At first it seems like it is riding up but once you adjust and align the slip, it stayed in place all night, I did not have to tug at it at all.
Liz
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118 lbs
Feb 18, 2014

I LOVED this dress! It was beautiful and comfortable!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a Great Gatsby Party and got a BUNCH of complements all evening and I felt really great in it!! The dress really impressed me! I can almost never wear a dress that tightens at the waist because i"m shortwaisted, but this dress fit perfectly. I will say that the slip underneath the dress seemed like it might have shrunk, and even in the back-up dress, which was a larger size, was still pretty snug, but it loosened after wearing it a little while. The color of the sequins is a dark bronze.
Jules
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 19, 2014

I'm 9 months pregnant and this dress still made me feel so glam!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was obviously more snug than usual around the midsection considering I'm 36 weeks pregnant, but I was so happy to find a non-maternity dress that was easy enough to wear that it worked. (My pre-prego weight was 115 but I'm 145 in this dress/picture.)
Lindsay
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 19, 2014

This is a gorgeous dress that definitely stands out in a crowd!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered the 4 and 6 and ended up wearing the 4 since the 6 fit a little weird in the back. Like other reviews have said, the sequins are darker than they appear in the picture. After searching endlessly for a Gatsby dress, this one worked perfectly. Although it arrived a day later than expected (and had me stressing) the overall experience was wonderful.
Julie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Mar 3, 2014

It was a fun night out with friends while raising money for a great cause!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I typically wear a size 2 in all other clothes, so I only ordered a size 2 in the dress. It fit perfectly - not at all tight but still looked fitted. I chose it specifically because the theme of the event was "Gatsby's Gala."
Jeanine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170 lbs
Mar 17, 2014

Great, unique style!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I really liked this dress, however my hips are a lot larger and not proportional to the rest of my frame... which caused an issue. The dress fit great everywhere, until it reached my thighs and it became a nightmare to pull down. Other than that, I received many compliments on the dress and it fit the theme of a whimsical/castle wedding very well.
Lucy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Mar 18, 2014

Elegant and flattering

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to my sorority semi-formal and it was a big hit! Loved the fit and the colors.
Libs_22
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 27, 2014

I wanted a fantastic dress for my very first Junior League gala, this dress did not disappoint.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Let me start by sharing how fabulous this dress is. I received SO many compliments and everyone LOVED the dress. I'm so happy with my selection for the event. Also, here's my size selection disclaimer, I've recently gained a little weight and wasn't sure if I'd be at a 6 or an 8 so I reserved both sizes and honestly, wish I would have bumped up to a 10. I ended up wearing the 8 and it looked great but was a little tight on my butt. I'm 5'6" and typically wear a 6 in dresses now with a little winter padding :( There were just enough sparkles and the perfect length, what can I say, I'm a big fan of this dress and think you will be too!
Emily
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 122 lbs
Mar 30, 2014

Perfect.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Firstly, the dress arrived like new, in wonderful packaging with a return envelop. The entire rental, shipping policy was flawless and well explained by RTR. The dress is a "loose" fitting dress. I ordered a 0, usually wearing a 0 or a 2, and the 0 wasn't too drapey and was comfortable fit. I am a 36 C, 28, 36. I highly recommend RTR and this dress!
Kara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 4, 2014

Love this Art Deco style dress for my Rehearsal Dinner

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I love all the detailing on this dress and it fit my "theme" of 1920's/Art Deco for my wedding. I wore this the night before to the rehearsal dinner and it was so comfortable and cute on. I was unsure of how to wear it, as the cinching of the fabric was hitting me at a weird place. But I ended up playing around with it and had the fabric hang over a little bit and it hit me on my hips. The dress has 2 pieces to it, and sometimes the inside piece/slip would run up a little bit, but it didn't bother me too much. It was also a little snug and tight around my legs/butt. Overall, really liked the dress and got lots of compliments!
lori
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Apr 7, 2014

Got lots of compliments on this dress - perfect for speakeasy-themed charity event (casino night)!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The slip under the dress is tight with little stretch, and it is shorter than I expected. Once I got used to it, it was fine. It arrived pretty wrinkled (the slip) and I didn't have time to get it pressed, but I don't think it was too noticeable. There was also a stain on it, but the sparkles and overlay covered it up, so it was okay. I probably would have sized up since it was for a speakeasy theme so it would have been loser, but all in all it was great for the event and I got a lot of compliments on it. :)
Chels
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Apr 7, 2014

Felt so unique and glamorous and got so many compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first RTR experience, and I have been raving about it to all of my friends! Ordered this dress last minute for a friends wedding, and it was on my door step the next day. The dress was in perfect condition and has such amazing beading and detail. I was nervous about sizing online but the reviews were so helpful. Glad I went with the 6 and 8 cus I wore the 6 overlay and 8 slip as they are two separate pieces and the slip was a little smaller in 6. Worked out perfectly! Paired with nude heels and nude/gold jewelry. Very flattering and comfortable all night! Just be careful when you first try on as sequins can scratch your arm. You won't regret renting this dress!!
Nanci
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 9, 2014

Beautiful dress! Tons of compliments

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The 8 was a little snugger on me than I would have preferred. The 10 was unavailable due to damage so this was my only option. It looked fantastic though and you couldn't tell I went a size down. Only negatives were some of the sequins were loose but it was hardly noticeable.
Kassandra
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 10, 2014

Compliments from the moment I entered the service - comfy and happy ceremony through last call...

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was a little shorter than I would have liked for a traditional wedding (but I'm 5'9"), but it was comfy for fancy and I felt great in it. Would definitely recommend!
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 13, 2014

Absolutely loved this dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Ordered the 6 and 8 and was nervous about the fit but ended up wearing the 6! I received a ton of compliments. Wore to a 1920's themed party !
Kirsten
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 16, 2014

The dress was a hit. Everyone loved it and it was definitely the most unique garment at the party.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit true to size. It was shorter than expected.
Annabelle
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 22, 2014

Perfect dress for a 1920's/Great Gatsby theme! Comfortable and beautiful!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit great. I usually wear a 4 but I read that this dress ran big on some people so I ordered a 2 as well. The 4 ended up fitting better...I would say it fits true to size. I received so many compliments on this dress. It was perfect for my friends 1920's themed rehearsal dinner!
Gina
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 23, 2014

Roaring 20s Glam!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I love the sequins detailing! It was great for the roaring twenties party and I received so many complements. It was easy to wear and high quality material.
Jen
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 27, 2014

Perfect and festive for a roaring 20s party!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I'm usually a 4 or 6 in cocktail dresses, so I ordered both a 4 and a 6 in this dress to try. I ended up wearing the 6 because it fit more comfortably and naturally. I got a ton of complements on the dress! It stands alone as a great cocktail dress, but with a feather headband and a strand of pearls, it works well for a gatsby jubilee!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
May 16, 2014

Dress was great for a friend's surprise birthday party!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I usually wear a 4 but it was a little snug around the waist.
APA
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
May 21, 2014

Sparkly sophisticated without being a disco ball

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my very first RTR rental for a formal NYE's event. I was extremely pleased with RTR's timeliness in delivery, the packaging, and the free goodies that came with my first rental such as the garment bag, double stick tape, and shampoo sampler! Now, to the details: Pros Sophisticated, grown-up sexy. Different and unique from other sequin style dresses. The dress has a waist band that helps to make the dress longer or shorter, depending on the fit and your height. For me, I used the band to make the dress more "blouse-y" on top. The dress is more of a bronze that bright gold, if you are going for a more subtle sequined look. Cons If you are apple or hourglass shaped, the dress may fit tighter around the hips. This dress would be flattering on a more narrow hip body type The sequins get caught, so be careful. They were also a little "itchy" around the arms and a few were missing when I received the dress. Overall, VERY pleased! I have been coming back to RTR for all of my event fashions and can't wait to try more dresses!
Tina
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
May 27, 2014

This dress makes you glow. Looked great.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Be careful of all the sequins! It may run a little shorter than you would expect, but otherwise with heels looks great.
ChaCha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
May 28, 2014

Perfect for a Roaring 20's Shindig!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was in a bind and forgot to think about a costume for my friend's Gatsby-themed birthday party. RTR to the rescue! This was the perfect rental for the night. Fun, sparkly, and fit over my little baby bump. I'm usually a 4 but it wasn't available, but since I'm pregnant, I sized up to a 6 and it worked just fine! I felt glamorous, comfortable and quite the doll of the party! If there's another Roaring 20's party, I know where to get a costume in a pinch!
Hannah
Usually wears: 0
Age: 17
May 29, 2014

I loved this dress so gorgeous makes you look tanner! I had so many complements!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was amazing! Just make sure you don't wear anything like a braclet that would snag it I love this dress! It was amazing!
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155 lbs
May 31, 2014

Fun dress for my commencement ceremony

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for my graduation commencement ceremony. It was a great dress for a Sunday morning event, and I really liked the sequin details. The lining was significantly shorter than the overlay part, and since I'm tall, the lining was quite short on me. However, you couldn't really tell through the sequins.
Erika
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Jun 1, 2014

Stunning dress for any party! Nonstop compliments!! LOVED!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress!!! I felt so amazing and was paid so many compliments while wearing this to a wedding!! I was a little unsure if it would be too "light" colored for a wedding but it is not. It is a very light gold/tan with bronzey gold sequins. the slip underneath can be pulled up higher under the sheer layer or lowered, as you can see in the different pictures. The lighting wasnt the greatest but I wanted to show the different ways the dress and sequins looked since i know I had a hard time figuring that out beforehand. If you are smaller chested like me, SIZE DOWN. there is plenty of room in the hip area and i was able to wear a smaller size. VERY flattering. RENT THIS DRESS!! I never wear fancy things twice but, Ive already rented it again for another even I have this summer!!!
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Jun 2, 2014

Loved the sequins!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The detailing on this dress was really beautiful. The liner kept riding up throughout the night, but other than that, I enjoyed wearing this dress.
Ryan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 2, 2014

Perfectly vintage

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this for a jazz themed charity event and it was the perfect amount of theme inspired without looking costume-y. The 4 fit but I liked that the 6 gave more of a blouson look to the top (and more room) so I ended up wearing the 6. I was worried I was too top heavy for the style but the short skirt gave it some balance. This was confirmed by the number of components I received. Not to mention that my fiancé still talks about how great "that dress" was. Absolutely recommend renting this.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 13, 2014

Didn't end up wearing!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Rented for a wedding but didn't end up wearing. Size 6 was too tight across the bust and hips and size 8 was too long in the torso. Very pretty dress but I felt like the color washed me out a bit. I you're an hourglass I would not recommend this style (drop waist). There are so many more flattering options out there!
Lea
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Jun 15, 2014

I loved this dress. It was classy and a show stopper all in the same dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit beautifully and the color was a gorgeous rose gold which made me glow all evening. I didn't have an issue with the underskirt being too short for my height.
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Jun 23, 2014

Perfect for the occasion.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The wedding I wore this to wasn't black tie but most of the women wore long dresses. The long dress I ordered didn't work so I wore this instead and it worked perfectly for the occasion. It fit like a glove and was just gorgeous, lots of compliments!
Johanna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133 lbs
Jun 29, 2014

tons of compliments

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
i wore the size 6 because i liked it loose . very pretty
kathryn
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 121 lbs
Jul 2, 2014

I put this on and my husband said "Wow". This dress is beautiful, glamorous and flattering.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a dear friend's wedding and this dress couldn't have been more perfect. The color is beautiful, the design is stunning... I felt wonderful in this dress. This dress not only looks beautiful - it's totally comfortable - no need for a special bra, spanx - nothing. If anything it runs a tiny bit big - but I didn't find it too short like some did (I'm only 5' so that gave me some more length).
Laura
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 3, 2014

Sparkled at the party for sure!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Wore this to my boyfriend's surprise party. This dress fit wonderfully! The slip underneath isn't attached, so you can raise it up or pull it down. The sequin overlay doesn't have much give, but I still was able to wear a size smaller than I usually do. Perfect for a 20's party or a Great Gatsby themed party. The elastic hits at the waist and can create the illusion of a larger midsection, but you can pull it up higher or lower depending on how you want to wear it. Awesome dress...I will use RTR again!
Alyssa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 7, 2014

I felt absolutely 20's glamorous!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This year's Honors College ball theme was Night Out with Gatsby. This dress was absolutely perfect for the affair! I got so many compliments and people kept asking me where I got it. It was my first rental and I'm usually a 4 or a 6. I went with the smaller 4. I felt so great in this dress :)
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×