Sachin & Babi

Shining Armour Dress

$96 to buy
$450 retail
Stylist Notes

Get gorg in gold sequins for the party! This blouson dress by Sachin + Babi is an easy option to glitter through the night.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - elastic at natural waist allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra. Attached slip.
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Gold sequins on mesh (100% nylon). Cap sleeves. V-neckline. Keyhole back with button closure. Straight skirt with bloussant front. 39” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
224 reviews
Fit
Large
(27)
True to Size
(146)
Small
(29)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
December 27, 2014
Intricate beading, unique, gorgeous

I absolutely loved this dress. It is so unique and different. It is a bit baggy, but has a gathered waist that you can fold over the top. I loved this dress as a change from the typical black dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 15, 2015
I received a number of complements!

The waist was a bit big. I had to tie a rope around to keep it in the right place. But overall the dress was great.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
September 23, 2015
I LOVED this dress! I lost count of the amount of compliments I received, while wearing it.

I ordered a size 8, and a size 6 for back up. Thankful I ordered the back up, as that is the one I wore. The size 6 fit amazing (ran big in my opinion).

View photos (3)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
October 7, 2013
first experience with RTW and was extremely happy I did it! Perfect idea for events!

ran a little large. I am glad I went with my second size as a 2 (i typically wear a 4). Overall loved the dress though!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
November 12, 2013
Customer Service on point when the dress I originally wanted was damaged. Got a complementary rental

Stunning show stopper dress. Runs slightly big. Lovely on.

View photos (3)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
December 26, 2013
Perfect dress for a day wedding

The dress is just right. Comfortable enough to dance and fitting enough to look sexy. Got a ton of compliments.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Age: 20
May 29, 2014
I loved this dress so gorgeous makes you look tanner! I had so many complements!

This dress was amazing! Just make sure you don't wear anything like a braclet that would snag it I love this dress! It was amazing!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 24
July 17, 2014
I had RTR deliver my dress to my hotel-- Arrived perfectly on time!

Dress was so comfortable and cool on a hot, sunny day. Thought it ran a little large but was still able to wear my usual size. #ESPYS #awardshow #california

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 12, 2016
Frumpy dress with an unflattering cut. Does not look nearly as good in person as it does in the pics

This dress was a total miss for me. I'm relatively tall (5' 8") and the waist still fell super low on my hips. The low waist plus the sagging slip made me look much heavier than I actually am. The slip is also much more apparent in person and clearly shows through the netting. The underslip is quite short but the cut of the dress runs large. Some of the sequins were also starting to come loose from frequent use. Overall, this dress was a total miss for me.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
August 27, 2013
Fun dress for a night out

I normally wear a 10, but the 12 fit much better. It was a flattering dress and surprisingly comfortable, but a bit shorter than I like. A previous reviewer went down a size because there was extra room in the waist making it too slouchy, but it actually worked out well for me since I have a long torso. Many dresses with elastic waist look funny on me because of it, but this worked well. It was a lot of fun for a girls night out.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34DDD/E
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
November 13, 2013
Pretty dress, more casual than I expected

The dress is a little small and not as fancy as I thought it would be from the pictures. I had rented it for a Great Gatsby Halloween party and ended up returning it because I didn't feel like it really fit the occasion properly. It was a pretty dress but definitely made for someone with a smaller chest.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 60
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
December 9, 2013
Stand out dress!

I rented this for an annual fundraising gala where I was the host, so I wanted something that stoof out. It really did, and I felt good in it all night. The underslip was a little bit of a challenge - i kept having to pull it down and as you can see in the photo it was a bit shorter than the dress. I ordered 6 and 8 based on the reviews and ended up wearing the 8. In retrospect and after looking at photos, I probably should've gone with the 6 as it looked pretty boxy but I'd definitely say it runs small. I've rented dozens of dresses from RTR and they never disappoint!

bonnieDecember 9, 2013
You really look great but on you I didn't notice the waist line, whereas on the model it was more obvious. You explained it well here. Is the dress see-thru? What undergarments did you need?
PattyDecember 9, 2013
Hi Bonnie: The dress is see-through but has a slip attached. I wore a strapless bra and spanx! With regard to the waist - like I mentioned in my review, I should've worn the 6 after looking at the photos and seeing how boxy it looks.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
January 31, 2014
This was comfortable and I received compliments all night!

Definitely runs small, I am small on top so that part was fine but the bottom was just right in the 4, definitely snug though. I usually wear a 2. I think the dress looks better a little loose anyway. You need to make sure you adjust the slip to the right length first then pull the dress over it. At first it seems like it is riding up but once you adjust and align the slip, it stayed in place all night, I did not have to tug at it at all.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
February 13, 2014
Great sparkly dress but very short!

I rented this dress for a Gatsby party. The overall look of the dress was perfect, but the dress was VERY short. The slip beneath the dress was even shorter, and I had to size up for the additional coverage. I also stuggled a bit with the fit - it was very tight through the hips, but then much looser through the waist and top. I know that's the general intent, but something about it seemed a little off. The fit and length aside, it is a beautiful dress, felt uber ritzy, and I received tons of compliments on it.

Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190lbs
March 17, 2014
Customer service for the win!

The dress was beautiful upon arrival. Unfortunately, the dress ran smaller than expected-especially in the bust-so I was unable to wear it. On the plus side...customer service cannot be beat. They expedited a new order that same evening and I had a new dress by 10am the next day!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
March 17, 2014
Great, unique style!

I really liked this dress, however my hips are a lot larger and not proportional to the rest of my frame... which caused an issue. The dress fit great everywhere, until it reached my thighs and it became a nightmare to pull down. Other than that, I received many compliments on the dress and it fit the theme of a whimsical/castle wedding very well.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
March 27, 2014
I wanted a fantastic dress for my very first Junior League gala, this dress did not disappoint.

Let me start by sharing how fabulous this dress is. I received SO many compliments and everyone LOVED the dress. I'm so happy with my selection for the event. Also, here's my size selection disclaimer, I've recently gained a little weight and wasn't sure if I'd be at a 6 or an 8 so I reserved both sizes and honestly, wish I would have bumped up to a 10. I ended up wearing the 8 and it looked great but was a little tight on my butt. I'm 5'6" and typically wear a 6 in dresses now with a little winter padding :( There were just enough sparkles and the perfect length, what can I say, I'm a big fan of this dress and think you will be too!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 27, 2014
Perfect and festive for a roaring 20s party!

I'm usually a 4 or 6 in cocktail dresses, so I ordered both a 4 and a 6 in this dress to try. I ended up wearing the 6 because it fit more comfortably and naturally. I got a ton of complements on the dress! It stands alone as a great cocktail dress, but with a feather headband and a strand of pearls, it works well for a gatsby jubilee!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 16, 2014
Dress was great for a friend's surprise birthday party!

I usually wear a 4 but it was a little snug around the waist.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
May 27, 2014
I had to return because neither size fit.

This dress is really well made, and the sequins give it just the right amount of sparkle without being over the top. It is a little more flapper-esque than it appears in the pictures. It definitely runs smaller than I thought it would. I am normally a 4-6, and neither of those worked for me. Sadly, I had to send it back. I would order the larger of whichever size you normally wear, and then a size bigger just in case.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155lbs
May 31, 2014
Fun dress for my commencement ceremony

I rented this dress for my graduation commencement ceremony. It was a great dress for a Sunday morning event, and I really liked the sequin details. The lining was significantly shorter than the overlay part, and since I'm tall, the lining was quite short on me. However, you couldn't really tell through the sequins.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
July 28, 2014
Perfect dress for a 1920s theme party!

I wore this for my 1920s themed birthday party and it was perfect! It photographs beautifully too! I went with a 6 instead of a 4 because it's a little tighter on the bottom half and I am more pear shaped. So I would suggest sizing up for you back up dress. Loved every minute wearing it!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 6, 2013
Got lots of compliments--Perfect for Daisy from Gatsby!

Fit perfect, true to size, would definitely rent this designer again!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
November 23, 2014
The wedding was awesome, but I wore a dress I already had!

I'm big chested and this was too big up top, too small on the bottom, and the lining underneath way shorter than the overlay. This fit quite awkwardly.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
February 25, 2014
Couldn't wear it. Definetly not for a pear shape

was waaay too fitted in the bottom and too short. Didn't wear.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 1, 2015
Beautiful design but difficult fit

I rented this dress for my recent graduation and ordered both a 6 and an 8. The 6 fit me, but was simply not very flattering. I believe with the drop waist style of this dress it is more flattering if it blouses a bit. So I ended up wearing the 8; however, by the end of the evening, the dress had stretched out a bit and was hanging on me and was not at all flattering. Perhaps if I had worn the smaller size it would have held up better over the course of the evening. It was a beautiful dress, but just didn't quite fit my body.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
August 19, 2015
This dress was perfect for a Seattle summer wedding with a 1920s theme! Fancy yet fun!

While the dress fit perfectly, the lining did not. I had to use my own tank/dress camisole, otherwise the lining pulled and squashed my chest.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 13, 2014
Didn't end up wearing!

Rented for a wedding but didn't end up wearing. Size 6 was too tight across the bust and hips and size 8 was too long in the torso. Very pretty dress but I felt like the color washed me out a bit. I you're an hourglass I would not recommend this style (drop waist). There are so many more flattering options out there!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
October 7, 2014
Everyone loved it! Was perfect but a little snug if you have hips and booty :)

Amazing for out door wedding.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Full Bust
February 24, 2014
It was pretty but short!

I was going to wear this for my rehearsal dinner but I felt like it was too short. The lining was shorter than the dress and it made me a little self conscious!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
March 11, 2014
Didn't end up wearing, good color. Fit was weird

Got this dress along with another RTR dress. Ended up wearing the other one. I am pretty tall and this dress was a little short. It also ran a little small but I think its construction made it a hard dress to wear. Also, it wasn't super comfortable. Good color though.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
April 4, 2014
Perfect Great Gatsby-themed dress!

The dress did not run too small, just a tad. I usually wear a 4 and wore that size, but if you are between sizes I would maybe go one up. The dress was perfect for my Great Gatsby-themed party, though, and was one of those dresses that does not wrinkle and looks good all night! Loved it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 15, 2014
My boyfriend loved the dress!

Absolutely loved this dress.. Especially how it turned out in pictures! The only thing was that the slip might've been too right & I kept needing to pull it back up over my bra but overall I'm so glad I got this dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 10, 2014
Sparkle and shine all the way. I was worried it might drown out my light skin, but it was dazzling!

It fits smaller than I thought it would. I ordered a 2 and a 4 and ended up wearing the 4. It was loose on top, but the bottom is quite form-fitting as the material doesn't really stretch much. The V-neck was super flattering on my larger bust, and I really liked the dress overall!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
October 12, 2014
It's a beautiful dress

I wore this to a rehearsal dinner and received many compliments. It is very flattering as it hugs in the right places and is loose in the right places. I recommend getting a spanx-like undergarment if you have some bumps around your hips or butt because it's fairly snug & short from the waist down.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 29, 2014
great dress!

great dress! wore it to my friends rehearsal dinner, and received countless compliments. Fun dress! great find

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
November 25, 2014
I really wanted to love this dress - and I hated it.

The dress looked cheap and it didn't work right on my pear shaped body.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
July 24, 2015
Flashy, fun and classy.

This dress is versatile from dressy to dressed up casual. I wore this with glitzy gladiator sandals for a summer look at the theater. The underslip runs very small, thus the size 8 underslip went with the size 6 overlay. I am curvy and it hid any "extra" curves which I loved.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 21, 2013
The most compliments I've received on a dress

Rented this for a late summer, black tie optional wedding. Rented both the 4 and the 6 and I didn't see much difference between the two sizes. The 4 fit very close to my body from the waist down but the fabric gives and I had no problem sitting or dancing. I wore nude undergarments and they couldn't be seen through the liner and overlay- the sequins are well placed which helps. My only difficulty was getting in and out and I had someone help me so I wouldn't pull any of the sequins in the dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 129lbs
September 14, 2013
This dress is classy, lightweight, and fun!

I wore this to fundraiser for Nemours and received many complements. It was the perfect cocktail dress for August in Florida with interesting detailing that is more beautiful in person. It was very comfortable and easy to dance in! Glad I had both sizes to choose from as the 4 fit better on me.

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×