Sachin & Babi

Shining Armour Dress

$96 to buy
$450 retail
Stylist Notes

Get gorg in gold sequins for the party! This blouson dress by Sachin + Babi is an easy option to glitter through the night.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - elastic at natural waist allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra. Attached slip.
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Gold sequins on mesh (100% nylon). Cap sleeves. V-neckline. Keyhole back with button closure. Straight skirt with bloussant front. 39” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
223 reviews
Fit
Large
(27)
True to Size
(145)
Small
(29)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
January 6, 2014
Flapper Retro
Once I saw the dress in person and tried it on, I completely understood why so many people rented this dress for a Gatsby or 20s themed event. I ended up not wearing this dress and going with my back-up instead. The dress was not flattering on me. It made me look boxy and bigger than I actually am. The underarm of the sleeve was also scratchy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 6, 2014
I received so many compliments on this dress!
I loved how unique this dress was. I has issues with the slip being slightly longer then the dress itself..perhaps because I didn't have the bust size to fill it. I think this dress would look really good on someone who is well endowed!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
January 21, 2014
dazzling!
love, love, love this dress. it's got a slip/liner part with a sequined sheath that goes over the top. comfortable, silky fabric. semi-flowy fit. very feminine.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
January 31, 2014
This was comfortable and I received compliments all night!
Definitely runs small, I am small on top so that part was fine but the bottom was just right in the 4, definitely snug though. I usually wear a 2. I think the dress looks better a little loose anyway. You need to make sure you adjust the slip to the right length first then pull the dress over it. At first it seems like it is riding up but once you adjust and align the slip, it stayed in place all night, I did not have to tug at it at all.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
February 13, 2014
Great sparkly dress but very short!
I rented this dress for a Gatsby party. The overall look of the dress was perfect, but the dress was VERY short. The slip beneath the dress was even shorter, and I had to size up for the additional coverage. I also stuggled a bit with the fit - it was very tight through the hips, but then much looser through the waist and top. I know that's the general intent, but something about it seemed a little off. The fit and length aside, it is a beautiful dress, felt uber ritzy, and I received tons of compliments on it.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
February 18, 2014
I LOVED this dress! It was beautiful and comfortable!
I wore this dress for a Great Gatsby Party and got a BUNCH of complements all evening and I felt really great in it!! The dress really impressed me! I can almost never wear a dress that tightens at the waist because i"m shortwaisted, but this dress fit perfectly. I will say that the slip underneath the dress seemed like it might have shrunk, and even in the back-up dress, which was a larger size, was still pretty snug, but it loosened after wearing it a little while. The color of the sequins is a dark bronze.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
February 19, 2014
I'm 9 months pregnant and this dress still made me feel so glam!
The fit was obviously more snug than usual around the midsection considering I'm 36 weeks pregnant, but I was so happy to find a non-maternity dress that was easy enough to wear that it worked. (My pre-prego weight was 115 but I'm 145 in this dress/picture.)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
February 26, 2014
Perfect with nude heels.
Beautiful party dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
February 27, 2014
glitzy and elegant! the sequined areas are beautiful!
more flattering on a straighter frame, if you want to show off a tiny waist this wouldn't be the best option. hits at a perfect spot on your legs, short without giving too much away! and appropriate for a more formal setting.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
February 27, 2014
Loved the dress!
It fit and looked great
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
March 3, 2014
It was a fun night out with friends while raising money for a great cause!
I typically wear a size 2 in all other clothes, so I only ordered a size 2 in the dress. It fit perfectly - not at all tight but still looked fitted. I chose it specifically because the theme of the event was "Gatsby's Gala."
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
March 11, 2014
Wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner and got so many compliments!
This dress is the perfect amount of sparkle! It really is a gorgeous dress and I got so many compliments on it all night. The waist band was not too tight around the mid-section. It is on the shorter side, but not too short.
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190lbs
March 17, 2014
Customer service for the win!
The dress was beautiful upon arrival. Unfortunately, the dress ran smaller than expected-especially in the bust-so I was unable to wear it. On the plus side...customer service cannot be beat. They expedited a new order that same evening and I had a new dress by 10am the next day!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
March 17, 2014
Great, unique style!
I really liked this dress, however my hips are a lot larger and not proportional to the rest of my frame... which caused an issue. The dress fit great everywhere, until it reached my thighs and it became a nightmare to pull down. Other than that, I received many compliments on the dress and it fit the theme of a whimsical/castle wedding very well.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 18, 2014
Elegant and flattering
I wore this to my sorority semi-formal and it was a big hit! Loved the fit and the colors.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
March 27, 2014
I wanted a fantastic dress for my very first Junior League gala, this dress did not disappoint.
Let me start by sharing how fabulous this dress is. I received SO many compliments and everyone LOVED the dress. I'm so happy with my selection for the event. Also, here's my size selection disclaimer, I've recently gained a little weight and wasn't sure if I'd be at a 6 or an 8 so I reserved both sizes and honestly, wish I would have bumped up to a 10. I ended up wearing the 8 and it looked great but was a little tight on my butt. I'm 5'6" and typically wear a 6 in dresses now with a little winter padding :( There were just enough sparkles and the perfect length, what can I say, I'm a big fan of this dress and think you will be too!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34DDD/E
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 4, 2014
Love this Art Deco style dress for my Rehearsal Dinner
I love all the detailing on this dress and it fit my "theme" of 1920's/Art Deco for my wedding. I wore this the night before to the rehearsal dinner and it was so comfortable and cute on. I was unsure of how to wear it, as the cinching of the fabric was hitting me at a weird place. But I ended up playing around with it and had the fabric hang over a little bit and it hit me on my hips. The dress has 2 pieces to it, and sometimes the inside piece/slip would run up a little bit, but it didn't bother me too much. It was also a little snug and tight around my legs/butt. Overall, really liked the dress and got lots of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
April 7, 2014
Got lots of compliments on this dress - perfect for speakeasy-themed charity event (casino night)!
The slip under the dress is tight with little stretch, and it is shorter than I expected. Once I got used to it, it was fine. It arrived pretty wrinkled (the slip) and I didn't have time to get it pressed, but I don't think it was too noticeable. There was also a stain on it, but the sparkles and overlay covered it up, so it was okay. I probably would have sized up since it was for a speakeasy theme so it would have been loser, but all in all it was great for the event and I got a lot of compliments on it. :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
April 7, 2014
Felt so unique and glamorous and got so many compliments!
This was my first RTR experience, and I have been raving about it to all of my friends! Ordered this dress last minute for a friends wedding, and it was on my door step the next day. The dress was in perfect condition and has such amazing beading and detail. I was nervous about sizing online but the reviews were so helpful. Glad I went with the 6 and 8 cus I wore the 6 overlay and 8 slip as they are two separate pieces and the slip was a little smaller in 6. Worked out perfectly! Paired with nude heels and nude/gold jewelry. Very flattering and comfortable all night! Just be careful when you first try on as sequins can scratch your arm. You won't regret renting this dress!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
April 9, 2014
Beautiful dress! Tons of compliments
The 8 was a little snugger on me than I would have preferred. The 10 was unavailable due to damage so this was my only option. It looked fantastic though and you couldn't tell I went a size down. Only negatives were some of the sequins were loose but it was hardly noticeable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 10, 2014
Compliments from the moment I entered the service - comfy and happy ceremony through last call...
The dress was a little shorter than I would have liked for a traditional wedding (but I'm 5'9"), but it was comfy for fancy and I felt great in it. Would definitely recommend!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
April 11, 2014
Wore for a Great Gatsby themed gala
Got lots of compliments. The only critique is that it's a little uncomfortable due to the sequins, but I somewhat anticipated that.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 13, 2014
Absolutely loved this dress!
Ordered the 6 and 8 and was nervous about the fit but ended up wearing the 6! I received a ton of compliments. Wore to a 1920's themed party !
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
April 14, 2014
Super cute dress. Was a bit heavy because of all of the embellishment. But, still comfy!
This dress is super cute, It's a bit heavier than it looks. But, is totally do-able if you're just standing/sitting around. I don't think I would recommend it for going out dancing though! Other than that, it was quite comfy and I got a lot of compliments on it.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 22, 2014
Perfect dress for a 1920's/Great Gatsby theme! Comfortable and beautiful!
This dress fit great. I usually wear a 4 but I read that this dress ran big on some people so I ordered a 2 as well. The 4 ended up fitting better...I would say it fits true to size. I received so many compliments on this dress. It was perfect for my friends 1920's themed rehearsal dinner!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 23, 2014
Roaring 20s Glam!
I love the sequins detailing! It was great for the roaring twenties party and I received so many complements. It was easy to wear and high quality material.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 24, 2014
elegant dress for a semi-formal wedding
I actually wore the size 4 liner with the size 6 dress. My reasoning for this was that it was a church wedding and the size 4 dress was a bit short. Both sizes fit well overall.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 27, 2014
Perfect and festive for a roaring 20s party!
I'm usually a 4 or 6 in cocktail dresses, so I ordered both a 4 and a 6 in this dress to try. I ended up wearing the 6 because it fit more comfortably and naturally. I got a ton of complements on the dress! It stands alone as a great cocktail dress, but with a feather headband and a strand of pearls, it works well for a gatsby jubilee!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
April 29, 2014
I wore this to a formal wedding and it definitely fit the bill!
Very comfortable! I played around with the waistline and even though it has elastic, I pulled it down a bit and wore it as a drop waist during my friend's church ceremony and sit down dinner and then brought the elastic back up to my natural waist for dancing! No problems at all with the dress! Quite a few compliments and it definitely sparkles on the dance floor
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 126lbs
May 1, 2014
perfect for a NYE wedding which started well after dark so I felt OK wearing the sequins
loved the dress, it was a bit baggy in the chest area on me but I couldn't wear the size 2 to because my of hips
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 3, 2014
This is the strangest fitting dress I have ever worn.
This is the strangest fitting dress I have ever worn. I didn't end up wearing it because it fit so oddly and was so unflattering. Maybe I'm just not a "drop waist" kind of girl, but I can't imagine this dress being flattering on anyone. Such a shame because the outer layer of the dress (yes, it has an outer layer and a nude slip underneath) is so pretty.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
May 5, 2014
Lovely Dress - Fits True to Size
Wore this for a Gatsby themed wedding. I got tons of compliments. It fit with the theme perfectly and it sparkled all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 16, 2014
Dress was great for a friend's surprise birthday party!
I usually wear a 4 but it was a little snug around the waist.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
May 21, 2014
Sparkly sophisticated without being a disco ball
This was my very first RTR rental for a formal NYE's event. I was extremely pleased with RTR's timeliness in delivery, the packaging, and the free goodies that came with my first rental such as the garment bag, double stick tape, and shampoo sampler! Now, to the details: Pros Sophisticated, grown-up sexy. Different and unique from other sequin style dresses. The dress has a waist band that helps to make the dress longer or shorter, depending on the fit and your height. For me, I used the band to make the dress more "blouse-y" on top. The dress is more of a bronze that bright gold, if you are going for a more subtle sequined look. Cons If you are apple or hourglass shaped, the dress may fit tighter around the hips. This dress would be flattering on a more narrow hip body type The sequins get caught, so be careful. They were also a little "itchy" around the arms and a few were missing when I received the dress. Overall, VERY pleased! I have been coming back to RTR for all of my event fashions and can't wait to try more dresses!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
May 27, 2014
I had to return because neither size fit.
This dress is really well made, and the sequins give it just the right amount of sparkle without being over the top. It is a little more flapper-esque than it appears in the pictures. It definitely runs smaller than I thought it would. I am normally a 4-6, and neither of those worked for me. Sadly, I had to send it back. I would order the larger of whichever size you normally wear, and then a size bigger just in case.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 27, 2014
This dress makes you glow. Looked great.
Be careful of all the sequins! It may run a little shorter than you would expect, but otherwise with heels looks great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
May 28, 2014
Perfect for a Roaring 20's Shindig!
I was in a bind and forgot to think about a costume for my friend's Gatsby-themed birthday party. RTR to the rescue! This was the perfect rental for the night. Fun, sparkly, and fit over my little baby bump. I'm usually a 4 but it wasn't available, but since I'm pregnant, I sized up to a 6 and it worked just fine! I felt glamorous, comfortable and quite the doll of the party! If there's another Roaring 20's party, I know where to get a costume in a pinch!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155lbs
May 31, 2014
Fun dress for my commencement ceremony
I rented this dress for my graduation commencement ceremony. It was a great dress for a Sunday morning event, and I really liked the sequin details. The lining was significantly shorter than the overlay part, and since I'm tall, the lining was quite short on me. However, you couldn't really tell through the sequins.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
June 1, 2014
Stunning dress for any party! Nonstop compliments!! LOVED!
I loved this dress!!! I felt so amazing and was paid so many compliments while wearing this to a wedding!! I was a little unsure if it would be too "light" colored for a wedding but it is not. It is a very light gold/tan with bronzey gold sequins. the slip underneath can be pulled up higher under the sheer layer or lowered, as you can see in the different pictures. The lighting wasnt the greatest but I wanted to show the different ways the dress and sequins looked since i know I had a hard time figuring that out beforehand. If you are smaller chested like me, SIZE DOWN. there is plenty of room in the hip area and i was able to wear a smaller size. VERY flattering. RENT THIS DRESS!! I never wear fancy things twice but, Ive already rented it again for another even I have this summer!!!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
June 2, 2014
Loved the sequins!
The detailing on this dress was really beautiful. The liner kept riding up throughout the night, but other than that, I enjoyed wearing this dress.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×