Sachin & Babi

Parisian Cabaret Dress

$77 to buy
$475 retail
Stylist Notes

Bring out your inner go go dancer by wearing this Sachin + Babi cobalt blue skirt dress! Waist cinching and one style that will have all eyes on you at the party.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a racer back bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt runs slim, will be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a racerback bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black jersey cotton and Polyester blue striped skirt with lace trim. Exposed back zipper. 35.5" from shoulder to hem.

Share
181 reviews
Fit
Large
(16)
True to Size
(97)
Small
(59)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
January 21, 2015
Fun, comfortable dress!
Wore for NYE. I'm a little top heavy and was looking for a fun little dress that I could wear a bra with. Very comfortable to dance in all NYE. Runs true to size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 8, 2015
Very cute and fun. Slight bunching to fabric at waist.
Overall was a very good fit. I felt self conscious about the bunching at the front but my friend told me I was crazy and looked "so skinny" - she had also been day drinking. Easy to wear and flirty with no bra. Definitely not for work, this is a party dress.
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Other
July 1, 2015
Fun to wear a designer dress and no one wearing the same
Fit was great a little to much bunching in the midsection which looked kind of funny, lace on the bottom was kind of frayed but over all loved the dress. Comfortable and cute for the occasion
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
October 26, 2015
Received a lot of compliments
I rented this dress for a Derby Party in Charleston, South Carolina. The size 4 was not available for my free second size choice, so the 2 is what I wore. It was a little tight up top, but overall a great fit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
December 28, 2015
This Dress is H...O...T
Probably my favorite dress I've rented so far! Perfect for a cocktail attire fund raiser. I went a size up only because there is no give in the skirt and I didn't want to be uncomfortable while sitting. This dress is so great! I would rent it again in a heartbeat if there weren't like 700 other dresses I want to try!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 21, 2015
Classy dress.
This dress was very comfortable, easy to dance in. The blue was a great shade. I got tons of compliments. Pretty true to size. I have pretty wide hips for a petite girl and had no issue with the way the bottom fit. Would definitely rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
May 9, 2016
Perfect cocktail dress
This was the perfect amount of sass and class. Received many compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Vacation
May 22, 2016
Too small didn't wear.
Didn't end up wearing was way too tight in my hourglass shaped hips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 31, 2017
Cute but not great
This is a great dress for a younger person. The fabric was nice (silk skirt), but there was *no give whatsoever. I wouldn't recommend to those with wider hips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 200lbs
August 27, 2012
Customer service at RTR went above and beyond helping me get the right size in time for my event!
I normally wear a 10 in dresses too accommodate having a larger bust. However the 10 in this dress was HUGE in the hips and tummy (I could grab at least 3 inches of extra fabric on the sides of my hips.) It made me look bigger than I actually am because the sides don't lay flat or mold to your body (not stretchy material) they just kind of stuck out. So I opted to wear the 8, which fit great from the waist down but was uncomfortably tight in the chest (I am a 36DD). Absolutely loved the blue color in the skirt and the lace detail at the bottom. This was my first RTR experience and I will definitely be renting again, just not this particular dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
September 9, 2012
Way too big
I had read multiple reviews saying not to rent this dress if you had considerable hips or a butt ... but I decided to anyway. I rented 1 size larger than I typically do based on these reviews, and the 6 was SWIMMING on me all over. I attempted to belt it to see if that would salvage it, but the bottom half has structure that didn't allow it to lay flat. I think I would have LOVED this dress had it fit ... maybe I'll try to rent either the 2 or 4 next time!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 18, 2012
Beautiful dress & great color -- Perfect for any occasion!
I wore this dress for a rehearsal dinner and I got tons of compliments! I've rented many dresses from RTR and this is the first one I truly wanted to keep as my own! One note on the sizing -- I normally wear a size two, but I probably needed a size zero. Because of the structure of the skirt, it is supposed to hug your hips and it didn't quite do that for me. Either way, I highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 1, 2013
Lots of compliments, and was able to share with friends how great RTR is!
Runs a little large- I usually wear a 6 or 8 in dresses but recently lost some weight so I ordered a 4 and 6 this time. I'm glad I did because the 6 was too large and a bit poofy in the stomach area, so I went with the 4. Loved the dress and got lots of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
March 2, 2013
"OMG your guns!"
The cut of this dress really accentuates toned arms. An odd review I know, but that seemed to be the general consensus based on the Facebook comments. Love that it was casual enough to wear to dinner in LES (I live in NYC where girls in dresses are usually tourists who look like they're trying too hard), but still feminine and flattering. Glad I ordered one size down for my extra as I was drowning in the 2. Looked great with tights, booties, and a clutch. Grab a little cropped jacket and you're good to go!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
March 25, 2013
I normally wear a size 4, i was able to wear the size 2, which was great.
The top was snug on the chest area but loose on the waist and the skirt was loose on the hips. Overall I did not like the way it fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
September 18, 2013
Liked
I wore this dress for a friend's engagement party. I liked that was classy enough for an early evening party (6:30-9pm) but I also didn't feel overdressed / out of place when we went out to bars afterward. I always rent a 4 as my main size; however, since the reviews were mixed regarding fit (some said it ran large, others said it ran small) I was definitely torn on which backup size to get. Since it's a tighter dress by nature I went with the 6 as a backup, but I did not even try the 6 on. I probably would have ended up wearing the 4 anyway but personally wish I would have tried on the 2. I have a small upper body and the 4 top was a little loose but not uncomfortably so. Be aware that the back is sort of racerback so you can't wear a regular style bra. Also the top is a little bit thin material so I would also recommend a black bra (nude colored one might photograph as see-through). Overall I liked this dress, definitely got compliments, found it flattering, and would consider renting again. It was comfortable and easy to match with accessories.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
February 5, 2014
Way too big!!!
I ordered a 0 and a 2 for a bachelorette party (I usually wear either size depending on the brand) and neither fit at all! Both were way to big. Everything about it left me with plenty of room. I ended up having to borrow a dress from a friend. This was my first Rent the Runway disappointment!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
May 22, 2014
Would have loved this dress but it was too big
The dress was beautiful but the size 2 was too big in the waist/hips
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
July 10, 2014
Beautiful dress! Perfect for a wedding.
The skirt of the dress was a really vibrant royal blue, and the overall style of the dress was unique and perfect for a wedding. The skirt has no stretch, so it is a bit stiff, but I found it to run large, so the stiffness wasn't an issue fit-wise. The lace at the bottom wasn't in perfect condition, but it didn't bother me because it was still a really pretty detail. Overall, it is one of my favorite rentals and I would definitely rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 137lbs
October 6, 2014
Fun and unique
This dress was a lot of fun! The style is different from what I typically wear and it was perfect for a bachelorette party. I would recommend it for a fun night out!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 142lbs
October 2, 2012
a bit awkward top and bottom fits
the 2 pc effect winds up being awkward for a total look. i struggled with the 4 and the 6. Skirt is also a bit scratchy
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
October 10, 2012
Got a size 2 way to big couldnt wear it!
Dress was to large couldnt wear it made me have no shape
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
March 12, 2013
Wish it would have fit!
Unfortunately didn't get to wear the dress because the skirt was too loose for me and weirdly bubbled around my hips. I think a size down would have been right but it wasn't available at the time. The dress itself was beautiful though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 29, 2014
Awkward fit...it was as if the top and bottom were different sizes.
I was really looking forward to this dress but it didn't even come close to my expectations...the skirt portion of the dress was too big but the top portion was a bit tight around the chest. My suggestion is that it is not for an athletic girl.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
February 29, 2016
Just ok. Did not wear it.
Strange fit. Pretty dress, just did not work for my body type.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
July 24, 2012
This dress choice was so perfect for the event. Sexy and classy, and everyone complimented me. They even said how skinny I looked! I'd wear it every night if I could!
This dress made me look, and more importantly, fee like a million bucks! It was perfect for a night out on the town. I ordered both the 4 and 6 and although I'm normally a 4, I needed the 6 because the dress is tight around the booty and thighs. I'm small chested, so the top fit better in the 4 on me, but I would definitely order up a size if you have a bustier chest and a bigger booty. I would highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
August 12, 2012
Snug
Cute but tight. Ultimately, I couldn't wear it because it was too small for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
August 13, 2012
Bachelorette Party
The dress is nice, but it didn't fit me right. I'm curvy on the bottom, so I ordered a size up just in case. In the end, I wore the 10 which fit on the bottom but was too big for me on the top. I would recommend this dress for someone who isn't very curvy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Pear
August 14, 2012
Great Dress!
I rented this dress for my 21st birthday and it was a cute dress but it didn't stretch as much as I thought it would around my hips so I ended up wearing a different dress. But it was still really cute and the customer service I received regarding the rental was amazing!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
August 24, 2012
Not the perfect fit :(
I rented this dress for a bachlorette party. Unfortunately, I was not able to wear it. I typically wear a size 2, but found the bottom of this dress to be extremely snugg. From reading the other reviews I did order a size larger as my backup, but unfortunately the top on the 4 was way too big. I tend to wear a smaller size on my top than bottom so I think this dress would best fit someone with no curves as the fabric is very tight and does not give you any wiggle room.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
September 4, 2012
After my initial Sachin + Babi dress did not work out, Emily M. was a great help in finding me a replacement for a bachelorette party I had upcoming. The new dress was shipped to my hotel and worked out perfectly!
Really cute dress! I wore this to a bachelorette party in Miami a few months ago, and it worked perfectly. The material does not have much give on the bottom, so I went a size up after the first dress I ordered from Sachin + Babi did not work out.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 12, 2012
I didn't wear it. Nor the size 6 too small in the waste.
5'3-5'4 the waist and the top bunched becuase my torso wasn't long enough. The product of the dress is gorgeous, but just didn't seem to work on my body type.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
September 27, 2012
It's a cute dress, but the fit is weird.
While the dress is attractive and on trend, it does not fit well. It fit me in the bottom, although it does weird things at the waist. It made me look like i had a pooch. Also, the top was WAY too tight for me. Sadly I had to return. I would only recommend unless you're rail thin with NO curves.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 126lbs
October 1, 2012
LOVED the dress and fit great expect for the boobs
Dress fit true to size expect it was a bit snug on my boobs. I wear a 34/C and never run into this problem with a size 2 or 0.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
November 2, 2012
Runs SMALL, not flattering
I rented this dress for a weekend bash; however, was disappointed because both sizes did not fit. I'm noticing that silk dresses are made smaller than others, and unfortunately, could not wear either one for my party. I loved the color and the details, but does not flatter the midsection if that is where one is concerned. I wish this could have worked..looking forward to next rental! :) xoxo
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 3, 2013
Great service!
I really loved the color of this dress when it came, but the skirt was a little too tight for me. I got both the 6 and the 8 and the skirt didn't lay flat in either.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
February 5, 2013
fun party dress!
I wore this dress for a night out in Atlantic city. The quality is great; thick material for the skirt and I love the lace detailing. I wore it with a black statement necklace to dress it up a bit. The fit was a bit off for me. Similar to other Sachin + Babi dresses I have rent, I found it to be a little snug in the waist, which caused me to size up to a 2. Because I went with the bigger size and I am short/smaller on top, this caused it to be a little long and a bit loose on top. I was still really happy with the look, but I think it would have been a bit 'sexier' if I would have been able to go with the smaller size. I agree with previous reviewers who say this dress is best for tall, slim girls.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
February 5, 2013
(second) best dressed...bride won!
I adore this dress, I am in search of a new rental and I keep coming back to this one but it seems crazy to rent the same one twice within 6 months of each other! It fit great, I rented the 6 & 8 because i am very disproportional - huge hips, small bust - and I can swing either way. There wasn't any stretch in the skirt so I ended up in the 8. I highly recommend it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
February 19, 2013
Gorgeous!!!
Wore this dress for my engagement shoot along with a light blue Theory blazer. It is GORGEOUS, I love the little bit of edginess. The top has a little give, but definitely for small busted girls or else your ladies might be popping out a little too much. The sizing is a little bit on the small side -- I usually wear a 2, sometimes a 0. The 0 was way too tight, and the 2 was tight around my waist. Probably good to wear with Spanx (I wore some). If you have just a little pudge around your belly, the way the fabric is on the blue bottom part really hides it pretty well. But if you have too much (i.e. you probably should order a size up), the waist is really narrow so it will make that pudge come out as a muffin top on the black top. I would've liked to see how the 4 fit on this, but I got the 0 and 2 only. The fabric is really amazing -- super soft and lightweight on top, and fitted on the bottom (again very good to flatter your belly zone). The lazy is a little wonky but maybe spray it with some starch to make it stiffer so it isn't all bent. (I meant to do this but ran out of time.) Looks fab with a blazer and leggings in the winter. I'm in love! I wore this with the Kendra Scott Fenton Phoenix Necklace -- matched all too well with the light blue blazer. (I will have to upload pics from the e-sesh once I get them back from the photographer!) I would highly recommend this dress!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
March 11, 2013
This was a fun but sassy dress to wear out for my birthday!
I have large hips, so it was tight there. I normally wear an 8 but went up to a 10. Thank goodness I had gotten the other size!! This was my first RTR experience and it was amazing!!
See more reviews:
1 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×