Sachin & Babi

Knight in Shining Armor Dress

$125 rental
$750 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Have nothing to wear in your closet? Rent this fabulous Sachin + Babi beaded shift for the big night out ahead with your girlfriends.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room for fuller busted women
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ribbon band - great for creating a waist
HIPS: Fitted - skirt runs narrow; curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Product Details

Navy and gray silk chiffon combo. V neckline. Beaded bodice. Black grosgrain ribbon at waist and at shoulder. Raw edge tiered skirt. Exposed back zip. 33'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
96 reviews
Fit
Large
(3)
True to Size
(70)
Small
(23)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
April 5, 2012
Great customer service!! The original dress I ordered came with a hole so RTR overnighted this Sachin + Babi dress to me. The dress was perfect for the countryclub wedding I attended and I very much appreciated the excellent customer service. Thank you RTR!!

The beading on the dress is very pretty and creates interest without being over the top. The black band creates a waistline which is great because it is not super fitted on top. The material does not have any stretch; however, fit true to size. This dress can be worn with a regular bra. I loved the navy on the bottom half (as I love blue) - black bottom half would make the dress a bit more formal. I received tons of compliments and would highly recommend this dress for a wedding or formal affair.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 100lbs
April 23, 2012
Sophisticated and Fun!

I absolutely loved this dress. I wore it for a work event, and it was just the right amount of wow on top of sophistication. I usually wear a size 0 and it fit me, but I decided to go with the 2 since it didn't bunch up on me the way the 0 did. Gorgeous and I received a ton of compliments!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
May 14, 2012
The dress was in great condition, and ready to go! :) Thank you!

I wore this dress to my boyfriend's sister's wedding, and I felt beautiful but also felt that it was appropriately modest enough for church and talking with his family. I'm between a 4 and a 6, but smaller on top so went with the 4.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
June 15, 2012
Great dress very beautiful

The most beatuiful adress I rent so far. Every one ask me for where I got

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 9, 2012
LOVE this dress!

I absolutely loved this dress! It was a big hit... I received compliments all night long. Even my husband was obsessed with it. The top of the dress is not that fitted, almost a little blouse-y how it hang it a little over the sash. I found the dress to be a little snug in the rear, but not uncomfortable. I am not sure if that's just me though b/c I have an unusually large bottom compared to the rest of my body.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
August 9, 2012
Loved the blinged out look without breaking the bank!

This was my first RTR rental, and I had a great experience with the staff and the dress. I got so many compliments all night. What I love about this dress is the embellishments on the top part--it is so detailed and eye catching! The only annoying thing was that the black ribbon that runs along the waist would often fold up (like you can see in the picture). I don't know if many people noticed, but it was slightly annoying to keep checking all night.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
August 13, 2012
I got plenty of compliments while wearing this dress to a wedding - most people commented that I looked like a starlet. I am so in love with this dress and would absolutely rent it again!

I was so looking forward to wearing this dress to a wedding and it did not disappoint. I rented a 6 and 8 (I normally wear an 8) and both sizes fit. The 8 had a little more room up top, but I ended up going with the 6 because upon close inspection a lot of the beading was missing on the size 8. Also want to call out that I had to use some of the sample fashion tape that came with my order to secure the black fabric flaps on the shoulders - one of them had lost the stitching when it arrived at my door. I got so many compliments on this dress and really wish it had a permanent home in my closet. A word of caution though when renting this dress - some of the beading may be missing, but I truly believe that someone would only notice if they looked really hard.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 17, 2012
Great dress

This dress was unique and classy. The belt part was a little snug, but overall was a great fit. I would definitely rent it again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
August 29, 2012
Shaking it in sparkles!!

I rented this dress for a wedding in Vermont. The sparkles made me so happy and put me in a party mode despite rainy weather! The dress is super comfortable, and I danced the night away in it! I got the dress in the 0 and the 2. The 0 fit better on top, but the 2 fit better on the bottom (not as tight) which made me feel really comfortable and gave some room to dance. Having it be slightly loose on top made sense with the style. I got lots of compliments on this one!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
September 2, 2012
I loved the look of this dress, and wearing something in the room unlike anybody else. That is what made me feel so beautiful all evening.

I originally rented the Jackie O Dress by Black Halo in a Size 10. Long story, but I ended up renting this dress instead. I have to say, the Black Halo dress runs really small- I couldn't even get it to zip up the whole way. Anyway, this Knight in Shining Armor dress looks so nice in person! Very pretty, the skirt is comfortable and the design is so neat. I have a larger bust, and the top was only slightly snug, but was not at all uncomfortable through dancing etc. The only minor complaint about the dress would be the black band at the top of the skirt. It isn't completely sewn onto the dress, and the band will fold (like after you've been sitting a while), so you can see the material underneath. I was fixing it throughout the evening, but don't think anyone noticed. Also rented the earrings, which weren't heavy at all- despite the appearance. They were quite comfortable and definitely complimented the dress. I would definitely rent this again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118lbs
September 3, 2012
Love this dress so much!

Rented this dress for a black tie fundraiser in April 2012. Ordered the 2 and the 4. I am usually a 2, but the 4 just hung better on me. The skirt is shorter, hit me mid-thigh. The top fit perfectly, and it is a really comfortable dress. (you can wear a regular bra!) My body type is bigger on top (36C) and straight down on the bottom, so the texture of this skirt balanced me out well. I got tons of compliments and have searched all over the internet to try to buy this dress! But no luck!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 12, 2012
I L-O-V-E-D this dress! Perfect for my rehearsal dinner!

I had originally ordered the TIBI orange crush sheath dress and when it did not fit, RTR was kind enough to express ship this item as a backup. Thank goodness my size was available because it was absolutely perfect! My wedding was January 28, and this dress was the perfect rehearsal dinner dress. I ordered both the size 4 and the size 6. The 4 ended up being perfect. I had to rack my brain to come up with a complaint - BUT I can see how some people might think the arm holes are a little small, however I wore it all evening and it did not bother me a bit. Got so many compliments! Hated to return :(

MadeleineSeptember 12, 2012
Hey! I'm thinking about getting this dress for my High School Homecoming. I'm worried it may be a little long. What do you think?
RTR CustomerSeptember 12, 2012
Hi Madeleine! The length of the dress depends on how tall you are- if you're pretty tall it'll be around mid thigh length, if you're around 5'5 it'll be a few inches closer to your knee!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 12, 2012
Beautiful dress!!

LOVED this dress! Fit perfect and I got compliments all night. From the photo I thought the bottom of the dress was black but it is actually navy. I will be renting this dress again very soon!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
September 17, 2012
Great for the wedding! So fun and flirty. Fit great

Love the sparkle. Would rent again

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
September 19, 2012
Completely wowed the party with this dress. I needed to make a statement, and I definitely did!

It gives you a great waist, and it looks better if you go for the smaller that you fit into. Otherwise, it just looks all sorts of baggy.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 24, 2012
Rent The Runway never fails to impress!

I had originally rented the Love Me In Lemon dress but one of the sizes I ordered had been damaged. Rent The Runway sent me this dress as a replacement and it actually fit the best. The first dress I ever rented was this same designer and I rented a 6 and an 8. I wore the size 6 but it was a little big through the hips. This time I rented the 4 and the 6 and the 6 fit again. The bottom of the dress is a great blue color that doesn't come across well in the picture. This dress can definitely be dressed up or down for the occasion.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 27, 2012
My moment was memorable because I did not have to stress out about what to wear!

Fit was perfect, the beading detail is gorgeous.The color was so flattering for my fair skin. A perfect dress that can be dressed up and down--I wore it with a blazer and flats to a friend's birthday party.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 14, 2012
Its an eyecatcher!

I loved this dress. I got a zero and it fit well definitely shorter than the picture on the model, which I was hoping for. I got so many compliments on it. There so much going on at once but it works. I gave it four stars just because I don't think it would be good for a classier occasion or someone who like simpler things.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
October 28, 2012
I wore this dress to a friend's wedding. It got a lot of compliments!

This dress has a very flattering shape . If you are busty, you may need to go a size up from your normal size. I am 5'8 and the dress was shorter on me than the model, so it may not work for taller girls as well.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 107lbs
November 15, 2012
The dress was interesting with all the bling and ruffles, but with a simple, flattering shape

The waist on this dress was perfect and it was just the right length, even on a shorter frame like mine. The only thing I could've done without are those black pieces of fabric on the shoulders.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
December 13, 2012
Interesting dress, just not super flattering

This was a backup dress that RTR sent me when my original dress was delayed and I thought it might not arrive in time for my event. The skirt definitely is narrow, so if you have hips or a butt (like I do) the skirt will definitely be a big tight. I thought overall the dress was interesting but not super flattering. Didn't do much for my particular shape, the details are great though!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
January 2, 2013
Perfect fit!

I rented this as my back up and ended it up wearing it it twice. Once to the ballet, and then to a NYE party. Because the silhouette is conservative, it was easy to wear it to both events and not feel over/ under dressed. There is just the right amount of shine, and the dress fit perfectly. This would work work for any body shape, except if you have a really large lower body because there is an inner lining to the skirt part that doesn't have any give. But the change in color and fabric with the black belt makes it a great choice if you want to create an hour glass figure. Overall a wonderful dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 8, 2013
Very subtle and comfortable glam!

I would buy this dress to have on hand; I had always wanted to rent but had opted for my usual strapless, fitted dresses before. I am 3 months post partum and so I don't like any unnecessary clinging to my lower abdominal area these days. Both the 0 and 2 fit, but I opted for the 2 because it was a little looser on the rib cage, right at the waist band. Normally, I'm 120lbs and would opt for the 0 I think, but I estimate I have an lb or so to lose, plus slightly larger boobs so the 2 was better. I did wear a bra, any bra works bc the straps remain hidden. Loved the navy w black; wore black suede pumps and silver jewelry. This is a universally flattering dress bc of the waistline. Might rent it again...

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
January 10, 2013
Wore this for a night out in SF - loved it!

True to size, the skirt felt a little shorter on me than I thought it would, but over all - it looked great!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 7, 2013
Belle of the ball

I was a first-time renter and was extremely nervous. I am long-waisted, am a 34D/DD, and have a small waist. I often have to get things tailored in the waist, but this dress was PERFECT. It fit like you would expect $1000 dress to fit...nothing was amiss. I felt classy and got a million compliments. After my first rental, suffice it to say that I AM A FAN!!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 27, 2012
Classy

This dress is beautiful. I didn't want to return it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 23, 2013
Everyone loved this dress! It was easy to dance in, fun to wear, and it photographed beautifully.

One of the best dresses I've gotten from RTR! Comfortable, easy to wear a regular bra, and it hangs absolutely beautifully. Looks classy and the detailing is gorgeous.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 5, 2013
the perfect dress!!!

I wore this dress for my sorority formal and I got a ton of compliments! I wore my usual size, and the dress was so comfortable!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
May 14, 2013
Perfect for a night out on the town!

This dress was great for a night downtown with the girls or a cute date night! I loved this dress so much that I wore it even though the temperature was 65 degrees that night! It is snug in the waist and a little short. Hugs in all the right places! Loved it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
August 14, 2013
Looks Better in person than on the model

I think the model may be wearing a size too big in the photo, because the dress is more flattering in person. I also think her hair is a little dorky. In person, the dress is much more interesting. I don't have a small waist, so the waistband was tight at the end of the night, but I think most women will have a better chest to waist/hip to waist ratio than I do.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 21, 2013
Perfect for New Years!

Great party dress. Fit perfectly!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Body type: Pear
April 22, 2014
People said I looked like someone straight out of the movies!

Fit well in the bust, flattering on the waist and legs.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
May 9, 2014
I wore this to my friends rehearsal dinner.

It fit like a glove. Very true to size and was in good condition. I got so many compliments on it too. I wish I could keep it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 15, 2014
Pretty shiny girly

It's a great dress. It has all the wonderful qualities of a great dress, but not my absolute fave dress. I would wear again to a nice dinner, or company function.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
June 17, 2014
It was just an overall fun dress! I was comfortable and felt confident.

It fit great! I just had a baby so I wasn't quite back in shape the dress made me feel confident. It worked great for covering up some of that left over baby weight that I want to hide without making me feel like I had to suck it in all night!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 2, 2014
It was beautiful with just a bit of edge to make it pop.

Gorgeous. bottom was a little tighter than I anticipated, but not enough to size up.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
November 27, 2011
Timely service, excellent selection!

I received so many compliments on this dress. I wore it to a red carpet Vegas-themed fundraiser and it really fit the bill. It wasn't too over-the-top, but was just enough. The detail on the top of the dress was amazing!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
December 17, 2011
I loved the beaded detailing on the top of the dress!

I love this dress! I usually wear a size 4 and both the size 2 and 4 fit me well. I loved the detailing on the top contrasted with the fun and flirty bottom.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113lbs
August 13, 2012
Sexy sophisticated

Beautiful dress, I am 49 and wanted something sexy but age appropriate too, the length was perfect, just above the knee ( I'm 5.4) and the dress was actually better looking than I expected, it looks expensive and I got lots of compliments. The top is a pale taupe but the embellishments are silver/ gray so I wore a pale gray suede shoe and carried a taupe clutch, you could wear a silver or taupe shoe too.

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 1, 2012
I loved this dress so much that I wished I owned it

I wore this dress to a wedding with patent black pumps. I found the size 6 to be only slightly tight for my comfort but I don't think it was noticeable to anyone else. The length of the dress seemed to be appropriate and overall the dress was very flattering. There were some bugle beads missing and some picks/piling on the back of the dress, otherwise, the dress seemed to be in good condition. This dress is much prettier in person. The a beads looked expensive and the texture on the skirt was amazing. I wish though that for a dress with such amazing details that they designers had put in bra strap holders.

View photos (3)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×