Sachin & Babi

Indian Odissi Sheath

$54 to buy
$350 retail
Stylist Notes

An ethnic-inspired print in bold, vibrant shades is a definite must. This dress by Sachin + Babi is an eye-catcher, perfect for that hot date! Layer on the arm candy with Chamak’s Crystal Blizzard Bangle and Alexis Bittar’s Perching Panther Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Embroidered cotton (100% cotton). Sleeveless. Scoop neckline. Shift body. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. 32” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
169 reviews
Fit
Large
(25)
True to Size
(93)
Small
(26)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
July 3, 2014
Comfy and cute for Fourth of July!
A little full in waist. Great fabric and gorgeous embroidery. Perfect for casual event
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Weight: 115lbs
July 21, 2014
Beautiful print, but very short.
Shift dresses are definitely a "go-to" style for my narrow build. However, this dress was very short. I am only 5'6'' and wearing this dress in flats exposed too much in the back. Even though the dress is short in length, the waist is quite large. Shift dresses are generally loose to begin with, but this dress was a tad bit too roomy in the chest and waist.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110lbs
August 10, 2014
Two friends getting married
Beautiful, I got so many compliments! The bold pattern is amazing and it was so comfortable and easy to wear. I felt confident throughout the night. However, it does run rather big, even the zero was too big on me. Better too big than too small!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
August 18, 2014
Fun and unique dress!
I rented this dress to wear to a casual rehearsal dinner and loved it, I could not tell from the pictures that it was a cotton material but that was fine as I wore it to a more informal event. I received a ton of compliments all night and would definitely rent this one again!
KateAugust 23, 2014
Love the bag with it. What color shoes did you pair it with?
LaurenAugust 25, 2014
I paired it with nude open toed shoes but I also think it would look with dark brown!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 7, 2014
wore it in mexico!
Sized up because I wanted a more sheath fit. could have worn the 2
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 144lbs
April 24, 2015
Gorgeous colors, but generally boxy design.
I wanted to like this dress, as it has gorgeous, vibrant colors. However, it was too boxy for my body frame (more hourglass.) So, I sent it back immediately and ended up wearing a different RTW dress for opening day at the yacht club.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
June 10, 2015
Not my favorite.
The picture is a bit deceiving. It's quite casual looking, although very beautifully embroidered. The arm holes were huge and had a big gape. The dress sort of looks body con-ish on the model and I am pretty small, but this did nothing for me. If you are bigger on top than in your hips, this would probably be cuter.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
June 18, 2015
Flattering and fun
Wore this for my 30th birthday night out in Miami. Good fit, except the armholes were large. Also very short! Be careful when sitting down and getting up.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 11, 2014
Unforgettable dress!
Wore this for my senior homecoming and got so many compliments on it! This dress really stands out and I loved wearing it
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Age: 28
August 15, 2014
I wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner. It was a unique and pretty dress amongst others there.
I love the colors and detailed stitching of the dress. However, it could have fit a little better, especially in the top. (I probably should have worn a 0, but didn't get a second size because it was my second dress in the order.) Also, I think the dress could have looked a little better if it were better pressed. It came a little wrinkled, but I'm not sure if that was just a result of all of the stitching.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
November 28, 2013
No stretch, strange fabric
I must have not read the reviews very well for this dress because I was very disappointed with the fit of this dress. I rented both a 2 and 4 (which I usually wear a 2) and wasn't able to fit in either size. There is absolutely NO stretch in this dress and the fabric has very similar feel to table linens. When I informed RTR of this issue, I was unfortunately, not offered a credit. I was very glad that I rented the backup 2nd dress that I was able to wear for the wedding instead. I would not recommend this dress to rent.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 9, 2013
Unwearable if taller than 5'7"
The dress itself is beautiful but there's no way to wear this dress if you're tall. It's simply too short. The 8 fit me perfectly except that the dress barely cleared my butt. The 10 was overall big on me, and again too short.
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 16, 2014
Seemed to run small but the colors were beautiful!
Seemed to run small but the colors were beautiful!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
June 17, 2014
Nice fabric. Odd fit.
The fabric of this dress was really nice, but the fit was odd. I have a larger chest, but this gaped in the chest area. My hips are rather small, but the fit was tight in the hips. It was also shorter than expected.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 146lbs
June 24, 2014
Rented this dress for a party.
Should have rented a size up because my usual size did not fit. This is a beautiful dress. The colors pop and are very vibrant. The material is sturdy and hides imperfections. The material does not stretch so if you have wider hips or thighs this dress is probably not for you. Fits perfect in length for a petite girl.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125lbs
July 8, 2014
The colors and uniqueness of this dress work best. The fit, leaves a bit to be desired.
Really short length - was afraid it was going to show everything if I bent down. The 4 fit fine, but just didn't hug the right places. Definitely more of a casual dress. Also, was showing signs of wear & tear - the side bottom seam ripped just as I sat down and it seemed like the other was about to do the same. Looked good in pictures, though.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
July 9, 2014
Loved the dress -- lots of compliments!
I received so many compliments on the dress, especially for a 4th of July wedding. Typically a 6 but went with 8. The dress was a bit short and smashed my chest down some. However, it was comfortable and the material of the dress is great. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 14, 2014
did wear it :(
I'm 5'7" athletic build. Couldn't wear the dress because it was too short. I was hoping it would work but it just wasn't an appropriate length for the rehearsal dinner. Super cute dress just not not meant for us taller gals.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
August 3, 2014
This pattern really stands out in a room!!
This was my 2nd rental for an August wedding. The 1st had some cosmetic issues so this back up dress worked great! I ordered a 4 & 6 - usually I can wear a 4 but this dress was so short that I needed the 6. I'm 32DD and was able to fit perfectly in this dress!! I'm 5'8 and this dress was SHORT.. short short! - but HOT! You'll love it. Also, it could really be dressed up or down! The fabric isn't a "dressy" material - so you could wear it with flats if you wanted! LOVE RTR!! My first rental and I'll be back for sure!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
August 10, 2014
Not suited for pear shaped girls, but gorgeous dress!
The embroidery is beautiful but the dress has no stretch whatsoever and is hard to fit on pear shaped girls. I'm typically a 2 and wore a 6 in this dress in order to fit around my hips. It was a beautiful sheath though!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147lbs
August 26, 2014
Gorgeous Pattern!
This dress is beautiful but it was very short. It looked amazing on I just felt uncomfortable, I would have felt more comfortable if I ordered up. a size. I kept pulling the dress down especially when sitting. At dinner I put my napkin over my lap because the dress went up a lot. I did receive many compliments and I loved the dress just order up a size as your back up. RTR was so easy to order from it was delivered so quickly and easy return just put in the return bag and in a drop box, done! I was so happy I didn't have to buy two new dresses for my friends birthday weekend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
September 28, 2014
Very pretty, real short
Sadly this was the only pic I got of the dress, and it's not very much to go off. The dress is beautiful, high quality and really pretty colors. It is SHORT though, and I'm 5'2"! Like, I had to put my napkin over my lap or else things would have been real weird. :-/ It was a also a bit snug. I'm a true size 2, and I still wore the 2 but it was a little tighter than I would have liked. The 4 was more comfortable and a bit longer, but it was obviously loose. I wouldn't rent it again, cause it was just too short.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 9, 2014
Too short!
I ordered this to wear to a baby shower. I ordered both the 6 and the 8. Only tried on the 8. It's a beautiful dress, a little more summery than I was expecting. It was way too short for me to wear to a baby shower. I could not sit down without feeling uncomfortable. I did not wear it.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
February 10, 2015
Dress didn't fit...ran small and super short. had to return it.
Thick material with no give
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
June 12, 2015
Amazing dress for a special occasion!
I absolutely LOVED this dress. I wore it to my friends wedding and although it was tight and short, it was great to wear on such a nice summer day. Its really unique and would definitely wear this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
July 16, 2015
Too short for me to wear
I rented this via RTR Unlimited and had a feeling it was going to be too short. This was one of those dresses I knew wouldn't work but I just had to try anyway. My friend's bday dinner was coming up so I wanted a casual yet cute look. The dress looked like someone took a long tank top and added a single inch. The dress covered the goods but barely - and I am very used to wearing mini everything. I ordered a size up to hopefully give it length but I don't think I would have been able to wear a 4 at all. I don't really have too many curves but the 6 was definitely fitted at my hips. The colors and embroidery were beautiful though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
May 19, 2014
Amazing detail
Loved it! The arm holes are a little too big. The 0 was a little too tight around my hips but I could have worn it
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 24, 2014
Great print, vibrant colors
I wish I had ordered a size up. I typically wear a 4 or 6, but I ordered/wore the 4. The dress was really pretty with great colors, I received lots of compliments, however it was very short. It was difficult to sit or to raise my arms overhead without flashing everyone. I definitely could not dance in this size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
May 3, 2014
Got so many compliments!
I got so many compliments all night on this dress from complete strangers. It was super comfortable and flattering, very happy with this rental!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
August 24, 2014
Cute dress for a night out.
The dress was lovely, but ran small. The disappointing thing is the armholes were oddly cut, so my bra showed from the front and I was not thrilled. The pressing of the dress was disappointing as well - considering it is embroidered, it should have been pressed properly. It worked fine for the evening, but I don't think I'd rent another similar to it or by the same designer.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 26, 2014
Failed dress, but as usual RTR customer service was great.
I ordered this dress in a 6 and and 8 after reading reviews. I really liked how it looked on the "real girls." The size 6 looked really tiny when it arrived so I didn't bother trying it on. I went right for the 8 and immediately my fears were confirmed; it was bulky/loose around the midsection and WAY too short to wear. It was frustrating because the past two dresses I've rented were size 4 and they fit like a glove (albeit different designers). Ultimately I should have stuck with my gut and went with a style I know works for me and my body.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 2, 2014
wayyyy too short.
I put it in the return bag immediately.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 4, 2015
I got a lot of compliments on this dress for the texture and the color
I'm hourglass shaped so the dress (like many other commenters have said) is a bit tight on the bottom. I felt like the back up size I got was just a bit too shapeless though and I didn't mind how short the dress ended up being as I was wearing tights and I'm not very tall so there's not a ton of leg to show off. The texture and color is what really stood out. I wore it to a party in December and while most of the other dresses there were darker colors I was able to stand out without looking like I was dressing for the wrong season.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 36
October 13, 2015
so very small
I got this for a bachelorette party and it was amazing. Unfortunately it ran a little small AND was incredibly short. I could have dealt with it being a little tight (maybe), but as it also rode halfway up my bum when I tried to sit down, I opted for an old dress in my closet. I am a solid 12 and that was the biggest size they have. So, the dress is lovely, but if you can't order a size up, I'd make sure you have a solid backup...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
February 15, 2016
very short---even on a short girl!
The dress was super cute and flattering but was wayyyyy too short if you are doing any amount of sitting at all. I'm a short girl (onlyl 5' 3!) and my finger tips fell far below the bottom hemline when I was standing. I would certainly size up if I were you!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Weight: 130lbs
May 17, 2016
Very Short
The quality of this dress if fantastic, its more beautiful and better made than the photos show. I am generally a 6 and I should have ordered an 8. I'd say it runs small and is much shorter than I expected. I couldn't wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
July 5, 2013
Compliments, compliments, compliments!
This is an adorable dress. Conservative except for the length. I'm 5'8" and it was pretty short. The 6 actually fit me better but I opted for the 8th in order for a little extra wiggle room for bending over, etc. I dressed it down for a 4th of July party but it'd be even cuter with heels and extra jewelry, etc. Loved it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 7, 2013
Wore this dress out for my 21st birthday
Thought the fit was absolutely perfect! I normally wear a 2 and while it did fit, I opted for the 4 because I could move a little better in it. Loved the fabric -- extremely comfortable and the weight was optimal for a hot Southern climate. Couldn't have been happier with this rental!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
July 22, 2013
I desperately want to buy this dress!
Photos can't get across how beautiful this dress is. The fabric is quite thick and beautifully embroidered. It's not tight, but definitely flattering. The dress is pretty short, but I still felt comfortable wearing it to a fancy restaurant for a birthday dinner (as long as you keep your napkin in your lap when you're sitting! It rides up a lot). I was serious about trying to buy this dress, but unfortunately it's been customized especially for RtR! Guess I'll just have to keep renting it :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 22, 2013
Complete strangers were complimenting me on how well dressed I was!
The fabric on this dress is quite thick (although I find that is how a lot of RTR dresses are made, and that kind of high quality is what makes them fit so nicely). The pattern is beautiful and pictures really can't do it justice. I had complete strangers coming up to me all night telling me how beautiful I was and how well dressed I was. This dress may have gotten me more compliments than any other dress I've ever worn. I would highly recommend this to anyone that wants to stand out in a crowd. It is a bit short, but shows off the legs nicely, and the top is conservative enough and the dress is loose enough to keep it classy. I would rent this again in a heart beat.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×