Sachin & Babi

Indian Odissi Sheath

$105 to buy
$350 retail
Stylist Notes

An ethnic-inspired print in bold, vibrant shades is a definite must. This dress by Sachin + Babi is an eye-catcher, perfect for that hot date! Layer on the arm candy with Chamak’s Crystal Blizzard Bangle and Alexis Bittar’s Perching Panther Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Embroidered cotton (100% cotton). Sleeveless. Scoop neckline. Shift body. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. 32” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
168 reviews
Fit
Large
(25)
True to Size
(93)
Small
(26)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
June 23, 2014
Standout dress and very comfortable!
The top part fit really well but the bottom was a little loose and didn't accentuate my waist. The fabric was beautiful and I received compliments all night long!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 24, 2014
Very unique, one of a kind dress!
This dress was very unique. I received compliments on it all night. I was very sad to send it back! The only thing I will say about it is that the material does not stretch. The material reminds me of a table cloth (a very beautiful table cloth), so if you are heavy in the behind or chest area it will look really tight there and loose in other areas.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Everyday
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 6, 2016
Perfect Ole Miss Football Outfit!
Seriously great fit, great for summer as the fabric is pretty thin and breezy. Easy to find a bra to go with this dress. Overall, it was extremely comfortable and the pattern was classy. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 146lbs
June 24, 2014
Rented this dress for a party.
Should have rented a size up because my usual size did not fit. This is a beautiful dress. The colors pop and are very vibrant. The material is sturdy and hides imperfections. The material does not stretch so if you have wider hips or thighs this dress is probably not for you. Fits perfect in length for a petite girl.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
June 29, 2014
Amazing fit, but super short for taller girls. I would wear it again & again, so many compliments!
Short, but tailored classy fit
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 30, 2014
Received compliments all night. The colors were vibrant and was so comfortable.
Fit a little weird in the arm area and I was expecting it to be a bit more fitted but ended being perfect for my dinner and was comfortable once I got really full from eating. Didn't have to worry about anything.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
June 30, 2014
Everything ran so smoothly! The dress fit perfectly & the process was super easy.
Loved this dress! It was perfect for a summer wedding. The colors are beautiful and very bright - I got so many compliments! It ran a little large so I sized down, but the dress is very short so if you're on the taller side that could be an issue. Otherwise it was perfect - super comfortable & unique!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
July 2, 2014
Great fabric, great fit.
The color and pattern were really unique. I got a bunch of compliments on it! This is my favorite rent the runway dress that I have rented so far, I would consider buying it. The only bad thing was that I ordered a size 6 and 8 and both showed up with small holes near the bottom of the zipper. The dress wasn't extremely tight so I decided I could wear the dress with a little double stick tape on the inside of the hole. No one noticed (or at least mentioned it).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
July 3, 2014
Comfy and cute for Fourth of July!
A little full in waist. Great fabric and gorgeous embroidery. Perfect for casual event
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
July 6, 2014
Perfect for the 4th!
I loved this dress! I don't have it straightened in the picture, (embarrassing!) but the pattern was beautiful. I got so many compliments. Make sure you out this dress over your head rather than stepping into it. It does not stretch whatsoever. I wore the 0 and didn't even try on the 2. It was a little tight around my hips but the top of the 2 would have been to large. I didn't find the material to think for a July day in St. Louis. I highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125lbs
July 8, 2014
The colors and uniqueness of this dress work best. The fit, leaves a bit to be desired.
Really short length - was afraid it was going to show everything if I bent down. The 4 fit fine, but just didn't hug the right places. Definitely more of a casual dress. Also, was showing signs of wear & tear - the side bottom seam ripped just as I sat down and it seemed like the other was about to do the same. Looked good in pictures, though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
July 8, 2014
Fun party dress!
This dress was a little bit shorter than I expected but the embroidery was high quality and the colors were super vibrant. I wish I could own it! I wore it to my friend's engagement party and got compliments all night.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
July 9, 2014
Loved the dress -- lots of compliments!
I received so many compliments on the dress, especially for a 4th of July wedding. Typically a 6 but went with 8. The dress was a bit short and smashed my chest down some. However, it was comfortable and the material of the dress is great. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
July 14, 2014
My date couldn't stop telling me how beautiful I looked!
Both sizes fit, I decided to go with the 6 because it was a tiny bit longer, and a little roomier in the tummy area and we were going for a fabulous dinner! :) overall, he couldn't stop telling me how beautiful I looked and how amazing the dress was...definitely recommend! For taller girls, I would definitely size up though.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 14, 2014
did wear it :(
I'm 5'7" athletic build. Couldn't wear the dress because it was too short. I was hoping it would work but it just wasn't an appropriate length for the rehearsal dinner. Super cute dress just not not meant for us taller gals.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
July 18, 2014
Best birthday dress ever!
I wore this for my 27th birthday dinner at a seafood restaurant - perfect fabric for a July night! I wore the size 12, because although the 10 fit, it was a little looser and longer - more appropriate for the casual setting. I got SO many compliments on this dress - this is my favorite rental to date and the one I'd most like to own/not give back!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
July 21, 2014
Great dress and short!
Runs a little big on top, but the 4 was too small on the lower half.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Weight: 115lbs
July 21, 2014
Beautiful print, but very short.
Shift dresses are definitely a "go-to" style for my narrow build. However, this dress was very short. I am only 5'6'' and wearing this dress in flats exposed too much in the back. Even though the dress is short in length, the waist is quite large. Shift dresses are generally loose to begin with, but this dress was a tad bit too roomy in the chest and waist.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
July 24, 2014
Great colors, beautiful patterns, perfect for summer!
The dress was a comfortable shift dress. The colors are vibrant, and the embroidery is quality. I got many compliments on this dress that I wore to a backyard wedding. I had two complaints. First, the dress was on the shorter side. I started with wedges on but decided to put flats on to make it more appropriate. I would say I'm of average height, and the dress was definitely short. Secondly, the arm holes are quite large and lead to some gapping. My bra could be seen in several photos as a result. If I owned this dress, I would definitely have the size of the arm holes taken in. That being said, given the price of this rental, I don't regret renting it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
July 28, 2014
beautiful dress. the colors are great and vibrant and I got a ton of compliments!
The dress was really short on me. If the engagement party wasn't around a pool and I couldn't appropriately wear flats, it wouldn't have worked (this is why it gets 3). I'm 5'7 but have long legs.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
August 3, 2014
This pattern really stands out in a room!!
This was my 2nd rental for an August wedding. The 1st had some cosmetic issues so this back up dress worked great! I ordered a 4 & 6 - usually I can wear a 4 but this dress was so short that I needed the 6. I'm 32DD and was able to fit perfectly in this dress!! I'm 5'8 and this dress was SHORT.. short short! - but HOT! You'll love it. Also, it could really be dressed up or down! The fabric isn't a "dressy" material - so you could wear it with flats if you wanted! LOVE RTR!! My first rental and I'll be back for sure!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
August 10, 2014
Not suited for pear shaped girls, but gorgeous dress!
The embroidery is beautiful but the dress has no stretch whatsoever and is hard to fit on pear shaped girls. I'm typically a 2 and wore a 6 in this dress in order to fit around my hips. It was a beautiful sheath though!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110lbs
August 10, 2014
Two friends getting married
Beautiful, I got so many compliments! The bold pattern is amazing and it was so comfortable and easy to wear. I felt confident throughout the night. However, it does run rather big, even the zero was too big on me. Better too big than too small!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
August 10, 2014
Beautiful detail on dress, fun summer colors
I loved this dress online and thought it would be perfect for a night out in Nashville to celebrate my husband's birthday. It arrived early and the colors/detail on the dress were fabulous. I have long legs and the size 4 was a little too short; but the 6 was comfortable - although I didn't love the way it fit. (It might just have been the dress I was sent but the lower stomach area of the dress seemed like it had been stretched out.) All in all, it was a fun dress for a night out. My husband loved it; but I probably wouldn't rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
August 11, 2014
Obsessed!
I wish I owned this dress! It was actually a replacement dress because the one I originally got was too small, and I couldn't have hoped for a better substitute! I don't know if I'm the best person to advocate on the fit because I am an 8 or a 10 and I only received the 12. The sleeves/straps were definitely one part of the dress that was bigger than other places. This is also a fabric that is not stretchy at all, so when I was sitting it stretched out and didn't reshape, but I wore this for my 21st birthday and I'm pretty sure my body is still thanking me for wearing a looser dress haha. The colors are so vibrant and all my friends want to borrow this dress from me hahaha
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
August 11, 2014
Vibrant colors and stunning embroidery !
My favorite RTR so far! Rented for a bachelorette party and received compliments all night long. It fit pretty tight throughout but was still very comfortable. This dress is definitely short and shows off a lot of leg ;) but doesn't feel too revealing since the neckline and back are not low cut.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
August 15, 2014
Loved this dress. Def more red and blue than pink and purple. The top ran a bit large on me.
The top ran a bit large on me. But I got lots of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 18, 2014
Fun dress for an outdoor wedding.
Loved the detail of the embroidery. It is short, but I'm 5'8" and was happy with the length (you've got to want to show some leg with this one). The wedding was on a farm in Minnesota and the dress fit the occasion well. I hope to rent this one again someday soon.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
August 18, 2014
Fun and unique dress!
I rented this dress to wear to a casual rehearsal dinner and loved it, I could not tell from the pictures that it was a cotton material but that was fine as I wore it to a more informal event. I received a ton of compliments all night and would definitely rent this one again!
KateAugust 23, 2014
Love the bag with it. What color shoes did you pair it with?
LaurenAugust 25, 2014
I paired it with nude open toed shoes but I also think it would look with dark brown!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147lbs
August 26, 2014
Gorgeous Pattern!
This dress is beautiful but it was very short. It looked amazing on I just felt uncomfortable, I would have felt more comfortable if I ordered up. a size. I kept pulling the dress down especially when sitting. At dinner I put my napkin over my lap because the dress went up a lot. I did receive many compliments and I loved the dress just order up a size as your back up. RTR was so easy to order from it was delivered so quickly and easy return just put in the return bag and in a drop box, done! I was so happy I didn't have to buy two new dresses for my friends birthday weekend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
August 27, 2014
Beautiful Dress, Not for Pear Shapes
This dress was beautiful. The fabric was thicker than I thought it would be and the embroidery made it much more textured, too. Unfortunately this also meant that the fabric had absolutely no give, which was problematic given that I have relatively full hips and a smaller top half. I tried on the 4 and was swimming in the top, but it just barely got over my hips. The arm holes were very large and the top was just generally baggy. The 2 was definitely a no-go in terms of getting it over my hips. I held it up to myself and didn't even try once I could see it wasn't even wide enough to cover the front. So unfortunate because. again, this dress is gorgeous. I could see how this would be flattering for someone with a bigger chest and smaller hips or someone who was straight and narrow.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
September 8, 2014
Got so many compliments!
This dress was definitely an attention grabber, I got compliments all night! The colors look a bit different than in the photos (more red than coral, a darker blue) but the pattern and embroidery are beautiful in person. The cotton is nice for hot weather; everyone else at the party I attended complained they were hot all night and I was fine. The one issue I had with the dress was the zipper- it seemed like both dresses had been altered so that the zipper was stitched closed for the last 2 or 3 inches, perhaps from previous damage? This made the dress very difficult to get on/off over the hips, but once it was on it fit fine. Wore a strapless bra because the straps did show a bit. It is quite short so I went with my size up for that extra bit of length. I'm going to scour the next RTR sale in case this comes up, would love to own!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
September 15, 2014
Sexy yet Subtle
Loved this dress- My husband told me to buy it he loved it so much! Sorry no pic on this one! It is very short, but I'm 5'2, so it was ok. The armholes are a tad large- but this wouls be the only con, (and a small one). I'd rent this one again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 7, 2014
wore it in mexico!
Sized up because I wanted a more sheath fit. could have worn the 2
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
September 28, 2014
Perfect little dress
I wore this to a wedding in Sonoma. It fit me like a glove but did a good job of hiding my little tummy. I felt glamorous all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
September 28, 2014
Favorite rental so far!
Fit perfect. I sized down so it would be more fitted and sexy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
September 28, 2014
Very pretty, real short
Sadly this was the only pic I got of the dress, and it's not very much to go off. The dress is beautiful, high quality and really pretty colors. It is SHORT though, and I'm 5'2"! Like, I had to put my napkin over my lap or else things would have been real weird. :-/ It was a also a bit snug. I'm a true size 2, and I still wore the 2 but it was a little tighter than I would have liked. The 4 was more comfortable and a bit longer, but it was obviously loose. I wouldn't rent it again, cause it was just too short.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 9, 2014
Too short!
I ordered this to wear to a baby shower. I ordered both the 6 and the 8. Only tried on the 8. It's a beautiful dress, a little more summery than I was expecting. It was way too short for me to wear to a baby shower. I could not sit down without feeling uncomfortable. I did not wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32DDD/E
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
October 22, 2014
SO fun!
I wore this dress for a date night during the week of our San Francisco elopement. The dress was definitely short, but still appropriate with flats. Fit was comfortable and there is plenty of room for larger chested ladies!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 27, 2014
So many compliments - great colors & design!
I ordered the 0&2 and wore the 0. It fit true to size - though was a bit short, and I'm pretty short, but wasn't a big deal. The colors are so vibrant, and went great with a denim jacket and low cowboy boots for a bachelorette party at a Toby Keith bar!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×