RVN

Reptile Dress

$66 to buy
$435 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

See you later! This hot black and white sheath by RVN will make you the life of the party. Add some extra rarr with Alexis Bittar’s Perching Panther Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS - L.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black and white intarsia knit (42% polyester, 32% viscose, 18% nylon, 8% spandex). Cap sleeve. Crew neckline. Pencil body. No Zipper. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
79 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(43)
Small
(29)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
October 2, 2013
Amazing!!

This dress runs very true to size. It does have a lot of stretch and fits very slimming. This dress is very versatile and is a great statement dress on a night out. I felt amazing in it and it photographed very flattering! I typically wear a 4-6 so I went with the Size M!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
December 9, 2013
Fun winter dress!

This dress was a last minute selection as RTR had shipping trouble with my original selection and overnighted me this instead. It ended up working out great and was a comfortable and stylish dress for my boyfriend's holiday party. The material is really thick so even though it was tight, it was still flattering. The black designs on the dress are raised so it looked cooler in person then in a photo. One note is that it rode up a bit so I had to keep pulling it down but overall, a great dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
December 22, 2013
Stunning, head-turning, compliment-nabbing dress!

So I've rented about 15 or so dresses from Rent the Runway in the last 4 years and this piece is probably my FAVORITE thus far. It's super sexy, without being too revealing. The fabric is thick and stretchy -- kind of like one giant Spanx outfit. So it's comfortable, warm, and flattering. The pattern has a 3D textural affect to it, which makes undergarment lines basically invisible. The snakeskin print itself is unique and eye-catching. I wore it out to a friend's private birthday party and then to a bar in NYC's East Village. Besides receiving a ton of compliments at the party, the otherwise stoic bouncer at the bar even paid me a compliment. "Nice Dress." The only slight issue is getting in and out of the thing. There are no zippers so you basically have to slide into it like a swimsuit. I've learned to go arms first in, and then literally ELBOW my way out. It was impossible to get out of without using my elbows as leverage. I'm 5'4 and size S was just the right length. You can pull it down to get it just below mid-thigh or hike it up slightly higher. I paired it with a Helmut Lang cropped tuxedo blazer, glittery black platform stiletto pumps, and a kate spade handbag.

View photos (3)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 3, 2014
.

Great dress! The detailing is beautiful and it fits like a glove! It does hike up a little bit with a lot of movement but that's to be expected with a tight dress. I would definitely recommend this dress for a night out!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 5, 2014
Great NYE dress

The material is thick and tight, so it felt like it held everything in but also shows every curve. Wore with black stockings to make it look more wintery. Since it's stretchy I probably could've worn the small but the medium was comfortable so I just stuck with that.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 7, 2014
Great Party Dress!

I rented this dress for NYE and it was perfect. The dress is a bit tight but the fabric is on the thicker side so it kept me slim in all the right places. Because it is so tight, it is a little difficult to put on and take off without getting any makeup on it. I fit the XS but opted to wear the S because it felt a little more breathable and not as constraining as the XS.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
January 8, 2014
Love all RVN dresses!

Fit like a glove. Didn't ride up. Would rent again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 9, 2014
loved this dress! would rent it again in a heartbeat!

fit beautifully, was tight but at the same time very forgiving. and for a dress with such a busy print it wasn't overwhelming which i often find to be a problem.

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 7, 2014
Loved it!

This dress looks amazing in person! The design is really cool and it looks amazing on. I ordered the small and the medium and was expecting to wear the medium, however I ended up wearing the small. Everyone loved it so much that my roommate ended up wearing it the next night to a different event! Definitely recommend for anyone who wants to look good and make a statement.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
February 15, 2014
looked great, felt great!

no spanx needed for this dress - it is form fitting, smoothing, and with enough give to be comfortable. It was a nice length, not too short or too long. Would love to have this in my closet.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
February 26, 2014
Exactly what I was looking for!

This dress is amazing-it hugs all the right places without being too tight, you definitely don't need spanx with it, and its comfortable and easy to wear. The pattern is fun without being over the top. You don't need much jewelry with it, so its basically the perfect dress for a night out.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
February 27, 2014
Best dress ever

Loved this dress, a little hard to get over my head being that it was done in a bun but loved the thick material and it hugged all of my curves

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 3, 2014
Surprisingly happy with this dress! Great for a party/night out on the town. Would order again.

I don't tend to gravitate towards form fitting dresses. However, I tried this one on in the Las Vegas showroom and fell in love with it! This dress hugs in all of the right places and doesn't require spanks! This dress is even reversible with a scoop neck option. It surprisingly rubbed a little under the arms, but I got used to it quickly and didn't have a problem with it.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 11, 2014
Unique

Totally different from what I would normally get, but the wow factor was definitely there! It fit like of glove, but I wore tights and was really afraid it would ride up.. so maybe don't do that. But it is stunning and makes the booty pop!

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 23, 2014
I was receiving compliments all night and even from the bitchiest of girls.

I LOVE THIS DRESS. I wore this for a friends classy bachelorette party and didn't want to send it back. I was tempted to flee the state and take on an alias just so I could keep it. To say it's true to size could be a little misleading. The dress acts likes it's own set of spanx, it complete sucks you in and keeps you there because of how thick and durable the material is. That being said, I wouldn't wear it on a hot summer night. If you have hips, boobs, and booty to share like I do than this dress will accentuate all of that. At one point I asked my friend "Does this dress make my butt look huge?" and she replied "Well, you have a kardashian butt so yes, but in the best way possible."

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 1, 2014
Flattering, fun & easy to wear

Loved this dress - it's very stretchy, perfect for hard to fit sizes, but not clingy or too revealing. Looks even better in person than in photos

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140lbs
May 13, 2014
This dress was so comfortable!! It's also so beautiful! What a great birthday!

Fits perfectly. It is a tight dress but unlike most tight dresses you cant see your belly. The pattern and the tightness of the dress don't show any of your trouble spots

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 16, 2014
Did not wear - longer than expected.

I really liked the pattern on this dress and I usually spend quite a bit of time going through reviews to find other girls that are similar to my size/shape, but this one just didn't pan out for me. Compared to the other girls who are 5'6" - 5'7" with similar bodies, when I put the dress on it was much longer on me. Granted I do have longer legs and a shorter torso, but I was still shocked that the dress - when fit properly - was hitting below mid-thigh. It almost looks like a mini on some of the girls, so I was hoping it'd be shorter. (I'm not very curvy so longer, tight dresses don't do much for my figure.) I ordered a small and a medium after reading that you have to squeeze into the dress, but perhaps had I ordered an XS it may have been shorter. If I tried to scrunch it up a bit, the fabric looked weird and under garment lines (bra, underwear) were more apparent because of the excess fabric. And unfortunately I didn't have a chance to try these on until it was too late to order something else. All in all, I was really wanting to wear this dress because I think it looks really cute on the other girls who have posted pictures in their reviews, but it didn't look the same on me as it did on the other girls my size. :( Super cute on everyone else...

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
July 22, 2014
Form fitting, very thick material!

Great dress, great quality material, fits like a bandage dress (bondage dress!), it was a cool summer night but probably would have been better on a fall night since it's a heavier material.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
April 16, 2014
Made me feel beautiful!

#gorgeous #fitslikeaglove

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
September 10, 2014
Got a ton of compliments on this dress! Hugged me in all the right places.

The fit is a little tight. I fit the medium but was more comfortable in the large.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 16, 2014
Beautiful dress

Fit was great. There was no bunching and it wasn't overly tight. This dress was a spandex material but it was very comfortable. I would definitely rent this dress again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129lbs
September 20, 2014
Fit like a glove!

I absolutely loved how this dress fit me! Holds everything in, is true to size, can wear a regular bra, super comfy, sexy, is different but not crazy. This was actually my back up dress so I didn't get a chance to wear it out since my first choice was perfect! However, this dress is on my short list and I am looking for a place to wear it! Will definitely see this dress again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
October 6, 2014
Comfortable and flattering!

Very form fitting dress. The material is a little thicker so it truly holds everything in. Was super comfy and got many compliments at the wedding! Looks so much in person than in the photo with the model. Definitely recommend!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 19, 2014
OBSESSED gorgeous, classy and sexy

Dress was STUNNING..Perfect length and really incredible on a petite curvy girl. I could have done an xs i did feel it was a little loose around stomach. I love this so much!!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 2, 2014
Tons of compliments

I wore this dress for my senior homecoming. It is very tight and form fitting. I enjoyed wearing it because it was comfortable to move in and did not ride up at all. The material is very thick which is also a plus because you can wear anything underneath. The dress makes any body type look good. Overall the dress is worth it

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 6, 2015
Perfect fit, tons of compliments

The dress fit like a glove. The fabric is thick so it hugs in the right places and keeps everything in place without being too tight on constrictive. I got a ton of compliments on the dress and how great I looked in it. Perfect dress for the occasion.

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 9, 2015
NYE is always fun :)

I'm usually a small, sometimes and XS depending on the brand. Got the S and M since reviews all said to size up and ended up wearing the small. I wanted it to be tighter but I really could have gone either way. Dress fits tight but in a good way. I had even bought spanx just in case didn't end up needing it because this dress is like spanx. I wish it wasn't so cold out so I didn't have to wear boots/tights because this dress def shows off your legs. I love the texture of the dress and pretty comfortable. It's a bit scratchy at first but nothing that's unbearable. Dress is also very thick which is perfect for winter. Overall great experience! One thing to note, this dress smells weir when you first get it, but I had enough time to air it out for a few days.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 19, 2015
Loved wearing this to dinner in Vegas.

This dress is stretchy and felt great to wear. I was originally looking at getting an Herve Leger dress, but this one fit me better. It has a similar look to an Herve at a cheaper price point, which was great!

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 126lbs
January 23, 2015
So many compliments!

Fits true to size. The material is thick and fits snug like a bodycon dress should, making it extremely flattering! I received so many compliments on this dress and I felt so great in it. I would definitely recommend it to others.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 3, 2015
This dress felt amazing. I would buy it in a heart beat.

The fit was great. It was comfortable and I didn't feel "packaged" into it. The pattern hid and accentuated all the right things. Wore this in Vegas and turned lots of heads.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 142lbs
July 6, 2015
I received this dress because my first choice came damaged. All I can say is WOW!!!! I loved it!

Super cute! Form flattering, it was warm and really sucks you in.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
January 17, 2016
I felt very confident in this dress all night!

It looked incredible on me. I had lost a few pounds and was brave enough to wear a dress that hugged all my curves. I felt very confident in this dress all night. Very edgy! Loved it!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
November 6, 2013
Love this dress!

The fabric is nice, thick and really holds you in much like a HL dress does. I actually went out the next week and purchased a dress from this designer since Iiked it so much.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
November 28, 2013
Great Party Dress!

Love this dress!! RTR never disappoints! The best part was that it still had the tags on. Great fit, can run a little bit small so if you like to have more room, get size up.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 25, 2014
Statement Dress

I got plenty of compliments. The dress hugged my body perfectly . The material is thick and can push your chest down. I ordered medium and large, I went with the medium & had no need for spanx's. Loved the dress & will probably order again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
May 16, 2014
Would look better on a curvy person!

I ordered this dress in a small and medium and ended up swapping it out for another dress, because it looked horrible on me. I have a friend who rented this a few months ago, and it looked great on her! So it's not the dress, it's me :) My bit of advice would be to stay away from this dress if you don't have a small waist relative to other parts of your body. I don't necessarily have a large waist, but it doesn't cinch in either. I think this would look much better on someone who has a smaller, cinched-in waist. Honestly, I looked pregnant in it, and just for the record - I'm not :)

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
December 8, 2014
The dress was a perfect fit!

It is a surprisingly thick and textured material. Almost like a swimsuit. Very comfortable and flattering, I didn't wear spanx. I wasn't in love with it online, but when it came it was perfect! It did ride up quite a bit. Im pretty short but it was a perfect length on me. Overall loved it!

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
February 2, 2015
I wore this dress to a NYE party in Miami. It fit well, was slimming, and very comfortable!

I only have good things to say. The dress fit really well and the thick material made me feel sucked (and yet very comfortable) the whole night! Love this designer!

See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×