Reptile Dress

$66 to buy
$435 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

See you later! This hot black and white sheath by RVN will make you the life of the party. Add some extra rarr with Alexis Bittar’s Perching Panther Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS - L.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS - L.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black and white intarsia knit (42% polyester, 32% viscose, 18% nylon, 8% spandex). Cap sleeve. Crew neckline. Pencil body. No Zipper. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
78 reviews
Fit
Large0
True to Size42
Small29
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 1, 2014
Flattering, fun & easy to wear
Loved this dress - it's very stretchy, perfect for hard to fit sizes, but not clingy or too revealing. Looks even better in person than in photos
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 23, 2014
I was receiving compliments all night and even from the bitchiest of girls.
I LOVE THIS DRESS. I wore this for a friends classy bachelorette party and didn't want to send it back. I was tempted to flee the state and take on an alias just so I could keep it. To say it's true to size could be a little misleading. The dress acts likes it's own set of spanx, it complete sucks you in and keeps you there because of how thick and durable the material is. That being said, I wouldn't wear it on a hot summer night. If you have hips, boobs, and booty to share like I do than this dress will accentuate all of that. At one point I asked my friend "Does this dress make my butt look huge?" and she replied "Well, you have a kardashian butt so yes, but in the best way possible."
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
April 16, 2014
Made me feel beautiful!
#gorgeous #fitslikeaglove
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 11, 2014
Unique
Totally different from what I would normally get, but the wow factor was definitely there! It fit like of glove, but I wore tights and was really afraid it would ride up.. so maybe don't do that. But it is stunning and makes the booty pop!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
April 8, 2014
Maybe for NYE...
Too short, too tight, didn't wear :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
March 10, 2014
Sexy little black and white number for a hot date
i picked this dress on a whim because I loved the detail and the texture of the fabric. On the whole, it was a really great dress and I got tons of compliments on it. My only "complaint" (which is based solely on personal preference/comfort level and is not necessarily a fault of the dress) is that it was so form fitting I felt like it showed every little thing and I was afraid to eat or drink very much. Definitely sexy, just wish in hindsight I had worn spanx or something underneath for a little extra tightening. The fabric though, is thicker than you might expect and did a decent job of keeping my stomach and hips looking smooth. I wore the small but perhaps a medium would have fit more loosely and been a little more comfortable for me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 4, 2014
Meow!
I wore this dress to Valentine's dinner and I loved it! It is a very elastic, "strechy" material so I would order a size up. It hugs in all the right places. The pattern was so fun! I feared the dress would ride up and it never did. I would rent this again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 3, 2014
Surprisingly happy with this dress! Great for a party/night out on the town. Would order again.
I don't tend to gravitate towards form fitting dresses. However, I tried this one on in the Las Vegas showroom and fell in love with it! This dress hugs in all of the right places and doesn't require spanks! This dress is even reversible with a scoop neck option. It surprisingly rubbed a little under the arms, but I got used to it quickly and didn't have a problem with it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
February 27, 2014
Best dress ever
Loved this dress, a little hard to get over my head being that it was done in a bun but loved the thick material and it hugged all of my curves
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
February 26, 2014
Exactly what I was looking for!
This dress is amazing-it hugs all the right places without being too tight, you definitely don't need spanx with it, and its comfortable and easy to wear. The pattern is fun without being over the top. You don't need much jewelry with it, so its basically the perfect dress for a night out.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 25, 2014
Statement Dress
I got plenty of compliments. The dress hugged my body perfectly . The material is thick and can push your chest down. I ordered medium and large, I went with the medium & had no need for spanx's. Loved the dress & will probably order again!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
February 24, 2014
Fun, flattering dress - perfect for a night out with the girls in Las Vegas!
Based on the other reviews, I sized up to a medium and I'm so glad I did. The fit of the dress is stretchy and tight. The fabric is thick, which helps to hide any rolls or problems areas. My only complaint is that it flattened my chest quite a bit, even with a bra on.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
February 24, 2014
I didn't want to give it back!
This was the perfect dress for my birthday! I would recommend sizing up for backup, I typically wear a medium but wore the large. The material is stretchy and has a cool texture. It is very form fitted but was super flattering! I would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 17, 2014
Super comfortable, keeps everything in!
Loved this dress! Got so many compliments and felt confident and happy all night. :) The fabric is really cool and thick so it smooths in all the right places. I wore the larger size (M) because it was ridiculously hard to get over my head. Totally recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
February 15, 2014
looked great, felt great!
no spanx needed for this dress - it is form fitting, smoothing, and with enough give to be comfortable. It was a nice length, not too short or too long. Would love to have this in my closet.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 7, 2014
Loved it!
This dress looks amazing in person! The design is really cool and it looks amazing on. I ordered the small and the medium and was expecting to wear the medium, however I ended up wearing the small. Everyone loved it so much that my roommate ended up wearing it the next night to a different event! Definitely recommend for anyone who wants to look good and make a statement.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
February 6, 2014
Wore to a wedding. Very fun print!
As other reviewers commented, this dress is REALLY tight! Like a full body spanx! It was also pretty short on me and that felt a little uncomfortable for a wedding. I would probably like it better for a different occasion and if I lost 10-15 pounds. Ha!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
January 26, 2014
Very comfortable and good for a long night out. I wore it on NYE. I would rent this dress again.
Great dress but is very tight. I ordered the XS and S and ended up wearing the small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
January 15, 2014
Too small but such a cute dress
I normally wear an 8 or 10, but this dress was too small, even in the large. The dress was gorgeous. The material was nice and the pattern really interesting. It just was too tight and unflattering on my backside, and was so tight around the shoulders and upper body that I was feeling crushed. It looked very good on lots of other girls though, so really it's just not for someone with large hips/butt. Wish it had worked.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 9, 2014
loved this dress! would rent it again in a heartbeat!
fit beautifully, was tight but at the same time very forgiving. and for a dress with such a busy print it wasn't overwhelming which i often find to be a problem.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
January 8, 2014
Love all RVN dresses!
Fit like a glove. Didn't ride up. Would rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 7, 2014
Great Party Dress!
I rented this dress for NYE and it was perfect. The dress is a bit tight but the fabric is on the thicker side so it kept me slim in all the right places. Because it is so tight, it is a little difficult to put on and take off without getting any makeup on it. I fit the XS but opted to wear the S because it felt a little more breathable and not as constraining as the XS.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 7, 2014
Beware of the top :(
The fabric was very nice, thicker than what I was expecting - almost a quilted look although the whole dress was the same, stretchy material. I was disappointed at how tight the chest was - it made an unfortunate, giant, uni-boob. My size 2 roommate (32 b) tried the dress on as well and it made her look completely flat on top. The thick fabric looked great on curves through the hips, but maybe a size up could have helped the top? I really wanted this to work... alas :/
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 6, 2014
Fitted sexy dress
Runs a little small, but understandable so. It's a very form fitting dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 5, 2014
Great NYE dress
The material is thick and tight, so it felt like it held everything in but also shows every curve. Wore with black stockings to make it look more wintery. Since it's stretchy I probably could've worn the small but the medium was comfortable so I just stuck with that.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 3, 2014
.
Great dress! The detailing is beautiful and it fits like a glove! It does hike up a little bit with a lot of movement but that's to be expected with a tight dress. I would definitely recommend this dress for a night out!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 2, 2014
Sexy, Slimming, and Sophisticated!
I wore this dress for NYE 2014 and it was quite the head turner! I recieved so many compliments! The RVN Reptile Dress runs small. Upon taking it out of the RTR bag, i was a little concerned that it wouldn't fit. It has a ton of stretch and I was able to squeeze into an XS. Although its tight, it's not short at all. I am about 5' 4" and it hit above the knee to make it classy and not slutty. It was also so slimming! I felt like a star!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
December 22, 2013
Stunning, head-turning, compliment-nabbing dress!
So I've rented about 15 or so dresses from Rent the Runway in the last 4 years and this piece is probably my FAVORITE thus far. It's super sexy, without being too revealing. The fabric is thick and stretchy -- kind of like one giant Spanx outfit. So it's comfortable, warm, and flattering. The pattern has a 3D textural affect to it, which makes undergarment lines basically invisible. The snakeskin print itself is unique and eye-catching. I wore it out to a friend's private birthday party and then to a bar in NYC's East Village. Besides receiving a ton of compliments at the party, the otherwise stoic bouncer at the bar even paid me a compliment. "Nice Dress." The only slight issue is getting in and out of the thing. There are no zippers so you basically have to slide into it like a swimsuit. I've learned to go arms first in, and then literally ELBOW my way out. It was impossible to get out of without using my elbows as leverage. I'm 5'4 and size S was just the right length. You can pull it down to get it just below mid-thigh or hike it up slightly higher. I paired it with a Helmut Lang cropped tuxedo blazer, glittery black platform stiletto pumps, and a kate spade handbag.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
December 9, 2013
Fun winter dress!
This dress was a last minute selection as RTR had shipping trouble with my original selection and overnighted me this instead. It ended up working out great and was a comfortable and stylish dress for my boyfriend's holiday party. The material is really thick so even though it was tight, it was still flattering. The black designs on the dress are raised so it looked cooler in person then in a photo. One note is that it rode up a bit so I had to keep pulling it down but overall, a great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
November 28, 2013
Great Party Dress!
Love this dress!! RTR never disappoints! The best part was that it still had the tags on. Great fit, can run a little bit small so if you like to have more room, get size up.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
November 6, 2013
Love this dress!
The fabric is nice, thick and really holds you in much like a HL dress does. I actually went out the next week and purchased a dress from this designer since Iiked it so much.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 8, 2013
.
I wasn't a fan of how this dress fit. The material is very thick and the high neckline and full coverage shoulder area did not look super flattering on me. I ended up not wearing the dress out but I'd received a coupon from RTR so I was fine with it. I think the dress would work better on someone who has a smaller back/shoulder area.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
October 2, 2013
Amazing!!
This dress runs very true to size. It does have a lot of stretch and fits very slimming. This dress is very versatile and is a great statement dress on a night out. I felt amazing in it and it photographed very flattering! I typically wear a 4-6 so I went with the Size M!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
September 26, 2013
Perfect Dress for a Nigh Out With Friends!
This dress fits perfect, just like a glove! It is very simply with the black and white pattern and extremely flattering. You do not need to wear a bra with this dress and it it the perfect length. I actually rolled it up a bit underneath, since I am super short, but it fit perfect! I absolutely recommend this dress for anyone looking for an easy going out dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
September 24, 2013
Cute but runs VERY small
This dress is so cute but runs extremely small. I rented the small and could barely get it over my head - I am typically a size 2. I would size up if you rent this, maybe even go two sizes up for your backup. Was very sad that it didn't work out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
September 3, 2013
This dress is really hot. And it doesn't reveal too much at the same time.
This dress is amazing on. The only downside is that you really need to put the dress on before you do your hair and make-up because you have to wriggle into it and it's very form fitting.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
August 28, 2013
Gorgeous dress that accentuated my curves and showed off the right amount of leg for the VMAs!
This dress is very form fitting but not uncomfortable at all, and if you're walking a lot it can ride up slightly given the stretchy nature of the fabric. The pattern is textural and the dress fabric is 'thick' enough to smooth out your silhouette. I loved the fit, the pattern and the whole overall look - it was the perfect dress to keep it classy but with a little edge/sexiness for the MTV VMAs in Brooklyn!
AMCSeptember 16, 2013
I wear a 34D but I am typically an 8 in a dress...do you think a Large in this dress would be baggy or would you say going up from a medium would work for a size larger then you ?
ElisaSeptember 17, 2013
@AMC If you typically wear an 8, I would go for the large, with the type of fabric this dress is made out of, I don't think it could ever really fit "baggy" and you'll appreciate the little bit of extra room to move vs. feel self conscious it's too tight or riding up - enjoy it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
August 26, 2013
Most Amazing Dress Ever!
I wore this to a wedding reception and cannot say enough amazing things about this dress. It fit absolutely perfect and hugged my body in all the right places! I have never felt better in a dress and do not want to send it back! The texture is so cool and very flattering.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×