RVN

Reptile Dress

$75 rental
$435 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

See you later! This hot black and white sheath by RVN will make you the life of the party. Add some extra rarr with Alexis Bittar’s Perching Panther Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS - L.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS - L.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black and white intarsia knit (42% polyester, 32% viscose, 18% nylon, 8% spandex). Cap sleeve. Crew neckline. Pencil body. No Zipper. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

67 reviews

Fit
Small 25
True to Size 40
Large 0
Photos 40
Meaghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 26, 2013

Most Amazing Dress Ever!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a wedding reception and cannot say enough amazing things about this dress. It fit absolutely perfect and hugged my body in all the right places! I have never felt better in a dress and do not want to send it back! The texture is so cool and very flattering.
Elisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 28, 2013

Gorgeous dress that accentuated my curves and showed off the right amount of leg for the VMAs!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress is very form fitting but not uncomfortable at all, and if you're walking a lot it can ride up slightly given the stretchy nature of the fabric. The pattern is textural and the dress fabric is 'thick' enough to smooth out your silhouette. I loved the fit, the pattern and the whole overall look - it was the perfect dress to keep it classy but with a little edge/sexiness for the MTV VMAs in Brooklyn!
LA
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102 lbs
Sep 26, 2013

Perfect Dress for a Nigh Out With Friends!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress fits perfect, just like a glove! It is very simply with the black and white pattern and extremely flattering. You do not need to wear a bra with this dress and it it the perfect length. I actually rolled it up a bit underneath, since I am super short, but it fit perfect! I absolutely recommend this dress for anyone looking for an easy going out dress.
RachelB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Oct 2, 2013

Amazing!!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress runs very true to size. It does have a lot of stretch and fits very slimming. This dress is very versatile and is a great statement dress on a night out. I felt amazing in it and it photographed very flattering! I typically wear a 4-6 so I went with the Size M!
Kelly
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Dec 9, 2013

Fun winter dress!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was a last minute selection as RTR had shipping trouble with my original selection and overnighted me this instead. It ended up working out great and was a comfortable and stylish dress for my boyfriend's holiday party. The material is really thick so even though it was tight, it was still flattering. The black designs on the dress are raised so it looked cooler in person then in a photo. One note is that it rode up a bit so I had to keep pulling it down but overall, a great dress!
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134 lbs
Dec 22, 2013

Stunning, head-turning, compliment-nabbing dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
So I've rented about 15 or so dresses from Rent the Runway in the last 4 years and this piece is probably my FAVORITE thus far. It's super sexy, without being too revealing. The fabric is thick and stretchy -- kind of like one giant Spanx outfit. So it's comfortable, warm, and flattering. The pattern has a 3D textural affect to it, which makes undergarment lines basically invisible. The snakeskin print itself is unique and eye-catching. I wore it out to a friend's private birthday party and then to a bar in NYC's East Village. Besides receiving a ton of compliments at the party, the otherwise stoic bouncer at the bar even paid me a compliment. "Nice Dress." The only slight issue is getting in and out of the thing. There are no zippers so you basically have to slide into it like a swimsuit. I've learned to go arms first in, and then literally ELBOW my way out. It was impossible to get out of without using my elbows as leverage. I'm 5'4 and size S was just the right length. You can pull it down to get it just below mid-thigh or hike it up slightly higher. I paired it with a Helmut Lang cropped tuxedo blazer, glittery black platform stiletto pumps, and a kate spade handbag.
NYC_B
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 2, 2014

Sexy, Slimming, and Sophisticated!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for NYE 2014 and it was quite the head turner! I recieved so many compliments! The RVN Reptile Dress runs small. Upon taking it out of the RTR bag, i was a little concerned that it wouldn't fit. It has a ton of stretch and I was able to squeeze into an XS. Although its tight, it's not short at all. I am about 5' 4" and it hit above the knee to make it classy and not slutty. It was also so slimming! I felt like a star!
Kathryn
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 3, 2014

.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great dress! The detailing is beautiful and it fits like a glove! It does hike up a little bit with a lot of movement but that's to be expected with a tight dress. I would definitely recommend this dress for a night out!
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 5, 2014

Great NYE dress

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The material is thick and tight, so it felt like it held everything in but also shows every curve. Wore with black stockings to make it look more wintery. Since it's stretchy I probably could've worn the small but the medium was comfortable so I just stuck with that.
Kathy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109 lbs
Jan 7, 2014

Great Party Dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for NYE and it was perfect. The dress is a bit tight but the fabric is on the thicker side so it kept me slim in all the right places. Because it is so tight, it is a little difficult to put on and take off without getting any makeup on it. I fit the XS but opted to wear the S because it felt a little more breathable and not as constraining as the XS.
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 8, 2014

Love all RVN dresses!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit like a glove. Didn't ride up. Would rent again!
Danelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Feb 6, 2014

Wore to a wedding. Very fun print!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
As other reviewers commented, this dress is REALLY tight! Like a full body spanx! It was also pretty short on me and that felt a little uncomfortable for a wedding. I would probably like it better for a different occasion and if I lost 10-15 pounds. Ha!
Meredith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Feb 24, 2014

I didn't want to give it back!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This was the perfect dress for my birthday! I would recommend sizing up for backup, I typically wear a medium but wore the large. The material is stretchy and has a cool texture. It is very form fitted but was super flattering! I would definitely rent again!
Alina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 26, 2014

Exactly what I was looking for!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is amazing-it hugs all the right places without being too tight, you definitely don't need spanx with it, and its comfortable and easy to wear. The pattern is fun without being over the top. You don't need much jewelry with it, so its basically the perfect dress for a night out.
Haley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 3, 2014

Surprisingly happy with this dress! Great for a party/night out on the town. Would order again.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I don't tend to gravitate towards form fitting dresses. However, I tried this one on in the Las Vegas showroom and fell in love with it! This dress hugs in all of the right places and doesn't require spanks! This dress is even reversible with a scoop neck option. It surprisingly rubbed a little under the arms, but I got used to it quickly and didn't have a problem with it.
Karla
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 4, 2014

Meow!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I wore this dress to Valentine's dinner and I loved it! It is a very elastic, "strechy" material so I would order a size up. It hugs in all the right places. The pattern was so fun! I feared the dress would ride up and it never did. I would rent this again.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 10, 2014

Sexy little black and white number for a hot date

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
i picked this dress on a whim because I loved the detail and the texture of the fabric. On the whole, it was a really great dress and I got tons of compliments on it. My only "complaint" (which is based solely on personal preference/comfort level and is not necessarily a fault of the dress) is that it was so form fitting I felt like it showed every little thing and I was afraid to eat or drink very much. Definitely sexy, just wish in hindsight I had worn spanx or something underneath for a little extra tightening. The fabric though, is thicker than you might expect and did a decent job of keeping my stomach and hips looking smooth. I wore the small but perhaps a medium would have fit more loosely and been a little more comfortable for me.
Suz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 16, 2014

Made me feel beautiful!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
#gorgeous #fitslikeaglove
jessica
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 23, 2014

I was receiving compliments all night and even from the bitchiest of girls.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I LOVE THIS DRESS. I wore this for a friends classy bachelorette party and didn't want to send it back. I was tempted to flee the state and take on an alias just so I could keep it. To say it's true to size could be a little misleading. The dress acts likes it's own set of spanx, it complete sucks you in and keeps you there because of how thick and durable the material is. That being said, I wouldn't wear it on a hot summer night. If you have hips, boobs, and booty to share like I do than this dress will accentuate all of that. At one point I asked my friend "Does this dress make my butt look huge?" and she replied "Well, you have a kardashian butt so yes, but in the best way possible."
Marisa
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
May 10, 2014

Miami weekend!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
Gorgeous dress! Fits like a glove and doesn't move. Perfect for dinner and dancing!
Gabriella
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
May 13, 2014

This dress was so comfortable!! It's also so beautiful! What a great birthday!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fits perfectly. It is a tight dress but unlike most tight dresses you cant see your belly. The pattern and the tightness of the dress don't show any of your trouble spots
Heather
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 8, 2014

Form fitting sexy dress

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is great but a few things to note about the fit. 1) it is form fitting (like a glove) 2) I liked the dress length at first but it rode up a lot when I walked- making it appear a lot shorter 3) I am a size 0/2. Although I fit into the S I wore the M- it was more comfortable and a little longer (I am 5'8"). You will make a statement with the dress.
Raina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 10, 2014

Got a ton of compliments on this dress! Hugged me in all the right places.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit is a little tight. I fit the medium but was more comfortable in the large.
kati
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133 lbs
Sep 11, 2014

Was nervous but ended up liking it!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I had this dress over nighted after my first option didn't work out. It is VERY form fitting which is normally ok for me. It rode up just a little bit but I wore the large for a tiny bit extra length. Over all the dress was a hit! I got lots of compliments and I love the necklace that the stylist sent to go with it.
Michelle
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 16, 2014

Beautiful dress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was great. There was no bunching and it wasn't overly tight. This dress was a spandex material but it was very comfortable. I would definitely rent this dress again.
Diane
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124 lbs
Sep 20, 2014

Fit like a glove!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I absolutely loved how this dress fit me! Holds everything in, is true to size, can wear a regular bra, super comfy, sexy, is different but not crazy. This was actually my back up dress so I didn't get a chance to wear it out since my first choice was perfect! However, this dress is on my short list and I am looking for a place to wear it! Will definitely see this dress again!
Daniella
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Oct 6, 2014

Comfortable and flattering!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very form fitting dress. The material is a little thicker so it truly holds everything in. Was super comfy and got many compliments at the wedding! Looks so much in person than in the photo with the model. Definitely recommend!
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128 lbs
Oct 19, 2014

OBSESSED gorgeous, classy and sexy

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Dress was STUNNING..Perfect length and really incredible on a petite curvy girl. I could have done an xs i did feel it was a little loose around stomach. I love this so much!!
Brittney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 22, 2014

SUPER TIGHT

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was extremely fitted. The material is thicker so it hides any imperfections. Also, very stretchy so I didn’t feel like I was too constricted in the dress. Fun pattern and high neck, cap sleeve makes up for the tightness. Overall, loved this dress!
Emily
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 2, 2014

Tons of compliments

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for my senior homecoming. It is very tight and form fitting. I enjoyed wearing it because it was comfortable to move in and did not ride up at all. The material is very thick which is also a plus because you can wear anything underneath. The dress makes any body type look good. Overall the dress is worth it
Lucy
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 16
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 8, 2014

The dress was a perfect fit!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It is a surprisingly thick and textured material. Almost like a swimsuit. Very comfortable and flattering, I didn't wear spanx. I wasn't in love with it online, but when it came it was perfect! It did ride up quite a bit. Im pretty short but it was a perfect length on me. Overall loved it!
lauren
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 6, 2015

Perfect fit, tons of compliments

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit like a glove. The fabric is thick so it hugs in the right places and keeps everything in place without being too tight on constrictive. I got a ton of compliments on the dress and how great I looked in it. Perfect dress for the occasion.
Betty
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 9, 2015

NYE is always fun :)

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I'm usually a small, sometimes and XS depending on the brand. Got the S and M since reviews all said to size up and ended up wearing the small. I wanted it to be tighter but I really could have gone either way. Dress fits tight but in a good way. I had even bought spanx just in case didn't end up needing it because this dress is like spanx. I wish it wasn't so cold out so I didn't have to wear boots/tights because this dress def shows off your legs. I love the texture of the dress and pretty comfortable. It's a bit scratchy at first but nothing that's unbearable. Dress is also very thick which is perfect for winter. Overall great experience! One thing to note, this dress smells weir when you first get it, but I had enough time to air it out for a few days.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 11, 2015

Made my NYE extra glamorous as always with RTR!

Size worn: L
Rented for: Party
The dress was much more clingy than anticipated, but a strong, sturdy material really just sucked everything into place. When I had to walk for a bit, it would ride up slightly, but I'm all legs so that isn't uncommon for a dress like that.
Alexa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 19, 2015

Loved wearing this to dinner in Vegas.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
This dress is stretchy and felt great to wear. I was originally looking at getting an Herve Leger dress, but this one fit me better. It has a similar look to an Herve at a cheaper price point, which was great!
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 126 lbs
Jan 23, 2015

So many compliments!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fits true to size. The material is thick and fits snug like a bodycon dress should, making it extremely flattering! I received so many compliments on this dress and I felt so great in it. I would definitely recommend it to others.
Krisa
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147 lbs
Jan 25, 2015

This dress made my 40th birthday party memorable!!

Size worn: L
Rented for: Party
No need to wear Spanx because the material acts a a compression garment. The thick material was perfect for a cold January night out. The dress highlights your curves in all the right places, and I received numerous compliments. I will definitely rent this or any other RVN dress in the future.
Sarah
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Feb 2, 2015

I wore this dress to a NYE party in Miami. It fit well, was slimming, and very comfortable!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I only have good things to say. The dress fit really well and the thick material made me feel sucked (and yet very comfortable) the whole night! Love this designer!
none
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 3, 2015

This dress felt amazing. I would buy it in a heart beat.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was great. It was comfortable and I didn't feel "packaged" into it. The pattern hid and accentuated all the right things. Wore this in Vegas and turned lots of heads.
Leann
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138 lbs
Mar 27, 2015

Stylist review: Such a cute option for a night out!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I'm usually a medium, but RVN runs pretty small so I'm glad I had this as a backup size. It's so cute and comfortable. Can be a little snug at the bust, so this would be best for women with smaller chest areas as it smushes you in a little. I like that it stretched. Overall I loved this style and would wear it again!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×