Rent the Runway

RVN

Night Racer Dress

$30 rental
$495 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

You won't find a cooler style than this black and nude dress by RVN. With it's flared skirt and lace tattoo detailing you will have everyone complimenting you on your style!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS - L.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS - L.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black intarsia. Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Flared skirt with scalloped hem. No zipper. 35.5” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

128 reviews

Fit
Small 22
True to Size 89
Large 6
Photos 70
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
May 22, 2013

Worked It, Owned it!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress actually as a replacement for another I'd rented that was apparently damaged. This dress wasn't what I was expecting but it was a huge hit. In fact, I don't think my husband has ever given me so many compliments in the span of one evening... it's chic but a little edgy and the print was great!
Joanna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
May 29, 2013

Elegant, comfortable, and edgy all at once!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I'm usually a 2 and the XS fit like I was born for it. The tattoo fabric is soft and stretchy. I got so many compliments on it at my partner's 30th birthday party. I wore it with tights and heeled Oxfords because it was chilly out but I'm sure it's great for bare legs too.
Keita
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 10, 2013

Loved this Dress!! Made me feel sexy and small all at the same time:-) I want to buy it!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for my 4th of July bday weekend and for the Essence Festival since I was working it this year. I loved the way it made me feel and I'm definitely considering buying this personally for my collection. I got so many great compliments from this!
Roxanne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 26, 2013

Dressy Night for a Justin Timberlake Concert

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Definitely got complimented while wearing this dress.I usually wear a size 8, so I ordered the Medium and the Large. Honestly, I felt like they fit the same, but I ended up wearing the large because it was a little bit longer. PROS: fits like a glove, flattering design, moves beautifully when you walk, well made. Can accessorize any way you want because the dress is completely neutral. CONS: the concert I went to was during summer, and the fabric of this dress definitely made me warm. I know other renters have paired the dress with tights during fall/winter, and in hindsight, I think that is the best time to rent this dress. also this fabric hugs to your body, which isn't always the most flattering option. Overall, another great RTR experience :)
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 8, 2013

great bachelorette party dress!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
loved this dress for a fun bachelorette night out! i am usually a medium & the medium fit, but was REALLY short so i opted to wear the large for a little more comfort. the material is really nice, it almost looks embroidered or tattooed on the fabric. super comfortable & flattering, i received compliments all night!
Sophie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 15
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 22, 2013

Super fun and edgy dress!!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Rented this dress for a homecoming dance. Fit like a glove. Loved the detail in the dress, it was very unique and I got tons of compliments. Its hard to see in picture but it a stretchy material, so it really clings to the body. I wish I could keep it!!
Taylor
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 31, 2013

Both the Med & Large fit around the waist well, but I wore Large for length

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I love this dress, lots of compliments-- I am 5'11 and was going straight to a fashion show after work so wore the Large for length [to be more work appropriate] loved this dress, would definitely recommend!
Katie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 16
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Nov 7, 2013

Rented this dress for a work event and everyone loved it!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I can't say enough positive things about this dress! It fit perfectly, was comfortable; would totally recommend!
Carla
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103 lbs
Nov 18, 2013

Favorite rental so far. Great fitting, comfortable and fun.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Wore to concert. Fit perfectly and has some strecth to it. Also, light weight. It looks better in person and on.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 10, 2013

Wore this to my premiere back in August. It was fun and made me feel beautiful!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The fit was nice and comfortable. It felt like I was wearing sweats! The material was soft, and the cut was nice. The armholes were a little on the small side, but I think that was because I should've worn a Small instead of an Extra Small. Otherwise it was beautiful. I'd definitely wear RVN again, but one size larger.
Shona
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 11, 2013

LOVED this dress. Fit like a glove in all the right ways. Completely comfortable. Great for dancing

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress!!!
Sophia
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 27, 2013

This dress was a last minute lifesaver!!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Pros: Tight, not too short, flattering Cons: Unforgivable material if you plan on eating during/before your event. The dress does not cinch at the waist and go out as it looks like with the model in the picture. It is tight in the midsection. Recommend spanx for fuller figures.
Sherly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 144 lbs
Dec 31, 2013

Everyone loved the dress and I felt amazing in it. Such a comfortable and sexy feel! Danced in it!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress is true to size and great to move and dance in. Definitely recommend renting it!
Rachael
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Jan 24, 2014

Loved this dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I ordered a small and a medium, the small was SO short there was no way I could wear it. The medium fit like a glove, still very short but I wore tights so it wasn't a problem!
Antonia
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jan 26, 2014

Wish I could've kept this dress for myself!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit like a glove. The material is a little heavier than I expected it and not forgiving in the slightest if you plan on eating anything before or while wearing this. Still the pattern looks even better in person I got tons of compliments. This dress was a little longer than I expected it to be but it still looked great.
robyn
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 19
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 29, 2014

Wore this dress to a Beyoncé concert and senior homecoming and got compliments all night both times!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The small fit me like a glove, but I also go a medium just in case. The material is heavy and stretchy. Defiantly more of a "winter dress". The sparkly dress on the left in the first picture is also from RTR!
Piper
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 18
Body type: Athletic
Feb 13, 2014

I went to winter formal in this dress.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress and wanted to keep it the minute it came in the mail. It was fun and flirty which was exactly what I needed it to be. I think my dresses were mislabeled though because I ended up wearing the XS because it was larger than the S...Maybe it was stretched out? It was also very comfortable and I danced with ease the entire night. Highly recommend, I received compliments all night.
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 17, 2014

This dress totally made me standout! I loved it.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress is very form fitting at the top, but it is super flattering! The pattern/design of the dress is spectacular, and it's so unique that people really notice you. It was a little shorter than I expected, but it was amazing overall. Coincidentally, another girl rented this same dress to wear to the same event!! We both loved it.
Sierra
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 23, 2014

Great dress for dancing the night away

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fabric is very thick which I loved because you don't get a bra-line. It's very short, so be careful spinning . I actually chose to wear shorts underneath just so I wouldn't have to worry about it. Otherwise, the arm holes are a little tight, but nothing unbearable. Overall, great dress.
Kirstie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98 lbs
Mar 4, 2014

Received compliments the entire night on this dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was definitely true to size. Slipped on like a glove and was super comfortable the entire night. The material is pretty thick, which was perfect for the chilly weather. Id suggest getting hair done with the dress already on though considering the lack of a zipper. The dress must be pulled over head, and you dont want to ruin your updo! Otherwise awesome dress. Wish i could've kept it forever!
Rosa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 10, 2014

Great pattern

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress was very comfortable and easy to wear. Great pattern that made it different from just the standard black dress.
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119 lbs
Mar 10, 2014

Got so many compliments on this dress - so unique!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It fits well and is great that you can wear a regular bra. It was a bit on the short side with what I'm typically comfortable with for a wedding... I had to keep pulling it down and being careful while I danced. But I got so many compliments on it and loved the uniqueness.
Theresa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 27, 2014

Gorgeous

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this dress for my friend's rehearsal dinner. It is stretchy and so flattering
Allyson
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 28, 2014

Classy but fun!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress has a great pattern and nice warm tones even though most of it is black. It is a knit material so it has a lot of stretch. And it's definitely not restricting. It was super comfortable and fun to dance in. The pattern is very flattering as it hits your body at the right places. I am pretty short so the "short" reviews only apply to taller girls. The length on this was perfect. Not too long or too short. It didn't stand out, as it was more subdued color, but it was definitely a good choice for a casual fall wedding.
Renata
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 4, 2014

Loved the dress

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Fantastic dress. I typically get S and this one had to get an M so it runs small, but fits great. Also beware if you have any extra weight - its tight so anything extra will show...
Jenna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 4, 2014

Wore this for a Halloween-themed fundraiser at my office. It got so many compliments!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The dress runs a little large, but its short. Since this was a work event, I went with the S rather than XS, but purely based on length. The detailing on the dress is gorgeous in person, and the skirt has really fun movement to it. The material is a little thicker, which is great for the fall/winter, and also makes the dress more forgiving! Loved it! As always, I will rent again!
Deidra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Nov 9, 2014

Went to a bachelorette party.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Not my fave. Second time renting an rvn dress and just can't seem to find a dress that fits properly. This dress is extremely short. Uncomfortably so. I would not recommend this dress to anyone with a booty or anyone taller than 5'5".
Martha
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 17, 2014

I wore this for my semi-fancy birthday dinner date and it was almost perfect!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I usually wear between an XS and S (prefer an S) but the XS was the only size available in the store. It was snug, but not unflattering or uncomfortable. I probably would have worn an S if it was available. I wore it with black tights and black heels and it looked great! However, I am just over 5'7" and without the tights I would have felt uncomfortable with the short length in the back. It is a beautiful jacquard knit so is probably best in cold weather.
Mercedes
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 24, 2014

lovely dinner wearing a gorgeous dress

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
this is my first rental with RTR and I could not be happier! This dress is beautiful, super flattering and comfortable!
Hannah
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 10, 2014

Loved the style and design, but WAY too short!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is super cute and fun. It is form-fitting and true to size. I loved the detailing. Unfortunately it was way too short, for a leggy girl like me. If I bent to sit, my butt was OUT. With tights it would be better, but not appropriate for a work event.
kate
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 15, 2014

I couldn't wear either the small or medium because it was way too short.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Too short :(
Kay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114 lbs
Jan 7, 2015

Fun and easy dress

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
No zipper. You have to pull it over your head so no getting your hair done before dressing. Very comfortable and no creeping up or riding funny. Loved the print.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Age: 25
Jan 10, 2015

I unfortunately was really disappointed in this dress. I am eager to try the site again!

Size worn: L
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was super short!!! I am 5'3 and never have issues with dress lengths but this one I would not have been able to sit down in without feeling exposed.
Coty
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 141 lbs
Jan 19, 2015

Not flattering on me

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Sadly, this dress was not flattering. It made my hips look wider. Also the fabric is a bit irritating against the skin.
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Body type: Pear
Feb 10, 2015

Sexy and Comfortable

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I love the fit and flare style of this dress. The dress was a little too short for me (5'8) in a size small for a more formal and conservative event, but I rented for a date, and it was perfectly appropriate and fun. The top fit true to size, but if you want more length- size up. (I tried the medium, but the top wasn't as fitted). The colors complemented my brown hair beautifully. I would recommend this dress.
Candice K
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 20, 2015

Great party dress!

Size worn: XS
Rented for: Party
Wore this to Hakkasaan in Vegas for a private party. It's flattering and stretchy. Perfect fit and super comfortable.
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Mar 27, 2015

Not Enough Contrast or Jazz

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for a party and it was flattering but just something was off. It was flattering and the pattern really held its own, but it lacked the punch I was looking for. I would rent this again for a more sober event, but not for an event where I wanted to pop.
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 3, 2015

the little details

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I loved this dress! It was super comfortable and the fit was fantastic. The perfect dress for an April birthday dinner & show date.
Fae
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 30, 2015

Flirty and fashionable!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to another Sweet 16 and again everybody loved it. The fabric is thick, but not heavy. It's also stetchy so it's form fitting perfect for curvy figures.
Candi
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
May 29, 2015

Cute and unique, but not what I was looking for at that time.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress is cute. The detail is nice and you can tell it's made well/expensive. This is the type of dress that I usually wear (something with a little room) and I ordered this dress as a back-up. I ended up taking a chance and wearing a different RVN dress that was tight the whole way down.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×