Robert Rodriguez Collection

Sea Water Shift

$30 – $35 rental ?
$395 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get a classic cut in a bold and fresh color wearing this lace shift by Robert Rodriguez. Beautiful turquoise lace will be perfect on that date night or at dinner! Layer on the color with Slate & Willow's Mint Confection Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Bump Friendly, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Bump Friendly, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Turquoise lace (60% nylon, 40% cotton). Three-quarter sleeves. Boat neckline. Shift body with scalloped hem. Attached nude slip. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

246 reviews

Fit
Small 11
True to Size 108
Large 106
Photos 156
Carrie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 26, 2013

simple and cute

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
got 2 of the same sizes, but thank god the 4 fit
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 30, 2013

Gorgeous Color

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a wedding in Brooklyn and received a lot of compliments. I was surprised at how big it was even though I'm wearing a 0. It definitely does not fit like the model. Nonetheless, the color was gorgeous and it was super comfy for the June, outdoor wedding.
Han
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 2, 2014

Cute!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my mom's birthday party and it was perfect! The color of the fabric is a lot more vibrant in person than in pictures and the lace is gorgeous. Like others have already mentioned, there's little shape so it's not figure flattering (I look heavier than usual). But, I expected that and the dress is still really cute.
Gina
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 12, 2014

The dress was comfortable all night and everyone loved the lace!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for our New Years celebration out on the town. I'm normally a size 10 but I was able to wear the 8 and still have room to enjoy the night. The color is beautiful and the lace is gorgeous. You can wear regular undergarments which is a plus! Such a comfortable yet stylish dress!! I loved it!
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 1, 2014

Made NYE feel really elegant

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The pros: This is a great dress, it's color is great and it feels a bit sexy with the nude underlay. It is comfortable, no zipper so it goes right over your head. It runs very true to size, I ordered a 4 and 6, they weren't too different in size but the 6 felt more like a potato sack. I really did love this dress and didn't want to return it. I wore it for New Years Eve, it was perfect for our get-together. The cons: this dress has no shape to it, which would look great on a girl with a smaller bust. For us bustier girls it just pushes the dress out as far as our bust and makes us look a bit larger. To give it more shape it would look lovely with a belt.
Aliya
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Mar 5, 2014

Within 5 minutes of leaving our hotel room, I received 3 compliments on this dress. It's beautiful!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Vacation
I loved the scalloped hem, fabric and beautiful color of this dress. I did, however, think this dress ran large. I requested a 6 and a 4 (I'm usually in between sizes) and the 4 was rather big on me.
Maggie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 6, 2014

So feminine and pretty.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I wore this to my wedding shower. I loved it! I was a little bit more of a "shift" type of dress, meaning that it didn't highlight my curves. I was very comfortable in it and felt so pretty. It was beautiful in pictures and it was exactly what I wanted. It has a little stretch to it, so it's forgiving. I'm petite, so it wasn't an issue, but it's short.
Norma
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 9, 2014

Great for spring wedding

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This was a really great dress. Overall the dress ran large. The arms were a little tight though. It was comfortable and the fabric was really nice. Definitely size down for this dress and it will fit much better.
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 14, 2014

I loved the color!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was really pretty, I think it ran a little small though. This color was wonderful for a summer wedding!!
RTR Customer
Mar 30, 2014

This dress was beautiful and I was compliments on it all night!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress does not have much shape to it, however still very flattering! I did feel that it felt and looked a bit "large" but the compliments I got all night made me feel otherwise! It's a gorgeous color, and beautiful dress! I highly recommend!
Julie
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Apr 1, 2014

Such a beautiful dress!!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my birthday and loved it! I am usually a size 12 and also got the 10 as everyone said it runs big. It definitely does. I ended up wearing the 12 anyway because the 10 was so short, and decided to belt it and wear with boots for a more casual look. It worked out perfectly for the venue and I got a ton of compliments. It's a beautiful dress and was incredibly comfortable!
Betsy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 4, 2014

LOVED this dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for a charity event and absolutely fell in love with it! I rented the 0 and 2 and ended up wearing the zero. It fit like a glove. The color is even more stunning in person! I paired it with nude heels and received plenty of compliments throughout the night. I did not want to return this dress! As always, RTR was amazing.
Ashley
Age: 28
Apr 5, 2014

I rented this dress for a spring wedding shower. It was perfect.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Beautiful color, loved this dress. It is a little short, but I felt it was still appropriate because everything else is covered.
Manda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 146 lbs
Apr 6, 2014

The color was so flattering!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Definitely glad I read the comments and got my regular size and a smaller size. Ended up using the smaller size, which was a pleasant surprise. Very comfortable. Easy elegance.
Kim
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 6, 2014

I wore this for my wedding rehearsal.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The dress ran very big. I wore a belt because it was really baggy in the mid section. It was a beautiful color and I got a lot of compliments.
Arielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 9, 2014

Beautiful color! A little baggy...

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress to wear to my friend's bridal shower. I wanted something bright and springy, but not too dressy. I ended up not wearing it because the fit was SO baggy. Even in the 2 - it fit around my arms and hips, but I looked like I might be hiding a pregnancy in the stomach. My friend ended up wearing it that night for the bachelorette party. It looked great on her. She's a little less hippy than I am, so the dress fit her better. She wore the 4 and it looked great on her - just oversized all around, but in a very nice way. I would recommend this dress, just don't wear it if you're expecting something form-fitting.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 15, 2014

Elegant and Comfortable!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the color, it's even more beautiful in person. Very comfortable and to easy to move in. Snags easily with jewelry though, so be careful what jewelry you pair this dress with. I would definitely rent this dress again!
lynn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Apr 20, 2014

The amount of compliments I received

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is stunning in person. I wear a 4/6 but usually dresses I go for a six because I am bottom heavy. This dress was comfy and amazing. Great rental
Genevieve
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128 lbs
Apr 21, 2014

Perfect for Easter Sunday

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for Easter Sunday and it was perfect. The church we go to is fancy so this worked very nice with some pearls. I got a lot of compliments on the dress. The color is gorgeous and perfect for spring.The other comments are correct that this is not a form fitting, tight dress but that was not what I was looking for so I really liked it. It does run large though. I am seriously never a 0, usually a 2 or 4 so keep that in mind when ordering. If you don't want it to look too lose, order a size smaller.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
May 5, 2014

CAN I KEEP IT?? PLEASE??

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was so perfect for me. The color was beautiful! Not too short or too long! I was so so sad to package this one up and send it back. I got more compliments than I could have imagined! Felt so pretty :) I will DEFINITELY rent this one again!!!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
May 7, 2014

Super comfortable!!!

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was perfect for my bridal shower. Very comfortable and a great vibrant color! I want to own this dress!
Arlene
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
May 8, 2014

The Maid Of Honor's Dress Was A HIT At The Bridal Shower!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
As Maid of Honor in an upcoming wedding I knew I'd have a lot of events where I'd have to wear dresses with pictures being taken galore so I decided to use Rent the Runway for the first time. The dress came early which was a nice way to start off the experience. I read the reviews, which said it ran large based of people who were close to my size and they were right! I ended up fitting into a size 4 perfectly and loved how the color looked in person. I got SO many compliments on my dress and felt incredible! I was able to ship it right back with the envelope they provided and I would highly recommend it again. I plan on purchasing another dress for the Rehearsal dinner coming up in a few weeks!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
May 9, 2014

Cute, great dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit great! Loved it.. Would rent again!
RTR Customer
May 10, 2014

The most simplistic way to find the perfect outfit for a night.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress in an 8 and 10. When I received it, I was given a 6 and 10. The 6 was too short but otherwise could have worked since it is a shift style. I took the 10 and although it was a bit roomier than necessary, it was still doable. Super comfortable and paired great with the Kate Spade necklace I rented. Many compliments!
Taryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Body type: Full Bust
May 11, 2014

So many compliments!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was wonderful! The 10 fit perfectly but decided to go with the 12 to give it a little more length. I wish I owned this dress!
Laura
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
May 11, 2014

I got tons of compliments on this dress! It fit true to size. Shows off the legs

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It fit very well! It shows off the legs wonderfully and is a very forgiving fit.
Nikki
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
May 12, 2014

This was perfect for the wedding I wore it to. The color is even more beautiful in person.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the style of this dress; not too tight, so it was very comfortable to wear. I loved the length when standing, but felt a little self conscious when I was sitting because it hiked up quite a bit. That being said, I would rent it again. I felt beautiful in this dress.
Leah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
May 13, 2014

Surprised how much my husband liked this shift dress! So comfortable too!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This is a shift dress so you have to expect it to be a little boxy. I ordered the 0 and the 2 and went with the 0. There was a little bit of shape with the 0; the 2 just hung there. It's a really pretty color, and I just love lace. The dress is really comfortable as there is more room than a fitted type dress. Overall, I was happy with this choice. Great for the spring outdoor wedding I attended. Even my husband, who would typically prefer a more fitted dress really liked it.
Cassie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145 lbs
May 13, 2014

I got a lot of compliments on this dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was very pretty and a great color to brighten up a sea of black at a wedding. RTR suggested i size down so I rented a 6 and an 8, even though I am a 10-12. I'm glad i did because the 6 fit really well. I can see why others said this was a bit like a sack, but if you size down enough this dress is perfect! I had a great night in it, its very comfortable and easy to dance in, I'd rent it again for sure.
natasha
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
May 13, 2014

Had a beautiful dress for graduation

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Fit ran big but I love how the dress flowed.
Alicia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
May 14, 2014

Fantastic dress! Great color, fit, and style. Runs large.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The color of is this dress is fantastic both in person and in pictures. It's definitely eye catching and I received a ton of compliments. The dress is a shift dress, so it doesn't hug the body very much. I would definitely recommend going a size lower for a better fit. I am usually a 4 but opted for the size 2. It still wasn't tight (room in the stomach area - always a plus!) and was incredibly comfortable throughout the whole night of dancing. I wouldn't recommend this dress for someone tall. I am 5'3'' and found that the length was perfect when standing straight but a bit short when sitting. Overall, this has been my favorite Rent the Runway experience and I will definitely be renting this same dress again.
Beth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
May 15, 2014

Gorgeous dress, even prettier in person

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for a formal dinner and Broadway show in NYC. I am 5'6", 135 lbs, and ordered a size 6 with a 4 as a backup. I was surprised to get an email a couple of days before my event letting me know that the 4 was unavailable. Fortunately, the 6 ended up being perfect. Like most reviewers, I'm sure I could have fit into the smaller size, but it's a sheath dress and is designed to be a little loose (and it's actually much more flattering in person than in pictures). It was comfy but appropriately dressy for a warm spring night. The color is lovely and I got a lot of compliments. Great pick!
Jackie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 17, 2014

I want to own this !

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Comfortable and flattering. I'm 5 7" and the length was great - just wouldn't recommend bending over to touch your toes in this dress
Chelsea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
May 17, 2014

Comfortable, and lots of compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress was a little shorter than I usually prefer, but the rest was so modest that I didn't mind. It definitely fits true to size. My only complaint stems from the shape of the dress itself-- being loose in the waist it really doesn't give you a waist at all. It's great for showing off legs, but that's about all you'll be able to flaunt. Super cute dress though, and I received tons of compliments.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
May 20, 2014

Fun, comfortable and classy! Wish I owned it!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to my boyfriend's graduation. As mentioned the dress does run large. I usually wear a 6/8 but should have went with the 4. The color is stunning. The length is a bit on the short side but overall - loved this dress. Wish I owned it!
Mindy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
May 21, 2014

Great first Rental:)

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This was my first rental ever and I wore this dress to a Sex and the City Tour in NYC for a birthday. Good way to feel fabulous in fashion like Carrie. ;) Fit was true to size. Amazing color and feel. A bit short if you were to raise both hands up but with manageable for a low key beautiful Spring afternoon in the city. The Lacey top layer snags a bit on jewelry so be careful. I also rented a necklace to go with the dress. Would definitely rent again. My boyfriend loved it on me!
APA
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
May 24, 2014

Reminded me of a Kate Middleton Dress: very garden chic

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The color of this dress is fabulous...a deep sea foam green that could compliment any skin tone. I got lots of compliments on that and the fabric. I loved how demure this dress was because of the sleeves and overall cut, yet I found it to be chic, retro, with a hint of sexy. In addition, I am between sizes 6 and 8 - this dress ran large. I could easily fit into the size 2 that I rented but opted for the size 4 for a little more comfort. My impressions: Pros: Comfortable and effortless. No zippers to deal with. Fabric is forgiving: the slip under the lace has some stretch. Has a nice weight...not too heavy or flimsy. Can help to conceal mid-section area because it is a shift and more loose around that area. Lovely color. Great length for petite ladies (5'4" and under). Cons: The fabric has a tendency to catch on things. I found the lace to get stuck on my jewelry. The rental I received looks a little "worn". The sleeves are not as forgiving and can feel tight on larger arms. I could see this dress as a "staple" if I owned this dress in my wardrobe. It can be dressed up with statement jewelry or worn with a blazer for a work event.
Lia
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
May 24, 2014

Worked perfectly!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The four and the six both would have worked, the 6 gave a little more room for moving, raising my arms, dancing, etc.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
May 26, 2014

Such a gorgeous color. It was perfect for my event!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Really wish I had paid more attention to the reviews. I was so excited about this dress, but as soon as I pulled it out of the dress bag I knew it was going to be big. I rented sizes 2 and 4 because I was worried about the length (long torso = dresses are almost always too short on me). The length was perfect - couldn't be happier - but everywhere else the dress was large. The sleeves stretched out and were baggy after 5 minutes of moving around, and there was just so much extra dress around my chest and mid-section. I did receive a lot of compliments, and really loved the dress. Just wish I had ordered a smaller size. I rented the periwinkle necklace that the stylist recommended, but ended up wearing a coral necklace of my own to make the color pop even more.
Katherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
May 27, 2014

The color was perfect !

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for my engagement photos. It does run large so I ended up wearing the zero & I am usually a 4.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×