Sea Water Shift

$35 rental
$395 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get a classic cut in a bold and fresh color wearing this lace shift by Robert Rodriguez. Beautiful turquoise lace will be perfect on that date night or at dinner! Layer on the color with Slate & Willow's Mint Confection Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Turquoise lace (60% nylon, 40% cotton). Three-quarter sleeves. Boat neckline. Shift body with scalloped hem. Attached nude slip. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
419 reviews
Fit
Large128
True to Size187
Small16
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 7, 2016
Comfortable and forgiving
I loved the look of this dress, but it was a little short for me. I wore this to a bridal shower where I was a bridesmaid and when helping with gifts, it was definitely too short for me to bend over. And I'm only 5'4"! Otherwise it was great. I was 5 weeks post having a baby and wasn't sure of my size, and this dress was comfortable and forgiving. A great pick!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
April 4, 2016
A gorgeously current and comfortable lace dress perfect for a spring affair!
I ordered this dress in a 4 and a 2. Both fit similarly but the 2 was VERY short. If you're worried about length, definitely size up! Keep in mind this is a shift dress so it's not meant to be fitted! It was VERY comfortable and very well made. Wish I could wear it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 114lbs
March 30, 2016
Pretty dress, runs large.
I chose this dress because I wanted to coordinate outfits with my daughter for Easter. RTR advises it runs big and it does. I am an 8 all day long and could have worn a 4. In order to achieve my mission, I cinched the waist with an antique broach and made do. Very pretty, quality, dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
March 29, 2016
Great for an April CA wedding!
I rented this dress for my brother' wedding in Northern CA last April. The fit was great - loose enough to cover the little belly I still had from the baby in the picture there, but still seemed fitted. I'm only 5'2", so I imagine this dress would be quite short on anyone taller, though!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Everyday
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140lbs
March 27, 2016
Beautiful color for an Easter dinner
Runs large so I sized down. Pretty color for spring!
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
March 23, 2016
Loved this dress!
I ordered the 0 and 2. The 0 fit but was too short when I raised my arms. The 2 was a better fit for length and modesty. The dress was comfortable and just what I was looking for for the occasion. I am very pleased with my experience with RTR! This was my first rental:)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
March 22, 2016
I got SO many compliments on this dress! It was light and comfortable!
The fit was true to size. There's not much stretch to the material. I am self-conscious about my pudgy stomach and this hid it well- I didn't even have to pull out the spanx which made for a more comfortable night! I danced comfortably all night, but the dress is a little short so I had to be careful not to raise my arms all the way up. The color is beautiful and I was SO HAPPY with this dress! I wish I owned it now! :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
March 18, 2016
Cute dress!
Cute dress - Loved the color! I'm 5'11, so it was just a little too short for me (if I tried to bend over or raise my arms), so I didn't end up wearing it. More of a casual dress - really pretty though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
March 17, 2016
Beautiful color, great for a friends baby shower
They didn't have my backup size in stock, so I'm so glad I could make the one size work.. however, I think I would have felt a little more comfortable in a size 10 instead with the extra length. Definitely had to be careful when sitting or leaning over, so is a better fit for gals who don't have a lot of junk in the trunk! Great fabric though, perfect for spring and can wear leggings and boots if preferred or go with bare legs and heels for some added flare. Highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 14, 2016
I loved how convenient the app was. It arrived on time. And was so easy to send back.
I loved this dress. I wore it for a march wedding and had so many compliments. It fit great. And was very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
March 3, 2016
Beautiful color, a little baggy around the waist
Sorry for the picture not being full body, this was all I had! The color of the dress is gorgeous! I received many compliments on the dress. I am 5'5, 125 lbs and I wore the size 0. The length wasn't too bad but when I got in and out of vehicles and was sitting down I had to be careful! The fit was a little strange- around the waist, front and back, it was pretty baggy but it still worked. I recommend this dress. It is not my absolute favorite but it is very pretty!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 35
February 29, 2016
Comfortable, fun dress!
Loved the dress! I ended up not wearing the necklace I ordered from RTR with it because the color was quite different than the pic on the website. I got a lot of compliments, it went perfectly with our "Cabo" themed event. I ordered the 6 and got the 8 as backup. The 6 fit perfectly fine, but I couldn't lift my arms past my waist otherwise you would see my entire butt. I ended up wearing the 8 because it was a little longer. It was a little bunchy in the back, but not horrible. I might recommend getting a size up for the length.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
February 16, 2016
Amazing
Sorry that I don't have a photo- but this dress was awesome! I will totally be renting this again, and again, and again! This is my first lace overlay, and I have no idea what the heck took me so long to rent! No need for Spanx, although it is very short, so I would recommend wearing full underwear. So comfortable, stretchy and beautiful color. Highly recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
February 14, 2016
Hot Valentines Day shift dress with legs for days
I wanted something non traditional for VDay this year - no standard pink / white/ red. The brightness of the fabric and detail of the lace was beautiful and I received compliments all night. It is a true slip over dress, no zippers or buttons. The hem was a little short but I though that give this dress a little sex appeal given its more modest neckline. I paired it with some sky high patent leather peep toe pumps in nude and it was perfect for our romantic date night. You could also jazz this dress down with tights. The looseness of the body allowed me to wear some great Valentine's Day lingerie completely hidden. I would absolutely rent again and in other colors.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
February 13, 2016
I rented i this dress as a back up for my Valentine's Day dinner
I felt this dress ran big. I think if you are more button heavy it may fit perfect. I have a large bust and small button and it gave me no shape. Way too big around the middle. I did like the style and color. I thought it was not made very well though. I did not end up wearing it because it was not flattering
RTR CustomerApril 6, 2016
When I read this "way too big around the middle" It makes me wonder if it is just the design of the dress or because like a few reviews down I see there are pregnant women wearing this dress?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
February 9, 2016
beach night wedding
Was perfect beach wedding at night, was just enough coverage to stay warm, comfortable but a bit short, I am 5.4".
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143lbs
February 9, 2016
Perfect dress for my baby shower!
Finding that perfect dress for your baby shower is a daunting job. I feel liked I looked at everything! I came across this cute shift dress and saw that other women had worn it while pregnant and thought I'd give it a try. Wow! So glad I did. It fit perfectly and was very comfortable all day. At almost 8 months pregnant you want to be comfy but also still pretty. That's exactly what this dress made me feel. My husband kept asking me if I was sure I had to send it back he loved it so much! I'm never disappointed with any of my rentals. I love RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
February 8, 2016
Bright color AND I felt comfortable!
The color was stunning! Even better than the picture shows (dark venue) I chose the larger size as it was a corporate event and didn't want to wear anything too form fitting. The dress was SO comfortable, while still being flattering (I could eat in it! ;). Would highly recommend. **I will note it was a bit short when i went to sit down - but nothing that would stop me from renting it again. Love this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
February 3, 2016
Great color! Perfect for a bridal shower.
I knew the dress was going to be short, but I usually don't mind some leg showing.. However in this case, I underestimated how short the dress would be! Just make sure your comfortable showing off your legs. Also, for someone with a fuller bust, it didn't show off my waist at all. If I posed for a picture, I thought it looked great. But a standing position, not the most flattering. Regardless, I loved the color and got tons of compliments. Successful first time!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
January 29, 2016
Cute dress for a day event
Rented this dress for a friend's engagement party. It was a little tighter than you would expect a shift dress to be but still cute on.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
January 21, 2016
Loved the color!
Fun dress! My only complaint on fit that it was a little shorter than I prefer. Since shifts are a loser fit, I went with the 2, depending on the dress, I wear a 2 or 4 normally. I have small arms and didn't have an issue with the fit on top. I wore this for NYE to a casual party. The color was bright and the lace was fun but classy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 11, 2016
I wore this for my sister's bridal shower.
I could have worn this dress in the 10, but I stuck with the 12 just to feel more comfortable since it was a bit short. I have broad shoulders so things tend to be a bit tight in the bust or shoulders - especially with sleeves - but this wasn't tight at all. I got a lot of compliments on the dress and felt incredibly comfortable the entire day. Absolutely recommend this dress - I would go a size up for the backup size if you have long legs and/or don't want it to be too tight in the bust and/or hips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 3, 2016
Received compliments all night long! Loved the color absolutely fantastic!!
Loved this dress!! The color was absolutely perfect and it fit great! I was however really upset with the odor that the dress came in! It was unbearable almost as if it was not washed it was horrible. I was unable to wear the size I desired due to this issue I had to wear a bigger size which didn't fit and look as nice. :(
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Party
Age: 34
January 3, 2016
Absolutely gorgeous dress!!!
This dress was so comfortable and fit true to size. I am 5'8" so it was a little short but very sexy. I received so many compliments. Very fun party dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 190lbs
December 13, 2015
I wore this to an outdoor, casual work event.
The dress was short on me since I am tall. Otherwise, it was great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
December 9, 2015
Very cute and comfotable
This dress was a back up that was sent to me by RTR because I found out last minute that my first choice would not be ready in time. At first I was apprehensive about the color, but it ended up working out great. It was super comfy to wear, (good for dancing) and looked cute on. The color was a little light for a winter wedding, but it ended being a great back up dress and props to RTR for being super accommodating.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Everyday
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
December 1, 2015
LOVE THIS DRESS!
I received so many compliments on this dress! The color is beautiful, and it hung just right on me. I wore it when I was 17 weeks pregnant and there was room in the belly which was nice! I paired it with a necklace and brown knee high riding boots! Super cute! Would love to rent again!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
November 30, 2015
Honestly the best dress I have ever put on! Compliments were endless!
Fir perfectly. I have no hips and broad shoulders and fit my figure nicely. I felt like it would look good on athletic body types.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 29, 2015
I wore this to my Mom's wedding, and the fit was perfect! It was very comfortable for dancing too.
The dress ran true to size, and at 5'4", I didn't find it to be too short. The weather was a bit chilly, so I wore it with some pantyhose and nude pumps. I loved this dress so much and wished I could have kept it. This was my first RTR experience, and I was so pleased and will certainly do it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
November 21, 2015
Loved it!!!
The color of the dress is beautiful. I wore it to a fundraising brunch. It's definitely mini and I am 4'11. The size 6 fit best. I ordered a size 4 as a back up because other reviews said to size down, but I have a bit of a booty and thick arms so the 6 fit best.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 169lbs
November 20, 2015
Great for a garden wedding!
I usually wear a 6 and ended up wearing the 6 (even though the notes said to go a size up). This was mainly because I wanted a little room given it's a pretty form-fitting dress and not that forgiving (without spanx). It also was showing wear and tear on the lace, which makes me think it's a popular dress. Not sure if I would rent again, but did receive nice compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
November 18, 2015
I wore this to my daughter's high school graduation. The color was fabulous!
The arms were a bit snug while the body of the dress was loose. Loved the length being a little short since it was loose.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
November 15, 2015
This dress was perfect and I got so many compliments!
It fit great! I ended up taking the smaller of the two sizes I ordered. It was a little on the shorter side. So when I sat, it rode up but it wasn't anything that was too bad, but I am on the shorter side.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
November 1, 2015
Beautiful color!
The dress was beautiful and the perfect color for summer. The waist section was a bit large and when I was sitting/ bending over it made me look like I had a larger stomach than I did. Other than that the length and fit overall was great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 26, 2015
Tons of compliments on this dress!
Color is beautiful. Could be too short on someone tall. Had to size up because the sleeves were tight. Overall I really liked this dress and would rent again if it came in other colors to try.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
October 18, 2015
Dancing the night away.
Loved this dress. The 6 fit, however, I went with the 8 just to add length. The 6 was not long enough to wear in public.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 16, 2015
Amazing color!!
The dress was great. It was really flattering and perfect for a fall wedding. Just the right length to be appropriate for a formal event but showed enough skin to be sexy at the same time. I got a few complements, not a ton, but my husband thought I looked beautiful which is always a plus :-)! All in all a great rental. Definitely get a size smaller than you usually wear it runs big.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
October 14, 2015
Beautiful dress but never got the chance to actually wear it out. I would definitely rent it again!
Very flattering. Loved the bright vibrant color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 13, 2015
Loved the lace, color, and shape of the dress.
I have an athletic build, wide rib cage, narrow hips, long torso. Dress was a fine length when my arms were down. But dress went above my waist when I lifted my arms up! Loved the color, the lace, and the shape of the dress, it just wasn't quite long enough for my body type.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
October 9, 2015
This dress was PERFECT for a day wedding.
Runs slightly large. I normally wear size 6, and I wore this dress in a size 4.
See more reviews:
2 / 11

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×