Rent the Runway

Robert Rodriguez Collection

Sea Water Shift

$35 rental
$395 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get a classic cut in a bold and fresh color wearing this lace shift by Robert Rodriguez. Beautiful turquoise lace will be perfect on that date night or at dinner! Layer on the color with Slate & Willow's Mint Confection Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Turquoise lace (60% nylon, 40% cotton). Three-quarter sleeves. Boat neckline. Shift body with scalloped hem. Attached nude slip. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

304 reviews

Fit
Small 13
True to Size 135
Large 112
Photos 193
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 20, 2014

Cute but it runs big. Definitely order a size smaller!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Thank goodness I read reviews on here before ordering, I usually would order a 2 and 4 but ordered a 0 and 2 because people said it ran big. They were right. I ended up wearing the 0 which was still a little big. I liked the dress but wish it had more shape to it. I wore it with boots to a country wedding and it was cute! I got a lot of compliments on it!
Ashley Rose
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124 lbs
Jul 11, 2014

Loved it! I received so many compliments. I even rented it a second time to wear to a wedding.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was a perfect fit. Both sizes fit great but I suggest going up a size so it isn't too short.
Kim
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 136 lbs
Jul 28, 2014

Great first rental for a summer wedding!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful color and comfortable fit! I got lots of complements... Wish it was mine! The dress was a little on the short side so I had to be careful not to get "a little bit louder now" when 'Shout' came on. If you're taller and/or plan on doing a lot of fist pumping (no judgement), you might want to be careful about the length. I loved it!
Caroline
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 30, 2014

Perfect for dancing in

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was perfect for an outdoor summer wedding - the color popped among lots of pink dresses and the smaller size was loose enough to be cool in the sun but the sleeves meant I didn't need a jacket when the temps dropped later in the night. The length was perfect so that I felt comfortable gettin low on the dance floor, but short enough to show off a little leg.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 30, 2014

I received compliments on the color and style of the dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress runs large! I normally wear a 4 and I ended up wearing the 2 but probably needed the 0. Pros- pretty dress, comfortable, beautiful color Cons- runs really large and if not the right size can look baggy
Lizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 2, 2014

I received tons of compliments all night long!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Fabulous dress! Very comfy and lightweight, perfect for a summer wedding. The color is gorgeous. It tends to run a little big, I usually wear a 6, with 4 as my backup. The day before it was to be delivered I received a call from RTR saying the six was returned damaged. The rep told me they would still send the four along with another dress in my two sizes, they were so accommodating! I needed up wearing the 4 in my original choice. It is a short dress so if you love your legs then this is the dress for you!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 5, 2014

Beautifully made dress that is flattering!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for an 80th birthday party with family and family portraits. It fit well and true to size. It was a great length even with high wedges. I wore it for several hours and it was very comfortable. I receive many compliments on the color. It fits like a shift dress. Lovely look! I would recommend this dress to any of my friends!
Jessica
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 159 lbs
Aug 7, 2014

N/A

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This ran bigger than I expected from other reviews. I thought I would need the 12 to fit on top but definitely could have gone down a size. The rest of the dress was big but really comfortable. I got a lot of compliments on the dress itself but it definitely wasn't flattering. I wore the 12 because the 10 wasn't available. I would try this dress again in a smaller size.
Caitlin
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 17, 2014

The dress was great! The picture doesn't do it justice!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding. I loved the dress but the size 2 I ordered had a hole under the arm. I would have worn the 2 if it weren't for that. I ended up wearing the 4 which fit pretty similarly, just a bit longer. My husband loved it though and wanted me buy it to wear more often!
emegan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 158 lbs
Aug 24, 2014

This dress was so comfortable and easy to wear!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
So many compliments from so many people! I felt great in it, and was able to dance and move without feeling uncomfortable. I loved this dress so much, I've also rented it in two other colors for other occasions! Thanks RTR, you've made wedding season more fun! :)
Kathy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Aug 27, 2014

Perfect dress for a summer wedding at a winery!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for my friends wedding at a winery. Perfect summer wedding dress. I am 5 months pregnant so I wasn't sure what size I would be by this time but after reading the reviews about the dress fitting a bit large, I went with my regular size 0 and the size 2 just in cast. The size 0 fit like a glove and actually made me look pregnant and not fat :). The dress was so comfortable to wear and got tons of compliments!
Maura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Sep 4, 2014

Service is always amazing!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Dress was really cute, comfy, it has zero stretch and isn't form fitting but it is super classy looking and comfortable .
Angie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 6, 2014

I love how everyone's sizes and body types are listed. It makes it so easy to pick a dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Love this simple dress. Order a size down it runs a little large.
Megan
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 25
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 7, 2014

This dress was fabulous!! I received so many compliments on it throughout the night.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress fit true to size - I am very petite and did not have an issue with the length or anything. The color was gorgeous - loved everything about it!!!
sasull22
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 17, 2014

Everyone wanted to know where I got this dress :)

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress! Color on the model is pretty true (the lighting in my pic is a little off). Comfortable, flattering and perfect for a fun, classy night. Was so much fun to pair with accessories! For my fellow tall ladies (Im 5'8"), loved the way it made my legs look but it gets real short when you lift your arms so be careful. That being said, I had NO problem dancing all night. They sent me the 6 also which fit ok too, but was slightly tight in my hips so I went with the 8 so you couldn't see the dress pull wear it was a little tight. Also, loved that I could wear a regular bra without the straps showing. I would definitely recommend this dress and would rent it again if I didn't think people would notice :)
Kelly
Top Contributor
Age: 26
Sep 18, 2014

Perfect dress for an outdoor wedding

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Though I completely adored this dress on the model, I didn't feel like it hung correctly on me. I'm 5'4, 125 pounds with an athletic build, and felt like the dress would've been cuter on someone taller and without hips or thighs. I ended up wearing the 0 because the 2 was big to the point of bunching up awkwardly when I twisted at all. I ended up wishing I liked this dress more than I actually did.
Hannah
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 194 lbs
Sep 22, 2014

Did not end up wearing.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Not sure if its because I am so curvy but this dress ended up being way TOO short. I couldnt sit down without showing my lady bits. the green was finger tip length, the beige under layer an inch shorter. Good fit especially with spanx. A pull over dress, no zipper.
Auberry
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 24, 2014

Needed something quick and fun for the bridal shower I was throwing and this dress was perfect!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is fun and flattering! I know some reviews thought it ran big, but I found it true to size for me. I can range from a 4 all the way to an 8 depending on the designer. The 4 fit great but the 6 gave me a little more room to move and I figured since it was for a wedding shower flexibility was good. I am on the short side so I found the length to be just right as well. All in all a great dress for a formal party!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Sep 28, 2014

Dress is cute and comfy. I would have liked it to be more form fitting but a belt helps

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress for a late summer/early fall wedding. It was a little hot for dancing.
Sami
Top Contributor
Age: 28
Sep 29, 2014

Beautiful dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The 2 was a little snug and the 4 was perfect. Runs a little large. Gorgeous color in person!
Ashley
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Oct 1, 2014

This dress was SO comfortable and there was a lot of space for eating/drinking!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
LOVED this dress! Got so many compliments, my boyfriend even wanted to buy it for me. It was a bit short when it comes to dancing and raising my arms, but besides that, I thought it was a prefect length. Wore this with grey/tan heels.
Ness
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 2, 2014

Thought a shift would cover my curves.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
It ran a little big. Isn't very flattering because it is a shift dress.
B3ACHBUM
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 4, 2014

My 1st RTR Rental!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Great first experience! I was nervous to rent my first dress, so was glad I had two size options - prob should've ordered the 6 as a back up instead of a 2. Wore this to a fundraiser gala with a "Beatles" theme! The dress was in good condition & the 4 fit really well - length wasn't too short or long. Thanks RTR!!
Chere
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 4, 2014

I've NEVER had so many compliments in my entire life!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
When I first put the dress on I was a little disappointed. I felt blah in it and felt it wasn't very figure flattering.. It runs large. I'm usually a 4 and ended up wearing a 0, thanks to past reviews. The only issue was the zero was a little snug on my arms. I had something else on and change back into it, it was my 'birthday' dress and I didn't want to waste it. I wore it to a 'brew at the zoo' event and I literally could not keep up with all the compliments!! My BF and I were counting in the beginning of the night and lost track. An older lady actually told me I was "a ray of light". I got compliments from groups of girls in the bathroom, people passing yelling out "nice dress", it was insane! I def recommend this dress, size down!
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 6, 2014

Couldn't have been easier!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Rented the dress for a wedding, I usually wear a size 4 but ordered a size down because of other people's reviews and the 2 fit perfect!! Couldn't have been happier, can't wait to use rent the runway again.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 8, 2014

Easy shipping process. Received the dress on time.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful dress! It was very comfortable to wear but very short if you plan on dancing!
Tara
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 8, 2014

Loved it! Got several compliments.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Very comfortable. The 0 also fit but was very snug & would be impossible to sit in.
Janeen
Age: 34
Oct 8, 2014

Dress was exactly what I expected. No issues!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this for a bridal shower. Many compliments. Fit comfortably. I usually wear a 6 or 8. I chose the 6 because the 8 was baggy throughout the core area. Although the 6 was a little short. The length on the 8 was perfect. The 8 was also in better condition, as the 6 had some frays along the bottom. Overall, I liked it a lot, color very pretty and easy to wear. I wld rent it again.
Natalie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Oct 22, 2014

Perfect easy dress- can be casual or dressed up with jewelry

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Runs true to size and comfortable. I wore this to a rehearsal dinner and it was so easy to throw on and go. This dress can be worn to almost any occasion and I wish I owned it!
Elise
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 22, 2014

Dancing the night away!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Perfect to pair with statement necklace or nice earrings
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 24, 2014

This dress made for a lovely family photo shoot! We used grey, navy & this minty teal color.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The fit was great. It doesn't have much shape, but that was fine. I felt pretty & wasn't worried about how my body looked.
Jill
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 26, 2014

Beautiful color!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Great convenient first experience with RTR. Rented this for a wedding Rehearsal and it worked out. The dress is great quality and the color is stunning on. However, this probably wasn't the right style/cut for my body type. I was hoping to hide my post-baby belly, but this ended up clinging in the wrong places. Probably not best for people with bigger bottoms, or larger hips. It was a bit short, but that didn't bother me too much. When I dressed it up with a statement necklace, bracelet, and nude heels it was more flattering. I wouldn't rent this again, but I would recommend it for a different body type since the color is amazing.
Jaclyn
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 27, 2014

This was my first RTR dress and I was so happy with it! Came right on time and fit like a charm!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Since it's a shift dress it's not form fitting in the middle, which I knew going in. I thought it was just a tad too loose for my liking and wanted a defined waist so I added a gold glittery belt and it worked perfectly! Even without a belt the dress is gorgeous! I would definitely recommend this dress to anyone!
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 16, 2014

Simply beautiful gown!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress. I ordered a size down (2) and my normal size (4) because the reviews said the dress was a bit loose fitting. The 2 fit nicely but was short...as in if I put my arms straight up into the air, my entire booty showed!! As a result, I had to go with the 4 which was looser, but still looked great. Dress was still on the short side, be careful if you are tall and want to wear this out dancing!! I received a ton of compliments on this dress and am so happy I rented it!
Nicole
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 23, 2014

Bright color, elegant fit, perfect for an occasion during any season.

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Wedding
I paired the Sea Water Shift dress from the Robert Rodriguez Collection with the Slate & Willow necklace for a Sunday afternoon wedding in late November. The necklace and the dress were absolutely beautiful together. This dress has a loose fit and can be belted, dresses up with a statement piece, or worn as is.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 18, 2014

Great dress! Perfect for my office holiday party. Felt comfortable all night. Tons of compliments.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Based on the reviews, I ordered a size smaller than what I normally wear -- which would be an 8 in most designer dresses. The 8 and the 6 felt pretty similar (no zipper on this shift-style dress), but the 6 was just a bit more flattering since it is a shift dress. So, the snugger was a bit better in this case. Loved this dress though - got a ton of compliments on the color, which was super vibrant and flattering. Some reviews said it was short - and it definitely was if I was sitting down. But for my 5'3" frame it was perfect otherwise.
Sarah
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 23, 2014

Loved the color!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a December wedding I was in. I read reviews that it ran big and I am usually a size 4 so I got the 4 and 2 but I chose to go with the size 4. I actually didn't even try on the size 2 because the size 4 was already kind of short! It was a great dress and I LOVED the way it looked but it was a little short-- make sure to have some spanks on underneath if you're planning on dancing!
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 26, 2014

Great dress for a wedding!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress! This was my first RTR experience and it was flawless. The dress is a shift dress, so I expected it to fit as such, and be a little "baggy" in places (mainly the waistline area). The 4 fit perfectly. I could have worn the 6, but it just seemed a little extra baggy and the 4 game me a little bit more shape. I did need to be careful a few times when giving taller people hugs, and lifting my arms way over head - the dress rode up a lot in this case. I could dance just fine though. The picture makes it look like it fit tighter around my waist, but it's just from my hubby's arm around me. It wasn't fitted around the waistline. Loved the color and the length was appropriate for a wedding. I would rent this dress again!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Jan 11, 2015

Engagement photos

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Other
This dress added the right pop of color for our engagement photos!
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 12, 2015

I actually wore another dress I rented so I was so sad to return this one!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Great dress, great color. Runs large but fit really nicely over my 4.5 month baby bump! Loved everything about the dress - but decided it wasn't the best choice for the winter baby shower I was attending. I would rent this again in the spring though!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×