Sea Water Shift

$30 – $50 rental
$395 retail
Stylist Notes

Get a classic cut in a bold and fresh color wearing this lace shift by Robert Rodriguez. Beautiful turquoise lace will be perfect on that date night or at dinner! Layer on the color with Slate & Willow's Mint Confection Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Turquoise lace (60% nylon, 40% cotton). Three-quarter sleeves. Boat neckline. Shift body with scalloped hem. Attached nude slip. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
451 reviews
Fit
Large
(132)
True to Size
(204)
Small
(17)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
March 14, 2014
I loved the color!
This dress was really pretty, I think it ran a little small though. This color was wonderful for a summer wedding!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
March 30, 2014
This dress was beautiful and I was compliments on it all night!
This dress does not have much shape to it, however still very flattering! I did feel that it felt and looked a bit "large" but the compliments I got all night made me feel otherwise! It's a gorgeous color, and beautiful dress! I highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
April 1, 2014
Such a beautiful dress!!
I rented this dress for my birthday and loved it! I am usually a size 12 and also got the 10 as everyone said it runs big. It definitely does. I ended up wearing the 12 anyway because the 10 was so short, and decided to belt it and wear with boots for a more casual look. It worked out perfectly for the venue and I got a ton of compliments. It's a beautiful dress and was incredibly comfortable!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Age: 31
April 5, 2014
I rented this dress for a spring wedding shower. It was perfect.
Beautiful color, loved this dress. It is a little short, but I felt it was still appropriate because everything else is covered.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 6, 2014
I wore this for my wedding rehearsal.
The dress ran very big. I wore a belt because it was really baggy in the mid section. It was a beautiful color and I got a lot of compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
April 6, 2014
Easy and comfortable - can't go wrong!
This is the second time I have rented this dress - so I went with the seafoam color. You really can't go wrong with this dress. It is a shift dress, and I find it runs a bit large. In addition, the dress is a little on the short side. I am only 5'6, and if you raise your arms up, you show a little too much. Still I love this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 9, 2014
Beautiful color! A little baggy...
I rented this dress to wear to my friend's bridal shower. I wanted something bright and springy, but not too dressy. I ended up not wearing it because the fit was SO baggy. Even in the 2 - it fit around my arms and hips, but I looked like I might be hiding a pregnancy in the stomach. My friend ended up wearing it that night for the bachelorette party. It looked great on her. She's a little less hippy than I am, so the dress fit her better. She wore the 4 and it looked great on her - just oversized all around, but in a very nice way. I would recommend this dress, just don't wear it if you're expecting something form-fitting.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
April 14, 2014
Beautiful color!!
I rented this as my back up dress, and did not end up wearing it. Not because I didn't love it, but because the other dress worked better for the day I had planned. I agree with the other reviews that you need a belt or it can tend to look a bit baggy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 15, 2014
Elegant and Comfortable!
Loved the color, it's even more beautiful in person. Very comfortable and to easy to move in. Snags easily with jewelry though, so be careful what jewelry you pair this dress with. I would definitely rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 17, 2014
Good go-to dress
Comfortable, flattering, and stands out without being obnoxious. I had rented the pink one before so wanted to try this color and was glad I did. I think the pink shade was more flattering on me personally but the blue/green color popped and was fun.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 20, 2014
Beautiful color, fit great!
I could've used either size sent (2 or 4), the 4 was just a little looser around my middle. Great dress!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 185lbs
April 20, 2014
The amount of compliments I received
This dress is stunning in person. I wear a 4/6 but usually dresses I go for a six because I am bottom heavy. This dress was comfy and amazing. Great rental
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 20, 2014
Cute but it runs big. Definitely order a size smaller!
Thank goodness I read reviews on here before ordering, I usually would order a 2 and 4 but ordered a 0 and 2 because people said it ran big. They were right. I ended up wearing the 0 which was still a little big. I liked the dress but wish it had more shape to it. I wore it with boots to a country wedding and it was cute! I got a lot of compliments on it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 21, 2014
Perfect for Easter Sunday
I wore this dress for Easter Sunday and it was perfect. The church we go to is fancy so this worked very nice with some pearls. I got a lot of compliments on the dress. The color is gorgeous and perfect for spring.The other comments are correct that this is not a form fitting, tight dress but that was not what I was looking for so I really liked it. It does run large though. I am seriously never a 0, usually a 2 or 4 so keep that in mind when ordering. If you don't want it to look too lose, order a size smaller.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 24, 2014
Dress was a gorgeous color
Way too large and boxy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
April 27, 2014
Pretty color!
The dress is perfect for a spring wedding! I would recommend sizing down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 5, 2014
CAN I KEEP IT?? PLEASE??
This dress was so perfect for me. The color was beautiful! Not too short or too long! I was so so sad to package this one up and send it back. I got more compliments than I could have imagined! Felt so pretty :) I will DEFINITELY rent this one again!!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 8, 2014
The Maid Of Honor's Dress Was A HIT At The Bridal Shower!
As Maid of Honor in an upcoming wedding I knew I'd have a lot of events where I'd have to wear dresses with pictures being taken galore so I decided to use Rent the Runway for the first time. The dress came early which was a nice way to start off the experience. I read the reviews, which said it ran large based of people who were close to my size and they were right! I ended up fitting into a size 4 perfectly and loved how the color looked in person. I got SO many compliments on my dress and felt incredible! I was able to ship it right back with the envelope they provided and I would highly recommend it again. I plan on purchasing another dress for the Rehearsal dinner coming up in a few weeks!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
May 8, 2014
Didn't end up wearing this
Rented for a formal at the beach, but the longer sleeves felt constricting and the slip is pretty thick- I don't think I would have been comfortable. Pretty conservative.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 9, 2014
Cute, great dress!
Fit great! Loved it.. Would rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 11, 2014
I got tons of compliments on this dress! It fit true to size. Shows off the legs
It fit very well! It shows off the legs wonderfully and is a very forgiving fit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
May 11, 2014
Cute dress, fun for a nice dinner!
This dress was cute, loved the color! It was pretty shapeless and a bit short. However, I received lots of compliments in it!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 12, 2014
This was perfect for the wedding I wore it to. The color is even more beautiful in person.
I loved the style of this dress; not too tight, so it was very comfortable to wear. I loved the length when standing, but felt a little self conscious when I was sitting because it hiked up quite a bit. That being said, I would rent it again. I felt beautiful in this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 13, 2014
Surprised how much my husband liked this shift dress! So comfortable too!
This is a shift dress so you have to expect it to be a little boxy. I ordered the 0 and the 2 and went with the 0. There was a little bit of shape with the 0; the 2 just hung there. It's a really pretty color, and I just love lace. The dress is really comfortable as there is more room than a fitted type dress. Overall, I was happy with this choice. Great for the spring outdoor wedding I attended. Even my husband, who would typically prefer a more fitted dress really liked it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
May 13, 2014
I got a lot of compliments on this dress!
This dress was very pretty and a great color to brighten up a sea of black at a wedding. RTR suggested i size down so I rented a 6 and an 8, even though I am a 10-12. I'm glad i did because the 6 fit really well. I can see why others said this was a bit like a sack, but if you size down enough this dress is perfect! I had a great night in it, its very comfortable and easy to dance in, I'd rent it again for sure.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125lbs
May 13, 2014
Stunning color for a spring wedding, got lots of compliments!
Thanks to all the previous reviews, I sized down for this one and it fit well. It is a dress that hangs though and doesn't hug your curves. It would be better for a straight up and down, athletic body type but since I'm curvy, the one thing I wished is that it had accentuated my curves. It's definitely a comfortable dress so you don't have to suck anything in or watch what you're eating! The color was even more beautiful in person and it was perfect for the Spring wedding I attended. The only issue I had was that after wearing it for about 5 hours, it left a rash on my upper arms! It didn't feel itchy when I wore it but I discovered that the portion of my arms that were covered by the sleeves were covered in red dots, which has never happened before. It went away after a day but it was strange.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 14, 2014
Fantastic dress! Great color, fit, and style. Runs large.
The color of is this dress is fantastic both in person and in pictures. It's definitely eye catching and I received a ton of compliments. The dress is a shift dress, so it doesn't hug the body very much. I would definitely recommend going a size lower for a better fit. I am usually a 4 but opted for the size 2. It still wasn't tight (room in the stomach area - always a plus!) and was incredibly comfortable throughout the whole night of dancing. I wouldn't recommend this dress for someone tall. I am 5'3'' and found that the length was perfect when standing straight but a bit short when sitting. Overall, this has been my favorite Rent the Runway experience and I will definitely be renting this same dress again.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 15, 2014
Gorgeous dress, even prettier in person
I rented this dress for a formal dinner and Broadway show in NYC. I am 5'6", 135 lbs, and ordered a size 6 with a 4 as a backup. I was surprised to get an email a couple of days before my event letting me know that the 4 was unavailable. Fortunately, the 6 ended up being perfect. Like most reviewers, I'm sure I could have fit into the smaller size, but it's a sheath dress and is designed to be a little loose (and it's actually much more flattering in person than in pictures). It was comfy but appropriately dressy for a warm spring night. The color is lovely and I got a lot of compliments. Great pick!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 17, 2014
I want to own this !
Comfortable and flattering. I'm 5 7" and the length was great - just wouldn't recommend bending over to touch your toes in this dress
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 20, 2014
Fun, comfortable and classy! Wish I owned it!
I wore this dress to my boyfriend's graduation. As mentioned the dress does run large. I usually wear a 6/8 but should have went with the 4. The color is stunning. The length is a bit on the short side but overall - loved this dress. Wish I owned it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
May 26, 2014
Such a gorgeous color. It was perfect for my event!
Really wish I had paid more attention to the reviews. I was so excited about this dress, but as soon as I pulled it out of the dress bag I knew it was going to be big. I rented sizes 2 and 4 because I was worried about the length (long torso = dresses are almost always too short on me). The length was perfect - couldn't be happier - but everywhere else the dress was large. The sleeves stretched out and were baggy after 5 minutes of moving around, and there was just so much extra dress around my chest and mid-section. I did receive a lot of compliments, and really loved the dress. Just wish I had ordered a smaller size. I rented the periwinkle necklace that the stylist recommended, but ended up wearing a coral necklace of my own to make the color pop even more.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
May 27, 2014
The color was perfect !
I wore this dress for my engagement photos. It does run large so I ended up wearing the zero & I am usually a 4.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
May 30, 2014
Great color, perfect for the Memorial Day wedding I wore it to.
I'm 5'6 small boned and slender with a bootie. This dress definitely showed off my legs and rear end. It was a little baggier than I'm used to in the front. It was by far the most comfortable dress I've ever worn to a wedding. Several people complimented me on the dress and a few of my friends wanted to borrow it. Too bad it doesn't come in a 00. .
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
June 2, 2014
I was stopped all day by strangers both men & women commenting on my dress
Perfect dress for a day at the track!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
June 3, 2014
Should have listened to the reviews
For women with similar height, size, and bust I do not recommend this dress. I should have listened/paid more attention to the reviews of similar women. The dress is a beautiful color. Well made. And can be dressed up for a formal event, (think accent color pump/heel and some sharp jewelery). Or dressed down (think wedge sandal or pump sandal). However, I did not get the opportunity to wear it either way. As one other similar size reviewer commented, it does fit like a "potato sack." And belting it was not an option. Length could have been fine with the right shoe. But the fit of the dress was too big and matronly. I have a bust, and thought the style might hide stomach and arm insecurities, and although it fit (and looked) large, I don't think that going down a size or two would have helped. It was more about the style.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 185lbs
June 5, 2014
So. Many. Compliments.
This dress was perfect for my sister-in-law's wedding. It was 90+ degrees outside, and I needed it to be light to keep me cool during the day, and warm to keep the chill of the AC off in the evening. I got so many compliments from everyone. The photographer loved my dress and mentioned it a couple times. A bunch of my in-law's friends commented on how awesome my dress was. I hadn't seen them since my wedding, and really made an impression on them. My in-laws loved it, my husband loved it. It couldn't have been more perfect! It was easy to put on and take off. The pink really makes it more awesome! I tried it with yellow, and it just did NOT look good. The underlayer is a bit of a shimmery-champagne, gray color. Sleeves are a problem area for me, and these were so roomy and comfortable. I didn't feel like I was going to bust out of them. The only maybe downside to this dress is that it is not conducive to over-the-head arm raising/dancing. I lifted my arms (at home) and the whole thing lifted, getting a bit airy in my nether-regions! No "SHOUT!" or "YMCA" for me. Wouldn't have changed my order for anything. Absolutely perfect!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
June 8, 2014
Great dress but a little short!!!
Loved this dress, it was very comfortable and I got A LOT of compliments but it did run very short for me. I was also slightly restricted because whenever I put my arms up to dance...the dress got shorter.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 9, 2014
I love the color and the dress is light weight, perfect for warmer weather.
Ordered a 0 and 2, ended up wearing the 0, it fit perfect. The lace on the dress was beautiful .
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 11, 2014
Loved the color and the lace, but a little short!
We were going to Nantucket for a beach wedding, and since I didn't know what the weather would be like, I wanted a dress that could be somewhat versatile. t absolutely loved the dress, but there was one unexpected drawback. I was a little nervous wearing a shift dress, because I am, ahem, blessed with a generous posterior. I tried both sizes on, and went down a size (to the 2). It looked great while getting ready and it was not very tight on the backside. The big downside was as the night continued, everyone became more animated. My cousin grabbed me to dance on the floor and as he twirled me around, I felt like the dress was riding so high, you could almost see inappropriate parts. Bottom line: if this is for a low-key gathering or some sort of shower, it's fantastic. If you expect to dance at all, be very careful. All-in-all, beautiful dress and you'll get many compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
June 14, 2014
Runs big but pretty
I ordered the 6&8 and need up wearing the 6. Still big and it would raise up after sitting.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 12

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×