Sea Water Shift

$35 – $50 rental
$395 retail
Stylist Notes

Get a classic cut in a bold and fresh color wearing this lace shift by Robert Rodriguez. Beautiful turquoise lace will be perfect on that date night or at dinner! Layer on the color with Slate & Willow's Mint Confection Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Turquoise lace (60% nylon, 40% cotton). Three-quarter sleeves. Boat neckline. Shift body with scalloped hem. Attached nude slip. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
456 reviews
Fit
Large
(133)
True to Size
(205)
Small
(17)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 20, 2015
Obsessed with this dress!

Perfect dress for a spring wedding, enough room to dance and have fun and received many compliments! Obsessed with this dress

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 149lbs
September 22, 2015
Great color!

I wore this to a wedding. Pro: very comfortable, stretchy, color is beautiful. My skin matches the lining almost exactly so it almost looks like I'm wearing see-through lace. Con: so short! I am a short person and while this was fine to stand in, any kind of dancing or moving made this dress inappropriately short. I felt self conscious about the length all night while dancing and found my self pulling the dress down the whole time. I fit the 8 also but it felt even shorter so I went up a size for some length. If you are comfortable in a short dress, this is great then! If you fear asking your baby maker, not the dress for you. Otherwise, this is a pretty lace, but it did have a few snags and some pilling. Not noticeable unless you're carefully pouring over the lace (I happened to have some time to kill during the wedding and noticed some of the pulls and pilling).

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
September 27, 2015
Beautiful color, odd fit

I loved the comfort of it but I felt like I was wearing a beautiful paper bag. Fabric is great but it does nothing for your figure. Runs big and short, but may be perfect for those expecting :)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 16, 2015
Amazing color!!

The dress was great. It was really flattering and perfect for a fall wedding. Just the right length to be appropriate for a formal event but showed enough skin to be sexy at the same time. I got a few complements, not a ton, but my husband thought I looked beautiful which is always a plus :-)! All in all a great rental. Definitely get a size smaller than you usually wear it runs big.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 198lbs
October 26, 2015
Tons of compliments on this dress!

Color is beautiful. Could be too short on someone tall. Had to size up because the sleeves were tight. Overall I really liked this dress and would rent again if it came in other colors to try.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
November 1, 2015
Beautiful color!

The dress was beautiful and the perfect color for summer. The waist section was a bit large and when I was sitting/ bending over it made me look like I had a larger stomach than I did. Other than that the length and fit overall was great!

Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
January 3, 2016
Absolutely gorgeous dress!!!

This dress was so comfortable and fit true to size. I am 5'8" so it was a little short but very sexy. I received so many compliments. Very fun party dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
February 14, 2016
Hot Valentines Day shift dress with legs for days

I wanted something non traditional for VDay this year - no standard pink / white/ red. The brightness of the fabric and detail of the lace was beautiful and I received compliments all night. It is a true slip over dress, no zippers or buttons. The hem was a little short but I though that give this dress a little sex appeal given its more modest neckline. I paired it with some sky high patent leather peep toe pumps in nude and it was perfect for our romantic date night. You could also jazz this dress down with tights. The looseness of the body allowed me to wear some great Valentine's Day lingerie completely hidden. I would absolutely rent again and in other colors.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 14, 2016
I loved how convenient the app was. It arrived on time. And was so easy to send back.

I loved this dress. I wore it for a march wedding and had so many compliments. It fit great. And was very comfortable.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
March 22, 2016
I got SO many compliments on this dress! It was light and comfortable!

The fit was true to size. There's not much stretch to the material. I am self-conscious about my pudgy stomach and this hid it well- I didn't even have to pull out the spanx which made for a more comfortable night! I danced comfortably all night, but the dress is a little short so I had to be careful not to raise my arms all the way up. The color is beautiful and I was SO HAPPY with this dress! I wish I owned it now! :)

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
March 23, 2016
Loved this dress!

I ordered the 0 and 2. The 0 fit but was too short when I raised my arms. The 2 was a better fit for length and modesty. The dress was comfortable and just what I was looking for for the occasion. I am very pleased with my experience with RTR! This was my first rental:)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
March 29, 2016
Great for an April CA wedding!

I rented this dress for my brother' wedding in Northern CA last April. The fit was great - loose enough to cover the little belly I still had from the baby in the picture there, but still seemed fitted. I'm only 5'2", so I imagine this dress would be quite short on anyone taller, though!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
April 4, 2016
A gorgeously current and comfortable lace dress perfect for a spring affair!

I ordered this dress in a 4 and a 2. Both fit similarly but the 2 was VERY short. If you're worried about length, definitely size up! Keep in mind this is a shift dress so it's not meant to be fitted! It was VERY comfortable and very well made. Wish I could wear it again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 10, 2016
Great color

The dress is very comfortable but runs big. There was a lot of room which was nice but it doesn't give much of a shape. Definitely hides anything you don't want seen. If you're renting this dress definitely go a size down. The color is amazing!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Age: 38
April 26, 2016
Great color! Loved the length of dress with the longer sleeves.

Not tight on the mid section.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
April 27, 2016
I love the color of this dress! I received so many compliments! Perfect for spring!

I typically wear a 4. The 4 was not able to be rented but based on others' advice that it runs large, I ordered a 2. When the 2 arrived it was still a little too big. I called and RTR shipped me the 0 overnight. It fit better- a little tight in the hips/butt and slightly baggy in the waist. Overall, it was a gorgeous dress that I would rent again! :)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
April 30, 2016
First experience and it was great!

Fit was true to size and suggested necklace matched perfectly!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 16, 2015
Was the perfect dress and necklace for my friend's baby shower

Felt glamorous AND comfortable

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
February 25, 2015
Wore this to a wedding and I loved it!

The dress fit perfect! Loved the color and the length was just right.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 15, 2015
Such a fun dress color is beautiful ! Runs large but still flattering !

Runs large, size down.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 120lbs
April 5, 2015
Gorgeous color! Elegant dress

I wish I'd ordered this dress just one more size up. I selected this dress because shifts tend to hide my mid-section (my problem area). As soon as I got it, I tried it on and called RTR to get another size. The next size up wasn't available, but the customer service stylist looked at my other "hearts" and had another dress overnighted to me. Unfortunately, my dress was delayed due to bad weather. UPS was way back-logged. The stylist I talked to was so great. Ultimately, due to time constraints, I decided to go ahead and wear the original dress- even though the size wasn't the perfect fit. Even though things didn't work out perfectly, I left that experience so impressed with the RTR customer service.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
April 24, 2015
Perfect beach wedding!

I wore this to a beachfront wedding in March, so I'm glad I went with the 3/4 sleeve because it was a little chilly. The color is great, really vibrant, I actually unintentionally ended up matching the wedding colors. The dress is a little tight around the mid section, which tends to be my problem area, so I definitely wore spanx. I probably would have worn the 8 if I had it, but the 6 worked. Overall, though, I received lots of compliments.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 27, 2015
Really pretty color dress. I wore this for my bridal shower.

Pretty short. Had I known the length I would have ordered a size larger hoping the length would be a little longer. Other than that, super cute, awesome color.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
May 2, 2015
Practical!

Fit nice!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
June 7, 2015
This dress is beautiful! It is bump friendly and extremely comfortable. I highly recommend!

I chose this dress because I'm about 5 months pregnant and other reviews stated it was bump friendly. I'm normally a size 0 when not pregnant, so I rented the 0 and the 2. The 0 fit, but was a bit too short and uncomfortable( I'm 5'5"). The 2 was perfect! I was able to comfortably dance the night away and it made me feel beautiful. I highly recommend this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
June 15, 2015
Unforgettable color

Wore this for my best friend's rehearsal dinner. This dress was an amazing sea foam green- got so many compliments (and even one girl who blew my cover that it was a rental! lol!) Very comfortable and forgiving- true sheath so it was loose in the midsection but nice across the chest and hips. I was worried a size 2 might be too tight but it was just right and I am 5'1" 125lbs with a larger posterior from lifting weights. Highly recommend this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 1, 2015
Compliments all night on this simple statement dress!

I wore this for a rehearsal dinner and it was such a great piece. The dress was super comfortable and flattering. The dress lays loose around the mid section making it forgiving after a good meal! The color was perfect with gold jewelry. I will definitely rent again! Thanks RTR!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 4, 2015
The color was perfect! A versatile dress for any occasion!

This dress was lovely! The only draw back is that it was a tiny bit snug in the bum.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 13, 2015
Loved the lace, color, and shape of the dress.

I have an athletic build, wide rib cage, narrow hips, long torso. Dress was a fine length when my arms were down. But dress went above my waist when I lifted my arms up! Loved the color, the lace, and the shape of the dress, it just wasn't quite long enough for my body type.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 9, 2016
Perfect dress for my baby shower!

Finding that perfect dress for your baby shower is a daunting job. I feel liked I looked at everything! I came across this cute shift dress and saw that other women had worn it while pregnant and thought I'd give it a try. Wow! So glad I did. It fit perfectly and was very comfortable all day. At almost 8 months pregnant you want to be comfy but also still pretty. That's exactly what this dress made me feel. My husband kept asking me if I was sure I had to send it back he loved it so much! I'm never disappointed with any of my rentals. I love RTR!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 7, 2016
Comfortable and forgiving

I loved the look of this dress, but it was a little short for me. I wore this to a bridal shower where I was a bridesmaid and when helping with gifts, it was definitely too short for me to bend over. And I'm only 5'4"! Otherwise it was great. I was 5 weeks post having a baby and wasn't sure of my size, and this dress was comfortable and forgiving. A great pick!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 146lbs
April 10, 2016
Classy and fun!

Wore the dress for a St. Patty's Day Soiree. Had a little trouble with the sizing because it has very little stretch. I finally settled on the 6 but had tried both a 4 and an 8. Overall loved it! Will rent again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 95lbs
December 22, 2014
Sea water lace paradise!

I rented this dress for my cousin's engagement party. Everyone loved the color and the lace! While it is a shift dress, it was a tad large on my petite body, but I used a belt to make it more flattering. I also rented the Trapped in Gold Cuff by Alexis Bittar to pair with this dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 126lbs
June 8, 2015
Just so-so...

I don't think I even have a picture of me in the dress. It wasn't terrible and looked appropriate for Sunday brunch at the RL in Chicago, I just wasn't blown away. It looked cute enough with nude pumps and gold jewelry, just not my most fave rental.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
June 28, 2015
Lots of compliments!

I ordered a size 12 and 10 and am normally a 10 but this dress has no give. The arms are extremely tight and if you have thick full of muscle thighs it will be very tight too. Sitting down or bending over was done cautiously. I work this to an outdoor party I put on and had to change into more comfortable clothes before the night was over. I've rented the runway many times but this one wasn't a good pic for me.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 19, 2015
That color!!

Wore this too a friend's baby shower. The color is gorgeous and perfect for summer. Easy and comfortable dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Everyday
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
March 27, 2016
Beautiful color for an Easter dinner

Runs large so I sized down. Pretty color for spring!

Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
May 9, 2016
I enjoyed my day even more all because I had the perfect dress...

The fit was true to size but it was short...next time I would prob get a size bigger...I wore this dress to a day time Kentucky derby party...it wasn't tight fitting or too dressy...

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
May 18, 2016
So short!

Fun colors. Fun lace. But so short on my 5'9" frame. Maybe I'm not used to wearing this type of fit, but if I raised my arms even a little, I felt uncomfortable.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 3, 2016
Loved the color and lace!

Fit great, so happy with my first experience with #rtr. Can't wait to do use it again!

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 12

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×