Robert Rodriguez Collection

Sea Water Shift

$35 rental
$395 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get a classic cut in a bold and fresh color wearing this lace shift by Robert Rodriguez. Beautiful turquoise lace will be perfect on that date night or at dinner! Layer on the color with Slate & Willow's Mint Confection Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Bump Friendly, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Bump Friendly, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Turquoise lace (60% nylon, 40% cotton). Three-quarter sleeves. Boat neckline. Shift body with scalloped hem. Attached nude slip. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

237 reviews

Fit
Small 9
True to Size 108
Large 106
Photos 149
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 20, 2014

Cute but it runs big. Definitely order a size smaller!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Thank goodness I read reviews on here before ordering, I usually would order a 2 and 4 but ordered a 0 and 2 because people said it ran big. They were right. I ended up wearing the 0 which was still a little big. I liked the dress but wish it had more shape to it. I wore it with boots to a country wedding and it was cute! I got a lot of compliments on it!
Chelsea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
May 17, 2014

Comfortable, and lots of compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress was a little shorter than I usually prefer, but the rest was so modest that I didn't mind. It definitely fits true to size. My only complaint stems from the shape of the dress itself-- being loose in the waist it really doesn't give you a waist at all. It's great for showing off legs, but that's about all you'll be able to flaunt. Super cute dress though, and I received tons of compliments.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
May 20, 2014

Fun, comfortable and classy! Wish I owned it!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to my boyfriend's graduation. As mentioned the dress does run large. I usually wear a 6/8 but should have went with the 4. The color is stunning. The length is a bit on the short side but overall - loved this dress. Wish I owned it!
Mindy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
May 21, 2014

Great first Rental:)

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This was my first rental ever and I wore this dress to a Sex and the City Tour in NYC for a birthday. Good way to feel fabulous in fashion like Carrie. ;) Fit was true to size. Amazing color and feel. A bit short if you were to raise both hands up but with manageable for a low key beautiful Spring afternoon in the city. The Lacey top layer snags a bit on jewelry so be careful. I also rented a necklace to go with the dress. Would definitely rent again. My boyfriend loved it on me!
APA
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
May 24, 2014

Reminded me of a Kate Middleton Dress: very garden chic

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The color of this dress is fabulous...a deep sea foam green that could compliment any skin tone. I got lots of compliments on that and the fabric. I loved how demure this dress was because of the sleeves and overall cut, yet I found it to be chic, retro, with a hint of sexy. In addition, I am between sizes 6 and 8 - this dress ran large. I could easily fit into the size 2 that I rented but opted for the size 4 for a little more comfort. My impressions: Pros: Comfortable and effortless. No zippers to deal with. Fabric is forgiving: the slip under the lace has some stretch. Has a nice weight...not too heavy or flimsy. Can help to conceal mid-section area because it is a shift and more loose around that area. Lovely color. Great length for petite ladies (5'4" and under). Cons: The fabric has a tendency to catch on things. I found the lace to get stuck on my jewelry. The rental I received looks a little "worn". The sleeves are not as forgiving and can feel tight on larger arms. I could see this dress as a "staple" if I owned this dress in my wardrobe. It can be dressed up with statement jewelry or worn with a blazer for a work event.
Lia
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
May 24, 2014

Worked perfectly!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The four and the six both would have worked, the 6 gave a little more room for moving, raising my arms, dancing, etc.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
May 26, 2014

Such a gorgeous color. It was perfect for my event!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Really wish I had paid more attention to the reviews. I was so excited about this dress, but as soon as I pulled it out of the dress bag I knew it was going to be big. I rented sizes 2 and 4 because I was worried about the length (long torso = dresses are almost always too short on me). The length was perfect - couldn't be happier - but everywhere else the dress was large. The sleeves stretched out and were baggy after 5 minutes of moving around, and there was just so much extra dress around my chest and mid-section. I did receive a lot of compliments, and really loved the dress. Just wish I had ordered a smaller size. I rented the periwinkle necklace that the stylist recommended, but ended up wearing a coral necklace of my own to make the color pop even more.
Katherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
May 27, 2014

The color was perfect !

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for my engagement photos. It does run large so I ended up wearing the zero & I am usually a 4.
Holly
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
May 30, 2014

Great color, perfect for the Memorial Day wedding I wore it to.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I'm 5'6 small boned and slender with a bootie. This dress definitely showed off my legs and rear end. It was a little baggier than I'm used to in the front. It was by far the most comfortable dress I've ever worn to a wedding. Several people complimented me on the dress and a few of my friends wanted to borrow it. Too bad it doesn't come in a 00. .
Maeve
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Jun 5, 2014

It fit great, was the perfect length, and was perfect for dancing.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got a million compliments and happened to match the color scheme of the wedding. Loose around the middle - would have looked better belted (to show off waistline). That said, it ended up being a blessing - I ate a ton of delicious wedding cake!
Chrissy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170 lbs
Jun 5, 2014

So. Many. Compliments.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect for my sister-in-law's wedding. It was 90+ degrees outside, and I needed it to be light to keep me cool during the day, and warm to keep the chill of the AC off in the evening. I got so many compliments from everyone. The photographer loved my dress and mentioned it a couple times. A bunch of my in-law's friends commented on how awesome my dress was. I hadn't seen them since my wedding, and really made an impression on them. My in-laws loved it, my husband loved it. It couldn't have been more perfect! It was easy to put on and take off. The pink really makes it more awesome! I tried it with yellow, and it just did NOT look good. The underlayer is a bit of a shimmery-champagne, gray color. Sleeves are a problem area for me, and these were so roomy and comfortable. I didn't feel like I was going to bust out of them. The only maybe downside to this dress is that it is not conducive to over-the-head arm raising/dancing. I lifted my arms (at home) and the whole thing lifted, getting a bit airy in my nether-regions! No "SHOUT!" or "YMCA" for me. Wouldn't have changed my order for anything. Absolutely perfect!
Andrea
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 5, 2014

Great color...lots of compliments.... Very comfortable!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loose in the waist but forgiving in the hips. Can be a little short, as you can see by the pic, especially if you will be dancing or moving around a bunch. I'm not that tall (5'6") so the short length may be a problem with taller girls. Overall, a real hit!
Kayla
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Jun 8, 2014

Perfect for a morning wedding!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I had rented this exact dress before in pink, and couldn't resist this color for a morning wedding. It was perfect, and the photographer actually asked me to hold things in front of my stomach so she could use the dress as a colorful background (which I was happy to do - I think it's awesome too). The length is pretty short if you're tall like me, but not unmanageable. I highly recommend this one.
Melissa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 8, 2014

Great dress but a little short!!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress, it was very comfortable and I got A LOT of compliments but it did run very short for me. I was also slightly restricted because whenever I put my arms up to dance...the dress got shorter.
Kristin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 11, 2014

Loved the color and the lace, but a little short!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
We were going to Nantucket for a beach wedding, and since I didn't know what the weather would be like, I wanted a dress that could be somewhat versatile. t absolutely loved the dress, but there was one unexpected drawback. I was a little nervous wearing a shift dress, because I am, ahem, blessed with a generous posterior. I tried both sizes on, and went down a size (to the 2). It looked great while getting ready and it was not very tight on the backside. The big downside was as the night continued, everyone became more animated. My cousin grabbed me to dance on the floor and as he twirled me around, I felt like the dress was riding so high, you could almost see inappropriate parts. Bottom line: if this is for a low-key gathering or some sort of shower, it's fantastic. If you expect to dance at all, be very careful. All-in-all, beautiful dress and you'll get many compliments!
Shea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152 lbs
Jun 14, 2014

Runs big but pretty

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I ordered the 6&8 and need up wearing the 6. Still big and it would raise up after sitting.
Johanna
Age: 30
Jun 15, 2014

Great color. Very flattering. Slightly big around waist, but perfect style.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress. Unique, sexy, well made!
Jayme
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 142 lbs
Jun 17, 2014

The dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was amazing and I received so many compliments on it. I normally wear a 6 but probably could have worn this in a 4 to "hug the curves" a bit more but still the overall fit was wonderful. Also it was such a gorgeous summer color.
Sandra
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 20, 2014

Super fun color!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I felt like it was true to size but I have a small waist and larger hips. The color was very fun and it was playful but still formal enough for a work function. TOTALLY recommend it. Fitting enough to be cute but comfy enough for dinner and drinks!
Lesley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 22, 2014

Perfect dress!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
First RTR dress and it was fabulous! Got so many complements at the wedding. I ended up wearing two sizes smaller than normal. Very loose fitting dress so wouldn't be good for someone that's curvy.
AK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Jun 23, 2014

Wore for rehearsal dinner -- great color but super short

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Be careful sitting down! I ordered 4 and 6 and 4 wouldn't even cover my butt, 6 barely did... But it's a very pretty dress and the rest of it fit true to size. Sorry can't see much of the dress in the picture
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Jun 25, 2014

Second time I wore this dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I love this dress. I wore the pink version for my first bridal shower and the green for my second shower. The color is outstanding! Pairs great with a statement necklace. Very comfortable and flattering.
Kelly
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 114 lbs
Jun 26, 2014

Cali, summer, and a short little turquoise-ish dress...amazing!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am 5'4, 114lbs, 32A and this dress fit perfectly. Now, any bigger in the bust I think the dress would have been too short. I danced like a maniac, had on high heels and never felt uncomfortable. This dress was a little bagged in the mid section but because of the length, it still is flirty.
kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 29, 2014

gorgeous dress, fabulous customer service. depending on body - runs true to size.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Firstly, RTR service is beyond amazing. Don't be afraid to contact them if something is wrong, they are amazing and will fix everything. I got the 4 & 6, the 6 fit but was a teensy bit tight and not in perfect condition - Alex L sent me an 8 overnight and it was perfect, fit like a shift should and in perfect condition. I have a big booty & hips so I do not think this dress runs large - if you have no hips, or you want it to be fitted, yes you should get your size or smaller. But if you are more pear, like myself, and want it to be up and down like a shift, you might need to size up. i loved this dress. very pretty, feminine, fancy but can be dressed up or down. Tons of compliments. Absolutely would rent again.
jenny
Top Contributor
Age: 26
Jun 30, 2014

Such a perfect dress for a summer wedding!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress runs large so I went down a size and got a 2 which fit perfectly!! The dress is so comfortable and i danced all night long! It is extremely flattering and I would definitely rent it again! We we're even outdoors a lot in over 80 degree temps and I was glad this dress was so light and airy. Thanks RTR! The process was so simple and wonderful!!!
Bridget
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Jun 30, 2014

Loved the color for a summer wedding! Very comfortable and had no complaints! Easy to match colors!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fits true to size. With heels, it's a bit short, so I went with the looser fitting one for the length. Very easy to sit, stand, and dance in and wasn't too revealing. Great coverage an comfortable. Needs pretty flashy accessories to dress it up more. So I went with the coral and gold. Would rent again and got lots of compliments!
Madeleine
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jul 2, 2014

Was a great dress for a summer wedding!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was a bit large for my petite frame in the middle and length wise. However, the color was beautiful and I had a lot of people complimenting me! The color is a bit darker in person however compared to the stock photo.
Nikki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 3, 2014

Love using RTR!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress! Had rented the pink one a few months back for a bridesmaids luncheon and loved it so much that I couldn't wait to rent this aqua color. Great designer and comfy dress!
Ashley Rose
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124 lbs
Jul 11, 2014

Loved it! I received so many compliments. I even rented it a second time to wear to a wedding.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was a perfect fit. Both sizes fit great but I suggest going up a size so it isn't too short.
Katie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Jul 16, 2014

It made it so easy to have one choice dress for the wedding. No Fuss with packing multiple outfits!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wore the six but wish I would have tried on the four. It was a little baggy around the waist. It was a bit short, if you like to throw your arms in the air when you dance. Even though it wasn't as fitted as I would have liked, I got many compliments. It was simple yet very pretty.
Lauren
Age: 32
Jul 24, 2014

Absolutely LOVE this dress and got so many compliments. Perfect summertime day wedding dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I went with the size 10 only because the length was better. The 12 was too long. Perfect day dress for a summertime wedding! I got so many compliments and felt amazing in it!
Kaitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 24, 2014

Great Color. Too Short

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this to a formal party, and loved the lace and the color. There really wasn't a big difference in the fit of the 10 and the 12, but I went with the 12 because it was A LITTLE longer. I was a little self conscious that evening about the length of the dress. I knew if I raised my arms, the dress would become a shirt. Great color, beautiful lace, but just a little too short for my taste.
Kim
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 136 lbs
Jul 28, 2014

Great first rental for a summer wedding!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful color and comfortable fit! I got lots of complements... Wish it was mine! The dress was a little on the short side so I had to be careful not to get "a little bit louder now" when 'Shout' came on. If you're taller and/or plan on doing a lot of fist pumping (no judgement), you might want to be careful about the length. I loved it!
Caroline
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 30, 2014

Perfect for dancing in

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was perfect for an outdoor summer wedding - the color popped among lots of pink dresses and the smaller size was loose enough to be cool in the sun but the sleeves meant I didn't need a jacket when the temps dropped later in the night. The length was perfect so that I felt comfortable gettin low on the dance floor, but short enough to show off a little leg.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 30, 2014

I received compliments on the color and style of the dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress runs large! I normally wear a 4 and I ended up wearing the 2 but probably needed the 0. Pros- pretty dress, comfortable, beautiful color Cons- runs really large and if not the right size can look baggy
Lizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 2, 2014

I received tons of compliments all night long!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Fabulous dress! Very comfy and lightweight, perfect for a summer wedding. The color is gorgeous. It tends to run a little big, I usually wear a 6, with 4 as my backup. The day before it was to be delivered I received a call from RTR saying the six was returned damaged. The rep told me they would still send the four along with another dress in my two sizes, they were so accommodating! I needed up wearing the 4 in my original choice. It is a short dress so if you love your legs then this is the dress for you!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 5, 2014

Beautifully made dress that is flattering!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for an 80th birthday party with family and family portraits. It fit well and true to size. It was a great length even with high wedges. I wore it for several hours and it was very comfortable. I receive many compliments on the color. It fits like a shift dress. Lovely look! I would recommend this dress to any of my friends!
Jessica
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 159 lbs
Aug 7, 2014

N/A

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This ran bigger than I expected from other reviews. I thought I would need the 12 to fit on top but definitely could have gone down a size. The rest of the dress was big but really comfortable. I got a lot of compliments on the dress itself but it definitely wasn't flattering. I wore the 12 because the 10 wasn't available. I would try this dress again in a smaller size.
Caitlin
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 17, 2014

The dress was great! The picture doesn't do it justice!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding. I loved the dress but the size 2 I ordered had a hole under the arm. I would have worn the 2 if it weren't for that. I ended up wearing the 4 which fit pretty similarly, just a bit longer. My husband loved it though and wanted me buy it to wear more often!
emegan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 158 lbs
Aug 24, 2014

This dress was so comfortable and easy to wear!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
So many compliments from so many people! I felt great in it, and was able to dance and move without feeling uncomfortable. I loved this dress so much, I've also rented it in two other colors for other occasions! Thanks RTR, you've made wedding season more fun! :)
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×