Sea Water Shift

$35 rental
$395 retail
Delivery + Return Dates
Learn More
Stylist Notes

Get a classic cut in a bold and fresh color wearing this lace shift by Robert Rodriguez. Beautiful turquoise lace will be perfect on that date night or at dinner! Layer on the color with Slate & Willow's Mint Confection Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Turquoise lace (60% nylon, 40% cotton). Three-quarter sleeves. Boat neckline. Shift body with scalloped hem. Attached nude slip. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
430 reviews
Fit
Large
(130)
True to Size
(194)
Small
(17)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
April 26, 2016
Short, but cute!
This dress was pretty short to wear to a wedding, but worth how cute it is!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 37
April 26, 2016
Great color! Loved the length of dress with the longer sleeves.
Not tight on the mid section.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 36
April 24, 2016
the dress and pictures!
fits great. got the 10 and 12. wore the 12 for more wiggle/stuff my face room. haha! lots of compliments. wore booties with it and a cute clutch. I'm 5'0 so it hit right at the knee. Super cute!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
April 20, 2016
Fun & Flirty
A little too small and too short for my 5'8" frame. So my daughter with the same measurements except being 5"3 wore it beautifully on a date. The dress has a nice stretch to cling to your shape.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 18, 2016
This dress is fantastic!!! The fit, the color, the style- all fabulous.
I adored this dress. The color was perfect for a spring wedding in the south. It fit me perfect and wasn't too long- I'm 5'2" and usually short dresses end up right around my knee which makes me look even shorter and doesn't compliment my figure- this one was perfect. Not too short to dance all night though ;) I received compliments all night and was so comfortable! I would so love to have this dress on call for future occasions.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Weight: 140lbs
April 18, 2016
I received a lot of compliments on this dress and necklace!
I loved this dress. The fit was great. It is forgiving in the stomach area. It is a bit on the short side.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 13, 2016
Perfect for 6 months pregnant - Flattering and comfortable!
After reading previous reviews, I decided to rent this for my mini baby shower lunch. I have a pretty large chest and there was plenty of room for "girls" and for the baby at 6 months pregnant. For a shift dress I probably would be a size 4 or 6 pre-pregnancy and the 6 fit perfect so I'd say it's pretty true to size. I have a long torso so I had to be careful with lifting my arms/bending over as there is no stretch to the lace but it was definitely long enough and I would rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
April 13, 2016
Loved the color and worn for vacation.
After reading the other reviews, I decided to give this dress a chance. The color is fantastic along with the lace detail. It's not entirely stretchy or forgiving, but it was a fun dress for a nice dinner.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 146lbs
April 10, 2016
Classy and fun!
Wore the dress for a St. Patty's Day Soiree. Had a little trouble with the sizing because it has very little stretch. I finally settled on the 6 but had tried both a 4 and an 8. Overall loved it! Will rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 10, 2016
Great color
The dress is very comfortable but runs big. There was a lot of room which was nice but it doesn't give much of a shape. Definitely hides anything you don't want seen. If you're renting this dress definitely go a size down. The color is amazing!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 111lbs
April 7, 2016
Loved this dress!!!
I was a little nervous because all of the reviews said it runs big. It ended up fitting me perfectly! It is made to be a little loose around the hips, which I expected. Don't be discouraged if you're about my size, I was shocked that it fit based on other reviews. It was absolutely beautiful and I loved the color. It goes well with the Kate Spade necklace I wore (which I also rented). 5"4, 111 lbs.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 7, 2016
Comfortable and forgiving
I loved the look of this dress, but it was a little short for me. I wore this to a bridal shower where I was a bridesmaid and when helping with gifts, it was definitely too short for me to bend over. And I'm only 5'4"! Otherwise it was great. I was 5 weeks post having a baby and wasn't sure of my size, and this dress was comfortable and forgiving. A great pick!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
April 4, 2016
A gorgeously current and comfortable lace dress perfect for a spring affair!
I ordered this dress in a 4 and a 2. Both fit similarly but the 2 was VERY short. If you're worried about length, definitely size up! Keep in mind this is a shift dress so it's not meant to be fitted! It was VERY comfortable and very well made. Wish I could wear it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 114lbs
March 30, 2016
Pretty dress, runs large.
I chose this dress because I wanted to coordinate outfits with my daughter for Easter. RTR advises it runs big and it does. I am an 8 all day long and could have worn a 4. In order to achieve my mission, I cinched the waist with an antique broach and made do. Very pretty, quality, dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
March 29, 2016
Great for an April CA wedding!
I rented this dress for my brother' wedding in Northern CA last April. The fit was great - loose enough to cover the little belly I still had from the baby in the picture there, but still seemed fitted. I'm only 5'2", so I imagine this dress would be quite short on anyone taller, though!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Everyday
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140lbs
March 27, 2016
Beautiful color for an Easter dinner
Runs large so I sized down. Pretty color for spring!
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
March 23, 2016
Loved this dress!
I ordered the 0 and 2. The 0 fit but was too short when I raised my arms. The 2 was a better fit for length and modesty. The dress was comfortable and just what I was looking for for the occasion. I am very pleased with my experience with RTR! This was my first rental:)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
March 22, 2016
I got SO many compliments on this dress! It was light and comfortable!
The fit was true to size. There's not much stretch to the material. I am self-conscious about my pudgy stomach and this hid it well- I didn't even have to pull out the spanx which made for a more comfortable night! I danced comfortably all night, but the dress is a little short so I had to be careful not to raise my arms all the way up. The color is beautiful and I was SO HAPPY with this dress! I wish I owned it now! :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
March 18, 2016
Cute dress!
Cute dress - Loved the color! I'm 5'11, so it was just a little too short for me (if I tried to bend over or raise my arms), so I didn't end up wearing it. More of a casual dress - really pretty though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
March 17, 2016
Beautiful color, great for a friends baby shower
They didn't have my backup size in stock, so I'm so glad I could make the one size work.. however, I think I would have felt a little more comfortable in a size 10 instead with the extra length. Definitely had to be careful when sitting or leaning over, so is a better fit for gals who don't have a lot of junk in the trunk! Great fabric though, perfect for spring and can wear leggings and boots if preferred or go with bare legs and heels for some added flare. Highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 14, 2016
I loved how convenient the app was. It arrived on time. And was so easy to send back.
I loved this dress. I wore it for a march wedding and had so many compliments. It fit great. And was very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
March 3, 2016
Beautiful color, a little baggy around the waist
Sorry for the picture not being full body, this was all I had! The color of the dress is gorgeous! I received many compliments on the dress. I am 5'5, 125 lbs and I wore the size 0. The length wasn't too bad but when I got in and out of vehicles and was sitting down I had to be careful! The fit was a little strange- around the waist, front and back, it was pretty baggy but it still worked. I recommend this dress. It is not my absolute favorite but it is very pretty!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 36
February 29, 2016
Comfortable, fun dress!
Loved the dress! I ended up not wearing the necklace I ordered from RTR with it because the color was quite different than the pic on the website. I got a lot of compliments, it went perfectly with our "Cabo" themed event. I ordered the 6 and got the 8 as backup. The 6 fit perfectly fine, but I couldn't lift my arms past my waist otherwise you would see my entire butt. I ended up wearing the 8 because it was a little longer. It was a little bunchy in the back, but not horrible. I might recommend getting a size up for the length.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
February 16, 2016
Amazing
Sorry that I don't have a photo- but this dress was awesome! I will totally be renting this again, and again, and again! This is my first lace overlay, and I have no idea what the heck took me so long to rent! No need for Spanx, although it is very short, so I would recommend wearing full underwear. So comfortable, stretchy and beautiful color. Highly recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
February 14, 2016
Hot Valentines Day shift dress with legs for days
I wanted something non traditional for VDay this year - no standard pink / white/ red. The brightness of the fabric and detail of the lace was beautiful and I received compliments all night. It is a true slip over dress, no zippers or buttons. The hem was a little short but I though that give this dress a little sex appeal given its more modest neckline. I paired it with some sky high patent leather peep toe pumps in nude and it was perfect for our romantic date night. You could also jazz this dress down with tights. The looseness of the body allowed me to wear some great Valentine's Day lingerie completely hidden. I would absolutely rent again and in other colors.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
February 13, 2016
I rented i this dress as a back up for my Valentine's Day dinner
I felt this dress ran big. I think if you are more button heavy it may fit perfect. I have a large bust and small button and it gave me no shape. Way too big around the middle. I did like the style and color. I thought it was not made very well though. I did not end up wearing it because it was not flattering
RTR CustomerApril 6, 2016
When I read this "way too big around the middle" It makes me wonder if it is just the design of the dress or because like a few reviews down I see there are pregnant women wearing this dress?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
February 9, 2016
beach night wedding
Was perfect beach wedding at night, was just enough coverage to stay warm, comfortable but a bit short, I am 5.4".
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143lbs
February 9, 2016
Perfect dress for my baby shower!
Finding that perfect dress for your baby shower is a daunting job. I feel liked I looked at everything! I came across this cute shift dress and saw that other women had worn it while pregnant and thought I'd give it a try. Wow! So glad I did. It fit perfectly and was very comfortable all day. At almost 8 months pregnant you want to be comfy but also still pretty. That's exactly what this dress made me feel. My husband kept asking me if I was sure I had to send it back he loved it so much! I'm never disappointed with any of my rentals. I love RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
February 8, 2016
Bright color AND I felt comfortable!
The color was stunning! Even better than the picture shows (dark venue) I chose the larger size as it was a corporate event and didn't want to wear anything too form fitting. The dress was SO comfortable, while still being flattering (I could eat in it! ;). Would highly recommend. **I will note it was a bit short when i went to sit down - but nothing that would stop me from renting it again. Love this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
February 3, 2016
Great color! Perfect for a bridal shower.
I knew the dress was going to be short, but I usually don't mind some leg showing.. However in this case, I underestimated how short the dress would be! Just make sure your comfortable showing off your legs. Also, for someone with a fuller bust, it didn't show off my waist at all. If I posed for a picture, I thought it looked great. But a standing position, not the most flattering. Regardless, I loved the color and got tons of compliments. Successful first time!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
January 29, 2016
Cute dress for a day event
Rented this dress for a friend's engagement party. It was a little tighter than you would expect a shift dress to be but still cute on.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
January 21, 2016
Loved the color!
Fun dress! My only complaint on fit that it was a little shorter than I prefer. Since shifts are a loser fit, I went with the 2, depending on the dress, I wear a 2 or 4 normally. I have small arms and didn't have an issue with the fit on top. I wore this for NYE to a casual party. The color was bright and the lace was fun but classy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 11, 2016
I wore this for my sister's bridal shower.
I could have worn this dress in the 10, but I stuck with the 12 just to feel more comfortable since it was a bit short. I have broad shoulders so things tend to be a bit tight in the bust or shoulders - especially with sleeves - but this wasn't tight at all. I got a lot of compliments on the dress and felt incredibly comfortable the entire day. Absolutely recommend this dress - I would go a size up for the backup size if you have long legs and/or don't want it to be too tight in the bust and/or hips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 3, 2016
Received compliments all night long! Loved the color absolutely fantastic!!
Loved this dress!! The color was absolutely perfect and it fit great! I was however really upset with the odor that the dress came in! It was unbearable almost as if it was not washed it was horrible. I was unable to wear the size I desired due to this issue I had to wear a bigger size which didn't fit and look as nice. :(
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Party
Age: 35
January 3, 2016
Absolutely gorgeous dress!!!
This dress was so comfortable and fit true to size. I am 5'8" so it was a little short but very sexy. I received so many compliments. Very fun party dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 190lbs
December 13, 2015
I wore this to an outdoor, casual work event.
The dress was short on me since I am tall. Otherwise, it was great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
December 9, 2015
Very cute and comfotable
This dress was a back up that was sent to me by RTR because I found out last minute that my first choice would not be ready in time. At first I was apprehensive about the color, but it ended up working out great. It was super comfy to wear, (good for dancing) and looked cute on. The color was a little light for a winter wedding, but it ended being a great back up dress and props to RTR for being super accommodating.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Everyday
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
December 1, 2015
LOVE THIS DRESS!
I received so many compliments on this dress! The color is beautiful, and it hung just right on me. I wore it when I was 17 weeks pregnant and there was room in the belly which was nice! I paired it with a necklace and brown knee high riding boots! Super cute! Would love to rent again!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
November 30, 2015
Honestly the best dress I have ever put on! Compliments were endless!
Fir perfectly. I have no hips and broad shoulders and fit my figure nicely. I felt like it would look good on athletic body types.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 29, 2015
I wore this to my Mom's wedding, and the fit was perfect! It was very comfortable for dancing too.
The dress ran true to size, and at 5'4", I didn't find it to be too short. The weather was a bit chilly, so I wore it with some pantyhose and nude pumps. I loved this dress so much and wished I could have kept it. This was my first RTR experience, and I was so pleased and will certainly do it again!
See more reviews:
2 / 11
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×