Purple Explosion Dress

$43 to buy
$850 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! Look sexy and vibrant in this to die for Robert Rodriguez Black Label asymmetrical mini! It’s the ultimate dress for a bachelorette party, birthday, or night out on the town! Go with earrings like the Badgley Mischka's Dramatic Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - deep V neck reveals cleavage; fuller busted women should consider sizing up for a more conservative look
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist; ruching and sequin insert conceal lower abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Product Details

Purple silk. One shoulder neckline. Black sequin inserts. All over ruching. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
85 reviews
Fit
Large
(4)
True to Size
(47)
Small
(34)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 24, 2011
Very sexy, but I agree with the previous poster that the ruching adds bulk on a small frame. Loved wearing it, bet it looks even better on a curvy girl.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 26, 2011
I really liked this dress... the color is more navy than purple but the top of this dress is unique which makes it stand out even more! Lots of compliments! Fits well, runs true to size.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
February 28, 2011
This dress fit great and looked great! My only complaint is that the fabric did not give so it was hard to dance, get in and out of cars etc. It looked so good though that I didn't care. I usually run a 2 and while the 2 looked great I wore the 4 to make dancing easier.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
March 23, 2011
Super Classy!!!
This is a beautiful dress, got lots and lots of compliments. I rented the size 4; I'm 118 lbs and 5' 2" with a smaller chest (I was a bit heavier when I rented this dress). It does look nice if you have some what of a fuller bottom. Yes, and I agree the ruching is very flattering!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
May 18, 2011
loved loved loved this dress. fits true to size, an absolute stunner. mine arrived with a tear at the bust area, but it was barely noticible and i still ended up wearing it because it was so chic. very impressed
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
June 13, 2011
I was sooo disappointed in this dress...I absolutely loved the way it looks on the model, but I ordered my size and a size larger and could not wear either. The dress itself is gorgeous, but there is absolutely no stretch or give in the fabric. I have muscular legs, so I was not able to even get the dress on because it was so tight around my legs. I think a size larger would have been too big on top because the strap would be too long. I would definitely not recommend this dress unless you are tall and thin - not for curvy girls!
RTR CustomerAugust 12, 2015
did you have to wear a bra?
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Body type: Petite
June 20, 2011
Loved it!!!!! Fits perfectly!! I'm normally 2, and ordered 2 and 4, but ended up using the 2, it was perfect, great color. Lots of compliments
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 28, 2011
Very flattering dress all around. I have a little bit of a belly and the ruching in my case helped disguise that area and made me look even all over. The length made my legs look sexy. The fabric is definitely very good quality and the detail of the sequins is great. The color is almost exactly the same as on the pictures, it depends on the light- it looked purple to me the whole time I was wearing it, but some others saw it with a slightly blue hue. Use fashion tape to keep that sleeveless half of the dress on your chest, if you find that it doesn't stay up like it does on this model. For me, it did not at all, that corner kept drooping down so tape helped keep up that part the entire time I wore it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138lbs
September 23, 2011
This dress was AMAZING!! I wore it to my bachelorette party and received TONS of compliments. Photographs really well! I am 135lbs ordered a size 4 and 6 as my backup. Size 6 was much to big, 4 was a bit snug as the fabric had no stretch, but looked great so I wore the 4. Rouching was great for hiding small imperfections in my mid section. Loved it and would totally rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 9, 2011
A low key New Year's in NYC with a small, close group of friends.
I wore this for New Years Eve and received a ton of compliments. Was a fairly easy fit and runs true to size.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
November 30, 2011
I got many compliments on the color of the dress, as well as the style and cut.
This dress fit very true to size and was very flattering on a petite frame. I would highly recommend it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
January 1, 2012
Loved the compliments I received, and I will cherish the wonderful photos of me and my husband.
I love this dress. The color was awesome and really great in pictures. The only problem was the side zipper. The zipper did not lay flat and would buckle up a little bit throughout the night. Other than that, it was great. Love that I had a great dress for the night and don't have to regret paying more for a dress that I would have only worn one time. RTR is a great concept.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 2, 2012
I received so many compliments on this dress and I felt great wearing it!
Loved loved loved this dress! Fit perfectly in all the right ways. Had to use fashion tape to hold up the flap with no strap for peace of mind, but otherwise flawless.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90lbs
January 5, 2012
NYE
I'm super petite < 4'10" so really can only order 'mini' dresses for them not to be at my knees. This dress fit suprisingly well. Was fitted and not too long. Felt comfortable to wear and isn't as flashy or bright as it seems. The pointy boob on one side of the dress was a little weird at first, but turned out to look very cute!
mildredJanuary 29, 2012
Hello Andrea? I'm actually thinking about renting it & I'm 4'11 & i was wonder where to the body did the dress go to? the knee? or above it? I would really appreciate it if you could help me out. Thank you, Milly
RTRJanuary 30, 2012
Hi Milly! If you are 4'11" this will hit you right below your knee!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 13, 2012
LOVED this dress
I rented this dress for NYE 12' and ordered a size 4 and a size 6. If it weren't for my hips, the 4 would have fit.. but I was SO happy that I ordered a size up (just in case). The dress fit like a glove. Wish there was a little more wiggle room (elastic?) in the butt area, but overall, cute dress. Would definitely rent from RTR again :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 19, 2012
Fun dress, couple gliches
I really loved this dress. I would say it fits true to size, but is FITTED, so I wore a 2 when I can sometimes wear a 0. The two gliches I had (which are mentioned elsewhere) were: - it's hard to dance in because there isn't much "give" in the skirt - the flap on the side without a strap falls down/goes limp I'd still rent it again despite the gliches. It's flattering and a great color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 124lbs
May 25, 2012
Red carpet ready!
I wore this for an awards show in Vegas - the dress is BEAUTIFUL and I felt like a star. It runs true to size/slightly small. The 0 fit like a glove but I was going to be sitting most of the night so I went with the 2 because the hem is actually narrower than the hip of the dress, and the dress felt infinitely tighter when I sat down. Since there's ruching you don't really notice it too closely, but there was a bit of gathering around my hips compared to the skirt - an important thing to note if you're a pear like me, because you may have to go up a size or two depending on how much wider your thighs are than your hips. The neckline is awesome and there's a stiffness to the strapless side, so it stays up all night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 16, 2012
plenty of compliments on this dress. great shape. fun and edgy!
I wore this for my homecoming dance last fall. But since I'm writing this review so late I can't remember if I rented the 0 and 2 or the 2 and 4. I'm usually a 0 or 2.The smaller size I got was too tight mainly on the bottom half. So I wore the bigger size and it would shift a little and wasn't as fitted but it still looked fine. It seemed like an inch or two long on me, but I'm really short. It was super comfortable and easy to dance and move in.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 132lbs
August 26, 2012
Lovely dress!
The dress is very flattering and sexy. You will not regret renting this dress.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
March 15, 2012
looked great!
the dress looks great on, but it was hard to dance in because the top didnt have a lot of support. though it looked pretty and i got alot of complements!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 22, 2012
This dress is amazing! I received more compliments on this dress than any other I've ever worn.
This is a great summer wedding dress! I fit into a size 4 until the zipper was up by my boobs. There was no way I was going to be able to zip it up. I'm glad I ordered the size up because that ended up working out great. Make sure to have double sided tape when you wear this dress because the hanger strap will pop out if you don't double sided tape it down inside the dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 9, 2012
The dress fit really well and was great for the formal event
The flap did come down a bit but the tape helped. Otherwise it was a great form fitting dress. The bottom is fitted so you can't dance that hard
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 100lbs
October 14, 2012
I wore this dress when I attended the AMAs as a seatfiller. I did not want to give this back.
The dress was very forgiving due to the folds. The indigo color of the dress is unique enough to make you stand out but it doesn't shout "look at me!". The neckline of dress is one of the most unique necklines I have ever seen. The sequins add a nice contrast to the fabric of the dress. I would rent this for a party, formal, or even a wedding. It is fairly short so it may not work great for someone who is 5'10" or taller or for a situation that you should be wearing a longer dress. You won't be able to wear a necklace so make sure to get some big earrings and bracelets for the occasion.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 29, 2012
Talk of the night
I wore this to homecoming and everyone loved it! I was complemented all night. The style of the dress was very flattering and having the black jems poke out on different parts of the dress added a little something to it. I loved that it was one shouldered too! everything about the dress was perfect. It was the first dress I have rented and since then I've rented other dresses.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 122lbs
December 29, 2012
Glamorous!
This was a great dress that is even nicer in person than it looks in the photos. It fit well, but I did have to use Hollywood tape to keep the strapless side from bending outward. Probably better for a bust size smaller than D.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
January 3, 2013
Beautiful dress and it fit great.
Originally ordered 0 but ended up wearing the 2. I am very athletic, runs true to size. If you are a C cup you won't get into the size 0.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
January 6, 2013
It was stylish, flattering around the waist, accentuates the bust lovely like. Loved it
I am 5'7" 130 lbs. typically a size 4/6. The 4 fit best. Many compliments
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 8, 2013
This color was perfect for a NYE party! Don't forget the boob tape or a major disaster awaits!
I typically wear a 4 and I rented a 4 and a 6. I ended up wearing the 4 because of the awkard strapless side. I was afraid that the 6 would lead to a show I didn't want to put on if ya know what I mean. Boob tape didn't to the trick because of the fabric so I Improvised and wore the strap you hang the dress from as a mini strap and used my hair to cover it up. It was a bit snug but you couldn't tell because the rouching was so flattering. Sitting on low stools and not revealing anything was a challenge, but probably no different than any other dress. I wore this to an intimate house party with close friends so it ended up being amazing, but if was for a more formal affair I think I would have been upset with the extreme awkardness of the strapless side.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
March 12, 2013
I got compliments the entire night! New years-Amazing color, felt so amazing in this dress.
Fitted but comfortable. One-sided strap stayed up all night
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
March 14, 2013
Cute Dress but didn't wear it
I rented this dress for NYE, but ended up going to a more casual event, so I didn't wear it. It was cute on, but was pretty tight. I'm pretty small, and small chested, and the top part was still very tight and squished my boobs in. Also, the rouching in the middle was a bit much and ended up making me look more bulky than I would have liked. It's a good dress if you want to show off your legs and maybe hide a little tummy pooch. I like that it's different and interesting, but the way it fits will not work for everyone. I would definitely size up on this one.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
March 22, 2013
This is a pretty, sexy, stylish dress!
So, of the dresses I rented, this was NOT the one I thought I'd like the best....but I did. It looks great on and has great style. I wear a 6 and it fit perfectly....hugging my body just enough. I ended up wearing a different dress, but this one, I would probably rent again for a proper event. I'm only 5 ft 4in and it is NOT as short as it is on the model. It hit me more mid-thigh. But the quality is great. It has a super cute profile look. Nice dress.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 7, 2013
Got tons of compliments all through the night.
I felt like the dress was a little constrictive at the beginning of the night. But as I danced more it became a little looser and more comfortable. Definitely a fun, sexy little dress that will turn many heads.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 9, 2013
Perfect Fit for a Perfect Night!
Great dress! Holds it ALL in. So flattering yet comfortable. The fabric doesn't give at all so make sure to get your normal size and maybe one size up. The color is VERY unique in person. Photographs more purple than it looks the blue it looks in person. Length is pretty long so its conservative. Not a Vegas dress but formal and classy
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 25, 2013
Unique design - Felt stunning
The dress fit great - a little snug but in the right places to accentuate a woman's figure. I received many compliments on it. It has a structured feel, but it isn't constricting. Sitting and dancing were not problems in the garmet. The ruching of the material hid some of my imperfections, which I was pleased about. I'm consistently a 4 in dresses, but part of the reason is my chest size. If you have similar measurements to me and have a smaller chest, I think you may want the 2. Side note: sorry about the odd pose in pic 2, but I didn't take a lot of photos that night. I figured potential renters could make a better judgment from the shot/angle in pic 2 versus pic 1.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
August 4, 2014
I wore the dress for my birthday and it was amazing and perfect in every way!!
I have no cons for the dress. I have an hourglass figure and the dress hugged my curves in all the right places. The lines on the dress are very flattering. The black sequins are a nice touch of party to a classy chiffon dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
November 29, 2011
I danced all night long in this dress! I received many compliments and was told my dress was stunning.
I wore this to a dance of mine and loved it! The boning in it gave a great shape, was very slimming, and the perfect length. However, the one strap on the shoulder dug in somewhat when I was dancing. Overall, I loved this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119lbs
August 30, 2012
Felt fabulous in such a beautiful dress
The color is even prettier in person. I wore a 0 and it fit well but the strap around my neck was a little tight. Overall this is a fabulous dress and got tons of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 11, 2012
Loved the dark purple and one shoulder - gorgeous fit!
I loved this dress! It was actually my backup to the Herve Leger bandage dress but once I put it on I just didnot want to take it off. I definitely should have gotten a size up because of my athletic build - my traps made it extremely hard to zip up haha. But I stuffed myself in and it was a great night :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 31, 2013
Perfect!
Wore this dress to my high school formal. I ordered a 2 and a 4 and had to squeeze into the 4. very different from other dresses, structurally. very comfortable and i received compliments throughout the night!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 12, 2014
Super comfortable--dance the night away in this dress!
I wore this dress during a Vegas girl's trip and it was perfect! The ruching provides some give which is always nice. Only complaint is the non-sleeve side kept toppling a bit. Otherwise, it was perfect!
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×