Pleased Pleat Dress

$79 to buy
$395 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Pleats? Yes, please! Get this adorable purple dress by Robert Rodriguez Collection for your next dinner or cocktail party.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Purple stretch poplin (70% cotton, 23% polyamide, 17% nylon). Sleeveless. V-neckline. Full pleated skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure and cut out detail. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
154 reviews
Fit
Large
(8)
True to Size
(102)
Small
(35)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 27, 2014
Wore this dress to my senior prom and was so relieved I loved it! I might just rent it again!
Fit great even with my big boobs!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
May 24, 2014
I did not want to take the dress off, I could wear it forever!!
Beautiful dress, great for a summer wedding. Love the color, cutouts and pleated skirt, basically everything about the dress! Very flattering on on all body types. I ended up wearing the small of the two sizes - I never even tried the larger one on because the 8 fit perfectly. The only thing I have to complain about is the zipper was difficult and I could not do it myself. This was my first RTR experience and I am thrilled with the rental process - definitely will be renting again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
May 21, 2014
I wore this to a luncheon. The color was great and I got a lot of compliments.
The dress fit me big in the bust area. It buckled on the side. I was out of town and ended up having to wear it with the only jacket I had with me, a marigold blazer. I looked like the ultimate Laker Fan. I wore nude shoes and a purse to try and town down the bright colors. I recommend this dress for bustier girls, or wearing a very padded strapless bra, as the back does not allow for a regular one. The back was fabulous, and so was the pleated bottom.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 11, 2014
Perfect color and fabric for sisters graduation
Loved the fit and the cut of the dress. I was worried a little that the full skirt would make my hips looks too big but it actually looked just perfect. The top of the dress was a little big since I have small Chest but it was still beautiful and comfortable. The material is thick and the fabric has no give so the size 2 fitted too tight around the waist. Overall loved the dress !!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 165lbs
May 6, 2014
Fun, Flirty & Short
I rented this dress in hopes of wearing it for a friend's wedding where she asked us to wear royal purple. While the dress was super cute, it was just WAY to short to be appropriate for a Catholic church wedding. I think on a shorter girl it would be much cuter and I think it made my broad shoulder look even wider. Cute dress, just not for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 4, 2014
Beautiful Color
The dress was a gorgeous color and a great material. It's much thicker than I expected and almost has a shine to it. However, it runs small. The 4 and 6 both fit, but the 6 was much more comfortable and looked better in the back with the cut outs. The skirt was full but not too much, just enough to be fun and easy to move in.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 2, 2014
Not as pictured
I was pretty excited about wearing this dress to a formal party but when it came it was all wrong. The fabric is just a boring casual cotton and doesn't look that nice. The hem isn't finished and it arrived in a total wrinkled mess. I would have had to iron it in order to wear it. It's also extremely tight/small in the waist area. I'm normally a 0 and I couldn't even zip it up. The 2 zipped up better but was huge in the bust. Overall, I felt really uncomfortable in the dress but luckily I was able to exchange it for something else in time for my event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 30, 2014
I felt sexy in this dress
Fun! Fun! Fun! Dress..
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
April 29, 2014
this was worn by my friend who is 5'4 and she looked amazing!! very cute and flirty dress
Amazing, nice fit, true to zie.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
April 29, 2014
Beautiful Color
I used this dress to take college senior pictures, I love how deep and rich the dress color is. But, I had a hard time zipping the dress up all the way, I feel that if I had gone a size up that the bust would have been too baggy.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
April 29, 2014
So many compliments!
As many reviewers have said, pictures do not do justice to how great this dress is! I absolutely loved the color and fit. I would definitely order a size up from what you normally pick. The two fit (no bra necessary), but getting the zipper up and over the seam in back was near impossible. The four was a little big up top, so I just wore a strapless bra to help fill it out. Absolutely loved overall
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
April 29, 2014
Weird fit
I rented this dress as a backup and luckily was not set on wearing it. The shape was extremely unflattering on my figure, making my hips look about ten times larger than they actually are. The zipper on the 0 also was damaged and I could not get it all the way up. I also felt the fabric made the dress look much cheaper than it seems online. Overall, not the best RTR dress (although I have had plenty of other amazing orders!).
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
April 27, 2014
This was my first sorority formal and it was such a wonderful night with my wonderful beau!
I wore this dress for an AXO spring formal and it was perfect!! The theme was vintage circus, so I thought the fuller skirt would be great with a little tightrope walker/ballerina inspiration. The top fit me perfectly because I have a small chest. The waist fit snugly and I loved the little cutouts in the back - fun, but not revealing or trashy and very easy to wear a normal strapless bra with. The skirt was very light and perfect for spinning in... but a little too short to spin! It was a windy day and an outside event... I definitely Marilyn Monroe-d several people on accident. Light skirt + central Texas wind = OH NO! But luckily my lovely boyfriend was willing to help hold it down and all was well. I HIGHLY recommend this dress for a gorgeous, comfortable, easy wear!! I don't want to send it back!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
April 27, 2014
The comfort and flow of the dress made dancing and celebrating an all nighter!
I loved this dress and wish I could keep it! It's fitting yet so perfect to have enough space to move around. I received so any compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
April 5, 2014
beautiful, fun, comfy dress!
I rented this dress for a wedding and it was a GREAT choice!! I was continuously complimented and the dress was really comfortable! It is on the short side (but I'm 5'10 so every dress is a wee bit short) otherwise everything was great!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 31, 2014
Unique dress with flattering cut
Pretty dress and very flattering lines. This dress is purple- in case the picture looks a little different. Only complaint is that it was a cotton material that looked like it had been washed several times and faded. Nothing to make or break but felt more like a daytime dress because of that.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108lbs
March 4, 2014
This dress was so perfect for homecoming because no one else was wearing anything similar!
The color is slightly lighter than in that picture, but the dress is just as beautiful as it is on the model. It fit very well, but it was a bit snug around the waist, so I would go up a size if you are between sizes normally. It is very comfortable, and I liked the straps because I did not have to worry about holding up my dress. The dress was the perfect length too!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 24, 2014
Amazing color!
I rented this dress for a bachelorette party. Really liked the dress, it was fun to spin in! The skirt is a little bit more full than it appeared on the model, as other reviewers mentioned. I am pretty curvy, and I liked that I felt secure, but not like a sausage casing! Loved that I didn't need a bra too
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
February 20, 2014
Loved this dress! Fantastic first RTR experience
I was worried that because I'm small chested the dress would be too large, but the top fit perfectly. A little tight around the waist but not uncomfortable
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118lbs
February 7, 2014
Cute in the back, okay in the front.
This is a casual dress due to the fabric but the cut in the back steps it up a bit. Wouldn't rent again because the front was just okay and didn't offer much appeal until I turned around.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 22, 2014
Beautiful color!
I wore this dress to a pre-wedding dinner, and it was really fun to wear- super feminine and flirty. I paired it with a turquoise necklace for an added pop of color, which was a great combo given how vibrant the dress's color was. As many have previously mentioned, the top is pretty tight, so I couldn't get the 0 to zip all the way up. The only reason I gave it a 4 is because the fabric is a less dressy than pictured (but its still a pretty dress!) On the plus side, this was a replacement dress I ordered for my event as the original dress ran far too small. My go to girl was AMAZING! She combed through tons of dresses and spent a lot of time with this picky girl (me) to find the perfect dress for my style and for the occasion. If only I could bring her with me everywhere! RTR continues to impress with me with its amazing customer service!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 8, 2014
Great fit, shows off a small waist
I wore this to a highschool friend's wedding and I wanted to accentuate my more toned features, like a small waist. This dress fit well and I got lots of compliments on it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 167lbs
January 7, 2014
Love this dress! I recommend it.
I am normally a size 8 but I had to wear the size 10 for this dress. I have a larger bust, so that could've been why. The material isn't very stretchy, so keep that in mind. I love the back of the dress! All in all it fits nicely and flatters the figure with the high waist. I got many compliments in this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113lbs
January 6, 2014
Beautiful classic dress with a little bit of edge
I loved this dress. I wore it on vacation with my boyfriend's family and it was just the right amount of conservative but had a fun back with the small cut out. I considered it a little bit small only in the waist band but other than that it fit great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
January 3, 2014
Good not great.
The dress fit well. I sometimes wear a 6 or an 8, but because this was so A-line and I'm more pear shaped, I sized down to the 4. Really glad I did. It fit perfectly up top and the skirt nicely hid my hips. I got a lot of compliments on the dress (wore it to a New Year's party). The only reason I did not love the dress was because the fabric was a very matte cotton. I was hoping for a dressier fabric.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
January 1, 2014
Very sweet, fun party dress!
I love the style and color of this dress. It's structured up top, and the racerback and small cutouts really make it stand out among all of the other dresses. I'm not a very frilly girl, but you will enjoy spinning around and watching the skirt twirl out around you. It's definitely a dress worth renting. Unfortunately, I have very small shoulders and a smaller rib cage, so the fit was slightly big on me. If I owned the dress, I would definitely have it altered to fit as best as possible. But even though it was slightly big, everything was covered, and I received compliments all night. I was very happy to credit RTR and recommend it to all who asked.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
December 29, 2013
I loved the back of the dress
Other reviews were right in the fact the dress is less dressy in person, but it was perfect to wear to a friend's birthday dinner. The size 0 fit, but was a teeny tight so I wore the size 2 which was a little big but more comfortable. Other than being in between sizes in this dress I have no complaints and it was fun to wear. The cut outs in the back received several compliments through out the night too.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 5, 2013
Fit perfectly expecially for an hourglass/ pear figure!
Would recommend this for any girl looking for a combination of sexy but appropriate. Decent length even on a tall girl.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 27, 2013
Disappointed with fabric quality, but decent dress for wedding.
Fit was true to size, but the fabric was a little lower quality than i had expected. Wrinkled easily, and the cut of the neckline & arm holes made it appear that my arms were bigger.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
November 25, 2013
Cute but not as flattering as I wanted
The pleats opened a lot in the skirt .... but for a petit frame would be adorable!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
November 13, 2013
Pretty color
Nice color; flattering shape.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
November 4, 2013
Great Color, Fun fit!
I actually wore this dress as the host of a get together for a football game. Yes, in the south we dress up this much for football! wore it with cowboy boots and I got tons of compliments from guys and gals alike. The color is great, a royal purple, and the fit worked very well for my pear figure. In other reviews it said it ran small so I got a 2, but could have worn the 0.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 27, 2013
Felt classy and stunning all night
The dress fit me incredibly well and recieved tons of compliments all night! The material is not stretchy and fits true to size. It does not leave wiggle room. Was extremely comfortable and would definitely rent again.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
October 27, 2013
Perfect for a hot summer wedding.
Fit was a little big, particularly in the bust, but that's a common problem for me. Can be worn with a bra if you choose, but one is not necessary if you can fill out the dress. The color is even better in person and I got a lot of compliments on it.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
October 13, 2013
Perfect for standing out but not over doing!
The color is true to the picture, pretty purple. The waist fit perfectly and the bottom was so fun for dancing! The only problem I had was that the top was a little big. any strapless bra is hidden well, even with the flirt back cut. loved it! my first of many RTR experiences!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 8, 2013
Loved it in the showroom but the dress I received had a defective zipper :(
I went to the showroom to pick out dresses for a few upcoming occasions and immediately fell in love with this dress. It was a great shade of purple and was so fun and flirty. Sadly, when the dress arrived the zipper would not zip up in the back, even with the help of 5 people. I took it off and even tried to zip it up without myself in it and it still didn't work. I contacted RTR and they rectified the situation which I am very grateful for!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
October 6, 2013
Nice dress but nothing special...
I rented this dress as a back up for a wedding I attended in California in September. My first dress was amazing but I did end up wearing this one to the rehearsal dinner. The fit was off for me. The waist was true to size but something weird was going on with the chest area. I usually fill out sz 0 dresses fine but the breast cups were baggy on me in this dress. The fabric was also not my favorite. It felt cheap and reminded me of a bad bridesmaid dress. All complaints aside, I did wear the dress to the rehearsal dinner because the color was vibrant and the back was amazing! I paired with a flat nude sandal and cardigan to dress it down a bit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
September 26, 2013
Unique
Cool, unique dress. Vibrant color. Unfortunately my torso was too short for it so it was gaping awkwardly at the top of the straps, but if it had fit better I would have for sure worn it!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
September 25, 2013
I wore this dress for my Homecoming and it was fantastic!
This was my first rental and I was very happy with this awesome dress. The color is a deep, royal purple. I loved the back and was able to wear a strapless bra with no problem. The only issue I had with it is that it was too big in the chest and the shoulder straps sat a little above my shoulders but I'm not too large in the bust so that's probably why. I used some of the Hollywood double stick tape to be sure I wasn't flashing in the front and didn't worry about the rest. It was snug at the waist but I was able to wear it just fine. Overall, I'd say it runs a bit large in the chest but a little small around the waist. The length was a tad long on me but I'm only 5'1". The skirt was so fun for dancing and everyone loved it! I'm definitely happy with my rental!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 136lbs
September 17, 2013
Got this for my daughter and she loved it!!!
Super cute and great fit! 5'8" 135 lbs
See more reviews:
3 / 4
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×