Robert Rodriguez Collection

Pleased Pleat Dress

$35 rental
$395 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Pleats? Yes, please! Get this adorable purple dress by Robert Rodriguez Collection for your next dinner or cocktail party.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Purple stretch poplin (70% cotton, 23% polyamide, 17% nylon). Sleeveless. V-neckline. Full pleated skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure and cut out detail. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

147 reviews

Fit
Small 33
True to Size 98
Large 8
Photos 93
Ms. C
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 28, 2014

Very girly

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
the pleats give it volume and gives you a tiny waste. You may need to iron it before wearing it.
erika
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 20, 2014

Too Small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This dress runs very small. I normally wear an 8 and the 12 was really tight. Not for my body type.
Taylor
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 7, 2014

Could barely squeeze my chest into it!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Hi Ladies! I am sorry I am pictureless but I ended up not even wearing the dress. I had rented it for a party and -no fault to the construction of the dress- but I looked silly in it. The waist fell higher than it looks on the model and since I am extremely top heavy I looked pretty goofy. I also could barely get my chest into the dress! Curvy ladies, D+ cup beware!
Alexa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 11, 2014

Not what I had expected

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding but it was way too tight and looked really awkward around my stomach.
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 8, 2014

I was hoping this would be the one, but turned out not to be.

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Runs very small, and the material is not nice enough for a wedding. If you are not without any kind of body fat, avoid this dress.
Alana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 5, 2014

Danced all night long!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit true to size. Love the bright purple color and pleated skirt. Was a little tricky with the fabric rumpling near the cut outs. Spent all night dancing!
Cindy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 25, 2014

Very flattering dress. Would rent again.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm pretty petite, so I have to watch out for dresses that will make me stumpy. This one did not. Very flattering, great color, and the pleats made for great dancing pictures at the wedding.
Chelsea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 13, 2014

I liked it, but I didn't LOVE it.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress, and I got a lot of compliments on the color and fit. It was pretty, but it wasn't my favorite RTR dress I've ever rented. I'm 5'9 and it sometimes felt a bit short. I had to be sure always that the skirt wasn't flying up with the wind or when I danced. The color is very pretty, and the cutouts in the back are a great detail.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 11, 2014

Beautiful Wedding

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I didn't wear the dress because I didn't like how it fit me. It's a gorgeous dress overall, but it's not shiny at all and I thought it was from the photo. It's flattering but I didn't like how it felt on me. I think for someone a little less curvy it would be gorgeous! Good quality dress.
Reese
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 31, 2014

Cute dress, lovely, vibrant color, runs quite small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for a fun weekend outfit, and while the color and cut were awesome, this dress runs quite small. I'm typically a 0 in most brands (excluding some European brands), but this dress wasn't just tight, I couldn't even fully zip up the zipper. If your waist is proportional to your other measurements, you should probably size up. The 2 was unavailable as a backup when I ordered, but I will certainly give this a go in the future, it's a really cute, fun dress!
KK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 17, 2014

Comfortable and casual, but still special

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress fit well and was comfortable and flattering. I wore it out for my birthday dinner date and was happy with the vibrant color. Great for hot summer days / nights on the town, but the fabric lends a more casual feel to it, so you'd need to dress it up with some great accessories if planning on anything fancy. I tried a couple of necklaces with it, but the neckline is such that it looks best bare. Do earrings, fun bracelets, and / or fun shoes.
Irina007
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95 lbs
Jul 14, 2014

I did not wear this dress, exchanged it for a different style...

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I had to exchange the dress, it was big in the chest area and considering I am 32D, that was strange, it fit perfectly everywhere else - I was a little disappointing I could not wear it... the dress hit a little above the knee... so if you are short take that into consideration as well.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 137 lbs
Jul 11, 2014

Meh.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was a disappointment. First let me say that I gave one star because the color was beyond gorgeous and another star because it was exactly as described, clean, and in great condition. Thus ends my joy. Both sizes were ill fitting. The 4 made me look like a stuffed pig by smooching my breasts. The 6 was loose around the chest, enough to give sneak previews of the girls, and the straps gapped away from my body. I really tried to make this happen, because I love the color and it was a fun dress...but unfortunately, nope. I am guessing if I had a smaller bust, the 4 would have worked. Silly mammaries.
Karen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Jun 22, 2014

Basic purple dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I did not really enjoy this dress. I rented it as a back up dress and was glad my number one choice worked because otherwise I would have had nothing to wear. I did not like the color purple or the fact that it was a matte cotton. The top was gaping and the skirt was way too long. I would not recommend this to petite people.
Kimberly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 20, 2014

Material is very casual

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a cocktail party, but shame on me for not reading the description better. The dress is more of a sundress material not suitable for a semi-formal affair.
Stephanie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 17, 2014

Great dress! Very true to size and forgiving of all imperfections.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Paired this dress with a statement necklace and very light. Top keeps you secure and is forgiving for the pear shaped gals! Very easy for dancing, and even allowed for lots of running around after my little ones.
Staci
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98 lbs
Jun 16, 2014

Great cut, not crazy about the color

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit great. Material is cotton like, which makes it feel casual. I wasn't crazy about the color. I did not wear this dress.
A
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Jun 13, 2014

Unable to wear & ended up returning, really disappointed.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The chest was too large for me in the 6 & the 4 was too small in the waist.
Mairin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 5, 2014

Too small to wear to my event!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I would definitely order a size up.
CL
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
May 29, 2014

Bright and fun dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The color and size are quite true to the picture. The skirt is super fun and the cutouts added drama. The only issue I had was due to my short stature the straps were a bit too large.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
May 28, 2014

Great color. Fun back.

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I will def try and rent this dress again. The color was very pretty and the sola wet was very faltering but where the skirt met the top it was frayed and I wanted something more finished looking.
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
May 28, 2014

Purple goddess

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a friends wedding. I ordered both the zero and the 2. The 0 was very tight in the chest which isnt out of the norm for me, while i was able to zipper it I dont know if I could have breathed or even eaten anything all night. When trying to 2, it was very gappy under the arms and didnt look right. I ended up wearing the back up dress I ordered. I wish this dress worked & looked like the model picture. It is a bit more plain in person and also wrinkles easy.
Ginger
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
May 21, 2014

I wore this to a luncheon. The color was great and I got a lot of compliments.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress fit me big in the bust area. It buckled on the side. I was out of town and ended up having to wear it with the only jacket I had with me, a marigold blazer. I looked like the ultimate Laker Fan. I wore nude shoes and a purse to try and town down the bright colors. I recommend this dress for bustier girls, or wearing a very padded strapless bra, as the back does not allow for a regular one. The back was fabulous, and so was the pleated bottom.
Katherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 165 lbs
May 6, 2014

Fun, Flirty & Short

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress in hopes of wearing it for a friend's wedding where she asked us to wear royal purple. While the dress was super cute, it was just WAY to short to be appropriate for a Catholic church wedding. I think on a shorter girl it would be much cuter and I think it made my broad shoulder look even wider. Cute dress, just not for me.
Alessandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
May 2, 2014

Not as pictured

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was pretty excited about wearing this dress to a formal party but when it came it was all wrong. The fabric is just a boring casual cotton and doesn't look that nice. The hem isn't finished and it arrived in a total wrinkled mess. I would have had to iron it in order to wear it. It's also extremely tight/small in the waist area. I'm normally a 0 and I couldn't even zip it up. The 2 zipped up better but was huge in the bust. Overall, I felt really uncomfortable in the dress but luckily I was able to exchange it for something else in time for my event.
lakesha
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Apr 29, 2014

this was worn by my friend who is 5'4 and she looked amazing!! very cute and flirty dress

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Amazing, nice fit, true to zie.
Jasmine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 29, 2014

Beautiful Color

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I used this dress to take college senior pictures, I love how deep and rich the dress color is. But, I had a hard time zipping the dress up all the way, I feel that if I had gone a size up that the bust would have been too baggy.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105 lbs
Apr 29, 2014

Weird fit

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress as a backup and luckily was not set on wearing it. The shape was extremely unflattering on my figure, making my hips look about ten times larger than they actually are. The zipper on the 0 also was damaged and I could not get it all the way up. I also felt the fabric made the dress look much cheaper than it seems online. Overall, not the best RTR dress (although I have had plenty of other amazing orders!).
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 31, 2014

Unique dress with flattering cut

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Pretty dress and very flattering lines. This dress is purple- in case the picture looks a little different. Only complaint is that it was a cotton material that looked like it had been washed several times and faded. Nothing to make or break but felt more like a daytime dress because of that.
2ofHearts
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118 lbs
Feb 7, 2014

Cute in the back, okay in the front.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is a casual dress due to the fabric but the cut in the back steps it up a bit. Wouldn't rent again because the front was just okay and didn't offer much appeal until I turned around.
S
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 22, 2014

Beautiful color!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to a pre-wedding dinner, and it was really fun to wear- super feminine and flirty. I paired it with a turquoise necklace for an added pop of color, which was a great combo given how vibrant the dress's color was. As many have previously mentioned, the top is pretty tight, so I couldn't get the 0 to zip all the way up. The only reason I gave it a 4 is because the fabric is a less dressy than pictured (but its still a pretty dress!) On the plus side, this was a replacement dress I ordered for my event as the original dress ran far too small. My go to girl was AMAZING! She combed through tons of dresses and spent a lot of time with this picky girl (me) to find the perfect dress for my style and for the occasion. If only I could bring her with me everywhere! RTR continues to impress with me with its amazing customer service!
Natalie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 167 lbs
Jan 7, 2014

Love this dress! I recommend it.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I am normally a size 8 but I had to wear the size 10 for this dress. I have a larger bust, so that could've been why. The material isn't very stretchy, so keep that in mind. I love the back of the dress! All in all it fits nicely and flatters the figure with the high waist. I got many compliments in this dress!
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113 lbs
Jan 6, 2014

Beautiful classic dress with a little bit of edge

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
I loved this dress. I wore it on vacation with my boyfriend's family and it was just the right amount of conservative but had a fun back with the small cut out. I considered it a little bit small only in the waist band but other than that it fit great!
Mandy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128 lbs
Jan 3, 2014

Good not great.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit well. I sometimes wear a 6 or an 8, but because this was so A-line and I'm more pear shaped, I sized down to the 4. Really glad I did. It fit perfectly up top and the skirt nicely hid my hips. I got a lot of compliments on the dress (wore it to a New Year's party). The only reason I did not love the dress was because the fabric was a very matte cotton. I was hoping for a dressier fabric.
Whitney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jan 1, 2014

Very sweet, fun party dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I love the style and color of this dress. It's structured up top, and the racerback and small cutouts really make it stand out among all of the other dresses. I'm not a very frilly girl, but you will enjoy spinning around and watching the skirt twirl out around you. It's definitely a dress worth renting. Unfortunately, I have very small shoulders and a smaller rib cage, so the fit was slightly big on me. If I owned the dress, I would definitely have it altered to fit as best as possible. But even though it was slightly big, everything was covered, and I received compliments all night. I was very happy to credit RTR and recommend it to all who asked.
Margarita
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Dec 5, 2013

Fit perfectly expecially for an hourglass/ pear figure!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Would recommend this for any girl looking for a combination of sexy but appropriate. Decent length even on a tall girl.
Tribeca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 27, 2013

Disappointed with fabric quality, but decent dress for wedding.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was true to size, but the fabric was a little lower quality than i had expected. Wrinkled easily, and the cut of the neckline & arm holes made it appear that my arms were bigger.
Vanessa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Nov 25, 2013

Cute but not as flattering as I wanted

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The pleats opened a lot in the skirt .... but for a petit frame would be adorable!
Saraphine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 4, 2013

Great Color, Fun fit!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I actually wore this dress as the host of a get together for a football game. Yes, in the south we dress up this much for football! wore it with cowboy boots and I got tons of compliments from guys and gals alike. The color is great, a royal purple, and the fit worked very well for my pear figure. In other reviews it said it ran small so I got a 2, but could have worn the 0.
Em J.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 27, 2013

Perfect for a hot summer wedding.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was a little big, particularly in the bust, but that's a common problem for me. Can be worn with a bra if you choose, but one is not necessary if you can fill out the dress. The color is even better in person and I got a lot of compliments on it.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×