Pleased Pleat Dress

$79 to buy
$395 retail
Stylist Notes

Pleats? Yes, please! Get this adorable purple dress by Robert Rodriguez Collection for your next dinner or cocktail party.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Purple stretch poplin (70% cotton, 23% polyamide, 17% nylon). Sleeveless. V-neckline. Full pleated skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure and cut out detail. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
154 reviews
Fit
Large
(8)
True to Size
(102)
Small
(35)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 13, 2014
I liked it, but I didn't LOVE it.
I rented this dress, and I got a lot of compliments on the color and fit. It was pretty, but it wasn't my favorite RTR dress I've ever rented. I'm 5'9 and it sometimes felt a bit short. I had to be sure always that the skirt wasn't flying up with the wind or when I danced. The color is very pretty, and the cutouts in the back are a great detail.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 14, 2014
A fun, classy pop of color
This dress definitely checked off all the boxes for a summer wedding - a bright color that transitions well from day to night, a unique look from both the back and front, and a flirty skirt that helps you avoid sweating in the heat. The length was still tasteful even though it hit above the knee - I'm 5'6 and felt fine in it.The only reason it's not a 5-star dress is that the top half was fairly loose on me, even though it was my regular size 6 dress, I'm a 34D, AND I have a long torso. The arm holes had some definite gaps and were a bit wide. Overall a fun dress though!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
August 15, 2014
Compliments all night!
I received many compliments on this dress, which I wore to a summer outdoor wedding. The material was lightweight and cottony- perfect for the heat. The color was bright and fun! The fit in the chest was great. It fit like a glove. The waist fit just right- but by the end of the night it was feeling a bit tight. I usually wear between a 4 and a 6 and the 6 was perfect. The size 4 would not zip over the waist.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
August 18, 2014
Fun, Flirty, and a LOT of Compliments
My husband was taking me to a really nice dinner at a fabulous steakhouse for my big milestone birthday. I used my RTR PRO birthday rental to rent this number, and I definitely did not feel like I was turning the big 3-0! Lots of room in the hips with the fun, flowy skirt, but be cautious of any gusts of wind; it can blow the skirt right up. Flirty neckline and back cut-outs give it a little more sex appeal. Color was vibrant and flattering on my lighter skin tone. My husband gave me a lot of compliments, but so did the hostess, one of the waiters, and a passer-by as I made my way to the restroom. I did not fill out the bust as much as I would have liked, but it was not enough to deduct any stars. Highly recommend!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
August 25, 2014
Very flattering dress. Would rent again.
I'm pretty petite, so I have to watch out for dresses that will make me stumpy. This one did not. Very flattering, great color, and the pleats made for great dancing pictures at the wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
August 25, 2014
The vibrant color drew positive attention and the flattering cut of the dress gave my body a shape!
I wore this dress for an outdoor summer wedding in Atlanta. Given the pictures of the dress on the RTR model, I was pleasantly surprised that the dress fell closer to my knee than mid-thigh. The top of the dress is very fitted which flattered my figure since it accentuated my slight curves from the waist down. Warning: the full skirt flies up when the wind blows/when you twirl. I recommend ordering your size and the size up (instead of down). Overall, it's a beautiful dress and I would highly recommend it!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 9, 2014
Fun, classy, and sexy, with just enough cutout reveal!
This is such a fun dress! I rented this beauty for a summertime evening wedding and had a blast in it. The only issue is the cutouts make it hard to really wear a bra (which is usually necessary for me) ... however, the 8 fit me so perfectly that I ended up not even having to wear one! Everyone was obsessed with the dress, and the color is so beautiful. Do yourself a favor and rent this hot number soon!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
September 10, 2014
Birthday party! Had a great time! East to rent, easier to return!
I could wear both the size 4 and 6, but chose the 6 so that I could wear a strapless bra! The dress was comfortable and very cute. I liked the color and it showed up nice in pictures. Would rent again. Glad I got both sizes.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
September 14, 2014
Beautiful color
Was much longer on me than in the model. The dress is a lot of fun and flowy like Marilyn Monroe !
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
September 15, 2014
Not my favorite
I rented this dress for a Sunday wedding but I still think it was too casual. The skirt was a lot fuller than I thought it would be, and sort of made my hips look bigger than they are. The top was actually somewhat loose but I wore a strapless bra underneath and that helped it fit better. I had no issues with the bra showing through the cutouts and no issues with the straps feeling too tight. It's a cute dress for a fun day party but it felt more like a sundress than something I should be wearing to a wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 25, 2014
Brilliant purple color, flirty fit, unique back... Perfect for an outdoor wedding!
Wore to my brother's outdoor wedding. Color is a great brilliant purple. Fit nice and snug, no bra necessary but able to wear with the cross back if need be. I uploaded a pic of the back so you can see how unique it is. Got a lot of compliments. Only thing is that like other posters say, it definitely runs short, so something to keep in mind for a more formal wedding. Definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 27, 2014
Fun, flirty dress with lots of movement
I wore this for my bridal shower. Both the 2 and the 4 fit just fine, but ultimately I went with the 4 so it wasn't quite as tight in the rib cage. The color is a very rich purple and I had a blast with a the pleats in the skirt. The only advice I would give is anticipate extra time for ironing because there is A LOT of surface area to cover on the skirt when spread out.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
October 7, 2014
Could barely squeeze my chest into it!
Hi Ladies! I am sorry I am pictureless but I ended up not even wearing the dress. I had rented it for a party and -no fault to the construction of the dress- but I looked silly in it. The waist fell higher than it looks on the model and since I am extremely top heavy I looked pretty goofy. I also could barely get my chest into the dress! Curvy ladies, D+ cup beware!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 157lbs
October 8, 2014
It was exactly what I needed!! It came on time and the second size really helped!
Fits great, on the short side., if you have a short torso wear one size up!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
October 13, 2014
Dress not proportional, awkward fit
I did get some compliments on the dress because it was unique. Its a cotton dress so for an outdoor wedding the fabric and style was fine. The straps were too big and did not fit properly, it also cut in very weird to create a side boob. I was able to wear a strapless bra and I did love the back of the dress but due to the awkward sizing of the straps I wouldn't want to wear this again.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
October 20, 2014
Too Small
This dress runs very small. I normally wear an 8 and the 12 was really tight. Not for my body type.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
October 23, 2014
RTRs customer service was fabulous they did a great job finding me a dress after my first two failed
This was my 3rd dress that I rented for this occasion. An I was happy to find something that I could wear for this occasion. It ran small in the bust and in the under arm area. However it was a great dress for someone who wants to hide their hips n belly
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
November 28, 2014
Very girly
the pleats give it volume and gives you a tiny waste. You may need to iron it before wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
December 19, 2014
I wore this to my sorority's semi formal in the fall! It was a fun dress!
Channel your inner 80's girl!!! Fit's pretty true to size - I felt I had more room in the 4 but opted for the 2 because the 4 also had too much extra room underneath the arms. The material is great and the dress feels expensive despite being one of the cheaper rentals. It also photographs well which is a plus and I was able to wear a strapless bra with it! I would probably never buy this dress to own because it's not really my style but for one night, it was fun to do something different and I received many compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
January 7, 2015
Not good for outdoor functions...
I did not enjoy this rental at all! I wore this to a rehearsal dinner and found that if there is any slight breeze at all, the skirt of this dress will "Marilyn Monroe" like you wouldn't believe. I couldn't even keep it down walking to the car! It felt so poofy on the bottom, and was a little too short for my taste (and I'm only 5'6"). Just not ideal. The color is pretty and the top is great for busty girls... but the bottom is too challenging for me. I would not recommend risking it on this one! I was so self conscious all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
January 9, 2015
Awkward fit
I loved the color of the dress. The material was less fancy than I'd hoped. The cutouts in the back just looked weird on me. But I'm a curvy girl, so this just wasn't a great option. It was a last-minute decision and it didn't pan out. But that's ok!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 6, 2014
Fun stand-out dress - left my fiance speechless!
This dress was a great choice for a semi-formal wedding. Overall fit was okay. As others have described, if you don't have a lot of height the cut outs on the back will not lay flat, and the rib-cage area is snug. I rented the 6 and the 8, and wore the 6 as the cutouts looked better in that size. It is a bit shorter than I expected, and the fullness of the skirt adds a bit to this. But overall it was a beautiful dress that I received many compliments on, and my fiance (who generally does not get excited about my dresses) loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
March 22, 2015
Too big in chest
Cute color. Way to big in the chest for smaller chested women. Also, made my hips look larger than I wanted. I just didn't have the right shape for this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 97lbs
March 29, 2015
Great dress for a semiformal event!
This was a really great dress. It had a flattering shape and neckline, and the back was really cool. Some things to note: It is longer than it looks. I am 5'2" and it hit right above my knees. I'm a 32A and the straps were a little bit long so I had to wear a padded bra to make it fit. Also, the fabric is cotton so it's not an extremely fancy dress, but is better for semiformal occasions. Looks really great with silver accessories!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
April 2, 2015
Cute idea but ultimately not very flattering
Quite short-waisted - the waist hit at the bottom of my ribs, so it didn't quite get to the narrowest part before flaring out into the full skirt, and the paperbag waist just seems to add bulk rather than creating the most flattering silhouette. If I were to wear it again, I might add a belt to hide the paperbag effect. Still, color was great - with big chunky jewelry and wedges, it would be a nice option for a casual summer party.
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 24
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 22, 2015
I did not like this dress at all! It looks nothing like the picture in person!
The fit is so weird! I am a pretty small person and it made me look a lot bigger than I am! The dress looks soooo different in person than it does online! It is a very casual dress and is a much darker purple in person! I did not end up wearing this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
April 29, 2015
Wore this for my engagement pictures
Loved this dress. It was fitted around the bust and had a very full, playful skirt. The color is vibrant and flattering. Be sure to wear a strapless bra with this as the back has the cut outs.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
June 5, 2015
Lots of compliments on the color and neckline!
I wore this to a summer wedding and loved it!! The bust was pretty snug but otherwise true to size. The fabric is more cotton-like and soft than I expected based on pictures. The neckline is really unique and pretty. The fit was flattering and color is bright, I would rent this again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
June 15, 2015
Pretty back
The back of the dress is cool, but it was extremely tight along my waistline. If the size 2 had been available, I would have sized up. I also don't like how the skirt is attached. It's sewn on so the ends of the top of the skirt stick up off the dress. It looks unfinished. I wore a strapless bra with it, and it was not visible at all.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 157lbs
July 19, 2015
The color is gorgeous! The style is unique!
This dress was perfect for my friend's wedding! The color is a great shade of purple. I was hesitant about ordering it after reading reviews... Some said it was great for a bigger bust, others said it made them have a weird side boob. No side boob and I think it's perfect for someone with a bigger bust! I wear a 34DDD and had no worries going braless! The skirt WILL go Marilyn Monroe on you if there is any bit of wind. Would not recommend wearing it for an outside event! I hope I get a chance to wear this again!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 24
August 10, 2015
This dress was super fun!
It was a great rich purple that really stood out for a summer outdoor wedding. The front was simple and flattering and the cutouts on the back gave it a bit of edge. I have a larger top half than most and it fit great without a bra so I would imagine many people may have extra room up top. That being said, it's a rare find to get a fabric where I can go without support and still feel 100% comfortable. The flare adds more of shape and is very fun to dance in. Would definitely recommend!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
September 22, 2015
I ended up sending this to the wrong address but did try it on! So cute!
I would say it fits true to size although the skirt felt a little big/long. Not bad and I think it still looked good but if you're not used to a poof, this may not be for you! Otherwise, it was super cute... there was a faint smell to it that wasn't great but I assume it as the detergent they use.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
September 28, 2015
Such a beautiful, Elegant and fun dress. Lots of compliments
The fit is really good. Only thing is the straps were a little loose. But other than that a beautiful and fun dress
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
November 18, 2015
I wore this as my bridesmaid dress to my best friend's wedding.
Very comfortable and flattering. I loved how simple yet elegant this dress is and would wear it again in a heartbeat.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 22
December 7, 2015
Replacement that worked!
This was a replacement dress that I ordered after the first dress I ordered didn't work out. I'm glad I decided to get both sizes because the 8 would not have fit. The dress was really flattering on my body type (pear) but I did feel like the chest area was a little tight - would not recommend for women with a larger bust. I would give this dress 5 stars, but when I opened the bag I was a bit disappointed to find that the color was not as vibrant as seen on the model. The dress has definitely faded - probably because of the material. Definitely fun to spin around in on the dance floor - but wear full underwear. Order the size up!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
March 26, 2016
Perfect Fit, bright and fun!
Perfect dress for a spring wedding! The fit is great and I was comfortable the entire time.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
July 20, 2013
Gorgeous Color
I rented this dress to wear under my gown at graduation. I was fearful the pleats would look too big under the gown but it worked out. The purple is a beautiful shade and the back is prettiest part. I'm only 5'1 and the dress was not too long or too short. The only iffy part was that I don't have a large chest so the top portion of the dress fit slightly big and awkward. I tried the backup size 0, but it was too small, so I just made the weird top fitting work with the size 2. Overall, a great dress.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
September 25, 2013
I wore this dress for my Homecoming and it was fantastic!
This was my first rental and I was very happy with this awesome dress. The color is a deep, royal purple. I loved the back and was able to wear a strapless bra with no problem. The only issue I had with it is that it was too big in the chest and the shoulder straps sat a little above my shoulders but I'm not too large in the bust so that's probably why. I used some of the Hollywood double stick tape to be sure I wasn't flashing in the front and didn't worry about the rest. It was snug at the waist but I was able to wear it just fine. Overall, I'd say it runs a bit large in the chest but a little small around the waist. The length was a tad long on me but I'm only 5'1". The skirt was so fun for dancing and everyone loved it! I'm definitely happy with my rental!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
October 13, 2013
Perfect for standing out but not over doing!
The color is true to the picture, pretty purple. The waist fit perfectly and the bottom was so fun for dancing! The only problem I had was that the top was a little big. any strapless bra is hidden well, even with the flirt back cut. loved it! my first of many RTR experiences!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 27, 2013
Felt classy and stunning all night
The dress fit me incredibly well and recieved tons of compliments all night! The material is not stretchy and fits true to size. It does not leave wiggle room. Was extremely comfortable and would definitely rent again.
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
3 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×